TOP 3 (and Worst 3) Warranty Support in Malaysia, On Site Support: Laptop/Desktop

TSnakTT
post May 17 2012, 08:07 PM, updated 12y ago

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

Hi all. Kindly please share the TOP 3 (and worst 3) Warranty Support (on site) for laptop/desktop in your opinion.

I heard Dell is among the best but I also thought that we should at least share TOP 3 of the best because Dell not always have models that we want.

Do share warranty option that they provide in term of standard warranty (how many year/s) as well as options to extend the warranty support (how much is cost you and so on).

Thank you in advance. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nakTT: Jul 2 2012, 04:05 PM
[PF] T.J.
post May 17 2012, 08:16 PM

24,193 posts

Dell, HP and Lenovo's onsite warranty are the best.. but you're going to pay more for it nod.gif
Nickysnipe
post May 17 2012, 09:31 PM

477 posts

Dell ftw
TSnakTT
post May 17 2012, 10:30 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 17 2012, 08:16 PM)
Dell, HP and Lenovo's onsite warranty are the best.. but you're going to pay more for it nod.gif
If we were to buy from freelance seller, how do we know (for sure) that our Dell, HP or Lenovo laptop/desktop covered by on-site support?

putochip123
post May 18 2012, 12:13 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 17 2012, 10:30 PM)
If we were to buy from freelance seller, how do we know (for sure) that our Dell, HP or Lenovo laptop/desktop covered by on-site support?
HP and lenovo i dont know.

but for dell, their service default are onsite(no carry in), so with valid warranty, then there will be onsite.

lenovo got carry in policy so im not sure about that
lawtm
post May 18 2012, 01:35 PM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

Asus good for warranty but minimum 1month for replacing hardware........ vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSnakTT
post May 18 2012, 09:39 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 18 2012, 12:13 AM)

but for dell, their service default are onsite(no carry in), so with valid warranty, then there will be onsite.

Thanks for the reply bro.

Anyone who happen to know about HP and Lenovo do share here. Thank you in advance.
Zepx
post May 19 2012, 07:46 AM

1,232 posts

HP's service center is pretty good. The moment you walk-in, you must ask their technician to perform the test for you.

If you are early, they will do the replacement immediately. The wait could take about 1-4 hours depending on how serious the issue is.

I'm interested to know if anyone has used Lenovo's onsite warranty.
zizdnyll
post May 19 2012, 07:56 AM

490 posts

dell warranty for alienware , can extend up to 5 year..
they say first 3 year they can change the part , after that , they will change for new system if there's problem because they dont have the sparepart anymore.
[PF] T.J.
post May 19 2012, 07:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 18 2012, 09:39 PM)
Thanks for the reply bro.

Anyone who happen to know about HP and Lenovo do share here. Thank you in advance.
I'm actually quite interested to know about HP and Lenovo's on-site warranty support as well...
They are often advertised alot, but I've never heard of any feedbacks doh.gif
Zepx
post May 19 2012, 02:08 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ May 19 2012, 07:56 AM)
dell warranty for alienware , can extend up to 5 year..
they say first 3 year they can change the part , after that , they will change for new system if there's problem because they dont have the sparepart anymore.
I guess that's what you get when you pay for a premium price. But still, how many people would hold a laptop for more than 5 years, especially a gaming one these days. Also the warranty is pretty pricy.
zizdnyll
post May 19 2012, 02:55 PM

490 posts

nego with dell service , can get better price ..i use my m14x , for first week already have motherboard problem , they change with new one , and offer me to extend my warranty half price after i complaint again n again..
5 year can la this laptop survive..now gaming , 2 3 years layer become office work laptop ..hahaa
secondrate
post May 19 2012, 04:23 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Dell. This kong, that kong, they came next day to fix. Of course, pay more la.
Ikmal91
post May 19 2012, 06:25 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

HP warranty support is pretty good. Pay a few if you want it quick. Otherwise it's usually 2-3 days.
TSnakTT
post May 19 2012, 09:47 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ May 19 2012, 06:25 PM)
HP warranty support is pretty good. Pay a few if you want it quick. Otherwise it's usually 2-3 days.
How do we do that? Do share with us any info that you have on this. Thank you in advance.
Zepx
post May 19 2012, 10:07 PM

1,232 posts

Not sure why it's called "Pay a few if you want it quick", but afaik, if you go early in the morning, they could do part replacement on the spot, provided they have the parts. I once took my HP Mini to service centre and it was fixed within 45-60 minutes. Oh, and they have free coffee too tongue.gif (HP tower at damansara).
[PF] T.J.
post May 19 2012, 10:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ May 19 2012, 02:55 PM)
nego with dell service , can get better price ..i use my m14x , for first week already have motherboard problem , they change with new one , and offer me to extend my warranty half price after i complaint again n again..
5 year can la this laptop survive..now gaming , 2 3 years layer become office work laptop ..hahaa
Wow, so lucky notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Ikmal91
post May 20 2012, 12:59 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 19 2012, 09:47 PM)
How do we do that? Do share with us any info that you have on this. Thank you in advance.
QUOTE(Zepx @ May 19 2012, 10:07 PM)
Not sure why it's called "Pay a few if you want it quick", but afaik, if you go early in the morning, they could do part replacement on the spot, provided they have the parts. I once took my HP Mini to service centre and it was fixed within 45-60 minutes. Oh, and they have free coffee too tongue.gif (HP tower at damansara).
Shiat. There was somewhere I browsed around that said if you paid RM80 or maybe $80, you could get your thing done quickly.
I went to the HP center in Lowyat to get my busted HDD replaced around 11AM (which was the time that they opened), and still it took 2-3 days. Dafuq?
v1900130
post May 20 2012, 01:06 AM

745 posts

Dell, HP, Acer
TSnakTT
post May 20 2012, 05:59 AM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(v1900130 @ May 20 2012, 01:06 AM)
Dell, HP, Acer
Any idea on warranty from Acer? Do share with us. Thank you in advance.

I personally had quite a few Acer laptop in the past but I never once claim for warranty since the laptop never once give me trouble. I guess it is lucky me. But too bad since I can't share anything on warranty from Acer.

v1900130
post May 20 2012, 08:01 AM

745 posts

Acer has lots of service centres all over Malaysia. So people claim warranty through the shop they bought their Acer or just send to the service centre. Normally it takes 1 to 2 weeks to claim the warranty.
TSnakTT
post May 20 2012, 09:20 AM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(v1900130 @ May 20 2012, 08:01 AM)
Acer has lots of service centres all over Malaysia. So people claim warranty through the shop they bought their Acer or just send to the service centre. Normally it takes 1 to 2 weeks to claim the warranty.
Woow!!! That kind of long time without a laptop. Do they have on-site support that we can purchase? Like for 1, 2 or 3 years or something. Do share with us here. Thank you in advance.

Too bad Dell did not offer many AMD-based lappy. doh.gif

v1900130
post May 20 2012, 09:25 AM

745 posts

I'm not sure now when I was working in a PC shop, Acer offers something 2 or 3 years warranty or Acer Premium Care something like that. I think now should have gua.
putochip123
post May 20 2012, 10:27 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ May 19 2012, 02:08 PM)
I guess that's what you get when you pay for a premium price. But still, how many people would hold a laptop for more than 5 years, especially a gaming one these days. Also the warranty is pretty pricy.
gaming laptop will spoil faster than a normal laptop.
*heat kills laptop
yy-hunter
post May 21 2012, 04:58 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 20 2012, 09:20 AM)
Woow!!! That kind of long time without a laptop. Do they have on-site support that we can purchase? Like for 1, 2 or 3 years or something. Do share with us here. Thank you in advance.

Too bad Dell did not offer many AMD-based lappy. doh.gif
i sent my aspire 5750g in before. takes me 2 days for a mbo replacement.. i think if u send back to computer shops, will take longer period of time. Thats why i prefer to send directly to manufacturer's service centre. Done my compaq pretty fast also.

TSnakTT
post May 22 2012, 04:26 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(yy-hunter @ May 21 2012, 04:58 PM)
i sent my aspire 5750g in before. takes me 2 days for a mbo replacement.. i think if u send back to computer shops, will take longer period of time. Thats why i prefer to send directly to manufacturer's service centre. Done my compaq pretty fast also.
I see. So based on your experience both Acer and HP service centre are good. Thanks for sharing. thumbup.gif
IvanWong1989
post May 22 2012, 07:23 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

lol.. normally the case will be

1. laptop kong
2. send back to SHOP(not service center, is shop)
3.shop wait till one big pile of warranty(save cost send one time less often)
4. reach service center, done in 1 week maybe??
5. then wait shop de courier come take back.. duno how long
6. when reach customer, one month ++ liau
7. customer complain laptop brand service not good...

=)... of cz.. see luck also... some have it good with the service center.. some... er....

Added on May 22, 2012, 7:31 pmhaha.. i can't comment on asus after sales(although using one right now) cz i didn't use it yet, but i can support claims on dell.

friend's motherboard kong, tomorrow straight came and fix. ^^... i envy that after sales.. wonder if the time comes to claim warranty for my asus will it be hassle free... if it cxomes... pray won't ^^

asus is not build quality bad. it's the after sales decision they made... wrong decision.... 3 service centers ONLY in peninsula malaysia...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

super wrong....

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: May 22 2012, 07:31 PM
TSnakTT
post May 23 2012, 03:04 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

Anyone have any experience with MSI standard 2-years warranty? Do share with us here. Thank you in advance.
StnlySam
post May 24 2012, 05:26 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 23 2012, 03:04 PM)
Anyone have any experience with MSI standard 2-years warranty? Do share with us here. Thank you in advance.
yah, I would like to know more about MSI warranty and their support & services.
TSnakTT
post May 24 2012, 07:15 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(StnlySam @ May 24 2012, 05:26 PM)
Right now I am using CR650 but so far almost one year it looking good and trouble free. That is why I have no experience with MSI warranty.

Looking forward to get myself one unit of small laptop with ULV processor. Might go for MSI again if the warranty is good since Dell do not really have AMD solution.
ectt
post May 29 2012, 02:50 AM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 17 2012, 08:07 PM)
Hi all. Kindly please share the TOP 3 Warranty Support (on site) for laptop/desktop in your opinion.

I heard Dell is among the best but I also thought that we should at least share TOP 3 of the best because Dell not always have models that we want.

Do share warranty option that they provide in term of standard warranty (how many year/s) as well as options to extend the warranty support (how much is cost you and so on).
basically, NONE!
they usually good at "replace parts" , not really help to "fix" the parts. But that's customers usually want. anyway the same problem will still exist if the design really have problems, some certain models are notorious for certain common problems in some famous brands!
TSnakTT
post May 29 2012, 09:53 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(ectt @ May 29 2012, 02:50 AM)
basically, NONE!
they usually good at "replace parts" , not really help to "fix" the parts. But that's customers usually want. anyway the same problem will still exist if the design really have problems, some certain models are notorious for certain common problems in some famous brands!
Thanks for the reply. But my question is more like the support for normal hardware issue, not one caused by a design defect which we all know it is not going to be easy to rectify. I thank you anyway for the reply.
xavierkang
post Jul 1 2012, 04:31 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(yy-hunter @ May 21 2012, 04:58 PM)
So you are using acer,and you go warranty take you total two days for done yours laptop ? If two days then i will consider buying acer lo !
zorbyss.
post Jul 1 2012, 07:41 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

It would be much more interesting if there's another top 3 worst brand in customer service biggrin.gif
Uchiha_Itachi1991
post Jul 1 2012, 10:49 PM

1,095 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Jul 1 2012, 07:41 PM)
It would be much more interesting if there's another top 3 worst brand in customer service biggrin.gif

hmm..i wonder who would b top 1? A**S? tongue.gif rclxms.gif

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(StnlySam @ May 24 2012, 05:26 PM)
+1....any1 mind sharing their experience? recently bought a msi ge60... so far i only contact them thru their website support only...response to my queries within a day...but i hope i wont hav to experience their physical service center though *fingercross smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:54 pmMy top 2 would b dell and acer....I recently send my old acer laptop to their SC due to bad sector in the HDD... they replaced my hdd n format within 2-3 working days..pretty fast if u ask me..

This post has been edited by Uchiha_Itachi1991: Jul 1 2012, 10:54 PM
TSnakTT
post Jul 1 2012, 11:30 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Jul 1 2012, 10:49 PM)
hmm..i wonder who would b top 1?  A**S?  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:52 pm
+1....any1 mind sharing their experience? recently bought a msi ge60... so far i only contact them thru their website support only...response to my queries within a day...but i hope i wont hav to experience their physical service center though *fingercross  smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2012, 10:54 pmMy top 2 would b dell and acer....I recently send my old acer laptop to their SC due to bad sector in the HDD... they replaced my hdd n format within 2-3 working days..pretty fast if u ask me..
Thank you for sharing your experience with Acer and MSI. Keep them coming as it would really help many of us here.
bryan_forever89
post Jul 2 2012, 08:32 AM

32 posts

dell will be the best among them~
asus << in other country have good service, but in malaysia i dun think so
Hp << kinda nightmare for me, 3rd month only then my motherboard then claim wif hp take about 3 month< im thinking is soooo long~ then after 1 year warranty motherboard die again~ so u can think how good are they, their quality control~
MSI <<i never using it before~ i cant even find any regrading about the warranty comment
lenovo << using y480 hope dun have any problem~ if not will be big problem for me~
SUSMatrix
post Jul 2 2012, 11:07 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Jul 1 2012, 07:41 PM)
1. ASUS
2. ASUS.
3. ASUS.

There. tongue.gif

btw, i am interested in more feedback on Acer Warranty support feedback...anyone else have experience with Acer laptop warranty??

Added on July 2, 2012, 11:10 am
QUOTE(bryan_forever89 @ Jul 2 2012, 08:32 AM)
dell will be the best among them~
asus << in other country have good service, but in malaysia i dun think so
Hp << kinda nightmare for me, 3rd month only then my motherboard then claim wif hp take about 3 month< im thinking is soooo long~ then after 1 year warranty motherboard die again~ so u can think how good are they, their quality control~
MSI <<i never using it before~ i cant even find any regrading about the warranty comment
lenovo << using y480 hope dun have any problem~ if not will be big problem for me~
Lenovo should be good i think. The support is still handle by VADS if i am not wrong. These guys are professionals who used to deal with corporate market....not like Taiwainese companies giving the SC job to some local samseng who has link to Taiwanese triad society taiko....hehe.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 2 2012, 11:10 AM
garfieldX
post Jul 2 2012, 03:34 PM

109 posts

for worse SC i think i will pick Lenovo, lcd got problem and take to their SC in Lowyat, claim that motherboard kong have to pay RM 1.2k for replacement (i let my lenovo stay over night there for "detail inspection"), try to get second opinion and only connector bit loose, pay rm30 and nvr had any lcd problem until now. Now using Dell since so many ppl here recommend the brand, hope no need to use the warranty tongue.gif
chaw1979
post Jul 2 2012, 06:13 PM

198 posts

Anyone can share about the Sony and Toshiba warranty service?? planning to get a new laptop from them also....

Using Dell Latitude model in office about 2 years, so far not problem at all....but normally my collegue desktop or laptop problem will be fix within 2 days.... Dell service no. 1.....but very sad the design is...
deepcool0922
post Jul 2 2012, 06:30 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(lawtm @ May 18 2012, 01:35 PM)
Asus good for warranty but minimum 1month for replacing hardware........ vmad.gif  vmad.gif
if u left 2 month warranty, after u claim warranty, u get back your laptop after 2 month, so your total warranty 10 months only?
Frostlord
post Jul 2 2012, 06:34 PM

1,723 posts

Hi all. Kindly please share the TOP 3 (and worst 3) Warranty Support (on site) for laptop/desktop in your opinion.

Best
#1 DELL
#2/#3 is not even close to DELL so i wont list them

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:30 PM)
if u left 2 month warranty, after u claim warranty, u get back your laptop after 2 month, so your total warranty 10 months only?
Yes

all product also same. u buy car take it to service center for some "fixing", they also wont extend your warranty

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Jul 2 2012, 06:35 PM
deepcool0922
post Jul 2 2012, 06:39 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 2 2012, 06:34 PM)
Best
#1 DELL

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:35 pm

Yes

all product also same. u buy car take it to service center for some "fixing", they also wont extend your warranty
I knew that. Asus warranty some time take more than 2 months...
Spade
post Jul 2 2012, 06:45 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:39 PM)
I knew that. Asus warranty some time take more than 2 months...
More than 1 or 2 weeks is already bad enough. Not to mention 2 months. shakehead.gif
deepcool0922
post Jul 2 2012, 06:48 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Jul 2 2012, 06:45 PM)
More than 1 or 2 weeks is already bad enough. Not to mention 2 months. shakehead.gif
For me. One month is acceptable. 1st week send to repair, 3rd week coming back. I think they are not repairing in Mslaysia.
Spade
post Jul 2 2012, 07:02 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:48 PM)
For me. One month is acceptable. 1st week send to repair, 3rd week coming back. I think they are not repairing in Mslaysia.
Compared to Dell next business day on-site, 1 month feel like a year and even a week is long enough.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 2 2012, 08:57 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(chaw1979 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:13 PM)
Anyone can share about the Sony and Toshiba warranty service?? planning to get a new laptop from them also....

Using Dell Latitude model in office about 2 years, so far not problem at all....but normally my collegue desktop or laptop problem will be fix within 2 days.... Dell service no. 1.....but very sad the design is...
The new XPS design is ok...but the Inspiron....looks like this

XPS is at least RM 3k...while other brands 2K lappy also looks very nice. Build quality also an issue...the Dell trackpad sucks...very plasticky...not smooth...(Inspiron series). If they put some efforts into their design for the Inspiron range...no need to think...all the other brands can tar pau.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 2 2012, 08:58 PM
deepcool0922
post Jul 2 2012, 09:09 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 2 2012, 08:57 PM)

XPS is at least RM 3k...while other brands 2K lappy also looks very nice. Build quality also an issue...the Dell trackpad sucks...very plasticky...not smooth...(Inspiron series). If they put some efforts into their design for the Inspiron range...no need to think...all the other brands can tar pau.
I like XPS too. But price higher a bit. But at lease good after sell service provided.
saddizdd7
post Jul 2 2012, 11:13 PM

239 posts

As I am selling Dell, the best part is when you talk and show the warranty Proof, NBD (Next Business day). But the design mostly Inspiron sighhh, more classic then MSI classic series
Spade
post Jul 3 2012, 08:29 AM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Jul 2 2012, 11:13 PM)
As I am selling Dell, the best part is when you talk and show the warranty Proof, NBD (Next Business day). But the design mostly Inspiron sighhh, more classic then MSI classic series
I don't mind a super classic design as long as it is neat and tidy. However the biggest issue is about the processor.

How many model that you carry have option for AMD processor with no dedicated GPU as I don't need the extra heat?

TSnakTT
post Jul 3 2012, 09:59 AM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 2 2012, 06:34 PM)
Best
#1 DELL
It is okay, you can give their name here for the sake of sharing.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 11:31 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(chaw1979 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:13 PM)

Why do you want to buy SONY?? Overpriced, not much choices, nothing special.

TOSHIBA seems to have reputation for reliable laptops, but not sure their services.
saddizdd7
post Jul 3 2012, 11:33 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Jul 3 2012, 08:29 AM)
I don't mind a super classic design as long as it is neat and tidy. However the biggest issue is about the processor.

How many model that you carry have option for AMD processor with no dedicated GPU as I don't need the extra heat?
you already answered it. there is very limit Unit on Processors + no Dedicated GPU has being given to us as reseller.
other hand you might say there is very limit Options for Dell buyers in terms of processor.

My 3 Top Warranty Support should be :-

1- Dell ~ so far the best in terms of timing / troubleshooting / support.
2- Acer ~ quite ok for me, only matter on timing which i have been send 1 of my client notebook to claim warranty for DVD Drive it tooks around a month to settle it ( Acer Penang )
3- Not decide yet since never try on claiming other brands :-)
skeith
post Jul 3 2012, 11:39 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Jul 2 2012, 09:09 PM)
I like XPS too. But price higher a bit. But at lease good after sell service provided.
my M1330 give me a lot of shit sad.gif

mobo broke 3 times within a year and then dont dare to gaming anymore due to warranty habis sad.gif
TSnakTT
post Jul 3 2012, 12:00 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2012, 11:31 AM)
Why do you want to buy SONY?? Overpriced, not much choices, nothing special.

TOSHIBA seems to have reputation for reliable laptops, but not sure their services.
Yeah, wonder why. How about Sony warranty support? Is it on par with Dell?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 12:32 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Jul 3 2012, 12:00 PM)
Yeah, wonder why. How about Sony warranty support? Is it on par with Dell?
Jangan Mimpi bro.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 3 2012, 12:33 PM
TSnakTT
post Jul 3 2012, 12:35 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2012, 12:32 PM)
Jangan Mimpi bro.
Then why would you buy things at a much inflated price? Quality reason?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 12:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Jul 3 2012, 12:35 PM)
Then why would you buy things at a much inflated price? Quality reason?
Aiyo...you don't know SONY style meh....always jual mahal mah...doh.gif
TSnakTT
post Jul 3 2012, 01:39 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2012, 12:47 PM)
I know they always jual mahal. What I don't know is why we users fall for it.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 02:24 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Jul 3 2012, 01:39 PM)
It's a SONY. Make. Believe.

hehe.
ocyrus
post Jul 3 2012, 04:06 PM

193 posts

I have a question for the Dell users here. What does the warranty cover exactly? Let's say I get the 3-years Basic warranty package, does that mean if any component inside the notebook is faulty or breaks down, then they will replace the component for free? Or do you have to pay for the component but the service charge is free? Confused! Also, on what warranty package are you guys on? Essential/Basic/Premium?

This post has been edited by ocyrus: Jul 3 2012, 04:07 PM
abubin
post Jul 3 2012, 04:15 PM

10,429 posts

cause for some people, design and style is more important than price and performance.
saddizdd7
post Jul 3 2012, 04:33 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 3 2012, 04:06 PM)
I have a question for the Dell users here. What does the warranty cover exactly? Let's say I get the 3-years Basic warranty package, does that mean if any component inside the notebook is faulty or breaks down, then they will replace the component for free? Or do you have to pay for the component but the service charge is free? Confused! Also, on what warranty package are you guys on? Essential/Basic/Premium?
For faulty cause by factory default then YES.... Breaks down by own then i need a big dictionary to explain,each package you need to pay more and most likely it will be more advantage :-)
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 04:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 3 2012, 04:06 PM)
Very easy...the website already explain mah.

Essential - parts and labor. If you break it with hammer. No warranty.

Basic - parts and labor. You break it with hammer still got warranty (but don't tell them you did it on purpose).

Premium - As above + software problems + 24/7 they entertain you.
TSnakTT
post Jul 3 2012, 05:26 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 3 2012, 04:15 PM)
cause for some people, design and style is more important than price and performance.
I see, so it is the design then.
ytlay
post Jul 3 2012, 06:31 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 3 2012, 04:15 PM)
Most will judge by its first look & get poison liau. rclxub.gif
Thats why some manufacture like Asus willing to spent money on design rather than wasting money to improve their service. doh.gif
saddizdd7
post Jul 3 2012, 08:34 PM

239 posts

Coz people thought those mahal thing got more quality ,branded an more stylish when you use it, like macho la :-p

cslance
post Jul 3 2012, 09:29 PM

337 posts

The top good services after sale will be Dell!
SUSMatrix
post Jul 3 2012, 09:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Jul 3 2012, 08:34 PM)
Coz people thought those mahal thing got more quality ,branded an more stylish when you use it, like macho la :-p
Like Apple.... laugh.gif
Spade
post Jul 3 2012, 09:53 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:33 AM)
you already answered it. there is very limit Unit on Processors + no Dedicated GPU has being given to us as reseller.
other hand you might say there is very limit Options for Dell buyers in terms of processor.

My 3 Top Warranty Support should be :-

1- Dell ~ so far the best in terms of timing / troubleshooting / support.
2- Acer ~ quite ok for me, only matter on timing which i have been send 1 of my client notebook to claim warranty for DVD Drive it tooks around a month to settle it ( Acer Penang )
3- Not decide yet since never try on claiming other brands :-)
No actually. I am more like asking.

AFAIK Dell has the best warranty support in Malaysia. Just looking for AMD options from Dell. Prefer ULV system and I don't need dedicated GPU.

This post has been edited by Spade: Jul 3 2012, 09:59 PM
saddizdd7
post Jul 3 2012, 11:28 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Jul 3 2012, 09:53 PM)
No actually. I am more like asking.

AFAIK Dell has the best warranty support in Malaysia. Just looking for AMD options from Dell. Prefer ULV system and I don't need dedicated GPU.
Non dedicated GPU got a lot options for you mate, Inspiron or vostro family, but unfortunately no AMD processor option rite now, the lowest one also Intel B815 processor.If you still in planning to get Dell once, then you need to swift from AMD to Intel ( and i believe ) the answer is NO, since you are AMD die hard :-)
danleongwz
post Jul 3 2012, 11:46 PM

518 posts

Dell. Bsod almost everyday since i got my lappie and its only 6 days old. Dell agreed to change a new set ( i requested so ) whereas they offered me on site warranty

Added on July 3, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 2 2012, 08:57 PM)

Im using the inspiron 14r se. Well design wise its ok compared to the older models tongue.gif and i do prefer better specs than better designs smile.gif

This post has been edited by danleongwz: Jul 3 2012, 11:56 PM
saddizdd7
post Jul 4 2012, 01:32 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(danleongwz @ Jul 3 2012, 11:46 PM)
Dell. Bsod almost everyday since i got my lappie and its only 6 days old. Dell agreed to change a new set ( i requested so ) whereas they offered me on site warranty

Added on July 3, 2012, 11:56 pm
Im using the inspiron 14r se. Well design wise its ok compared to the older models tongue.gif and i do prefer better specs than better designs smile.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif enough said notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
mate can you share with us how long does Dell take to Change a new set of Inspiron 14R to you

danleongwz
post Jul 4 2012, 01:39 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Jul 4 2012, 01:32 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  enough said  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
mate can you share with us how long does Dell take to Change a new set of Inspiron 14R to you
sadly, its 3 weeks long. its because dell said the 14r is in high demand and it takes time process a new set for me asap. well im actually getting my set back today ( 4th of July ). well, dell is kind enough to send a delivery service to retrieve my faulty set and send it back to Penang and once they got back the laptop, they refunded back my money ( rm 2999 ) and then process a new unit which costs rm 2719. the current price is rm 2799 and this is because the delivery costs rm80, they agreed to minus rm 80 from the lappie.
TSnakTT
post Jul 4 2012, 08:04 AM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(danleongwz @ Jul 4 2012, 01:39 AM)
sadly, its 3 weeks long. its because dell said the 14r is in high demand and it takes time process a new set for me asap. well im actually getting my set back today ( 4th of July ). well, dell is kind enough to send a delivery service to retrieve my faulty set and send it back to Penang and once they got back the laptop, they refunded back my money ( rm 2999 ) and then process a new unit which costs rm 2719. the current price is rm 2799 and this is because the delivery costs rm80, they agreed to minus rm 80 from the lappie.
That was awesome man. Then we can say with confident that Dell has the best after sales service in Malaysia, by far. Don't you guys agree? Please let me know that I am not the only one who feels this way.

ocyrus
post Jul 4 2012, 09:25 AM

193 posts

Anybody had any experience with Toshiba's after sales service/warranty? Good/bad? Please share
Frostlord
post Jul 4 2012, 11:26 AM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 3 2012, 12:47 PM)
my Sony laptop - 3 years and still running. send for warranty? 0 times
my Asus laptop - 1 year screen hinge already cracked. took 1-2 months time to replace because of "no parts"

user problem? both laptop same user, use for same thing

Acer? my housemate bought 1 back, less than 1 week already send for service.
JJKTP
post Jul 4 2012, 12:39 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 4 2012, 11:26 AM)
my Sony laptop - 3 years and still running. send for warranty? 0 times
my Asus laptop - 1 year screen hinge already cracked. took 1-2 months time to replace because of "no parts"

user problem? both laptop same user, use for same thing

Acer? my housemate bought 1 back, less than 1 week already send for service.
My Compaq is now 3.5 years of age without a single visit to claim warranty.
Does that mean Compaq is a bullet proof lappy or I'm just being lucky.

Frostlord
post Jul 4 2012, 10:00 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Jul 4 2012, 12:39 PM)
My Compaq is now 3.5 years of age without a single visit to claim warranty.
Does that mean Compaq is a bullet proof lappy or I'm just being lucky.
dude, did u even read? im comparing my usage of 2 different brand laptop, not just 1 brand. i used both sony and asus, same time frame but different result. how do you compare if u use 1 only?

learn to read.

danleongwz
post Jul 4 2012, 10:15 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Jul 4 2012, 08:04 AM)
That was awesome man. Then we can say with confident that Dell has the best after sales service in Malaysia, by far. Don't you guys agree? Please let me know that I am not the only one who feels this way.
couldnt disagree with that smile.gif
Spade
post Jul 6 2012, 04:52 PM

Myth Buster!!!
1,495 posts

QUOTE(saddizdd7 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:28 PM)
Non dedicated GPU got a lot options for you mate, Inspiron or vostro family, but unfortunately no AMD processor option rite now, the lowest one also Intel B815 processor.If you still in planning to get Dell once, then you need to swift from AMD to Intel ( and i believe ) the answer is NO, since you are AMD die hard :-)
Right now my interest lies in ULV processor. Right now AMD ULV seems promissing with better integrated GPU than Intel.

Your guess is right. I am an AMD die-hard fan. Do let me know as soon as dell come up with AMD ULV processor as I love to have Dell NBD on-site warranty support. icon_rolleyes.gif
shalzkasbsp
post Jul 6 2012, 06:13 PM

355 posts

just got a dell latitude with 1 year accidental damage service + 3 years NBD Pro Support service...

What sort of warranty does Pro Support actually cover?
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 6 2012, 06:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(shalzkasbsp @ Jul 6 2012, 06:13 PM)
just got a dell latitude with 1 year accidental damage service + 3 years NBD Pro Support service...

What sort of warranty does Pro Support actually cover?
Everything I guess hmm.gif
Can even call them on weekends iinm?
nik1993
post Jul 8 2012, 10:25 PM

417 posts

interested with asus...but after figure out the waranty service..thinking 10000000000x times...huhu rclxub.gif
ck_boon
post Jul 9 2012, 02:55 PM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ May 19 2012, 11:07 PM)
and free parking to, for bring in service customers.. there's one female receptionist very beautiful very tall, eye is soo charming, cant stop staring at her eyes each time i been ter
TSnakTT
post Jul 10 2012, 11:46 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jul 9 2012, 02:55 PM)
and free parking to, for bring in service customers.. there's one female receptionist very beautiful very tall, eye is soo charming, cant stop staring at her eyes each time i been ter
Free parking is a good way to entertain customer. Way to go HP.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 11 2012, 09:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jul 9 2012, 02:55 PM)
and free parking to, for bring in service customers.. there's one female receptionist very beautiful very tall, eye is soo charming, cant stop staring at her eyesboobs each time i been ter
FIXED. Don't Lie. We know what you did last summer. tongue.gif
zorbyss.
post Jul 11 2012, 12:01 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

Still no results on the top 3 yet? hmm.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jul 11 2012, 12:49 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

worst support is

Gateway
Olivetti
Siemens Nixdorf

SUSMatrix
post Jul 11 2012, 03:01 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jul 11 2012, 12:49 PM)
worst support is

Gateway
Olivetti
Siemens Nixdorf
err...got these brand of laptops meh?? All these seems like ancient brands...
========
Updated...seems like still got Gateway..sweat.gif...but not in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 11 2012, 03:03 PM
zzzxtreme
post Jul 11 2012, 03:17 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

kekekekeekekkeke
Heroic
post Jul 11 2012, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ May 22 2012, 07:23 PM)
lol.. normally the case will be

1. laptop kong
2. send back to SHOP(not service center, is shop)
3.shop wait till one big pile of warranty(save cost send one time less often)
4. reach service center, done in 1 week maybe??
5. then wait shop de courier come take back.. duno how long
6. when reach customer, one month ++ liau
7. customer complain laptop brand service not good...
=)... of cz.. see luck also... some have it good with the service center.. some... er....
lol this is sooo true.I've sent my Acer 4741G laptop back to shop 20th June last month due to HDD failures after 1year6months usage but till now no news yet.Called the shop owner last week and he said to wait, this is normal and claiming warranty always take time.3 weeks as of today now still no news.Maybe will be one month++ like you said.i should've send directly to their service center but was busy and no time to go there...duh doh.gif
TSnakTT
post Jul 11 2012, 07:15 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 11 2012, 09:18 AM)
FIXED. Don't Lie. We know what you did last summer.  tongue.gif
Hehehe. Only now sounds like a correct statement. tongue.gif
Learjet35
post Jul 11 2012, 09:14 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(Nickysnipe @ May 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
Dell ftw
+999

call,and just goyang kaki,they will come next morning to fix your device..even international. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Jul 11 2012, 09:16 PM
realblackfox
post Aug 3 2012, 03:51 PM

89 posts

i went to msi service centre in lowyat and ask how long it takes to check and complete repair2 all. he said maybe 1 month.. shocking.gif
but dunno if its true o not coz i still hvnt give my laptop. after i send my laptop to claim warranty, i ll get back to u guys about the msi warranty service.. hopefully i dnt hve to wait 1 month ... sweat.gif
esto
post Aug 3 2012, 11:55 PM

324 posts

DELL is good =)

My Vostro 1200 is working perfectly for a wonderful 5 years =) and still alive... never use the warranty tongue.gif

This post has been edited by esto: Aug 3 2012, 11:55 PM
amir93
post Aug 4 2012, 06:09 AM

234 posts

Looks like no one talking about Sager. How about Sager customer service and warranty ? Anyone want to share ?
Zepx
post Aug 4 2012, 08:22 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(amir93 @ Aug 4 2012, 06:09 AM)
Looks like no one talking about Sager. How about Sager customer service and warranty ? Anyone want to share ?
Like there's one in Malaysia.... lol
amir93
post Aug 4 2012, 09:33 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ Aug 4 2012, 08:22 AM)
Like there's one in Malaysia.... lol
Lol.. laugh.gif
sss2sssss
post Aug 4 2012, 11:45 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Dell worse in quality good in warranty coverage....
My friend already repair his Inspiron 15R for 5 times, keeping replace mobo, screen and laptop base
xcen
post Aug 4 2012, 12:58 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

If buy HP in Malaysia, got international warranty?
amir93
post Aug 5 2012, 12:05 AM

234 posts

1. ASUS
2. ASUS
3. ASUS

how about lenovo warranty ? hmm.gif
amal_kaybee
post Aug 5 2012, 01:42 AM

137 posts

My sister sent her Asus a43sd for warranty claim, onli keyboard problem. wait >1month onli get back.

so, worst 3:
QUOTE(amir93 @ Aug 5 2012, 12:05 AM)
1. ASUS
2. ASUS
3. ASUS

how about lenovo warranty ? hmm.gif
TrustULoveU
post Aug 5 2012, 01:55 AM

569 posts

asus how ?
JLean
post Aug 5 2012, 01:57 AM

74 posts

DELL is having a really good after sales service
cslance
post Aug 5 2012, 04:09 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Aug 5 2012, 01:55 AM)
asus how ?
pls refer here for asus warranty but it will depend on your luck on how good the laptop that you get
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2337458
amir93
post Aug 6 2012, 01:22 AM

234 posts

ASUS's design so tempting but for me i still prefer balance between specs and after sales smile.gif

Dbassnut
post Aug 6 2012, 10:14 AM

293 posts

HP customer service isn't too good either.
I called them when the volume control bar on my laptop stopped working & their solution was reinstall Windows even though it's a hardware problem. When I asked how long it would take them to repair the laptop, the answer was I don't know, maybe 4 weeks.
As the problem wasn't critical, I just kept using the laptop & used the Device Volume button in the toolbar to control the volume instead.
For Asus, I think it depends on who is the customer service personnel that answers your question. Some are good & some are blur.
NewbieBetta
post Aug 8 2012, 01:14 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

how is Lenovo warranty service?Their Y480 is tempting me.

BTW, currently im using XPS m1210, 5yrs old now

-Got new laptop back then with 6mths usage alot problem appear, need replace mobo,hdd & once they tech spoil the hdd screw so they have to take away my laptop to their office to open it, they replace a whole new casing. Im not satisfied so I called helpdesk and demand a replacement due to what they have done to my laptop. They send me a new laptop with exact spec + added free camera + bluetooth(that time its very new stuff)

I can say im satisfied with their warranty service.

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: Aug 8 2012, 01:37 PM
pn12685
post Aug 12 2012, 03:03 AM

33 posts

DELL on-site...~~Other no comment because never use~
chin5333
post Aug 12 2012, 10:41 AM

13 posts

ASUS the worst ! mad.gif

my g53 warrantly send in for repair , need wait < 4 month to settle my case vmad.gif vmad.gif

really disappointed zZz
Acid_RuleZz
post Aug 12 2012, 12:37 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

My cousin sent her Asus EeePC for warranty because the adaptor port is loose.
She sent on April this year and still haven't get it back. laugh.gif
nik1993
post Aug 13 2012, 07:26 AM

417 posts

IMO I suggest you do poll about these topic.. It will really2 help people here icon_rolleyes.gif
ericmaxman
post Aug 13 2012, 10:01 AM

-
7,951 posts

So far, I've experienced Dell and HP warranty.

HP is decent. They take in, minimal questions asked. Also, most problems they can solve quickly.

Dell, onsite warranty is bestest. Although the service technician did tell me some stuff whistling.gif *cant tell here, P&C info*
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2012, 10:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nik1993 @ Aug 13 2012, 07:26 AM)
IMO I suggest you do poll about these topic.. It will really2 help people here  icon_rolleyes.gif
Poll doesn't really help in this case since there are only a handful of users for certain brands i.e. Fujitsu, Toshiba etc. laugh.gif
I'm sure Asus will end up bring the worse too since there are ALOT of (unsatisfied) users here laugh.gif
nik1993
post Aug 13 2012, 10:09 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 13 2012, 10:03 AM)
Poll doesn't really help in this case since there are only a handful of users for certain brands i.e. Fujitsu, Toshiba etc. laugh.gif
I'm sure Asus will end up bring the worse too since there are ALOT of (unsatisfied) users here  laugh.gif
ASUS... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

coolstore
post Aug 13 2012, 12:40 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 13 2012, 10:01 AM)
So far, I've experienced Dell and HP warranty.

HP is decent. They take in, minimal questions asked. Also, most problems they can solve quickly.

Dell, onsite warranty is bestest. Although the service technician did tell me some stuff whistling.gif *cant tell here, P&C info*
techinicial told u P&C info? related to Dell products or competitors products?
ericmaxman
post Aug 13 2012, 12:42 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Aug 13 2012, 12:40 PM)
techinicial told u P&C info? related to Dell products or competitors products?
About Dell stuff. That's all I'll say. Some stuff are better off not known to the end users.
gmuser
post Aug 13 2012, 01:09 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 13 2012, 12:42 PM)
About Dell stuff. That's all I'll say. Some stuff are better off not known to the end users.
Since you know their P&C info, are you still confident in their products compare to other brand?

This post has been edited by gmuser: Aug 13 2012, 01:10 PM
ericmaxman
post Aug 13 2012, 01:54 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(gmuser @ Aug 13 2012, 01:09 PM)
Since you know their P&C info, are you still confident in their products compare to other brand?
Still have fate in Dell. Don't worry.

Also, I've ordered a new Inspiron 14R-SE.

That shows my confidence level in them wink.gif
gmuser
post Aug 13 2012, 02:11 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 13 2012, 01:54 PM)

You giving me confident to order from them. Thanks ...
boyz
post Sep 11 2012, 11:32 AM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,523 posts

i once send in my toshiba power adapter for warranty. i got a new one in 5 days. the best thing about the support is they will tell you 1 week waiting time. so if u get it within 5 days. voila good service .. hahahah Thats my exp with Toshiba (TD)
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2012, 11:59 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Sep 11 2012, 11:32 AM)
i once send in my toshiba power adapter for warranty. i got a new one in 5 days. the best thing about the support is they will tell you 1 week waiting time. so if u get it within 5 days. voila good service .. hahahah Thats my exp with Toshiba (TD)
+1, that was my experience as well notworthy.gif
They never promised anything, so there's no expectations tongue.gif
ben83
post Sep 11 2012, 08:53 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 13 2012, 01:54 PM)

About Dell using refurbish parts right? This is actually a well known practice by most brands, not just Dell
marcus.ych
post Sep 11 2012, 09:29 PM

67 posts

Top 1 ASUS (from the bottom)... Sorry to say that was bad exprerieance before...
mcchin
post Sep 12 2012, 12:59 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Sep 11 2012, 08:53 PM)
About Dell using refurbish parts right? This is actually a well known practice by most brands, not just Dell
i think
they sell those refurbished labeled as that
and not as new

the deal is dell used to (dono bout nowadays) do 1-to-1 change, thus leaving them with lots of broken item repairable
so after repairing them, they will be sold of to employee sales as refurbished unit at a lower prices
unscrupulous worker/contact would buy in bulk and sold them off as new

the other company would used sometime to repair the unit, thus no refurbished unit to be had and deal with

this might seem farfetch that dell would just swallow these return unit, repair and sell them off at lower/loss pricing
but this is a good tactic to get good reputation from the masses
the % of issue is gonna be low, so no harm having to absorb the returns loss with more sales due to popular reputations
keyzjh
post Sep 12 2012, 01:23 AM

296 posts

My experience with HP is very pleasant. Had problems with my laptop not powering on and they changed the motherboard within 3 working days so not much issues there.

Their attention to detail is also good, since they called me a couple of times to notify me of the progress and to ask if there are any other problems I faced (such as overheating).

Just two quick trips to the HP towers and my problems are solved smile.gif
nexus2238
post Oct 15 2012, 11:26 PM

4,195 posts

Shared my experience with Lenovo, but not sure if this is relevant.
Was working in MNC. Everyone is using Lenovo. My last unit was T420, replacing an older T410.
I felt my unit had higher temp (after a few months usage) compared with my colleague's and the older T410. Complaint to my IT, they took my unit (gave me a spare one from our own spool).
Next day, the T420 was returned to me. IT told me Lenovo tech dropped by, changed the fan, cleaned the whole thing (I could see the vent was squeaky clean), and the laptop did not give any more temp problem.
Not sure if Lenovo 3 year on site warranty for retail clients is this good smile.gif (I really like the Y580)
gandalfaaron
post Oct 17 2012, 07:21 PM

31 posts

owned Asus and macbook pro

Asus....from all the above users.....seems like their service isnt very good....but so far my asus already 4 year ++ no problem.....

apple.....service good....but need $$$...lots of $$$
nb_fikri
post Mar 18 2013, 08:33 PM

as of now, i'm going to buy the Acer V3-571G (FHD). just wondering if acer got good warranty service nowadays.
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 18 2013, 09:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nb_fikri @ Mar 18 2013, 08:33 PM)
as of now, i'm going to buy the Acer V3-571G (FHD). just wondering if acer got good warranty service nowadays.
Acer used to be very lousy in terms of warranty support.. but we are hearing much less complaints nowadays..
However we are not sure whether its because the warranty support/quality of Acer notebooks have actually improved, or because there are much, much lesser Acer buyers now hmm.gif
goolias
post Mar 18 2013, 09:56 PM

321 posts

Lenovo support in JB is slower than Hp overall, part waiting turn around I mean.
probably they dun keep much stock here, and they are undertaken by IBM.
But overall quite pleasant exp when dealing with their toll-free support personnel, polite and at least I understand their english.
devour
post Mar 18 2013, 10:03 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(nb_fikri @ Mar 18 2013, 08:33 PM)
Highpoint services was fine
mfitri77
post Mar 19 2013, 09:07 AM

1,167 posts

Acer in the past has personally been a hit and miss affair with me. I've experienced from 1 hour to a maximum of two weeks getting service from them, which I think is quite standard these days, notwithstanding what Dell and other onsite providers are doing.

Being serviced by Highpoint do have its advantages. They are present in most major cities, so sending for warranty claim is not much of a hassle.

JJKTP
post Mar 19 2013, 06:53 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Sep 12 2012, 12:59 AM)
i think
they sell those refurbished labeled as that
and not as new

the deal is dell used to (dono bout nowadays) do 1-to-1 change, thus leaving them with lots of broken item repairable
so after repairing them, they will be sold of to employee sales as refurbished unit at a lower prices
unscrupulous worker/contact would buy in bulk and sold them off as new

the other company would used sometime to repair the unit, thus no refurbished unit to be had and deal with

this might seem farfetch that dell would just swallow these return unit, repair and sell them off at lower/loss pricing
but this is a good tactic to get good reputation from the masses
the % of issue is gonna be low, so no harm having to absorb the returns loss with more sales due to popular reputations
Agree with you. So far my experience with Dell warranty is the best. thumbup.gif

I have Acer, HP and MSI notebook as well but never claim for warranty as I guess I am so lucky for having no issue so far. As for Asus, I concur with others. doh.gif
kenysl
post Mar 19 2013, 06:57 PM

Foodie
679 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 19 2013, 06:53 PM)
Agree with you. So far my experience with Dell warranty is the best. thumbup.gif 

I have Acer, HP and MSI notebook as well but never claim for warranty as I guess I am so lucky for having no issue so far. As for Asus, I concur with others. doh.gif
I'm also curious about MSI warranty services... later this lappy got problem banyak pening rclxub.gif
JJKTP
post Mar 19 2013, 06:57 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:07 AM)
Acer in the past has personally been a hit and miss affair with me. I've experienced from 1 hour to a maximum of two weeks getting service from them, which I think is quite standard these days, notwithstanding what Dell and other onsite providers are doing.

Being serviced by Highpoint do have its advantages. They are present in most major cities, so sending for warranty claim is not much of a hassle.
Speaking of Acer. Do you have any experience with their onsite service? Is it as good as Dell?

I myself have an Acer laptop with 3-Years Onsite Warranty. But so far never did claim any warranty as the laptop works flawlessly. I just wonder how the service like should the time come for me to claim the warranty.
JJKTP
post Mar 19 2013, 07:02 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(kenysl @ Mar 19 2013, 06:57 PM)
I'm also curious about MSI warranty services... later this lappy got problem banyak pening  rclxub.gif
I wonder the same thing too as my MSI laptop (Over a year old) has never disappoint me so far thus need no warranty claim.
JJKTP
post Mar 19 2013, 07:16 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Mar 18 2013, 10:03 PM)
Highpoint services was fine
How about their onsite warranty support for home user that we can bought for RM100? Is it as good as Dell?
paddyps
post Mar 30 2013, 11:25 AM

21 posts

who said Dell got best service?? i just had some nightmare experience with them.

i bought Dell Inspiron 15R on 9th March (not even 1 mth old). The first week i noticed the spacebar is not working from 1 angle, so they send engineer to change keyboard, but exactly same issue happen. by this time anybody with half a brain will probably suspect the keyboard is not the issue. so the engineer issued keyboard and motherboard for the second service.

but the second, third, and fourth service, they kept changing the keyboard only! up to the FIFTH keyboard (including original one), EXACTLY SAME ANGLE DOES NOT WORK.

i dunno what's going on behind the management, why would they refuse their engineers' recommendations. and after i demand either a replacement unit or a refund, they agreed to a refund. and i heard they charge some RM80 for refund??!! ridiculous!!

i'm really disappointed by Dell. i bought it because i heard so many good things about it, like here. and i actually like this laptop a lot... and reading the comments here about how good Dell is, i guess i'm just extremely unlucky... but i still can't believe how ridiculous they are...
wavezard
post Mar 30 2013, 12:43 PM

394 posts

Guys i want to buy y400..how about lenovo warranty? dell come to my place warranty what we call?
nexus2238
post Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paddyps @ Mar 30 2013, 11:25 AM)
who said Dell got best service?? i just had some nightmare experience with them.

i bought Dell Inspiron 15R on 9th March (not even 1 mth old). The first week i noticed the spacebar is not working from 1 angle, so they send engineer to change keyboard, but exactly same issue happen. by this time anybody with half a brain will probably suspect the keyboard is not the issue. so the engineer issued keyboard and motherboard for the second service.

but the second, third, and fourth service, they kept changing the keyboard only! up to the FIFTH keyboard (including original one), EXACTLY SAME ANGLE DOES NOT WORK.

i dunno what's going on behind the management, why would they refuse their engineers' recommendations. and after i demand either a replacement unit or a refund, they agreed to a refund. and i heard they charge some RM80 for refund??!! ridiculous!!

i'm really disappointed by Dell. i bought it because i heard so many good things about it, like here. and i actually like this laptop a lot... and reading the comments here about how good Dell is, i guess i'm just extremely unlucky... but i still can't believe how ridiculous they are...
Yup, technicains at your door to service you 4 times within 1 month is soooooooo bad, it is unforgivable laugh.gif
Get a grip with reality smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 30 2013, 03:24 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Mar 30 2013, 12:43 PM)
Guys i want to buy y400..how about lenovo warranty? dell come to my place warranty what we call?
You can arrange with the re-seller to upgrade warranty to 3 years on site, cost ~ RM250+/-.
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM)
Yup, technicains at your door to service you 4 times within 1 month is soooooooo bad, it is unforgivable laugh.gif
+1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure laugh.gif
Stitchie
post Mar 30 2013, 09:48 PM

1,091 posts

I went to lowyat today, den i stopped by a shop, they tell me that asus is better lenovo, and warranty extend till 4years... i dono if i shud go for asus...
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 30 2013, 09:48 PM)
I went to lowyat today, den i stopped by a shop, they tell me that asus is better lenovo, and warranty extend till 4years... i dono if i shud go for asus...
Never trust shop people laugh.gif
They are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose laugh.gif
They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable sweat.gif
Anyways, the additional 2 years is probably shop covered only...

JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 12:37 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM)
They are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose  laugh.gif
They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable  sweat.gif
I concur with you bro.
phhweittt
post Mar 31 2013, 04:19 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 09:57 PM)
They are being paid with each purchase from a customer whereas the sifu here are not. We have nothing to gain, and nothing to lose  laugh.gif
They probably bring out the thousands-of-years-ago Squaretrade reliability survey to show people that Asus is the most reliable  sweat.gif
i agree with you
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 11:10 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM)
+1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure  laugh.gif
I was about to say that until I saw your post. laugh.gif
150% agree with the way you put it.

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Mar 31 2013, 11:12 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 11:10 AM)
I was about to say that until I saw your post. laugh.gif
150% agree with the way you put it.
I have some friends also experiencing the same problem with Dell though, they reported problem A, but technician came and repair problem B laugh.gif
I think it has to do with miscommunication since not everyone is as tech savvy as the sifus and forumers here hmm.gif

For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down hmm.gif
raymondtong94
post Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM)
For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down  hmm.gif
thats a good idea. i will keep my old elitebook after i got an alienware. then i will give the elitebook to my younger nephew after i got a hybrid laptop. brows.gif

seriously, business laptops last longer than any consumer line laptops, even though they looked ugly. my elitebook will be 3 years old this year and by the time i purchase alienware, it will be 4 years old. by the time the elitebook turns 6 years old, i will get myself a hybrid laptop, for personal business usage. im sure my elitebook will last 6 years. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Mar 31 2013, 11:56 AM
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 01:01 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 11:16 AM)
I have some friends also experiencing the same problem with Dell though, they reported problem A, but technician came and repair problem B laugh.gif
I think it has to do with miscommunication since not everyone is as tech savvy as the sifus and forumers here  hmm.gif

For the time being, I guess it'll be good to have a Dell as a primary notebook. The secondary notebook can be any brand since you will always have one to use even when one breaks down  hmm.gif
Exactly. The main notebook should be from brand who have the best support.

Bro, do you know anything about the level of support provided by Lenovo Malaysia? Been eyeing E130/135 but I would also need the warranty to be extended to 3-Years Onsite. Wonder how much is the cost of such warranty on top of the notebook retail price.
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 31 2013, 01:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 01:01 PM)
Exactly. The main notebook should be from brand who have the best support.

Bro, do you know anything about the level of support provided by Lenovo Malaysia? Been eyeing E130/135 but I would also need the warranty to be extended to 3-Years Onsite. Wonder how much is the cost of such warranty on top of the notebook retail price.
Lenovo's on-site warranty support is quite expensive iinm... but I'm not too sure, and most sellers do not talk much about it.. perhaps its better to check with shops? hmm.gif
Can try to ask nexus2238 sifu about the warranty support as well, he has experienced it before haha laugh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 31 2013, 01:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM)
thats a good idea. i will keep my old elitebook after i got an alienware. then i will give the elitebook to my younger nephew after i got a hybrid laptop. brows.gif

seriously, business laptops last longer than any consumer line laptops, even though they looked ugly. my elitebook will be 3 years old this year and by the time i purchase alienware, it will be 4 years old. by the time the elitebook turns 6 years old, i will get myself a hybrid laptop, for personal business usage. im sure my elitebook will last 6 years. biggrin.gif
Wah, so rich haha, envy yo wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
Business notebooks are meant to last haha, and I think so far them ThinkPads are still the best looking (relatively) notebooks out there tongue.gif
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 01:24 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:55 AM)

I agree with you. Generally the business class notebook last longer though with a bit of luck even 2008 model or a RM2K notebook can still alive today even when you use it daily. My HP model 2008 still alive in the hands of my friend even after 4.5 years.
raymondtong94
post Mar 31 2013, 01:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 01:15 PM)
Wah, so rich haha, envy yo  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
Business notebooks are meant to last haha, and I think so far them ThinkPads are still the best looking (relatively) notebooks out there  tongue.gif
im not rich lol. biggrin.gif

it takes a long time of savings to purchase my favourites.
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 01:33 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 01:10 PM)
Lenovo's on-site warranty support is quite expensive iinm... but I'm not too sure, and most sellers do not talk much about it.. perhaps its better to check with shops?  hmm.gif
Can try to ask nexus2238 sifu about the warranty support as well, he has experienced it before haha  laugh.gif
I see. Was it good experience or bad? rclxub.gif

Does our bro nexus2238 frequest this thread?
nexus2238
post Mar 31 2013, 02:51 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 01:33 PM)
I see. Was it good experience or bad? rclxub.gif 

A bit of background:
I worked in my prev employer (a rather big MNCs) for 5 years. At the time that I joined, they just migrated every laptops and desktops from Dell to Lenovo. I had T400 / 410 / 420 over 5 years. Lenovo Malaysia service to my IT and myself personally has been top notch smile.gif (caveat: we are talking about service to MNCs client here laugh.gif )

Anyway, last year I bought Y580, and found out that Lenovo Malaysia actually also provide on site warranty service for certain consumer laptops, so I lapped it up, extended the 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty for ~ RM250. So far never has to use the warranty tongue.gif (touch wood). The onstie warranty for consumer laptop is not pushed by Lenovo Malaysia, buyers have to ask.

Btw, Lenovo Malaysia outsource the warranty support to a few parties in Malaysia, iinm, and IBM happen to be one of them (all business class Think-series machine are supported by IBM). The onsite service for consumer line is also handled by IBM as well.
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 06:21 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 02:51 PM)
A bit of background:
I worked in my prev employer (a rather big MNCs) for 5 years. At the time that I joined, they just migrated every laptops and desktops from Dell to Lenovo. I had T400 / 410 / 420 over 5 years. Lenovo Malaysia service to my IT and myself personally has been top notch smile.gif (caveat: we are talking about service to MNCs client here laugh.gif )

Anyway, last year I bought Y580, and found out that Lenovo Malaysia actually also provide on site warranty service for certain consumer laptops, so I lapped it up, extended the 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty for ~ RM250. So far never has to use the warranty tongue.gif (touch wood). The onstie warranty for consumer laptop is not pushed by Lenovo Malaysia, buyers have to ask.

Btw, Lenovo Malaysia outsource the warranty support to a few parties in Malaysia, iinm, and IBM happen to be one of them (all business class Think-series machine are supported by IBM). The onsite service for consumer line is also handled by IBM as well.
I see. Thank you so much for the info sharing.

So you pay RM250 to extend the warranty from 2-Years to 3-Years Onsite? How about for model that come with 1-Year upgrade to 3-Years Onsite? Did you get the warranty extension at the point of purchase? If yes, is the shop you go is directly under Lenovo or just a normal shop? Some normal shop I visited more inclined to sell their own dubious warranty.

nexus2238
post Mar 31 2013, 07:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 06:21 PM)
I see. Thank you so much for the info sharing.

So you pay RM250 to extend the warranty from 2-Years to 3-Years Onsite? How about for model that come with 1-Year upgrade to 3-Years Onsite? Did you get the warranty extension at the point of purchase? If yes, is the shop you go is directly under Lenovo or just a normal shop? Some normal shop I visited more inclined to sell their own dubious warranty.
Yes, I paid ~ RM250 to upgrade the warranty from 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty.

As I said, Lenovo Malaysia don't offer on site warranty to all the consumer laptop models. As far as I know, Essential G series is definitely out, Y series is definitely in, the rest you have to find out for yourself tongue.gif

"get the warranty extendion a the point of purchase" - Sorry don't understand smile.gif I bought the upgrade at the point of purchase. I had to registered the upgrade online with Lenovo. The warranty status when I check online at the time of purchase was 2 years International warranty. After registration, after ~ 3 weeks (I can't recall the exact time), when I checked online again, the warranty status was changed to 3 years on site warranty.

I actually bought it from 1 of the reseller at LYN garage sales forum here laugh.gif He is just a normal re-seller (selling lots of other brands), definitely not a Lenovo Malaysia branch.
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 07:18 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 07:03 PM)
Yes, I paid ~ RM250 to upgrade the warranty from 2 years International Warranty to 3 years on site warranty.

As I said, Lenovo Malaysia don't offer on site warranty to all the consumer laptop models. As far as I know, Essential G series is definitely out, Y series is definitely in, the rest you have to find out for yourself tongue.gif

"get the warranty extendion a the point of purchase" - Sorry don't understand smile.gif I bought the upgrade at the point of purchase. I had to registered the upgrade online with Lenovo. The warranty status when I check online at the time of purchase was 2 years International warranty. After registration, after ~ 3 weeks (I can't recall the exact time), when I checked online again, the warranty status was changed to 3 years on site warranty.

I actually bought it from 1 of the reseller at LYN garage sales forum here laugh.gif He is just a normal re-seller (selling lots of other brands), definitely not a Lenovo Malaysia branch.
Thanks bro. You actually answered my question even the one that you don't understand the sentence. smile.gif

May I know who is the seller? Btw, how can I tell a grey from an official Malaysian unit if the model sold in Malaysia?
nexus2238
post Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 31 2013, 07:18 PM)
May I know who is the seller? Btw, how can I tell a grey from an official Malaysian unit if the model sold in Malaysia?
I think ytlay sifu already answer the 2nd question.
The 1st question, let me pm you smile.gif Not suppose to peddle ware or promote sales here laugh.gif
JJKTP
post Mar 31 2013, 09:45 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM)
The 1st question, let me pm you smile.gif Not suppose to peddle ware or promote sales here laugh.gif
Thanks bro. thumbup.gif
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 12:18 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

for the international warranty. actually which brand of laptop is supported. as for oversea uk. which brand is more better and easy?
sss2sssss
post Apr 1 2013, 08:52 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Well change my Y480 screen with not more than two weeks(initially is one week can settle but part arrive delay), and I can take back my Y480 while waiting for the part come(since my laptop still can use with external monitor), good service for Lenovo warranty service
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 09:52 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 12:18 AM)
for the international warranty. actually which brand of laptop is supported. as for oversea uk. which brand is more better and easy?
Actually all brands offer International Warranty, just that some come standard, some you have to pay more to get it smile.gif
Most models by Asus come standard with 2 years International Warranty. Asus UK warranty support is OK.
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 11:05 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 1 2013, 09:52 AM)
Actually all brands offer International Warranty, just that some come standard, some you have to pay more to get it smile.gif
Most models by Asus come standard with 2 years International Warranty. Asus UK warranty support is OK.
ASUs. okie. got this. smile.gif will go check through the website for more information
paddyps
post Apr 1 2013, 02:58 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 30 2013, 03:23 PM)
well, Dell can do no wrong laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif anyway, thanks for all your advices and opinions here. appreciate it...

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 30 2013, 05:51 PM)
+1, if you were to have the exact same problem with other brands, say Asus.. its 4 x (2 months for each repairs) + an exorbitant phone bill + high blood pressure  laugh.gif
oh, i have no idea what to expect since this is my first time buying laptop/branded computer, as my very old custom-built/no brand desktop just died sad.gif guess mine is an isolated incident/unlucky... anyway, thanks for the input...
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 03:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paddyps @ Apr 1 2013, 02:58 PM)
well, Dell can do no wrong  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  anyway, thanks for all your advices and opinions here. appreciate it...
oh, i have no idea what to expect since this is my first time buying laptop/branded computer, as my very old custom-built/no brand desktop just died sad.gif guess mine is an isolated incident/unlucky... anyway, thanks for the input...
No, "Dell can do no wrong" is not true laugh.gif What I was saying is that:
1. put it in perspective, compare its service with other brands smile.gif
2. based on what you have gone through, you can say the product quality suck, you can even say the technician technical capabilities suck, but you really can't say warranty support service suck laugh.gif
3. Please understand the difference between a desktop and a laptop. For desktop, all components are more or less off the shelf (you tear down 1 desktop, you more or less know how to deal with the rest of desktop). For laptop, for each models there are lots of model specific components, and it is a lot harder to diagnose / maintain.

If you really don't like the Dell, get the refund and move on smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 1 2013, 03:27 PM
mackioes
post May 13 2013, 09:39 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 08:03 PM)

mind to share how to buy lenovo 3 years on site warranty? is it also international? can give me the contact of seller? also can i use it after bought a lenovo for a few month already?

This post has been edited by mackioes: May 13 2013, 09:39 PM
nexus2238
post May 13 2013, 10:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ May 13 2013, 09:39 PM)
mind to share how to buy lenovo 3 years on site warranty? is it also international? can give me the contact of seller? also can i use it after bought a lenovo for a few month already?
As I mentioned, for consumer class laptop, Lenovo Malaysia is offering on site warranty support for Y series and Z series. You just has to upgrade to get it. Any re-sellers will be able to help you smile.gif

Let me put this properly. The on site warranty service is applicable to Malaysia only. But it does not mean you lose the International warranty. It is still in force. It is just that when you are in Malaysia, Lenovo will do on site service.

For your last question, sorry, I'm not sure tongue.gif Suggest you to contact the re-seller who sold you the unit to clarify. If he/she don't know, ask him/her to contact Lenovo to find out smile.gif I know for Thinkpad T and Edge series, the warranty upgrade and extension could be done anytime (just that if you do it at the time of purchase, it will cost less), but I am not sure about Lenovo consumer class laptop.
mackioes
post May 13 2013, 10:14 PM

282 posts

Thanks for clarifying ! I am planning to buy a y500 or z500 laptop. Looks like should be able to upgrade to 3 year warranty then? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mackioes: May 13 2013, 10:19 PM
nexus2238
post May 13 2013, 11:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ May 13 2013, 10:14 PM)
Thanks for clarifying ! I am planning to buy a y500 or z500 laptop. Looks like should be able to upgrade to 3 year warranty then?  rclxms.gif
Yes.
OptimusStar
post May 14 2013, 02:03 PM

801 posts

Planning to get Z480, and looking at the onsite warranty as well. Had a online chat with Lenovo sales support from another part of the world and first he said on site not supported in Malaysia. Made a few calls and ask him to reconfirm again he said he got the policy changed now Malaysia have on site support as well. Funny guy. Reading over the thread helped alot. Thanks.
cazador007
post May 14 2013, 08:43 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 31 2013, 09:11 PM)
kindly pm me also about that seller pls icon_rolleyes.gif t
THX~!!! notworthy.gif
Cranky guy
post May 21 2013, 12:50 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

Best- Dell, Lenovo, Illegear.

Worst- Asus, Acer.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: May 26 2013, 02:56 AM
rizal13
post Jun 9 2013, 11:29 PM

327 posts

Hi sifu, where can get that extended warranty pack for lenovo? anyone know where or who got selling? and is it true that lenovo US set need original receipt for warranty purpose? online registration is not enough for claiming warranty in Malaysia for lenovo US set laptop? Thx in advance for advice.
Unomi
post Jun 11 2013, 08:58 AM

330 posts

My choice will be dell, i think they have one of the best warranty services.
Alexes
post Sep 14 2013, 11:13 AM

-=alx=-
1,314 posts

experienced on-site warranty for dell and lenovo thinkpad (or IBM to be precise). Both good. truly next day on-site and no question ask.
suadrif
post Sep 14 2013, 12:42 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 18 2012, 12:13 AM)

not all Dell come with onsite warranty.
head up to my complain thread and u can see i've been manipulated by Dell.

putochip123
post Sep 14 2013, 01:29 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 12:42 PM)
What laptop that dell doesnt have onsite?
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 02:24 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 12:42 PM)
are you sure about that?
please specify the model.

FYI, if you loose your order number, then your on-site warranty goes poof. so it is important to keep the boxing and/or receipt. if you wanted to recycle the boxing, at least the white sticker that sticks to the boxing are cut out as the order number details are there.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Sep 14 2013, 02:26 PM
suadrif
post Sep 14 2013, 03:02 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 14 2013, 01:29 PM)
What laptop that dell doesnt have onsite?
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 14 2013, 02:24 PM)
are you sure about that?
please specify the model.

FYI, if you loose your order number, then your on-site warranty goes poof. so it is important to keep the boxing and/or receipt. if you wanted to recycle the boxing, at least the white sticker that sticks to the boxing are cut out as the order number details are there.
i already made an official complain on that.
but there is few forumer's that "act" like a kid, i just closed the thread.
sifu nexus2238 is aware and understand on my case previous time.
here is the closed thread: Dell Complain

me myself quite surprise when i had this problem.
i am truly frustrated and i filed an official complain report to Dell.

just for the sake of other user, please check your warranty terms.
onsite means onsite
inHome means carry in
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 03:25 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 03:02 PM)

onsite means onsite
inHome means carry in
Quoted from Dell

Enjoy the convenience of Dell's In-Home repair service following phone and/or online Remote Diagnosis. For issues covered by your Limited Hardware Warranty, technician and/or part will be dispatched, if necessary, usually within 1 or 2 business days following completion of Remote Diagnosis. In-Home service is available, Monday to Friday during standard service hours from 9am to 5pm, business day.

-Service is inclusive of labour and parts, but excludes software and third party products.
-External peripherals (such as monitor, mouse and keyboard) may be delivered using a courier for customer installation.
-An on-site engineer will only be provided if deemed necessary following telephone based troubleshooting with a Dell technician.
-Response times may vary in remote or difficult to reach locations.
-Service is carried out in accordance with Dell's terms and conditions. Copies are available on request.
this means, after a phone call made to diagnose your problem, and users arent still able to fix the problem, then a technician will be dispatched.

not sure whether if they really did diagnose your problem through phone call.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Sep 14 2013, 03:28 PM
Unseen83
post Sep 14 2013, 03:42 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

ANYone EXP MSI ??
putochip123
post Sep 14 2013, 04:13 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 03:02 PM)
i already made an official complain on that.
but there is few forumer's that "act" like a kid, i just closed the thread.
sifu nexus2238 is aware and understand on my case previous time.
here is the closed thread: Dell Complain

onsite means onsite
inHome means carry in
Im so sorry to hear that.
Well i will reflect this problem to customer care department.

Btw what laptop u purchase for this problem? If it doesnt offended u happy.gif
suadrif
post Sep 14 2013, 06:03 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 14 2013, 03:25 PM)
this means, after a phone call made to diagnose your problem, and users arent still able to fix the problem, then a technician will be dispatched.

not sure whether if they really did diagnose your problem through phone call.
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 14 2013, 04:13 PM)
Im so sorry to hear that.
Well i will reflect this problem to customer care department.

Btw what laptop u purchase for this problem? If it doesnt offended u happy.gif
Thats why i lodged an official report
They alreay issued a case report number n i will follow up on it
My purchase was inspiron model.
From what i understand, and based on experience, its regardless of which model they still offer onsite warranty.
Thats why i filed a complain and want to share to other forumers to be caution.
But out of nowhere there's a guy act like kid, blaming its my fault, i just closed the thread to avoid further argument.
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 06:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 06:03 PM)
From what i understand, and based on experience, its regardless of which model they still offer onsite warranty.
But out of nowhere there's a guy act like kid, blaming its my fault, i just closed the thread to avoid further argument.
yes, as stated even the basic warranty also has on-site support.

by the way, you should know barbarians are everywhere. they dont even consider why is this happening and didnt try to understand the problem. i think the kid you are referring to is this fella?
putochip123
post Sep 14 2013, 08:51 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 14 2013, 06:03 PM)
Thats why i lodged an official report
They alreay issued a case report number n i will follow up on it
My purchase was inspiron model.
dont be so angry, im sure there is some misunderstanding there in ur cases. as all the laptops are come with Onsite service. Dell doesnt offer any InHome service d(unless u require for that).

most of the time they will diagnose through out the phone, if there is a comfirmation of hardware failure, then only they will Onsit to serve u(replace necessary parts or software)
suadrif
post Sep 15 2013, 09:30 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 14 2013, 06:44 PM)
yes, as stated even the basic warranty also has on-site support.

by the way, you should know barbarians are everywhere. they dont even consider why is this happening and didnt try to understand the problem. i think the kid you are referring to is this fella?
specifically, No smile.gif
but never mind on who he is.
my intention is to create awareness to other forumer to be caution

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 14 2013, 08:51 PM)
dont be so angry, im sure there is some misunderstanding there in ur cases. as all the laptops are come with Onsite service. Dell doesnt offer any InHome service d(unless u require for that).

most of the time they will diagnose through out the phone, if there is a comfirmation of hardware failure, then only they will Onsit to serve u(replace necessary parts or software)
yup, i m not angry nor feel flamed smile.gif
if i m angry and feel flamed, i had already bashed each other instead of closing the thread.
jiangchen
post Mar 5 2014, 04:51 PM

421 posts

Although this is an old thread, I thought I would like to share this with forumers.

Lenovo 1 Utama Service center has bad technicians.

One personal experience, repair laptop screen because I broke the screen connector by mistake. I did not ask for warranty.

Waited four weeks for the parts to arrive and this time request for SC technicians to help assemble everything, paid for the repair.

Laptop came back, over screw a screen screw, caused laptop cover to have a bulge or dimple. Do not want to admit technician caused it. Touchpad and two usb came back not functioning at all although previously it was fine.

I waited there for 3 hours. Within that period, technicians were slow, and suddenly all went out for lunch for 2 hours and still does not come back.

And within that same period, close to 10+ laptops were sent in for repair. Problems mostly, no power, cannot boot windows and so on. And as they prepare paperwork for the repair, they have close to no regard for your laptop in order to avoid scratches and so on although the laptop came in for repair was nicely wrapped. After paperwork, put laptop on the floor behind counter that has quite a tight space, potentially stepped on by anyone that did not notice the laptop.

Front desk generally friendly, but have no sense of urgency and care for the customer. Does things fairly slowly.

If you do send in your laptop for repair and you do care for the appearance of your laptop, document everything beforehand or make them document it as well. If they do caused any physical damage, you will have some form of evidence to at least argue about it.

alien3d
post Mar 5 2014, 08:57 PM

3,740 posts

Acer -> not yet send laptop warranty 4 years and strong.
lenovo -> already 5 years .. but before frequent changes hardisk and hinge.
forget what company,but their staff is good.
dell -> dam,my father dam angry about it. change and change and change..

Futured
I'm thinking either acer or mac. But mac support i ask 700+. unknown it worth or not.

rizal13
post Mar 6 2014, 12:44 AM

327 posts

If i'm buying 2nd hand acer laptop...is it difficult If i need to claim wrty? Did they ask for receipt/document or they just need serial no to service my wrty? Please advice If u know or have experience with acer before.
wyh
post Mar 11 2014, 09:12 PM

1,447 posts

Probably the best warranty out there is from Dell and HP

HP : drop off at service centre, laptop return on the 3rd or 4th working day. My laptop had been into service centre for 2-3 times and great when they can replace parts in 3-4days time
TSnakTT
post Apr 19 2014, 11:18 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Mar 11 2014, 09:12 PM)
Probably the best warranty out there is from Dell and HP

HP : drop off at service centre, laptop return on the 3rd or 4th working day. My laptop had been into service centre for 2-3 times and great when they can replace parts in 3-4days time
I'd say 1st goes to Dell and Lenovo get 2nd. However this is based on their service for business class category.
Hiha90
post Sep 24 2014, 10:30 AM

24 posts

Asus worst warranty ever that I ever faced. Send my laptop in for warranty, it took them 10 day than only they look at my laptop. Worst still is the adapter problem and not my laptop problem. Unfortunately I did not send my adapter with my laptop that time. Now they told me it will takes 2 weeks for an adapter replacement which is not acceptable at all.
crystal_junrong
post Sep 25 2014, 12:43 AM

49 posts

asus.... you don't wanna visit the service station.
its a shame the service like rubbish.
they produce quality staff but even quality there will be times god does not favor you...
sheng291
post Sep 25 2014, 04:34 PM

455 posts

Had best service from HP Melaka
laptop use till overheat and off components burn, though warranty has over and opened up myself to check, damaged the keyboard.

After that realized still got 1 week away from warranty, sent to warranty shop.
Despite being very obvious that I opened the laptop myself before, the technician still fixed my laptop by changing a new motherboard, help me adjust back my damaged keyboard and do the cleaning.

Even though I dislike the quality (I had a toshiba laptop with similar price range yet serve me better without problem), the service quality is very good
Passers-A
post Oct 2 2014, 04:52 PM

208 posts

DELL the best warranty.
I bought the extend warranty and it is very worth for me. My laptop already replaced 2 or 3 times with new motherboard, they even come to your house to repair.

And their Facebook staff are awesome, they will reply you and help you diagnosis until your problems are solve. If they can't solve your problem on phone, only they will send technician to your house.

They change my whole motherboard mostly is video card problem.

But now I looking for other brand gaming laptop which suitable for light gaming.
GuN
post Oct 12 2014, 01:16 PM

576 posts

How's illegear service n support? Anyone bought from them?
Baohulu55
post Oct 12 2014, 02:06 PM

324 posts

I need know more about acer warranty support since acer launched budget gaming laptop
Dbassnut
post Dec 15 2014, 12:52 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(Baohulu55 @ Oct 12 2014, 02:06 PM)
I need know more about acer warranty support since acer launched budget gaming laptop
Me too, the Acer VN5 looks really nice but ACER used to have a bad reputation.
Not sure if they have improved. Any comments guys?

Mr.Docter
post Dec 15 2014, 01:17 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Dbassnut @ Dec 15 2014, 12:52 PM)
Spec-wise, yes. Tremendously.

Quality and after sale, I don't think the improvement is on par with spec. Anyhow, the number of complaints arise from Acer is indeed lessen compared to previous times.
danieltan
post Dec 15 2014, 01:19 PM

Abuthen
750 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Dec 15 2014, 01:17 PM)
Spec-wise, yes. Tremendously.

Quality and after sale, I don't think the improvement is on par with spec. Anyhow, the number of complaints arise from Acer is indeed lessen compared to previous times.
how you know number of complaints is getting lesser? rclxub.gif
Mr.Docter
post Dec 15 2014, 01:21 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Dec 15 2014, 01:19 PM)
how you know number of complaints is getting lesser?  rclxub.gif
I should be more specific. Based on reading especially here in Forum.Lowyat.NET.

A friend of mine purchased Nitro too recently. The quality is brilliant.
wilsonphua
post Dec 15 2014, 01:33 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(Dbassnut @ Dec 15 2014, 12:52 PM)
I'm in the same dilemma right now. Not sure to choose between ACER or ASUS. Both comes with GTX860m model.

I once used ACER brand for around 3 years back in the year 2010. I never claim any warranty because the laptop is still perfect even after so many years.

Actually, my only concern with the Acer V Nitro is the silver-coloured plastic hinge. But I went to survey the laptop just now.....it actually looks pretty elegant ! The IPS panel caught my attention, too. How to say? The screen quality is equivalent to Samsung Amoled display.

Oh yes, my sister's Acer laptop internal hard disk was broken due to lightning. She managed to claim warranty from Acer and they help to fix for free, .....ofcourse, we didn't say it's due to lightning at the service centre brows.gif
shinnsohai
post Dec 18 2014, 02:17 AM

145 posts

Thinking of buying Acer thou
but having rumours that ots either keep on spoiling or perfect
I'm using Acer now for 4 years without any problem aside from overheat
is Acer v nitro the best deal?

AnimeSinceForever
post Dec 18 2014, 04:45 PM

1,060 posts

Question for any laptop is
"Will it overheat"?
Ideally should spend some time with a display unit, loading in games and playing them
BUT
in Malaysia does such a setup exist?

Better to get the laptop, confirm got 1-to-1 exchange within a week,
Use annual leave,
use that laptop for 1 week with extreme gaming (at least 1 day, try gaming for 24 hours).

Then you will know.

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Dec 18 2014, 02:17 AM)
Thinking of buying Acer thou
but having rumours that ots either keep on spoiling or perfect
I'm using Acer now for 4 years without any problem aside from overheat
is Acer v nitro the best deal?
myway1985
post Dec 18 2014, 05:07 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(AnimeSinceForever @ Dec 18 2014, 04:45 PM)
Question for any laptop is
"Will it overheat"?
Ideally should spend some time with a display unit, loading in games and playing them
BUT
in Malaysia does such a setup exist?

Better to get the laptop, confirm got 1-to-1 exchange within a week,
Use annual leave,
use that laptop for 1 week with extreme gaming (at least 1 day, try gaming for 24 hours).

Then you will know.
not much brand got 1 to 1 le.. can tell us other than dell retail
AnimeSinceForever
post Dec 18 2014, 05:30 PM

1,060 posts

There is 1 to 1 (for MANY computer dealers),
BUT
BIG, HIGH TEMPERATURE, UNUSABLE PROBLEM has to happen within 1 week.
e.g. graphic card stops working,
e.g. display dead
e.g. cannot boot

Small problem like:
My keyboard got issue with some keys
or
Doesn't detect USB device ...

You will be waiting a LOOOONG time

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 18 2014, 05:07 PM)
not much brand got 1 to 1 le.. can tell us other than dell retail
myway1985
post Dec 18 2014, 05:34 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(AnimeSinceForever @ Dec 18 2014, 05:30 PM)
There is 1 to 1 (for MANY computer dealers),
BUT
BIG, HIGH TEMPERATURE, UNUSABLE PROBLEM has to happen within 1 week.
e.g. graphic card stops working,
e.g. display dead
e.g. cannot boot

Small problem like:
My keyboard got issue with some keys
or
Doesn't detect USB device ...

You will be waiting a LOOOONG time
i means send back to factory for 1 to 1 exchange.. those shop 1 no good la. they will just fix it n sell again
AnimeSinceForever
post Dec 18 2014, 05:39 PM

1,060 posts

As long as you are not the unfortunate one, that is okay.
Consumer laws weak in Malaysia therefore
After sales support must be strong.

Besides, most people have no choice but to buy retail, pay via iPmart there are problems too.
Just too bad for users that don't have the chance to "thrash" their machines just after they get it.

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 18 2014, 05:34 PM)
i means send back to factory for 1 to 1 exchange.. those shop 1 no good la. they will just fix it n sell again
myway1985
post Dec 18 2014, 06:03 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(AnimeSinceForever @ Dec 18 2014, 05:39 PM)
As long as you are not the unfortunate one, that is okay.
Consumer laws weak in Malaysia therefore
After sales support must be strong.

Besides, most people have no choice but to buy retail, pay via iPmart there are problems too.
Just too bad for users that don't have the chance to "thrash" their machines just after they get it.
i do agree on the weak enforcement part... we r too smart to find the loopholes in the system
Cherant
post Mar 5 2015, 10:22 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Jul 6 2012, 04:52 PM)
Right now my interest lies in ULV processor. Right now AMD ULV seems promissing with better integrated GPU than Intel.

Your guess is right. I am an AMD die-hard fan. Do let me know as soon as dell come up with AMD ULV processor as I love to have Dell NBD on-site warranty support. icon_rolleyes.gif
I don't understand. I'm no compgeek but AMD?? WHY? I thought from all things I've read NVIDIA seems to be the best, of course that's if you also pair it with Intel and stuff. I thought AMD was the inferior GPU AND CPU. Pray tell, why??
tcheric
post Mar 11 2015, 02:58 PM

139 posts

Best Support, no doubt - Dell, HP, Lenovo ... All these got option for onsite support NBD ........ Option means, when you buy/add-on warranty, open eye big big, there are multiple types of warranty, some onsite some no, so dont blame ppl if you dont make it clear when you do your purchase, esp if you buy from fair, you must enquire in DETAIL. Sometimes unit with "sales" come with carry in warranty, means u need to go their center no on-site ...... Ask ask ask and read read read ...

Want to risk yourself, Asus ... Check out a long thread, you will know how GREAT Asus laptop support is

Acer laptop, commercial got onsite support NBD ... Acer consumer laptop, not sure, better ask

NBD = Next Business Day Support
myway1985
post Mar 11 2015, 03:13 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(tcheric @ Mar 11 2015, 02:58 PM)
Best Support, no doubt  - Dell, HP, Lenovo ... All these got option for onsite support NBD ........ Option means, when you buy/add-on warranty, open eye big big, there are multiple types of warranty, some onsite some no, so dont blame ppl if you dont make it clear when you do your purchase, esp if you buy from fair, you must enquire in DETAIL. Sometimes unit with "sales" come with carry in warranty, means u need to go their center no on-site ...... Ask ask ask and read read read ...

Want to risk yourself, Asus ... Check out a long thread, you will know how GREAT Asus laptop support is
Acer laptop, commercial got onsite support NBD ... Acer consumer laptop, not sure, better ask

NBD = Next Business Day Support
Dell all nbd... n onsite
tcheric
post Mar 11 2015, 03:59 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 11 2015, 03:13 PM)
Dell all nbd... n onsite
LoL ... Multiple types bro ... Please find following
- Carry-In Service after Remote Diagnosis
- ProSupport: Next Business Day Onsite Service
- ProSupport: Next Business Day Onsite Service W/Accidental Damage
- Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
- Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis W/Accidental Damage
So I always advice ppl to ask or tag along a tech friend

HP, Acer, Lenovo ... All also got diff types/tiers of warranty ...
Of cuz, the more you want, on-site la, fast response la, etc etc, the more u have to pay ...
Choose the one suit your budget/need =D

This post has been edited by tcheric: Mar 11 2015, 04:00 PM
rizal13
post Mar 24 2015, 08:24 AM

327 posts

Anyone knows whether there is option to extend warranty for lenovo gaming notebook? Is it 2 year base only or 2 years + 1 years extended or is there 2 years base + 2 years extended warranty option?

darjana
post Jul 15 2015, 07:43 PM

255 posts

my qosmio x70 sangkut in Teledynamics . Icon City for almost 2 months and the reason given is

1) Changed gpu and mobo. Still no display

2) Request for processor replacement sent but they dont know how long it will take

3) Singapore Toshiba delaying the entire process.

After almost 2 months, they call me and tell this and the laptop is still cold.

This post has been edited by darjana: Jul 15 2015, 07:44 PM
DS_Legacy
post Jul 17 2015, 12:28 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(rizal13 @ Mar 24 2015, 08:24 AM)
Anyone knows whether there is option to extend warranty for lenovo gaming notebook? Is it 2 year base only or 2 years + 1 years extended or is there 2 years base + 2 years extended warranty option?

Warranty support service, if you are in Klang Valley, should go to the IBM centre at BU (better service than the one at LYP smile.gif )
Lenovo also offer on site service (but not standard, need to upgrade).

You can extend warranty service through Lenovo resellers, don't need to contact Lenovo Malaysia.

However, Lenovo extended warranty only applicable to certain models, and have to go through Lenovo official distributors/resellers.
smokeman50
post Aug 20 2015, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 17 2015, 12:28 PM)
Warranty support service, if you are in Klang Valley, should go to the IBM centre at BU (better service than the one at LYP smile.gif )
Lenovo also offer on site service (but not standard, need to upgrade).

You can extend warranty service through Lenovo resellers, don't need to contact Lenovo Malaysia.

However, Lenovo extended warranty only applicable to certain models, and have to go through Lenovo official distributors/resellers.
Talking about Lenovo;

Has anyone any latest experience with lenovo service centre?
How fast is their repairs for notebook or handphone?
Any service centres around PJ, SJ, Klang Valley (excluding KL)?

Would appreciate any feedback.

Also would it be better to buy through Harvey Norman?
Any latest feedback on this?
yhcyber
post Aug 21 2015, 05:41 PM

482 posts

Lenovo... i never deal with consumer laptop, but business class laptops for my companies

We are using E430, E440 and E450, E440 giving the most issue to us, we had logged more than 20 cases to Lenovo, but each time their engineer onsite, they are not able to find the root cause. All of the necessary logs, print screen, etc, that they request are send to them periodically, and their engineer also collecting data and clone an image of the HDD for testing purpose, but still not able to catch the bug.

we had complaint till their AP (Asia Pacific) CS level. Yes they are fast respond, but always no permanent solution on our cases. At the end of the day, we discovered that the pre-install Lenovo SW is the root cause that giving us blue screen, slow files loading, etc. We had feedback to our Lenovo AP Account Manager, but they keep defending on their bloody SW, until I deliver 1 unit of E440 that without any Lenovo SW to their SG Office and let them test run, then only they send down their engineer to our office and uninstall all un-necessary Lenovo SW. this case had been dragged for 7 months!

For Dell, so far so good, each time if there is case logged, they respond very fast and follow up closely. I kinda like their service

FYI, we had 150++ units of Lenovo, 40++ Dell, 15 MS Surface Pro 3, and 10++ Asus in my company, each unit subscribed 3 yrs NBD, except Asus that doesn't have option on NBD.

Below is the cases logged statisic for your reference (year 2015, Jan till August):
Lenovo - 27 cases
Dell - 6 Cases
Asus - NIL
MS Surface Pro 3 - 2 cases

Hope above info can help you out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yhcyber: Aug 21 2015, 05:42 PM
myway1985
post Aug 21 2015, 10:08 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Aug 21 2015, 05:41 PM)
Lenovo... i never deal with consumer laptop, but business class laptops for my companies

We are using E430, E440 and E450, E440 giving the most issue to us, we had logged more than 20 cases to Lenovo, but each time their engineer onsite, they are not able to find the root cause. All of the necessary logs, print screen, etc, that they request are send to them periodically, and their engineer also collecting data and clone an image of the HDD for testing purpose, but still not able to catch the bug.

we had complaint till their AP (Asia Pacific) CS level. Yes they are fast respond, but always no permanent solution on our cases. At the end of the day, we discovered that the pre-install Lenovo SW is the root cause that giving us blue screen, slow files loading, etc. We had feedback to our Lenovo AP Account Manager, but they keep defending on their bloody SW, until I deliver 1 unit of E440 that without any Lenovo SW to their SG Office and let them test run, then only they send down their engineer to our office and uninstall all un-necessary Lenovo SW. this case had been dragged for 7 months!

For Dell, so far so good, each time if there is case logged, they respond very fast and follow up closely. I kinda like their service

FYI, we had 150++ units of Lenovo, 40++ Dell, 15 MS Surface Pro 3, and 10++ Asus  in my company, each unit subscribed 3 yrs NBD, except Asus that doesn't have option on NBD.

Below is the cases logged statisic for your reference (year 2015, Jan till August):
Lenovo - 27 cases
Dell - 6 Cases
Asus - NIL

Interest to add another 100 Dell?
yhcyber
post Aug 24 2015, 01:15 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 21 2015, 10:08 PM)
Interest to add another 100 Dell?
Yes i am, but Stupiak regional IT boss which is my boss insist for Lenovo.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

If its my say then i m pretty sure that my office is Dell territory... whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
myway1985
post Aug 24 2015, 01:24 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Aug 24 2015, 01:15 PM)
Yes i am, but Stupiak regional IT boss which is my boss insist for Lenovo....  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

If its my say then i m pretty sure that my office is Dell territory... whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
He got Commission by lenovo salesman.. tell him I can giv more Commission.. ask him switch to me.. hehe...

Precision t7610 20k spec I can giv 17k.. balance his Commission.. haha.. urs separate
Dino168
post Mar 27 2018, 08:56 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Aug 21 2015, 05:41 PM)

FYI, we had 150++ units of Lenovo, 40++ Dell, 15 MS Surface Pro 3, and 10++ Asus  in my company, each unit subscribed 3 yrs NBD, except Asus that doesn't have option on NBD.

Lenovo - 27 cases
Dell - 6 Cases
Asus - NIL

Hi .. so Asus a better brand (for a home user)? Can recommend a particular model?
yhcyber
post Mar 27 2018, 03:13 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 27 2018, 08:56 AM)
Hi .. so Asus a better brand (for a home user)?  Can recommend a particular model?
For Home user, I would say ASUS doing quite a good job, from my own experience, even some said that the faulty rate is higher than other brands like Acer.

I will put it that way - Asus having a better cooling system than others, and this is the most important part for me. My old Acer keep shutting down due to overheat (hitting the temperature threshold in bios) and so far my both Asus doesn't have such issue. Beside Asus, MSI and Dell also did a good job on the cooling part. Bear in mind, that temperature is the killer for component.

It is depend on what kind of user you are - internet surfer, Movie lover, gaming master, multimedia, etc., you should choose a suitable laptop series based on it, so I wont say which model but u decide the preference

Maybe you need to put up your budget, preferred size, usage, etc. than only check what series that suit you, not only Asus but other brands as well.
ZM Fong
post Apr 15 2018, 12:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Mar 27 2018, 03:13 PM)
Asus having a better cooling system than others
Umm no. Their FX and GL lineup have mediocre cooling. Look at model not brand, brand is less relevant. Always choose model.
soul_warriors
post Nov 9 2018, 08:32 AM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 15 2018, 12:46 PM)
Umm no. Their FX and GL lineup have mediocre cooling. Look at model not brand, brand is less relevant. Always choose model.
And don't forget, Asus also has the loudest fan noise around which would be super annoying if you are in a quite office.. tongue.gif

Lego Warfare
post Nov 9 2018, 10:28 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 27 2018, 08:56 AM)
Hi .. so Asus a better brand (for a home user)?  Can recommend a particular model?
Hell no, Asus is totally shit. High QC problems and even worse after sales service. Went through 4 "mid tier" laptop before found a decent one, but within few days of purchase had to send in for service.
Best part is that they do not have ready spare parts, so be prepared to wait for "MONTHS" for them just to order the part from Taiwan. And not guaranteed that part will fix your problems.

Just like mine, waited for a month for the part to arrive, only for them to say another part got problem and have to order ANOTHER part. Asus suck so bad.

ricki stevenson P
post Jan 13 2020, 05:35 PM

Probation

Dell service center is pretty good. The moment you walk-in, you cant ask their technician to perform the test for you. If you are early, they will do the replacement immediately. because laptops are gadgets and they can collapse at any time. here uae technicians can help you fixing your device within the minimum time they can solve your every query visit this site dell laptop battery

https://pictr.com/images/2020/01/13/5Cxzhx.md.jpg
buyou12
post Dec 15 2020, 09:45 AM

271 posts

I'd like to add my rwo cents on Lenovo.

My usb C charging port failed after 10 days into the ownership of a Thinkpad E14, R7 and after calling them their so called premier service centre, the couldn't do anything about it except wait 3 weeks for a new mother board to arrive. They even threatened me that 1 to 1 exchange needs management approval and may take even longer.

When the due date arrives and i called to check on the arrival of the parts (yes i had to call myself to follow up. No updates whatsoever), it was pushed back another week. Finally when it came, the "technician" broke my back cover's clip. But they agreed to replace it.

So in total, the service is mediocre, technician have zero know how. All in all very unpleasant.

Would i stay away from them? No. Cause the laptop is really good (for me atleast) and they solved the problem in the end and also extended the warrant accordingly.

0.0901sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:07 PM