Compaq Presario V3000 Series Club V3, for all compaq v3000 lappie fans

TSprasys
post May 8 2008, 11:59 AM, updated 17y ago

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

V2 Thread information (includes links to drivers and how-tos)

V2 Thread :- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/392331

This post has been edited by prasys: Jul 26 2009, 04:32 PM
oxalato
post May 8 2008, 01:18 PM

609 posts

first! tongue.gif
v3751AU owner here icon_idea.gif
marlboro20s
post May 8 2008, 03:39 PM

22 posts

XCremator,

Where is the location of HP/Compaq service centre actually? Anyone know? Seems like my v3000 having a HDD failure.

Erm.. that depends where are you from?
I'm from Penang, so for Penang Kia you can head to Krystal Point. It is situated right in the middle of the building, just on top of the lobby main entrance.

Well, for those in other states...you can refer to
http://www.hp.com.my/servicecenters/sc_list.htm

BTW what do I need to bring for warranty purpose? Since I lost the receipt. Need to selongkar my room to find.

From what I know you do need your receipt since there is no warranty card or such being issued, but maybe you can try your luck by just providing your serial number to them( it should be alright since I can check my warranty status using my S/N at HP's website).
amduser
post May 8 2008, 05:43 PM

5,542 posts

lol........V3 thumbup.gif

i wanna ask leh, y sometime i cant hibernate even i've already close all the task running?
digswell
post May 8 2008, 06:09 PM

2,484 posts

marlboro20s

how is ur lappy install with vista and xp ...all driver ok ??
or still hv problem ??

jwcp84
post May 8 2008, 07:02 PM

24 posts

hi guys, was following the thread closely.i'm currently using a v3751au unit...was using the 3791 core duo unit but had lots of problems with it..mainly was due to the heat from the wd hdd...and i had lots of skipping during playback of mp3...couldn't trace what the problem was until i found out it was the wireless that's causing the problem...just wanna check any users out there facing this problem..apart from that i have the webcam that only shows a grey screen every now and then when i activate it...most problems faced were during vista ultimate...tried ultimate 64 bit too..but no avail...made noise in the shop wanted to exchange for another brand ..no go...so i tried the amd speced unit...somehow the mp3 skipping still happens...i'm very sure it's related to the broadcom wireless..but why...i don't understand..thanks a lot...would be glad to identify this issue..

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:06 pmalso in regards to the warm palm rest...this is confirmed due to the wd hdd unit inside the intel units...regardless of it being an ide or sata unit, wd units are strangely warm..i have used it in my external hdd, same kind of heat emitted despite being idle, but not so for the hitachi unit i'm using now for the external...the amd units ship with the ide toshiba hdd..and they are way way cooler during idle/low usage...so the culprit for the extremely warm palmrest is actually due to the wd hdd...thought i would like to share this..

This post has been edited by jwcp84: May 8 2008, 07:06 PM
amduser
post May 8 2008, 07:12 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jwcp84 @ May 8 2008, 07:02 PM)
hi guys, was following the thread closely.i'm currently using a v3751au unit...was using the 3791 core duo unit but had lots of problems with it..mainly was due to the heat from the wd hdd...and i had lots of skipping during playback of mp3...couldn't trace what the problem was until i found out it was the wireless that's causing the problem...just wanna check any users out there facing this problem..apart from that i have the webcam that only shows a grey screen every now and then when i activate it...most problems faced were during vista ultimate...tried ultimate 64 bit too..but no avail...made noise in the shop wanted to exchange for another brand ..no go...so i tried the amd speced unit...somehow the mp3 skipping still happens...i'm very sure it's related to the broadcom wireless..but why...i don't understand..thanks a lot...would be glad to identify this issue..

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:06 pmalso in regards to the warm palm rest...this is confirmed due to the wd hdd unit inside the intel units...regardless of it being an ide or sata unit, wd units are strangely warm..i have used it in my external hdd, same kind of heat emitted despite being idle, but not so for the hitachi unit i'm using now for the external...the amd units ship with the ide toshiba hdd..and they are way way cooler during idle/low usage...so the culprit for the extremely warm palmrest is actually due to the wd hdd...thought i would like to share this..
regarding the heat problem from the left palm, u can remove the external card slot, i fond it useful as i didnt feel much heat coz there's no contact between HDD and the palm rest after u remove the external card slot.
jwcp84
post May 8 2008, 07:14 PM

24 posts

yeah, but that would be inviting dust in ...u should try the difference between the toshiba and wd hard disks...its really hell alot of a difference...thanks for the headup though smile.gif
marlboro20s
post May 8 2008, 07:14 PM

22 posts

digswell,

all system thumbup.gif
so far so good lar...

now installing softwares and games(fifa07 & tiberium wars). all so far encountered no problem,..but i haven't really utilized it fully yet.

*side note* vista really drain up my memory when i compared using winxp and vista using the same application/game.

jwcp84,

i'm having vista ultimate too, but its 32bit. so far i haven't encountered any problems with the webcam or the wireless or the mp3 skipping issue.
you said you've change a new unit but it still happens, so that eliminate out hardware issues.
try all over again? haha laugh.gif should be problems with the drivers then. your drivers all correct without any errors?

*if its your broadcom wireless, maybe you can try disable/off the wireless first and test if the problem still persist?

This post has been edited by marlboro20s: May 8 2008, 07:22 PM
jwcp84
post May 8 2008, 07:16 PM

24 posts

by the way, the thread's too long to go through, just need a short tip here...for the 7150m drivers for the amd unit, which driver should i use, the one from V3614 or modify the driver from nvidia's site for 7150? thanks peeps..for vista that is..

edit: i mean, which would be a better choice out of the two drivers. thanks a lot in advance

This post has been edited by jwcp84: May 8 2008, 07:20 PM
marlboro20s
post May 8 2008, 07:26 PM

22 posts

by the way, the thread's too long to go through, just need a short tip here...for the 7150m drivers for the amd unit, which driver should i use, the one from V3614 or modify the driver from nvidia's site for 7150? thanks peeps..for vista that is..

edit: i mean, which would be a better choice out of the two drivers. thanks a lot in advance

jwcp84,

regarding this, digswell and mine are different but both are still ok (so far). haha..
here's the comparison digswell and me was doing:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/392331/+5780
jwcp84
post May 8 2008, 07:29 PM

24 posts

den should be okay kua...i'm crossing fingers this thing won't kaput..i've been having hell with it since owner ship..you better try out ur mp3 playback...listen closely see if it skips or not..sigh, damn cacat le compaq's things now...was a previous v2000 series owner. was wayyy better than the v3000 series..truly dissapointed to be honest...but too bad, can't refund nor change to other brand already..and this is my first time on amd...hopefully things will be okay...

btw you manage to sort out the drivers for ur modem already?

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(marlboro20s @ May 8 2008, 07:14 PM)
digswell,

all system  thumbup.gif
so far so good lar...

now installing softwares and games(fifa07 & tiberium wars). all so far encountered no problem,..but i haven't really utilized it fully yet.

*side note* vista really drain up my memory when i compared using winxp and vista using the same application/game.
jwcp84,

i'm having vista ultimate too, but its 32bit. so far i haven't encountered any problems with the webcam or the wireless or the mp3 skipping issue.
you said you've change a new unit but it still happens, so that eliminate out hardware issues.
try all over again? haha laugh.gif  should be problems with the drivers then. your drivers all correct without any errors?

*if its your broadcom wireless, maybe you can try disable/off the wireless first and test if the problem still persist?
tried adi..first week owning the 3791...was up to vista, down to xp , up to vista again and down to xp and back to vista again within 4 days...i was trying to figure out what the hell was wrong with the skipping and yes, u can only hear it clearly if ur on external speakers which is what i use 99% of the time as i barely take it out...so maybe u would wanna try that bro cool.gif

by the way, for the webcam, did u just use it after u install vista, or u installed the cyberlink you cam software as well? does it actually update the drivers for the webcam...coz as i read it's only some software that enhances the webcam, i didn't download it...so wanna check and see what's up..and not forgetting, its using dunno some 2006 drivers stock for it rclxub.gif

seriously i never encountered a lappy from a manufacturer that requires so much indepth research just to get it functioning properly...i should have listened when my friends told me to stay away from compaq...thanks to it...i almost hated vista mad.gif

This post has been edited by jwcp84: May 8 2008, 07:37 PM
SiuYi
post May 8 2008, 08:08 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

digswell
told u to start a fresh, new Thread liaw..kena closed down pula..y not propose for a nicer thread starting..haha.

jwcp84
how sure u r with the WD hdd?y only WD?i gonna go back and check it out whther mine oso WD..
jwcp84
post May 8 2008, 08:11 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 8 2008, 08:08 PM)
digswell
told u to start a fresh, new Thread liaw..kena closed down pula..y not propose for a nicer thread starting..haha.

jwcp84
how sure u r with the WD hdd?y only WD?i gonna go back and check it out whther mine oso WD..
because i bought a 80gb wd b4...as external hdd..in the casing also very very hot already...den i was wondering why isit so hot aso for this compaq..true enough it's aso a wd unit le...i read some threads it seems that wd unit already known for this..but they dun acknowledge it to be a problem...how come the hitachi unit in my previous compaq aso not hot, same goes to the one in my external drive now...so happen i tot the one i get after i swap the intel unit for amd unit will be the same hdd, turns out they give toshiba units...reliability i dunno la coz i never tried b4...but one thing for sure the heat is definately from the hdd..dun believe me after u shut down u remove ur hdd back cover..u touch and feel the heat...if not u can remove the hdd as well, there's even an aluminium foil below that's supposed to shield the heat...turns out to be amplifying the heat tongue.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post May 8 2008, 08:51 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,148 posts

Where is the V3 thread created by SiuYi last time???
digswell
post May 8 2008, 08:56 PM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 8 2008, 08:08 PM)
digswell

jwcp84
SiuYi
sorry bout notworthy.gif ..i really no hv time for it. maybe next v4 thread unsure.gif ....hal

This post has been edited by digswell: May 8 2008, 08:57 PM
TSprasys
post May 8 2008, 10:30 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

anyone wants to be a maintainer of this thread (aka adding new users , etc). Kindly let me know

thank you
SiuYi
post May 9 2008, 12:12 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

BOTAK_WAI
i closed it down coz sokdotcom say its not very complete in terms of the 1st few posts..wasn't ready for application by that time..after that he gave me tips..i was bz liaw..now kinda free liaw..erm..give me some time..il figure it out..

prasys
if i were to maintain this thread..isit even the 1st post would be under my management?or isit posible to open another V3 with more info?
amduser
post May 9 2008, 08:34 PM

5,542 posts

i wanna ask, if the "replace with HP spare" sticker with bar code that stick at the charger wire there tear off or removed, can ii still get warranty?? coz now the sticker loose already, the bar code star disappearing...
nemesis86
post May 9 2008, 09:18 PM

143 posts

I would want to enquire that whether the hard disk of my v3010au can be upgraded to 250gb 5400??? Isit like ram, because my laptop only supports up to 2gb ddr2 667 instead 4gb ddr2 800.

117 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:15 PM