1553 Pages « < 605 606 607 608 609 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Feb 23 2018, 08:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Feb 23 2018, 06:12 PM)
Agree, it take me some time to acknowledge and "feel" it thou, I start FSM with 30% FI and 70% EQ, slowly rebalance it to nearly full EQ..
some forummers keep bond funds in their port for this.....(as below)

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 7 2018, 12:36 AM)
My bond fund are with Affin Hwang, and Eastspring, i can only switch to EQ in these fund house ... no much choice...

Last week, i switched all my Affin Hwang Aiiman Asia Growth to Esther bond, to lock +5% profit, that i put a bet in early December.
Today, just switch back only... So, my FI-EQ ratio remains unchanged at 30-70%.

My plans for the coming days is : if market drop >4% like today (HSI drops 5% today leh), i will switch 10% of my FI to EQ fund.  Switch back to bond fund if this bet have around 5% profit in these coming months.

10% of my FI is only 3% of my total UT portfolio (eUT + ASNB + FSM).
I can repeat it maximum 7 times until FI-EQ ratio at 10-90%, because 10% of my FI are with ASNB.

If i reach 10-90 FI/EQ ratio, that means the market drops at least 30%. sweat.gif  Then, we are in bear market/ economic recession.

But, recent economic data (unemployment, inflation, PMI) are all good, companies earning still grows. We are not in economic recession loh. So, i put a a bet.

The fear come from the change of FED president to a hawkish one, and fear on steep interest rate hike by him.

=====
Don't follow me, our situation are not the same.
I have a good job, insurance and EPF to secure me. Nobody depends on me, no commitment. And, I have experience in 2008 fin crisis.
QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 8 2018, 01:33 PM)
*Disclaimers: This is my method, you are at your own risk if you try to follow!!!

My way:
3% above previous peak, switch 10% EQ out for every good day, stop at 50% EQ left
5% below previous first sold, switch 10% FI in for every bad day, stop at 30% FI left
j.passing.by
post Feb 23 2018, 08:06 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Feb 23 2018, 06:12 PM)
Agree, it take me some time to acknowledge and "feel" it thou, I start FSM with 30% FI and 70% EQ, slowly rebalance it to nearly full EQ..
Tried Managed portfolio, the DIY portfolio return seem more lucrative.
anyway, i m still a beginner in UT, so have not experience market crash as all sifu here.  biggrin.gif

plan to switch my ponzi 1.0 + Affin Hwang Select bond to Cimb ASEAN, any comment?
"More lucrative" because you have more irons in the fire by having almost all in equities, while a managed portfolio have to have some in FI as mandated in the portfolio’s master prospectus.

Also the fund manager running it have to take a longer market outlook on which markets to invest/allocate more… contrary to some misplaced belief that ‘actively managed’ means active trading of stocks everyday to lessen the drop on a down day and to return more profit on an up day.

Whichever fund you selected, you must have faith in it, so that you don’t have too much stress or anxiety about your investment in a market crash… that you have faith that the markets will rebound and continues to grow and expand, and that the fund will rise up along with the markets it invested in.

I like ASEAN because it is a mixed bag of different economies and also ‘emerging/developing’ countries such as Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam, and it has also a more stable and developed country i.e. Singapore… that the fund manager has a diverse option to allocate the fund’s investment.

China, Hong Kong & Taiwan markets are more volatile… and seem to be more influence by global/western institutional investors and also retail players/speculators who like to pump and pull out at any moment. As shown recently, their dips and rebounds can be steeper than ASEAN markets.

Also ASEAN includes Malaysia… the daily volatility in KLCI is mild in relative to other markets. And the ringgit is now below 4 to 1 usd and seems to be trading within a tight range… if goes back above 4, it could translates to higher NAV prices and ROI to the funds we are holding… if it strengthen more, more buying power to us in buying or topping up foreign funds, be it ASEAN or Asia Pacific or Greater China.

---------------

“(i guess i enter the market when it's peak, currently in red)”

Learn to be patient, and buy the dips. One method to rectify is to sell or switch out when it turns positive. This is if you feel you have over-invested... that is you have put more money into equities than you think you can spare.

If it is a part of many more purchases to come using the DCA or VA method, then carry on… don’t hold back the new purchases just because the previous purchases are in the red. Have faith in the funds you selected.

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Feb 23 2018, 10:53 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

Manu REITS lose 6% since last august...

EMB also lose a lot since last august....

*Buang EMB before 2nd dip.

Manu doh.gif

India earn most but lost all in 2nd dip and -ve now

KGF will liquidate all before GE start.

Dinasti and Ponzi 2 as main horse. TA Global keep

Eastspring GEM keep.... so far my plan.

Aim for 60 managed port 40 100% YOLO EQ
estherkon
post Feb 24 2018, 02:15 PM

70 posts

Is it a good idea to sell AHSBF and buy AmIncome Plus and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund?
MUM
post Feb 24 2018, 02:49 PM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(estherkon @ Feb 24 2018, 02:15 PM)
Is it a good idea to sell AHSBF and buy AmIncome Plus and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund?
hmm.gif may I know why do you suggest it?

well, it depends on what one wanted the bond fund to be.....just few postings back...some suggested ASNB fixed price fund to be a better choice
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 24 2018, 03:26 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

If u want to switch, u can consider Libra Asnitabond Fund. Much more stable compared to AHSB
jfleong
post Feb 24 2018, 10:47 PM

338 posts

Guys how long will the Ninja trick take
from EQ A > FI A > FsI B
Is it advisable to do this now for CIMB Greater China? Scared the fund will raise by more than 1.75% during this time period
estherkon
post Feb 25 2018, 02:24 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 24 2018, 02:49 PM)
hmm.gif may I know why do you suggest it?

well, it depends on what one wanted the bond fund to be.....just few postings back...some suggested ASNB fixed price fund to be a better choice
I have 40% of my portfolio in bonds. I was really looking for it to act as balance. I can't get ASNB because I'm overseas and have never bought any ASNB.

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 24 2018, 03:26 PM)
If u want to switch, u can consider Libra Asnitabond Fund. Much more stable compared to AHSB
Would it be appropriate to just have Malaysian bonds? I erroneously thought that Asian bonds would be more stable.
MUM
post Feb 25 2018, 03:15 AM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(estherkon @ Feb 25 2018, 02:24 AM)
I have 40% of my portfolio in bonds. I was really looking for it to act as balance. I can't get ASNB because I'm overseas and have never bought any ASNB.
Would it be appropriate to just have Malaysian bonds? I erroneously thought that Asian bonds would be more stable.
AHSB had been the best per calendar performance for a few years...then just this last 10 months....
if you wanted, can try as WhitE LighteR suggested..libra anista bond
more consistent returns, better risk returns value than AHSB, lower FSM risk rating, lower 3yrs volatility%
but as you can see the returns of these bond funds are less than the ASX FP as mentioned by others.

can try PM Ramjade on how to get the ASX FP fund from overseas.......he has vast information and willing to share too... thumbsup.gif

MUM
post Feb 25 2018, 03:20 AM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 24 2018, 10:47 PM)
from EQ A > FI A > FsI B
Is it advisable to do this now for CIMB Greater China? Scared the fund will raise by more than 1.75% during this time period
depending on the funds.....my wild guess would be about 10 days ~ 2 weeks
yes, CIMB Greater China can rise > 2% in this Ninja period.....so can it fall > 2% too during this Ninja period brows.gif
LoTek
post Feb 25 2018, 10:15 AM

1,259 posts

Ponzi 1 has been disappointing for a while. Probably should switch out.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2018, 11:48 AM

8,188 posts

just bought 3k into CMF
getting ready for next week buying in of Ponzi 2.0 PRS at the same time switching my AmPRS Reits to Ponzi 2.0 PRS
one year holding Amreits lost 3.7% value + opportunity cost

seems like my whole PRS funds endeavour had been losing a lot of opportunities cost if I were to just got into Ponzi 2.0 PRS from the beginning......well if only I can see the future.

after this switching, my Ponzi 2.0 holdings would increase by another 3%.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2018, 11:52 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Feb 25 2018, 10:15 AM)
Ponzi 1 has been disappointing for a while. Probably should switch out.
yes, have to agree with that...it had been disappointing for many months last year
but since they switched the fund's mandate last Dec, it seems to be moving almost on par with Ponzi 2.0 since Dec 23 to Feb 22 period.....hope it last.

well, if it only CAN be on par with Ponzi 2.0......why need both ? devil.gif
Kaka23
post Feb 25 2018, 12:02 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 25 2018, 11:48 AM)
just bought 3k into CMF
getting ready for next week buying in of Ponzi 2.0 PRS at the same time switching my AmPRS Reits to Ponzi 2.0 PRS
one year holding Amreits lost 3.7% value + opportunity cost

seems like my whole PRS funds endeavour had been losing a lot of opportunities cost if I were to just got into Ponzi 2.0 PRS from the beginning......well if only I can see the future.

after this switching, my Ponzi 2.0 holdings would increase by another 3%.
Already submit documents to FSM for the PRS transfer?
SUSyklooi
post Feb 25 2018, 12:13 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 25 2018, 12:02 PM)
Already submit documents to FSM for the PRS transfer?
nope,...planning to go there next week to do the paper work for buying & switching.....then go makan at the shopping center near there

my prs fund minimum holding period expired 28 Feb.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 25 2018, 12:17 PM
i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 03:25 PM

225 posts

Go ahead with ur plan.

In this interest rate hike period, bond price, esp foreign bond that priced in USD, will keep dropping.
So, what we can do for bond funds are:
1) transfer to ASNB fixed price fund if we can, if want stable and around 6% performance.
2) Keep some in bond funds with FSM risk ranking = 1 or 2 for switching, it must be same fund house with your equity funds. Generally, this kind of bond funds in this kind of period is around 4%.

AmIncome Plus and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund are good choice as their FSM risk ranking are only 2 and many good equity funds in these 2 fund houses.

i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 03:37 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 24 2018, 10:47 PM)
from EQ A > FI A > FsI B
Depend on the funds, but generally the shortest possible time are as below:

EQ A > FI A : 3 business day
FI A > FI B : 2 + 3 business day = 5 business day

So, ur EQ B will be priced on 8th business day, counted from switching day of EQ A.

if it is possible, use eUT for inter-switching transition, because only lose 2 days there EQ A -> EQ B.

jfleong
post Feb 25 2018, 03:59 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 25 2018, 03:37 PM)
Depend on the funds, but generally the shortest possible time are as below:

EQ A > FI A : 3 business day
FI A > FI B : 2 + 3 business day = 5 business day

So, ur EQ B will be priced on 8th business day, counted from switching day of EQ A.
if it is possible, use eUT for inter-switching transition,  because only lose 2 days there  EQ A -> EQ B.
Wanted to buy Manulife dragon, which is not available on eUT
But might consider Dinasti instead since got 0% SC
Kaka23
post Feb 25 2018, 05:22 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 25 2018, 12:13 PM)
nope,...planning to go there next week to do the paper work for buying & switching.....then go makan at the shopping center near there

my prs fund minimum holding period expired 28 Feb.
thumbup.gif

What is the shooping mall near their office?
i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 07:36 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 25 2018, 03:59 PM)
Wanted to buy Manulife dragon, which is not available on eUT
But might consider Dinasti instead since got 0% SC
So, u want to switch from CIMB Greater China (with FSM/eUT?) to Manulife Dragon (FSM only)?

If ur CIMB Greater China holding are with eUT, u may consider to sell it(other funds also can) at eUT, then email to FSM the receipt of sell transaction for 0% sales charge transfer in offer. u will be given 1 month period to utilize the 0% sales charge transfer in offer.

By this way, the shortest possible time is T+5 business day. Alternatively, you can choose which day to buy back the Manulife Dragon Growth.

Just a suggestion, decision is on ur hands....

1553 Pages « < 605 606 607 608 609 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:29 PM