TSrazorboy
post Sep 7 2011, 02:33 AM, updated 11y ago

#winning
2,634 posts

SQUATTING 101

Introduction

The ALL IMPORTANT HIP DRIVE

FORM CHECK

And Lastly, Mark Rippetoe himself performing the back squat.

================================================================================================================

DEADLIFTING 101

Introduction

Deadlifting Starting Angle

The Set Up

The Anatomy

The Alignment

The Function of the Scapula in the whole Deadlift

================================================================================================================

BENCHPRESS 101

Introduction Part 1

Introduction Part 2

The Bench Press Levers

The Basic Bench Press Set Up

The Set Up

The Bench Press Positiong

The Bench Arch

The Feet Positioning

WEIGHTED PRESS 101

Basic Press Position

Torso Positioning

Press Posture

Press Grip

Press 1

Press 2

Press 3

Weighted Press
Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Other source of info from T- Nation

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 17 2011, 06:23 PM)
http://www.t-nation.com/strength-training-search/video

another source of information. the deadlift tutorial was pretty good imo
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 7 2011, 07:18 PM)
http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...to_the_deadlift

another good deadlift article by rippetoe. particularly useful info for those who has already tried deadlifting. pretty advanced read i might say..

This post has been edited by razorboy: Dec 7 2011, 09:36 PM
shanecross
post Sep 7 2011, 08:05 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

We are all built differently, so not all of us can squat like mark rippetoe. Same thing applies to deadlift.
TSrazorboy
post Sep 7 2011, 08:18 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

If you'd watch the videos. You'd have seen that he addresses that. Everyone is built differently. Both in the squat and the deadlift
Alphaproject
post Sep 7 2011, 08:42 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

eventhou we built differently, the basic movement are still the same, regardless of level too...
pizzaboy
post Sep 7 2011, 04:56 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Sep 7 2011, 08:42 AM)
eventhou we built differently, the basic movement are still the same, regardless of level too...
Not entirely true. A shorter torso squatter, will have a field day squatting. A lifter with shorter femurs in comparison to the tibia would squat differently too. Some guys like those with a short femur, long torso and insufficient ankle mobility will shit himself trying to squat deep. And then there are individuals with long femurs and short torso who will use the above technique perfectly. Generally a 1:1 femur:tibia length with a medium torso make the best squatters and pullers. So go measure yourselves before.

And you'll see that squatting 140KG is a whole different ballgame from squatting 200KG. The basic is obviously the same, up and down, but in no way is it the same at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jxTc2ITA8 <-long torso squatters

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_HhFFBFQA8 <- short torso squatters

See how different they are?
Alphaproject
post Sep 7 2011, 06:39 PM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 7 2011, 04:56 PM)
Not entirely true. A shorter torso squatter, will have a field day squatting. A lifter with shorter femurs in comparison to the tibia would squat differently too. Some guys like those with a short femur, long torso and insufficient ankle mobility will shit himself trying to squat deep. And then there are individuals with long femurs and short torso who will use the above technique perfectly. Generally a 1:1 femur:tibia length with a medium torso make the best squatters and pullers. So go measure yourselves before.

And you'll see that squatting 140KG is a whole different ballgame from squatting 200KG. The basic is obviously the same, up and down, but in no way is it the same at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jxTc2ITA8  <-long torso squatters

appreciate the lengthy explanation but, when i say "basic movement", im implying the very basic knowledge of squats, regardless or weights, levels, long, short, etc... means keep you back straight, tighten your core, fasten your grips, down and up, yada yada ... as for your explanation, there is an article arguing whether to squat balls deep or just parallel, long story short, it suggest just over parallel (is best for both tall n short world) ... and when you said squatting 140kg is different from 200kg? you are forgetting that weight are relative to everybody, 140kg for me is like lifting a truck but 200 for u might be like a walk in the park... again, im not suggesting you should squat deep, from my post i didnt said that...but is a common sense here for taller ppl to have longer range of motion is nothing new... i assuming the whole ROM thingy should be understood before venturing into bodybuilding...
hoxy
post Sep 7 2011, 07:29 PM

1,015 posts

This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 05:27 PM
shiloong7081
post Sep 7 2011, 09:07 PM

928 posts

I don't know whether is this psychological or what, but 3 out of 4 days i would be doing stuff that involves spinal compression, squats and deadlifts. I also sit in front of the computer ALOT during the day, and i would feel lower back discomfort, a kind of dull ache. It's not painful, just the discomfort.
pizzaboy
post Sep 8 2011, 10:34 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Sep 7 2011, 06:39 PM)
appreciate the lengthy explanation but, when i say "basic movement", im implying the very basic knowledge of squats, regardless or weights, levels, long, short, etc... means keep you back straight, tighten your core, fasten your grips, down and up, yada yada ... as for your explanation, there is an article arguing whether to squat balls deep or just parallel, long story short, it suggest just over parallel (is best for both tall n short world) ... and when you said squatting 140kg is different from 200kg? you are forgetting that weight are relative to everybody, 140kg for me is like lifting a truck but 200 for u might be like a walk in the park... again, im not suggesting you should squat deep, from my post i didnt said that...but is a common sense here for taller ppl to have longer range of motion is nothing new... i assuming the whole ROM thingy should be understood before venturing into bodybuilding...
Woahh.......people here get personal quick. Okay buddy!! Thought I'd have a thing or two to chime in, but I'll leave now. Cheers! smile.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Sep 8 2011, 10:44 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 8 2011, 10:34 AM)
Woahh.......people here get personal quick. Okay buddy!! Thought I'd have a thing or two to chime in, but I'll leave now. Cheers!  smile.gif
Hey pizzaboy, its good to see you posting back! Pls do give us your feedback here! Everyone is entitled to their own pov.
Alphaproject
post Sep 8 2011, 10:46 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

Woahh.......people here get personal quick. Okay buddy!! Thought I'd have a thing or two to chime in, but I'll leave now. Cheers!  smile.gif
nahhh, a "healthy" discussion doesn't involve any "personal vendetta"... feel free to share your experience anytime brah, and if the "tone" of my reply bother you much, please accept my sincered apology...
iamyuanwu
post Sep 8 2011, 11:23 AM

2,425 posts

This needs to be pinned!
TSrazorboy
post Sep 8 2011, 11:53 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

chill man. It's all a healthy discussion. There was never any personal attacks in the first place.
ChinHong86
post Sep 8 2011, 12:15 PM

1,116 posts

nice vid.... shud add other exercises and pin this up...
TSrazorboy
post Sep 8 2011, 12:17 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Sep 8 2011, 12:15 PM)
nice vid.... shud add other exercises and pin this up...
Bench Press

This post has been edited by razorboy: Sep 8 2011, 12:32 PM
ChinHong86
post Sep 8 2011, 12:34 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Sep 8 2011, 01:17 PM)
Bench Press
agree....
most of us will do it wrongly at the start for those exercises....
have to really google the vids to correct ourselves
flies...
TSrazorboy
post Sep 8 2011, 12:34 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Sep 8 2011, 12:34 PM)
agree....
most of us will do it wrongly at the start for those exercises....
have to really google the vids to correct ourselves
flies...
It's there already bro
ChinHong86
post Sep 8 2011, 01:17 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Sep 8 2011, 01:34 PM)
It's there already bro
great job bro....
mod shud really pin this up....
try add sum flies vid
many ppl did it wrongly or mebe jz me....
i used to do it str8 handed til the gym owner corrected me
Alphaproject
post Sep 8 2011, 01:30 PM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

could someone please pin this up? this serve as a good info for all lyn'er and non lyn'er alike...
space1x
post Sep 8 2011, 02:56 PM

177 posts

thank you for posting the video, just for me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by space1x: Sep 8 2011, 03:12 PM
The Silent Killer
post Sep 9 2011, 02:08 AM

657 posts

one question: how do u guys spot squat?

mark rippetoe said in his book squat is best spotted by 3 spotter (one on each side, one behind). since this is not really applicable to us (unless you bring 3 spotters with you to the gym), if there's only one spotter available, he/she should spot the bar in stead of the lifter.

"One spotter standing behind the lifter, leaning over with arms wrapped around and under the lifter's chest, is not only an embarrassing position but also a terribly ineffective and unsafe one."

yet, i still get tonnes of people commenting bout my gym buddy and my way of spotting. they claimed that we should spot the lifter.
BlueBean
post Sep 9 2011, 11:00 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(The Silent Killer @ Sep 9 2011, 02:08 AM)
one question: how do u guys spot squat?

mark rippetoe said in his book squat is best spotted by 3 spotter (one on each side, one behind). since this is not really applicable to us (unless you bring 3 spotters with you to the gym), if there's only one spotter available, he/she should spot the bar in stead of the lifter.

"One spotter standing behind the lifter, leaning over with arms wrapped around and under the lifter's chest, is not only an embarrassing position but also a terribly ineffective and unsafe one."

yet, i still get tonnes of people commenting bout my gym buddy and my way of spotting. they claimed that we should spot the lifter.
your gym doesn't have a power rack? for me, i don't have any gym buddies, so the safety pins will do the spotting for me.

this, yeah. what if that guy's squatting 100kg, can't do shit really.

one more thing guys, get the book "Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training" by mark rippetoe. it's very good and thorough explanation of squat, dl, bp, clean and press.

Added on September 9, 2011, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 7 2011, 04:56 PM)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jxTc2ITA8  <-long torso squatters

i understand man, that's what mark always stresses.

This post has been edited by BlueBean: Sep 9 2011, 11:01 PM
-Dan
post Sep 9 2011, 11:25 PM

4,382 posts

Power racks and squat racks should usually be equipped with safety bars.
pizzaboy
post Sep 22 2011, 11:43 AM

9,495 posts

225KG ......
-Dan
post Sep 22 2011, 03:51 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 22 2011, 11:43 AM)

225KG ......
At first I thought he was gonna back squat it, then I saw him put it on his shoulders and thought 'wow, he's gonna front squat that', then he bloody pressed it and my mind was blown. laugh.gif
mikehuan
post Sep 22 2011, 07:07 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Sep 22 2011, 03:51 PM)
At first I thought he was gonna back squat it, then I saw him put it on his shoulders and thought 'wow, he's gonna front squat that', then he bloody pressed it and my mind was blown.  laugh.gif
ROFL same here. good thing i didnt read your post before watching it.

he bloody pressed it. wtff
pizzaboy
post Sep 25 2011, 04:31 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Sep 22 2011, 03:51 PM)
At first I thought he was gonna back squat it, then I saw him put it on his shoulders and thought 'wow, he's gonna front squat that', then he bloody pressed it and my mind was blown.  laugh.gif
Klokov probably has a squat of about 330-350KG considering the ease in which he rose from a 245KG clean.

Another lifter to look after is Akkayev and a young Czech lifter. 22 but playing with the big boys

mikehuan
post Oct 17 2011, 06:23 PM

6,160 posts

TSrazorboy
post Oct 22 2011, 11:45 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 17 2011, 06:23 PM)

updated on 1st page
bkfeng89
post Nov 15 2011, 01:40 AM

695 posts

Great info, thanks for the thread!
Sky.Live
post Nov 17 2011, 11:56 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Can we do lifting without warm ups?
I am still afraid to do lifting, it just looks like the weight is gonna kill me
-Dan
post Nov 17 2011, 02:39 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 17 2011, 11:56 AM)
Can we do lifting without warm ups?
I am still afraid to do lifting, it just looks like the weight is gonna kill me
Not warming up is a recipe for disaster. You take a frozen slab of meat, you throw it on the ground, chances are it'll snap. Now, you let another piece of meat defrost, i.e. you warm it up, then throw it on the ground, it's not going to snap or crack or anything.

And nobody is asking you to put 300kg on the bar the first day you step into the gym.
Sky.Live
post Nov 17 2011, 03:25 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

What sort of warm ups do u usually do before lifting? running? or light lifting?
TSrazorboy
post Nov 17 2011, 04:21 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

Active warm ups. Means, do light weights with the exercise that you are about to perform , up to 60% of your work set weights
Eisenmeteor
post Nov 29 2011, 09:45 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

I did some dumbbell deadlifts(No barbell at home) yesterday and today I had some minor pains but I dont know whether its like soreness instead.I touched my lower back and it did feel pain a lil..Im kinda worried now..yikes
TSrazorboy
post Nov 29 2011, 09:46 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Nov 29 2011, 09:45 AM)
I did some dumbbell deadlifts(No barbell at home) yesterday and today I had some minor pains but I dont know whether its like soreness instead.I touched my lower back and it did feel pain a lil..Im kinda worried now..yikes
tender pain or sharp pain?
Eisenmeteor
post Nov 29 2011, 08:23 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Nov 29 2011, 09:46 AM)
tender pain or sharp pain?
I think its more of a sharp pain now..Its not DOMS is it? Not cool..

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Nov 29 2011, 09:10 PM
-Dan
post Nov 29 2011, 09:12 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Nov 29 2011, 08:23 PM)
I think its more of a sharp pain now.. Not cool..
Are you able to bend forwards/backwards/sideways without pain? Lie flat on the floor and try to lift one leg, keeping it straight. Do the same with the other and then try both legs. If you feel any pain or a tingling sensation in your back or down your legs, stop immediately and if that's the case, you'd best get to a chiropractor as soon as you can.
Eisenmeteor
post Nov 29 2011, 09:30 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 29 2011, 09:12 PM)
Are you able to bend forwards/backwards/sideways without pain? Lie flat on the floor and try to lift one leg, keeping it straight. Do the same with the other and then try both legs. If you feel any pain or a tingling sensation in your back or down your legs, stop immediately and if that's the case, you'd best get to a chiropractor as soon as you can.
Only when I bend forwards have that pain..and I havent try lie flat on the floor as I'm stuck at the office..and I realized that it starts from bottom middle back onwards where it hurts the most..I'm in serious trouble am I?
-Dan
post Nov 29 2011, 09:54 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Nov 29 2011, 09:30 PM)
Only when I bend forwards have that pain..and I havent try lie flat on the floor as I'm stuck at the office..and I realized that it starts from bottom middle back onwards where it hurts the most..I'm in serious trouble am I?
I can't say anything definitely as I'm not qualified, I'm merely trying to troubleshoot your problem judging from my own experience. But what you can do for now is try not to bend over to pick anything up and be conscious of the way you're sitting as well as the length of time you're sitting for, ie don't sit for too long. Then get checked up at a chiropractic centre as soon as you can.
Eisenmeteor
post Nov 30 2011, 09:16 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 29 2011, 09:54 PM)
I can't say anything definitely as I'm not qualified, I'm merely trying to troubleshoot your problem judging from my own experience. But what you can do for now is try not to bend over to pick anything up and be conscious of the way you're sitting as well as the length of time you're sitting for, ie don't sit for too long. Then get checked up at a chiropractic centre as soon as you can.
Yea..Gonna visit the doctor tonight after work..Anyway managed to get a pic from google on where the pain occured the most

mikehuan
post Dec 7 2011, 07:18 PM

6,160 posts

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...to_the_deadlift

another good deadlift article by rippetoe. particularly useful info for those who has already tried deadlifting. pretty advanced read i might say..
enix2000
post Jan 6 2012, 01:34 PM

747 posts

how much weight should i squat? 50% of my weight?
-Dan
post Jan 6 2012, 02:23 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(enix2000 @ Jan 6 2012, 01:34 PM)
As much as you can while maintaining good form within the rep scheme of your routine.
enix2000
post Jan 6 2012, 03:46 PM

747 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jan 6 2012, 02:23 PM)
As much as you can while maintaining good form within the rep scheme of your routine.
thanks bro! will try out this evening.
mikehuan
post Jan 6 2012, 03:51 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(enix2000 @ Jan 6 2012, 01:34 PM)
A general milestone would be to squat your bodyweight, 1.5 bw and so on. Its a progressive thing.
raul88
post Jan 11 2012, 12:08 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,279 posts

Dear Dr. Darklight and all sifus here..

can please comment on my deadlift technique...
not sure whether I'm doing it correctly or not

one more thing, as you can see in the video I'm very skinny
should I consume mass gainer as well?
I can't meet 2400 calories daily as recommended by caloriecount.about.com

and what is the "best" mass gainer out there
any of you guys with good exp with some brand can share the exp with me

thank you.

This post has been edited by raul88: Mar 19 2012, 11:47 PM
mikehuan
post Jan 11 2012, 10:21 AM

6,160 posts

Keep your back tight, chest out and roll your shoulders back. Bring up the barbell by thrusting your hips forward. Barbell should be touching your calves and thighs at all times, or at least as close as possible. Don't look in the mirror, find a spot a couple of feet in front of you.

think your grip should be slightly narrower too, grab it around shoulder length.

And kudos for posting vid!
raul88
post Jan 11 2012, 11:58 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,279 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jan 11 2012, 10:21 AM)
Keep your back tight, chest out and roll your shoulders back. Bring up the barbell by thrusting your hips forward. Barbell should be touching your calves and thighs at all times, or at least as close as possible. Don't look in the mirror, find a spot a couple of feet in front of you.

think your grip should be slightly narrower too, grab it around shoulder length.

And kudos for posting vid!
I had to post video
otherwise I wont know my technique is correct or not

I tried bringing my chest in front and shoulder backward
so improvement that should be made in a nutshell: barbell touching legs and a narrower grip

thank you.
mikehuan
post Jan 11 2012, 12:04 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jan 11 2012, 11:58 AM)
I had to post video
otherwise I wont know my technique is correct or not

I tried bringing my chest in front and shoulder backward
so improvement that should be made in a nutshell: barbell touching legs and a narrower grip

thank you.
Belieeve me not many forumers do that. Your back was slightly rounding towards the end there. Might be an issue when you try with heavier weight.

Edit: you don't bring shoulders back, rather squeeze your shoulder blades together and downwards

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jan 11 2012, 12:05 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 16 2012, 03:45 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I tried my first Squat, I believe I only manage to lift 75lbs, erm the bar (? lbs + 2x 25lbs).. Got tired a while and don't dare to do more as there's no support and I dare not drop the weight behind me..

Dead lift is like totally clueless what I am doing..
VeeJay
post Jan 16 2012, 04:13 PM

3,844 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 16 2012, 03:45 PM)
I tried my first Squat, I believe I only manage to lift 75lbs, erm the bar (? lbs + 2x 25lbs).. Got tired a while and don't dare to do more as there's no support and I dare not drop the weight behind me..

it aint gonna be easy in the beginning and you dont need to lift so much weight, if its your first time. Take on lighter weight and progress from them, when you reach, 10-15 reps (depending the program you are following).

squat
http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/deta...e/barbell-squat

deadlift
http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/deta...arbell-deadlift

Sky.Live
post Jan 16 2012, 07:45 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 16 2012, 04:13 PM)
it aint gonna be easy in the beginning and you dont need to lift so much weight, if its your first time. Take on lighter weight and progress from them, when you reach, 10-15 reps (depending the program you are following).

squat
http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/deta...e/barbell-squat

deadlift
http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/deta...arbell-deadlift
I am not into body building, no program sequence too, I just wanna gain strength as I read this 2 are the one of the more overall compound training available...

Thank you for the link, appreciate it
gnsumas
post Feb 26 2012, 02:45 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 16 2012, 03:45 PM)

The barbell should be 45lbs, so you squatted 95lbs smile.gif
GameFr3ak
post May 9 2012, 08:47 PM

3,849 posts

Guys, I started squating today. I've watched lotsa videos on forms and methods. I've only got myself a pair of 5kg dumbbells.

I've tried squating without any dumbbells and with only my own body weight.

I completed a set of around 20 reps. Felt tiredness on my thighs.

Today I did a set with dumbbells and I felt soreness on my lower back and knee. Am I doing it wrong?

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: May 9 2012, 08:48 PM
kicksense
post May 19 2012, 02:32 AM

285 posts

Hi all,

Want to ask about Bench Press. When i try to increase my weight, I can't balance the barbell during the lift. Any other tips beside squeeze your shoulder blade during Bench press?

p/s: i only bench 60lbs. So little only.
BlueBean
post Jun 15 2012, 11:36 PM

197 posts

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(kicksense @ May 19 2012, 02:32 AM)
Hi all,

Want to ask about Bench Press. When i try to increase my weight, I can't balance the barbell during the lift. Any other tips beside squeeze your shoulder blade during Bench press?

p/s: i only bench 60lbs. So little only.
how is your leg placement?

try this, it helps. at least for me.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es3BX08pO-w

This post has been edited by BlueBean: Jun 15 2012, 11:40 PM
kicksense
post Jun 18 2012, 09:57 PM

285 posts

Thanks for vid BlueBean.

I figured that change my BenchPress style like powerlifter style make it easy to balance. Now increased to 90lbs edi. Fuh. It's quite hard without spotter.
mikehuan
post Jun 19 2012, 09:28 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(kicksense @ Jun 18 2012, 09:57 PM)
Thanks for vid BlueBean.

I figured that change my BenchPress style like powerlifter style make it easy to balance. Now increased to 90lbs edi. Fuh. It's quite hard without spotter.
Why lift like a powerlifter? Sure you get to lift more but your objctive is to isolate your chest right?

If you find it hard to balance its your arm strength or stabilizers. Go do db presses for a few weeks and your balance should improve
kicksense
post Jun 19 2012, 10:08 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jun 19 2012, 09:28 AM)
Why lift like a powerlifter? Sure you get to lift more but your objctive is to isolate your chest right?

If you find it hard to balance its your arm strength or stabilizers. Go do db presses for a few weeks and your balance should improve
Agree. The lift didnt isolate my chest so much. Thanks mike for that guide. I admit that my arm strength was not strong. Will try that for sure!
xCM
post Jun 26 2012, 11:22 PM

535 posts

reading the stickies one by one.. the videos are awesome man, good spoonfeed. tongue.gif
hope everyone is doing right after this!
saksoba
post Oct 13 2012, 08:06 AM

478 posts

maybe i should see the video first! now, i got backpain after deadlift. sad.gif

i think my form is not right.. so, regarding the backpain, does it slowly goes away? back pain, lower left. this is day-3.
nivlanauk
post Jun 12 2013, 05:55 PM

307 posts

Hey guys, just wondering how long did it take you guys to hit 1.5 bodyweight squat?
Currently squatting my bodyweight (67kg) after 2 months of squatting thumbup.gif

silasya77
post Jun 12 2013, 08:09 PM

71 posts

Current max squatting a bit higher than my bodyweight of 175 lbs, which is 195 lbs. It's been 9 months, but admittedly I've had a lot of detours along the way. So it should be around 3 to 6 months that you hit 1.5 bodyweight, with best conditions (recovery, food, sleep etc)
94brian
post Aug 14 2013, 12:40 AM

403 posts

tried deadlift for the 1st time today in my life!
feel great,my back feel very sore after only 1 set...
but still feel weird about my posture,only can do 3x6 5kg each side.
can do more weight but scared i snap my back xD anything can prevent that? or something 'must don't' do while deadlift?
-Dan
post Aug 14 2013, 12:45 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 14 2013, 12:40 AM)
tried deadlift for the 1st time today in my life!
feel great,my back feel very sore after only 1 set...
but still feel weird about my posture,only can do 3x6 5kg each side.
can do more weight but scared i snap my back xD anything can prevent that? or something 'must don't' do while deadlift?

nivlanauk
post Sep 16 2013, 09:04 AM

307 posts

If I wanna record my squats for form check, how should I record it? Side view/front view?
-Dan
post Sep 16 2013, 07:21 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Sep 16 2013, 09:04 AM)
If I wanna record my squats for form check, how should I record it? Side view/front view?
From the side so you can get an accurate view of depth and if you have any rounding in your back.
nivlanauk
post Sep 17 2013, 07:58 PM

307 posts

To all the sifus, can you please comment on my deadlift & squat form?

-Dandarklight79mikehuan

Deadlift 70kg

Squat 75kg

mikehuan
post Sep 17 2013, 09:03 PM

6,160 posts

um, first off im honored you called me out, but im nowhere near the other 2 guys lol. but thanks, made my day tongue.gif

both look spot on tbh, cant find anything wrong with them form wise. although it looks kinda easy for you, form tends to break near your limit so thats where you need to have it evaluated imho.

good going!
-Dan
post Sep 17 2013, 11:23 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 17 2013, 09:03 PM)

um, first off im honored you called me out, but im nowhere near the other 2 guys lol. but thanks, made my day tongue.gif

both look spot on tbh, cant find anything wrong with them form wise. although it looks kinda easy for you, form tends to break near your limit so thats where you need to have it evaluated imho.

good going!
More like I'm nowhere near you two. You'd both wipe the floor with me on deadlifts. tongue.gif

Anyway, what Mike said, form looks solid and depth on the squats is decent.
darklight79
post Sep 18 2013, 02:00 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Good enough.
nivlanauk
post Sep 18 2013, 07:53 AM

307 posts

Thanks guys. I'll just continue doing what im doing then!

Mikehuan, always see your name ma when ghosting this section tongue.gif
And i only increase the weight when i can do 5x5 without struggling. You reckon i should just keep adding until close to failure?

This post has been edited by nivlanauk: Sep 18 2013, 08:13 AM
mikehuan
post Sep 18 2013, 09:07 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Sep 18 2013, 07:53 AM)
Thanks guys. I'll just continue doing what im doing then!

Mikehuan, always see your name ma when ghosting this section tongue.gif
And i only increase the weight when i can do 5x5 without struggling. You reckon i should just keep adding until close to failure?
Yeah definitely add. 5x5 is decent just follow the program and you will be fine. Shoot for 1.5 bw or 2 x bw
mikehuan
post Sep 18 2013, 09:10 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Sep 17 2013, 11:23 PM)
More like I'm nowhere near you two. You'd both wipe the floor with me on deadlifts. tongue.gif

Anyway, what Mike said, form looks solid and depth on the squats is decent.
Because you injured your back before. Your other lifts way ahead. I keep track of your journal so I know lol
nivlanauk
post Sep 18 2013, 05:05 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 18 2013, 09:07 AM)
Yeah definitely add. 5x5 is decent just follow the program and you will be fine. Shoot for 1.5 bw or 2 x bw
yup my target is 1.5x as recommended for plyometrics training.
started squatting in March, so happy when I hit 1x BW (68kg) 2 months ago rclxm9.gif
but feels like my progress is quite slow hmm

FaezFarhan
post Sep 24 2013, 09:10 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Guys.. Wearing a belt whilst deadlifting, a must or just a pre-cautionary step?
akiratm
post Sep 24 2013, 10:12 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 24 2013, 09:10 AM)
Guys.. Wearing a belt whilst deadlifting, a must or just a pre-cautionary step?
• if you has a weak core. Using a weight belt masks this problem. not really recommend

• use only for sets above 85% of 1RM and not with all lifts. Never wear a belt when performing an exercise that has you sitting or lying down.

read this
http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...C1A-mcd02.hydra
FaezFarhan
post Sep 24 2013, 03:10 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(akiratm @ Sep 24 2013, 10:12 AM)
• if you has a weak core. Using a weight belt masks this problem. not really recommend

• use only for sets above 85% of 1RM and not with all lifts. Never wear a belt when performing an exercise that has you sitting or lying down.

read this
http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...C1A-mcd02.hydra
I see. Thanks for the article.

"Never wear a belt when performing an exercise that has you sitting or lying down" I always see two dudes who'd always wear belt during chest day.

For me, wearing a belt limits my breathing. It's harder to breath, especially during exercises which bumps my heart rate up a lot.

Is it okay if I never wear a belt on and develop my core instead?
-Dan
post Sep 24 2013, 04:07 PM

4,382 posts

Wearing a belt or not comes down to the individual. Obviously you shouldn't need to wear one on your warm up sets or for small isolation movements. Personally I use a belt on nearly all compound lifts I do because I can push my midsection out into the belt which gives me a tighter core.
silasya77
post Sep 26 2013, 06:12 PM

71 posts

After getting heavier on the deadlift I noticed my chest starts squeezing during the movement. Sometimes it really hurts and I'd like some advice on whether there is anything wrong with this ?
Maknusia
post Sep 29 2013, 06:06 PM

996 posts

For those who are interested- Sarah Bäckman

This post has been edited by Maknusia: Sep 29 2013, 06:08 PM
Amedion
post Oct 5 2013, 04:37 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Does the bar counted as well?
TSrazorboy
post Oct 5 2013, 05:44 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Oct 5 2013, 04:37 PM)
Does the bar counted as well?
Yes
Amedion
post Oct 5 2013, 06:15 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 5 2013, 05:44 PM)
Yes
How much is the weight of the bar? 45lbs? smile.gif
TSrazorboy
post Oct 5 2013, 08:01 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Oct 5 2013, 06:15 PM)
How much is the weight of the bar? 45lbs?  smile.gif
Depends on your bar, Standard Olympic bars are 45lbs but different gyms provide different bars.

zephyrus9999
post Oct 6 2013, 10:09 PM

649 posts

Guys, i do deadlifts & squats with dumbells coz my company gym doesnt have barbells sad.gif

To me, the ordinary deadlifts with dumbells just replicates squats.. Like, i cant see big difference; only dl carries dumbells at the front and squats from sides.. So ive been doing romanian deadlifts instead. Any sifu can tell whats the pro/con of RDL vs the conventional one? With RDL stiff-legged posture i think the stress will go more on the lower back part? And actually with deadlifts does it increase the size of waist(which i hope it does)?
mikehuan
post Oct 7 2013, 02:28 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(silasya77 @ Sep 26 2013, 06:12 PM)
After getting heavier on the deadlift I noticed my chest starts squeezing during the movement. Sometimes it really hurts and I'd like some advice on whether there is anything wrong with this ?
IMHO, and at a noobs perspective, your previous weights wasnt heavy enough for your body to start recruiting your chest muscles. your lats were more than enough to do the job. However, once it got past that, your shoulders starts to droop forward as your lats couldnt hold it back. your body automatically squeezes the chest to support your back to keep it straight.

again, its just an opinion, i dont have a vid to look at, and tbh there are lots of things that could have happened other than what i mentioned. a vid might be of more help

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Oct 6 2013, 10:09 PM)
Guys, i do deadlifts & squats with dumbells coz my company gym doesnt have barbells sad.gif

To me, the ordinary deadlifts with dumbells just replicates squats.. Like, i cant see big difference; only dl carries dumbells at the front and squats from sides.. So ive been doing romanian deadlifts instead. Any sifu can tell whats the pro/con of RDL vs the conventional one? With RDL stiff-legged posture i think the stress will go more on the lower back part? And actually with deadlifts does it increase the size of waist(which i hope it does)?
RDL's when done right would affect your hamstring more, and lower back. there arent any pro/cons to compare one exercise to another, as they are done for different purposes. as in case of conventional, its more of a back exercise, and RDL is for hamstrings.

as for dumbbells DL, im not sure how similar it is to a squat as ive never done it before, so i cant really comment. will give it a go in my next session and get back to you. however, i dont think using db's for DL is a good idea as the DB's would automatically go to the sides once it lifts off. maybe emulate a trap bar DL and place your DBs at the sides instead?
silasya77
post Oct 8 2013, 09:11 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 7 2013, 02:28 AM)
IMHO, and at a noobs perspective, your previous weights wasnt heavy enough for your body to start recruiting your chest muscles. your lats were more than enough to do the job. However, once it got past that, your shoulders starts to droop forward as your lats couldnt hold it back. your body automatically squeezes the chest to support your back to keep it straight.

again, its just an opinion, i dont have a vid to look at, and tbh there are lots of things that could have happened other than what i mentioned. a vid might be of more help

Hmm. Guess you've got a point, but I did use to recruit my chest quite a bit. The part about the lats and shoulders not being strong enough is probably true tho. That and I think my form was just breaking down. The pain in my chest was far more than just recruitment I'd say. More like a strain. Experienced it again yesterday with 265 on my 5th/final rep. Thrilled that I got that through though regardless. Four reps with relatively great form was an achievement. New PR, no matter how unimpressive to the more experienced. biggrin.gif
mikehuan
post Oct 9 2013, 01:01 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(silasya77 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:11 PM)
Hmm. Guess you've got a point, but I did use to recruit my chest quite a bit. The part about the lats and shoulders not being strong enough is probably true tho. That and I think my form was just breaking down. The pain in my chest was far more than just recruitment I'd say. More like a strain. Experienced it again yesterday with 265 on my 5th/final rep. Thrilled that I got that through though regardless. Four reps with relatively great form was an achievement. New PR, no matter how unimpressive to the more experienced. biggrin.gif
No surprises there. Form breakdown is pretty norm when you chase prs. You should analyse which part of the lift your form broke down on and do some assistance work. Very often fixing the weak link translates to consistent pr breaking lifts

Gratz on your new pr!

silasya77
post Nov 3 2013, 02:19 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 9 2013, 01:01 PM)
No surprises there. Form breakdown is pretty norm when you chase prs. You should analyse which part of the lift your form broke down on and do some assistance work. Very often fixing the weak link translates to consistent pr breaking lifts

Gratz on your new pr!
Thanks! Been doing hyperextensions and rope cable crunches to assist a wee bit. Also rear delt work. smile.gif

I deloaded and have been slowly going back up in weight. Attempting 265 again tomorrow.. we'll see how that goes.

This post has been edited by silasya77: Nov 3 2013, 02:21 PM
nicholasjack
post Dec 13 2013, 01:19 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 29 2013, 06:06 PM)

For those who are interested- Sarah Bäckman
damn, chick deadlifting 405? She's swole as f***. That's my one rep max wub.gif
Oh wait those are not 45lbs plates..lmao still really f***ing impressive

This post has been edited by nicholasjack: Dec 13 2013, 01:21 PM
nicholasjack
post Dec 13 2013, 01:23 PM

31 posts

current max bench: 245lbs
max squat: 275lbs
max deadlift: 405lbs
body weight: 82kg
Height: 182cm
Body fat: 17% (sucks) sad.gif
Aim: hit >1000lbs in all three core exercises before cutting
Michaelbyz23
post Jan 10 2014, 10:02 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

guys i have a question about butt wink. how do i solve it? i had butt wink everytime i squat, and i did heavy load last week my lower back hurts. butt wink is the rounding of lower back when approaching the bottom of the squat.
TSrazorboy
post Jan 10 2014, 10:03 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 10 2014, 10:02 AM)
guys i have a question about butt wink. how do i solve it? i had butt wink everytime i squat, and i did heavy load last week my lower back hurts. butt wink is the rounding of lower back when approaching the bottom of the squat.
youtube Bryce Lewis Butt Wink
alien9
post Jan 10 2014, 10:46 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

He's an elite powerlifter and he have butt wink too (shown at the end of the vid). I don't think it'll be much of a problem right?
Michaelbyz23
post Jan 10 2014, 11:04 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Jan 10 2014, 10:03 AM)
youtube Bryce Lewis Butt Wink
thanks bro i will try it out myself. the vid is really helpful smile.gif hopefully it solves my buttwink problem.

hmm i dont know, some ppl seem to live through it. but not me, my lower back suffered some needle pinch pain at certain position of sitting down or benting down, for 2 weeks sad.gif need to solve this problem as we all knwo its not the proper or ideal form.

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Jan 10 2014, 12:21 PM
silasya77
post Jan 11 2014, 11:02 PM

71 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1f6mk1aVuA

This post has been edited by silasya77: Jan 11 2014, 11:04 PM
xDjWanNabex
post Feb 7 2014, 03:03 PM

932 posts

Hey guys, just wondering, is mark actually wrong or does this guy interprets it wrongly.
I've been using the hip dive for a couple of months now, after learning about it..

Was looking at mehdi's (stronglift dude) deadlift, hes also pretty high up, and not much of a hip dive.

But personally, i feel with the hip dive, it forces me to go down lower, both on squats and deadlifts, putting more pressure on my legs compared to my back..which IMO feels a lot safer and injury free.

This post has been edited by xDjWanNabex: Feb 7 2014, 03:26 PM
silasya77
post Feb 7 2014, 06:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Feb 7 2014, 03:03 PM)
Hey guys, just wondering, is mark actually wrong or does this guy interprets it wrongly.
I've been using the hip dive for a couple of months now, after learning about it..

Was looking at mehdi's (stronglift dude) deadlift, hes also pretty high up, and not much of a hip dive.

But personally, i feel with the hip dive, it forces me to go down lower, both on squats and deadlifts, putting more pressure on my legs compared to my back..which IMO feels a lot safer and injury free.
I think he made it pretty clear that he was simply recommending a different style of squat? Not really saying any which way was wrong.
nivlanauk
post Feb 8 2014, 11:58 AM

307 posts

Hi Sifus, I'm back again for form check smile.gif

-Dandarklight79mikehuan

Squat @ 1.5xBW (105kg)
So I noticed that I didn't go down to parallel. Gotta work on that.

Shoulder Press @ 40kg
Was unstable at 1st rep, so I squeezed my glutes and it helped.

Deadlift @ 100kg

Please comment on my form! and Happy Chinese New Year!
mikehuan
post Feb 8 2014, 07:17 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Feb 8 2014, 11:58 AM)
Hi Sifus, I'm back again for form check  smile.gif

-Dandarklight79mikehuan

Please comment on my form! and Happy Chinese New Year!
well done! everything looks spot on. DL especially

first two exercises best be done in a cage though. always think what would happen if you fail a set.
-Dan
post Feb 9 2014, 08:53 AM

4,382 posts

Everything looks good! If I were to nitpick, I'd say try not to hyperextend the neck so much on deadlifts, a more neutral position would be ideal. And squat depth, but you've already spotted that so you know what to do!
nivlanauk
post Feb 10 2014, 08:16 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 8 2014, 07:17 PM)
well done! everything looks spot on. DL especially

first two exercises best be done in a cage though. always think what would happen if you fail a set.
QUOTE(-Dan @ Feb 9 2014, 08:53 AM)
Everything looks good! If I were to nitpick, I'd say try not to hyperextend the neck so much on deadlifts, a more neutral position would be ideal. And squat depth, but you've already spotted that so you know what to do!
Got it. Thanks guys!
1 question though, how can I increase my shoulder press? I've been stuck at 42.5kg since November 2013. I've tried deloading down to 35kg but it didn't help.
-Dan
post Feb 13 2014, 12:31 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Feb 10 2014, 12:16 AM)
Got it. Thanks guys!
1 question though, how can I increase my shoulder press? I've been stuck at 42.5kg since November 2013. I've tried deloading down to 35kg but it didn't help.
Perhaps switch to push presses for a couple of weeks to give yourself a feel for handling heavier weights. Then return to regular OHPs and restart your progression on them.
-ccy-
post Feb 26 2014, 10:19 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(travelman @ Feb 26 2014, 12:16 PM)
newbie here.

i want to buy a barbell for squatting. where can i buy and how much weight is suitable for beginner? i also dont know what length of the bar is suitable for me. im 171cm and 68kg.
Do you have a squat rack? Or else it might difficult for you to squat with a barbell. Unless u learn how to clean and do front squat.
If you are really newbie, i ll suggest u to squat bodyweight -> Dumbbell -> Barbell

Instead of buying barbell and the weight plate, i think invest in a gym membership might be cheaper.
xDjWanNabex
post Feb 28 2014, 04:10 PM

932 posts

you are going to get heavier DB's right?

Cause doing the same weight will not get you much results after a couple of days/weeks
silasya77
post Apr 14 2014, 10:44 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:41 PM)
need sifus advice which hand position you use for DL.

a. both hands facing inner body
b. one hands in and one hand out

i feel more of fullbody impact for option b thus this is my preferred position.
I'd warm up with A and go with B for my last warm up and working set. Basically only when you need to.

This post has been edited by silasya77: Apr 14 2014, 10:45 PM
GameFr3ak
post Apr 15 2014, 02:32 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:41 PM)
need sifus advice which hand position you use for DL.

a. both hands facing inner body
b. one hands in and one hand out

i feel more of fullbody impact for option b thus this is my preferred position.
Use mixed grip when your grip is failing (last set, etc). Otherwise, A.
Apple_DarreN
post Apr 15 2014, 07:06 PM

Tesla is Yummy.
1,756 posts

Does anybody have lower lower back near the tailbone pain when doing deadlifts?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 16 2014, 08:13 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:55 PM)
by the way just saw from the "progress video thread", they all use B

maybe it is down to personal preference

I'd use mixed if I were to do their weight sweat.gif First rep, my grip would have failed already
andyfriends
post Apr 17 2014, 09:48 AM

2,326 posts

just to check, my right hand bicep is actually bigger than my left hand. but why is it that when i do harebell curl, i noticed that my right hand's strength is weaker than my left hand?
pj_guitarist
post Apr 17 2014, 09:58 AM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 17 2014, 09:48 AM)
just to check, my right hand bicep is actually bigger than my left hand.  but why is it that when i do harebell curl, i noticed that my right hand's strength is weaker than my left hand?
That is quite peculiar case if i ever heard any.
yeowyin
post Apr 17 2014, 11:42 AM

125 posts

just to check, my right hand bicep is actually bigger than my left hand.  but why is it that when i do harebell curl, i noticed that my right hand's strength is weaker than my left hand?
same here..... you are not alone....
andyfriends
post Apr 17 2014, 12:03 PM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(yeowyin @ Apr 17 2014, 11:42 AM)
same here..... you are not alone....
right. so any sifu can shed some light?
silasya77
post Apr 17 2014, 01:18 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 15 2014, 12:26 AM)
b only needed? saw some use b in lifting competition
Well theres a reason for that ahaha. Its called a lifting competition for a reason and only those who carry serious enough poundages enter.

This post has been edited by silasya77: Apr 17 2014, 01:20 PM
silasya77
post Apr 17 2014, 01:20 PM

71 posts

Probably genetics. Your right arm's bicep insertion could be higher or lower thus making it look bigger but not stronger. Also could be a mechanical disadvantage due to said muscle insertions.
silasya77
post Apr 17 2014, 01:23 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Apr 15 2014, 07:06 PM)
Does anybody have lower lower back near the tailbone pain when doing deadlifts?
I did. Now after continuing my back pain has gotten so extreme that I'm advised not to lift any weights whatsoever. In the mean time recovering but takes a long time. Deadlift injuries are the hardest to heal from so lower the weights and film yourself to see what was wrong with your form. Heck, I thought my form was perfect. But guess it wasn't. Brought down my performance in everything and now it hurts just bending down to touch my toes. Does it hurt outside of the gym? If it does I'd advise you to lay off the heavy dls for a bit and not be an idiot like me ahaha
Apple_DarreN
post Apr 17 2014, 02:04 PM

Tesla is Yummy.
1,756 posts

QUOTE(silasya77 @ Apr 17 2014, 01:23 PM)
I did. Now after continuing my back pain has gotten so extreme that I'm advised not to lift any weights whatsoever. In the mean time recovering but takes a long time. Deadlift injuries are the hardest to heal from so lower the weights and film yourself to see what was wrong with your form. Heck, I thought my form was perfect. But guess it wasn't. Brought down my performance in everything and now it hurts just bending down to touch my toes. Does it hurt outside of the gym? If it does I'd advise you to lay off the heavy dls for a bit and not be an idiot like me ahaha
Nope it doesn't really hurt outside the gym. I stopped deadlifting and squatting for almost 2 weeks now. Have searched around Reddit and actually it's pretty common. A tight hamstring might cause the problem as what IIRC is that there's no muscles around the tailbone.
funfree
post Apr 19 2014, 03:14 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(661188 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:55 PM)
by the way just saw from the "progress video thread", they all use B

maybe it is down to personal preference

Always use double overhand grip (both palms facing your body).

Only switch to Mixed grip when your grip fails and you're not able to complete your lifts (or you know you wont be able to pick up the bar using double ovrhand).

If you always use Mixed grip, you won't develop your grip strength.

If you're a beginner, double overhand grip shouldn't be an issue. The weight is not heavy enough to make you fail.

YOu may succeed using double ovrhand up to probablay 2.2-2.3x bodyweight when attempting 1 rep max. You'll probably need to move straight to mixed grip when attempting anything above that (unless you have extremly strong grip). There are some who can double-ovrhand 3x bodyweight without straps.
silasya77
post Apr 20 2014, 02:59 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Apr 17 2014, 02:04 PM)
Nope it doesn't really hurt outside the gym. I stopped deadlifting and squatting for almost 2 weeks now. Have searched around Reddit and actually it's pretty common. A tight hamstring might cause the problem as what IIRC is that there's no muscles around the tailbone.
Ahaha yeah thats what the chiropractors telling me atm. But for me it's gotten really bad from before where I only felt it during deads or sometimes not at all. Just remember precautionary measures are better than injuries.
Eisenmeteor
post Aug 24 2014, 02:26 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Hey guys was wondering if my squat is correct. I think that my knees is going past my toes or something.

62.5 kg barbell squat

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Aug 24 2014, 02:30 AM
dave82
post Sep 3 2014, 12:13 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Aug 24 2014, 02:26 AM)
Hey guys was wondering if my squat is correct. I think that my knees is going past my toes or something.

62.5 kg barbell squat

Form is good.

How tall are you? For those taller guys with long limbs, the knees can go slightly over the toes. No problem with that.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 3 2014, 10:12 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(dave82 @ Sep 3 2014, 12:13 AM)
Form is good.

How tall are you? For those taller guys with long limbs, the knees can go slightly over the toes. No problem with that.
I'm 175 cm. Thanks at least now i know im doing it correctly
low yat 82
post Sep 5 2014, 09:48 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Sep 3 2014, 10:12 AM)
I'm 175 cm. Thanks at least now i know im doing it correctly
erm... mayb u can make it more tighter. it feels abit loose. try squeeze more on upper back n ur core.

dont worry too much ab d knee over toes, d important point is d path of d bar. it can control by relocate ur legs opening...
-Dan
post Sep 5 2014, 02:16 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Aug 24 2014, 02:26 AM)

62.5 kg barbell squat

Form looks good. Only thing I can point out is you seem to lose tightness at the bottom, hence there's a little extra movement. For this, I'd say to remember to take a deep breath before each rep and brace your core, which would feel like pushing your stomach against your abs.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 6 2014, 11:39 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Sep 5 2014, 02:16 PM)
Form looks good. Only thing I can point out is you seem to lose tightness at the bottom, hence there's a little extra movement. For this, I'd say to remember to take a deep breath before each rep and brace your core, which would feel like pushing your stomach against your abs.
Tightness is something that i have never thought of. Ill try again and see. So if theres tightness i wouldnt move so much?
-Dan
post Sep 7 2014, 12:57 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Sep 6 2014, 11:39 PM)
Tightness is something that i have never thought of. Ill try again and see. So if theres tightness i wouldnt move so much?
To be fair, there was minimal movement. I was really just nitpicking. But yes, bracing the core will generally better the quality of your reps.
Miracles
post Sep 7 2014, 01:39 AM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

Hi , need help on SL DL. I couldn't get pass my knees without rounding my back. Im not flexible enough to reach the mid-shins. So, I've been doing till knee level. Is it ok to keep on doing it as time passes, I might eventually get more flexible?

Doing SLDL because of ALLPRO's SBR.
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=155009423
-Dan
post Sep 7 2014, 10:23 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Sep 7 2014, 01:39 AM)

Hi , need help on SL DL. I couldn't get pass my knees without rounding my back. Im not flexible enough to reach the mid-shins. So, I've been doing till knee level. Is it ok to keep on doing it as time passes, I might eventually get more flexible?

Doing SLDL because of ALLPRO's SBR.
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=155009423
Stop at the point your lower back begins rounding, in your case the knees. On top of that, work on your hamstring mobility outside the gym and slowly progress to reach lower as you get more flexible.
whleong860705
post Sep 26 2014, 02:11 PM

35 posts

I did deadlift 5 x 5 60kg for the 1st time. After that when I try to sit straight my body was shaking. Is that normal?

This post has been edited by whleong860705: Sep 26 2014, 02:12 PM
zephyrus9999
post Sep 28 2014, 08:53 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(funfree @ Apr 19 2014, 03:14 PM)
Always use double overhand grip (both palms facing your body).

Only switch to Mixed grip when your grip fails and you're not able to complete your lifts (or you know you wont be able to pick up the bar using double ovrhand).

If you always use Mixed grip, you won't develop your grip strength.

If you're a beginner, double overhand grip shouldn't be an issue. The weight is not heavy enough to make you fail.

YOu may succeed using double ovrhand up to probablay 2.2-2.3x bodyweight when attempting 1 rep max. You'll probably need to move straight to mixed grip when attempting anything above that (unless you have extremly strong grip). There are some who can double-ovrhand 3x bodyweight without straps.
I cant even get pass 2x BW without using mixed grip. Even with mixed grip also I have to 'land the weight' then re-grip to lift, which is wasting my momentum. No matter how strong i grip it also fail, next Im looking at straps. Plateau for weeks also because of this issue
-ccy-
post Sep 29 2014, 02:41 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 28 2014, 08:53 PM)
I cant even get pass 2x BW without using mixed grip. Even with mixed grip also I have to 'land the weight' then re-grip to lift, which is wasting my momentum. No matter how strong i grip it also fail, next Im looking at straps. Plateau for weeks also because of this issue
Don't worry about that. Just use mixed grip to deadlift. Deadlift main purpose is to train your whole body and not just your forearm. Why should you restrict yourself to deadlift heavier just because of your weaker grip strength? But IMO, mixed grip should be enough for you to deadlift a really heavy weight. If you feel grip strength is the reason for your plateau no matter what grip u using, go and get a strap. Just train your forearm directly after your deadlift session if you worry your forearm is lacking.

And also you shouldn't use "momentum" when deadlifting. Deadlift = dead stop on the floor and lift it. You shouldn't include any momentum at all or you just waste the purpose of "dead"lift.
TSrazorboy
post Sep 30 2014, 08:29 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 28 2014, 08:53 PM)
I cant even get pass 2x BW without using [1]mixed grip. Even with mixed grip also I have to 'land the weight' then re-grip to lift, which is [2]wasting my momentum. No matter how strong i grip it also fail, next Im looking at straps. [3]Plateau for weeks also because of this issue
[1]Please make sure the hand that is under in the over-under grip is locked out at all times when you move the bar. Don't curl the bar which many tend to do once the weight gets heavy.
[2]Why are you concerned with momentum? Momentum should be completely omitted from your training for now. Heck unless you're going for >20 reps, I'd say leave momentum alone. Momentum is what screws you in the long run. I'm surprised no one has given you stick yet, but then again, the regs that I know aren't that active anymore (myself included). Besides, it's called a DEAD-lift. Let the weight go dead, re-set and go again. I'd rather reset the bar and my position 10 times for 10 reps than hammer out 10 reps with momentum.
[3]What are your rep ranges and frequency on deadlifts? Are you using deadlift as a hypertrophy exercise or are you deadlifting because it's big numbers you chase? Periodize your training. For example, have days where you power out 3-5 reps, have days where you do 6-8 reps. Varying your weights of course. You'd be surprise how sets of 8 with 225 translates over to your ability to grip the bar banging out sets of 3-5 with 315.
xDjWanNabex
post Oct 29 2014, 05:29 AM

932 posts

Hey sifu's!

Just want to ask your opinion on this.

Recently i joined a new gym with ana ctual squat rack. Previously i was at CF doing squats with the power rack.

The problem is now i have noticed my form is just plain right shit. I bend in front too much when i squat down. I read that this may be really bad in the long run as i could injure my back.

What advice do you give in order for me to actually squat properly.

even with free weights, my body automatically tends to lean forward when squatting.

Thank you!
TSrazorboy
post Oct 29 2014, 07:53 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Oct 29 2014, 05:29 AM)
Hey sifu's!

Just want to ask your opinion on this.

Recently i joined a new gym with ana ctual squat rack. Previously i was at CF doing squats with the power rack.

The problem is now i have noticed my form is just plain right shit. I bend in front too much when i squat down. I read that this may be really bad in the long run as i could injure my back.

What advice do you give in order for me to actually squat properly.

even with free weights, my body automatically tends to lean forward when squatting.

Thank you!
1) Do you squat high bar or low bar?
2) Youtube - Bryce Lewis Lower Body Mobility
3) Record a video and post it here so we can see clearer
4) Are you engaging your core as much as possible? If you're not familiar on how to do so, place your arm between your lower and mid back, take a big deep breath into your stomach and slower exhale and tense your abs as hard as possible, you should feel your back muscle pushing onto your hand.
5) A slight forward lean is okay if you squat lower bar and have a much longer lower body. Unless you're doing a good morning with the bar and you're experiencing butt wink, a slight forward lean is acceptable.
6) If you DO have a butt wink, it's important to have the mobility to open up your hips, push out your knees and engage your glutes. I'll go into details only if you do have it.
xDjWanNabex
post Oct 29 2014, 05:23 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 29 2014, 07:53 AM)
1) Do you squat high bar or low bar?
2) Youtube - Bryce Lewis Lower Body Mobility
3) Record a video and post it here so we can see clearer
4) Are you engaging your core as much as possible? If you're not familiar on how to do so, place your arm between your lower and mid back, take a big deep breath into your stomach and slower exhale and tense your abs as hard as possible, you should feel your back muscle pushing onto your hand.
5) A slight forward lean is okay if you squat lower bar and have a much longer lower body. Unless you're doing a good morning with the bar and you're experiencing butt wink, a slight forward lean is acceptable.
6) If you DO have a butt wink, it's important to have the mobility to open up your hips, push out your knees and engage your glutes. I'll go into details only if you do have it.
Hey thanks for the suggestion on the mobility workouts!
Ill try to get a vid, just moved to a new country and have no gym mates at the moment, so migh be a little hard!

A quick question on the mobility stretches, i noticed no where in the video or other videos/sites did they mention the frequency of the stretches. Should i do it before my squats, or is it alright if i did it daily to loosen up my body. I know my legs are pretty stiff, and i have a groin injury that might also be contributing to this problem. Hopefully i can get rid of this ! thumbup.gif
TSrazorboy
post Oct 29 2014, 05:39 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Oct 29 2014, 05:23 PM)
Hey thanks for the suggestion on the mobility workouts!
Ill try to get a vid, just moved to a new country and have no gym mates at the moment, so migh be a little hard!

A quick question on the mobility stretches, i noticed no where in the video or other videos/sites did they mention the frequency of the stretches. Should i do it before my squats, or is it alright if i did it daily to loosen up my body. I know my legs are pretty stiff, and i have a groin injury that might also be contributing to this problem. Hopefully i can get rid of this ! thumbup.gif
Start out doing as often as possible.
If you have a soft tissue injury, foam roll/deep tissue massage before you stretch. Scar tissues are not the same of soft tissue.

Masamune
post Dec 17 2014, 03:49 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Guys, i cant seem to find a gym around me that has a squat or power rack. Am going to CF now at shah alam and they only have a smith rack. At first i started with the smith rack but recently i just used the ez bar/straight bar rack as a squat rack but its still hard to put the bar back down after a set.

Should i just continue on the smith rack?
kshen
post Dec 17 2014, 07:02 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Dec 17 2014, 03:49 PM)
Guys, i cant seem to find a gym around me that has a squat or power rack. Am going to CF now at shah alam and they only have a smith rack. At first i started with the smith rack but recently i just used the ez bar/straight bar rack as a squat rack but its still hard to put the bar back down after a set.

I feel your pain. I had to train my legs for almost 6 months without the squat rack. You can still squat with the smith machine, but the variation/form will be different from the free weight squat, and of course the free weight squat has better "effectivity" compared to smith machine. Both have their own goods.

Here's what I did , I used the smith machine on the early stage . Then , I "made" my own squat rack. You know those weight-hangers ? I placed them in the proper width (to support the babell) and some equal weights on both side (so that they won't fall to one side or the other). Works as good as a squat rack , but with a risk of course, it's dangerous lol ( had my fair share of embarrassment before).

PS: Don't do it lol. If you want to , why not sweat.gif
kshen
post Dec 18 2014, 08:17 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(manapergi @ Dec 17 2014, 08:57 PM)
chief follow this form ok?

Honestly, I have no say in this . since I've never done this variation of squats before . Heck I didn't even know this exercise even exist lol
marczeman2
post Dec 20 2014, 02:22 PM

177 posts

Hi guys, I've just recently started squatting regularly (before this just once in a while) since I began Stronglifts. However I'm not too sure about my form, please critique smile.gif

P.S. I use the plates to make up for poor ankle mobility (learned that trick online and it does help reach greater depth so I stuck with it). Btw I'm 6'2" with long limbs

Any tips/suggestions are welcome

-ccy-
post Dec 20 2014, 03:50 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Dec 20 2014, 02:22 PM)
Hi guys, I've just recently started squatting regularly (before this just once in a while) since I began Stronglifts. However I'm not too sure about my form, please critique  smile.gif

P.S. I use the plates to make up for poor ankle mobility (learned that trick online and it does help reach greater depth so I stuck with it). Btw I'm 6'2" with long limbs

Try avoid wearing cushioned sport shoe to squat. It makes you so unstable and shaky during whole squat session. Wear hard sole shoe like converse or just squat barefoot if you can't afford squat shoe. Either improve your ankle mobility or just invest a squat shoe will be better option than squatting on weight plate. I did that before but as weight goes up, you are increasing your chance of injury due to accident.

Depth seems fine and just hit parallel.

But when you lowering your body, make it as a whole movement. Don't separate upper body and lower body. You are lowering your upper body and bend your knees after that. Do both at once and not doing it separately. You only did this correctly during your first and second reps.

For your first reps, always take a big breath and brace your core before you start squatting. Control the weight and don't rush.
marczeman2
post Dec 20 2014, 04:13 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(-ccy- @ Dec 20 2014, 03:50 PM)
Try avoid wearing cushioned sport shoe to squat. It makes you so unstable and shaky during whole squat session. Wear hard sole shoe like converse or just squat barefoot if you can't afford squat shoe. Either improve your ankle mobility or just invest a squat shoe will be better option than squatting on weight plate. I did that before but as weight goes up, you are increasing your chance of injury due to accident.

Depth seems fine and just hit parallel.

But when you lowering your body, make it as a whole movement. Don't separate upper body and lower body. You are lowering your upper body and bend your knees after that. Do both at once and not doing it separately. You only did this correctly during your first and second reps.

For your first reps, always take a big breath and brace your core before you start squatting. Control the weight and don't rush.
Thanks bro, really appreciate your comments smile.gif

Btw, where can I buy weightlifting/squat shoes?
-ccy-
post Dec 21 2014, 12:05 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Dec 20 2014, 04:13 PM)
Thanks bro, really appreciate your comments  smile.gif

Btw, where can I buy weightlifting/squat shoes?
Don't think you can get it from any local store. I bought mine from china. I think you had to search around the net.
GameFr3ak
post Dec 23 2014, 10:14 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Dec 17 2014, 03:49 PM)

Use the bench rack. Rack the bar on the highest point, facing the bench and bar, put your back under the bar. Lift the bar off the rack, step back and away from the bench. Do your squats, step forward towards the bench and rack the bar.

Dangerous if you've reached failure so a spotter is mandatory if you're squatting heavy.

Hi guys, I've just recently started squatting regularly (before this just once in a while) since I began Stronglifts. However I'm not too sure about my form, please critique  smile.gif

Chuck taylor RM100++. I prefer barefoot.
xDjWanNabex
post Mar 2 2015, 06:59 PM

932 posts

Hey guys. Been facing this problem for the past two weeks. For some weird reason when I'm deadlifting and squatting, the heel of my right leg tends to go up and not stay firm on the floor. I tried forcing it down but it involuntarily still comes up for some unknown reason. Any idea why?

Additional info: I lift barefoot and have tried dropping weights but still the same. Also problem just began like 2-3 weeks back. Never faced this before. Problems oy on right leg.

Thank you!
xqezt
post Mar 6 2015, 03:44 PM

66 posts

This may sound stupid but I think you should wear shorts for squatting. Wearing unstrechable track bottom like the one you wear may hinder free movement of squatting. But that just me
GameFr3ak
post Mar 6 2015, 03:56 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Mar 2 2015, 06:59 PM)
Hey guys. Been facing this problem for the past two weeks. For some weird reason when I'm deadlifting and squatting, the heel of my right leg tends to go up and not stay firm on the floor. I tried forcing it down but it involuntarily still comes up for some unknown reason. Any idea why?

Additional info: I lift barefoot and have tried dropping weights but still the same. Also problem just began like 2-3 weeks back. Never faced this before. Problems oy on right leg.

Thank you!
squat down slowly, do you feel tightness on your right leg? Could be lack of mobility on that leg...
xDjWanNabex
post Mar 6 2015, 10:14 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 6 2015, 03:56 PM)
squat down slowly, do you feel tightness on your right leg? Could be lack of mobility on that leg...
Dont feel any tightness what so ever. Mobility definitely is lacking as i had a groin injury + i was a fat fck, and im still working on mobility, but im sure thats not the problem. This thing has only plagued me for the past 2 odd weeks. Never had this problem prior, ruling out mobility...right?

Asked a doctr friend of mine, he said my calf's could be a little tensed, and he recommended stretching them out.
H3lpM3
post Mar 9 2015, 10:09 PM

254 posts

sorry may be a bit late for this reply but your squat is totally wrong

looking at the video, especially towards the last few reps, you are bending down your upper body first before you bend your knee, as if you are trying to do good morning. thats the problem with using plates under your feet as it pushed your body slight forward, throw that plate away and squat with your feet flat on the floor, also, dont do low bar.

and rule of thumb, your knee shouldnt be passing your toe when you squat

you are skinny so I dont think why you have mobility issue.
mirmo4eva
post Mar 20 2015, 02:02 PM

Guys I need some expert here. I always arch my back since young so now I have problem doing deadlift with straighten back. It will always bend no matter how much I try straightening it. Do you think if I get the weightlifting belt it will be helpful for me ?
alien9
post Mar 20 2015, 03:07 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(mirmo4eva @ Mar 20 2015, 02:02 PM)
Guys I need some expert here. I always arch my back since young so now I have problem doing deadlift with straighten back. It will always bend no matter how much I try straightening it. Do you think if I get the weightlifting belt it will be helpful for me ?
You could try to do Superman Exercise. I have a friend who have "bongkok udang" and I fixed his back for deadlift using this exercises. Bear in mind, it's painful.
degraw1993
post Mar 20 2015, 06:02 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(mirmo4eva @ Mar 20 2015, 02:02 PM)
You could do bent over rows
ah_suknat
post Mar 21 2015, 01:06 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(mirmo4eva @ Mar 20 2015, 06:02 AM)
stretch frequently during your off day

stretch before you perform the exercise

make sure your form is correct

if you are doing dead lift, make sure you reach the bar by bending your knees, not your back, then look forward, tighten your core, arms lock, tigthen your grip and drive your leg up as if you are doing leg press. keep looking forward and never look down, tighten your hips and drive it forward as if you are banging your chicks hard.
fnm83
post Mar 28 2015, 12:41 PM

287 posts

I dont want to open new tered but i am hoping u guys help me here. I have been doing training with Land Mine for the past few weeks. Now i am having mild lower back pain. I am afraid my technique was wrong but i had my instructor checking on me during the training and he said was all fine.
My question is how to get rid of this lower back pain. Somehow it is disturbing me. I did cobra post everymorning and it will go a way for a while and come back after wards.

Thanks sifu.
alien9
post Mar 28 2015, 10:05 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Mar 28 2015, 12:41 PM)
I dont want to open new tered but i am hoping u guys help me here. I have been doing training with Land Mine for the past few weeks. Now i am having mild lower back pain. I am afraid my technique was wrong but i had my instructor checking on me during the training and he said was all fine.
My question is how to get rid of this lower back pain. Somehow it is disturbing me. I did cobra post everymorning and it will go a way for a while and come back after wards.

Thanks sifu.
Most probably that you have weak lower back and the pain being triggered due to you need to brace and lock your lower back while doing the Landmine.

What I will suggest you to do is hyper-extension to strenghen the lower back area.
ah_suknat
post Mar 30 2015, 04:46 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Mar 28 2015, 04:41 AM)

Thanks sifu.
stretch before and after

what kind of land mine exercise you did?
fnm83
post Mar 31 2015, 09:07 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:05 PM)
Most probably that you have weak lower back and the pain being triggered due to you need to brace and lock your lower back while doing the Landmine.

What I will suggest you to do is hyper-extension to strenghen the lower back area.
thanks sifu, will try that.

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Mar 30 2015, 04:46 PM)
stretch before and after

what kind of land mine exercise you did?
I did various. but the pain started to develop after I did LM rowing.
ah_suknat
post Mar 31 2015, 10:25 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Mar 31 2015, 01:07 AM)
thanks sifu, will try that.
I did various. but the pain started to develop after I did LM rowing.
like alien said, you might have a weak lower back then, if you are doing rowing, try to lower the weight down and work it way up to develop the lower back strength, and most importantly listen to your own body, your coach might see nothing wrong with the form but truth is not everyone is the same, some people have long torso, some have short, etc etc. just like doing deadlift, tall people do it differently than short people.

so get the general idea on how the correct form should be and adjust your body position correctly, as the lower back is the most easily miss positioned of all the other body parts.
-kytz-
post May 19 2015, 02:42 AM

12,573 posts

I've just started gym like one week ago, in total been to the gym for 3 times. Never been to gym before that sad.gif

Here are the equipments I can do. I know I'm quite weak sweat.gif

Pec Fly 35kg
Diverging row 22.5kg
Chest press 20kg
Leg press 82.5kg
Leg extention machine 35kg
Dumbells 8kg on right hand, 6kg on left. My left hand is much weaker than my right sad.gif

Hope in about 3-4 weeks time, I can do much heavier weights, around 20-30% more smile.gif

Any other nice equipment for me to try?
kshen
post May 19 2015, 10:59 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 19 2015, 02:42 AM)
I've just started gym like one week ago, in total been to the gym for 3 times. Never been to gym before that sad.gif

Pec Fly 35kg
Diverging row 22.5kg
Chest press 20kg
Leg press 82.5kg
Dumbells 8kg on right hand, 6kg on left. My left hand is much weaker than my right sad.gif

Hope in about 3-4 weeks time, I can do much heavier weights, around 20-30% more smile.gif

Squats and Deadlift ? Overhead presses ? Weighted dips and pull ups? (Bodyweight/weighted)
alien9
post May 19 2015, 11:25 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 19 2015, 02:42 AM)

Pec Fly 35kg
Diverging row 22.5kg
Chest press 20kg
Leg press 82.5kg

Everyone start somewhere so don't be discourage about it. What you can do is that establish a clear goal first, then move forward to that.

Depending on your goal, you can either go for any Strength Beginner Routine or a HIT/HIIT circuit.
-kytz-
post May 19 2015, 05:09 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ May 19 2015, 10:59 AM)
Squats and Deadlift ? Overhead presses ? Weighted dips and pull ups? (Bodyweight/weighted)
Squats with barbells? Haven't done any barbells yet.

Thinking of doing chin ups but quite embarassed if I do it in the gym blush.gif

Thinking of getting a chin up bar to fix at your home door hmm.gif

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 19 2015, 11:25 AM)
Everyone start somewhere so don't be discourage about it. What you can do is that establish a clear goal first, then move forward to that.

Depending on your goal, you can either go for any Strength Beginner Routine or a HIT/HIIT circuit.
Thanks bro for the encouragement smile.gif

Clear goal is to lose the body fat (currently around 25%) and build muscles. FYI, I'm currently 72.5kg and 175cm.

Been losing weight steadily since 1 month ago on a keto diet, 20th April I weigh at 76kg smile.gif

HIIT is basically doing intensive exercise in intervals right? Does this apply to sit ups, push ups, squats, plank ? Because I do these exercise regularly in my room nod.gif
ah_suknat
post May 19 2015, 09:24 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 19 2015, 09:09 AM)
Squats with barbells? Haven't done any barbells yet.

Thinking of doing chin ups but quite embarassed if I do it in the gym  blush.gif

Thinking of getting a chin up bar to fix at your home door hmm.gif
Thanks bro for the encouragement smile.gif

Clear goal is to lose the body fat (currently around 25%) and build muscles. FYI, I'm currently 72.5kg and 175cm.

Been losing weight steadily since 1 month ago on a keto diet, 20th April I weigh at 76kg smile.gif

HIIT is basically doing intensive exercise in intervals right? Does this apply to sit ups, push ups, squats, plank ? Because I do these exercise regularly in my room nod.gif
why are you getting embarrased in the gym...? lol

dont bother losing weight ... your weight and your height is about average.... if you are at that weight and at that height with that bodyfat I bet you probably have very little muscle mass...

if you go under 70kg at 175CM you will look as skinny as fuark like armesh...

focus on building muscle mass and eat slightly more.
-kytz-
post May 19 2015, 10:41 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ May 19 2015, 09:24 PM)
why are you getting embarrased in the gym...? lol

dont bother losing weight ... your weight and your height is about average.... if you are at that weight and at that height with that bodyfat I bet you probably have very little muscle mass...

if you go under 70kg at 175CM you will look as skinny as fuark like armesh...

focus on building muscle mass and eat slightly more.
If I can only do 2-3 chin ups? Haha anyway just my insecurity smile.gif

Armesh is 180cm and 54kg la. I wanna go around 68kg or so only. I really want to shed the body fat first until around 20% first then I'll start bulking mode, that is, eat more calories smile.gif

degraw1993
post May 20 2015, 08:43 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 19 2015, 10:41 PM)
If I can only do 2-3 chin ups? Haha anyway just my insecurity smile.gif

Armesh is 180cm and 54kg la. I wanna go around 68kg or so only. I really want to shed the body fat first until around 20% first  then I'll start bulking mode, that is, eat more calories smile.gif
So you just started workout and want to shed body fat first? You know what you'll end up looking skinny fat brotha. I would suggest have a caloric surplus and go lift that's all you need.

This post has been edited by degraw1993: May 20 2015, 08:44 PM
-kytz-
post May 20 2015, 11:44 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 08:43 PM)
So you just started workout and want to shed body fat first? You know what you'll end up looking skinny fat brotha. I would suggest have a caloric surplus and go lift that's all you need.
Looking at my belly fat, gosh ! Ya know, it's the most annoying thing for me now and for a long time now, never really took initiative to address it until I found ketosis.

My aim is just 20% body fat, not 10-12% like Armesh lol. 20% is still plenty decent and my frame is not small. I will give myself around 2-3 months to get to 20% BF smile.gif

Then I'll start bulking with more fats and protein in my diet smile.gif
degraw1993
post May 20 2015, 11:47 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 20 2015, 11:44 PM)
Looking at my belly fat, gosh ! Ya know, it's the most annoying thing for me now and for a long time now, never really took initiative to address it until I found ketosis.

My aim is just 20% body fat, not 10-12% like Armesh lol. 20% is still plenty decent and my frame is not small. I will give myself around 2-3 months to get to 20% BF smile.gif

Then I'll start bulking with more fats and protein in my diet smile.gif
What's ur current weight? U need to understand that armesh is skinny. Unless he puts on some fats and proteins then it would be good with that bodyfat. Why u need to be in 20% bodyfat? U wanna be fat? Lol
-kytz-
post May 20 2015, 11:50 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 11:47 PM)
What's ur current weight? U need to understand that armesh is skinny. Unless he puts on some fats and proteins then it would be good with that bodyfat. Why u need to be in 20% bodyfat? U wanna be fat? Lol
175cm and 72.5kg. Around 25% BF.

I'm aiming to shred 5% body fat until around 20% which is considered extremely good for me as I've always been around 25% for my entire life LOL.

I estimate when my weight drops to around 68kg or so, my BF should be around 20%.

From then on, I'll start bulking (eating more calories) and let ketosis eat up the remaining body fat biggrin.gif
degraw1993
post May 20 2015, 11:53 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 20 2015, 11:50 PM)
175cm and 72.5kg. Around 25% BF.

I'm aiming to shred 5% body fat until around 20% which is considered extremely good for me as I've always been around 25% for my entire life LOL.

I estimate when my weight drops to around 68kg or so, my BF should be around 20%.

From then on, I'll start bulking (eating more calories) and let ketosis eat up the remaining body fat biggrin.gif
If i were you i would clean up my diet and not be too scientific about following any types of diet. You must be new fr lifting.
-kytz-
post May 21 2015, 12:00 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 11:53 PM)
If i were you i would clean up my diet and not be too scientific about following any types of diet. You must be new fr lifting.
You mean to say a Ketogenic diet is not clean enough? How so?

Yeah, I'm new to gym workouts. Was never really interested in getting ripped and all these stuff and until one day I just decided to lose weight and look good smile.gif

I'm taking it easy as I've only been to the gym 2 weeks now, still learning about the equipments and all. I do sit ups, push ups, planking, squats in my room almost everyday smile.gif

degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 12:01 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2015, 12:00 AM)
You mean to say a Ketogenic diet is not clean enough? How so?

Yeah, I'm new to gym workouts. Was never really interested in getting ripped and all these stuff and until one day I just decided to lose weight and look good smile.gif

I'm taking it easy as I've only been to the gym 2 weeks now, still learning about the equipments and all. I do sit ups, push ups, planking, squats in my room almost everyday smile.gif
Idk about that keto diet but it's just my opinion.
-kytz-
post May 21 2015, 12:59 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 21 2015, 12:01 AM)
Idk about that keto diet but it's just my opinion.
Ketogenic diet is very clean smile.gif In fact, it is much more healthy than a high carb diet. It doesn't have all the diseases such as diabetes, heart diseases, high blood pressure, obesity that are often associated with high carb diet. In fact, ketogenic diets are widely used to treat severe illness such as cancer, epilepsy in children, brain disorders and of course heart diseases smile.gif
degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 07:39 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2015, 12:59 AM)
Ketogenic diet is very clean smile.gif In fact, it is much more healthy than a high carb diet. It doesn't have all the diseases such as diabetes, heart diseases, high blood pressure, obesity that are often associated with high carb diet. In fact, ketogenic diets are widely used to treat severe illness such as cancer, epilepsy in children, brain disorders and of course heart diseases smile.gif
Very "clean"? So u think high carb diet is really bad? Have u actually try? Im sorry but any diet is useless if u eat like crap.
-kytz-
post May 21 2015, 08:20 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 21 2015, 07:39 AM)
Very "clean"? So u think high carb diet is really bad? Have u actually try? Im sorry but any diet is useless if u eat like crap.
I wasn't the one using the term" clean " first.

Have I actually tried high Carb diet? Lol I've been doing high carb diet 99% of my life same with every other person I know.

Lol I'm pointing to you the facts about high Carb diet but if you refuse to listen and remain ignorant, I won't be bothered explaining further. Evidence is all out there and studies done time after time points to high Carb diet being bad.

What's your definition of eating crap ? Eating lots of saturated fats like butter and bacon?
degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 08:30 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2015, 08:20 AM)
I wasn't the one using the term" clean " first.

Have I actually tried high Carb diet? Lol I've been doing high carb diet 99% of my life same with every other person I know.

Lol I'm pointing to you the facts about high Carb diet but if you refuse to listen and remain ignorant, I won't be bothered explaining further. Evidence is all out there and studies done time after time points to high Carb diet being bad.

What's your definition of eating crap ? Eating lots of saturated fats like butter and bacon?
Read your post before again and again until you understand

This post has been edited by degraw1993: May 21 2015, 08:30 AM
-kytz-
post May 21 2015, 08:41 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 21 2015, 08:30 AM)
Read your post before again and again until you understand
My reply did address your question that's why I don't really see the point you're trying to make? hmm.gif

You first said to clean up my diet.

I told you that my diet is clean.

You feigned ignorance about keto and never bothered to learn about it.

I explained to you why keto is good and why high Carb diet is bad for you and I asked you what is "eating like crap?"

You conveniently dodged the question and asked me to read back my own post when you can't even debate further. Lol.

Looks like it's end of discussion.

degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 08:44 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2015, 08:41 AM)
My reply did address your question that's why I don't really see the point you're trying to make?  hmm.gif

You first said to clean up my diet.

I told you that my diet is clean.

You feigned ignorance about keto and never bothered to learn about it.

I explained to you why keto is good and why high Carb diet is bad for you and I asked you what is "eating like crap?"

You conveniently dodged the question and asked me to read back my own post when you can't even debate further. Lol.

Looks like it's end of discussion.
The point i try to make is i don't care if you're doing keto or high carb diet if you don't make any gains or lose fat that means something wrong. You're new and you didn't even lift
-kytz-
post May 21 2015, 08:55 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 21 2015, 08:44 AM)
The point i try to make is i don't care if you're doing keto or high carb diet if you don't make any gains or lose fat that means something wrong. You're new and you didn't even lift
Seriously? We're both talking about diet and now you say you don't care if I'm doing whatever diet? You said I shouldn't eat like crap. Yes correct. But I defended myself by telling you I don't eat like crap. I further explained why high Carb is bad as it's often associated with metabolic diseases and heart problems.

To be real honest I'm not here looking for an argument but you made it happen by saying. It's only natural that I defended myself smile.gif

Anyway bro just clarifying myself properly. Want to make more friends and not enemies! icon_rolleyes.gif
-ccy-
post May 21 2015, 02:00 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 21 2015, 08:55 AM)
Seriously? We're both talking about diet and now you say you don't care if I'm doing whatever diet? You said I shouldn't eat like crap. Yes correct. But I defended myself by telling you I don't eat like crap. I further explained why high Carb is bad as it's often associated with metabolic diseases and heart problems.

To be real honest I'm not here looking for an argument but you made it happen by saying. It's only natural that I defended myself smile.gif
Anyway bro just clarifying myself properly. Want to make more friends and not enemies! icon_rolleyes.gif
Never tell darklight that high carb is bad lol...
degraw1993
post May 21 2015, 02:20 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(-ccy- @ May 21 2015, 02:00 PM)
HAHA just let him be brah bcs he's newbie

This post has been edited by degraw1993: May 21 2015, 02:21 PM
alien9
post May 21 2015, 02:46 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 11:47 PM)
QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 20 2015, 11:53 PM)
QUOTE(degraw1993 @ May 21 2015, 08:44 AM)
Please read properly on what other people have written and then give a proper advice without a hint of undermining them.

Yes, you lift and yes you show it at your avatar but does that give you a pass to undermine other people? Please stop.
kshen
post May 21 2015, 09:22 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(-ccy- @ May 21 2015, 02:00 PM)
I'm waiting for DL to appear :/ I know he's lurking here somewhere !
Armesh
post May 22 2015, 12:19 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ May 21 2015, 02:46 PM)
Please read properly on what other people have written and then give a proper advice without a hint of undermining them.

Yes, you lift and yes you show it at your avatar but does that give you a pass to undermine other people? Please stop.
Don't take it seriously, it's just an Internet forum.

On a side note, I'm quite famous nowadays icon_rolleyes.gif .
fnm83
post Jun 5 2015, 11:38 AM

287 posts

hello abam sado,

recently my thumb has developed de quervain's tenosynovitis condition, that doesnt allow me to hold of lift any weight properly. even a small water bottle can cause a very sharp pain around my wrist. it is also will take many weeks to recover back.

since no lifting for the time being, would you guys pls suggest what are the other alternative exercise can i do to maintain my abs and body tone. i have been running on threadmill now so getting bored day by day.

thanks sifu all.

ah_suknat
post Jun 5 2015, 03:48 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Jun 5 2015, 03:38 AM)
hello abam sado,

recently my thumb has developed de quervain's tenosynovitis condition, that doesnt allow me to hold of lift any weight properly. even a small water bottle can cause a very sharp pain around my wrist. it is also will take many weeks to recover back.

since no lifting for the time being, would you guys pls suggest what are the other alternative exercise can i do to maintain my abs and body tone. i have been running on threadmill now so getting bored day by day.

thanks sifu all.
planking

-kytz-
post Jun 15 2015, 02:13 PM

12,573 posts

Probably off topic but do gyms such as Celebrity Fitness/Fitness First give out trial periods like 1 month to try the gym facilities for potential new members?
kshen
post Jun 15 2015, 02:58 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 15 2015, 02:13 PM)
Probably off topic but do gyms such as Celebrity Fitness/Fitness First give out trial periods like 1 month to try the gym facilities for potential new members?
They do have a 1 week trial , but it's really vague , it really depends on how you and the salesperson make a deal . It can be 1 month, maybe even a few days lol .
Jimmyy00
post Jul 1 2015, 06:21 PM

Thanks man for the videos.
db07mufan
post Sep 7 2015, 11:01 AM

3,705 posts

guys,

been developing a little pain everytime i squat. Trying my best to describe, pain happens on my lower left thigh nearby the groin, seems like there is a connecting muscle from groin to thigh (hamstrings perhaps?), it hurts a little when i approach parallel.

Dropped the weights even happen on an empty barbell . Anyone experienced this before?
GameFr3ak
post Sep 7 2015, 04:54 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Sep 7 2015, 11:01 AM)
guys,

been developing a little pain everytime i squat. Trying my best to describe, pain happens on my lower left thigh nearby the groin, seems like there is a connecting muscle from groin to thigh (hamstrings perhaps?), it hurts a little when i approach parallel.

Dropped the weights even happen on an empty barbell . Anyone experienced this before?
describe your warm up before the first actual set........

"After going out on my own for a while, and working with a coach, I learned that my quads are overdeveloped due to poor squat form caused by pushing through my toes too much.

She had me stop doing squats (HOLY FUCK YEAH SQUAT VACATION) and focus on glute and hamstring development.

Now, when I squat, I open my legs up wider and have my toes pointed out at an angle, because it is what feels natural for me. Now that the strength is my hamstrings and glutes is better, I feel those muscles activate in my squat."

db07mufan
post Sep 7 2015, 06:03 PM

3,705 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Sep 7 2015, 04:54 PM)
describe your warm up before the first actual set........

"After going out on my own for a while, and working with a coach, I learned that my quads are overdeveloped due to poor squat form caused by pushing through my toes too much.

She had me stop doing squats (HOLY FUCK YEAH SQUAT VACATION) and focus on glute and hamstring development.

Now, when I squat, I open my legs up wider and have my toes pointed out at an angle, because it is what feels natural for me. Now that the strength is my hamstrings and glutes is better, I feel those muscles activate in my squat."

a full body stretch on the precor machine, then butterflies, lunges. then squats start from empty bar, 10kg increment till work set
GameFr3ak
post Sep 7 2015, 07:56 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Sep 7 2015, 06:03 PM)
a full body stretch on the precor machine, then butterflies, lunges. then squats start from empty bar, 10kg increment till work set

And maybe bad form ... try record squat video so sifu here can critique

noonies_naruto
post Sep 21 2015, 04:50 PM

736 posts

hi guys. I've recently hit my squat PR at 180kg. I noticed I'm strongest when i do a low bar squat. However, that has given a toll on my left elbow. Exactly at the joint. When I do low bar, my arms will extend way back and it is painful. Any mobility exercises to help with the extension?
TSrazorboy
post Sep 23 2015, 10:23 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Sep 21 2015, 04:50 PM)
hi guys. I've recently hit my squat PR at 180kg. I noticed I'm strongest when i do a low bar squat. However, that has given a toll on my left elbow. Exactly at the joint. When I do low bar, my arms will extend way back and it is painful. Any mobility exercises to help with the extension?
Here's a good video about it.
Breaking Your Wrists for Better Elbows
ah_suknat
post Sep 29 2015, 12:12 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Sep 21 2015, 08:50 AM)
Are you going to join powerlifting?

If not then can change to high bar.
babycry123
post Oct 5 2015, 10:55 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

Hi i'm on a 5x5 workout that focuses on squat, bench and deadliftt. started working out back in april this year and was 55kg now 66kg. I eat everything and whatever is in front of me. my question is that, now i have big and solid tummy? how do i work on this?
chyu89
post Oct 9 2015, 04:54 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Oct 5 2015, 10:55 PM)
Hi i'm on a 5x5 workout that focuses on squat, bench and deadliftt. started working out back in april this year and was 55kg now 66kg. I eat everything and whatever is in front of me. my question is that, now i have big and solid tummy? how do i work on this?
Start with be choosy on whatever infront of you? laugh.gif
BacktoBasics
post Nov 3 2015, 10:41 AM

1,802 posts

Are deadlifts bad for people with weak knees?
ah_suknat
post Nov 6 2015, 09:43 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 3 2015, 02:41 AM)
Are deadlifts bad for people with weak knees?
More Reason why you should deadlift.

Start light since joint and tendon strength improved slower than neurological and muscular strength
BacktoBasics
post Nov 6 2015, 10:13 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Nov 6 2015, 09:43 AM)
More Reason why you should deadlift.

Start light since joint and tendon strength improved slower than neurological and muscular strength
I am still trying to search for a good form for deadlift through videos and articles as I have a knee issue. Dont wanna destroy my knees for fitness lol hmm.gif
helven
post May 9 2016, 06:14 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Generally, there is only 1 power rack and 2 bench press rack(with no safety arm) in the gym, have never seen people bench at power rack, do I look weird/stupid/annoying if I bench on a power rack? I don't have a spotter and I don't want to kill myself.

This post has been edited by helven: May 9 2016, 06:14 PM
Amedion
post May 9 2016, 06:21 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 9 2016, 06:14 PM)
Generally, there is only 1 power rack and 2 bench press rack(with no safety arm) in the gym, have never seen people bench at power rack, do I look weird/stupid/annoying if I bench on a power rack? I don't have a spotter and I don't want to kill myself.

Mr.7
post May 9 2016, 07:34 PM

1,242 posts

No problem just drag the bench to the power rack . Alternatively you can do rest pause bench press which can help you to handle more loads next time on the regular bench press.
lilredridinghood
post May 26 2016, 11:46 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Might sound silly but perhaps sometimes it is good to dial back a little and go with the Smith? That's just an idea

Or perhaps just compromise a little of your form(unless you have already arched your back) to boost and lift that failure rep

*but really, I think Smiths aren't that bad haha

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: May 26 2016, 11:47 AM
helven
post May 26 2016, 03:39 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 9 2016, 06:21 PM)

That roll trick takes effort to learn, I failed my last rep on past 2 weeks attempt and end up "hey bro can you help me" biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Petre
post Jul 21 2016, 12:17 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

hi guys
i have a pair of dumbbells and i plan to connect them using a connector

or is it better that i get a long bar?
if so, how long is recommended if i can only get one bar?

tqvm for your answer biggrin.gif

Everdying
post Jul 21 2016, 02:55 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 21 2016, 12:17 PM)
hi guys
i have a pair of dumbbells and i plan to connect them using a connector

or is it better that i get a long bar?
if so, how long is recommended if i can only get one bar?

tqvm for your answer biggrin.gif

depends what u wanna do with the bar?
Petre
post Jul 21 2016, 03:12 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 21 2016, 02:55 PM)
depends what u wanna do with the bar?
oh? pls elaborate

i think pretty standard some row and curl...?
Everdying
post Jul 21 2016, 03:29 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 21 2016, 03:12 PM)
oh? pls elaborate

i think pretty standard some row and curl...?
if like that, why not just stick with the dumbells? dont really need a bar for those.

Petre
post Jul 21 2016, 03:32 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 21 2016, 03:29 PM)
if like that, why not just stick with the dumbells? dont really need a bar for those.
i think you are you are right smile.gif
Everdying
post Jul 21 2016, 04:04 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 21 2016, 03:32 PM)
i think you are you are right  smile.gif
unless ur going very heavy in total...u can actually do alot with dumbells.
but if still want to buy a bar... there's always the ez curl bar...
Petre
post Jul 21 2016, 04:09 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 21 2016, 04:04 PM)
unless ur going very heavy in total...u can actually do alot with dumbells. 
but if still want to buy a bar... there's always the ez curl bar...
why not the straight bar?
Everdying
post Jul 21 2016, 04:14 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 21 2016, 04:09 PM)
why not the straight bar?
cos its too long tongue.gif
ijnek
post Jul 21 2016, 05:41 PM

566 posts

straight cars do come in different length...
Everdying
post Jul 21 2016, 05:47 PM

30,730 posts

of cos got diff length.
but curl bar is standard 4ft.
i dont think i seen a straight bar here that's shorter than 5ft.
helven
post Sep 14 2016, 03:53 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Recently days, I find myself able to use leg drive on my bench which I see many power-lifter does by thinking I'm pushing my body down towards the bench rather than pushing the bar up towards the ceiling, is this the correct technique to do use leg drive? I am able to feel the force from my feet towards the bar, and tighten the core is really an important factor to transfer the force. I've never been able to do that with cues that shown by Alan Thrall nor Candito

Wolger
post Nov 3 2016, 11:43 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Sep 14 2016, 03:53 PM)
Recently days, I find myself able to use leg drive on my bench which I see many power-lifter does by thinking I'm pushing my body down towards the bench rather than pushing the bar up towards the ceiling, is this the correct technique to do use leg drive? I am able to feel the force from my feet towards the bar, and tighten the core is really an important factor to transfer the force. I've never been able to do that with cues that shown by Alan Thrall nor Candito

Alan Thrall did mention this pushing my body down towards the bench

Alan's cues: push yourself away from the bar into the bench, bend the bar to activate lats and tuck in your elbow not too close maybe at 45% to maintain shoulder health..maintain core and whole body tightness throughout the set..chest up..
helven
post Nov 3 2016, 02:37 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ Nov 3 2016, 11:43 AM)
Alan Thrall did mention this pushing my body down towards the bench

Alan's cues: push yourself away from the bar into the bench, bend the bar to activate lats and tuck in your elbow not too close maybe at 45% to maintain shoulder health..maintain core and whole body tightness throughout the set..chest up..
Maybe i missed this part. Still not able to feel my lats yet so bending the bar doesn't really work now. Might cause my lats is still weak, not built. Might sounds illogical but those cue feel, doesn't comes in 1 day, it just come slowly.

Wolger
post Nov 3 2016, 04:07 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Nov 3 2016, 02:37 PM)
Maybe i missed this part. Still not able to feel my lats yet so bending the bar doesn't really work now. Might cause my lats is still weak, not built. Might sounds illogical but those cue feel, doesn't comes in 1 day, it just come slowly.
Yup..it took me months..and one thing not sure about others my grip width is not that wide just a little bit wider than my shoulder...you can build up your triceps better or you can better "bend the bar" this way..
helven
post Nov 30 2016, 06:46 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

I notice this video coming out from Jordan Yeoh this morning, I don't feel quite right with the bar path being straight 90 degree, it is unnatural.
https://www.facebook.com/jordanyeohfitness/?fref=ts

vs Alan Thrall's one which is slightly towards lower chest.

Despite everyone's are born different and all of us have different length of hand, I'm leaning towards Alan Thrall. Before I'm aware of bar path of bench, I shot my bench video once, naturally, it is not 90 degree straight.

Idk if the way powerlifter and body builder's bench have different bar path, any comment?
helven
post Dec 1 2016, 12:49 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Just sharing this is small detail, not sure if anyone have experienced this but I always does and feel sucks, can be solved easily thou
Bench Press - Back Slipping using Leg Drive

dewking
post Mar 29 2017, 02:03 AM

46 posts

Hey guys, if you have sport injuries, I can recommend one chiropractor/physio therapist in Penang:
Zen Chiropractic

one of my friends got a back injury got it fixed from this outlet
Lionel90
post Apr 13 2017, 06:46 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

I have pain in my lower back when i arch during bench press - not the stupid extreme arch - just slightly more than necessary to reduce the ROM, what are the possible causes? Anything to take note of?

I have rounded back my whole life, not sure if that contributes to it?
bafukie
post Apr 14 2017, 06:01 AM

1,406 posts

Is tat pain consistently present during arching only or? First will be yr arching position, generally a fist size arch is good enough to ensure u dont go overboard with it, secondly its time to put more focus on working the posterior chain.
Lionel90
post Apr 14 2017, 12:21 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Apr 14 2017, 06:01 AM)
Is tat pain consistently present during arching only or? First will be yr arching position, generally a fist size arch is good enough to ensure u dont go overboard with it, secondly its time to put more focus on working the posterior chain.
It is present during arching, specifically when I arch more than I have been used to/ I think is necessary, though I wouldnt say it's overboard. Any other time I dont feel it, sore maybe, but not this pain, where I have to really stop, luckily before I unrack.

Cant recall when it started or what happened prior to it.
FreedomDream
post May 28 2017, 06:44 PM

415 posts

Is it okay to squat everyday?
bafukie
post May 29 2017, 09:07 AM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(FreedomDream @ May 28 2017, 06:44 PM)
If you are able to balance volume n intensity. Why not
kshen
post May 29 2017, 08:17 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(FreedomDream @ May 28 2017, 06:44 PM)
There's something called the Bulgarian Method covered by Omarisuf, it's mostly squatting everyday. I don't think this is the same as the original Bulgarian system though.
Wolger
post May 30 2017, 11:49 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ May 29 2017, 08:17 PM)
There's something called the Bulgarian Method covered by Omarisuf, it's mostly squatting everyday. I don't think this is the same as the original Bulgarian system though.
I'd recommend Smolov for squat

The key is Volume guys..if you want progress for all your lifts.
kshen
post May 30 2017, 11:19 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(Wolger @ May 30 2017, 11:49 AM)
I'd recommend Smolov for squat

The key is Volume guys..if you want progress for all your lifts.
Yup, heard of it. But have never tried neither of these programs, Im too much of a pussy to do it lol
ah_suknat
post Jun 3 2017, 06:25 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(FreedomDream @ May 28 2017, 10:44 AM)
Take 1 step back to move 2 step forward.

You muscle and CNS needs recovery to progress and prevent injuries.

Squat everyday are for those atletes already peaking in their lift and just want to perfecting their movements, they are not lifting near max.

You can if you alternate beetween heavy days and light days.

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Jun 3 2017, 06:26 AM
Wolger
post Jun 5 2017, 10:30 AM

292 posts

That's why I feel Smolov works instead of squat everyday - at most 4 times a week if you really want to go all out on Squat..

Just like ah_suknat - best way for recovery incorporate heavy, light or medium per week.
yapchenpo
post Nov 30 2019, 01:14 PM

I highly recommend one chiropractor/physiotherapist in Penang: Philip Yap
Very experienced physio that graduates from National Taiwan University and he is also a Certified Advanced level Dry Needling Practioner.

My friends got a back injury got it fixed from this guy.

If you’re looking for physiotherapy in Penang, check out his website ( https://philipyap.org )

SUSselow and timid
post Aug 3 2020, 12:59 PM

15 posts

am currently squatting 100% of my body weight at 3 reps per set

my question, if i want to grow my glutes and quads should i maintain this ? or change to squat 90% of my body weight at 5 reps per set?
Amedion
post Aug 3 2020, 10:41 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(selow and timid @ Aug 3 2020, 12:59 PM)
am currently squatting 100% of my body weight at 3 reps per set

my question,  if i want to grow my glutes and quads should i maintain this ? or change to squat 90% of my body weight at 5 reps per set?
If you want to grow. Drop the weight and do more reps.
Thejs P
post Mar 6 2021, 10:47 PM

Probation
22 posts

Great guide, I started with mehdi's 5x5, but this is super detailed and effective

0.1133sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:23 AM