Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up.
Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up.
Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up.
Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply.
Seriously, worst ever customer service
PUBLIC BANK = Worst service in the industry, Lousy customer support, arrogant staff
Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
48 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
It's been few days trying...
Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service |
Feb 23 2017, 09:07 AM
182 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: KL |
Hi Bro, I would agree with as I also facing the same issue. I want to query regarding my hire purchase for final payment/month and call branch but no pickup. email customer service and branch also no reply.
can we CC email to Bank Negara and complain? |
Feb 23 2017, 09:24 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(nap2617 @ Feb 23 2017, 09:07 AM) Hi Bro, I would agree with as I also facing the same issue. I want to query regarding my hire purchase for final payment/month and call branch but no pickup. email customer service and branch also no reply. Of course can. Public bank will suffer because of your complain.can we CC email to Bank Negara and complain? |
Feb 23 2017, 09:30 AM
245 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
CIMB customer service took one week+ to reply my email. Problem already solved by the time i got reply from them
Feb 23 2017, 09:52 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
664 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
really? when they want my money aka insurance scheme, they are so easy to get and find.
Feb 23 2017, 10:06 AM
1,514 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Earth |
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM) It's been few days trying... hmm...their credit card division kind of efficient though Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service |
Feb 23 2017, 10:25 AM
376 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Feb 23 2017, 10:27 AM
9,789 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Rubber Duck Pond |
Yep their CS is the worst. I have to call for 2 days then only got people pick up.
Feb 23 2017, 10:27 AM
826 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Agree. Takes 2 month to process my car loan. Ended buy the car cash. Some staff lie about the loan status after i directly go to HQ. Cant wait for other 3 month for new app.
Feb 23 2017, 10:51 AM
Feb 23 2017, 11:33 AM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
They do reply my email, just that it take one hell of a long time.
For their hotline, don't bother. You should try and their direct line. My call got pick up with 2 rings with their direct line. |
Feb 23 2017, 11:46 AM
48,419 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Feb 23 2017, 11:50 AM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Feb 23 2017, 11:53 AM
499 posts Joined: May 2013 |
if you are VIP to them, you will have their manager personal handphone..
Feb 23 2017, 11:57 AM
Feb 23 2017, 12:00 PM
1,049 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
They efficient over the counter.
Feb 23 2017, 12:33 PM
2,361 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
by the time this thread is up. more and more similar thread such as "Maybank worst service , CIMB the terrible bank etc etc.
Im not the staff of Public Bank but so far i had no issue with them. Depends on each person bad experience. I had terrible experience with Maybank and CIMB but not in this thread i wanna mention. |
Feb 23 2017, 01:38 PM
1,205 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
I don't like PB in general. Their technology and so on is always so left behind.
Even you open Basic Savings, they still want you have the paper passbook. And worst is their system is traditional and stuck to old methods. One time I went there to close account, they give me lansi face.. say this one is NOT our branch, go to your home branch to close.. Nowadays, most banks can close account any branches.. but not PB. PB also some of their things : like other bank's IBG GIRO can go 30k per day, this PB limit it at 10k or something and ask people to get some sort of gadget if you want to IBG More.. And worst, PB is not shy to implement penalties and extra costs here and there... This cannot that cannot, this want charge that want charge. Like their Gold Savings Account, other bank minimum maintain 1g Ok.. PB must maintain 2g. Other bank, you keep whatever g of gold also ok.. PB must keep 10g per year.. or else u gotta pay RM10 per year penalty charge... It is famous for being one of the most 'kiamsiap' banks in Malaysia. Heard that the staff inside also have toilet paper quota cannot use too much at toilet. And their Internet Banking is always lagging just like Maybank2u in the old days. You load need to wait the loading circle to turn maybe 10-20 circles before your page can finish load. This post has been edited by filage: Feb 23 2017, 01:41 PM |
Feb 23 2017, 01:44 PM
246 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
their CC customer very ok...very helpful so far...
Feb 23 2017, 01:49 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
QUOTE(filage @ Feb 23 2017, 01:38 PM) I don't like PB in general. Their technology and so on is always so left behind. same hlbb, not sure other banks, why close account MUST go to the branch where u open account?Even you open Basic Savings, they still want you have the paper passbook. And worst is their system is traditional and stuck to old methods. One time I went there to close account, they give me lansi face.. say this one is NOT our branch, go to your home branch to close.. Nowadays, most banks can close account any branches.. but not PB. PB also some of their things : like other bank's IBG GIRO can go 30k per day, this PB limit it at 10k or something and ask people to get some sort of gadget if you want to IBG More.. And worst, PB is not shy to implement penalties and extra costs here and there... This cannot that cannot, this want charge that want charge. Like their Gold Savings Account, other bank minimum maintain 1g Ok.. PB must maintain 2g. Other bank, you keep whatever g of gold also ok.. PB must keep 10g per year.. or else u gotta pay RM10 per year penalty charge... It is famous for being one of the most 'kiamsiap' banks in Malaysia. Heard that the staff inside also have toilet paper quota cannot use too much at toilet. And their Internet Banking is always lagging just like Maybank2u in the old days. You load need to wait the loading circle to turn maybe 10-20 circles before your page can finish load. |
Feb 23 2017, 01:49 PM
414 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Feb 23 2017, 01:52 PM
Feb 23 2017, 01:54 PM
768 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM) It's been few days trying... CC to BNM. they will reply in 4 hours!Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service |
Feb 23 2017, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 23 2017, 01:49 PM) They say is SOP, I ask further - your open account documents are with the branch. Actually this is primitive already. If you close account with other banks at any branch, they also will not ask your home branch for documents. At most it is just an instruction that will channel to your home branch. So I say if I open the account at some faraway kampung and I left the place for a long time already, then I cannot close la? They give me lansi reply and say, "yalah tht's why our bank is looking to change the system". |
Feb 23 2017, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(filage @ Feb 23 2017, 01:38 PM) I don't like PB in general. Their technology and so on is always so left behind. Even you open Basic Savings, they still want you have the paper passbook. And worst is their system is traditional and stuck to old methods. One time I went there to close account, they give me lansi face.. say this one is NOT our branch, go to your home branch to close.. Nowadays, most banks can close account any branches.. but not PB. PB also some of their things : like other bank's IBG GIRO can go 30k per day, this PB limit it at 10k or something and ask people to get some sort of gadget if you want to IBG More.. And worst, PB is not shy to implement penalties and extra costs here and there... This cannot that cannot, this want charge that want charge. Like their Gold Savings Account, other bank minimum maintain 1g Ok.. PB must maintain 2g. Other bank, you keep whatever g of gold also ok.. PB must keep 10g per year.. or else u gotta pay RM10 per year penalty charge... It is famous for being one of the most 'kiamsiap' banks in Malaysia. Heard that the staff inside also have toilet paper quota cannot use too much at toilet. And their Internet Banking is always lagging just like Maybank2u in the old days. You load need to wait the loading circle to turn maybe 10-20 circles before your page can finish load. QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 23 2017, 01:49 PM) QUOTE(filage @ Feb 23 2017, 02:28 PM) They say is SOP, I ask further - your open account documents are with the branch. Answer is simple. Say you open in some far away kampung. Because you they need you to return to that kampung, most people won't do that. Just leave the account as it is. Money is not removed from the bank. Bank is able to make money off this account. Imagine there are 100000 people with this kind of thing. Easy money for the bank.Actually this is primitive already. If you close account with other banks at any branch, they also will not ask your home branch for documents. At most it is just an instruction that will channel to your home branch. So I say if I open the account at some faraway kampung and I left the place for a long time already, then I cannot close la? They give me lansi reply and say, "yalah tht's why our bank is looking to change the system". |
Feb 23 2017, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 23 2017, 02:38 PM) Answer is simple. Say you open in some far away kampung. Because you they need you to return to that kampung, most people won't do that. Just leave the account as it is. Money is not removed from the bank. Bank is able to make money off this account. Imagine there are 100000 people with this kind of thing. Easy money for the bank. I heard if leave it untouched for 7 years will go to unclaimed money or something. If savings account, each year deduct RM10 for dormant until the 7th year. If left RM20 only like BSA, then 2 years dormant become RM0 consider closed. But this is still okay compared to other things like investment accounts where you still hold significant amount there and unable to close. |
Feb 23 2017, 05:09 PM
24,219 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM) It's been few days trying... Seriously, I never had any issues calling PBB customer service. Maybe you should check with their branches if they are upgrading their systems.Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service |
Feb 23 2017, 05:10 PM
9,040 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Normal unless u know the manager personally.
Feb 23 2017, 06:06 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
PBB is really using old system / technique banking...
Feb 23 2017, 08:23 PM
266 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(filage @ Feb 23 2017, 01:38 PM) I don't like PB in general. Their technology and so on is always so left behind. yes their online banking sucks big time. not user friendly at all and like you say, loading time takes forever! Even you open Basic Savings, they still want you have the paper passbook. And worst is their system is traditional and stuck to old methods. One time I went there to close account, they give me lansi face.. say this one is NOT our branch, go to your home branch to close.. Nowadays, most banks can close account any branches.. but not PB. PB also some of their things : like other bank's IBG GIRO can go 30k per day, this PB limit it at 10k or something and ask people to get some sort of gadget if you want to IBG More.. And worst, PB is not shy to implement penalties and extra costs here and there... This cannot that cannot, this want charge that want charge. Like their Gold Savings Account, other bank minimum maintain 1g Ok.. PB must maintain 2g. Other bank, you keep whatever g of gold also ok.. PB must keep 10g per year.. or else u gotta pay RM10 per year penalty charge... It is famous for being one of the most 'kiamsiap' banks in Malaysia. Heard that the staff inside also have toilet paper quota cannot use too much at toilet. And their Internet Banking is always lagging just like Maybank2u in the old days. You load need to wait the loading circle to turn maybe 10-20 circles before your page can finish load. |
Feb 23 2017, 08:57 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Feb 23 2017, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Feb 23 2017, 05:09 PM) Seriously, I never had any issues calling PBB customer service. Maybe you should check with their branches if they are upgrading their systems. I don't think so, even if that's the case they should set an automated message in hotline informing customer about the interruption. |
Feb 23 2017, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(carmenyta @ Feb 23 2017, 08:23 PM) yes their online banking sucks big time. not user friendly at all and like you say, loading time takes forever! Yeah their online banking website looks and use like those vintage website being done in the 90s. Not only that even the internal banking processing has stupid problem, I remember paying my loan installment in the last day of the month and the transaction already done and shown in the loan account but then their system still auto debit my current account and pay to the loan again meaning double pay in that month |
Feb 23 2017, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 11:46 PM) Yeah their online banking website looks and use like those vintage website being done in the 90s. Not only that even the internal banking processing has stupid problem, I remember paying my loan installment in the last day of the month and the transaction already done and shown in the loan account but then their system still auto debit my current account and pay to the loan again meaning double pay in that month :x They have certain part of their online banking last I seen have note like : The amount displayed here may not reflect actual amount if it is performed before / after [certain times]...How lousy is that? And sometimes they have some place they put 999.9999 etc when the field suppose blank or zero.. |
Feb 24 2017, 07:10 AM
8,259 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
My experience is taking number to see customer service is a very very long wait...
Feb 24 2017, 11:46 AM
Same thing today...
Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. I swear I will never ever deal with this bank anymore when I can refinance my existing loan. Reported profit every year but never try to improve their core business. Probably the whole bank just riding on past success and gazillions of mutual funds. |
Feb 24 2017, 02:21 PM
8,650 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: lolyat |
QUOTE(filage @ Feb 23 2017, 01:38 PM) I don't like PB in general. Their technology and so on is always so left behind. Because they still using the old technology, i think 20 years ago Even you open Basic Savings, they still want you have the paper passbook. And worst is their system is traditional and stuck to old methods. One time I went there to close account, they give me lansi face.. say this one is NOT our branch, go to your home branch to close.. Nowadays, most banks can close account any branches.. but not PB. PB also some of their things : like other bank's IBG GIRO can go 30k per day, this PB limit it at 10k or something and ask people to get some sort of gadget if you want to IBG More.. And worst, PB is not shy to implement penalties and extra costs here and there... This cannot that cannot, this want charge that want charge. Like their Gold Savings Account, other bank minimum maintain 1g Ok.. PB must maintain 2g. Other bank, you keep whatever g of gold also ok.. PB must keep 10g per year.. or else u gotta pay RM10 per year penalty charge... It is famous for being one of the most 'kiamsiap' banks in Malaysia. Heard that the staff inside also have toilet paper quota cannot use too much at toilet. And their Internet Banking is always lagging just like Maybank2u in the old days. You load need to wait the loading circle to turn maybe 10-20 circles before your page can finish load. last time Hong Leong also same with Public Bank, but they rebrand the whole image and it look much younger And yes their management is still reluctant to revamp the whole system, like this only can show nice profit to their shareholder This post has been edited by yhtan: Feb 24 2017, 02:23 PM |
Mar 22 2017, 11:44 AM
15,192 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Mar 22 2017, 12:43 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Yet many Msian Chinaman prefer this bank. They also now have connections to China.
Mar 22 2017, 12:45 PM
Mar 22 2017, 12:52 PM
2,714 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 23 2017, 01:49 PM) I think this applies to nearly all local bank, maybank also request me to go to the same branch to close account last time.But if it is really too much hassle, transfer all your money out until left RM10... then in few years time, the account close by itself lo... |
Mar 22 2017, 12:53 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Mar 22 2017, 01:04 PM
Mar 22 2017, 02:00 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
QUOTE(cdspins @ Mar 22 2017, 12:52 PM) I think this applies to nearly all local bank, maybank also request me to go to the same branch to close account last time. recently i contacted hlbb online help chat.. i made complain about this, and they now allow to close the account at any branches.. i saved the chat script just in case if the other branches don't allow, i will show them the chat But if it is really too much hassle, transfer all your money out until left RM10... then in few years time, the account close by itself lo... anyway, i still don't see the point why MUST close accont at home branch.. all should be connected.. |
Mar 22 2017, 11:51 PM
10,340 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
My experience with public back cs few days ago was very positive. Call made to hotline was picked up within reasonable time n another call to branch was equally as smooth. The later was picked up with 2 rings. N she didn't sound rush n was friendly to answer all my questions. Both call was made before 10am.
Apr 2 2017, 06:01 PM
4,082 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
PB service has dropped a lot over the years and I find their customer service over the counter to be pathetic. They lack of simple manners while i find Maybank to have improved a lot over the years. HLB customer service isn't too bad as well.
Apr 2 2017, 07:14 PM
589 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(silverwave @ Apr 2 2017, 06:01 PM) PB service has dropped a lot over the years and I find their customer service over the counter to be pathetic. They lack of simple manners while i find Maybank to have improved a lot over the years. HLB customer service isn't too bad as well. Yes, compare with other local bank, Maybank did improved a lot. Their branches customer service also one of the effective & proactive so far I experience, followed by Citibank (best telephone banking in Malaysia) and Ambank. |
Apr 2 2017, 08:18 PM
1,962 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(silverwave @ Apr 2 2017, 06:01 PM) PB service has dropped a lot over the years and I find their customer service over the counter to be pathetic. They lack of simple manners while i find Maybank to have improved a lot over the years. HLB customer service isn't too bad as well. can alwaysraise the unsatisfactory service to BNM |
Apr 2 2017, 09:17 PM
Apr 4 2017, 02:07 PM
Thats why is very depends with the ppl who encounter it.
Setitik nila rosak susu sebelanga. Not all taxi driver are samseng (beat up grab car) Not all PB is bad. My experience with PB is superb. For me, Maybank and CIMB is more worse. |
Apr 4 2017, 06:37 PM
440 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
depend on location and area
some PB bank staff are to lansi to layan normal peasant especially u jus want do FD promo 10k 20k, coz there are many rich people they want to serve, Of coz, they cannot rej u, but u can sense that the "dog-eyes" staff attitude when executing ur request it does happen in my the area where i live |
Apr 11 2017, 04:13 PM
1,587 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
I found that most of the time, their ATMs, CDMs are always out of order, within the bank itself
give me the impression of a typical chinaman company, squeezing costs to the max, deposit interest wise is among the lowest in the industry u feel that CIMB staffs is godsend if you compare to PBB |
Apr 12 2017, 04:54 PM
1,865 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Just like any large business with many branches, there will be good ones and also some bad apples.
As many have stated here, it depends on the branches and whether you are unlucky enough to catch the staff on a bad day (yes, unfortunately, not everyone is professional). Personally, my experience with Public Bank has been very positive over the years. Three months ago, I went to change my debit card at a PBB branch in Ipoh. It was Chinese New Year period and the place was packed to the brim. I did have to wait quite a bit before it was my turn, but the staff was still very polite and helpful, and helped me with my debit card replaced in just a few minutes, then guided me on how to replace my PIN number, etc. and all the while with a friendly smile. Of course bad and impolite staff exist as well, but I prefer to believe that if I approach the staff with a smile and friendly attitude first, most times they will reciprocate. |
Apr 13 2017, 07:44 AM
7,496 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Public Bank Credit Cards thread is up for those that are interested https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4251865
This post has been edited by DarReNz: Apr 13 2017, 07:44 AM |
Oct 12 2017, 04:43 PM
25 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
Bump.
It is the CALL CENTER. It is non existent. And similar to Pos Malaysia Call Center. Also NON EXISTENT. Their "helpline" only exist in name. 24/7 the line is "engaged". Any problem go to branch. And queue for 1-2 hours. But if you think Public Bank is bad, wait till you try RHB. Actually, ALL Malaysian, or anything Malaysian....pretty much SUCKS. Like the telcos. That goes without saying. Sigh......if any foreigner says Malaysia sucks, I actually support them. Because, it is 100% true. The trials and tribulations of being a Malaysian.....sigh. Changing the govt will do NOTHING. It is changing the thinking, mindset, attitude, basically everything. And this kind of thing cannot be changed, because already ingrained into the DNA. This post has been edited by WeddingStuff: Oct 12 2017, 04:46 PM |
Oct 12 2017, 09:00 PM
I rarely go into a branch nowadays. I just sit on a chair, and do all my banking with a mouse. The last time I went to a branch was to replace my cards. Pin and pay thingy.
In fact, for a number of things I just set them up as "recurring" so I don't even have to do anything. I don't quite like the mobile apps, I'm happy with a desktop and a mouse. Even for things like FD promo which required you to go to a branch not long ago, now I just go click-click via FPX and it's done. People in this forum with internet access still complain about branch service and call centres? How many people still go to a branch for things they can do online? |
Oct 13 2017, 10:34 AM
12,267 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 12 2017, 09:00 PM) I rarely go into a branch nowadays. I just sit on a chair, and do all my banking with a mouse. The last time I went to a branch was to replace my cards. Pin and pay thingy. What are the banks which offer online Fixed Deposit transactions? In fact, for a number of things I just set them up as "recurring" so I don't even have to do anything. I don't quite like the mobile apps, I'm happy with a desktop and a mouse. Even for things like FD promo which required you to go to a branch not long ago, now I just go click-click via FPX and it's done. People in this forum with internet access still complain about branch service and call centres? How many people still go to a branch for things they can do online? Stupid Standchart has an icon but it does not work! |
Oct 13 2017, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 13 2017, 10:34 AM) What are the banks which offer online Fixed Deposit transactions? Most of them should do, by now, I hope.Stupid Standchart has an icon but it does not work! Public Bank used to have an "online FD" where you clicked on some buttons to "open" the FD. Then someone from the bank would ring you a few days later and say to collect your FD certificate in person from the branch. That's their version of "online". To be fair, that's a few years ago. I have not attempted their "online" since then. But the real online FDs that I've used are RHB and HLB. Currently, HLB has a special rate of 4.2% for online FD via FPX (ie fresh funds) |
Oct 14 2017, 01:00 PM
724 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM) It's been few days trying... You need priority service which is extremely good. The account manager will come visit you, to open the account, if u need to deposit , do wire transfer or any the account manager will come to your office to do it for you. Don't need to go to the bank, or even line up.Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service Just open that service, requires 250,000-300,000 cash though in your account to qualify |
Oct 19 2017, 05:40 PM
75 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
Hi guys,
I'm trying to get confirmation with you guys here, since calling their centre engaged 24/7. I want to apply Public Bank account, and want to apply for PBe. However, the aunty over the counter said that I need to pay charges for some security device if i want to register for PBe (personal). Is this normal practice by PB? Do i need to pay the device charges if i were to apply PBe? Is there any other charges to apply for PBe? |
Oct 19 2017, 06:07 PM
14,856 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(KaD1GO @ Oct 19 2017, 05:40 PM) Hi guys, the security devise is called "token"I'm trying to get confirmation with you guys here, since calling their centre engaged 24/7. I want to apply Public Bank account, and want to apply for PBe. However, the aunty over the counter said that I need to pay charges for some security device if i want to register for PBe (personal). Is this normal practice by PB? Do i need to pay the device charges if i were to apply PBe? Is there any other charges to apply for PBe? some people don't want it for it is not so convenience than normal SMS PAC but some people think this "token" is more secure.... try get more info from here https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/FA...ng/PAC-(1).aspx |
Oct 20 2017, 11:07 AM
507 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 13 2017, 10:02 PM) Most of them should do, by now, I hope. Public Bank already introduced real e-FD a few years back. In fact, they are currently offering promotion for their e-FD although the rate is not that attractive. Currently, they have two options, i.e. online FD placement where customer needs to collect the cert after placement and e-FD where everything is done online including upliftment.Public Bank used to have an "online FD" where you clicked on some buttons to "open" the FD. Then someone from the bank would ring you a few days later and say to collect your FD certificate in person from the branch. That's their version of "online". To be fair, that's a few years ago. I have not attempted their "online" since then. But the real online FDs that I've used are RHB and HLB. Currently, HLB has a special rate of 4.2% for online FD via FPX (ie fresh funds) QUOTE(KaD1GO @ Oct 19 2017, 05:40 PM) Hi guys, No, it is not necessary to get the security device for PBe unless you intend to transfer more than 20k in a day. The security device is free of charge. There is no other charges for applying PBe.I'm trying to get confirmation with you guys here, since calling their centre engaged 24/7. I want to apply Public Bank account, and want to apply for PBe. However, the aunty over the counter said that I need to pay charges for some security device if i want to register for PBe (personal). Is this normal practice by PB? Do i need to pay the device charges if i were to apply PBe? Is there any other charges to apply for PBe? |
Dec 29 2017, 01:06 PM
954 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Garbage service. Everyone waiting for one customer service officer. Only managed to serve 4 people in one and a half hours.
Other staff sitting around doing nothing. Even after complaining, they still refused to help out. Wrote in to their email customer service centre to complain. Not sure if I'll get any response. This post has been edited by thesoothsayer: Dec 29 2017, 01:08 PM |
Dec 29 2017, 05:39 PM
589 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Another experience on morning call to their customer service center. Arrogant attitude
Jan 19 2018, 01:24 PM
21 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Now still need to go to open branch to close account PB? Anyone have current experience on this?
Feb 19 2018, 02:25 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(theedi @ Feb 23 2017, 08:56 AM) It's been few days trying... I am in same situation, personally went and submitted the papers at main branch but somehow they lost it Directly call to bank branch, nobody pick up. Call to 1-800-22-5555 nobody pick up. Call 03-2179 5000 nobody pick up. Email to customersupport@publicbank.com.my never reply. Seriously, worst ever customer service Any ways if it helps try to call 03-2179 6000, it works for me and they usually pick up quite fast but get ready to be redirected at least 5 times. |
Feb 20 2018, 05:22 PM
26 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
I have found that almost all Malaysian banks have very bad service for south Asians (not just my experience) and it is very difficult to even open an account (I gave up getting one for my wife after visiting about 6 banks). Despite being premier in 3 banks here, service is very poor and the staff are universally rude and deeply condescending.
The upshot is that I still use my HK/US/Singapore bank accounts for most things and am put off from investing in Malaysia though the low ringgit last year made it an excellent investment destination. It is strange that the govt has so many schemes like MM2H to attract investment and has been excellent to deal with so far but any desire that one may have had to invest disappears on encountering the banks. There are plenty of places in the world which always welcome your money (particularly the tiny dot next door) and the only reason I have to deal with the local banking system is that nobody else deals with MYR and my local expenses are in MYR. |
Mar 14 2018, 05:15 PM
37 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:44 AM |
Mar 15 2018, 08:36 AM
2,649 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Imo there's no worst BANK but rather worst branch
Some place I visited, pb is the fastest and efficient While others, damn sucks wey.. it takes approximately 30 min for the q to go up also |
Mar 15 2018, 11:16 AM
Well general consensus saying most PB branch sucks..
From PJ right to Klang 😈 |
Mar 15 2018, 04:56 PM
3,019 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Its not that bad if you dont ask for some kind of uncommon service.
My PBBCC, i only go to their branch once to apply. CC and its replacements all by mail. Its my best card, petron gold visa. Cash back from using petron. And the best benefit is 36 month installement at 11street for purchase over rm500. |
Mar 16 2018, 09:30 PM
28 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
Their mobiles banking app are as lousy as their CS quality...
Mar 16 2018, 10:05 PM
70 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
I apply car loan at maybank and Public Bank..
In less than 24 hours Maybank staff call and said the loan is approved ... a few hour later PBB call and said approved as well ... I told PBB staff, can you offer the loan interest lower or at least match Maybank offer (just 0.5% difference only) ... I said I prefer Your bank than Maybank... and the reply said tak boleh ... After a month later, PBB Ipoh Yg Kalsom call again and ask for my personal info to update system ... I ask him to write a formal email instead of calling for personal info ... stupid PBB staff rudely said why I m so trouble maker one and said WHAT I WANT NOW ... and yes he do send me the email and the email damn kindergarden email ... Most of the PBB staff is Chinese ... those middle ranking and lower ranking Chinese work at PBB is suck ... I m Chinese but I prefer Malay banker than Chinese ... No PBB for me for life |
Apr 24 2018, 03:30 PM
36 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
what happened to PBB phone number
Call to 1-800- user busy?? Call 03-2176 6000 nobody pick up. why la .. sad |
Apr 24 2018, 09:04 PM
177 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Agree
Apr 24 2018, 10:47 PM
252 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Right now u can go on twitter and fb and tell ur issues to maybank & cimb and evenon social media they can solve ur problems. Good luck with public bank. Most profitable bank but cannot afford at least a rm1k intern to handle social media account?
Apr 25 2018, 10:03 AM
3,165 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Apr 24 2018, 10:47 PM) Right now u can go on twitter and fb and tell ur issues to maybank & cimb and evenon social media they can solve ur problems. Good luck with public bank. Most profitable bank but cannot afford at least a rm1k intern to handle social media account? Sometimes I really cannot understand the mentality. It's like they derive pleasure in tarnishing own company image. If we are the owners, I am sure the first thing to do is to spend some money in keeping website, customer service, feedback in top notch condition. What are the owners and management thinking ?This post has been edited by aspartame: Apr 25 2018, 10:04 AM |
Apr 25 2018, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 25 2018, 10:03 AM) Sometimes I really cannot understand the mentality. It's like they derive pleasure in tarnishing own company image. If we are the owners, I am sure the first thing to do is to spend some money in keeping website, customer service, feedback in top notch condition. What are the owners and management thinking ? I guess, they have data showing,....not necessary for now for the impact of this few complaints (to either financially or branding) are not justifying for the additional cost. just an example.......those that complaint here...did they continue to use PB banking or related services? This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 25 2018, 10:41 AM |
Apr 25 2018, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 25 2018, 10:31 AM) I guess, they have data showing,....not necessary for now for the impact of this few complaints (to either financially or branding) are not justifying for the additional cost. just an example.......those that complaint here...did they continue to use PB banking or related services? |
Apr 25 2018, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 25 2018, 11:01 AM) But the additional cost involved is so small! It is a no brainer. And, not easy to measure impact of loss of confidence, good will etc. By the time one realises, company could be in irreversible downward trajectory. Financials aside, I will just maintain everything nicely irrespective of cost..this is the way our society progresses..by maintaining high standards in everything we do. they have ISO 9001 "Under the “Provision of Customer Service at Front Office” processes"....with that, they would have to do periodic reviews of one of the clause requirement ...like clause 4.2: "understanding the needs and expectations of interested parties..." That clause is also needed to be reviewed during the Management Review input clause 9.3.2..... thus,...if there is a problem that could cause high impact risk or high occurrence opportunities, it would have to be made known and aware of and would have taken necessary actions to reduce the risk impact or take appropriate actions to enhance the opportunities.... yes, it would be a no brainer....if really not happy; change lor....why still stick with it....when the choice is available and non restrictive.. This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 25 2018, 04:06 PM |
Apr 25 2018, 10:45 PM
100 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
I recently called PBB CS regrading issue that i got a error showing on their PBe portal, they asked me to screenshot and email them.
After email sent around 15mins later, i got a call from PBB CS to follow up with that and problem solved. That's was surprisingly quick. |
Apr 27 2018, 02:46 PM
98 posts Joined: Mar 2018 From: Land of the Hornbills, Land of the Free |
Apr 28 2018, 02:14 PM
2,679 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
try to call their Hire Purchase Centre for assistance. Call till the phone explode also hardly people picked up.
worst case - Lodge a complaint via Customer Service. |
Jun 12 2018, 01:06 AM
1,255 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Any feedback from their PBB Customer Service?
Any other channels we can lodge complaints? |
Jun 12 2018, 01:08 AM
Which PBB branch is best when it comes to customer service ?
Jun 12 2018, 01:09 AM
Any fantastic branch manager you can recommend? Any local bank.
Jun 12 2018, 07:41 AM
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 12 2018, 11:00 AM
1,863 posts Joined: Aug 2014 From: Soviet Sarawak - Dum Spiro Spero |
same la... all banks lidat.. i apply cc from stan chart.. all docs give liao 2 weeks later sms me says application rejected. i checked by bnm ccris is all 0 cleared... i msg stand chart ask reason for rejecting my application. they say dunnololwtf? at least give me a valid reason ffs
Jun 12 2018, 11:07 AM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jun 12 2018, 11:00 AM) same la... all banks lidat.. i apply cc from stan chart.. all docs give liao 2 weeks later sms me says application rejected. i checked by bnm ccris is all 0 cleared... i msg stand chart ask reason for rejecting my application. they say dunnololwtf? at least give me a valid reason ffs There must be reason, they wont reject for fun, then again I cant say I have any experience of having my CC rejected.. |
Jun 12 2018, 11:08 AM
I also have problem with Menara Shell RHB branch... went to branch 3 times to try to clear off my mortgage outstanding principal, keep say cannot, will try, will check... waste my time.
Until I call the officer who did my loan (form HQ), he told me to masuk their online banking, and just pay there. 5 minutes kautim. |
Jun 12 2018, 11:14 AM
Jun 12 2018, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jun 12 2018, 11:14 AM) yeap but don just tell me upfront u dono... at the same time i have applied aeon cc but got the card ~.~ I suspect Aeon CC simply whack wan, got once I apply for their Aeon Watami card (its like a lowest discoutn ttype credit card), they gave me spending limit of RM70,000... gila i immediately ask them reduce it to 7k.... |
Jun 12 2018, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 12 2018, 11:17 AM) I suspect Aeon CC simply whack wan, got once I apply for their Aeon Watami card (its like a lowest discoutn ttype credit card), they gave me spending limit of RM70,000... gila i immediately ask them reduce it to 7k.... but then i check stan chart requirement i fulfill all la. its gonna be my first cc btw.. == the annual celery is like 24k only. what concerns me is they dont tell me the rejection reason. if they tell me and its a valid one at least i can prepare it or changes sth so that nex time i get a mortgage loan or what not i can have sth |
Jun 12 2018, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jun 12 2018, 11:54 AM) but then i check stan chart requirement i fulfill all la. its gonna be my first cc btw.. == the annual celery is like 24k only. what concerns me is they dont tell me the rejection reason. if they tell me and its a valid one at least i can prepare it or changes sth so that nex time i get a mortgage loan or what not i can have sth Bank usually do not entertain queries on why CC rejected de.The best you can do is apply some other bank, I agree thatyou should have an cc to start running a credit history which is helpful next time u take a car/housing loan |
Jun 12 2018, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 12 2018, 07:41 AM) If we have issues with branch, we email CS? You mean HQ? What’s the email? Like the HQ will give the branch the stick or something? Actually, I called the branch manager this morning. Seems like she is not well versed with banking operations. Very much in her own ivory tower, she asked her officer call me. Promised to email me proper documents etc by today. Talk only. All empty promises. Till now nothing. Very scary keeping our money with someone who doesn’t take care of their customer! No one picks up the calls at any PBB branch?! Why they even bother list their tel in the first place?! Any better banks to recommend? This post has been edited by TiramisuCoffee: Jun 12 2018, 10:09 PM |
Jun 12 2018, 10:08 PM
Yeah I tried calling the officer to follow up this evening. No one picks up!
Jun 14 2018, 07:16 AM
1,752 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Change bank
Jun 14 2018, 12:23 PM
190 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
PBB share price high due to "chinese managed" factor. With new govt in place slowly PBB's value must only drop as investors focus elsewhere
Jun 18 2018, 09:41 AM
2,275 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
i use pbb since 2007. get zero goodies
Jun 18 2018, 03:20 PM
3,305 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Strongly agree on all your comments about PBB. It is dxmn noob after I got the Hire Purchase. Their PBe is so outdated and their customer service hotline officer is really unprofessional. Even the pasar makcik professional then them. Don’t have basic customer service knowledge like giving greetings, address you as Mr. XXX. Everything you asked they do not know and as you refer to Home branch.
Wonder your hotlink available for? Each question asked and ask to refer home branch? |
Jun 18 2018, 04:26 PM
1,587 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
rumors has it that PBB entity in HK involved in the former Chinese president Jiang Zemin money laundering trails
This post has been edited by PhakFuhZai: Jun 18 2018, 04:29 PM |
Jul 28 2018, 03:41 PM
140 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
I open a saving account and the staff ask me to deposit RM200 directly as the requirement but she did not tell me that actually there are 2 type of saving account as the other one just require to deposit RM10.
The bank staff did not explain to me the type of account and let me to make my own decision 👎🏻 |
Jul 28 2018, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Jul 28 2018, 03:41 PM) I open a saving account and the staff ask me to deposit RM200 directly as the requirement but she did not tell me that actually there are 2 type of saving account as the other one just require to deposit RM10. All banks are like that. They won't tell you. They hope that by not asking, they can auto open paid account hence bank can profit. The bank staff did not explain to me the type of account and let me to make my own decision 👎🏻 Some bank even you ask for free account, they act like they don't know until you show them proof. |
Jul 29 2018, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 28 2018, 09:21 PM) All banks are like that. They won't tell you. They hope that by not asking, they can auto open paid account hence bank can profit. Just my opponionSome bank even you ask for free account, they act like they don't know until you show them proof. The bank should upfront inform customer that there are 2 type of saving account available. As bank must offer product that truly suit the customer need to avoid any misselling which saving account should be included. Bank should not deliberately conceal anything to customer regarding their product and service. They also ask me to apply for their credit card that i had to decline few times from 2 different staffs during the saving account opening process. |
Jul 29 2018, 02:46 AM
5 posts Joined: Jul 2018 |
yeahh.. i'm facing the same issue also
Jul 29 2018, 05:48 AM
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Jul 29 2018, 01:05 AM) Just my opponion They don't need to tell you about it as it's not compulsory for them. The more people get conned to sign up for paid account, the better for bank business. The bank should upfront inform customer that there are 2 type of saving account available. As bank must offer product that truly suit the customer need to avoid any misselling which saving account should be included. Bank should not deliberately conceal anything to customer regarding their product and service. They also ask me to apply for their credit card that i had to decline few times from 2 different staffs during the saving account opening process. Numerous time already banks tried to conned me/persuade me to go for paid account. |
Jul 29 2018, 02:38 PM
221 posts Joined: May 2017 From: Negeri Sembilan |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 05:48 AM) They don't need to tell you about it as it's not compulsory for them. The more people get conned to sign up for paid account, the better for bank business. wonder if we can use this complaint to the consumer tribunal?Numerous time already banks tried to conned me/persuade me to go for paid account. |
Jul 29 2018, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 05:48 AM) They don't need to tell you about it as it's not compulsory for them. The more people get conned to sign up for paid account, the better for bank business. Have you tried to complain for the “conned” case?Numerous time already banks tried to conned me/persuade me to go for paid account. |
Jul 29 2018, 03:13 PM
Jul 29 2018, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 05:48 AM) They don't need to tell you about it as it's not compulsory for them. The more people get conned to sign up for paid account, the better for bank business. No need to say "con" u so drastic lah. I am sure banks not set out to "con" people to deposit extra rm190 into savings account. Just that staff not trained to explain properly. Why so skeptical about banks ?Numerous time already banks tried to conned me/persuade me to go for paid account. |
Jul 29 2018, 07:17 PM
Jul 29 2018, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Jul 29 2018, 03:12 PM) QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 29 2018, 05:24 PM) No need to say "con" u so drastic lah. I am sure banks not set out to "con" people to deposit extra rm190 into savings account. Just that staff not trained to explain properly. Why so skeptical about banks ? Went to a bank told them want to open free BSA. Bank worker:Oh, we don't have this account. All account need to pay. Me: Produce proof that free BSA exist (pic from bank webpage). Bank worker: Oh this account. No good. Limited withdrawal. We charge you if you exceed the withdraw limit. Suggest you to open paid account. Me: I still want this free account Bank worker: Cannot. Me: Go talk to your superior about this account Finally with a black face, the bank worker reluctanted and let me have the account. |
Jul 29 2018, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 07:19 PM) Went to a bank told them want to open free BSA. Bank staff not trained lor. If they dunno want to offer this account, put in webpage for what? Troll people? bank not so free lah....Bank worker:Oh, we don't have this account. All account need to pay. Me: Produce proof that free BSA exist (pic from bank webpage). Bank worker: Oh this account. No good. Limited withdrawal. We charge you if you exceed the withdraw limit. Suggest you to open paid account. Me: I still want this free account Bank worker: Cannot. Me: Go talk to your superior about this account Finally with a black face, the bank worker reluctanted and let me have the account. |
Jul 29 2018, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 29 2018, 07:30 PM) Bank staff not trained lor. If they dunno want to offer this account, put in webpage for what? Troll people? bank not so free lah.... Some bank page also does not mentioned about free basic saving account. You need to Google for BNM BSA statement then only they will accept.It's not in bank interest to offer you free account as you are a liability to them. If you can pay for the account, it's better for them. I read somewhere it takes RM200+ for the bank just to maintain an account for a person. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 29 2018, 07:38 PM |
Jul 29 2018, 08:30 PM
737 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 07:19 PM) Went to a bank told them want to open free BSA. At least you got the account.Bank worker:Oh, we don't have this account. All account need to pay. Me: Produce proof that free BSA exist (pic from bank webpage). Bank worker: Oh this account. No good. Limited withdrawal. We charge you if you exceed the withdraw limit. Suggest you to open paid account. Me: I still want this free account Bank worker: Cannot. Me: Go talk to your superior about this account Finally with a black face, the bank worker reluctanted and let me have the account. I am currently going through a situation much worse than you, I too tried to apply for the Basic Savings Account at UOB and they rejected me. At first, they said they would go through some checking process if I am a bankrupt status holder and told me to go home to wait for the answer, and the next day the officer called and told me I had been rejected and I told them to give me a letter. But the bank officer said no letter will be provided, and wrote to Bank Negara immediately and a few days later the letter arrived but with no reason why was I rejected. So now I'm still waiting for the verdict from Bank Negara. This post has been edited by moonsatelite: Jul 29 2018, 08:32 PM |
Jul 29 2018, 08:42 PM
4,537 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
There are so many bank employees who are not equipped with knowledge of their products and even we as customers are more familiar
I also had a bad experience Went to the main branch of Maybank (okay OT but to share the bad experience) to request for BSA, cannot, no such thing and to open account MUST have company letter I showed them my badge and argued then only they allowed but ended up opening an islamic account and charged me RM8 Am in the midst of complaining to the HQ and by this week if no satisfied answer is given I will escalate to BNM |
Jul 29 2018, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jul 29 2018, 08:42 PM) There are so many bank employees who are not equipped with knowledge of their products and even we as customers are more familiar Just complain straight to Bank Negara, you'll get your answers faster with Bank Negara putting pressure on the banks.I also had a bad experience Went to the main branch of Maybank (okay OT but to share the bad experience) to request for BSA, cannot, no such thing and to open account MUST have company letter I showed them my badge and argued then only they allowed but ended up opening an islamic account and charged me RM8 Am in the midst of complaining to the HQ and by this week if no satisfied answer is given I will escalate to BNM |
Jul 29 2018, 08:53 PM
4,537 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jul 29 2018, 08:44 PM) Just complain straight to Bank Negara, you'll get your answers faster with Bank Negara putting pressure on the banks. Don't worry I will definately do so if I don't get my refund by this TuesdayNow give them a final chance The staff so arrogant and told me "You tak cakap" when I called up and complain Just feel like escalating to the Branch Manager and give him a piece of mind |
Jul 30 2018, 03:59 AM
215 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
I had a similar experience with Maybank. Asked for BSA but the staff persuaded me to open a normal saving account. I believe the all the staff know about BSA but they will try their best not to give you this account. Probably they are hard pressed by higher management to reach their target for more paid account opening. I don't blame them now as they are just doing their job.
But you have a right to insist on getting a BSA. |
Jul 30 2018, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 30 2018, 03:59 AM) I had a similar experience with Maybank. Asked for BSA but the staff persuaded me to open a normal saving account. I believe the all the staff know about BSA but they will try their best not to give you this account. Probably they are hard pressed by higher management to reach their target for more paid account opening. I don't blame them now as they are just doing their job. I guess as you say the bank staff will have target to achieve hence they will only open the BSA upon request or enquire from customerBut you have a right to insist on getting a BSA. |
Jul 30 2018, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jul 29 2018, 08:53 PM) Don't worry I will definately do so if I don't get my refund by this Tuesday Try to solve it with the branch manager first and then BNM if you are still not satisfiedNow give them a final chance The staff so arrogant and told me "You tak cakap" when I called up and complain Just feel like escalating to the Branch Manager and give him a piece of mind Due to my friend experience BNM will only accept complain from customer that hv gone thru with the bank 1st |
Jul 30 2018, 12:51 PM
64 posts Joined: Oct 2016 |
this bank customer service is bad, but too bad, branches near my home and my workplace too.
at least the internet portal easy to use |
Aug 17 2018, 11:29 PM
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:46 AM |
Aug 17 2018, 11:30 PM
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Jan 2 2024, 04:40 AM |
Aug 17 2018, 11:35 PM
Aug 18 2018, 10:33 AM
44 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
the worst cs so far i have met was maybank...pbb so far ok
Aug 20 2018, 11:58 PM
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:45 AM |
Aug 21 2018, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(wenkernboys01 @ Aug 20 2018, 11:58 PM) Hong Leong Bank customer service sucks too! And it's even worse than Public Bank! Because of that, Junior debit card are not available in many branches consistently! And their CDM machines keeps out of service consistently in all branches sometimes. I would say, Public bank isn't bad, their customer service isn't quite match to others banks like Maybank but it's still better than Hong Leong Bank. To me, Pbe over the counter service is still so-so after a year. I've seen how they have declined over the last 10 years. HLB/Maybank is fine for me. I have more issues with Pbe ATM machines running out of money and the website being down frequently. |
Aug 25 2018, 01:24 AM
364 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 30 2018, 03:59 AM) I had a similar experience with Maybank. Asked for BSA but the staff persuaded me to open a normal saving account. I believe the all the staff know about BSA but they will try their best not to give you this account. Probably they are hard pressed by higher management to reach their target for more paid account opening. I don't blame them now as they are just doing their job. But you have a right to insist on getting a BSA. QUOTE(liuyouken @ Jul 30 2018, 09:15 AM) I guess as you say the bank staff will have target to achieve hence they will only open the BSA upon request or enquire from customer Well no offence i do 'blame' them. It's not part of their job to 'stay ignorant' (even if there's a lack of training from the company) as they're offering services.Off topic, had a similar experience with cimb two years ago, though i must admit there's also partial fault on my end for being 'noob' and uninformed. Anyway, didn't know about the BSA thing then. Was still so 'new' to banks and all i did was just mention something among the lines of 'just open a simple savings account' for my asb loan direct debit. Staff who attended to me ended up opening the airasia savers account for me which has an annual fee. I was never informed of the existence of such an annual fee and the person 'preyed' on my noobness. And i won't be surprised if she got something out of it. Second, also cimb, wanted to link all my accounts under one username in cimbclicks, this was somewhere between the end of 2016 and early 2017. Staff told me, can't, have to open a new one to link everything. So i had to then abandon my preferred username for my cimbclicks account and open a new one with another username. Fast forward today, i have 2 cimb clicks account all showing all my linked accounts + loans. 2 usernames but all showing the same things inside. Fml. Third, the glorious cimb again, wanted to ask the staff to help me to add direct debit for my CC from my savings account. Was informed can't, i was also noob then. So took that answer literally. Cimb, top bank personal choice award. Pbb? So far so good. From housing loan to Cc. This post has been edited by timo1003: Aug 25 2018, 01:30 AM |
Oct 9 2018, 11:03 AM
2,293 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I was scold by Public Bank officer for not queuing... Which the fact is my number on hand appear on screen while he is still serving other customer.
I was treated rudely and scolded by Another Public bank Executive for request a bank in slip. (the bank in slip finish ). SAID U THINK U ARE THE KING, Ask here, ask there... 2 of my loans under Public bank, while I call the loan manager to ask thing.. She never answer my call. She only reply *in meeting, Wil call back u* Ya, she never call back and answer my call....my bf wan to borrow fr her..... I swear, I really hate Public Bank... But, recently my car loan under public bank... And they send me credit card which I already told them before, I don't need ur card... |
Dec 5 2018, 08:08 PM
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:46 AM |
Dec 5 2018, 10:01 PM
576 posts Joined: Dec 2017 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(moon yuen @ Oct 9 2018, 11:03 AM) I was scold by Public Bank officer for not queuing... Which the fact is my number on hand appear on screen while he is still serving other customer. Wow... You have nice personality I was treated rudely and scolded by Another Public bank Executive for request a bank in slip. (the bank in slip finish ). SAID U THINK U ARE THE KING, Ask here, ask there... 2 of my loans under Public bank, while I call the loan manager to ask thing.. She never answer my call. She only reply *in meeting, Wil call back u* Ya, she never call back and answer my call....my bf wan to borrow fr her..... I swear, I really hate Public Bank... But, recently my car loan under public bank... And they send me credit card which I already told them before, I don't need ur card... If I were you, I will complain to their management, viral it on social media |
Dec 6 2018, 07:54 PM
2,293 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Feb 27 2019, 04:02 PM
I sent an email to UOB CS to ask them to ask and confirm several general things,
The CS who replied my email kept asking for my personal information of my UOB account. He said without that he is not able to proceed/provide the information. Then I asked if those information that I asked isn't general or standard. He said they need to divert to the my home branch to better serve my request. If that's the case, I can visit the home branch myself without have to contact CS at the first time. Not sure if this is the case but I feel my blood is puking out! |
Feb 28 2019, 01:26 PM
13,468 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
I never really dealt with pbb apart from handling documents from my office.
I also had a bad experience with them recently. Mom wanted to use my name for a car loan. I told her hlb but she insist on pbb. Loan was approved but when asked me to sign, complain my salary slip title written cash voucher. I told him what you want then, forged one? Approved liao complain what. Then say I need do auto debit or apply credit card. I chose auto debit since I had a joint account with mom. Say my account dormant, but when I went down to check, my account is active. Then go down again to do and drop the bomb, joint account requires two person to do. Withdrawal not same as auto debit? It's just a withdrawal to another account of mine but no. So went up and sign credit card application. This will be the last time ever that I'll deal with pbb apart from my office work (which is unavoidable but the jalan sultan sulaiman branch is ok). |
Feb 28 2019, 01:31 PM
13,468 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 21 2018, 09:47 AM) To me, Pbe over the counter service is still so-so after a year. I've seen how they have declined over the last 10 years. HLB/Maybank is fine for me. Yeah, over the counter is really fast but not attentive. I remembered there was once I forgot and accidentally bank in my clients cheque when he told me to hold for 5 days. I have more issues with Pbe ATM machines running out of money and the website being down frequently. Went to the branch and told them to hold for me. Guess what, they still proceed. I even explained my reason but no, the officer replied she checked the cheque and everything was okay, so she went ahead. I ended up having to listen to an angry man over the phone for fifteen minutes. |
Feb 28 2019, 01:32 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
I would say it's worse in term of staff attitude..
since My company have account there. No choice... personally I won't want deal with them. too arrogant & also seems like lack of technology usage... and not much ATM available too around strategic places This post has been edited by theevilman1909: Feb 28 2019, 01:33 PM |
Feb 28 2019, 01:46 PM
2,649 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Usually, those old-timer owaz said public bank is the best.. not sure why but now i NVR like them.. owax put on the lansi face. I remember got one time i saw an old aunty, like at least 60 years old. Asking how to use the machine. The aunty obviously dunno. And the machine is quite a distance from the dedicated staff cs..
That staff, in a mono tone short explanation to the aunty. Few times the aunty back and in asking the staff.. in my experience, from others bank usually the staff will personally walk her to the machine and guide them. Recently, they called my dad told him his cheque book is ready for collection. But the two staff over there asked him to wait. The two staff was entertaining a client for fd. So my dad waited and waited .. for at least 30min.. no ppl entertain him. he jz left the bank I said I can lodge report to BNM.. dad said don't la.. later ppl bonus increment gone.. kecian them.. I was like dad, they no respect you why u wan kecian them.. he jz smile.. |
Mar 22 2019, 12:16 AM
*deleted
This post has been edited by wenkernboys01: Nov 24 2022, 07:47 AM |
Mar 23 2019, 01:32 AM
439 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
u know why? Probably their staff get lousy pay after squeezed by the mgmt
Mar 23 2019, 07:17 AM
Mar 23 2019, 07:25 AM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
DELETED
This post has been edited by 1MSProperty: Mar 23 2019, 07:26 AM |
Mar 23 2019, 07:27 AM
Bank customer service all crap one except for platinum or premier banking.
That's why we shouldn't be their slaves. Rise up and revolt against them! If banks don't give good service to all customers regardless of status, don't deal with them. Save up and buy cash. |
Mar 23 2019, 07:27 AM
31 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Wife went to a branch to get a form...just a form...
branch said must go to the branch you open the account... just to get a freaking form???!!! Not to mention I went 3 times to branch to open an account. 1. told me to go back and bring any letter with my home address as proof (really?? dinosaur era??) 2. waited nearly an hour at the queue and gave up....100 more no to go 3. waited nearly an hour at the queue and gave up...but this time not many pple but my number not moving..counter servicing other type of txn...even though i came first.. so i gave up... dun get me started on their auto loan services....sigh |
Mar 23 2019, 07:29 AM
toffeemoose It is normal if they ask you to provide documentation for item (1)
Mar 23 2019, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 23 2019, 07:29 AM) I dun have that requirement in some other countries...but nvm lah...i can bear with it if its isolated.....but we just get too many painful experience when dealing with their services and after sales services...and its also painful for my wife as she is a public mutual unit trust agent and causing so many ding-dong situations... |
Mar 23 2019, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(toffeemoose @ Mar 23 2019, 07:42 AM) I dun have that requirement in some other countries...but nvm lah...i can bear with it if its isolated.....but we just get too many painful experience when dealing with their services and after sales services... You play the country card.and its also painful for my wife as she is a public mutual unit trust agent and causing so many ding-dong situations... You can't compare like that, dude! |
Mar 23 2019, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 23 2019, 07:49 AM) bro, you missing the point i am making....it was not easy (for whatever reason) to get a simple thing done....as compared with other banks i have dealt with I have used 2 previous auto loan services from them....and trying to set up a saving acct for my unit trusts....but after so many wasted time visiting them...i just gave up and use auto debit from other bank...although with a 50 cent charge per txn.. and my wife being shooed away by a branch... just to get a physical form...and told to go to the original branch to get the form....really kah?? each branch is a diff company kah? |
Mar 23 2019, 08:59 AM
Talking about forms, I remembered that I wanted to get Public Mutual form from PBB branch and agency.
Both also lazy to entertain. I'm wondering if PM and PBB are really under the same umbrella. |
Mar 23 2019, 09:00 AM
954 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(toffeemoose @ Mar 23 2019, 07:27 AM) Wife went to a branch to get a form...just a form... They are pretty outdated. Chinaman style with lack of trust in IT.branch said must go to the branch you open the account... just to get a freaking form???!!! Not to mention I went 3 times to branch to open an account. 1. told me to go back and bring any letter with my home address as proof (really?? dinosaur era??) 2. waited nearly an hour at the queue and gave up....100 more no to go 3. waited nearly an hour at the queue and gave up...but this time not many pple but my number not moving..counter servicing other type of txn...even though i came first.. so i gave up... dun get me started on their auto loan services....sigh Went to a branch in PJ Oldtown. More than 15 people waiting for the customer service officers, only one was around. The rest of the counter staff just sitting around because no one was doing over the counter stuff. They refused to help. Asked to see manager, they said manager not around. Reported to the online complaints department, they said forwarded complain to manager and he will respond. In the end, zero response. Just bank with another bank instead. Or look for a branch with a good manager. |
Mar 23 2019, 09:00 AM
just to make it clear lah...the form was something related to her company's current account....she is the financial person in charge of the company...
Apr 7 2023, 11:53 AM
48 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Please do not expect world class service from a Chinaman company.
The call center staff mostly underpaid and overworked. That is why the poor customer service from their end. They need to embark on world class technology, otherwise remains outdated and very much conventional. |
Apr 7 2023, 03:24 PM
4,638 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(redhotpepper @ Apr 7 2023, 11:53 AM) Please do not expect world class service from a Chinaman company. They won’t bother because it is the trust that the customer have in them for not transforming into digital age 🤦♀️The call center staff mostly underpaid and overworked. That is why the poor customer service from their end. They need to embark on world class technology, otherwise remains outdated and very much conventional. They would only change if BNM forced them through regulations HLB is good example now on how change is transforming them now This post has been edited by xander2k8: Apr 7 2023, 03:25 PM |
Apr 7 2023, 03:49 PM
the only banks that still kinda old school type..
from the system till the SOP & working culture... it's also one of the advantage.... many old folk loves to deal with PB... can connect with them & the style... because not tech savvy |
Apr 8 2023, 11:57 AM
3,857 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Imo, worst are:
1. RHB 2. AffinBank 3. CIMB Based on experience with 90% of all local banks Btw, PBB has just discontinued SMS TAC, when so many other banks still using it. So they are definitely not the most behind in tech. Affin don't even have a proper mobile app until now. This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Apr 8 2023, 12:00 PM |
Apr 10 2023, 03:02 PM
689 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Apr 8 2023, 11:57 AM) Imo, worst are: i just use pbb sms tac today. as long you don't activate the digital token via the app, you can use sms tac.1. RHB 2. AffinBank 3. CIMB Based on experience with 90% of all local banks Btw, PBB has just discontinued SMS TAC, when so many other banks still using it. So they are definitely not the most behind in tech. Affin don't even have a proper mobile app until now. |
Apr 10 2023, 03:05 PM
173 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Apr 10 2023, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(daniel2006 @ Apr 10 2023, 03:05 PM) i suggest you download the app and check it... once u link to your app, it will deactivate the sms tac.. that is what i understand but i could be wrong...but still i think its ok to use app token. my other bank a/c is using app token. i just malas to switch for pbb. |
Apr 10 2023, 03:10 PM
Apr 10 2023, 03:11 PM
Apr 10 2023, 03:14 PM
6 months ago, ....
Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has instructed financial institutions to stop using SMS One Time Passwords (OTP) as a form of authentication for online activities or transactions. https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&...YJyvWLdnD4rsAl_ |
Apr 10 2023, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(calapia @ Apr 10 2023, 03:11 PM) hmm..maybe some loopholes... previously CIMB also like this (before the compulsory SecureTac)... those didn't use apps or link to it still can use SMS tac... but once u use Apps... automatically SMS tac features gone... No going back either (last time)... |
Jun 13 2024, 04:33 PM
241 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Funniest encounter today. Which farking bank still insist on passbook ? Public bank still does !!!
Went to withdraw money and they insist on passbook. Deposit money apa pun tak payah. Withdraw money need this need that. |
Jun 13 2024, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 13 2024, 04:33 PM) Funniest encounter today. Which farking bank still insist on passbook ? Public bank still does !!! how much did you wish to withdraw? More than RM3k -5k that can be dispensed via ATMs?Went to withdraw money and they insist on passbook. Deposit money apa pun tak payah. Withdraw money need this need that. |
Jun 13 2024, 04:36 PM
781 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 13 2024, 04:33 PM) Funniest encounter today. Which farking bank still insist on passbook ? Public bank still does !!! Withdrawal from your account got no debit / atm card?Went to withdraw money and they insist on passbook. Deposit money apa pun tak payah. Withdraw money need this need that. If like that I guess it is somewhat reasonable for them to do so (as in no wrong for them to ask, just that its pain in the ass) Today also went to the branch CS for card replacement Relatively fast not much issues, but their UT was attempting to sell me product though, again nothing wrong with it |
Jun 13 2024, 04:42 PM
Jun 13 2024, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jun 13 2024, 04:36 PM) Withdrawal from your account got no debit / atm card? I told them I didn't bring my passbook and they insist on it. Saying that without passbook, cannot withdraw money. WtfffffIf like that I guess it is somewhat reasonable for them to do so (as in no wrong for them to ask, just that its pain in the ass) Today also went to the branch CS for card replacement Relatively fast not much issues, but their UT was attempting to sell me product though, again nothing wrong with it |
Jun 13 2024, 05:01 PM
Jun 13 2024, 05:06 PM
Jun 13 2024, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 13 2024, 04:43 PM) I told them I didn't bring my passbook and they insist on it. Saying that without passbook, cannot withdraw money. Wtfffff You should close this bank account and open a new one. The way i see it, there are reasons also. Old folks with passbook, so they want to make sure of it.i think my old account also has a passbook. But i never withdraw money from PBB...just online transfer in and out. lol. |
Jun 13 2024, 05:13 PM
2,245 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I think that's pretty fair, it's a passbook account though..
Jun 13 2024, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(leanman @ Jun 13 2024, 05:13 PM) You go other bank see they still use passbook or not ?I would say most if not all bank had phased out passbook. If other bank phased out why public bank still insist on the passbook ? What a inconvenience to client. |
Jun 13 2024, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jun 13 2024, 05:06 PM) So I guess that is why I used internet banking all the while, due to some unforeseen circumstances, I need to withdraw cash and this is the first time I withdraw cash from this account.You should probably do digital banking then might be more suited to your lifestyle |
Jun 13 2024, 10:32 PM
258 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
I opened a PBB account last year and they told me that they don't issue passbooks anymore even if I wanted one. I could only get a passbook once I hit warga emas age.
This post has been edited by virulence: Jun 13 2024, 10:39 PM |
Jun 14 2024, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(virulence @ Jun 13 2024, 10:32 PM) I opened a PBB account last year and they told me that they don't issue passbooks anymore even if I wanted one. I could only get a passbook once I hit warga emas age. Exactly. If they stop issuing passbook to be client (means passbook is not important), why would they insist of me bringing the passbook upon withdrawal?Why they didn't insist on passbook upon deposit ? Want money in don't want money out ? Purposely cause inconvenience to client ? |
Jun 14 2024, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(virulence @ Jun 13 2024, 10:32 PM) I opened a PBB account last year and they told me that they don't issue passbooks anymore even if I wanted one. I could only get a passbook once I hit warga emas age. QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 08:04 AM) Exactly. If they stop issuing passbook to be client (means passbook is not important), why would they insist of me bringing the passbook upon withdrawal? Based on virulence's commentsWhy they didn't insist on passbook upon deposit ? Want money in don't want money out ? Purposely cause inconvenience to client ? Maybe PBB thinks that Passbook is only important for warga emas Then they consider you warga emas So passbook is a must for you I wonder if they had any cases where the requirement for passbook for warga emas was waived |
Jun 14 2024, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Jun 14 2024, 09:22 AM) Based on virulence's comments PB really take care of those warga emas groups well...Maybe PBB thinks that Passbook is only important for warga emas Then they consider you warga emas So passbook is a must for you I wonder if they had any cases where the requirement for passbook for warga emas was waived Since their late boss also from this group.... And also one reason why always got "cooling period" whenever got transactions / money movement.... |
Jun 14 2024, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 14 2024, 09:48 AM) PB really take care of those warga emas groups well... I guess they knew that this group of customers have the most savings inside and they will never move itSince their late boss also from this group.... And also one reason why always got "cooling period" whenever got transactions / money movement.... More easy to target for unit trust for the new joiners And least debt too nexona88 liked this post
Jun 14 2024, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 08:04 AM) Exactly. If they stop issuing passbook to be client (means passbook is not important), why would they insist of me bringing the passbook upon withdrawal? if your account was opened with a passbook, until the bank closes down, as long as you are withdrawing over the counter you need the passbookWhy they didn't insist on passbook upon deposit ? Want money in don't want money out ? Purposely cause inconvenience to client ? if your account was opened without a passbook, then there is no need passbook for withdrawal, in the 1st place, they will not request for one as there is none. unless you have an atm card, then use the atm card over the atm machine, else as above. nexona88 liked this post
Jun 14 2024, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(leanman @ Jun 14 2024, 11:56 AM) if your account was opened with a passbook, until the bank closes down, as long as you are withdrawing over the counter you need the passbook if your account was opened with a passbook, until the bank closes down, as long as you are withdrawing over the counter you need the passbookif your account was opened without a passbook, then there is no need passbook for withdrawal, in the 1st place, they will not request for one as there is none. unless you have an atm card, then use the atm card over the atm machine, else as above. Please explain why the above apply ? I'm there in person already and didn't bring my passbook (who the heck will carry the passbook with them) , and because of this stupid requirement I need to travel back and forth my home and looking for another parking spot which will consume me 1 hour plus, why don't the waive the passbook requirement ? Not that the passbook is as important as your IC. Not that the amount stamped in your passbook is important. Not that passbook is "a must" as most bank had phased it out. It's 2024 now and not 1924. Still in dinosaur era ? Stupid bank policy which people will say take it or leave it. Ok, I'm leaving it, had terminated all my account with public bank and switch to another bank. Not that public bank is the only bank in here. |
Jun 14 2024, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 14 2024, 09:48 AM) PB really take care of those warga emas groups well... This cooling period is another nonsense. They should make it optional whether you want it or not. Since their late boss also from this group.... And also one reason why always got "cooling period" whenever got transactions / money movement.... Got once I purchased a laptop online with COD. We meet at designated place and time for the COD. I transfer on the spot to the seller and because of this cooling period, both of us waited for two hours for the transfer to go thru. I called public bank immediately to ask them to release the payment and they said they couldn't do that. Must wait for case management team to call me back. |
Jun 14 2024, 01:52 PM
2,605 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 01:05 PM) if your account was opened with a passbook, until the bank closes down, as long as you are withdrawing over the counter you need the passbook Not only Public bank. Maybank also. I think its standard across all banks.Please explain why the above apply ? I'm there in person already and didn't bring my passbook (who the heck will carry the passbook with them) , and because of this stupid requirement I need to travel back and forth my home and looking for another parking spot which will consume me 1 hour plus, why don't the waive the passbook requirement ? Not that the passbook is as important as your IC. Not that the amount stamped in your passbook is important. Not that passbook is "a must" as most bank had phased it out. It's 2024 now and not 1924. Still in dinosaur era ? Stupid bank policy which people will say take it or leave it. Ok, I'm leaving it, had terminated all my account with public bank and switch to another bank. Not that public bank is the only bank in here. You can opt out and change to without passbook. Whats so difficult ? |
Jun 14 2024, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 01:10 PM) This cooling period is another nonsense. They should make it optional whether you want it or not. Personally I agreed it's kinda nonsense to have this cooling period thingy...Got once I purchased a laptop online with COD. We meet at designated place and time for the COD. I transfer on the spot to the seller and because of this cooling period, both of us waited for two hours for the transfer to go thru. I called public bank immediately to ask them to release the payment and they said they couldn't do that. Must wait for case management team to call me back. But many people gotten scam / money gone because of leakage of information... Or own fault... Especially those old folks.... China scam. Investment scam, police scam etc Millions $$$ gone... So since PB is favorite spot for all these old folks.... And their late boss owner also from the same age groups... As for security measures & their social responsibility.... This cooling period being implemented strictly... I don't really see this kind of blockage at any others banks.... But the risk of losing $$$ is higher 😁 |
Jun 14 2024, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Jun 14 2024, 01:52 PM) Not only Public bank. Maybank also. I think its standard across all banks. Wait you encounter this kind of situation and you will know what's so difficult. You don't feel the pain when you are not the one being poke by needle.You can opt out and change to without passbook. Whats so difficult ? You need to take another queue number to report loss of passbook if you didn't bring it. And with their EFFICIENCY I believe it will take another half hour. After that you need to take another queue number for counter withdrawal again despite you already waited 45 mins earlier on when you step in their branch. If the passbook is really necessity then I have no choice. But what's the use of passbook ? You tell me your logic on the importance of passbook then I will accept if it makes sense. |
Jun 14 2024, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 14 2024, 02:05 PM) Personally I agreed it's kinda nonsense to have this cooling period thingy... That's why I said they should make it optional, those who opt out take their own risk.But many people gotten scam / money gone because of leakage of information... Or own fault... Especially those old folks.... China scam. Investment scam, police scam etc Millions $$$ gone... So since PB is favorite spot for all these old folks.... And their late boss owner also from the same age groups... As for security measures & their social responsibility.... This cooling period being implemented strictly... I don't really see this kind of blockage at any others banks.... But the risk of losing $$$ is higher 😁 |
Jun 14 2024, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 02:32 PM) Wait you encounter this kind of situation and you will know what's so difficult. You don't feel the pain when you are not the one being poke by needle. There’s no logic but options now, to have or not to have a passbook for new account opening (hope I am right) if you opt for passbook, then you need it for withdrawal, if you never opt for passbook, then you will need an atm card to withdraw.You need to take another queue number to report loss of passbook if you didn't bring it. And with their EFFICIENCY I believe it will take another half hour. After that you need to take another queue number for counter withdrawal again despite you already waited 45 mins earlier on when you step in their branch. If the passbook is really necessity then I have no choice. But what's the use of passbook ? You tell me your logic on the importance of passbook then I will accept if it makes sense. Just like FD, if you placed it over the counter and got a certificate, you cannot go in to the back to withdraw your FD if you don’t present the cert. So as online, you can only redeem via online, and I don’t think you can redeem it via bank counter |
Jun 14 2024, 03:13 PM
Jun 14 2024, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(leanman @ Jun 14 2024, 03:11 PM) There’s no logic but options now, to have or not to have a passbook for new account opening (hope I am right) if you opt for passbook, then you need it for withdrawal, if you never opt for passbook, then you will need an atm card to withdraw. Since you can't explain the logic of the importance of passbook, means it's not important. If its not important, why can't they proceed the withdrawal without it and instead create a hassle for us ?Just like FD, if you placed it over the counter and got a certificate, you cannot go in to the back to withdraw your FD if you don’t present the cert. So as online, you can only redeem via online, and I don’t think you can redeem it via bank counter its something like you can reach destination A with route A in 5 mins. But you are force to use route B which consume 2 hours to reach the same destination A. If you are going to insist to me that I must present useless passbook to them upon withdrawal because they did issue a passbook to me, then our conversation stop here. Nothing much I can further convey to you as your thinking is exactly the same as the bank staff which is total ridiculous. And you are damn wrong about the FD cert. I placed my FD over the counter at other bank which they did generate a cert to me but no cert required for withdrawal. If you don't believe, go ask yourself in other bank. |
Jun 14 2024, 03:25 PM
47 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
QUOTE(leanman @ Jun 14 2024, 03:13 PM) This I agree with you, even transferring to my own account to other bank, not a lot RM 5k, also need to on hold for 12hrs got gud and bad la....if 1st time transfer to other bank even own account oso will hv period cooling off...juz 2 days ago i went to branch and only officer can release the transfer...nid thumb print and ic...but still nid to wait around 40 minutes till 1 hr and not immediately... |
Jun 14 2024, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(alvin890 @ Jun 14 2024, 03:25 PM) got gud and bad la....if 1st time transfer to other bank even own account oso will hv period cooling off... What I can say that public bank is not adopting to the current era. People need convenience using their service and not hassle. People have other better thing to do rather than wasting time in their branch. juz 2 days ago i went to branch and only officer can release the transfer...nid thumb print and ic...but still nid to wait around 40 minutes till 1 hr and not immediately... Imagine if you do a lot of COD with valuable items which cash payment is not preferable, each and every time you transfer the money to seller, both of you need to wait several hours for nothing. |
Jun 14 2024, 04:02 PM
Jun 14 2024, 08:00 PM
5,847 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jun 14 2024, 02:33 PM) bro security feature lah, how to make it optional? it is common for first time transfer, nonfavourite account , system randomly pick and hold certain transaction till you are verified so far i think B islam , bank rakyat, Alliance bank i tak kena transfer block/hold for verification, all apps approve do ourselve. try use them. ini PBB CIMB all got own apps approval also regularly kena even favourite saved account. i asked them why he said is random pick by system he also doesnt know why. |
Jun 14 2024, 10:37 PM
3,000 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Wait till you find out to close a PBB account you have to go back to the "home branch". When I heard that at the KL Main Branch I terus withdraw everything and let the account rot.
Jul 17 2024, 10:46 PM
129 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
guys, my PBE personal got blocked since Monday, and I called them, they said someone will reach out to within 24 hours, but it's already 2 days +, still no 1 reach out to me lol.
I even called them again, and they told me the same thing. Sooooooo bad This post has been edited by cweng93: Jul 17 2024, 10:46 PM |
Jul 17 2024, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(cweng93 @ Jul 17 2024, 10:46 PM) guys, my PBE personal got blocked since Monday, and I called them, they said someone will reach out to within 24 hours, but it's already 2 days +, still no 1 reach out to me lol. wah teruk lah 2 days liao?I even called them again, and they told me the same thing. Sooooooo bad any reason you can think off? better to have few different banks no need to depend on PBB alone. unless your money sudah stuck in there cant use now but for me my banks usually no money one if i got money is usually in transit to somewhere |
Jul 18 2024, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(cweng93 @ Jul 17 2024, 10:46 PM) guys, my PBE personal got blocked since Monday, and I called them, they said someone will reach out to within 24 hours, but it's already 2 days +, still no 1 reach out to me lol. Too much transaction done over short period of time??I even called them again, and they told me the same thing. Sooooooo bad Anyway Keep contact them non stop. Don't wait for them to call back... It's won't work that way... They needed to be push time over time... |
Jul 18 2024, 09:48 AM
2,206 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
PBB is one of the safest "old school" banks. If you have much patience and in no hurry, can use them. Otherwise cari other banks. nexona88 liked this post
Jul 19 2024, 12:14 AM
pros and con for all banks
most my money in PB bank. suitable for old man like me. I have Maybank, RHB, CIMB, OCBC and PB. maybank. kena 2 times illegal transaction ( around 400USD ) credit card. call their credit card dept and interrogate me like im the one who lied. the transaction cancelled at the end. RHB --> opening FD tooks ages, waiting in the bank for 2 hours where there are not much customers CIMB --> for my CIMB Singapore bank. weird apps usage. OCBC --> inexperiences staff. all youngster cannot handle my enquiries. wrong info somemore. PB bank--> certain branch workers are terrible, but the branch i always go... just perfect for me. |
Jul 19 2024, 12:17 AM
Public went downhill after the big boss kicked the bucket. The staffs probably fed up working there and sabotaging so it will be up for sale.
Jul 19 2024, 12:19 AM
283 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jul 19 2024, 12:14 AM) pros and con for all banks There was a time I tear off application form right in front of the service counter at ocbc .. Total non sense bankmost my money in PB bank. suitable for old man like me. I have Maybank, RHB, CIMB, OCBC and PB. maybank. kena 2 times illegal transaction ( around 400USD ) credit card. call their credit card dept and interrogate me like im the one who lied. the transaction cancelled at the end. RHB --> opening FD tooks ages, waiting in the bank for 2 hours where there are not much customers CIMB --> for my CIMB Singapore bank. weird apps usage. OCBC --> inexperiences staff. all youngster cannot handle my enquiries. wrong info somemore. PB bank--> certain branch workers are terrible, but the branch i always go... just perfect for me. |
Jul 21 2024, 03:03 PM
129 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 18 2024, 08:36 AM) Too much transaction done over short period of time?? nope, just maybe the amount is bigger than average.Anyway Keep contact them non stop. Don't wait for them to call back... It's won't work that way... They needed to be push time over time... but you are right, attempted almost 10 times, finally unblocked my account damnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn This post has been edited by cweng93: Jul 21 2024, 03:04 PM nexona88 liked this post
Jul 22 2024, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 14 2024, 02:05 PM) Personally I agreed it's kinda nonsense to have this cooling period thingy... I don't think its nonsense. We just have to prepare our transactions in advance and change limit in advance. No big deal, just a bit of planning. I always plan in advance. There have been many cases where hacked phones at night, limit change and transactions done in a short period without all these mechanism in place.But many people gotten scam / money gone because of leakage of information... Or own fault... Especially those old folks.... China scam. Investment scam, police scam etc Millions $$$ gone... So since PB is favorite spot for all these old folks.... And their late boss owner also from the same age groups... As for security measures & their social responsibility.... This cooling period being implemented strictly... I don't really see this kind of blockage at any others banks.... But the risk of losing $$$ is higher 😁 Old or young people still affected the same. This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jul 22 2024, 07:59 AM |
Jul 22 2024, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 22 2024, 07:59 AM) I don't think its nonsense. We just have to prepare our transactions in advance and change limit in advance. No big deal, just a bit of planning. I always plan in advance. There have been many cases where hacked phones at night, limit change and transactions done in a short period without all these mechanism in place. Simply cannot hack anyone phone like that...Old or young people still affected the same. The user need to download some apps first... So the main problem is when you simply go click some links... Give out information... |
Jul 22 2024, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 22 2024, 08:55 AM) Simply cannot hack anyone phone like that... The thing is you might accidentally pressed something and you would never know. In fact young people surfing the web often are more opened to such attack.The user need to download some apps first... So the main problem is when you simply go click some links... Give out information... |
Jul 22 2024, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 22 2024, 09:00 AM) The thing is you might accidentally pressed something and you would never know. In fact young people surfing the web often are more opened to such attack. Agreed..That's why we need to be very careful... But the issues is the people who always gotten scammed or money loss have "dubious" background.... Either under declared tax or illegal gotten money.... |
Jul 22 2024, 11:44 AM
3,832 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Even if you call them and willing to do all sort of verification to prove that it's a legit transaction, they still say "nope, please wait".
To me that's too much. I will leave only minimum amount inside this bank. |
Jul 22 2024, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 22 2024, 11:44 AM) Even if you call them and willing to do all sort of verification to prove that it's a legit transaction, they still say "nope, please wait". I just kena todayTo me that's too much. I will leave only minimum amount inside this bank. Cleaned my phone yesterday without knowing I lost the pb secure Now need wait 12hours unable to do transaction But that is standard many banks also like that Can't complain just have to use money from other bank to pay |
Jul 23 2024, 09:39 AM
Suddenly after millions gone @ losses...
Now only banks realized their mistake & take action... Especially the 12hour cooling period thingy... I feels like it's to cover their side if still anyone lose $$$... Can blame customer for the loss... They counter argue saying everything in place for security purposes... You still lose $$$. Your mistake solely |
Jul 23 2024, 09:45 AM
612 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
this cooling period is in place, due to human (scammer) creates another inconvenience to another human (end user as us)
Jul 24 2024, 04:06 PM
8,425 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2018, 07:19 PM) Went to a bank told them want to open free BSA. I don't have this issue, previously when I want to open the account and say I don't want to pay, then the staff suggested the account and I proceed with opening the accountBank worker:Oh, we don't have this account. All account need to pay. Me: Produce proof that free BSA exist (pic from bank webpage). Bank worker: Oh this account. No good. Limited withdrawal. We charge you if you exceed the withdraw limit. Suggest you to open paid account. Me: I still want this free account Bank worker: Cannot. Me: Go talk to your superior about this account Finally with a black face, the bank worker reluctanted and let me have the account. |
Jul 24 2024, 04:27 PM
99 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Maybank is implementing the same 12 hrs cooling period after 31 July.
So, who will be the worst bank ever? |
Jul 24 2024, 04:32 PM
34 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
QUOTE(tbgreen @ Jul 24 2024, 04:27 PM) Maybank is implementing the same 12 hrs cooling period after 31 July. increase limit cooling period is still fine, So, who will be the worst bank ever? the worst part is transfer money need wait 12 hours, especially when customer are buying something and need wait transaction for 12 hours, is seller going to give the item to customer or tell customer came back tomorrow? This is really nonsense This post has been edited by lkloon123: Jul 24 2024, 04:32 PM |
Jul 24 2024, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jul 24 2024, 04:06 PM) I don't have this issue, previously when I want to open the account and say I don't want to pay, then the staff suggested the account and I proceed with opening the account Some banks especially CIMBAt the Q number giving counter even have small display banner on types of account.. They got post BSA type & it's offering... Vs others types... No issues |
Jul 24 2024, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(lkloon123 @ Jul 24 2024, 04:32 PM) increase limit cooling period is still fine, How much transfer until requires cooling period? One day max also 50K, right?the worst part is transfer money need wait 12 hours, especially when customer are buying something and need wait transaction for 12 hours, is seller going to give the item to customer or tell customer came back tomorrow? This is really nonsense |
Jul 25 2024, 12:33 PM
Jul 25 2024, 12:42 PM
Jul 25 2024, 01:59 PM
Jul 25 2024, 02:03 PM
Was not aware of this. So far never have issue, but my transaction using Pbbank is minimal until sometimes none. Will it have any messages saying cooling off period or some pop up or the bank will call?
Jul 25 2024, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jul 25 2024, 02:03 PM) Was not aware of this. So far never have issue, but my transaction using Pbbank is minimal until sometimes none. Will it have any messages saying cooling off period or some pop up or the bank will call? It will only show the message AFTER you click confirm/approve. It won't show at the preview/confirmation page so you will never know whether this transaction will subject to cooling off period or not until you click submit.I kena twice and now I empty my CASA in this bank already. This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Jul 25 2024, 02:33 PM |
Jul 25 2024, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 25 2024, 02:30 PM) It will only show the message AFTER you click confirm/approve. It won't show at the preview/confirmation page so you will never know whether this transaction will subject to cooling off period or not until you click submit. So once you get this message, meaning you cannot transfer for X hours or they will call you and verify or just stuck?I kena twice and now I empty my CASA in this bank already. |
Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jul 25 2024, 03:58 PM) So once you get this message, meaning you cannot transfer for X hours or they will call you and verify or just stuck? I don't know can perform another transaction or not, didn't try it. Nobody call me. Next morning I call bank to tell them to release the payment, they say can't, system is like that. |
Jul 25 2024, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM) I don't know can perform another transaction or not, didn't try it. yup, thats the worst part, no way to release it besides "wait" even with user calls confirmationNobody call me. Next morning I call bank to tell them to release the payment, they say can't, system is like that. Octopus bank also imply this on hold transaction but with calls verification, the fund is release super quick This post has been edited by lkloon123: Jul 25 2024, 04:10 PM |
Jul 26 2024, 08:54 AM
2,452 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
I think the android mobile apps is a bit lousy. My dad has a HONOR90, everything stock and no mods to the OS but every now and then the PB apps will say the phone is not secure have to undo the dev usb debug thing. unchecking does not help, rebooting.. etc.
He spent few days going to and fro to the bank to try resolve this. At the end, the bank officer also gave up. So cant do trx cos need the pb app approval thingy. Asked me to help, and somehow I found a workaround bt this issue comes back every few months or so. |
Jul 26 2024, 10:41 AM
1,597 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
gerald7 Maybe, your father can try to use PB SecureSign Token, to authorize banking transactions in PBe website. https://www.pbebank.com/en/digital-banking/...ecuresign-token It is a hardware (physical) token which looks similar to a small calculator. PB SecureSign Token is free of charge. With PB SecureSign Token, your father do not need to use PBe mobile app. By using a computer (desktop or laptop) to perform online banking transactions, your father can then use PB SecureSign Token to generate OTP that can be used to approve online banking transactions in PBe website. This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 10:43 AM gerald7 liked this post
Jul 26 2024, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jul 26 2024, 08:54 AM) I think the android mobile apps is a bit lousy. My dad has a HONOR90, everything stock and no mods to the OS but every now and then the PB apps will say the phone is not secure have to undo the dev usb debug thing. unchecking does not help, rebooting.. etc. Go to counter and ask for a physical token.He spent few days going to and fro to the bank to try resolve this. At the end, the bank officer also gave up. So cant do trx cos need the pb app approval thingy. Asked me to help, and somehow I found a workaround bt this issue comes back every few months or so. gerald7 liked this post
Jul 26 2024, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(kart @ Jul 26 2024, 10:41 AM) gerald7 Maybe, your father can try to use PB SecureSign Token, to authorize banking transactions in PBe website. https://www.pbebank.com/en/digital-banking/...ecuresign-token It is a hardware (physical) token which looks similar to a small calculator. PB SecureSign Token is free of charge. With PB SecureSign Token, your father do not need to use PBe mobile app. By using a computer (desktop or laptop) to perform online banking transactions, your father can then use PB SecureSign Token to generate OTP that can be used to approve online banking transactions in PBe website. QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:04 AM) wow, that is a good suggestion. I actually have it for my business current account, I thought it was only for business accounts only. Thanks guys will look into it. This post has been edited by gerald7: Jul 26 2024, 11:12 AM kart liked this post
Jul 26 2024, 11:21 AM
1,262 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jul 26 2024, 11:11 AM) wow, that is a good suggestion. I actually have it for my business current account, I thought it was only for business accounts only. I reach out pbb counter because do not like using phone for secure sign thought the token is available for all but unfortunately they told me token is only for current account aka business account. ,you can try but i request for personal account use but rejected , i have no business account on pbb only rhb and my rhb current account still using token thing for generate password and approving password, pbb if not mistaken last time their request is if i want create current account i need get someone to help me with letters and signature etc with forgot how many year pbb current account user that the reason i walk away and choose RHB.Thanks guys will look into it. |
Jul 26 2024, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2024, 11:21 AM) I reach out pbb counter because do not like using phone for secure sign thought the token is available for all but unfortunately they told me token is only for current account aka business account. ,you can try but i request for personal account use but rejected , i have no business account on pbb only rhb and my rhb current account still using token thing for generate password and approving password, pbb if not mistaken last time their request is if i want create current account i need get someone to help me with letters and signature etc with forgot how many year pbb current account user that the reason i walk away and choose RHB. I got one for my mom's personal saving account last year. |
Jul 26 2024, 11:26 AM
Jul 26 2024, 11:29 AM
Jul 26 2024, 11:31 AM
gerald7 and zuozi
PB SecureSign Token is available for individual owners of savings account. If the bank officer refuses to grant you the hardware token, request to speak to the bank manager, and insist your right to get a hardware token. We need to understand that Public Bank have some customers who are senior citizens with probably large sum of money in their PB savings accounts. That is probably why PB allows us to use the hardware token, because it is generally difficult for some senior citizens to use mobile apps. This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 11:34 AM |
Jul 26 2024, 11:33 AM
Jul 26 2024, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(kart @ Jul 26 2024, 11:31 AM) gerald7 and zuozi ask gerald7 try request lah i already give up after one try, if gerald7 manage to get one I'll go and try again 😀PB SecureSign Token is available for individual owners of savings account. If the bank officer refuses to grant you the hardware token, request to speak to the bank manager, and insist your right to get a hardware token. |
Jul 26 2024, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:29 AM) When the current PB SecureSign Token has run out of battery due to normal usage, PB allows free one-to-one replacement of PB SecureSign Token, provided that you can surrender the current PB SecureSign Token with depleted battery to PB branch.This is to prove that you have not lost your current PB SecureSign Token with depleted battery, due to negligence. We are unable to change the battery of PB SecureSign Token, and it needs to be complete replacement of PB SecureSign Token. This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 11:38 AM |
Jul 26 2024, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2024, 11:35 AM) ask gerald7 try request lah i already give up after one try, if gerald7 manage to get one I'll go and try again 😀 I fwd to my dad the info already, later if got updates I will share here. zuozi liked this post
Jul 26 2024, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM) I don't know can perform another transaction or not, didn't try it. That's bad. Usually if I have something stuck due to bank's own system, I will tell them I will write to BNM.Nobody call me. Next morning I call bank to tell them to release the payment, they say can't, system is like that. |
Jul 26 2024, 12:42 PM
Aug 11 2024, 04:58 PM
1,144 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
Can I check if I want to close my PB current account, do I need to go back to the branch I open or any branch will do? Just bring NRIC? Thanks.
Aug 12 2024, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 11 2024, 04:58 PM) Can I check if I want to close my PB current account, do I need to go back to the branch I open or any branch will do? Just bring NRIC? Thanks. If I remember correctlyIt's Home Branch only 👌 Everything linked to home branch... Don't know what old school system they using... |
| Change to: | 0.2439sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:52 PM |