65 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Feb 9 2017, 11:59 AM

8,188 posts

Checking in

A Further 21 Great Investment Quotes
March 29, 2017
Author : AMP Capital Investors Limited
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...es-29-Mar--8166

eUT / POEMs / Phillip Mutual Berhad UT discussion, Coz' Fundsupermart not cheapo enuf'!
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4268975

as at 23/6/19, .... latest polarzbearz file....post 15976, page 799,
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry91302147

polarzbear files for MAC version 32 bits and 64 bits
post# 539
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry83747364

ranting.gif As of 8:30PM, 21 Dec 2018 again another website change 1 Nov 2020, we can no longer get NAV prices from the old link at https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi....tpl?id=MYKNGGF This means that if you're using the old Windows or Mac versions of this spreadsheet, it will no longer retrieve the latest prices since that page is no longer there.

possible solution, check out post 15983, page 800 by Idyllrain (this may not work again since 1 Nov 2020 change)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+15980#entry91305801

per updated new updated Excel links in posting# 23392 by Polarzbearz on 10 Oct 2020, (Read from page 1170, post 23392 to 23405 for more tips)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+23380#entry98481881

Polarzbearz made another patch to cater for the new website change on 1 Nov 2020,....read post 23618, page 1181
idyllrain added in post 23619 & 23620 too
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+23600#entry98758263

Polarzbearz file that Can zoom in/out from YEAR down to WEEK, plus added legends to see the fund at overview chart. Values are hidden for obv reasons
page 702, post 14033
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+14020#entry89196345

Retired fund IRR troubleshooting for Polarzbearz file.....
post 7225
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+7220

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+7440

QUOTE(idyllrain @ May 29 2017, 05:00 PM)
You can copy paste the URL in the window of the Morningstar Portfolio X-Ray into a new tab, and change the "USD" at the end of the URL address to "MYR" to make it calculate performance based on Ringgits. Then click on the PDF link to open the PDF report with the correlations and it will be in MYR.
Post# 5088,
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+5080

where is the morning star's tool
Post# 5119, page 256
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+5120

how to get the NAVs into excel sheet....by forummer "honsiong"
page 166, post 3309
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2064127/+3300#entry91840595

The Perils Of Forecasting And The Need For A Disciplined Investment Process
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ss-31-May--8422

6 Steps To Fixing Your Portfolio Amidst A Market Crash December 10, 2008
Investors who suffered serious losses in their portfolios should not be panicking now. Instead, it may be a good time to re-look your portfolios and do a bit of doctoring.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arket-Crash-147

currency appreciation does not grow in tandem against ALL currencies....
http://www.bangkokpost.com/business/news/1...t-tourist-stays

Here’s What You Can Do To Lock In Investment Profits [16 Jun 17]
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...7-?locale=en_us

two old wives’ tales that may possibly cloud an investors’ decision
2 Big Mistakes Investors Make in Unit Trust Investments
*Unit Trusts with Lower NAVs Are Better Buys
*Frequent Dividend Declaration Indicates That the Fund Is Doing Well
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...June-2017--8510

How EPF calculates its dividend?
formula.....
page 152, post 3023
(page 151, post 3006)
EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2705461/+3020

advise to newbies.....
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4344627/+0#entry85476209

To cut loss or to invest more in a dipping market depends on the.....
post 12613
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+12600

where to get the mkts PER
Post 12619
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+12600

Introduction to Portfolio Management
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=4383

what is 3yrs volatility %
post# 7330
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+7320#entry85816344

Do You Really Understand Risk Diversification?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/art...ification-14649

How to measure a portfolio's Risks (youtube)
page 742, post 14821
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+14820

How Did Dollar Cost Averaging (DCA) Fare Over The Past 100 Years?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...100-Years--2069

QUOTE(walkman660 @ Oct 13 2017, 05:32 PM)
https://ufile.io/cco0j

anyone need simple version of excel file can download from the link above , pm me if have any doubt
sample per page 452, post 9031

Sui Jau's ....
"The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount. Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses. It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust. Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash. The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience. No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest. You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times. And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher."

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20141031
cry.gif cry.gif to bad....the link to Sui Jau's blog in Fundsupermart SG website has ceased to function from 17 December 2018.... ranting.gif

The benefits of staying invested....
http://affinhwangam.com/benefits-of-staying-invested/

many links to articles on "rebalancing"
post# 9946
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+9940

...."do I need to report or pay tax if I earned from these investments dividends and appreciation?"
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4436982

According to the IRB, the net profit gained from the share market is taxable if the transaction is done repeatedly.
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2012...e-to-be-taxing/

Medical bills, rent and shares
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2012...oJb2ioapQOMa.99

FSM HK/SG without opening bank a/c.....read page 550
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+11000

some forummers keep bond funds in their port for this.....post 12137
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+12120#entry88080593

how to best utilize that FI asset in the port........post 12008
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+12000

how to DIY calculate the dividend....post 12217
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+12200

to invest a little money for short term what is best?
post 1569
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004579/+1560#entry88150112

how to invest if you have xxxk in saving
post# 2
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4632367/+0#entry89846565

Investment is a Plan … not a Procedure or a Product
https://kclau.com/investment/investment-is-a-plan/

How do you choose from many different types of investment available in Malaysia?
https://ringgitohringgit.com/types-of-inves...le-in-malaysia/

How Good Are Unit Trusts as Investments?
https://www.fimm.com.my/pdf/seminar%20slide...Investments.pdf

some example of how bad a fund can drop in a day....page 654
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry88490028

BADDEST Year for me....2018
2018 year in review.....some details of the effect of this BAD year
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...n-Review-Part-1

....see how much a fund can drop in 2018.....
"....As of 31 December 2018, there are 204 equity funds on our platform with full year return in 2018. 202 (99.0%) of the equity funds posted losses while merely 2 (1.0%) of the funds clocked positive returns......"
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...erciless-Market

Out of the 764 Malaysian stocks that have a full year return for 2018, we see more than 40% of them posting losses exceeding -30% while there were only less than 20% of the listed companies delivering positive returns in 2018.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...n-Review-Part-2

How to get price/value direct pulled from Bloomberg into your google sheet (cannot use on MS Excel) by forummer Roarus
post 552, page 28
eUT / POEMs / Phillip Mutual Berhad UT discussion, Coz' Fundsupermart not cheapo enuf'!
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4268975/+540#entry97514611

Mathematical calculation to shows ASB loan is worth it.....
page 164.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/667676/+3260#entry88820644
post 31,
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4621490/+20

unless the top up is significant and the returns is huge,...else no impact to the ROI of portfolio
page 1080
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+21580

if really scares and want to take profits to protect the profit...
page 1083
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169/+21640

5 Common Misconceptions on Unit Trust Investing
https://howtofinancemoney.com/unit-trust-misconception

Not Sure How To Choose A Fund?
It is without question that we always want to select the best fund for our portfolios.
In the minds of many, the “best-in-class” fund tends to be the one that can offer investors the highest returns among its peers.
....but just looking purely at returns alone, however, does not reveal much about a fund.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...-right-this-way

How to pick quality funds?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/art...ity-Funds-14724

Not Sure How To Choose A Fund? Right This Way.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...-right-this-way

3 indicators to determine the capability of a FM
https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/art...s-Ability-14755

Retirement investing do's and don'ts
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/retirement-i...-120101675.html

Mindsets for your investing success
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...esting-success/

Wall Street's in record ground. What do investors do now?
https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/wall-stre...-040547028.html

SSPN dividend calculation
page 97, post 1921 by former Rapple
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+1920

cut off date for dividend calculation
page 136, post 2718 by former Jefftan4888
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+2700

linking sspn to bank islam
page 127, post 2527
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+2520

SSPN withdrawal
page 115, post 2294
post 2297 lagi easy....
SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1819492/+2280

SSPN a/c to Bank Islam ATM FAQs
http://www.bankislam.com.my/home/assets/up...BMC-amended.pdf

EPF dividend calculation....
page 133, post 2654, by Orangutan
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2705461/+2640

EPF dividend is based on 1 day of the month + .....
page 14, post 277 & 279, 280, 282, 283.....
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4745820/+260

post 4072, page 204 by believe ...confirmed it...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2705461/+4060#entry95545562

How to Calculate EPF Dividend?
https://1-million-dollar-blog.com/how-to-ca...e-epf-dividend/

how to open a singapore CIMB fastsaver account from Malaysia in details?
page 141, post 2801, by forumer mrbean12345
Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1440794/+2800
and
page 145, post 2884, by forumer sohailili
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1440794/+2880#entry97994711

a more appropriate correct phrase/reason to buy medical insurance when younger compared to older...
from post 1259 ~ 1263, page 63 ~ 64
Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4919324/+1240

For a fresh graduate, which should be the priority - medical insurance or term/whole life insurance?
read post 1455 to 1461
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4919324/+1440

Are You a Myopic Investor?

The Myopic Investor
– blindsided by temporary losses, they were unable to look at the longer horizon and unable to figure out the better choice.

In 1995, Benartzi and Thaler came up with myopic loss aversion (MLA) to explain the equity premium puzzle, where the S&P 500 earned over 6 percent annually more than Treasury bills from the studied period of 1889 to 1978.
MLA combines two factors – loss aversion and mental accounting. The former is explained above, while mental accounting deals with aggregation – whether securities are evaluated individually or as a portfolio, and how often they are evaluated. They defined a myopic investor as one who frames decisions and outcomes narrowly, i.e., making short-term choices rather than adopting long-term policies, and evaluating his gains and losses frequently.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...myopic-investor

What is momentum investing?
In practice, momentum investing involves the decision of purchasing stocks that have been performing relatively stronger and selling stocks that have been performing relatively weaker. In another word, momentum investing encourages one to buy high and sell higher. In fact, the concept of momentum investing can be explained by the first law of motion discovered by Sir Issac Newton which stated that “an object at rest stay at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced form”. Similarly, in the stock market, a rising market tends to attract more buyers whereas a falling market tends to attract sellers, which can be explained by a few behavioral biases such as overconfidence and herding effect.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Investing-9289

Search for the Holy Grail: Buying Low, Selling High?
Buy low and sell high. This phrase has been repeated and emphasised for ages yet it is easier said than done.
In this thought experiment, we explore the possibility of this strategy and evaluate how well it works.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...ow-selling-high

Things Investors Need To Be Cautious About
The DCA method requires investors to conduct long-term investment in a very disciplined manner and be tolerant of market fluctuations throughout the investment horizon. If an investor loses his patience and stops investing regularly or sells the assets, it will result in failure of the DCA method.
The DCA method cannot demonstrate its full effectiveness in a strong bull market. Moreover, unless the investor intends to use the DCA method for saving purpose or is short of sufficient investment capital, the method is usually not as effective when used on fixed income funds as it is on equity funds. This is because the price volatility of fixed income funds is relatively lower than that of equity funds, and in the long run, the coupon income generated from fixed income funds tends to bolster the net asset value steadily.
The DCA method offers other advantages as well. Firstly, the method can help lower the average investment cost for each unit. Even if the fund price falls below the initial subscription price, the investor's loss will still be lower compared to using the lump sum investing strategy, thus reducing the risk of capturing the wrong market timing. Secondly, the initial investment amount using the DCA method is lower than that of lump sum investing. In this way, investors can achieve both their savings and investment goals at the same time depending on their cash flow status. This method is particularly suitable for investors who tend to invest regularly with a steady income (such as a salary).

Unlocking the code of your financial freedom
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...IJc0TbfRAvOb.99

Banks to report cash transactions above RM25k as at Jan 1, 2019
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...6d4upPbFtXUz.99

Why THB is stronger than MYR?
Ringgit, oh ringgit
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ggit-oh-ringgit

Lower OPR doesn't mean cheaper financing for all, especially for new applicants
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4956590

Enjoy yourself, it's later than you think ~~~~ song and lyrics page 915

This post has been edited by yklooi: Nov 1 2020, 05:45 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Benefits_Of_Staying_Invested.pdf ( 937.47k ) Number of downloads: 290
Attached File  Positioning_in_a_Market_Correction_Mar_2018_Affin.pdf ( 1001k ) Number of downloads: 255
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 05:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Feb 15 2017, 05:20 PM)
the graph shows a very steep mountain going upwards for now, maybe buy when it drops by a bit? seems high to me. I would see anytime soon.
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 15 2017, 05:23 PM)
madness portfolio up 4.96% in 1 month from 12.1.17!!
gain from 61.9k to 73.8k
burstinganytime.
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Feb 15 2017, 05:30 PM)
Congrats. Taking profit now or continue to ride the roller coaster?
So many sifus said the same thing at the same time......made me scare liao .......will be planning to see tonite how is the US mkts....if still up...will relinques alot of eq to fi....to hv a better sleep
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 05:49 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 15 2017, 05:43 PM)
Seems people are thinking the risk is mostly at the US side. But the rate of growth for US funds have mostly slowed down, isn't it ? By contrast, since beginning of 2017, it is the Asian funds which are on wild steroid.

So you guys think the bursting will happen to US funds only ?
I am now just hv a little % in Us.....planning to cut overall eq to fi...which is heavy in asia pac.....
Btw...if US mkts corrects./ bursts as expevted by many sifus.......i believes whole world will be knee jerked too...maybe the duration will not be the sane
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 09:58 PM

8,188 posts

done reduced my
Ponzi 2.0 by 26%
KGF by 18%
EMBF by 26%

moved to BOND/CMF...total 10% of portfolio value.
now it is rebalanced to my intended 2017 portfolio allocation of
Ponzi 2.0 7.5%
KGF 14%
EMBF 12%

AH site error...unable to move 25% Ponzi 1.0 to AHSBF
now having 15%

anyway...just realised that, these moves will not mitigate much in case of corrections were to happens..
for I just moved 10% only...if it drops 10% NAV...only extra 1% of nav will be affected.......just that I foresee to use this money next year...so for shiok sendiri..I prepared it now.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 15 2017, 10:03 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 10:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:04 PM)
Is it uncommon to have IRR > 100%???
I keyed into the excel sheet.  ROI looks fine but IRR is way off the chart.  Did I miss anything?
I "think" it is common.....if the invested period is < 12 mths, large % to top up are done, large % of gains happened on those large top ups

I just "think" cannot mathematically substantiate my "thinking"
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 10:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:12 PM)
I'm unable to snapshot with Mac Excel. It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found"

Any Mac Excel pros here?  Would be nice to see a snapshot of my portfolio from time to time.  =.=
perhaps can summon the great idyllrain? notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 16 2017, 08:43 PM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif observed from my portfolio trend....
if the trend of my portfolio is of any indication....(of course cannot be of any indications in reality bcos the composition changed)
when based on my past portfolio trends......
I think my portfolio performance will stabilise now, maybe will stayed flat or going to drops for the next 4 months..... sweat.gif

Mkts going to CRASH now...get while you can, preserves profits, buy new note-5.... biggrin.gif tongue.gif

SUSyklooi
post Feb 16 2017, 09:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 16 2017, 09:23 PM)
yes,...hope tis time, the mkts is just going to stay up for longer duration.......hope that Trump's promise of tax cuts can materialise as expected in the next few weeks....else
hmm.gif okay-lah.....I had already reduced 10% of asset to bond/cmf, reorganised my portfolio for year 2017, reallocated my weightage.......if there is any correction,...will see how severely affected my portfolio will be.....then will reassess again next year.... flex.gif bruce.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 21 2017, 10:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 21 2017, 10:28 PM)
I also noticed that my EPF investment PM PDSF also no longer in the EPF list anymore... any recommendation for EPF investment?

this fund invested for since 31/10/2013 and the profit is -1.11% as of today.
my goodness...thanks almighty....I also bought in 2013 by periodic EPF purchase but I managed to cash out in April 2015 and return it to EPF
did not see the fund again...
SUSyklooi
post Feb 24 2017, 09:42 PM

8,188 posts

Next monday....lipper award presentations.....as usual "most probably" fsm will do promo a week or two later.....prepare ammo
SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2017, 12:19 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Feb 25 2017, 12:14 AM)
You're predicting FSM to have a promo for all funds or only for selected funds ?
most probably would be something like these....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...otion-2016-6869
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Promotion-5610
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...wards-2014-4334

SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2017, 11:10 AM

8,188 posts

was at a talk by EI Mr Chen last nite ....

he said,
Asia pac is a good area to focus more allocation in the next 3 yrs (maybe that is why he is promoting that those funds)
M'sia is stabilising after 2 yrs of negative environment.
(can hv some growth)....in which Small cap segment is a better bet b'cos the valuation is still lower
he is also seeing improved oil, export figures and CPO prices....which is good for m'sia.

short term immediate concerns is the large chuck of MSC maturing this month and next month (>RM10Bil)
the this month one matured without much incidents,...if next month one also then it is a good sign.

he also showed data that businesses are just paying (booked) the MYR to USD at 2% more till end 2017......which mean businesses are just expecting RM to at worst is just depreciating 2% more (if nothing bad or black swan occurs)...well that is businesses decisions forecast.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 25 2017, 11:18 AM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2017, 11:26 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 25 2017, 11:17 AM)
Anybody asked about China specifically ?
did not directly....i think he said, China is the growth area, hopefully US did not come kacau, which he think Trump is a business man will just mind his own business unless some other countries willing to pay him to act outside the benefits of US

he said most Asia pac eq funds are just following the MSCI index allocation for China, hk, etc...
is investors are just not comfortable with fixed China allocation......can try their Target Return fund...which does not follow any MSCI index allocation.....for the FM, they just follow the expected target returns of 8% pa...thus they would not go to heavy on volatile mkts

one of them mentioned that, EIGLfd not focused directly investing in Global Leaders, BUT global companies that are rejuvenating and innovating...

when mentioning about the bleaker prospects of investing in M'sia.....he said some funds have holding in companies that do business in overseas not just M'sia.....thus when M'sia mkts are BAD, it does not mean all M'sia focused UTs are bad too.....for some of their holdings are exporting products to overseas like US, EM and countries that are in better shape than M'sia economically.

so M'sia economy is bad, not all M'sia focused UT are bad too.
you just need to see their holdings too.

(he = MR chen + team member)

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 25 2017, 11:45 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 1 2017, 08:08 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 1 2017, 07:56 PM)
Fully agree with the analyst. Trump was just farting. A lot of gases.

But people just like to hear those things.
hmm.gif I guess I am among one of those that liked the sound of his gases..... biggrin.gif
my portfolio's IRR is now at 4.5% ....I thought I never get to see that....

hi, Trump......if you hear me...keep those gases coming....... thumbup.gif
just control yourselves......keep those nasty and slimy end products that usually come after those gases in your pants. brows.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 3 2017, 08:14 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2017, 08:08 AM)
this was from FSM recently....

Last year, Asian REITs ended the year on a joyful note as investors around the globe were on the hunt for yields under a low interest rate environment.
Moving into 2017, however, concerns are pouring in for REITs investors as the US economy continues to deliver positive data that are fueling the possibilities of a faster than expected rate hike.
In this Idea of the Week, we will look into two areas investors should look out for when investing in Asian REITs.

Are Asian REITs still attractive? [3 February 2017]
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...uary-2017--7959
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 3 2017, 08:09 AM)
I'm aware of the risk but for PRS/MIS, your investment time span is usually long.
Those risk could be short term.
I too......got Amreits for this year 2017 portfolio set up...now achieved it 11% allocation
after reading the FSM analysts, hopefully can get > 6% ROI for this year and the next, next, next....
SUSyklooi
post Mar 3 2017, 08:21 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 3 2017, 08:17 AM)
My purpose is to diversify my asset classes.
I don't want MIS money pool to invest into similar funds in my PRS or regular portfolio.
Therefore I choose REIT funds.
good moves by you....
my PRS funds Is too little, thus have to use cash + PRS to go into Amreits for diversification too...

SUSyklooi
post Mar 3 2017, 08:25 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 3 2017, 08:24 AM)
You meant the $$$ invested in PRS?
Or number of funds under PRS scheme?
$$ in PRS
SUSyklooi
post Mar 3 2017, 08:33 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 3 2017, 08:28 AM)
Well, same goes to me.
I just bought for tax relief.
4 years and the amount in PRS is just RM 12k
blush.gif
me too...for tax relief purposes....
but when I reached retirement age,...may have to consider, moving more to PRS funds.....
not for tax relief purposes but 0% SC on targeted funds under PRS funds.
at retirement age, can take out money no tax and can buy 0% Sc funds brows.gif brows.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 4 2017, 09:40 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Mar 4 2017, 09:08 AM)
Why about using either constant dollar investing or value averaging to lock in the profits? Isn't that a better option than to cash out from a fund completely?

For e.g., for constant dollar investing, your equity fund portion is constant. Let's say you bought Eastspring Small Cap for RM10k. It has now increased 20%. You then transfer RM2k into Eastspring Bond Fund. Your EISC value is still RM10k. After 6 months, the market corrects and EISC drops 20%. You switched back all the Eastspring Bond into EISC free of charge using credit points. Note: Another variation of buy low, sell high?

Just my own thought. No right or wrong answer. Everyone has different investing style. 👍
I am not sure about others....but I think, at times this is also a very emotional affecting actions too.
I did that a few times....not a good feelings when you see the funds continued to rally for another few months.....days after days...the EQ and FI returns gaps widen.... ranting.gif
but then, at times...I just felt so rclxm9.gif when after I moved,...that funds corrected..... thumbup.gif oh-what a feelings....felt just like the fortune teller.

yes,...your suggestion is practical......and your comments on " No right or wrong answer. Everyone has different investing style" is correct too. thumbsup.gif

so is post by T231H ....
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif RUN....RUN.... if you liked that.
it is your money and your choice...who knows when the BIG corrections is gonna come....

SUSyklooi
post Mar 10 2017, 11:19 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 10 2017, 11:13 AM)
No. What I meant was the fed mentioned that they are going to hike rates 3x this year but they didn't specify when. Before march, % of expectation of hike was low. But now it's almost certain the first hike will take place on 15/3.

Those pesky investor/spectaculars/traders  who live for hot money wasn't sure where to move their money. But with certain that hike will happen in March pump money into those sectors, they sell off for quick profit
Thanks goodness my affin ceo had already tell his fm to place bet (buy assets holdings) with the expectation of rate hike since 2 yrs ago...

65 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3329sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:42 PM