hp-compaq Presario V3000 series AMD & intel V2, Owners, Comments, Drivers, Support n Etc
gaTO
Aug 23 2007, 01:46 AM

hmm...can run linux os with the V3000 series?? wat r the major os-es for linux.. i heard of ubuntu,red hat,mandrake n a few
need high requirements to run linux os-es???
bububang
Aug 23 2007, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(gaTO @ Aug 23 2007, 01:46 AM) hmm...can run linux os with the V3000 series?? wat r the major os-es for linux.. i heard of ubuntu,red hat,mandrake n a few need high requirements to run linux os-es??? Currently using ubunto but duno where find the driver  ubunto is based on debian.
LS_Ngu
Aug 23 2007, 07:07 AM

QUOTE(bububang @ Aug 22 2007, 07:33 AM) when i first time bought it, i also didnt realize , i only know when told by my friend. I couldnt hear if your surrounding is is quite noisy. Because last time each morning when i go to my college, it was so quiet , i can hear the sound especially when i was typing microsoft word and it freeze for 1 sec  But after used for a period, the freeze problem only happen when playing game. HI, my lappy is 3415AU with AMD processor. but my one sound is very little, only when very quiet and near to the lappy will hear that. the sound only appear when harddisk are running. but i think it dun cause any problem cause until now my lappy dun have any problem and run smoothly...
philipcs
Aug 23 2007, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(sundiego313 @ Aug 10 2007, 01:28 PM) could you give me the url to the driver? been having the same problem as well. by the way - i've been trying to find the drivers to the following but to no avail. Modem Device on High Defition Audio Bus & SM Bus Controller. I'm using WinXP Pro. anyone know what is SM Bus Controller? Added on August 23, 2007, 11:57 ami got it already need to download Intel INF Update http://downloadcenter.intel.com/download.a...ystems&lang=engThis post has been edited by philipcs: Aug 23 2007, 11:57 AM
gaTO
Aug 23 2007, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(bububang @ Aug 23 2007, 02:44 AM) Currently using ubunto but duno where find the driver  ubunto is based on debian. wah...no drivers ah??? how to work??? anyway,i'm downloadin ubuntu now..wanna test it out..i heard got livecd thingy..means do i still need the drivers? anyway,i'll stick to vista or xp...no other os-es...lol...
edex
Aug 25 2007, 12:27 PM

basically ubuntu will detect all the driver. you dont need to download any driver. u can try to use the livecd first. if everything look ok. the u can proceed to install ubuntun. the livecd will autodetect all the driver for u. i have v3412tu and the ubuntu work with this machine. QUOTE(gaTO @ Aug 23 2007, 02:08 PM) wah...no drivers ah??? how to work??? anyway,i'm downloadin ubuntu now..wanna test it out..i heard got livecd thingy..means do i still need the drivers? anyway,i'll stick to vista or xp...no other os-es...lol...
McIPH
Aug 25 2007, 02:02 PM

Have just bought a V3514TU but the seller told me that the notebook cannot support Win XP..........only Vista..........could anyone advised me???
gaTO
Aug 25 2007, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(McIPH @ Aug 25 2007, 02:02 PM) Have just bought a V3514TU but the seller told me that the notebook cannot support Win XP..........only Vista..........could anyone advised me??? shud be able to run winxp since it can run vista d...u just try install winxp n see..shud be alrite
vearn27
Aug 25 2007, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(McIPH @ Aug 25 2007, 02:02 PM) Have just bought a V3514TU but the seller told me that the notebook cannot support Win XP..........only Vista..........could anyone advised me??? You can install Windows XP with it but you'll need to search for the compatible drivers on your own coz HP-Compaq wouldn't provide support for drivers in XP. I'm missing only the Ethernet Controller and HD Modem driver in XP for now  Anyone could help?
gaTO
Aug 25 2007, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 25 2007, 06:58 PM) You can install Windows XP with it but you'll need to search for the compatible drivers on your own coz HP-Compaq wouldn't provide support for drivers in XP. I'm missing only the Ethernet Controller and HD Modem driver in XP for now  Anyone could help?  hey bro..u go to ur device manager n update or search n install driver from there oso can..auto search for u.. anyway,..for those guys with 'coprocessor' warning..go to hp website n download their chipset driver..after installing it,the warning hilang d..
bububang
Aug 25 2007, 08:49 PM
About the buzzing sound.. i heard on my friend lappy also.. but its HP brand.. not compaq
gaTO
Aug 26 2007, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(bububang @ Aug 25 2007, 08:49 PM) About the buzzing sound.. i heard on my friend lappy also.. but its HP brand.. not compaq oh...running amd proc also??? hate such sound le..irritating n annoying.. Added on August 26, 2007, 1:13 amanyway...i tried installing ubuntu on the laptop...then reach til 'detecting file system'..the comp wont go on d..like hang...either software prob or my file system is not compatible or wat..hmm,any idea guys? This post has been edited by gaTO: Aug 26 2007, 01:13 AM
john_jay2
Aug 26 2007, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(gaTO @ Aug 26 2007, 01:11 AM) oh...running amd proc also??? hate such sound le..irritating n annoying.. Added on August 26, 2007, 1:13 amanyway...i tried installing ubuntu on the laptop...then reach til 'detecting file system'..the comp wont go on d..like hang...either software prob or my file system is not compatible or wat..hmm,any idea guys? did u try to change another cd ?
bububang
Aug 26 2007, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(gaTO @ Aug 26 2007, 01:11 AM) oh...running amd proc also??? hate such sound le..irritating n annoying.. Added on August 26, 2007, 1:13 amanyway...i tried installing ubuntu on the laptop...then reach til 'detecting file system'..the comp wont go on d..like hang...either software prob or my file system is not compatible or wat..hmm,any idea guys? nope.. its core 2 duo.. maybe is the hard disc brand they using? for me.. im using ubunto-64bit.. and its running on virtual machine.. detecting file system?  auto detect?
chfl4gs_
Aug 26 2007, 10:44 AM
Running fine with both FreeBSD and WinXP on V3417AU. http://bsd.ipv6.la/dmesg.V3417AU
gaTO
Aug 26 2007, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Aug 26 2007, 01:40 AM) did u try to change another cd ? hmm..i think i shud d/l another one..might be the file corrupted or wat d.. anyway..which other major OS-es to look for in linux??
Da_Shiang
Aug 26 2007, 12:52 PM
a v3218tu user since early this year!
i wonder how much to upgrade RAM and which brand?
bububang
Aug 26 2007, 01:48 PM
Today i try to play a midi sound.. but no sound was produce. Then i think it maybe sound driver faulty. There i try to install "Conexant High Definition Audio Driver (for AMD)" when it loading.. the screen totally freeze and need forcely shut down  after restart i try install again, it show "Driver Installation Failed : Could no find the device for this driver" Anyone know how to fix this?
kanethesun
Aug 26 2007, 09:26 PM
Da_Shiang its about RM90-100 for 512mb, and RM140-150 for 1gb  common brand used are Kingston and Corsair.
Da_Shiang
Aug 26 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(kanethesun @ Aug 26 2007, 09:26 PM) Da_Shiang its about RM90-100 for 512mb, and RM140-150 for 1gb  common brand used are Kingston and Corsair. ok.. which model i should be to make sure no problem on my laptop as see many RAM incompatible with HP ori RAM? prefer to add 1Gb RAM