PUBLIC BANK = Worst service in the industry, Lousy customer support, arrogant staff

poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jul 25 2024, 03:58 PM)
So once you get this message, meaning you cannot transfer for X hours or they will call you and verify or just stuck?
I don't know can perform another transaction or not, didn't try it.

Nobody call me.

Next morning I call bank to tell them to release the payment, they say can't, system is like that.
lkloon123
post Jul 25 2024, 04:09 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM)

Nobody call me.

Next morning I call bank to tell them to release the payment, they say can't, system is like that.
yup, thats the worst part, no way to release it besides "wait" even with user calls confirmation

Octopus bank also imply this on hold transaction but with calls verification, the fund is release super quick

This post has been edited by lkloon123: Jul 25 2024, 04:10 PM
gerald7
post Jul 26 2024, 08:54 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

I think the android mobile apps is a bit lousy. My dad has a HONOR90, everything stock and no mods to the OS but every now and then the PB apps will say the phone is not secure have to undo the dev usb debug thing. unchecking does not help, rebooting.. etc.

He spent few days going to and fro to the bank to try resolve this. At the end, the bank officer also gave up.

So cant do trx cos need the pb app approval thingy. bangwall.gif

Asked me to help, and somehow I found a workaround bt this issue comes back every few months or so.
kart
post Jul 26 2024, 10:41 AM

1,597 posts

gerald7

Maybe, your father can try to use PB SecureSign Token, to authorize banking transactions in PBe website.

https://www.pbebank.com/en/digital-banking/...ecuresign-token

It is a hardware (physical) token which looks similar to a small calculator. PB SecureSign Token is free of charge.

With PB SecureSign Token, your father do not need to use PBe mobile app.

By using a computer (desktop or laptop) to perform online banking transactions, your father can then use PB SecureSign Token to generate OTP that can be used to approve online banking transactions in PBe website.

This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 10:43 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 26 2024, 11:04 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jul 26 2024, 08:54 AM)
I think the android mobile apps is a bit lousy. My dad has a HONOR90, everything stock and no mods to the OS but every now and then the PB apps will say the phone is not secure have to undo the dev usb debug thing. unchecking does not help, rebooting.. etc.

He spent few days going to and fro to the bank to try resolve this. At the end, the bank officer also gave up.

So cant do trx cos need the pb app approval thingy.  bangwall.gif

Asked me to help, and somehow I found a workaround bt this issue comes back every few months or so.
Go to counter and ask for a physical token.
gerald7
post Jul 26 2024, 11:11 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 26 2024, 10:41 AM)
gerald7

Maybe, your father can try to use PB SecureSign Token, to authorize banking transactions in PBe website.

https://www.pbebank.com/en/digital-banking/...ecuresign-token

It is a hardware (physical) token which looks similar to a small calculator. PB SecureSign Token is free of charge.

With PB SecureSign Token, your father do not need to use PBe mobile app.

By using a computer (desktop or laptop) to perform online banking transactions, your father can then use PB SecureSign Token to generate OTP that can be used to approve online banking transactions in PBe website.
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:04 AM)
Go to counter and ask for a physical token.
wow, that is a good suggestion. I actually have it for my business current account, I thought it was only for business accounts only.

Thanks guys will look into it.

This post has been edited by gerald7: Jul 26 2024, 11:12 AM
zuozi
post Jul 26 2024, 11:21 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jul 26 2024, 11:11 AM)
wow, that is a good suggestion. I actually have it for my business current account, I thought it was only for business accounts only.

Thanks guys will look into it.
I reach out pbb counter because do not like using phone for secure sign thought the token is available for all but unfortunately they told me token is only for current account aka business account. ,you can try but i request for personal account use but rejected , i have no business account on pbb only rhb and my rhb current account still using token thing for generate password and approving password, pbb if not mistaken last time their request is if i want create current account i need get someone to help me with letters and signature etc with forgot how many year pbb current account user that the reason i walk away and choose RHB.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 26 2024, 11:25 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2024, 11:21 AM)
I reach out pbb counter because do not like using phone for secure sign thought the token is available for all but unfortunately they told me token is only for current account aka business account. ,you can try but i request for personal account use but rejected , i have no business account on pbb only rhb and my rhb current account still using token thing for generate password and approving password, pbb if not mistaken last time their request is if i want create current account i need get someone to help me with letters and signature etc with forgot how many year pbb current account user that the reason i walk away and choose RHB.
I got one for my mom's personal saving account last year.
zuozi
post Jul 26 2024, 11:26 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:25 AM)
I got one for my mom's personal saving account last year.
this year around February or March i try but rejected.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 26 2024, 11:29 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2024, 11:26 AM)
this year around February or March i try but rejected.
Oh boy. Hope they still let us to change the battery when the old one runs flat.
kart
post Jul 26 2024, 11:31 AM

1,597 posts

gerald7 and zuozi

PB SecureSign Token is available for individual owners of savings account.

If the bank officer refuses to grant you the hardware token, request to speak to the bank manager, and insist your right to get a hardware token.

We need to understand that Public Bank have some customers who are senior citizens with probably large sum of money in their PB savings accounts. That is probably why PB allows us to use the hardware token, because it is generally difficult for some senior citizens to use mobile apps.

This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 11:34 AM
zuozi
post Jul 26 2024, 11:33 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:29 AM)
Oh boy. Hope they still let us to change the battery when the old one runs flat.
I'm doing small business only the token given from RHB mostly can last 7 to 10 year you have plenty of time to request new token .
zuozi
post Jul 26 2024, 11:35 AM

1,262 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 26 2024, 11:31 AM)
gerald7 and zuozi

PB SecureSign Token is available for individual owners of savings account.

If the bank officer refuses to grant you the hardware token, request to speak to the bank manager, and insist your right to get a hardware token.
ask gerald7 try request lah i already give up after one try, if gerald7 manage to get one I'll go and try again 😀
kart
post Jul 26 2024, 11:37 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 26 2024, 11:29 AM)
When the current PB SecureSign Token has run out of battery due to normal usage, PB allows free one-to-one replacement of PB SecureSign Token, provided that you can surrender the current PB SecureSign Token with depleted battery to PB branch.

This is to prove that you have not lost your current PB SecureSign Token with depleted battery, due to negligence.

We are unable to change the battery of PB SecureSign Token, and it needs to be complete replacement of PB SecureSign Token.

This post has been edited by kart: Jul 26 2024, 11:38 AM
gerald7
post Jul 26 2024, 11:40 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jul 26 2024, 11:35 AM)
ask gerald7 try request lah i already give up after one try, if gerald7 manage to get one I'll go and try again 😀
I fwd to my dad the info already, later if got updates I will share here. biggrin.gif
jasontoh
post Jul 26 2024, 11:43 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 25 2024, 04:03 PM)

Nobody call me.

That's bad. Usually if I have something stuck due to bank's own system, I will tell them I will write to BNM.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 26 2024, 12:42 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jul 26 2024, 11:43 AM)
That's bad. Usually if I have something stuck due to bank's own system, I will tell them I will write to BNM.
Well I think BNM is likely to support this 12-hour cooling period thing so I don't think the bank will care about the complaint.
joeblow
post Aug 11 2024, 04:58 PM

1,144 posts

Can I check if I want to close my PB current account, do I need to go back to the branch I open or any branch will do? Just bring NRIC? Thanks.
nexona88
post Aug 12 2024, 02:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,419 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 11 2024, 04:58 PM)
Can I check if I want to close my PB current account, do I need to go back to the branch I open or any branch will do? Just bring NRIC? Thanks.
If I remember correctly

It's Home Branch only 👌

Everything linked to home branch... Don't know what old school system they using...

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0190sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:58 AM