6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!

TSzer0hour
post Sep 10 2008, 08:59 PM, updated 18y ago

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

HD4670 benches:
http://anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3405

HD4830 benches:

http://anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3437
http://www.elitebastards.com/cms/ind...=627&Itemid=27
http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=629
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/HD_4830/
http://techreport.com/articles.x/15752
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=15990
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...0_performance/

This post has been edited by zer0hour: Oct 23 2008, 05:02 PM
PhantomThief
post Sep 10 2008, 09:01 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

+1 ATI. Again. I think it might be time to shift to the dark side.
Irishcoffee
post Sep 10 2008, 09:07 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

79USD x 3.3 = 260
damn cheap with nice performance
i would like to grab 1 as well
pikacu
post Sep 10 2008, 09:10 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

4670 ..on parr with 9600GSO, crash 9600GSO at AA/AF ... poor "8800GS rebadge" :'(

according to anandtech review

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 10 2008, 09:12 PM
angelic-x
post Sep 10 2008, 09:13 PM

Not a member
644 posts

USD79 = how much in Ringgit Malaysia ? rclxub.gif
PhantomThief
post Sep 10 2008, 09:15 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ Sep 10 2008, 09:13 PM)
USD79 = how much in Ringgit Malaysia ?  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Sep 10 2008, 09:07 PM)
79USD x 3.3 = 260
There's your answer for you biggrin.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 10 2008, 09:26 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

2 4670s are as fast as a 4850 (up to ~15% more in best case) in Crossfire.

But now with the 4850 that cheap it's not worth it.

This chip is quite awesome. The size is small, the bugs are fixed, even Powerplay helps the card to clock at 165Mhz at idle!
TSzer0hour
post Sep 10 2008, 09:30 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Haha CF is definitely not worth it with the 4670 la - taking up the slots! =p
zx7177
post Sep 10 2008, 10:10 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

ooo , with a RRP of less than 300 . this is gonna be interesting . havent seen any release dates in anandtech . anyone knows when its gonna be released ? or did i just miss it ?
pikacu
post Sep 10 2008, 10:21 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

already released, which is today

check out : here
kernah
post Sep 10 2008, 10:22 PM

474 posts

already available in msia?

pikacu
post Sep 10 2008, 10:37 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

not sure, but

fesick
post Sep 10 2008, 10:49 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

79us..latest value ..so cost around rm270+

lotiman2003
post Sep 11 2008, 12:09 AM

1,367 posts

I can feel another price war is coming ...
tech3910
post Sep 11 2008, 12:19 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

looks like ATI is hitting nvidia @ every front...............
high end.......mid end......mainstream..................
syazone
post Sep 11 2008, 01:39 AM

1,413 posts

another review here... http://www.guru3d.com/article/ati-radeon-hd-4670-review/
XiuKeong
post Sep 11 2008, 02:46 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Better than 3870 xt?
takercena
post Sep 11 2008, 03:08 AM

327 posts

certainly gonna buy this. Ati made nvidia 9600 series fail hard!!!
tech3910
post Sep 11 2008, 03:58 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 11 2008, 03:46 AM)
Better than 3870 xt?
overall, not really.
bt better in certain cases.

3870 is still better in higher resolution bt bear in mind, 4670 is a lot cheaper den 3870.
XiuKeong
post Sep 11 2008, 04:10 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Hmm...Looking forward for HIS 4670.
surehit
post Sep 11 2008, 10:21 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Sep 11 2008, 03:08 AM)
certainly gonna buy this. Ati made nvidia 9600 series fail hard!!!
Errr.... are u sure ka?

Cannot beat 9600GSO lar... see this: http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=579&card2=563

Lose to 9600GSO on mem bandwidth, pixel fill rate and texture fill rate. Coz 9600GSO is 192 bit with faster shader.

Btw, I oso ATI fan but to be fair NV drivers more stable, and more games optimized for it.
pikacu
post Sep 11 2008, 10:51 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Sep 11 2008, 10:21 AM)
Errr.... are u sure ka?

Cannot beat 9600GSO lar... see this: http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=579&card2=563

Lose to 9600GSO on mem bandwidth, pixel fill rate and texture fill rate. Coz 9600GSO is 192 bit with faster shader.

Btw, I oso ATI fan but to be fair NV drivers more stable, and more games optimized for it.
4670 performance near to 9600GSO(8800GS rebadge), but on par/beats 9600GSO at some cases with AA/AF is on.

btw, HD4600 series was meant to compete 9500 series sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 11 2008, 10:52 AM
AMDAthlon
post Sep 11 2008, 10:56 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Yeah..9800GT,9600GT RV770 LE is ready to cut it off? whistling.gif

riku2replica
post Sep 11 2008, 01:47 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

but hd3850 already countered 9500gt. The hd4670 is really good in performance as it's on par with 9600GT and HD3870(certain game). And it doesn't even need to draws power from the PSU(this is the BEST!!). rclxm9.gif
kernah
post Sep 11 2008, 02:15 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 11 2008, 01:47 PM)
but hd3850 already countered 9500gt. The hd4670 is really good in performance as it's on par with 9600GT and HD3870(certain game). And it doesn't even need to draws power from the PSU(this is the BEST!!). rclxm9.gif
mayb 9600gso...
username
post Sep 11 2008, 02:57 PM

Why so serious?
2,130 posts

Any idea of the release date and price of this card in Malaysia?
dafreak
post Sep 11 2008, 03:42 PM

1,064 posts

seems to out perform 9600gso with AA..hmm..otherwise it is on par and cheaper..might consider changing...hmm..since consumes less power.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dafreak: Sep 11 2008, 03:46 PM
Irishcoffee
post Sep 11 2008, 04:02 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 11 2008, 01:47 PM)
4670 can cut cost ma
3850 256bit sure higher cost
AMD use low cost card to against 9500gt
more $$ earn
X.E.D
post Sep 11 2008, 06:12 PM

1,955 posts

Consistently kills the HD 3000 series in Call of Duty 4.

cyew86
post Sep 11 2008, 06:28 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

darn, reli not bad for a mainstream card, COD4 at highest details with 16xAF !!! if it's priced below RM300, it is certainly a good buy. who cares about Hybrid CF anymore?
beat the crap out of HD3850 which was ATI's higher mid-range card in previous year.
cwk88
post Sep 11 2008, 06:29 PM

653 posts

asus 4670 cooler look cool..
look like Accelero L1

cyew86
post Sep 11 2008, 06:41 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

i wonder how it fare against HD3870
pikacu
post Sep 11 2008, 06:52 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

HD4670 still loses to HD3870 performance

but take note that :

HD4670 does not use any power connector from psu, which makes upgrade PSU is not necessary

nimrod2
post Sep 11 2008, 06:53 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 11 2008, 06:52 PM)
HD4670 still loses to HD3870 performance

but take note that :

HD4670 does not use any power connector from psu, which makes upgrade PSU is not necessary

but i thought most psu's already have the connector already. even mine.

if u're buying that card and your psu doesnt even come with that connector, u're definately gonna need a psu upgrade!

cyew86
post Sep 11 2008, 06:54 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

i just read the anandtech review, it couldn't beat HD3870 in term of performance, but HD3870 only wins by small margin. and with AA on, HD3870 still lose to HD4670. given the fact that HD4670 consumes much less power and cost lesser, it is really a good buy smile.gif
edit: consume less power, do not need pci-e connector = cap ayam PSU will be sufficient, extreme cost saving here

This post has been edited by cyew86: Sep 11 2008, 06:55 PM
cwk88
post Sep 11 2008, 06:54 PM

653 posts

here some 4670 pic:

ASUS:

GIGABYTE:

GECUBE:

MSI:

POWERCOLOR:

GAINWARD:

source: http://www.tomshardware.com/cn/450,news-450.html

This post has been edited by cwk88: Sep 11 2008, 06:55 PM
nimrod2
post Sep 11 2008, 06:56 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

damn those cards are nice cry.gif

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 11 2008, 06:54 PM)
i just read the anandtech review, it couldn't beat HD3870 in term of performance, but HD3870 only wins by small margin. and with AA on, HD3870 still lose to HD4670. given the fact that HD4670 consumes much less power and cost lesser, it is really a good buy smile.gif
edit: consume less power, do not need pci-e connector = cap ayam PSU will be sufficient, extreme cost saving here
cap ayam psu dont come with those connectors ah? doh.gif

pikacu
post Sep 11 2008, 07:01 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

what i mean is,

lets take HD4850 as example.

u need at least ~500w PSU for ur system to run stable with HD4850,

for those who have less than 500w psu need to upgrade..

but with HD4670,

just stick with ur current PSU will do laugh.gif

cyew86
post Sep 11 2008, 07:03 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 11 2008, 06:56 PM)
damn those cards are nice  cry.gif
cap ayam psu dont come with those connectors ah?  doh.gif
my old one does not, poor people PSU doh.gif
cwk88
post Sep 11 2008, 07:04 PM

653 posts

asus 4650 box got some printing error =.=
goldfries
post Sep 11 2008, 07:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Sep 11 2008, 10:21 AM)
Errr.... are u sure ka?

so confident....

whistling.gif http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3405&p=7

whistling.gif whistling.gif http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3405&p=10

lesson : let the benchmarks do the talking.
cwk88
post Sep 11 2008, 07:09 PM

653 posts

yeap.. let the benchmarks do the talking

goldfries.. long time no c..
minghao
post Sep 11 2008, 07:25 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

Question here,
Can 4670 hybrid CF? biggrin.gif
takercena
post Sep 11 2008, 07:55 PM

327 posts

9600 GSO is a newname for 8600GT. I don't know why people was 'fooled' by the new name since it is still the old core. Of course 9600GT will win in most benchmark by 5% - 10% but consider the price and the performance. 9600gt = RM 400. 4670 < RM 270. Now it's near 40% price cut!!!!

3 years ago 6800GS is real value from nvidia. Now ati release the super value. Btw, i never own ati card but the new nvidia name scheme is confusing me now sleep.gif

This post has been edited by takercena: Sep 11 2008, 08:00 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 11 2008, 08:05 PM

1,955 posts

Yes. nVidia used to get awesome rep a few years ago from the super good value range cards, where ATI used to suck bad (X700, X1600) and had to release "cacat" models to compete (X1800GTO, X800XL)

Sure nVidia had their share of that too, but the 6600GT and the 7600GT were great choices already. ATI didn't have those.

Now it seems like a total 180 role reversal. And from what I've seen, the 4670 is still making a profit selling at RM300- it's uber cheap. It'll get into a lot of OEM (Dell, HP, or local PC shop) PCs, it'll get into notebooks (when Mobility 4650/4670 comes), it's the 6600GT of this generation.
pikacu
post Sep 11 2008, 08:06 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Sep 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
9600 GSO is a newname for 8600GT. I don't know why people was 'fooled' by the new name since it is still the old core. Of course 9600GT will win in most benchmark by 5% - 10% but consider the price and the performance. 9600gt = RM 400. 4670 < RM 270. Now it's near  40% price cut!!!!

3 years ago 6800GS is real value from nvidia. Now ati release the super value. Btw, i never own ati card but the new nvidia name scheme is confusing me now sleep.gif
nope, you are wrong...

9600GSO is a newname aka rebadge of 8800GS , while 9500GT is rename/rebadge+overclocked 8600GT
goldfries
post Sep 11 2008, 08:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Sep 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
9600 GSO is a newname for 8600GT.

new name for 8800GS. 8600GT is like soooooooo far from the 9600GSO.

takercena
post Sep 11 2008, 08:59 PM

327 posts

Oh thanks. Sorry for mistake biggrin.gif. Maybe was confused by lot of name

This post has been edited by takercena: Sep 11 2008, 09:01 PM
commandboy
post Sep 11 2008, 09:25 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Sep 11 2008, 06:54 PM)
here some 4670 pic:
ASUS:

GIGABYTE:

GECUBE:

MSI:

POWERCOLOR:

GAINWARD:
source: http://www.tomshardware.com/cn/450,news-450.html
all the above is reference board?
DunkyKung
post Sep 11 2008, 09:47 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

wow..the gainward one,sure has a unique cooler...

Added on September 11, 2008, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 11 2008, 07:07 PM)
dam!this new card so cheap for its performance!more over it dont draw a lot of power..even at certain point it win against hd3870..wowow..im impressed!

This post has been edited by DunkyKung: Sep 11 2008, 09:52 PM
Punish
post Sep 11 2008, 10:10 PM

2,023 posts

when do u recon this card gonna hit LYP market....and how much the price gonna be..?? Sub RM300..??

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 11 2008, 10:11 PM
AMDAthlon
post Sep 11 2008, 10:51 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

I hope RV770 LE doesnt require PCIE Connectors too..Hopefully whistling.gif
The Gainward cooler so sexy doh.gif
I think,the cooler is non reference sia.Because HIS already made the ICEQ for HD4670/HD4750 wor..
XiuKeong
post Sep 11 2008, 11:01 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

More expensive for the iceq sweat.gif
Najmods
post Sep 12 2008, 01:48 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Impressive performance for such a compact card. In Guru3D reviews (the only review I read so far) in Crysis it even beats my 9600GT! I feel like buying this card, just for power consumption and thermal sake

ATi has now make a card similar to my old time favorite, the 9600XT. Its been a while now that I waited for ATi to show back what they made of. Its no denying that nvidia will come back, but for the time being looks like ATi conquer the lower end market for sure with this little beast for gamer on budget and around medium resolution (around 1280 ish)

I think, with GDDR-5 or GDDR-4 module, it will fly, since the GPU itself is around the same as HD38X0 series, with enhancement on texture units (32 compared to 16) plus others that HD4000 series have

This post has been edited by Najmods: Sep 12 2008, 01:49 AM
aric_68
post Sep 12 2008, 02:27 AM

111 posts

i am also the ATI supporter...3870 is 256bit...but 4670 128bit only....??? rclxub.gif
i'm now waiting for the new stock of gainwaed 4850 GS by next week.... rclxub.gif
so now.... don't know how to choice already...??? rclxub.gif
everyboby....help me pls....4850 or 4670 better....??? rclxub.gif
goldfries
post Sep 12 2008, 02:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

4850 confirm better kau kau la. smile.gif
XiuKeong
post Sep 12 2008, 02:49 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

What's the difference with 256 and 128bits?
ben_panced
post Sep 12 2008, 03:25 AM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 12 2008, 02:49 AM)
What's the difference with 256 and 128bits?
the difference is that 256-bit mem controller can give 2x the bandwidth compared to the 128-bit counterpart when both of them are working on the same clockspeed..
btw from the legitreviews webby when AA and AF is turned on, the 4670 can even beat 9600gt

Legitreview's 4670 review
XiuKeong
post Sep 12 2008, 03:40 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Sep 12 2008, 03:25 AM)
the difference is that 256-bit mem controller can give 2x the bandwidth compared to the 128-bit counterpart when both of them are working on the same clockspeed..
btw from the legitreviews webby when AA and AF is turned on, the 4670 can even beat 9600gt

Legitreview's 4670 review
Wow. Thanks for the link. Read all of it. It just what in my budget =)
fesick
post Sep 12 2008, 04:54 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Sep 11 2008, 09:47 PM)
wow..the gainward one,sure has a unique cooler...
same thinking..i saw this brand come with lot unique cooler
magna_voxx
post Sep 12 2008, 09:37 AM

-Maximum Game-
1,071 posts

dis card series would be really hot stuff next few week once release in local i think.
completely best for budget user.
billytong
post Sep 12 2008, 10:16 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ Sep 12 2008, 02:27 AM)
i am also the ATI supporter...3870 is 256bit...but 4670 128bit only....??? rclxub.gif
i'm now waiting for the new stock of gainwaed 4850 GS by next week.... rclxub.gif
so now.... don't know how to choice already...??? rclxub.gif
everyboby....help me pls....4850 or 4670 better....??? rclxub.gif

I am 100% pretty sure that 128bit memory controller is the major setback of 4600series. The 4600 series GPU spec is almost the same like the 3800series with some improvement + a half size memory controller which is 128bit. doh.gif
I still dont get the idea of this? Pairing 4600series with 256bit could wipe out the 9600GT easily. If it is the cost matter, then at last play with 192bit.

pikacu
post Sep 12 2008, 10:21 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 12 2008, 10:16 AM)
I am 100% pretty sure that 128bit memory controller is the major setback of 4600series. The 4600 series GPU spec is almost the same like the 3800series with some improvement + a half size memory controller which is 128bit.  doh.gif
I still dont get the idea of this? Pairing 4600series with 256bit could wipe out the 9600GT easily. If it is the cost matter, then at last play with 192bit.
maybe in order to keep the low power consumption?
takercena
post Sep 12 2008, 10:54 AM

327 posts

Waiting gula-gula to buy this product biggrin.gif
tachlio
post Sep 12 2008, 11:30 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

Nowaday, ATI pawn~ NV so hard~~

fcuk90
post Sep 12 2008, 11:53 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

tis card not bad wor..cheap sial

cwk88
post Sep 12 2008, 12:16 PM

653 posts

i aim this card long time ago.. hope the card will come here this few days..
jumajuma
post Sep 12 2008, 12:22 PM

203 posts

me also waiting for this card. but i hope the price wont exceed 300, else better go with 2nd hand 3870.
ben_panced
post Sep 12 2008, 12:30 PM

962 posts

I am 100% pretty sure that 128bit memory controller is the major setback of 4600series. The 4600 series GPU spec is almost the same like the 3800series with some improvement + a half size memory controller which is 128bit.  doh.gif
but if they decided to use 256 bit mem controller instead of 128 bit it will

1. increase gpu transistor count thus increasing gpu die size thus making ati get fewer chips per wafer
2. increase the complexity of the pcb

ati did this in order to cut cost la dude, for sub rm 300 graphics card, 4670 performs very good, just check the link that i posted where legitreview tested all the games with max AF and AA settings, and there u can see that the 4670 can beat 9600gt

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Sep 12 2008, 05:03 PM
ikanayam
post Sep 12 2008, 12:33 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

I think they just didn't want to be pad limited on such a small chip. I think this is part of the reason why they went with plain DDR3 as well instead of GDDR, besides the cost factor. The price point they were shooting for is much lower than the 9600GT, or the 3800 series. Just think about it, this is a <100USD card. Keep adding more features and it's not going to be a <100 card anymore.
syazone
post Sep 12 2008, 12:59 PM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 11 2008, 10:10 PM)
when do u recon this card gonna hit LYP market....and how much the price gonna be..?? Sub RM300..??

GTG
looking for replacement for ur kaput 7600GT brows.gif
one of LYN bulker said its coming soon... maybe next week?
tech3910
post Sep 12 2008, 02:28 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(jumajuma @ Sep 12 2008, 01:22 PM)
me also waiting for this card. but i hope the price wont exceed 300, else better go with 2nd hand 3870.
i think 1st bath is a bit expensive.

if i'm not mistaken, it is sold @ 70 euros.
ben_panced
post Sep 12 2008, 05:10 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 12 2008, 02:28 PM)
i think 1st bath is a bit expensive.

if i'm not mistaken, it is sold @ 70 euros.
i think the price will be less than RM300
tcchuin
post Sep 12 2008, 05:37 PM

511 posts

guyz...so...the 3870 or 4670 better?in term of performance,price and power usage
goldfries
post Sep 12 2008, 06:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

from what i read so far, look like 3870 has the edge but not far ahead when it comes to performance.

the HD4670 is better in power usage.
fazco85
post Sep 12 2008, 06:45 PM

210 posts

this thing is definitely in mah watchlist now biggrin.gif
billytong
post Sep 12 2008, 07:15 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 12 2008, 12:33 PM)
I think they just didn't want to be pad limited on such a small chip. I think this is part of the reason why they went with plain DDR3 as well instead of GDDR, besides the cost factor. The price point they were shooting for is much lower than the 9600GT, or the 3800 series. Just think about it, this is a <100USD card. Keep adding more features and it's not going to be a <100 card anymore.

But they could have cut the computational power of that GPU by may be another 20% which reduce the die size & cost and it wouldnt hurt the performance much as the chip is somewhat bottleneck by the half memory bandwidth. Unless I am wrong on this.
PhantomThief
post Sep 12 2008, 07:19 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

The MSRP may be pretty low, but based on the response and anticipation that can be seen here, I'm guessing a lot of sellers may jack up the price. They do have some room to play with, considering that the other cards that compete with it are USD20-30 more expensive.
X.E.D
post Sep 12 2008, 08:02 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 12 2008, 07:15 PM)
But they could have cut the computational power of  that GPU by may be another 20% which reduce the die size & cost and it wouldnt hurt the performance much as the chip is somewhat bottleneck by the half memory bandwidth.  Unless I am wrong on this.
It wouldn't have worked.
For a single chip in all aspects, ATI couldn't possibly have done a better job unless they had better tech.
This chip by its own merits has done what I've NEVER seen a RM300 card do, and for the professional market (see Press Release of $200 FirePro v3750), makes every professional dude able to really own a workstation card that has 75% of the performance of highend, $1500USD cards.

You have to remember that nVidia at this stage is relying on firesale tactics to actually have their inventory sell, if they wanted reasonable margins (like Malaysian prices, RM400+ 9600GT) the 4670 would have blown its competitors out of the market.

Plus, sooner or later someone will start to use the new 1.2Ghz GDDR3 chips out there, another 20% boost (hello 9600GT!) and you can push it to even more I heard.

p/s: 4670 Crossfire Review. Nice punch, but still 4850's too cheap here. Good if you're planning for the future, though.
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=15422&page=2

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 12 2008, 08:04 PM
ikanayam
post Sep 12 2008, 08:32 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 12 2008, 07:15 PM)
But they could have cut the computational power of  that GPU by may be another 20% which reduce the die size & cost and it wouldnt hurt the performance much as the chip is somewhat bottleneck by the half memory bandwidth.  Unless I am wrong on this.
Pad limited = can't reduce the size. Basically you have to ADD logic instead to fill up the space otherwise it would be wasted.

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 12 2008, 08:02 PM)
It wouldn't have worked.
For a single chip in all aspects, ATI couldn't possibly have done a better job unless they had better tech.
This chip by its own merits has done what I've NEVER seen a RM300 card do, and for the professional market (see Press Release of $200 FirePro v3750), makes every professional dude able to really own a workstation card that has 75% of the performance of highend, $1500USD cards.
You have to remember that nVidia at this stage is relying on firesale tactics to actually have their inventory sell, if they wanted reasonable margins (like Malaysian prices, RM400+ 9600GT) the 4670 would have blown its competitors out of the market.

Plus, sooner or later someone will start to use the new 1.2Ghz GDDR3 chips out there, another 20% boost (hello 9600GT!) and you can push it to even more I heard.
p/s: 4670 Crossfire Review. Nice punch, but still 4850's too cheap here. Good if you're planning for the future, though.
Sure it's a nice card. But i think you can say that pretty often about computers. Most new generations can do what people have not seen before at a certain price... That's what people like me exist to do tongue.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 12 2008, 08:55 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 12 2008, 08:32 PM)
Sure it's a nice card. But i think you can say that pretty often about computers. Most new generations can do what people have not seen before at a certain price... That's what people like me exist to do tongue.gif
I think it's more dependent on what the chipmakers want to do. We're at their mercy laugh.gif

But I'm mostly just looking at the progress made compared to the last-gen midrange. Same process, big progress.
Irishcoffee
post Sep 12 2008, 09:51 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

huh nice review from hexus
4670CF can pwn 4850 with a cheaper price + lower power + some noise
juz CF mobo the matter
XiuKeong
post Sep 13 2008, 12:30 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

I don't know this question looks silly or not, but I'm curious.
3850 256mb and 4670...which is better?

But I think is 4670. Just wanna ask.
PhantomThief
post Sep 13 2008, 12:33 AM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

Pretty sure the 4670 would win. The 4670 beats the 3850 512MB, so 256 would most likely get slaughtered.
XiuKeong
post Sep 13 2008, 12:37 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Sep 13 2008, 12:33 AM)
Pretty sure the 4670 would win. The 4670 beats the 3850 512MB, so 256 would most likely get slaughtered.
Cause got a seller offer 3850 256mb with Rm200 only. So tempting. But I think I'll stick to 4670 since only Rm100 difference.
ben_panced
post Sep 13 2008, 12:53 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Sep 12 2008, 09:51 PM)
huh nice review from hexus
4670CF can pwn 4850 with a cheaper price + lower power + some noise
juz CF mobo the matter
but u have to consider that certain games such as crysis and oblivion sucks at CF scaling, which means that in certain level of the the performance of CF is a lower than single card.
so the conclusion is single 4850 is better than 4670 CF coz it'll give u consistent performance in all games
PhantomThief
post Sep 13 2008, 12:55 AM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Sep 13 2008, 12:53 AM)
but u have to consider that certain games such as crysis and oblivion sucks at CF scaling, which means that in certain level of the the performance of CF is a lower than single card.
so the conclusion is single 4850 is better than 4670 CF coz it'll give u consistent performance in all games
Yep yep. Dual GPU solutions are not the greatest yet. All too often it depends on the driver rather than the actual power of the cards.
goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 01:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

at least they still do scale. some games little to no boost in framerates with CF.
ben_panced
post Sep 13 2008, 01:03 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 13 2008, 01:00 AM)
at least they still do scale. some games little to no boost in framerates with CF.
yup but sometimes the performance of CF is lower than single card, i experienced it when i played crysis and oblivion, where when i checked the gpu usage and it showed 30% for each cards rclxub.gif
Irishcoffee
post Sep 13 2008, 01:13 AM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

depend on pricing
its good for ppl that wan a 4670 upgrade
i think its still "worth" to CF 4670

This post has been edited by Irishcoffee: Sep 13 2008, 01:16 AM
goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 01:16 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Sep 13 2008, 01:03 AM)
yup but sometimes the performance of CF is lower than single card, i experienced it when i played crysis and oblivion, where when i checked the gpu usage and it showed 30% for each cards  rclxub.gif
when i play Crysis with 3870x2, it was fast. a lot faster than 9800GTX, so I'm assuming it does CF well enough.

unlike some games, the 3870x2 felt like the 9600GT, such as Frontlines : FOW.
billytong
post Sep 13 2008, 07:47 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Couldnt agree anymore, That 4670 chip with a better memory speed do have a lot of potential. I am not surprise someone out there later on will put a better memory speed to get extra punch out of it.

AMD still manage to run this almost 80-90% of 3870 even with 128bit memory. That is something very good.

gamers maniac
post Sep 13 2008, 10:08 AM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

now we can see 3870 sell below rm300 in garage sale..
prince024
post Sep 13 2008, 10:28 AM

74 posts

this card beat 8800GTS G80 320MB?
goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 12:02 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

let's not forget this would be like a 2600XT crossfire - no need power cable! but got power performance. biggrin.gif
eltonchay
post Sep 13 2008, 12:19 PM

45 posts

I'm using cm 430w extreme and w/o pci-e power connector! so this little baby will be my aim rclxm9.gif wonder my p/s can run this little baby or not hmm.gif
User_Xp
post Sep 13 2008, 01:10 PM

973 posts

wow..what a great value card... thumbup.gif

what a waste me buying 96GSO doh.gif
goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 01:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Sep 13 2008, 01:10 PM)
what a waste me buying 96GSO  doh.gif

every card buyer will face depreciation with the cards they bought. smile.gif
tech3910
post Sep 13 2008, 01:25 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Sep 13 2008, 02:10 PM)
wow..what a great value card... thumbup.gif

what a waste me buying 96GSO  doh.gif
talk about depreciation.............

last time i bought my 3870 DDR4 @ RM 900.
8 months later, recently just sold for RM 350.

moneyflies.gif

Added on September 13, 2008, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 13 2008, 01:02 PM)
let's not forget this would be like a 2600XT crossfire - no need power cable! but got power performance. biggrin.gif
2600XT crossfire scale terribly.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Sep 13 2008, 01:26 PM
LExus65
post Sep 13 2008, 02:33 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wel not with 4670, this seems to be a good pair of card for the DFI Lanparty Micro CF p45....

goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 03:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 13 2008, 01:25 PM)
2600XT crossfire scale terribly.

it was. that's why my post ended with "but got power performance" - because HD4670 CF seems like got power. HD2600XT CF like sweat.gif ok la some games got some boost la, my 3dmark06 boosted only. other things end up yawn.gif only.......... well actually only tried on Lost Planet la but no boost.
SlayerXT
post Sep 13 2008, 04:14 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Already sold at c-zone @ RM350 which is sapphire. I think thats too high.
pikacu
post Sep 13 2008, 04:40 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Sep 13 2008, 04:14 PM)
that is totally jack up price sweat.gif

suppose to be ~290 doh.gif
tech3910
post Sep 13 2008, 04:50 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Sep 13 2008, 05:14 PM)
as expected, 1st batch seller r taking advantage.

in Europe also sell for 70 euro.
which translate 2 bout 300+ here.
Irishcoffee
post Sep 13 2008, 04:59 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

Seller will "tipu tipu" to earn some $$ ma
such mainstream gc will drop very fast one mayb 1 or 2 week
unlike e8400 = no stock + high demand when 1st batch all rise price sia

This post has been edited by Irishcoffee: Sep 13 2008, 05:00 PM
tech3910
post Sep 13 2008, 05:05 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 13 2008, 04:09 PM)
it was. that's why my post ended with "but got power performance" - because HD4670 CF seems like got power. HD2600XT CF like  sweat.gif ok la some games got some boost la, my 3dmark06 boosted only. other things end up  yawn.gif only.......... well actually only tried on Lost Planet la but no boost.
last time i crossfire 2 2600 XT...................
haiz..........really really regretted............. cry.gif

mostly all games also doesn't fell the performance gain.........
waste my moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif
aindejeje
post Sep 13 2008, 05:15 PM

EDA MASTER
820 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Sep 10 2008, 09:07 PM)
79USD x 3.3 = 260
OMG so cheap shakehead.gif
cwk88
post Sep 13 2008, 05:49 PM

653 posts

allit sell sapphire 4670 RM340

Added on September 13, 2008, 5:53 pmhope the price will drop soon

This post has been edited by cwk88: Sep 13 2008, 05:53 PM
AMDAthlon
post Sep 13 2008, 06:01 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

It will drop soon once HD3650/HD3670 is phased out completely from the market.
cwk88
post Sep 13 2008, 06:02 PM

653 posts

my hand itchy now, want get the card asap..hehe but the price.. =.=
NetRaid
post Sep 13 2008, 06:10 PM

241 posts

Guys,

Please be reasonable lar. Let the distros here (no matter what brands) survive. Don't just follow RRP prices in Europe or US blindly.

Please understand our problems:

1. Many have old stocks at old costs.

2. USD is at a very high rate, 3.5 maybe going to 3.6 soon.

3. Our margins are very low, due to ATI vs NV price war and stiff competition among the brands.

4. Don't forget we need to pay for shipping costs, holding costs, financing costs and support costs.

Thank you all for your understanding. notworthy.gif
cwk88
post Sep 13 2008, 07:25 PM

653 posts

im waiting for asus 4670 TOP series come out
tech3910
post Sep 13 2008, 07:44 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Sep 13 2008, 07:10 PM)
actually is malaysia ringit dat suffering, not USD high.............

ps, need 2 add tax also le..............
syazone
post Sep 13 2008, 07:47 PM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Sep 13 2008, 06:10 PM)
Guys,

Please be reasonable lar. Let the distros here (no matter what brands) survive. Don't just follow RRP prices in Europe or US blindly.

Please understand our problems:

1. Many have old stocks at old costs.

3. Our margins are very low, due to ATI vs NV price war and stiff competition among the brands.

4. Don't forget we need to pay for shipping costs, holding costs, financing costs and support costs.

Thank you all for your understanding.  notworthy.gif
no... current USD rate is 3.46, last time, when 4850 1st launch, the RRP price for US is 199, which is roughly around rm650, USD rate at that time is around 3.2, and we get it at that price, even can get rm630 at that time for 4850

rm350 for 4670 is just ridiculous, it should be around rm260, ($75x3.46)

ermm... no offence, hope our retailer can revise their price accordingly

This post has been edited by syazone: Sep 13 2008, 07:51 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 13 2008, 08:11 PM

1,955 posts

RM300 would be totally reasonable for both sides.

This is the same price gauge that happened to the GTX 200 series, and minorly on the 4800s. It's a little more obvious here due to the already sensitive low-end market pricing.

Still, compared to that RM330 2600 PRO that I recommended last year to a lot of people, this is great value.
xixo_12
post Sep 13 2008, 09:00 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

it have an easy conclusion.. dun buy it now.. laugh.gif
here we got speaker from distro site.. then get at reseller, for sure the kaw2 push to get their own profit.. busnis always like that.. the price shud be around 26x~27x.. but mark up style will make end user like us, will not get that price..
XiuKeong
post Sep 13 2008, 11:23 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

I think I'll wait for awhile and look at the price. Maybe too early too decide.
smokey
post Sep 13 2008, 11:24 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

i saw RM335 sapphire 4670 at cycom...
RM349 at viewnet...
RM350 at compuzone...
asellus
post Sep 13 2008, 11:37 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Anyone already see any 4650 cards being sold? Wanna get that one instead for non-gaming purposes.
goldfries
post Sep 13 2008, 11:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 13 2008, 05:05 PM)
last time i crossfire 2 2600 XT...................
haiz..........really really regretted............. cry.gif

that's the thing. 2600XT CF doesn't even feel as good as OCing 8600GT or getting 8600GTS. top up a bit more that time can get 8800GTS (G80) 384mb.

nagflar
post Sep 14 2008, 01:16 AM

1,813 posts

plan to get 1 budget card play wow and dota tongue.gif at max setting at 22' lcd
guy how it compare to 3850 or 3870 . whcih 1 to get ?

4670 or 3850 or 3870 or 2900xt ?

i hate N card . dont recommend me smile.gif

This post has been edited by nagflar: Sep 14 2008, 01:17 AM
pikacu
post Sep 14 2008, 01:24 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Sep 14 2008, 01:16 AM)
plan to get 1 budget card play wow and dota  tongue.gif  at max setting at 22' lcd
guy how it compare to 3850 or 3870 .  whcih 1 to get ?

4670 or 3850 or 3870 or 2900xt  ?

i hate N card . dont recommend me smile.gif
wow and dota at 22'? all card listed can do proper job for that tongue.gif

if you going for budget card, i suggest 4670..
XiuKeong
post Sep 14 2008, 01:30 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

I saw Gainward selling 3850 at Rm320. But compare to 4670, which have the upper advantage?
tech3910
post Sep 14 2008, 01:50 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 14 2008, 02:30 AM)
I saw Gainward selling 3850 at Rm320. But compare to 4670, which have the upper advantage?
i think 4670 hav the upper "finger" if AA on.

otherwise...........performance is absolutely same...............
Terence573
post Sep 14 2008, 01:52 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Wow ATI seems to be in heads up..
XiuKeong
post Sep 14 2008, 02:44 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Sep 14 2008, 01:52 AM)
Wow ATI seems to be in heads up..
For now. But maybe N will do something also. Who knows.
AMDAthlon
post Sep 14 2008, 05:27 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Whatelse more o?Oh ya how's about the "Big Bang"?
9600GT,9800GT RV770LE is coming up..
9400GT RV710 is coming up.
I wonder what nVidia next plans..
User_Xp
post Sep 14 2008, 05:43 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 14 2008, 05:27 AM)
Whatelse more o?Oh ya how's about the "Big Bang"?
9600GT,9800GT RV770LE is coming up..
9400GT RV710 is coming up.
I wonder what nVidia next plans..
isn`t 9 series u state is Nvidia gpu?? whistling.gif

dun make confuse statement here... thumbup.gif
Skylinestar
post Sep 14 2008, 09:25 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

palit 9600GT 512MB about RM370.
gainward 3870 512MB RM350.
sapphire 4670 RM335??????
which one to buy? looks like 9600GT is a better buy.
post Sep 14 2008, 09:37 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

of course laugh.gif

or HD3870 .
darude87
post Sep 14 2008, 11:02 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

but if judge from review, it seems 4670 is almost on par with 9600GT, almost i mean

anyway, wanna ask 1 question out of this topic
if upgrade from 3870 x-turbo to 4850, will i get the "WOW" factor for gaming in 1280x1024 ?
Siu_Keong
post Sep 14 2008, 11:19 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 14 2008, 09:25 AM)
Pal u see the 3870 price RM350 from PC Zone? i clarify with them oledi, they wrong post the price. The best price they can give me is RM430, so i think NetRaid mentioned the price RM420 for the Gainward is the cheaper.
AMDAthlon
post Sep 14 2008, 11:28 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Sep 14 2008, 05:43 AM)
isn`t 9 series u state is Nvidia gpu??  whistling.gif

dun make confuse statement here...  thumbup.gif
sleep.gif
I am sure you dont get what i mean.
What i mean it 9800GT and 9600GT,RV770LE is ready to fight with it doh.gif
For 9400GT,RV710 is ready to fight with it.Whats the confuse?
tech3910
post Sep 14 2008, 03:04 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 14 2008, 12:28 PM)
sleep.gif
I am sure you dont get what i mean.
What i mean it 9800GT and 9600GT,RV770LE is ready to fight with it doh.gif
For 9400GT,RV710 is ready to fight with it.Whats the confuse?
wat the bout the 55nm version of GT 200?
X.E.D
post Sep 14 2008, 04:03 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 14 2008, 09:25 AM)
Disregarding that fact that the OEM Palit stuff is almost always cheapo non-reference that doesn't improve on the original?
All the current Radeon designs are reference and even non-reference boards are usually very decent (besides 3850; Blame Palit too).

Everyone focuses on build quality when it comes to cars, cameras, electronics. Even motherboards. I wonder why "passable" is the norm for graphics.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 14 2008, 04:04 PM
TSzer0hour
post Sep 14 2008, 07:00 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

I have to agree with this point. Non-reference PCBs that don't improve on the original are trouble.
Skylinestar
post Sep 14 2008, 07:57 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 14 2008, 11:19 AM)
Pal u see the 3870 price RM350 from PC Zone? i clarify with them oledi, they wrong post the price. The best price they can give me is RM430, so i think NetRaid mentioned the price RM420 for the Gainward is the cheaper.
previoulsy it was RM350.
the new pricelist says RM340. is pczone having typo again? or it is the price when bundle with a pc?

anyway, i'm waiting for a powercolor HD4670. if it's below RM300, i'll grab it.

are u guys saying that palit 9600GT is having lots of trouble?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Sep 14 2008, 07:59 PM
rndm
post Sep 14 2008, 09:19 PM

53 posts

If you look closely, the RM340 one is actually the HD3850 512MB, not the HD3870 sadly.
diadokmai
post Sep 14 2008, 11:18 PM

941 posts

Guys. Do u know gfx HIS HD4670 iceq-turbo 512mb price? i,m really wanted that card. hopefully d price is not exceed rm300. drool.gif
tech3910
post Sep 14 2008, 11:22 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Sep 15 2008, 12:18 AM)
Guys. Do u know gfx HIS HD4670 iceq-turbo 512mb price? i,m really wanted that card. hopefully d price is not exceed rm300.  drool.gif
normal reference cooler also exceed 300 already.............
diadokmai
post Sep 14 2008, 11:34 PM

941 posts

aiya... yawn.gif so i need to up my budget la..mybe after raya the price will drop? shakehead.gif

Did 330-350 for HIS HD4670 iceq-Turbo is reasonable right? coz d cooling system is great.? no? What brand gfx that provide the best default cooling system.?

Added on September 14, 2008, 11:37 pmUp2 n Down flex.gif

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Sep 14 2008, 11:39 PM
NetRaid
post Sep 14 2008, 11:45 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Sep 14 2008, 11:34 PM)
What brand gfx that provide the best default cooling system.?
See the brands here (middle of the post): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/788313/+40

Suggest you focus on price/performance, most GC cooling are acceptable under normal usage.
goldfries
post Sep 14 2008, 11:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

well, actually all stock cooling are sufficient for GCs.

if ever stock cooling is not suffiicient, it's because the owner has lousy casing air-flow. not the card's problem. smile.gif
diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 12:01 AM

941 posts

my casing can be considered compact casing and my room dont hv air-con, i dont want to change d casing and hopefully there is a gfx that can run program or games (ex:crysis / grid) in my pc well in my condition and in d other hand maintain the temp of d gfx.

erm..i actually want to use that gfx for playing games for long period of time. So hopefully there is some gfx that can provide the best cooling fo gfx.

unsure.gif

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Sep 15 2008, 12:25 AM
kurtkob78
post Sep 15 2008, 12:11 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

can this graphic card be played on a desktop with 300W power ?
Siu_Keong
post Sep 15 2008, 12:30 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 14 2008, 07:57 PM)
previoulsy it was RM350.
the new pricelist says RM340. is pczone having typo again? or it is the price when bundle with a pc?

anyway, i'm waiting for a powercolor HD4670. if it's below RM300, i'll grab it.

are u guys saying that palit 9600GT is having lots of trouble?
Ya clarify with them already, really is typo (even they put the pic and price in the brochure shakehead.gif). Cos i gonna grab it since so cheap, luckily i make a call to them 1st since i dun trust the price. Now also targeting the 4670 since this power comsuption but i heard that the price is high and no worth now, sapphire 4670 need RM350+-. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Siu_Keong: Sep 15 2008, 12:44 AM
bugpakoo
post Sep 15 2008, 12:36 AM

91 posts

got benchmark? laugh.gif
diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 12:37 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 15 2008, 12:30 AM)
Ya clarify with them already, really is typo (even they put the pic and pic in the brochure shakehead.gif). Cos i gonna grab it since so cheap, luckily i make a call to them 1st since i dun trust the price. Now also targeting the 4670 since this power comsuption but i heard that the price is high and no worth now, sapphire 4670 need RM350+-.  sweat.gif
d price not stable yet... i rather buy 3850 rather than 4760.haiya!!.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Sep 15 2008, 12:45 AM
bugpakoo
post Sep 15 2008, 12:37 AM

91 posts

but 128 bit

is it better than 3850?

This post has been edited by bugpakoo: Sep 15 2008, 12:39 AM
pikacu
post Sep 15 2008, 12:39 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(bugpakoo @ Sep 15 2008, 12:37 AM)
but 128 bit
but close to 9600GSO/9600GT, and beat 'em at some cases
Siu_Keong
post Sep 15 2008, 12:49 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Sep 14 2008, 11:34 PM)
aiya... yawn.gif so i need to up my budget la..mybe after raya the price will drop?  shakehead.gif

Did 330-350 for HIS HD4670 iceq-Turbo is reasonable right? coz d cooling system is great.? no? What brand gfx that provide the best default cooling system.?

Added on September 14, 2008, 11:37 pmUp2 n Down  flex.gif
I will be no suprise if the HIS HD4670 iceq-Turbo is exceeding RM400 since the normal 1 now oledi RM350+-, so for the OC version should be more of that.

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Sep 15 2008, 12:37 AM)
d price not stable yet... i rather buy 3850 rather than 4760.haiya!!.. doh.gif
Haha, me also i nthe same situation, a lot of fren here suggest me to buy the 3870 instead of 4670. Imho, even if 128 bit different but it should on par or lose a bit to the 3850 in certain performance.

diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 01:00 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 15 2008, 12:49 AM)
I will be no suprise if the HIS HD4670 iceq-Turbo is exceeding RM400 since the normal 1 now oledi RM350+-, so for the OC version should be more of that.
Haha, me also i nthe same situation, a lot of fren here suggest me to buy the 3870 instead of 4670. Imho, even if 128 bit different but it should on par or lose a bit to the 3850 in certain performance.
ha ha. icon_idea.gif i think that d best decision ma..
NetRaid
post Sep 15 2008, 01:00 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 15 2008, 12:49 AM)
From the word of ATI directly, 4600 series NOT meant to compete with 3800 series. They will lose out in high res settings and games that require a lot of mem transfer, or when using large LCD in high res.

4600 series objective is to be the best mainstream GC, while 3800 series is the best mid range GC. With the 3850 and 3870 prices today, it's super good buy.

Clearer now?

diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 01:06 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Sep 15 2008, 01:00 AM)
From the word of ATI directly, 4600 series NOT meant to compete with 3800 series. They will lose out in high res settings and games that require a lot of mem transfer, or when using large LCD in high res.

4600 series objective is to be the best mainstream GC, while 3800 series is the best mid range GC. With the 3850 and 3870 prices today, it's super good buy.

Clearer now?
thanks Bro 4 d info. nod.gif
Siu_Keong
post Sep 15 2008, 01:24 AM

218 posts

Clearer now?
Ya totally agree what you said and is true than 128 bit can't compete with 256 bit, the only point that can make the 4670 outstanding is the power usage and this cost effective (but which i din see in the local market here doh.gif). Maybe time will tell, anyway i should be go low yat 1 round n do some survey. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Siu_Keong: Sep 15 2008, 01:26 AM
phas3r
post Sep 15 2008, 01:49 AM

1,206 posts

u guys just multiply the USD amount to convert to RM of course la lower than real price
diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 10:02 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Sep 15 2008, 01:49 AM)
u guys just multiply the USD amount to convert to RM of course la lower than real price
But the price should not exceed 20% of the factory price ma...if above the 20% it unacceptable price for the d new product. doh.gif

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Sep 15 2008, 10:04 AM
AMDAthlon
post Sep 15 2008, 10:11 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Because of the import price+tax?But that cannot be so high doh.gif
ben_panced
post Sep 15 2008, 10:19 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 15 2008, 10:11 AM)
Because of the import price+tax?But that cannot be so high doh.gif
theres no tax for pc products la sweat.gif
diadokmai
post Sep 15 2008, 10:27 AM

941 posts

ya ma..20% should including shipping price+keuntungan ma.. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by diadokmai: Sep 15 2008, 10:29 AM
Siu_Keong
post Sep 15 2008, 04:27 PM

218 posts

Anyway, no more news for the HD4670 cards? I know sapphire 1 out for local market already, how bout others brand? And what is the price?

This post has been edited by Siu_Keong: Sep 15 2008, 04:28 PM
cwk88
post Sep 15 2008, 04:47 PM

653 posts

so far i dun c any other brand @ LYP
ytd i saw c-zone sold 2 sapphire 4670
Punish
post Sep 15 2008, 06:01 PM

2,023 posts

my bro play css 24/7, as u all know CS:S using steamengine tat fancy ATi right....

so i tot 4670 should be better than 9600gso in CS:S....am i right..??

cuzz for me the way you buy gc is 1st to look at the way you play game....if you doesnt need them why waste....

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 15 2008, 06:03 PM
pikacu
post Sep 15 2008, 06:04 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

even with HD3200, CS:S can be played smoothly at medium setting =)

4670........will be much better
Skylinestar
post Sep 15 2008, 06:15 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

the main purpose for 4670 is not just about mainstream gaming. the other very important feature is 7.1 LPCM hrough HDMI (only 4850 has it) to satisfy HTPC kaki.
AMDAthlon
post Sep 15 2008, 06:41 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Pikacu
The HD3200 not bad leh.High settings to CS..where got medium tongue.gif
zhen^wei
post Sep 15 2008, 06:59 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Sep 15 2008, 10:19 AM)
theres no tax for pc products la  sweat.gif
transport fees, and they need to earn enough to cover the warranty issue.
bugpakoo
post Sep 15 2008, 08:26 PM

91 posts

Clearer now?
nice info there....

thx
TSzer0hour
post Sep 15 2008, 11:30 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 15 2008, 06:15 PM)
the main purpose for 4670 is not just about mainstream gaming. the other very important feature is 7.1 LPCM hrough HDMI (only 4850 has it) to satisfy HTPC kaki.
Ooo I didn't know this. Strong la - another GC candidate for my HTPC project =p
tech3910
post Sep 16 2008, 12:55 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 16 2008, 12:30 AM)
Ooo I didn't know this. Strong la - another GC candidate for my HTPC project =p
gainward 4670 got all the port........... thumbup.gif
Siu_Keong
post Sep 16 2008, 12:59 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 16 2008, 12:55 AM)
gainward 4670 got all the port........... thumbup.gif
YA just saw from lehteck post, the 4670 have a lot port, very nice just havent reach M'sia. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/783556/+440 rclxms.gif
syazone
post Sep 16 2008, 01:47 AM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Sep 15 2008, 06:59 PM)
transport fees, and they need to earn enough to cover the warranty issue.
nonsense i guess.... distributer can sell 4850 at RRP price even at 1st launch... why not 4670? hmm.gif
fazco85
post Sep 16 2008, 04:23 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(syazone @ Sep 16 2008, 01:47 AM)
nonsense i guess.... distributer can sell 4850 at RRP price even at 1st launch... why not 4670?  hmm.gif
maybe they know this card'll be hot, and they wanna make some extra money outta it.

classic business.
ronho
post Sep 16 2008, 08:05 AM

1,356 posts

omg, this is awesome....was considering the 3850...so now no need to waste time...4670 for sure
kurtkob78
post Sep 16 2008, 08:28 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

I think this card will be available after raya.
zhen^wei
post Sep 16 2008, 08:38 AM

4,057 posts

nope. available before raya. and this week (HIS)
pcdlsy
post Sep 17 2008, 06:16 PM

125 posts

the port with blue colour...wat port that call?
since i have read a lot article about this product....but since i cant get any product v blue port unless gainward 1
ronho
post Sep 17 2008, 06:26 PM

1,356 posts

blue port is the norma, vga port for normal monitors bro...
pcdlsy
post Sep 17 2008, 06:30 PM

125 posts

oic..
since many other company's 4670 dun hv vga port....any solution if i have only vga port and not gotta to buy gainward 4670?
Siu_Keong
post Sep 17 2008, 06:44 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(pcdlsy @ Sep 17 2008, 06:30 PM)
oic..
since many other company's 4670 dun hv vga port....any solution if i have only vga port and not gotta to buy gainward 4670?
U can have the dvi to vga port convertor if you wanna display to the vga port monitor. Some of the product is supplied it as well in a package, my current HIS 1600XT got include 2 of it.
jepertine90
post Sep 17 2008, 06:46 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(pcdlsy @ Sep 17 2008, 06:30 PM)
oic..
U can buy a dvi-to-vga port... which cost more or less rm 15-20... it act as a converter... cause i'm having the problem too... XD... using readon HD4670... cause large fans like sapphire is not necessary since it consume less power and the temp is round 60c at peak
pcdlsy
post Sep 17 2008, 06:48 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 17 2008, 06:46 PM)
U can buy a dvi-to-vga port... which cost more or less rm 15-20... it act as a converter... cause i'm having the problem too... XD... using readon HD4670... cause large fans like sapphire is not necessary since it consume less power and the temp is round 60c at peak
so which brand u going to buy?
without fan ?
Siu_Keong
post Sep 17 2008, 06:57 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 17 2008, 06:46 PM)
Pal, u have bought the HD4670? drool.gif So how's it, so far so good? Just give some reviews since no so many ppl had bought it, thanks.
pcdlsy
post Sep 17 2008, 06:59 PM

125 posts

ya..
i would like to know more on it...hope to hunt for 1 once the price drop below 300
hiakhiak
nagflar
post Sep 17 2008, 07:12 PM

1,813 posts

if 4670 rm3xx . with rm3xx i will go for 3850/3870 .
jepertine90
post Sep 17 2008, 07:18 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(pcdlsy @ Sep 17 2008, 06:48 PM)
so which brand u going to buy?
without fan ?
not without fans... is just a smaller fans... not those iceq and stuff...
cyew86
post Sep 17 2008, 07:23 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Sep 17 2008, 07:12 PM)
if 4670 rm3xx . with rm3xx  i will go for 3850/3870 .
it's RM349 in ALL IT
the benchmark shows that 4670 wins 3850 though
jepertine90
post Sep 17 2008, 07:24 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

so far so good... cause i'm using a 19" wide... so most game and graphic not problem at all... temp is good really good... u can barely hear the fan sound at peak condition... 5/5 star for this GPU in my review...
Even in Crysis full detail at 1280x1024 and normal detail 1600x1200 run very smoothly... cause that time i'm worrying about the PSU since my PSU only 450w... this GPU can use w/o changing to 500w or 550w PSU which can save a couple of rm100++... but still compare my friend's HD3850, still lose a little... compare to HD4850... no doub 4850 win miles away... XD

ADD: not all features lose to hd3850... as some game HD4670 perform much better than hd3850...

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Sep 17 2008, 07:31 PM
kurtkob78
post Sep 17 2008, 10:05 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

HD4670 performs good at antialiasing. I'm also going to buy a HD4670 smile.gif But need a dual core first. Now is pentium4 2.66GHz blush.gif

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Sep 17 2008, 10:06 PM
cyew86
post Sep 17 2008, 10:09 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 17 2008, 07:24 PM)
so far so good... cause i'm using a 19" wide... so most game and graphic not problem at all... temp is good really good... u can barely hear the fan sound at peak condition... 5/5 star for this GPU in my review...
Even in Crysis full detail at 1280x1024 and normal detail 1600x1200 run very smoothly... cause that time i'm worrying about the PSU since my PSU only 450w... this GPU can use w/o changing to 500w or 550w PSU which can save a couple of rm100++... but still compare my friend's HD3850, still lose a little... compare to HD4850... no doub 4850 win miles away... XD

ADD: not all features lose to hd3850... as some game HD4670 perform much better than hd3850...
crysis full detail as in MAXIMUM? shocking.gif
no FPS drop?
TSzer0hour
post Sep 17 2008, 10:48 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 07:23 PM)
it's RM349 in ALL IT
the benchmark shows that 4670 wins 3850 though
Rockrock has a sapphire one for RM320. Damn cheap for a new card.
cyew86
post Sep 17 2008, 10:53 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

for rm29 difference i'd rather stick with ALL IT though since it is nearer to my place tongue.gif but is it still a premium price? i read that the price should be below RM300
Siu_Keong
post Sep 17 2008, 10:58 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:09 PM)
no FPS drop?
If really no FPS drop then i really suprise and can't wait for my new baby arrive. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:53 PM)
for rm29 difference i'd rather stick with ALL IT though since it is nearer to my place tongue.gif but is it still a premium price? i read that the price should be below RM300
If the price is RM349 for the normal 4670, why not get the HIS HD4670 turbo at the price RM365 from zhen^wei. hmm.gif Since that is the overclocked version i believe will have more better performance.

This post has been edited by Siu_Keong: Sep 17 2008, 10:58 PM
jepertine90
post Sep 17 2008, 11:33 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:09 PM)
no FPS drop?
depends on ur lcd i think??? cause i'm using a 19"... so full detail at 1280x1024 is not a problem to me... FPS drop a little... but still no problem to game crysis... u wont even notice... tongue.gif
cyew86
post Sep 17 2008, 11:38 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

depends on my CRT tongue.gif only using 17" CRT so there is no need for me to get a high end card, HD4670 is a good choice smile.gif
Siu_Keong
post Sep 17 2008, 11:55 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 11:38 PM)
depends on my CRT tongue.gif only using 17" CRT so there is no need for me to get a high end card, HD4670 is a good choice smile.gif
Then depend of my LCD, 4670 might not a good choice for me. sad.gif cry.gif
cyew86
post Sep 18 2008, 12:06 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

big screen comes with big price laugh.gif
one of the reason why i am sticking to my 17" CRT
rosihan
post Sep 18 2008, 12:12 AM

*\(-_-)/*
1,223 posts

wah so cheap
TSzer0hour
post Sep 18 2008, 12:12 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:53 PM)
Fair enough if you live in PJ. I hate digital mall though - no parking one. And if you go there in daytime there's a 50/50 risk of MBPJ officers causing havoc. Lol.
jepertine90
post Sep 18 2008, 12:13 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

just sold my ati readon hd4670 to my friend... now waitting gainward's hd4670 to arrive... then i'll stick to that... XD
pikacu
post Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 18 2008, 12:12 AM)
Fair enough if you live in PJ. I hate digital mall though - no parking one. And if you go there in daytime there's a 50/50 risk of MBPJ officers causing havoc. Lol.
can park at taman perumahan behind digi mal brows.gif

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM
cyew86
post Sep 18 2008, 12:17 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 18 2008, 12:12 AM)
can go buy in Ikano when lepak there, they have a new branch there biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM)
can park at taman perumahan behind digi mal brows.gif
yeah, but sometimes hard to find parking space there also
Siu_Keong
post Sep 18 2008, 12:20 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:17 AM)
can go buy in Ikano when lepak there, they have a new branch there biggrin.gif
yeah, but sometimes hard to find parking space there also
If you are allIT member, u can earn point and free 1 hour packing also at low yat. Dunno applicable in the Ikano branch or not. smile.gif
TSzer0hour
post Sep 18 2008, 12:21 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Oo I didn't know there was a branch in Ikano. I live in KL though, so LYP is actually closer for me =p
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 18 2008, 01:53 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:13 AM)
just sold my ati readon hd4670 to my friend... now waitting gainward's hd4670 to arrive... then i'll stick to that... XD
OMGWTF doh.gif why do you buy the same item all over again laugh.gif its not like you will gain 50% boost what tongue.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 18 2008, 01:54 AM
diadokmai
post Sep 18 2008, 08:35 AM

941 posts

Still considering to buy 4670 or 3850..for HIS gfx..
shocking.gif shakehead.gif sweat.gif
jepertine90
post Sep 18 2008, 12:01 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Sep 18 2008, 01:53 AM)
OMGWTF doh.gif why do you buy the same item all over again laugh.gif its not like you will gain 50% boost what tongue.gif
cause my friend say he want to buy Hd4670, but i got it,tried it and i love it... but i'm a gainward fans!!!! so sold the previous 1 to my friend ori price... WAhahaha... then wait for gainward version to come out...

PROUD to be a gainward user!!! HD 4850 on my 1st gaming RIG!!!

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Sep 18 2008, 12:21 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 18 2008, 06:07 PM

1,955 posts

Dudes, Thundermatch has it for RM320 too.

(LYP pricing.)

Should be best price in Melaka by a far shot.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 18 2008, 06:07 PM
cyew86
post Sep 18 2008, 06:14 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Sep 18 2008, 08:35 AM)
Still considering to buy 4670 or 3850..for HIS gfx..
shocking.gif  shakehead.gif  sweat.gif
HIS 4670 ICEQ Turbo selling for RM365, that card is a beauty laugh.gif
jepertine90
post Sep 18 2008, 06:39 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 18 2008, 06:14 PM)
HIS 4670 ICEQ Turbo selling for RM365, that card is a beauty laugh.gif
i heard that gainward's hd4670 arriving next week in m'sia... izit true??? can anyone comform this??
pcdlsy
post Sep 18 2008, 06:54 PM

125 posts

may i know the selling price?
jepertine90
post Sep 18 2008, 07:00 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(pcdlsy @ Sep 18 2008, 06:54 PM)
may i know the selling price?
sapphire's hd4670 cost bout rm330 while HIS iceQ turbo cost bout rm360... other haven arrive yet...
pikacu
post Sep 18 2008, 11:45 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 18 2008, 06:39 PM)
i heard that gainward's hd4670 arriving next week in m'sia... izit true??? can anyone comform this??
netraid say Gainward 4670 will be arrive at october
jepertine90
post Sep 19 2008, 12:06 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 18 2008, 11:45 PM)
netraid say Gainward 4670 will be arrive at october
aw... sad... need to wait about 2 weeks more... can i live on??? cry.gif
Punish
post Sep 19 2008, 03:45 PM

2,023 posts

how far do u guys recon the price of the 4670 will drop...?? how much longer do i have to wait..

and can we say tat 4670 is a par with 3850...?

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 19 2008, 03:47 PM
pcdlsy
post Sep 19 2008, 03:46 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 19 2008, 03:45 PM)
how far do u guys recon the price of the 4670 will drop...?? how much longer do i have to wait..

GTG
1 month perhaps
XiuKeong
post Sep 19 2008, 04:19 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

GTG
Not sure when since this is the 1st batch...Not everything 4670 is better than 3850.
jepertine90
post Sep 19 2008, 04:50 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

GTG
wait till others brand out... then the price of the very 1st batch should drop... 4670 can say par with 3850... but not 100% par... is like 50% 50%

Added on September 19, 2008, 5:09 pmanyway if you guyz can wait... there's another batch of hd4670 which comes with 1gb and ddr3... is ddr3... not gddr3... woot... but gona take sometimes.. i think...

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Sep 19 2008, 05:09 PM
pcdlsy
post Sep 19 2008, 06:14 PM

125 posts

definitely i m waiting...since i dun hv enough budget to chg psu and gc
eeheh
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 12:03 AM

2,023 posts

finaly i got my brother rig the Sapphire HD4670....but shockingly after i install the driver i cannot enter windows.....just a blue blank screen...what the...? my brother using old 17inch CRT monitor btw

can somebody help me...?

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 20 2008, 12:03 AM
ronho
post Sep 20 2008, 12:21 AM

1,356 posts

aii bro..what happened???? all wait drool.gif drool.gif for 4670 and you . cry.gif ... try again to resit card and if no work, try uninstall drivers and reinstall to see.....no one give this comment yet for the new gc..
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 01:02 AM

2,023 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 12:03 AM)
finaly i got my brother rig the Sapphire HD4670....but shockingly after i install the driver i cannot enter windows.....just a blue blank screen...what the...? my brother using old 17inch CRT monitor btw

can somebody help me...?

GTG
somebody help me...

finaly i got it working after i switch to my 19 icnh LCD....for some reason the card seems doesnt work with the CRT monitor....can somebody explain what is happening...? can somebody help me how can i make this card work with CRTss.... doh.gif

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 20 2008, 01:05 AM
smokey
post Sep 20 2008, 01:06 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

maybe the default resolution is higher than what ur crt can support?
tech3910
post Sep 20 2008, 01:06 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 02:02 AM)
somebody help me...

finaly i got it working after i switch to my 19 icnh LCD....for some reason the card doesnt want to work with the CRT monitor i guest....can somebody explain what is happening...?

GTG
sum ATI card indeed has issues wit CRT monitor.

try the latest CCC8.9. if can't, try older version.
pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 01:08 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 01:02 AM)
somebody help me...

finaly i got it working after i switch to my 19 icnh LCD....for some reason the card seems doesnt work with the CRT monitor....can somebody explain what is happening...? can somebody help me how can i make this card work with CRTss.... doh.gif

GTG
Cannot enter windows, blue blank screen? O_O

humm, i do think this might have something with the refresh rate...
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 01:13 AM

2,023 posts

err 1 more problem....now the pc detect driverless device on the same PCI bus2,device 0, founction 1, with the hd4670...what the tut is tat...

GTG
pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 01:16 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

do you install the Catalyst 8.9 correctly? try to install all the features...not just drivers.

maybe that files are component for HDMI things..
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 02:44 AM

2,023 posts

where got cat 8.9 support 4670...cannot ler....ahh now i hav to replace my lcd again...LOL doh.gif

in other way theres no proper driver yet for 4670... cry.gif

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 20 2008, 02:45 AM
pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 02:51 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 02:44 AM)
where got cat 8.9 support 4670...cannot ler....ahh now i hav to replace my lcd again...LOL doh.gif

GTG
ah, i forgot about that, sorry >.<

tried the refresh rate? i forgot wut is crt refresh rate..

you do use DVI->VGA dongle, right?
adie82
post Sep 20 2008, 03:02 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

try boot windows with safe mode and change display setting there...
Calvin22
post Sep 20 2008, 03:12 AM

462 posts

yea , become 4550 =="
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 03:18 AM

2,023 posts

err...i wonder why in the review they said they use the CAT 8.8......? i try donwload the cat 8.8 and the result is still the same...."no driver found for your hardware"....do they got a Mod version of cat 8.8..?

GTG

Added on September 20, 2008, 3:26 am1 more bout the performance....

hmm...i cannot say much...cuzz my brother pc lousy one....single core AMD64 with just 512mb...play css for a couple of scrim...the fps is good, can go up to over 100fps, BUT it drop drastically....sometime even touch 25+ fps....even lousyer if compare with my bro prevs card 7600GT, the 7600gt cannot climb much but max can drop onni 40fps, still playable.....i recon its because my bro pcs is so lousy....lazy to try his 4670 in my rig dow, sorry...

GTG

Added on September 20, 2008, 5:13 amupdate....

i try the 4670 in my rig....alot of the problem gone...the driver problem oso gone...new problem pop in....after i finish installing the stock driver....the "Severe error" pop up...i just ignore it and continue....

wanna here something...i strest test with css with 1024 rest....the result its....its pwn my 88GT OMG.....@.@.....88gt u noob...

88gt only manage to get 209fps while the new champ 4670 got 228fps...

so if you into CSS 4670 i think is a better buy....

GTG

Added on September 20, 2008, 6:24 amok 1 more thing i discover....

dow the 4670 can climb high ping...it also lost fps faster compare to 88gt....88gt can hold it at 70 while the 4670 only manage to get 55...in css offcuzz...the picture quality and detail in 4670 is obviously better than 88gt...

the score for my 3dmark06 unregister is 8K..all default...

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 20 2008, 06:27 AM
ronho
post Sep 20 2008, 07:55 AM

1,356 posts

hahhh bro..the 4670 not bad eh ? how come lose fps fast ?? bcos of the image quality is better ?? maybe cannot have both lah for this price abd 128 bit only....anyway what you think of the 4670 vs the 8800gt--is it 512mb also ?
yukiz
post Sep 20 2008, 09:35 AM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 12:03 AM)

can somebody help me...?

GTG
i am facing the same problem...but after reading ur another post...
guess its time to change my old 17" crt monitor...

can i ask,is there any other option beside replacing the monitor...

btw,i am using a intel motherboard instead of AMD...

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 20 2008, 01:06 AM)
sum ATI card indeed has issues wit CRT monitor.

try the latest CCC8.9. if can't, try older version.
wat is CCC8.9...?

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 02:44 AM)

GTG
agree with the highlighted part...
now i ony got d cd niah...

This post has been edited by yukiz: Sep 20 2008, 09:36 AM
lotiman2003
post Sep 20 2008, 09:52 AM

1,367 posts

Go safe mode uninstall the driver then re-install again.
yukiz
post Sep 20 2008, 10:00 AM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

tried jor...still end up with black screen...

i even tried unplug n replug the graphic card from the motherboard...
pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 11:26 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

humm, two people problem with CRT 17" ...

try to email to ATI? maybe they got the solution..

Added on September 20, 2008, 11:28 am
QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 03:18 AM)
dow the 4670 can climb high ping...it also lost fps faster compare to 88gt....88gt can hold it at 70 while the 4670 only manage to get 55...in css offcuzz...the picture quality and detail in 4670 is obviously better than 88gt...

the score for my 3dmark06 unregister is 8K..all default...

GTG
This problem most likely due to driver not yet mature...

maybe hotfix will soon released / wait for CCC 8.10

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 20 2008, 11:28 AM
AMDAthlon
post Sep 20 2008, 12:35 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Just try download the CCC 8.9 and install it.It MIGHT works.Give it a try?
pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 12:48 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 20 2008, 12:35 PM)
Just try download the CCC 8.9 and install it.It MIGHT works.Give it a try?
CCC 8.9 does not support 4670 yet...
AMDAthlon
post Sep 20 2008, 12:49 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Yea i know it doesnt support.But if install it,it wont detect it?
cyew86
post Sep 20 2008, 12:57 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

w00t, HD4670 incompatible with CRT? darn, that means i could not purchase it now
ronho
post Sep 20 2008, 02:21 PM

1,356 posts

hmmm how come new gc cannot be used on crt ??? doesn't make much sense to me unless there is bog flaw in the drivers....comments ?? netraid ??
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 02:48 PM

2,023 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 20 2008, 12:48 PM)
CCC 8.9 does not support 4670 yet...
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 20 2008, 12:49 PM)
Yea i know it doesnt support.But if install it,it wont detect it?
yup install ive try oledy...Cannot find any driver for your hardware error popup...

bout the 88gt vs 4670 thinggy....ATM iam still sticking with 88gt...cuzz it can handle low fps much better....maybe no proper driver yet for 4670....

realtime css fps:

8800gt = 65-100fps

HD4670 = 50-140fps

GTG

yukiz
post Sep 20 2008, 02:49 PM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 20 2008, 12:57 PM)
w00t, HD4670 incompatible with CRT? darn, that means i could not purchase it now
better wait...dun regret like me...
now i have to bring and ask one of my frends to find the solution...

if still cant find the solution,most probably i will have to buy the lcd liao..
cyew86
post Sep 20 2008, 03:23 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

have u tried e-mailing ATI for technical support? i think it's most probably drivers problem. use back old card first if u do not want to waste the money, or if u have extra moolah, then LCD all the way biggrin.gif

yeah, i will wait until this problem is solved. thanks for the reminder

This post has been edited by cyew86: Sep 20 2008, 03:23 PM
kenny79
post Sep 20 2008, 06:14 PM

3,200 posts

seem d ati 4670 stil without d proper driver now....... waiting n c how about d driver later b4 we buy ..... even d ati office website also dun have a proper drive just ccc8.9
XiuKeong
post Sep 20 2008, 07:19 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Hmm...So now 4670 can be used in LCD or still got problem?
Punish
post Sep 20 2008, 07:43 PM

2,023 posts

LCD no problem, the problem is with CRT...is not a problem really...its a bug, the card set hi resolution and refresh rate by default.....as the result of that the CRT cannot work propely...

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 20 2008, 07:46 PM
XiuKeong
post Sep 20 2008, 07:52 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Hmm...Lucky me. Then I wanted to use for my CS:S brows.gif
cyew86
post Sep 20 2008, 08:18 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 20 2008, 07:43 PM)
LCD no problem, the problem is with CRT...is not a problem really...its a bug, the card set hi resolution and refresh rate by default.....as the result of that the CRT cannot work propely...

GTG
any way to debug it? would booting into safe mode then change the resolution and refresh rate help?
ronho
post Sep 20 2008, 09:35 PM

1,356 posts

can tell what the default refresh rate is bro ?? some crt has good rates too tx
zhen^wei
post Sep 20 2008, 09:36 PM

4,057 posts

I think the problem can be solve if latest driver come out.
NetRaid
post Sep 20 2008, 09:56 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ronho @ Sep 20 2008, 02:21 PM)
hmmm  how come new gc cannot be used on crt ???  doesn't make much sense to me unless there is bog flaw in the drivers....comments ??  netraid ??
Our Gainward 4670 comes with all ports: D-Sub (CRT), DVI, HDMI and Display Port. So users with CRT can connect directly to Gainward 4670 without any converter.

Further, Gainward 4670 Custom Cooler has an anti-static, anti-dust PCB cover for protection.

pikacu
post Sep 20 2008, 10:02 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

any test from netraid lab, using 17" crt monitor??
cyew86
post Sep 20 2008, 10:16 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

how much does Gainward HD4670 cost? any testing being done on whether it work on 17" CRT or not?
commandboy
post Sep 20 2008, 11:36 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(ronho @ Sep 20 2008, 02:21 PM)
hmmm  how come new gc cannot be used on crt ???  doesn't make much sense to me unless there is bog flaw in the drivers....comments ??  netraid ??
46series i no comment; but i can say 4850 ref can use in 17inch crt with max 1280*1024 60refresh rate only coz...im using it.
cyew86
post Sep 21 2008, 12:00 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

is this the end of the great CRT era?
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 12:06 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 21 2008, 12:00 AM)
is this the end of the great CRT era?
CRT is already been buried in the HISTORY, since 2 years ago..
Now (september, 2008 onward) we are talking about HDMI, and hi - resolution display LCD, 22" and more..
and the future is all about DISPLAY PORT connection and more than 24" LCD, and full 1080P blue ray support with 16:9 aspect ratio.

-Peter-

Added on September 21, 2008, 12:14 am
QUOTE(commandboy @ Sep 20 2008, 11:36 PM)
46series i no comment; but i can say 4850 ref can use in 17inch crt with max 1280*1024 60refresh rate only coz...im using it.
sorry to say that.. the problem is with U CRT monitor, not display card.
That's the 17inch crt only can support the maximum resolutions of 1280*1024 - 60refresh rate

This post has been edited by viperiii: Sep 21 2008, 12:14 AM
Punish
post Sep 21 2008, 12:34 AM

2,023 posts

dun be so scare bout the CRT issue le guys....iam sure ATi will fix it ASAP..

GTG
XiuKeong
post Sep 21 2008, 01:53 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Yeah. For now, those LCD users can be relief =)
ronho
post Sep 21 2008, 10:13 AM

1,356 posts

bro viper....don't be like that lah..plenty of crt users still around ---we also want to use the latest better cards.......cannot be need to change to lcd man....we all chop money ?
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 10:20 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(ronho @ Sep 21 2008, 10:13 AM)
bro viper....don't be like that lah..plenty of crt users still around ---we also want to use the latest better cards.......cannot be need to change to lcd man....we all chop money  ?
I think it is the time that all the CRT user to change to the LCD monitor.
Wait for the BENQ E2200HD monitor and get 1.. U wont be regret...
after doing research of tones of LCD monitors over the internet..
I found that BENQ E2200HD is the best bargain..

Why use LCD monitor?
1. because you can stay long time at your computer without feeling much fatigues of your eyes.
2. good for health, as it emitting low radiations as compared to old CRT monitors.
3. good for health, as the CRT monitors radiation will kill a lot of blood cells.
4. energy saving, LCD monitor consume less energy than CRT monitor..
5. etc..

But you people will need to wait for while for waiting the BENQ E2200HD monitor to be released at least on the end of this year.
So, keep saving now.. but I know it is very hard to save as the global economy is slowing now at the moment..
Everyone is living hard now, including myself too..

-Peter-
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 10:33 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

@Punish

I posted ur problem to amd game! forum...lets wait for reply
Siu_Keong
post Sep 21 2008, 12:21 PM

218 posts

Hi all, so how is the situation now? Make me not confident for the 4670 card now. shakehead.gif
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 12:34 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 21 2008, 12:21 PM)
Hi all, so how is the situation now? Make me not confident for the 4670 card now.  shakehead.gif
humm, yukiz problem solved....lets wait him/her post here
DunkyKung
post Sep 21 2008, 01:28 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 21 2008, 12:34 PM)
humm, yukiz problem solved....lets wait him/her post here
where ATI card goes,there is issues.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 01:31 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Sep 21 2008, 01:28 PM)
where ATI card goes,there is issues.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif
no la laugh.gif

commonly happen to new card with immature driver laugh.gif
alvinfks78
post Sep 21 2008, 05:25 PM

1,127 posts

Hey Guys,

I have a AVF Power Supply 450 W. wondering if you Guys know if it will work with a 4670?

Alvin
viperiii
post Sep 21 2008, 05:43 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Sep 21 2008, 05:25 PM)
Hey Guys,

I have a AVF Power Supply 450 W. wondering if you Guys know if it will work with a 4670?

Alvin

you can work with it for sure!! dont worry..

pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 05:44 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

4670 doesn't even require any external power from PSU...

so iam positively think that there will be no problem smile.gif
Punish
post Sep 21 2008, 09:29 PM

2,023 posts

dun be to sure la bro...because the idle power the 4670 need just 5 or 6watt less than the 3850...just be carefull...

hey driver faster la release...T_T

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 21 2008, 09:30 PM
alvinfks78
post Sep 21 2008, 09:47 PM

1,127 posts

Thanks all for advice.

I was a bit worried as my power supply is not a branded one and cost only RM 45.

Also, the All-It guy says I will needed a branded power supply like i-cute for it to work properly.

So, wasn't sure.
pikacu
post Sep 21 2008, 10:02 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 21 2008, 09:29 PM)
dun be to sure la bro...because the idle power the 4670 need just 5 or 6watt less than the 3850...just be carefull...

hey driver faster la release...T_T

GTG
because the 4670 doesn't require 6pin connector laugh.gif
I personally once run X1950pro card with RM45 psu...

anyway, did you email ATI regarding ur problem? better u email them...

@alvinfks78 if you got xtra budget, try to invest on real power psu smile.gif
smokey
post Sep 21 2008, 10:05 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Sep 21 2008, 09:47 PM)
Thanks all for advice.

I was a bit worried as my power supply is not a branded one and cost only RM 45.

Also, the All-It guy says I will needed a branded power supply like i-cute for it to work properly.

So, wasn't sure.
i-cute is also chapalang le...
minimum price get acbel e2 psu le...
ronho
post Sep 22 2008, 07:37 AM

1,356 posts

psu can use but if get so geng gc , imo should upgrade psu to better abit---no need those canggih2 ones though...those rm 150 should be ok
yukiz
post Sep 22 2008, 09:58 AM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

QUOTE(yukiz @ Sep 20 2008, 02:49 PM)
better wait...dun regret like me...
now i have to bring and ask one of my frends to find the solution...

if still cant find the solution,most probably i will have to buy the lcd liao..
well,my frend did manage to install the correct driver and now i am able to login to window normally after installing the driver...
d HD4670 driver is not available on the website yet,but luckily the driver is in the cd...
cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 10:16 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

does that mean u installed the wrong driver at first? so it's ok after all?
zhen^wei
post Sep 22 2008, 10:17 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Sep 21 2008, 12:21 PM)
Hi all, so how is the situation now? Make me not confident for the 4670 card now.  shakehead.gif
I already email HIS ATI about it. waiting feedback after they do QC

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Sep 21 2008, 05:25 PM)
Hey Guys,

Alvin
can use 4670 of coz. but invest to better PSU can make ur PC last longer

Added on September 22, 2008, 10:51 amHIS side tested the 4670 iceQ turbo. no problem with CRT

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Sep 22 2008, 10:51 AM
cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 05:35 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that's good news smile.gif so maybe i will be getting one for my new rig after all

This post has been edited by cyew86: Sep 22 2008, 06:24 PM
NetRaid
post Sep 22 2008, 05:52 PM

241 posts

Gainward 4600 Series Launch Alert:

Our Gainward 4670 comes with all ports: D-Sub (CRT), DVI, HDMI and Display Port. So users with CRT can connect directly to Gainward 4670 without any converter.

Further, Gainward 4670 Custom Cooler has an anti-static, anti-dust PCB cover for protection.

Gainward HD4670 full info: http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-HD4670-512MB.pdf

For all those who are confused or uncertain with regards to ATI 4670 vs 3600 series vs 9500GT, read the link below:

ATI HD4600 series full info: http://www.netraid.com.my/ATI-HD4600-RV730...resentation.pdf

We understand everybody's concern regarding HD4670 price so we will try our best to offer the lowest price possible for this model. Wait for our good news here.

Meanwhile, please let us know if anyone is interested in 4650-512MB and 1GB but in DDR2. Thanks.

cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 06:47 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

would certainly be interested if the price is competitive smile.gif
AMDAthlon
post Sep 22 2008, 06:49 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

We would prefer DDR3 version instead of DDR2 smile.gif
cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 06:52 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

IIANM DDR2 version is for HD4650
is there a DDR3 version for HD4650?
btw, i do not see any fan on Gainward HD4670. or does it use only heatsink without fan?
awh85
post Sep 22 2008, 07:20 PM

2,156 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 22 2008, 06:52 PM)
IIANM DDR2 version is for HD4650
is there a DDR3 version for HD4650?
btw, i do not see any fan on Gainward HD4670. or does it use only heatsink without fan?
the fan is under the hood. take off the hood and u see the ugly fan. yes, its ugly.

added:

well, im not entirely sure if this is the same case, but it looks like it. from the 8600gts.

compared to this 4670

but seriously, under that hood, u cant really have positive visual confirmation on what is under it.

This post has been edited by awh85: Sep 22 2008, 07:24 PM
pikacu
post Sep 22 2008, 09:30 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

from amd slide, i can see that even 9500GT lose against HD4650 at some cases shakehead.gif

cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 09:54 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that's the way it is, sometimes nVidia wins, sometimes it get pwned by ATI
just like how AMD is being pwned by Intel right now
zhen^wei
post Sep 22 2008, 11:15 PM

4,057 posts

saw some review. 2X 4670 beat 4850 eh ?
pikacu
post Sep 22 2008, 11:17 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Sep 22 2008, 11:15 PM)
saw some review. 2X 4670 beat 4850 eh ?
yep, 2x 4670 beats 4850
chchyong89
post Sep 22 2008, 11:25 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

wuah.. but the price will higher than 4850@@
duno how the power consumption..
cyew86
post Sep 22 2008, 11:30 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Sep 22 2008, 07:20 PM)
the fan is under the hood. take off the hood and u see the ugly fan. yes, its ugly.

added:

well, im not entirely sure if this is the same case, but it looks like it. from the 8600gts.

compared to this 4670

but seriously, under that hood, u cant really have positive visual confirmation on what is under it.
honestly i prefer HIS ICEQ version better (no offense Gainward fans), but if Gainward could offer the same thing for a much cheaper price, then why not? smile.gif

ICEQ HD4670:

This post has been edited by cyew86: Sep 22 2008, 11:46 PM
NetRaid
post Sep 23 2008, 01:23 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Sep 22 2008, 07:20 PM)
Errr... that's not correct. The fansink in Gainward HD4670 is different from the the obsoleted 8600GTS. It has a much bigger fansink similar to the HD3850 model:

Anyway, the main features of Gainward HD4670 are:

* Supports Display Port, HDMI, DVI and VGA port output
* Special custom design cooling system with GAINWARD anti-static, anti-dust cover protection
* 750 MHz core speed and 2000 MHz (2x1000MHz GDDR3) memory speed

Of course buyers of Gainward cards will be entitled to join our club with many freebies, discounted games, prizes and hot pics. We will be offering some major games titles soon. Visit our Gainward club here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/783556

aric_68
post Sep 23 2008, 01:32 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 22 2008, 11:17 PM)
yep, 2x 4670 beats 4850
hi pikacu.... any review that the 2x 4670 beats 4850.....??!! blush.gif
n the 2x 4670 can beats 4850 GS or not...??? sweat.gif
XiuKeong
post Sep 23 2008, 01:45 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 22 2008, 11:30 PM)
honestly i prefer HIS ICEQ version better (no offense Gainward fans), but if Gainward could offer the same thing for a much cheaper price, then why not? smile.gif

ICEQ HD4670:
I also prefer HIS for its cooling performance. But each brand has it's features.

This post has been edited by XiuKeong: Sep 23 2008, 01:46 AM
Punish
post Sep 23 2008, 01:47 AM

2,023 posts

i dunt think this 4670 gonna have temp problem anyway...

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 23 2008, 02:46 AM
XiuKeong
post Sep 23 2008, 01:48 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Btw, the fan on the HIS got light when the cpu is turned on?
kurtkob78
post Sep 23 2008, 05:03 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

woah 2x HD4670 beats HD4850. What about power consumption ? Is it higher than single HD4850 ? I may consider buying 2 of these for my personal use smile.gif
viperiii
post Sep 23 2008, 05:50 AM

498 posts

The other solution is wait for ATI 4830 card (256bits memory bus)

Will ATI 4830 card will be a total 4670 killer??

-Peter-
rndm
post Sep 23 2008, 06:06 AM

53 posts

Why should it kill the HD4670? They are of different class after all. It's more of a 9800GT killer though...
pikacu
post Sep 23 2008, 06:08 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ Sep 23 2008, 01:32 AM)
hi pikacu.... any review that the 2x 4670 beats 4850.....??!! blush.gif
n the 2x 4670 can beats 4850 GS or not...??? sweat.gif
Hi there wave.gif

checkout post below
It wouldn't have worked.

TSzer0hour
post Sep 23 2008, 06:27 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

This says it will be above 4670 below 4850:
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...d=9533&Itemid=1

I guess it's all down to pricing.

Why would you Crossfire 4670s when a single 4850 is cheaper? Crossfire means more power, usage of both PCI-E slots cutting off upgrade path, and driver issues with dual GPU.
User_Xp
post Sep 23 2008, 06:40 AM

973 posts

hurm..many cards now are much affordable...
syazone
post Sep 23 2008, 08:31 AM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 23 2008, 01:47 AM)
i dunt think this 4670 gonna have temp problem anyway...

GTG
hey punish, how's ur problem? email to amd edi?
Cyclone1
post Sep 23 2008, 11:12 AM

408 posts

Wats this card requirement ? such as min power supply we need? pcie2? how to know if my comp support pcie2 ?
cyew86
post Sep 23 2008, 11:18 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Sep 23 2008, 11:12 AM)
Wats this card requirement ? such as min power supply we need?  pcie2? how to know if my comp support pcie2 ?
http://ati.amd.com/products/Radeonhd4600/requirements.html
zhen^wei
post Sep 23 2008, 02:07 PM

4,057 posts

PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
400 Watt or greater power supply (550 Watt for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode) is recommended
Certified power supplies are recommended. Refer to http://ati.amd.com/certifiedPSU for a list of Certified products
1GB of system memory recommended
Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
DVD playback requires DVD drive
Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive and full 1080p display requires a 1080p-capable monitor
To enable dual mode ATI CrossFireX™ technology, a second ATI Radeon™ HD 4600 Series graphics card, an ATI CrossFireX Ready motherboard and one ATI CrossFireX Bridge Interconnect cable (included) is required.

chapalan 450watt i think can run liao.

Added on September 23, 2008, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 23 2008, 01:48 AM)
Btw, the fan on the HIS got light when the cpu is turned on?
not light. but UV Effect

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Sep 23 2008, 02:11 PM
cyew86
post Sep 23 2008, 02:16 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that means we have to get a CCFL kit or something?
zhen^wei
post Sep 23 2008, 03:06 PM

4,057 posts

nola. CCFL have to buy ur own
cyew86
post Sep 23 2008, 03:08 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that was what i meant, lol laugh.gif
i am still waiting for the new driver release, afraid that it would not work on my CRT
zhen^wei
post Sep 23 2008, 03:22 PM

4,057 posts

haha. sorry i thought u said the ccfl foc together. (blur)

the HIS there tested with CRT> no have issue.
XiuKeong
post Sep 24 2008, 12:07 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Sep 23 2008, 02:07 PM)
not light. but UV Effect
Hmm..Not bad. Can match with my rig colour.
diadokmai
post Sep 24 2008, 08:20 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Sep 23 2008, 03:22 PM)
haha. sorry i thought u said the ccfl foc together. (blur)

the HIS there tested with CRT> no have issue.
so his 4670 dont hv probs with crt now..sure?
awh85
post Sep 24 2008, 08:26 AM

2,156 posts

he means specifically with the HIS version.
Punish
post Sep 24 2008, 11:19 AM

2,023 posts

no more ppl wanna buy the 4670 oledy...all wait for the new driver to release i think.....just recently Ati release cat8.9 right....so its gonna be quite a long wait i guest....

GTG
Skylinestar
post Sep 24 2008, 06:05 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 24 2008, 11:19 AM)
no more ppl wanna buy the 4670 oledy...all wait for the new driver to release i think.....just recently Ati release cat8.9 right....so its gonna be quite a long wait i guest....

GTG
...and we are waiting for the price to drop. doh.gif
pikacu
post Sep 24 2008, 11:03 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

i tink RM320 by gainward quite ok edi drool.gif
Punish
post Sep 24 2008, 11:51 PM

2,023 posts

i bot my friend 4670 for RM310....so i guest...the price is really going down...but donno how low...

GTG
z3alousn3ss
post Sep 25 2008, 09:04 AM

492 posts

Meaning when we turn on, no light at all?

This post has been edited by z3alousn3ss: Sep 25 2008, 09:12 AM
cyew86
post Sep 25 2008, 09:37 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

no light, but if u install CCFL in ur CPU, u will get that UV effect
jepertine90
post Sep 25 2008, 12:49 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

i've been searching lately... and i found out that some ppl having problem with hd4670... as in the mobo cant detect the GPU, and need to set it in the BIOS. Hmm... anyone having this problem when installing this GPU??
AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 03:37 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

user posted image user posted image

Discussion Thread V4

HD 4600 and HD 4800 System Requirement

News regarding Future and Current Cards..

Software,Overclocking Tools & Benchmark

Review

AMD/ATi HD 4870 X2 and Crossfired HD4870 X2 Review
AMD/ATi HD 4670 Review
AMD/ATi HD 4850 Review
AMD/ATi HD 4870&4850 Review
AMD/ATi HD 4850&4870 "Special" AA
AMD/ATi HD 4870 1GB Review

History,Overclocking Thread & Club Thread

AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V2
AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4850 Overclocking Thread
AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V3
AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4870 X2/R700 Discussion
Gainward AMD/ATi Club Thread
HIS AMD/ATi Club Thread

Etc

Support ATi Radeon@FaceBook

Credits goes to all Forumers.
©2008 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Sep 29 2008, 02:35 AM
post Sep 25 2008, 03:41 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

any rumoring for HD4850X2 ?
AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 03:42 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Yes,news has been updated..
minmin
post Sep 25 2008, 04:33 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Sep 25 2008, 12:31 PM)
did you update your GC driver?
yeah latest 8.9

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 25 2008, 01:57 PM)
What CPU u using?
AmdX2 6000

KiddoKit
post Sep 25 2008, 04:46 PM

36 posts

whats the best brand for 4870 in the market now?
iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 04:54 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(KiddoKit @ Sep 25 2008, 04:46 PM)
a nice recurring question. rclxms.gif doh.gif
what do you mean by best? highest clock speed? highest memory speed? the coldest? the best performance per ringgit?
i dun think there is a single-best-all-rounder.
AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 05:08 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Haha..Every brand has its pros and cons..But assuming by overclocking maybe Gainward HD 4870 GS? biggrin.gif
lotiman2003
post Sep 25 2008, 05:15 PM

1,367 posts

Gainward 4870GS and Sapphire 4870 Toxic seems like a solid card.
iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 05:16 PM

286 posts

i like 4870GS too! the gals are hot too!
too bad there is no 4870 IceQ...

AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 05:18 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Im sure there is..but maybe still in progress?
Why should it have?
Because HD3850 and HD3870 has ICEQ also wor..so they must make the same thing right?
mois
post Sep 25 2008, 05:20 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

thought thread will stay until october?
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 05:28 PM

893 posts

waiting 4870 iceq T.T
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 05:29 PM

14,037 posts

HIS is probably trying to push their card to beat the Golden Samples tongue.gif. Since their 4850 clock wasn't up to par against the 4850 GS on the core speed. 685 versus 700.
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 05:30 PM

893 posts

anyway got any people got his 4870 turbo review?

iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 05:35 PM

286 posts

i dun think there is a 4870 iceq4, zhen^wei posted in his sales thread before. not 100% sure though.
birdrew
post Sep 25 2008, 05:48 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(KiddoKit @ Sep 25 2008, 04:46 PM)
Buy the cheapest 4870.. Search for the best overclocked bios.. And flashed your card to the bios.. thumbup.gif
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 05:50 PM

14,037 posts

Check this out, HIS claims that ICEQ4 beats 3rd party coolers in closed case environment. ._.

http://www.hisdigital.com/html/iceq4.html

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 25 2008, 05:50 PM
pikacu
post Sep 25 2008, 05:53 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

i thought v4 won't happen till october tongue.gif

lotiman2003
post Sep 25 2008, 06:03 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 25 2008, 05:50 PM)
Check this out, HIS claims that ICEQ4 beats 3rd party coolers in closed case environment. ._.

http://www.hisdigital.com/html/iceq4.html
I personally think the cooler which blow to the side (IceQ4) is not that efficient compare to those blow both side (4850GS). Any thought?
AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 06:17 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Well..At first yeah..but since the V3 already way much pages..have to create new one.
Waiting RV710 and RV770 LE biggrin.gif
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 06:22 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 25 2008, 06:03 PM)
I personally think the cooler which blow to the side (IceQ4) is not that efficient compare to those blow both side (4850GS). Any thought?
Hard to say, but anyone with both cards can try it out? rclxms.gif Though, make sure it isn't a one sided review notworthy.gif
KiddoKit
post Sep 25 2008, 06:49 PM

36 posts

Im looking for a normal clock 4870...but not sure which brand I should buy.Is Gigabyte a good brand?
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 06:51 PM

14,037 posts

Normal clock means reference card? In that case, pick the cheapest or the longest warranty. They are all the same for reference cards.

But IMO you should go for those with their own cooling system, 4800 series is not exactly a very cool running card.
_707027_
post Sep 25 2008, 07:11 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(KiddoKit @ Sep 25 2008, 06:49 PM)
Im looking for a normal clock 4870...but not sure which brand I should buy.Is Gigabyte a good brand?
gigabyte provide u 3 years warranty,as well as asus.
n i agreed with celciuz, is not a ' running cool card '. nod.gif
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 07:13 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Sep 25 2008, 07:11 PM)
gigabyte provide u 3 years warranty,as well as asus.
n i agreed with celciuz, is not a ' running cool card '.  nod.gif
bro how ur card? hot ? when load ok bo? drool.gif
_707027_
post Sep 25 2008, 07:23 PM

1,104 posts

for me,nope.
not hot.for me la. hehe
increase the fan speed at 40%,after one hour of COD4,
i got like max temp around 75 C smile.gif

idle is around 57 C.
btw im using HIS 4870 TURBO biggrin.gif

tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 07:30 PM

893 posts

yea... that card look cool , nt sure gainward better or HIS!
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 07:37 PM

14,037 posts

What is the spec of the HIS 4870 Turbo? OC-ed? or reference? I surfed around and saw the picture, seems to be running on a reference cooler instead of the ICEQ4.
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 07:38 PM

893 posts

780mhz and 4000 clock more then gainward gs 5 mhz
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 07:40 PM

14,037 posts

doh.gif HIS die die want to beat Gainward this time for the non reference 4870. Revenge for the 4850 section rclxms.gif .
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 07:44 PM

893 posts

its launch quite long ago... but still have a review...
KiddoKit
post Sep 25 2008, 07:48 PM

36 posts

I think the 4870 card is made to tahan/withstand heat...little heat wont harm them lah hehe biggrin.gif
fazco85
post Sep 25 2008, 07:55 PM

210 posts

just bought a Sapphire 4670 card few days ago from cycom. works like charm on my powerlogic 450W psu. dun see any problem so far, maybe because i'm using LCD monitor.
tellmewhy
post Sep 25 2008, 08:03 PM

893 posts

any people got the HIS 4870 Turbo review ?
picksickrick
post Sep 25 2008, 08:05 PM

299 posts

wah V4 ady...gogogo ATI...hehe..

This post has been edited by picksickrick: Sep 25 2008, 08:05 PM
lotiman2003
post Sep 25 2008, 08:21 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 25 2008, 06:22 PM)
Hard to say, but anyone with both cards can try it out?  rclxms.gif Though, make sure it isn't a one sided review  notworthy.gif
Well, because I saw most after market cooler is not utilize side blowing fan except for AKASA. But I might be wrong.
viperiii
post Sep 25 2008, 09:14 PM

498 posts

RV770LE, 4830 cards sound promising..

-Peter-
iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 09:18 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 25 2008, 06:03 PM)
i detached the cover of my 4850GS, then added a 12CM fan (not the kind of cooler master silent fan) blowing directly to it, idle temperature at around 46C.
in contrast to covered, about 5C lesser...
i think the cover is just for "decoration"...
btw, there is no ramsink and heatsink to cool power components for GS.

This post has been edited by iostream: Sep 25 2008, 09:28 PM
Punish
post Sep 25 2008, 09:24 PM

2,023 posts

it got some issue with amd64 system dow...the pc detect driverless device locate on the same slot with the gcard...

GTG
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 09:35 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(iostream @ Sep 25 2008, 09:18 PM)
i detached the cover of my 4850GS, then added a 12CM fan (not the kind of cooler master silent fan) blowing directly to it, idle temperature at around 46C.
in contrast to covered, about 5C lesser...
i think the cover is just for "decoration"...
btw, there is no ramsink and heatsink to cool power components for GS.
5C is a lot. Can post the setup? Blowing bottom to up or from side?
pikacu
post Sep 25 2008, 09:37 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

you install all the catalyst package, right?

it might be HDMI driver ... and maybe u din install the hdmi driver
NetRaid
post Sep 25 2008, 10:04 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Sep 25 2008, 07:30 PM)
yea... that card look cool , nt sure gainward better or HIS!
Hey bro, read this:

Comparison with HIS Turbo is in the specs:

GAINWARD HD4870 GOLDEN SAMPLE KEY FEATURES:

* Special custom design Tri-Heatpipe cooling system
* Low noise Dual Fan with PWR control
* Overclocked 775 MHz core speed and 4000 MHz (4x1000MHz GDDR5) memory speed
* Turbo Switch: Dual BIOS unique features to manually OC the card (modes: Normal / Turbo)
* Display Port output support
* 4-phase PWM power circuit

vs

HIS HD4870 TURBO

* No heatpipes - hotter
* Single fan using reference cooler - less cooling
* No Display Port - WQXGA (2560×1600) resolution
* Higher Price

Buy Gainward and you can join Gainward ATI club with free girls (pics oni lar) brows.gif ori games at RM39, free prizes (many winners already). Lots of goodies for everyone. rclxms.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/783556

This post has been edited by NetRaid: Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM
Punish
post Sep 25 2008, 10:10 PM

2,023 posts

hdmi driver.....??

i did install this card on intel platform not problem what so ever.... with amd64 different story..

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 25 2008, 10:10 PM
cyew86
post Sep 25 2008, 10:11 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

guess in the end we still need to wait for updated drivers
some said there is no issue with the CRT already, so i am wondering whether i should make my purchase or not
Punish
post Sep 25 2008, 10:21 PM

2,023 posts

and for wierd reason it doesnt wanna run grid and 3dmark03...

i think it must be the driver fault..

anyway usualy how long do it take for ATI to release new Cat....

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Sep 25 2008, 10:30 PM
iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 10:23 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 25 2008, 09:35 PM)
5C is a lot. Can post the setup? Blowing bottom to up or from side?
i tried both directions, the results were same. blush.gif
but when it was blowing from side, the motherboard's temperature would be lower a bit.
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 10:25 PM

14,037 posts

Basically the difference was removing the plastic cover? I'm using a CM690 with a fan (well... slow fan...) and if open up the plastic maybe can get better temp? biggrin.gif
_707027_
post Sep 25 2008, 10:26 PM

1,104 posts

haha..
nice comparison between Turbo and GS.
btw, i drool.gif at the models..

may i know 4870 GS temp at full load?
with stock fan speed.
thanks!
iostream
post Sep 25 2008, 10:31 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 25 2008, 10:25 PM)
Basically the difference was removing the plastic cover? I'm using a CM690 with a fan (well... slow fan...) and if open up the plastic maybe can get better temp? biggrin.gif
i dun think by open the plastic cover, the temperature would be better.
the fan i am using is from AllnGap, a Sanyo Denki at 7v.
is your fan a coolermaster fan?
pikacu
post Sep 25 2008, 10:37 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

Around October...
ronho
post Sep 25 2008, 10:42 PM

1,356 posts

aiyoh bro fazco with lvd no problems.....nyone with crt mind to feedback ??
AMDAthlon
post Sep 25 2008, 10:57 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Hmm..not really fair comparison o?
Because i thought GS is to compare with ICEQ Turbo?
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 11:03 PM

14,037 posts

The only non reference 4870 HIS has now is the 4870 Turbo ma. Non reference versus non reference not fair? =/
iostream
post Sep 26 2008, 12:31 AM

286 posts

haha, non-reference-clock-speed-4870-I vs non-reference-clock-speed-4870-II
however, non-reference-clock-speed-4870-I has onli a reference cooler while non-reference-clock-speed-4870-II has a 2 fans cooler. rclxms.gif
celciuz
post Sep 26 2008, 06:57 AM

14,037 posts

Still both are non reference card, unless that is just a HIS 4870 then different story rclxms.gif
jepertine90
post Sep 26 2008, 12:31 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

well this is still a new born card, sure got problem de la... i wait till oct when gainward's card out in lowyat then i go purchase!!! cant wait, too bad i no credit card or paypal acc... if not i book with netraid already... sad.gif

Added on September 26, 2008, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(fazco85 @ Sep 25 2008, 07:55 PM)
just bought a Sapphire 4670 card few days ago from cycom. works like charm on my powerlogic 450W psu. dun see any problem so far, maybe because i'm using LCD monitor.
so how izit??? good?? bad?? hws the temp???

last time i use sapphire 4670(sold to friend due to i'm a gainward fans!!!), it did a pretty good job.

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Sep 26 2008, 12:33 PM
desmond1310
post Sep 26 2008, 12:42 PM

231 posts

Celciuz, I did some mods of my own

And I ran Video Card Stability Test for 831 minutes. Full load stayed at 65-66C.

Idle.... not very impressive maybe cause I did something extra; I removed the heatsink of my 4850 GS and applied new thermal paste; Tuniq TX-2. I think upon mounting it back on, I screwed up by moving the heatsink abit too much. Smudged the thermal paste maybe.

Idles at 50 degrees after leaving my comp more than 12 hours on. I'm expecting a significant lower temp but mehhhh. Will try again next time.

Edited: Fan speed 60%

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Sep 26 2008, 12:43 PM
lotiman2003
post Sep 26 2008, 12:44 PM

1,367 posts

At last, I saw someone using Vantec PSU: desmond1310
desmond1310
post Sep 26 2008, 12:47 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 26 2008, 01:44 PM)
At last, I saw someone using Vantec PSU: desmond1310
600W with 75++% efficiency. Um. What's wrong with Vantec PSU anyway? I like the sleeves rolleyes.gif
aric_68
post Sep 26 2008, 12:54 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Sep 26 2008, 12:42 PM)
Celciuz, I did some mods of my own

And I ran Video Card Stability Test for 831 minutes. Full load stayed at 65-66C.

Idle.... not very impressive maybe cause I did something extra; I removed the heatsink of my 4850 GS and applied new thermal paste; Tuniq TX-2. I think upon mounting it back on, I screwed up by moving the heatsink abit too much. Smudged the thermal paste maybe.

Idles at 50 degrees after leaving my comp more than 12 hours on. I'm expecting a significant lower temp but mehhhh. Will try again next time.

Edited: Fan speed 60%
hi bro, can i know the rocket v vga fan got LED lights r...??? sweat.gif
celciuz
post Sep 26 2008, 12:56 PM

14,037 posts

desmond1310, hot ambient? idling at 50c seems a bit high for the 4850GS especially on 60% fan speed. Or you didn't mount back properly ka @@?
iostream
post Sep 26 2008, 01:06 PM

286 posts

desmond1310, i think by opening the cover, your temperature will drop more.

aric_68, evercool rocket v is without led.
desmond1310
post Sep 26 2008, 01:27 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 26 2008, 01:56 PM)
desmond1310, hot ambient? idling at 50c seems a bit high for the 4850GS especially on 60% fan speed. Or you didn't mount back properly ka @@?
Thermal paste pasal kot. Upon removing the heatsink for the first time, the original thermal paste is GLUED to the heatsink. Took some force to remove it. Might've smudged it badly when I was putting back on.

Last time, before I did these mods, idle temps reach 47C under 60%.

Hot ambient....... I feel my upstairs hall is cool though, with windows closed and fan on that is.

I'm still amazed at yours la; idles so low. Where are you staying?

Added on September 26, 2008, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(iostream @ Sep 26 2008, 02:06 PM)
desmond1310, i think by opening the cover, your temperature will drop more.

aric_68, evercool rocket v is without led.
Hmmm exams several days away. I'll do a thorough mod and let you guys know later when I'm free.

This post has been edited by desmond1310: Sep 26 2008, 01:31 PM
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 26 2008, 02:39 PM

13,340 posts

woah new thread finally rclxms.gif

Added on September 26, 2008, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(NetRaid @ Sep 25 2008, 10:04 PM)
Buy Gainward and you can join Gainward ATI club with free girls (pics oni lar)  brows.gif ori games at RM39, free prizes (many winners already). So you get continous goodies...  rclxms.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/783556

fuiyoh another crazy and stupid but superb marketing strategy 2 push the sales up laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 26 2008, 02:43 PM
tellmewhy
post Sep 26 2008, 02:51 PM

893 posts

@netraid thanks for ur comparison~ now clear my doubt already =X
NetRaid
post Sep 26 2008, 03:00 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Sep 26 2008, 02:51 PM)
@netraid thanks for ur comparison~ now clear my doubt already =X
Sure, we are waiting to welcome you to our Gainward club with sexy models. brows.gif

For more details and comparisons, see all the links below.

This post has been edited by NetRaid: Sep 26 2008, 03:00 PM
tellmewhy
post Sep 26 2008, 03:05 PM

893 posts

netraid is poisoning people!! argg
lotiman2003
post Sep 26 2008, 03:36 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Sep 26 2008, 12:47 PM)
600W with 75++% efficiency. Um. What's wrong with Vantec PSU anyway? I like the sleeves  rolleyes.gif
Nothing wrong with the Vantec. I was actually planning to get Vantec 550W but I can't find any review about it and no one in LYN give me any feedback about this PSU, so I just skip it.

To me it seems like a solid PSU with a very affordable price. And yeah, I love the blue sleeve cables too. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Sep 26 2008, 07:23 PM
desmond1310
post Sep 26 2008, 05:26 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 26 2008, 04:36 PM)
Nothing wrong with the Vantec. I was actually planning to get Vantec 550W but I can't find any review about it and no know in LYN give me any feedback about this PSU, so I just skip it.

To me it seems like a solid PSU with a very affordable price. And yeah, I love the blue sleeve cables too. smile.gif
biggrin.gif I chose it because of its price. Didn't think about finding a review at all :\
tellmewhy
post Sep 26 2008, 08:49 PM

893 posts

gainward 4850x2 gs sure nice brows.gif

This post has been edited by tellmewhy: Sep 26 2008, 08:49 PM
XiuKeong
post Sep 27 2008, 02:15 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Can buy directly from NetRaid?
cwk88
post Sep 27 2008, 07:42 AM

653 posts

wee.. juz bought ASUS 4670 ytd.. it work fine on my old 17" crt =/
btw.. catalyst 8.9 cant support 4670 for now..

user posted imageuser posted image
fazco85
post Sep 27 2008, 07:55 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 26 2008, 12:31 PM)

so how izit??? good?? bad?? hws the temp???

last time i use sapphire 4670(sold to friend due to i'm a gainward fans!!!), it did a pretty good job.
well...i'm quite impressed by this card (maybe because i'm a 8500GT user before tongue.gif), runs smoothly, can play a lot of new game (especially the one with AA... can turn until 16x rclxm9.gif , i only tried on bunch of games like AOEIII (all settings max...and ya old i know) and C&C3 & kane's wrath (all setting max at 1280X1024) still darn smooth....... very good card for its price tongue.gif

the fan noise is quite neglectable.... as for the temp.. when its idle its quite cool.... in the 35- 40C range... and when in Load it increases quite hot...about double the idle temp.. shocking.gif (maybe because of the small fan and heatsink) but then again im not a technical guy... so i might be wrong tongue.gif

anyways, still waiting for newer driver to see if the performance of this card could be tweaked to the max laugh.gif
AMDAthlon
post Sep 27 2008, 11:13 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

O yeah..any news on Gainward HD 4870 X2 GS??
jepertine90
post Sep 27 2008, 11:41 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

last time i test it... idle temp round 40 or something... when load... max is 70c...

Q: when gainward's hd4670 will be avalible in lowyat???
cyew86
post Sep 27 2008, 11:54 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Sep 27 2008, 07:42 AM)
wee.. juz bought ASUS 4670 ytd.. it work fine on my old 17" crt =/
btw.. catalyst 8.9 cant support 4670 for now..

user posted imageuser posted image
how much did you buy it?

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:41 AM)
last time i test it... idle temp round 40 or something... when load... max is 70c...

Q: when gainward's hd4670 will be avalible in lowyat???
anyone tried running crysis with it? tongue.gif
gainward version should be available in early october
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 27 2008, 02:19 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Sep 26 2008, 03:05 PM)
netraid is poisoning people!! argg
fuiyoh i can see then *ahem* damm!! laugh.gif doh.gif
smokey
post Sep 27 2008, 02:43 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

ati 4830 is not bad...
http://vr-zone.com/articles/Radeon_HD_4830...00_GT/6072.html

price is rumoured less than usd150 and launch on 21st oct...

This post has been edited by smokey: Sep 27 2008, 02:46 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 27 2008, 03:26 PM

1,955 posts

The performance hit is actually smaller than what is suggested, due to the 4850 being bandwidth bottlenecked already at 2Ghz GDDR3. So this is still closer to 8800GTS/8800GTX/9800GTX than 9800GT.

nVidia can't sell any card without dropping prices crazily nowadays. Ouch.
ikanayam
post Sep 27 2008, 04:39 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 27 2008, 03:26 PM)
The performance hit is actually smaller than what is suggested, due to the 4850 being bandwidth bottlenecked already at 2Ghz GDDR3. So this is still closer to 8800GTS/8800GTX/9800GTX than 9800GT.

nVidia can't sell any card without dropping prices crazily nowadays. Ouch.
Yeah, for memory bottlenecked stuff it's going to be pretty sweet. But the AF performance drop should be a bit moar pronounced in this one because the number of filters is now equal to the number of interpolators lol. Ironically, this is the original RV770 design target. Poor nvidia (oh the pun) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Sep 27 2008, 04:40 PM
tech_frix
post Sep 27 2008, 04:52 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

is it worth it to sell my 3870 and get d 4850GS??
thanx..
iostream
post Sep 27 2008, 05:00 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Sep 27 2008, 04:52 PM)
is it worth it to sell my 3870 and get d 4850GS??
thanx..
i change my graphics card about every 2 generations, from geforce 5 to 7, and lastly to ati 4 series.
i dun think by just a generation ahead, you would be able to notice significant differences.
seanlimys
post Sep 27 2008, 05:07 PM

2,751 posts

proud owner of colourful hd4850 ge...wel..i chg from hd3870 to hd4850...quite large significant performance gained...wat matters is the market price..for example, u bought it at rm800 last time and u willing to sell below 400? den topup for hd4850? well...i bought mine at rm5XX den sold it 4XX and topup for HD4850..so in my case i guess worth it..
tellmewhy
post Sep 27 2008, 05:07 PM

893 posts

agree ... still using geforce 7 now haha
tech_frix
post Sep 27 2008, 05:08 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Sep 27 2008, 05:07 PM)
proud owner of colourful hd4850 ge...wel..i chg from hd3870 to hd4850...quite large significant performance gained...wat matters is the market price..for example, u bought it at rm800 last time and u willing to sell below 400? den topup for hd4850? well...i bought mine at rm5XX den sold it 4XX and topup for HD4850..so in my case i guess worth it..
so in figure, how many % improvement??
i bought mine @RM545... brows.gif brows.gif
AMDAthlon
post Sep 27 2008, 05:11 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

I still wonder why they din use GDDR4 for HD4850 ...
hyxer
post Sep 27 2008, 05:13 PM

251 posts

hi all.. wanna ask. is there big gap when using intel n amd while gaming with 4850gs(already bought)
planning to buy amd x2 6000. but dunno if lose out too much against intel.
tellmewhy
post Sep 27 2008, 05:16 PM

893 posts

using 6000+ x2 now ... plan to change to e8400 soon ... tongue.gif
hyxer
post Sep 27 2008, 05:17 PM

251 posts

y? frame rate too low? btw u use 4850gs? how many fps while playing assasin creed all max
AMDAthlon
post Sep 27 2008, 05:20 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Hmm..in my opinion..its just a bout the same.Because when i see Benchmark from review,the diff around 1-5 FPS only.Plus they using high end processor..
iostream
post Sep 27 2008, 05:22 PM

286 posts

seanlimys, performance gain in what aspect, frame rate?
hyxer
post Sep 27 2008, 05:27 PM

251 posts

@AMDAthlon

how many frame rate can u get while playing assasin creed max at 1280x1024
Siu_Keong
post Sep 27 2008, 05:38 PM

218 posts

Just for sharing since found the review about HIS 4670 Turbo in techPowerUp. It's test with a lot recent game, include crysis as well. Do not whether is accurate or good review, but just read for reference. biggrin.gif

HIS HD 4670 IceQ Turbo 512 MB
tellmewhy
post Sep 27 2008, 05:49 PM

893 posts

nop , i am using geforce 7300Le hahahah! , but wanna get 4870 already... yea.. still wondering.. when gaming and any expect.. e8400 own alot? i wanna use 4.0mhz as comparison tongue.gif
hyxer
post Sep 27 2008, 05:54 PM

251 posts

sell 2 me your x2 6000 la.. tongue.gif

cheap2
tellmewhy
post Sep 27 2008, 05:55 PM

893 posts

no money for Ti45 tongue.gif
seanlimys
post Sep 27 2008, 06:08 PM

2,751 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Sep 27 2008, 05:08 PM)
so in figure, how many % improvement??
i bought mine @RM545... brows.gif  brows.gif
well..i bought mine at 539..beat u...haha...erm...i can sense bout 30-40% lar...

QUOTE(iostream @ Sep 27 2008, 05:22 PM)
seanlimys, performance gain in what aspect, frame rate?
yea...in terms of frame rate and colour...seriously...nice gaming card...no feeling of wanting back nvidia...9800gtx+ no fight man..haha..sorry nvidia fans..
X.E.D
post Sep 27 2008, 06:30 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 27 2008, 04:39 PM)
Yeah, for memory bottlenecked stuff it's going to be pretty sweet. But the AF performance drop should be a bit moar pronounced in this one because the number of filters is now equal to the number of interpolators lol. Ironically, this is the original RV770 design target. Poor nvidia (oh the pun) tongue.gif
Hey, it's more 3DMark 06-ish too!

If this was RV770, it would "have the performance of a 8800GT". Maybe they leaked their old estimates. laugh.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 27 2008, 05:11 PM)
I still wonder why they din use GDDR4 for HD4850 ...
Obsolete. I think it's pretty nifty, but ATI thinks otherwise. Probably because of the cost- at that GDDR4 cost, you'd be better off using GDDR5 anyway.

Plus, the main reason the 3870 was hard to price-drop was the GDDR4 component. Newer "custom" 3870s used GDDR3 with minimal performance hit. For the 4800s it's different, but GDDR4 no longer seems to be a priority for both vendors (and memory chipmakers) anymore.

You can see it as a transitionary step to GDDR5, IIRC quite some of the specs are same (different from GDDR3)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 27 2008, 06:30 PM
post Sep 27 2008, 07:43 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Sep 27 2008, 06:49 PM)
nop , i am using geforce 7300Le hahahah! , but wanna get 4870 already... yea.. still wondering.. when gaming and any expect.. e8400 own alot? i wanna use 4.0mhz as comparison tongue.gif
4mhz absolutely fail you.

500mh zX8 not really a problem with TP I45.

HD4870 1GB business. rolleyes.gif
tellmewhy
post Sep 27 2008, 07:55 PM

893 posts

wan see the performance only tongue.gif
cwk88
post Sep 27 2008, 11:58 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:54 AM)
how much did you buy it?
RM350 @ c-zone but i buy using staff price

3dmark vantage : P30xx
vista gaming score : 5.8 =/

tried using it to play grid & dmc4.. work fine on 1280x1024

cyew86
post Sep 28 2008, 12:08 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

how about Crysis? brows.gif
owikh84
post Sep 28 2008, 12:17 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Henry managed to OC his Palit 4850 Sonic to 810/1200.
3DMark06 score 16k!
Source: ATI HD4850 Overclockers' United

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 28 2008, 12:18 AM
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 12:21 AM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:58 PM)

d dmc 4 with all max setting with 8AA ON..>????quit interest if d price arent to close to 9600GT notworthy.gif
jepertine90
post Sep 28 2008, 12:43 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

aw... cant wait... my holidays almost over... sad.gif hope gainward's 4670 out as soon as in 3rd of oct right after hari raya... then it would be wonderfull... tongue.gif
syazone
post Sep 28 2008, 12:50 AM

1,413 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 25 2008, 10:10 PM)
hdmi driver.....??

i did install this card on intel platform not problem what so ever.... with amd64 different story..

GTG
hey bro... try install amd overdrive on baem PC, maybe it can help improve performance a lil bit, latest one if not mistaken is 2.1.4 rolleyes.gif
kaixy
post Sep 28 2008, 12:59 AM

Validating
82 posts

Heard that MSi 4850 Quad-PiPE most coolest 4800series in town. 39c(standby), while 57c(load).
Anyone try this one? Planning to get this baby. laugh.gif flex.gif
MSi 4850 QUAD-PIPE
Lacus
post Sep 28 2008, 01:07 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

coolest?not sure bout that though but i think that would need to use 3rd party cooler like the ThermalRight Trad2..it depends on the casing, air flow and the ambient temp of the room..
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 01:42 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

coolest huh....need to see some benchmark first biggrin.gif
Lacus
post Sep 28 2008, 02:02 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

manufacturer always claim their's r cooler whistling.gif...
tellmewhy
post Sep 28 2008, 08:58 AM

893 posts

go for gainward la tongue.gif
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 09:02 AM

14,037 posts

39c idle and 57c load. What kinda ambient? That is like rising 18c above idle.. I think even 4850GS can do that lar tongue.gif. My card load at 63C on a hot afternoon without aircond turned on. (55% fan speed).
smokey
post Sep 28 2008, 09:03 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Sep 28 2008, 12:17 AM)
Henry managed to OC his Palit 4850 Sonic to 810/1200.
3DMark06 score 16k!

Source: ATI HD4850 Overclockers' United
if use rivatuner, then the powerplay is disabled right? means it wont auto downclock to 100mhz when idling...
i tried it on my ati 3650...
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 09:20 AM

14,037 posts

The page before he did 825mhz on vantage. Nice stuffs seh...
EasternBadge
post Sep 28 2008, 09:39 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:58 PM)

And how's the temperature?
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 10:33 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

should i change my X1950PRO to HD4670? or just stick with it..
seanlimys
post Sep 28 2008, 10:37 AM

2,751 posts

wah..runing so fast? well i m using the colourful ones...idle at 45 load at 61...good ot nor?
seanlimys
post Sep 28 2008, 10:40 AM

2,751 posts

i gues...better go for hd4670..sell ur x1950 asap...otherwise next time no price in the market ad...its ur decision..but i feel theres a large gap between x1950pro and hd4670..worth upgrading...

and theres still problem for hd4670 regarding driver if im not mistaken...most users in other complained about problems...game crashing this and tat..

and most review show 9600gso pawn this card? and vice versa?i mean i still confuse...awhile this wan better awhile tat wan better...guess theres bias in their review..
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 10:50 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Sep 28 2008, 10:40 AM)
and most review show 9600gso pawn this card? and vice versa?i mean i still confuse...awhile this wan better awhile tat wan better...guess theres bias in their review..
checkout techreport review, 4670 pwn 9600GSO at most cases, and yeah , cheaper too
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 11:24 AM

14,037 posts

Yea, 61c load is alright IMO. Compared to reaching 80C for the reference cards lol.

Colorful quad heatpipe looks similiar to the MSI's.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 28 2008, 11:25 AM
lotiman2003
post Sep 28 2008, 11:26 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(kaixy @ Sep 28 2008, 12:59 AM)
Heard that MSi 4850 Quad-PiPE most coolest 4800series in town. 39c(standby), while 57c(load).
Anyone try this one? Planning to get this baby.  laugh.gif  flex.gif
MSi 4850 QUAD-PIPE
The heatsink is much smaller than Gainward 4850GS but the fan is bigger; Gainward 65mm vs MSI 80mm. But Gainward is custom PCB with better VRAM chips while MSI Quad Pipe is reference card with better cooler. I would go for Gainward anytime since Gainward is a GC company which MSI is not exclusively GC company.
seanlimys
post Sep 28 2008, 11:40 AM

2,751 posts

colourful no quad pipela..haha..2 oni..v2...hmphh...gainward juz rename or rebrand its own brand...last time a logo wif a lion...pretty poor performing company..but now looks good..so far so good..i wudnt go for msi..most of the msi my frenz and i bought..less than a year..sure die..duno y.ha
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 11:42 AM

14,037 posts

Errk not quad pipe? I thought Colorful 4850 is this one?

owikh84
post Sep 28 2008, 11:59 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Colorful has two diff coolers. Below is the dual-pipe version.
Source: Storm88 Bulk thread.

celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 12:10 PM

14,037 posts

Ahh, my bad then. I thought Colorful only has one version which is the quad heat pipe one.
seanlimys
post Sep 28 2008, 12:20 PM

2,751 posts

that wan is oc version?
storm88 sell wan is oc versionle
owikh84
post Sep 28 2008, 01:54 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

RV710 Architecture Disclosed

Radeon HD 4550 is going to ship at the end of September, but some of the documents have already been found, and the architecture of RV710 have been disclosed. The amount of transistors are 242 million, less than RV 730’s 514 million. This is because HD 4550 have only 80 shaders, and HD 4650 have 320 shaders.

There are two versions of ATI HD 4550, 512MB and 256MB versions. Both version have a reference board, 512MB is a full hight card and 256MB is a low profile. 512MB version have DVI/HDMI/DP output, and 256MB supports DVI/S-Video/D-Sub output. Both versions are running on 600/800MHz(Core/memory).

Basically speaking, RV710 is a shrinked RV730, only two SIMD (single instruction multiple date) array, each of them have one texture unit. Inside each texture unit there are 4 Texture Address Unit, and 4 Texture Filter Unit. So in RV710 there are totally 8 TA and 8 TF units. Also there is only one Render Back End and memory bandwidth is lower to 64bit.

The price of Radeon HD 4550 512MB is about 49-59USD, and 256MB version is around 39-49USD.The rival of RV710 will be NVIDIA’s 9400GT.

Bottom line:
# It even beats the 9600gso which is a bonus (check anandtech for 9600gso getting trashed)
# It don’t need any power connector which makes it unique in that performance range (king)
# Is the best OEM/HTPC systems to this date. (king)
# Uses only 50/60 watts and is silent as a fart when am next to my galis.
# Less heat, more performance, DX10.1, silent, small, capable of 7.1 (sound) channel LPCM output over HDMI.
# Nvidia is going to use anther new sticker on old stock e.g. 9 series cards (9600gso), this time it will be the gt200 series e.g. gt260+.

well done AMD/ATi, its good for the customers (noobs), especially when they expect to buy new generation products (high number prefixes), with AMD that’s what they will get, unlike nvidia who use old cards with old technology but with new stickers (that’s a crime against knowledge).

Source
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 02:09 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Sep 28 2008, 12:20 PM)
that wan is oc version?
storm88 sell wan is oc versionle
No idea, can't find any specification on that card. Though from the looks of it, should be OC-ed and looks like the bigger brother of the dual pipe model.

http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=3818

Since it has 3phase power, dual BIOS and that heatsink is a Zalman VF1050 shocking.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 28 2008, 02:37 PM

13,340 posts

woah another yummy card 4 budgeted users rclxms.gif
tellmewhy
post Sep 28 2008, 03:03 PM

893 posts

4550? kaozzz
tolong_saye
post Sep 28 2008, 06:44 PM

408 posts

its even beat 9600gso?
very powahfull card la

amd/ati really makes nvidia having a hard time for a long time
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 07:04 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

4550 won't be able to compete 9600GSO sweat.gif

direct competitor to 9400GT laugh.gif
celciuz
post Sep 28 2008, 07:06 PM

14,037 posts

AMD planning to take the entire GC market away? Low to high range lol.
owikh84
post Sep 28 2008, 07:18 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 28 2008, 07:06 PM)
They are conquering the GC world atm. No doubt. Until their rival wake up from sleep.
tellmewhy
post Sep 28 2008, 07:40 PM

893 posts

ati/amd really fierce this year
owikh84
post Sep 28 2008, 07:42 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Sep 28 2008, 07:40 PM)
ati/amd really fierce this year
NVidia also fierce ma. Their pricing is scary. mad.gif
iostream
post Sep 28 2008, 07:52 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 28 2008, 07:06 PM)
haha, yeah, indeed.
as long as AMD can conquer the low-end and mainstream market, it will obtain high-end market eventually, coz nvidia can't earn much already, hahaha!
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 08:14 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 28 2008, 10:50 AM)
checkout techreport review, 4670 pwn 9600GSO at most cases, and yeah , cheaper too
helo bro pikacu planing to change card again ar..... whistling.gif im also comfisu n dilema in choice which on 3 of this 4670 3850 n 9600GT since d price are 2 close ( rm 320/315/390)since i build a new rig now(e7200+asus p5ql-pro+2gb rams) ... all in hand now just without d VGA cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by kenny79: Sep 28 2008, 08:14 PM
tech3910
post Sep 28 2008, 08:17 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(iostream @ Sep 28 2008, 08:52 PM)
haha, yeah, indeed.
as long as AMD can conquer the low-end and mainstream market, it will obtain high-end market eventually, coz nvidia can't earn much already, hahaha!
high end is just 4 the sake of good name...................
the real money maker is the mainstream market, consumer so called "bang for bucks".
of coz, it is easier 2 sell 4870/4850 is u hav 4870x2 on the king of the hill. consumer just trust u more.

AMD keep saying dat acquiring ATI is wat meks dem nearly bankrupt. i'll say, is the graphic division which save their @ss dis time.................
ne0cz
post Sep 28 2008, 08:20 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

nVidia is losing loo... Price cannot match up, perf is matching, performance to price ratio also cant match up... Kesian our green friend... Time to go red!! MU!!! Oops, ATi... XD
cyew86
post Sep 28 2008, 08:27 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Sep 28 2008, 08:14 PM)
helo bro pikacu planing to change card again ar.....  whistling.gif im also comfisu n dilema in choice which on 3 of this  4670 3850 n 9600GT since d price are 2 close ( rm 320/315/390)since i build a new rig now(e7200+asus p5ql-pro+2gb rams) ... all in hand now just without d VGA  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
i am building a similar system as well, but i read that 9600GT is way better than HD4670
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 08:35 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Sep 28 2008, 08:14 PM)
helo bro pikacu planing to change card again ar.....  whistling.gif
i want to upgrade my bro rig.. laugh.gif

i edi got 3870 tongue.gif
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 08:41 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 28 2008, 08:27 PM)
i am building a similar system as well, but i read that 9600GT is way better than HD4670
i know d price are better but since gainward 4670 is rm 320 n d gainward 3850 512mb is rm315 but d galaxy is rm 410 at my hm so thinking d price/perform i think i will take 3850 kua.....
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 08:52 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Sep 28 2008, 08:41 PM)
i know d price are better but since gainward 4670 is rm 320 n d gainward 3850 512mb is rm315 but d galaxy is rm 410 at my hm so thinking d price/perform i think i will take 3850 kua.....
3850 512mb better than 4670 512mb at high resolution when no AA/AF is on..
cyew86
post Sep 28 2008, 09:03 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

well, the highest that my monitor can go is 1280 x 1024 anyway, so i would have chosen HD4670 for the price/performance
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 09:09 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 28 2008, 09:03 PM)
well, the highest that my monitor can go is 1280 x 1024 anyway, so i would have chosen HD4670 for the price/performance
im using a philip 17" crt also .. so planing play game at 1280*1024 only nia but normaly im only will set d revolution to max is 1024*768 ...so im thinking d 3850 512mb will be more suitable for me here lol..... (if d 4670 price can lowwer then 3850 then i will grab it ) drool.gif drool.gif but seem i cant wait til nov n i use a sempron 2500+ now cry.gif cry.gif i think i will buy a 3850 512mb for 315 gainwarad version lol
Skylinestar
post Sep 28 2008, 09:30 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

9600GT still has better f-bucks
Punish
post Sep 28 2008, 09:36 PM

2,023 posts

if your guys really didnt mind bout PSU and electricity bill, i think better go for 3850....in my case...my brother rig almost 24/7 online...so i guest power consumetion is a big deal...

GTG
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 09:38 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 28 2008, 09:30 PM)
9600GT still has better f-bucks
but i dun play high revolution game + FULL AA N AF ON .... i think 3850 o 4670 is suit for me smile.gif
Xen_Zen
post Sep 28 2008, 09:38 PM

Any idea on the performance between HIS and Gainward 4670?
pikacu
post Sep 28 2008, 09:40 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 28 2008, 09:36 PM)
if your guys really didnt mind bout PSU and  electricity bill, i think better go for 3850....in my case...my brother rig almost 24/7 online...so i guest power consumetion is a big deal...

GTG
one of reason why 4670 smarter choice nod.gif
kenny79
post Sep 28 2008, 09:40 PM

3,200 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Sep 28 2008, 09:36 PM)
if your guys really didnt mind bout PSU and  electricity bill, i think better go for 3850....in my case...my brother rig almost 24/7 online...so i guest power consumetion is a big deal...

GTG
i own a acbel 450W i thinkd psu already arent is a isue about d elec bill i think also none isue since my will just on d pc for 2-4 hour/days i think also none isue right smile.gif im not using d pc for BT ... if BT i stil got a SEMpron 2500+ icon_rolleyes.gif wink.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
viperiii
post Sep 28 2008, 10:52 PM

498 posts

I think U people should wait for a while for the 4830 card!!
tech3910
post Sep 28 2008, 11:16 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Sep 28 2008, 08:42 PM)
NVidia also fierce ma. Their pricing is scary.  mad.gif
remember the price of GTX 260/280 wen launch?
den if drop few hundred USD after just few weeks...............

dis shows just how much if nvidia ripping off those early bird buyers........... sleep.gif
blindbox
post Sep 29 2008, 12:20 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 28 2008, 10:50 AM)
Cheaper there, but not here. Better buy from forumers or wait for the prices to die down. Haiz Malaysia, enough with not following amd/ati's and all other companies (gtx 280 last time soared 2.4k) price specs sad.gif .
Siu_Keong
post Sep 29 2008, 12:22 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Sep 28 2008, 09:40 PM)
i own a acbel 450W i thinkd psu already arent is a isue about d elec bill i think also none isue since my will just on d pc for 2-4 hour/days i think also none isue right smile.gif im not using d pc for BT ... if BT i stil got a SEMpron 2500+  icon_rolleyes.gif  wink.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Now just notice that u have the same PSU that i have, no problem for the card that you wanna choose. Just depend on the resolution, high then got 256 bit (3850), low then go 128 bit (4670). Anyway, 9600GT is the better 1 compare to both but also expensive in the range.
iostream
post Sep 29 2008, 12:29 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 28 2008, 11:16 PM)
remember the price of GTX 260/280 wen launch?
den if drop few hundred USD after just few weeks...............

dis shows just how much if nvidia ripping off those early bird buyers........... sleep.gif
nvidia is try to gain back the money by offering its products at prices lower than the costs.
it is forced to do so, there won't be a price cut for nvidia, if there is no ati 4000 series.
tech3910
post Sep 29 2008, 12:49 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

i've been wondering................. hmm.gif

y there r so many non reference 4870 out there, but non comes wit pre OC as high as ASUS TOP which use reference cooler?
Siu_Keong
post Sep 29 2008, 01:07 AM

218 posts

Recently do some google and see a lot NVIDIA PhysX acticle, so wondering whether this is the NVIDIA final weapon to gain back the market? hmm.gif
takercena
post Sep 29 2008, 04:18 AM

327 posts

Recently do some google and see a lot NVIDIA PhysX acticle, so wondering whether this is the NVIDIA final weapon to gain back the market?
Yes it is. UT3 one of it

This post has been edited by takercena: Sep 29 2008, 04:19 AM
spideysam
post Sep 29 2008, 05:57 AM

937 posts

errr total medieval war 2... wit 256mb ati radeon can play high setting or better get 512mb ar??? hmmmm coz now downloading total medieval war 2... hmmmm
tech3910
post Sep 29 2008, 07:32 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(spideysam @ Sep 29 2008, 06:57 AM)
errr total medieval war 2... wit 256mb ati radeon can play high setting or better get 512mb ar??? hmmmm coz now downloading total medieval war 2... hmmmm
which card r u referring 2?
model pls...............
& the resolution dat u plan 2 play ur game on.
spideysam
post Sep 29 2008, 07:42 AM

937 posts

ooo highest setting??? 512mb better??
wen9x88
post Sep 29 2008, 08:34 AM

2,933 posts

is not good use a dead people photo
change it,and respect she.

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Sep 29 2008, 08:35 AM
spideysam
post Sep 29 2008, 08:52 AM

937 posts

errr yupp.... hope total medieval war 2 can play wit my 128mb intergrated gc.. lol... hmmm
cwk88
post Sep 29 2008, 12:51 PM

653 posts

my 4670 perf test on dmc4 @ 1280x1024 with max setting is about 58~60 fps on scene 1,3,4.. but scene 2 onli 40++ fps

when idle 36~c.. load nt sure.. haven check
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 29 2008, 12:51 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(spideysam @ Sep 29 2008, 07:42 AM)
ooo highest setting??? 512mb better??
of course if you running 19" and above display

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Sep 29 2008, 08:34 AM)
lolz maybe that's his way 2 show her respect...btw who is she and why she RIP
cwk88
post Sep 29 2008, 12:55 PM

653 posts

my 4670 on grid.. all max setting @ 1280x1024 is about 40++ fps
cyew86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:24 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

HD4670 seems to perform well
but i really wanna know how it performs on Crysis tongue.gif
no problem on CRT right?

@skylinegtr
the girl was kidnapped and killed by a bunch of teenagers whom she knew i think (if that's the same news). the kids kidnapped and murdered her and then burnt her body even before they demanded for ransom
cwk88
post Sep 29 2008, 01:35 PM

653 posts

asus eah4670 no prob on crt.. like it very much.. next target is to chg my crt to asus vk222h

oh yes.. dont install catalyst 8.9 for 4670 coz it cant support 4600 series
cyew86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:37 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

there is no official drivers for HD4670 yet
is there a probability that the performance may increase with new drivers?
sai86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:39 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

o.o....may i know what is the price for 4670 in malaysia as at today???
cwk88
post Sep 29 2008, 01:39 PM

653 posts

i think so..
err.. latest gpu-z cant detect my 4670 clock , bandwidth, ect.
pikacu
post Sep 29 2008, 01:45 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

latest catalyst will sure have improvement for 4670 biggrin.gif
cyew86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:45 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Sep 29 2008, 01:39 PM)
o.o....may i know what is the price for 4670 in malaysia as at today???
around RM320 to RM360 depending on the brand and seller brows.gif

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Sep 29 2008, 01:39 PM)
i think so..
err.. latest gpu-z cant detect my 4670 clock , bandwidth, ect.
maybe coz the card is still new
sai86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:47 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

mm.....thxs for d ans freak...one more thing,....what is d price(lowest) for 9600gt??any brand also can.....I hope its a Kl price coz Ipoh is juz too high lol.....Thxs for d help ^^,
cwk88
post Sep 29 2008, 01:49 PM

653 posts

czone sell asus 4670 RM350
cyew86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:53 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=20125277

RM370 cheapest i could find
sai86
post Sep 29 2008, 01:53 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

that price was in my budget range...but i juz make some research that 4670 is sux than 9600gt....i dun think im gonna go for 4670.....any idea what kind of 9600 is below 400-450???(i'm such a noob lol)T.T

Added on September 29, 2008, 2:01 pmthxs freak...

This post has been edited by sai86: Sep 29 2008, 02:01 PM
tech3910
post Sep 29 2008, 03:59 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 29 2008, 02:45 PM)
latest catalyst will sure have improvement for 4670 biggrin.gif
ATI has been focusing on bugs fix since CCC 8.7.
8.8 & 8.9 doesn't bring any performance different in gaming...............
QUOTE(sai86 @ Sep 29 2008, 02:53 PM)
that price was in my budget range...but i juz make some research that 4670 is sux than 9600gt....i dun think im gonna go for 4670.....any idea what kind of 9600 is below 400-450???(i'm such a noob lol)T.T

Added on September 29, 2008, 2:01 pmthxs freak...
of coz 4670 was ment 2 go against 9500GT.
4830 is the made 2 pawn 9600 & 9800GT
QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Sep 29 2008, 09:34 AM)
actually i wanna put on my siggy, bt since my siggy already quite long................... sweat.gif
i'm respecting la, dats y i put there "R.I.P."
wen9x88
post Sep 29 2008, 04:21 PM

2,933 posts

what is mean R.I.P

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1655sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:04 AM