Squats/Deadlifts/BenchPress/WeightedPress 101, By Mark Rippetoe

ah_suknat
post Mar 21 2015, 01:06 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(mirmo4eva @ Mar 20 2015, 06:02 AM)
Guys I need some expert here. I always arch my back since young so now I have problem doing deadlift with straighten back. It will always bend no matter how much I try straightening it. Do you think if I get the weightlifting belt it will be helpful for me ?
stretch frequently during your off day

stretch before you perform the exercise

make sure your form is correct

if you are doing dead lift, make sure you reach the bar by bending your knees, not your back, then look forward, tighten your core, arms lock, tigthen your grip and drive your leg up as if you are doing leg press. keep looking forward and never look down, tighten your hips and drive it forward as if you are banging your chicks hard.
ah_suknat
post Mar 30 2015, 04:46 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Mar 28 2015, 04:41 AM)
I dont want to open new tered but i am hoping u guys help me here. I have been doing training with Land Mine for the past few weeks. Now i am having mild lower back pain. I am afraid my technique was wrong but i had my instructor checking on me during the training and he said was all fine.
My question is how to get rid of this lower back pain. Somehow it is disturbing me. I did cobra post everymorning and it will go a way for a while and come back after wards.

Thanks sifu.
stretch before and after

what kind of land mine exercise you did?
ah_suknat
post Mar 31 2015, 10:25 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Mar 31 2015, 01:07 AM)
thanks sifu, will try that.
I did various. but the pain started to develop after I did LM rowing.
like alien said, you might have a weak lower back then, if you are doing rowing, try to lower the weight down and work it way up to develop the lower back strength, and most importantly listen to your own body, your coach might see nothing wrong with the form but truth is not everyone is the same, some people have long torso, some have short, etc etc. just like doing deadlift, tall people do it differently than short people.

so get the general idea on how the correct form should be and adjust your body position correctly, as the lower back is the most easily miss positioned of all the other body parts.
ah_suknat
post May 19 2015, 09:24 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 19 2015, 09:09 AM)
Squats with barbells? Haven't done any barbells yet.

Thinking of doing chin ups but quite embarassed if I do it in the gym  blush.gif

Thinking of getting a chin up bar to fix at your home door hmm.gif
Thanks bro for the encouragement smile.gif

Clear goal is to lose the body fat (currently around 25%) and build muscles. FYI, I'm currently 72.5kg and 175cm.

Been losing weight steadily since 1 month ago on a keto diet, 20th April I weigh at 76kg smile.gif

HIIT is basically doing intensive exercise in intervals right? Does this apply to sit ups, push ups, squats, plank ? Because I do these exercise regularly in my room nod.gif
why are you getting embarrased in the gym...? lol

dont bother losing weight ... your weight and your height is about average.... if you are at that weight and at that height with that bodyfat I bet you probably have very little muscle mass...

if you go under 70kg at 175CM you will look as skinny as fuark like armesh...

focus on building muscle mass and eat slightly more.
ah_suknat
post Jun 5 2015, 03:48 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(fnm83 @ Jun 5 2015, 03:38 AM)
hello abam sado,

recently my thumb has developed de quervain's tenosynovitis condition, that doesnt allow me to hold of lift any weight properly. even a small water bottle can cause a very sharp pain around my wrist. it is also will take many weeks to recover back.

since no lifting for the time being, would you guys pls suggest what are the other alternative exercise can i do to maintain my abs and body tone. i have been running on threadmill now so getting bored day by day.

thanks sifu all.
planking

ah_suknat
post Sep 29 2015, 12:12 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Sep 21 2015, 08:50 AM)
hi guys. I've recently hit my squat PR at 180kg. I noticed I'm strongest when i do a low bar squat. However, that has given a toll on my left elbow. Exactly at the joint. When I do low bar, my arms will extend way back and it is painful. Any mobility exercises to help with the extension?
Are you going to join powerlifting?

If not then can change to high bar.
ah_suknat
post Nov 6 2015, 09:43 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 3 2015, 02:41 AM)
Are deadlifts bad for people with weak knees?
More Reason why you should deadlift.

Start light since joint and tendon strength improved slower than neurological and muscular strength
ah_suknat
post Jun 3 2017, 06:25 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(FreedomDream @ May 28 2017, 10:44 AM)
Is it okay to squat everyday?
Take 1 step back to move 2 step forward.

You muscle and CNS needs recovery to progress and prevent injuries.

Squat everyday are for those atletes already peaking in their lift and just want to perfecting their movements, they are not lifting near max.

You can if you alternate beetween heavy days and light days.

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Jun 3 2017, 06:26 AM

0.0235sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:32 PM