Travel Will you spend 10k to go traveling?

TSabubin
post Jan 14 2010, 03:03 PM, updated 15y ago

10,423 posts

Traveling around MY is fine as it's cheap. But what about going to US or UK or Japan and other countries. Those are expensive.

So, are you willing to spend 10k (for you and your partner) to go traveling? Because that 10k is for airplane ticket, hotel lodging, traveling fees, tickets and food only. That means 10k just gone like that.

For some people it is worth it but for some you get nothing (tangible) in the end.

Discuss....
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2010, 03:07 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 14 2010, 03:03 PM)
Traveling around MY is fine as it's cheap. But what about going to US or UK or Japan and other countries. Those are expensive.

So, are you willing to spend 10k (for you and your partner) to go traveling? Because that 10k is for airplane ticket, hotel lodging, traveling fees, tickets and food only. That means 10k just gone like that.

For some people it is worth it but for some you get nothing (tangible) in the end.

Discuss....
I splurge that much occasionally in Asean country depend on the purpose of my trips. Especially the places that I think I would be there only once in my lifetime. I never regret when I saw my banking account after went back for trips. Its really enjoy and rejuvenate trips. I'm addict to that lifestyle tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 14 2010, 03:08 PM
xenon_aniki
post Jan 14 2010, 03:15 PM

1,067 posts

for me 10K is quite expensive. maybe i like to go more to less expensive country like Taiwan, Vietnam & Thailand. the idea is to see other people place anyway.
tpleong
post Jan 14 2010, 03:20 PM

795 posts

I have spend 20k/30k per trip a few times but never regretted. The memory u get is eternity.......but we need to strike a balance , don't overspend on holidays smile.gif

This post has been edited by tpleong: Jan 14 2010, 03:27 PM
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 03:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, for Average M'sian not easy but for those really above average, esp those earning 5 figure/mth , RM10K, will be peanut to them...Only 1 mth out of 1 yr salary mah....why not...

If I earn so much, I might be spending the same as those above avg ppl liao....just like putraskyline, sharkteef (Permabanned liao), travelers, & more haha
TSabubin
post Jan 14 2010, 03:22 PM

10,423 posts

Other asean countries are relatively cheap compared to developed countries like US, UK, Japan and even Australia. Places like Las Vegas or Japan or Europe is a must go for people who like traveling.

Personally, I do not like going to backward places like China or India. The people there are really crazy. Con here, con there and so dirty.

Anyway...10k is considered quite low for 2 people if you are going to traveling in Europe. No way it's enough.

Let's say it take you like 6-12 months to save up 10k then go travel, all gone.
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 03:46 PM

2,521 posts

10K is enuf just for 1 pax go Japan...

If a person don't see the value in travelling, no matter how much, also they say it's not worth...maybe jus a few photo for remembrance.

But if one is travel maniac like some of us here, ...the value can't be measured in RM & sen, (altho we will need them to go travel, the experiences, the humbling moments when one is struck by the immense beauty of some places and the strong human spirit of the people of the land we are visiting.
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 03:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I won't do that man saving for 6mth for RM10K...My max is 1 mth salary on that particular year...That's why last year all my oversea trips all ended in Hostels...haha

caprina
post Jan 14 2010, 04:08 PM

76 posts

travel according to your wallet thickness... the thicker the wallet (with cash of course) the more they will spend.. the farther they will go.. if i have the money i will go seeing those iceberg and what not.. some people dont appreciate this traveling thing.. they prefer spend less.. cuti-cuti malaysia and spend more on things they can see.. house or car or something..
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 04:22 PM

2,521 posts

TS should re -word the question to

If you have the money, would you spend RM10k on a trip?

Several years ago, our family of 5 used up Rm35k for 3 wks in NZ..it's was really good, worth every sen of it...went river fishing, glacier walking, stay in log cabin & also a horse ranch etc .

Am planning a Norway tour ---to walk the glacier and do the fjords ...a 1 wk trip staying in tents, and basic forest cabins costs RM7k without food, air tkt and connection to/from the incoming city in Norway. Can't help it that some cities are expensive due to high cost of living.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM

62 posts

i spend > 10k on my flight tickets alone each time.
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 07:04 PM

2,521 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM)
Fly Business/First Class .....jeles nya drool.gif drool.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 14 2010, 08:31 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,036 posts

WHy Not? I go japan 3 day I spent RM35k....something is mmoney cannot buy...that is happy time together with your love one when traveling
navilink
post Jan 14 2010, 09:59 PM

【ツ】
10,782 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 14 2010, 04:22 PM)

If you have the money, would you spend RM10k on  a trip?

Several years ago, our family of 5 used up Rm35k for 3 wks in NZ..it's was really good,  worth every sen of it...went river fishing, glacier walking, stay in log cabin & also a horse ranch etc .

Am planning a Norway tour ---to walk the glacier and do the fjords ...a 1 wk trip staying in tents, and basic forest cabins costs RM7k without food, air tkt and connection to/from the incoming city in Norway. Can't help it that some cities are expensive due to high cost of living.

norway happens to the among the highest cost of living city! tongue.gif

anyway for me, willing to spend 10K, but would preferably explore all places in the country with the minimest cost and longest time.. no hotel, no exquisite dining, no beer, no luxury in short..
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2010, 10:15 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM)
Thats great.I would love to, but due to budget constraint, mostly I fly through AA tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 14 2010, 10:17 PM
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 11:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehhh doesn't sound like Putra liao biggrin.gif ..Mr Wokayy likes biz class bcos got stewardess massage his head wan biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 14 2010, 10:15 PM)
Thats great.I would love to, but due to budget constraint, mostly I fly through AA  tongue.gif
Ami Tsun
post Jan 14 2010, 11:30 PM

Look at some of the tour packages, eg Hokkaido 7 days, The Silk Road 12 days, 10 days Egypt, 11 days NZ, all are around 5k. So, each couple could very well be >10k..

10k for travelling? Yes, I would, but may be once every 5 years or so, a treat to my parents. Other time just go budget independent tour..

So far, has only brought (belanja) my parents to Tasmania, 8 days, SGD 7k...

Putraskyline
post Jan 15 2010, 12:03 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 14 2010, 11:25 PM)
Ehhh doesn't sound like Putra liao  biggrin.gif ..Mr Wokayy likes biz class bcos got stewardess massage his head wan  biggrin.gif
Haha....I also got budget lah Stimix, Mr. Wokayy are on infinity budget. Mostly I spend much on hotel only.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 15 2010, 01:01 AM

62 posts

mostly i spend on food
tpleong
post Jan 15 2010, 09:12 AM

795 posts

Think each one has their own priority & budget, the important thing is, one must feel its worth it.
moody5
post Jan 15 2010, 10:25 AM

296 posts

Rm10 k to travel and see another part of the world

I would say worth it!

We can always earn back / save the money but the memory that We gain from the trip is irreplaceable!

Any places also can be expensive depending how you spend. If you stay in private villa/high end suite which cost you RM1k per night in MY then the MY trip also can be expensive.
nandayryu
post Jan 15 2010, 10:32 AM

1,072 posts

wah..how i wish i can use first class also...haha..always economy class only
aeiou228
post Jan 15 2010, 11:02 AM

5,831 posts

The answer is simple, It all depend on one's wallet. This question only applicable to those average income earners. The rich surely "sup sup water."

But I seriously doubt RM10K for 2 pax is good enough for US....

SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 15 2010, 12:43 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 15 2010, 11:02 AM)
The answer is simple, It all depend on one's wallet. This question only applicable to those average income earners. The rich surely "sup sup water."

But I seriously doubt RM10K for 2 pax is good enough for US....
if 3d2n to US then can.
Cas
post Jan 15 2010, 01:35 PM

262 posts

Just do it smile.gif Travelling is an experience of a lifetime, if you dont do it now, you'll never. That RM10k, you can easily earn it back.
stimix
post Jan 15 2010, 01:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For those expensive countries, I intend to buy xtra tents & even cooker & wok during backpacking trip to save cost....Spending more on expensive transport.....

I think possible kua? I really admire those backpackers..
beguiler
post Jan 15 2010, 03:02 PM

145 posts

yes almost every of my trip surely exceeded 30k , how can not to spend rm10k? xD
stimix
post Jan 15 2010, 03:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

geeezzz...given me lesser hope planning backpacking trip to EU liao..haizzzz
Sky.Live
post Jan 15 2010, 03:24 PM

Proctected Species
4,383 posts

10k RM is not really alot when you go overseas.

Going to Australia makes your money /3 = $3k+
Going to US makes your money /3.5 = less than $3k

Their food,transport and accomodation is generally soo much more expensive.

I wish that Malaysia currency is not that weak, making us poor like beggars when we travel around..
arzdan
post Jan 15 2010, 03:34 PM

rm10k is actually enough if u know how to spend it wisely. i travelled to holland & paris for 3 weeks, rm4k for flight ticket and rm6k for expenses and budget place.
??!!
post Jan 15 2010, 03:37 PM

2,521 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 15 2010, 12:43 PM)
if 3d2n to US then can.
Itinerary :-

KLIA ----->Transit city of your Choice *----> US city of your Choice* ----->KLIA

*(Airport transit lounge only)

This post has been edited by ??!!: Jan 15 2010, 03:38 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 15 2010, 03:40 PM

Proctected Species
4,383 posts

QUOTE(arzdan @ Jan 15 2010, 03:34 PM)
rm10k is actually enough if u know how to spend it wisely. i travelled to holland & paris for 3 weeks, rm4k for flight ticket and rm6k for expenses and budget place.
that's for one person i guess, and a lot of fast food on the run?
TSabubin
post Jan 15 2010, 03:50 PM

10,423 posts

yeah..i guess 10k is not too much if you do it like once every few years. For people who can afford (rich) it is nothing to them.

Average ppl like me would have to travel less and enjoy every penny spend. Haha...
Putraskyline
post Jan 15 2010, 04:18 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 15 2010, 03:50 PM)
yeah..i guess 10k is not too much if you do it like once every few years. For people who can afford (rich) it is nothing to them.

Average ppl like me would have to travel less and enjoy every penny spend. Haha...
Erm...Its not rich la to spend 10k traveling while cut saving cost on daily routine just to enjoy great holidays. Haha...
huangpl89
post Jan 15 2010, 04:31 PM

217 posts

if spent with beloved one in dream place, why not? RM10k even though might be a big figure but the memory obtained are much more value than that~ ^^
viruz019
post Jan 15 2010, 04:54 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

i think it's worth it..enjoying sights, culture, tradition, foods...etc..of other place is great! and since we won't always be travelling around the world so it's a good opportunity i guess ;P
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 15 2010, 05:23 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 15 2010, 03:37 PM)

KLIA ----->Transit city of your Choice *----> US city of your Choice* ----->KLIA
yup pretty much that. US city no la, 3d2n in US probably can go to hotel and walk 2 hours before back to hotel and fly back liao. 1/2 city oso kenot see lol
Ami Tsun
post Jan 15 2010, 07:33 PM

Some times kena budget more because of the weaker Ringgit..

For people who love to travel, money is not the issue. There are rich people out there who has the money but do not like travelling.

aeiou228
post Jan 16 2010, 09:52 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 15 2010, 05:23 PM)
yup pretty much that. US city no la, 3d2n in US probably can go to hotel and walk 2 hours before back to hotel and fly back liao. 1/2 city  oso kenot see lol
How to walk 2 hours wor, even just want to go and comeback immediately also not possible. Maybe walk 2 hours in the air port more like it.
planb2
post Jan 16 2010, 11:28 PM

52 posts

oh sure.... this is one the hobbies that will give you flashbacks and a nice smile thinking bout it.
D-Tourist
post Jan 16 2010, 11:48 PM

95 posts

Well u won't know the joy of it until u been there, done that and come back loving it smile.gif BUt choose ur destination wisely... coz not all places really worth it. Myself, i believe japan is worth every cent of it. smile.gif Especially hokkaido.
vey99
post Jan 17 2010, 08:17 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

my last oversea trip was about RM10K.

hong kong 4d3n.

stimix
post Jan 17 2010, 09:27 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

ehhhh Not Banting meh?
??!!
post Jan 17 2010, 12:01 PM

2,521 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 15 2010, 03:37 PM)

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 15 2010, 05:23 PM)
yup pretty much that. US city no la, 3d2n in US probably can go to hotel and walk 2 hours before back to hotel and fly back liao. 1/2 city  oso kenot see lol
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2010, 09:52 PM)
How to walk 2 hours wor, even just want to go and comeback immediately also not possible. Maybe walk 2 hours in the air port more like it.
See the * note on transit city and US city.

Now with the security checks at US airports due to latest security scare...maybe walk around duty free shops also not enuf time.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 17 2010, 04:23 PM

62 posts

can la, got enuf time to walk to duty free shop buy 1 drink and drink inside airpot toilet
wlcling
post Jan 18 2010, 03:18 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

yup... enough for 1 person's expenditure when i went to Tromso, Norway.
a) Cheapest Flight to Oslo and then transit with cheapest budget flight to Tromso.
a) stay in bed & breakfast inn about 8 nights
b) have instant noodles for some meals
c) minimal shopping
tishaban
post Jan 18 2010, 10:22 PM

3,615 posts

I guess I try to save up as much as possible beforehand and make sure that I can pay whatever extra I spend within 2-3 months. Yes I've spent way more than 10k before...

If you plan properly you can obviously save cost but I'm not the type to plan every single detail up front but that's a bit heavier on the wallet obviously. I didn't expect for example to be charged 12 euros for wifi access at my hotel this past weekend, a little bit more planning would've saved me that money but I just go with the flow...

arthurlwf
post Jan 19 2010, 01:46 AM

2,546 posts

Discuss....
TS, it's a different objective as memory will stay with you forever. And best since you're going with your partner. If you want to go budget, then go to those country that Air Asia is going to currently to save flight expenses. Most of the travel issue is due to flight expenses only.

Next main cost is the accommodation and you can browse http://www.hostelworld.com for good pricing accommodation with high rating. Alternatively, you can ask LYN icon_rolleyes.gif

And if you decided to go for the trip, try to enjoy the local food as much as possible

Btw, most of the people over here will say worth it. Try ask in Financial section, and you might get different answer.

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Jan 19 2010, 01:50 AM
aichiban
post Jan 23 2010, 07:22 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,993 posts

Sometimes its not a matter of choice
Many places if you wanna go, you NEED to spend at least 10k, or dont go at all.

So if dun wanna spend XXX amount of money, cant travel to XXX place oredi
shady
post Jan 23 2010, 07:25 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

If you have extra money and don't know where to spend, I think it is worth spending on travelling. Travelling opens up our mind and you can meet people from around the world.
Blue07
post Jan 24 2010, 01:03 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Jan 14 2010, 03:20 PM)
I have spend 20k/30k per trip a few times but never regretted. The memory u get is eternity.......but we need to strike a balance , don't overspend on holidays  smile.gif
Agreed. I spent almost RM20k for 3 weeks in Europe last year (Euro was really expensive then!) and no regrets whatsoever. I think it's about what you're willing to spend, your style of travelling and what you think you can get out of it. No point spending just to say you've been to some place and then regretting it. I go to very few cities each trip so that I can absorb it. Doing 8-9 cities in 10 days is a no-no because then it's all a blur and I take nothing back with me. I plan my own itinerary and joining tours are very rare for me. I try to cut corners where possible but not to the extent of limiting my experience there.

Also I find that opening up an account specially for travelling helps. You know that money is meant to be spent on travelling so you feel less "sakit hati" when you spend it.

I think it's important to suss out what kind of traveller you are. I know that I'm not the backpacker/hostel type of traveller so I don't force myself to do it that way and end up not enjoying it. Some people love that style of travelling. I can't afford to be lavish either so it's about customizing my own trip. There are many, many options available to travellers. One just has to be diligent in doing the homework to be able to afford travel.

I'm also the type who doesn't mind paying entrance fees for the places I want to see but I balk at shopping. Often, people are incredulous that I didn't do a whole load of shopping when I travel but I hate shopping and spending on stuff like clothes, bags, shoes etc. I use my budget for entrance fees, splurging on the local cuisine at least a couple of times per city and for buying little souvenirs for myself and loved ones.

This post has been edited by Blue07: Jan 24 2010, 01:08 PM
SUSd3m0n
post Feb 1 2010, 05:24 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

Sure will. I love traveling and seeing other parts of the world. So 10k for seeing something that will or will not be there in the future is worth it.
bernardyong
post Feb 1 2010, 10:09 PM

80 posts

It all depends on where you're planning on going ain't it smile.gif RM10K for a trip to Europe won't get you much...but spend that money on an ASEAN destination and you can pretty much live like a King for a short while...lol.

But to answer ur question, yes its worth it....as long as you go with someone special wink.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Feb 4 2010, 10:38 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

Depends on where the destination is.
Had a fren who went to Alaska for that price to witness the Aurora.
I say worth it !
SecrET_of_RainBOw
post Feb 6 2010, 04:35 AM

201 posts

10k worth then... can visit many place thumbup.gif
akira de aimbuster
post Feb 6 2010, 01:52 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

i dont mind spending 10k in japan nod.gif
wtm0325
post Feb 7 2010, 08:17 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(Blue07 @ Jan 24 2010, 01:03 PM)
Agreed. I spent almost RM20k for 3 weeks in Europe last year (Euro was really expensive then!) and no regrets whatsoever. I think it's about what you're willing to spend, your style of travelling and what you think you can get out of it. No point spending just to say you've been to some place and then regretting it. I go to very few cities each trip so that I can absorb it. Doing 8-9 cities in 10 days is a no-no because then it's all a blur and I take nothing back with me. I plan my own itinerary and joining tours are very rare for me.  I try to cut corners where possible but not to the extent of limiting my experience there.

Also I find that opening up an account specially for travelling helps. You know that money is meant to be spent on travelling so you feel less "sakit hati" when you spend it.

I think it's important to suss out what kind of traveller you are. I know that I'm not the backpacker/hostel type of traveller so I don't force myself to do it that way and end up not enjoying it. Some people love that style of travelling. I can't afford to be lavish either so it's about customizing my own trip. There are many, many options available to travellers. One just has to be diligent in doing the homework to be able to afford travel.

I'm also the type who doesn't mind paying entrance fees for the places I want to see but I balk at shopping. Often, people are incredulous that I didn't do a whole load of shopping when I travel but I hate shopping and spending on stuff like clothes, bags, shoes etc. I use my budget for entrance fees, splurging on the local cuisine at least a couple of times per city and for buying little souvenirs for myself and loved ones.
Exactly, totally agree thumbup.gif

Back then I used to backpack and couchsurf in 2008 with my gf, for travelling 25 days from London to France, Switzerland, Italy and Barcelona, our travelling cost is merely GBP1000/pax, exchange rate that time was ~MYR 6.00.

We plan the trip in real details, spent on local food, stay with local host, save unnecessary travelling cost, shopping and entrance fees. We were very much enjoying because it is similar to cultural exchange for our travelling style, we want to try living like the local people tongue.gif

Plus the go and return to Msia, it was ~MYR3500/pax so total ~RM10k

Whether it is 10k or not, if you think it's worth spending, you have no regret

SUSendau02
post Aug 2 2010, 04:53 PM

3,180 posts

wif my salary atm, cant afford, later, y not? coz u worth it
pilotan
post Aug 2 2010, 09:13 PM

17 posts

definitely worth it, for me.

in fact im saving hard now, yes, my heart pinches a little thinking of how much car loan i could've paid with the amount.

but i guess nothing compares to the fabulous experience of seeing the world with ur own eyes =)
e-jump
post Aug 2 2010, 09:39 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

i may not have spent 10k, but i've spend ~6k, twice, to japan for 9 days each..
japan is an expensive place, but the environment to was well worth to be in n feel
and i did it for my photography hobby as well...
rm6k? having set foot to CureFestival was worth it
Vengeance_Mad
post Aug 3 2010, 09:48 AM

Aston-ishing
796 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Feb 7 2010, 08:17 AM)
Exactly, totally agree  thumbup.gif

Back then I used to backpack and couchsurf in 2008 with my gf, for travelling 25 days from London to France, Switzerland, Italy and Barcelona, our travelling cost is merely GBP1000/pax, exchange rate that time was ~MYR 6.00.

We plan the trip in real details, spent on local food, stay with local host, save unnecessary travelling cost, shopping and entrance fees. We were very much enjoying because it is similar to cultural exchange for our travelling style, we want to try living like the local people tongue.gif

Plus the go and return to Msia, it was ~MYR3500/pax so total ~RM10k

Whether it is 10k or not, if you think it's worth spending, you have no regret
How long ago was that?
GBP1k can last for 25 days so long ar.
gooni3
post Aug 3 2010, 10:09 AM

518 posts

yes once in a while
jam_lennon
post Aug 3 2010, 11:41 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 14 2010, 04:22 PM)

If you have the money, would you spend RM10k on  a trip?

Several years ago, our family of 5 used up Rm35k for 3 wks in NZ..it's was really good,  worth every sen of it...went river fishing, glacier walking, stay in log cabin & also a horse ranch etc .

thou 35k is a big sum, but if break down into number of days stay and per head it is reasonable to me. but of coz have 2 fork out 35k within 3 weeks i still feel very heart pain

if u have budget well, just like above mention, save 10% of your monthly income for a trip, i believe after 2-3y u can accumulate 10k worth money for a travel, reward urself in 2/3y once might be too hard/kedukut but at least u will appreciate it. however as for my current income, fork out 5k in a go for a trip still too hard for me >.<"
munkeyflo
post Aug 14 2010, 05:56 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

my parents doesn't seem to have a problem with that.
they bring us for yearly family trip that last around a month. and they go holiday overseas every month. they are never home for more than 2 weeks.

as long as you enjoy traveling and you have the money, i don't see why not.
tehtmc
post Aug 15 2010, 12:38 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Aug 14 2010, 05:56 PM)
my parents doesn't seem to have a problem with that.
they bring us for yearly family trip that last around a month. and they go holiday overseas every month. they are never home for more than 2 weeks.

as long as you enjoy traveling and you have the money, i don't see why not.
You mean your parents are travelling half the time?
I guess you have to be wealthy and retired to be able to do that.
How I wish I can be like them!
Not many people have that type of money, time, stamina and the inclination to do it.
lycaphim
post Aug 15 2010, 02:30 PM

137 posts

I suppose when you are living on your credit cards by the end of the month, then of course you can't imagine travelling when you are stuck in an office cubicle making less than you spend.

As for me, I'm going to blow RM15k in one month for a nice trip to Europe. Oh, and I earn less than 2k per month.
munkeyflo
post Aug 15 2010, 09:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,728 posts

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Aug 15 2010, 12:38 PM)
You mean your parents are travelling half the time?
I guess you have to be wealthy and retired to be able to do that.
How I wish I can be like them!
Not many people have that type of money, time, stamina and the inclination to do it.
yea. they are travelling most of the time. especially with airasia now. they went to india like 2 or 3 times edi this year and are now currently in aussie/nz.
they're retired and they work hard to earn their money. so i guess it's like a reward to them to spend their hard earn money like that.
i also wanna be like them in the future. tongue.gif
Dannyl
post Aug 28 2010, 09:22 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Me and my partner spent about 15k staying at Norway for about 3 weeks, and also 2 days at Germany on the transit back. She had training there and we saved quite a lot staying at her hotel, but I still had to pay for my own airfare (4k+), our transportation there (mostly trains), other hotel fares as we travel around, and food. It's crazy, but it's once in a lifetime, and now our 2nd kid is on the way and there's no such opportunities anymore... my own travelling to several Norwegian towns and sleeping purely on overnight trains (save time and hotel accommodations) is particularly memorable.

I'm not sure which is more expensive, Norway or Japan. Lonely Planet says its Norway. Roadside fish n chips already RM80. Normally who would want to travel there for vacation anyway... personally I feel Sweden would be a better choice for Scandinavia.
mr lappy
post Aug 29 2010, 02:12 AM

397 posts

i'd probably say norway, I was there a week, my first afternoon on just market food, cost me about an equivalent of 40 pound per person and all of it are snack sized lol.
coolie
post Aug 29 2010, 02:23 AM

347 posts

I believe everyone should work smart and hard and give themselves a treat from time to time. You don't need 10k to travel around if you really really do your research. Eg: you don't need Shangrila for your night stay or you don't have to dine in the hotel practically every night. YOu can always opt for street side food and that'll save you a whole bunch.

Some people may say that if you're already travelling, then make the best out of it, but going there blindly into expensive hotels doesn't give you the bang for bucks either. Make your research and I bet some guesthouse are just as great as those hotels. Not to mention, the street foods are good too smile.gif

Just one advice : do your research smile.gif
SUSBlackBanana
post Aug 29 2010, 04:08 AM

only if the 10k is the bonus salary or strike lottery ..

i mean for working class ppl like me, 10k is quite useful in improving my life style to the more comfortable zone..because after paying the house/car etc installments with the monthly, no much left

I dont like spent a luxury week and suffer later on for months.

This post has been edited by BlackBanana: Aug 29 2010, 04:08 AM
cutiepooh
post Aug 29 2010, 03:05 PM

446 posts

For me, I think rm10k for me and my partner is worth to experience different cultures, lifestyle in Europe. I love to take a lot of pictures. I think it is good to spend this amount to experience and absorbing their cultures.

If you don't mind to stay in those budget hotels, and having 3 or 4 meals in fancy restaurants. I think that RM10k can even spend in shopping stuffs or to extend 2 or 3 days staying though.

I would rather spend the money to travel 2 years once , not to have more shopping in KL. This is only my personal point of view. But if I have to spend RM10k alone of cause I think that is still a little bit expensive for my own financial capability.

This post has been edited by cutiepooh: Aug 29 2010, 03:10 PM
quest_5692
post Aug 30 2010, 02:52 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

im living in switzerland, went for a europe trip from the 1st day of my summer holiday till the last day, 2600 francs or about rm8k under backpacker style, foot stepped on 11 countries. worth every cent of it. well i cant afford business class as im only 18 and a high school student...im malaysian btw

to clear things up, norway is expensive, nuff said. XD even zurich ppl think its expensive...
fiolsn
post Aug 30 2010, 08:43 AM

135 posts

10k to exchange a different kind of LIFE experience..why not?...hehe
tracyjz
post Aug 30 2010, 12:02 PM

-Jay Jay-
1,059 posts

10k to spent for enjoying life is no problem for me..as long I capable to make it happen and i will do it smile.gif
cshong
post Aug 30 2010, 12:25 PM

3,815 posts

According to the advertisement from travel agency, travel to Argentina need RM25k?
quest_5692
post Aug 30 2010, 02:46 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

flight tickets to south america cost a bomb. MAS after discount is around rm15k return trip to costa rica....its because you need to transit twice i think...my friend 1st fly to amsterdam then north america then argentina...it takes near to 24 hour too..
tishaban
post Aug 31 2010, 03:50 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Aug 30 2010, 02:46 PM)
flight tickets to south america cost a bomb. MAS after discount is around rm15k return trip to costa rica....its because you need to transit twice i think...my friend 1st fly to amsterdam then north america then argentina...it takes near to 24 hour too..
It's a long flight but RM15k is way too much. Go to kayak.com and check the prices there, you can get there for half the price.

wlcling
post Aug 31 2010, 06:01 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 28 2010, 09:22 AM)
Me and my partner spent about 15k staying at Norway for about 3 weeks, and also 2 days at Germany on the transit back.  She had training there and we saved quite a lot staying at her hotel, but I still had to pay for my own airfare (4k+), our transportation there (mostly trains), other hotel fares as we travel around, and food.  It's crazy, but it's once in a lifetime, and now our 2nd kid is on the way and there's no such opportunities anymore... my own travelling to several Norwegian towns and sleeping purely on overnight trains (save time and hotel accommodations) is particularly memorable.

I'm not sure which is more expensive, Norway or Japan.  Lonely Planet says its Norway.  Roadside fish n chips already RM80.  Normally who would want to travel there for vacation anyway... personally I feel Sweden would be a better choice for Scandinavia.
Norway is the bomb. But Tromso, a lovely little town is a great place to see the northern lights. blush.gif
zweimmk
post Oct 27 2010, 01:03 PM

512 posts

My trip to Italy (2 pax) - 3 weeks

Tickets: RM5260 total
Lodging: RM12,000 thereabouts
Eurail + seat reservation etc: RM2300
Food: RM2500
Car rental + insurance (1 day): Rm430

Excludes: Shopping

I think total probably close to RM35k to 40k region.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Oct 27 2010, 01:04 PM
Traveler
post Oct 27 2010, 07:41 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

A recent trip to Europe (3 1/2 weeks):

Costs are approximates only, I didn't keep track

Business-class tickets to London on MAS: RM1700 (ticket: RM0, tax RM1700; redeemed Enrich miles)
Economy-class planet tickets within Europe: RM1000
Cost of renting a BMW Z4 for 3 days: RM2100 (incl. fuel)
Overnight train ticket (cabin): RM300
Accomodation (25 nights in a mix of budget apartments, 5-star hotels and budget hotels): RM12,000
Food & Drinks (street food, cafes, supermarkets, typical local restaurants and fine-dining): RM5,000
Shopping (branded clothes, shoes, wines, souvenirs, etc): RM6,000 (saving around RM7,500 in the process - vs prices of the same branded goods in KL!)
Misc. expenses: RM2,000
Total cost: RM30,100

Experience of a lifetime (sailing on the Adriatic, climbing up mountains, taking amazing photos, wining and dining in Michelin-starred restaurants, etc): PRICELESS!

So, answering TS's question: YES!!

This post has been edited by Traveler: Oct 27 2010, 07:46 PM
Hemohemo
post Nov 11 2010, 10:41 AM

167 posts

I would spend 10k for travel...why not. Its not like we spend for other people right? Of coz people will have their own budget...Sure got savings for house/car and for sure some for holiday aite? Example me and my buddy going to europe next year...its about 20-25K perperson. We save up from this year + still have saving for other stuff. Not that our salary 5digit or sumtin. But we manage too... Gonna be in europe for about a month. So it worth it. Place to visit people we gonna meet and culture to learn. So yeah its worth it. If your the kind of person who regrets later on just stay at home. Got also 10k spending in Malaysia alone...bring the gramps parents and other families. Would u feel regret if you spend 10k for travel/holiday with your loves ones? if you do...better stay at hm and do nothing. Try to appreciate the value that comes with travel/holiday.
ezouL87
post Nov 23 2010, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(lycaphim @ Aug 15 2010, 02:30 PM)
I suppose when you are living on your credit cards by the end of the month, then of course you can't imagine travelling when you are stuck in an office cubicle making less than you spend.

As for me, I'm going to blow RM15k in one month for a nice trip to Europe. Oh, and I earn less than 2k per month.
dude, a month for 15K ? really? is it enough cuz im planning on going there with a few friends myself....
im thinking of backpacking and all cause it give me total freedom and lotsa travel options than hiring travel agency...plus its cheaper and i can cover more ground tongue.gif

oh...and yeah, i would spend 10K just for travelling

This post has been edited by ezouL87: Nov 23 2010, 07:03 PM
lycaphim
post Nov 23 2010, 07:13 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(ezouL87 @ Nov 23 2010, 07:00 PM)
dude, a month for 15K ? really? is it enough cuz im planning on going there with a few friends myself....
im thinking of backpacking and all cause it give me total freedom and lotsa travel options than hiring travel agency...plus its cheaper and i can cover more ground  tongue.gif

oh...and yeah, i would spend 10K just for travelling
You can do it for less. Depends where you are going. I'm staying in the more expensive Euro countries (most of my budget will be at Switzerland).

If you go towards the Eastern Europe countries and couchsurf you probably can safe a lot more. My budget is with hotels and goes through UK > France > Italy > Switzerland.
C-Note
post Nov 24 2010, 01:35 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Oct 27 2010, 07:41 PM)

Business-class tickets to London on MAS: RM1700 (ticket: RM0, tax RM1700; redeemed Enrich miles)
Accomodation (25 nights in a mix of budget apartments, 5-star hotels and budget hotels): RM12,000
Food & Drinks (street food, cafes, supermarkets, typical local restaurants and fine-dining): RM5,000
Shopping (branded clothes, shoes, wines, souvenirs, etc): RM6,000 (saving around RM7,500 in the process - vs prices of the same branded goods in KL!)

Experience of a lifetime (sailing on the Adriatic, climbing up mountains, taking amazing photos, wining and dining in Michelin-starred restaurants, etc): PRICELESS!
Business class for RM1700???

Mind sharing what you do for a livelihood?
Putraskyline
post Nov 24 2010, 01:59 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 24 2010, 01:35 AM)
Business class for RM1700???

Mind sharing what you do for a livelihood?
(ticket: RM0, tax RM1700; redeemed Enrich miles) tongue.gif
mfn
post Dec 5 2010, 10:47 PM

I've travelled around Europe in a month for less than £1000 (which is approx less than RM6000, based on the past rate). But that excludes return flights from KL, which is usually the highest amount u have to pay for your trip. 1700 for a business class? that's just impossible!

but it's not impossible to travel with 10k or less. trust me wink.gif
baoz
post Dec 9 2010, 08:50 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Oct 27 2010, 07:41 PM)

Nicely planned and reasonable pricing. Most importantly, the experience. smile.gif

Would like to get more pointers from this experience of yours. Thanks for sharing.

As for this topic, yes I will spend the money. As long as I have enough to eat, clothe, move around and have a shelter over my head.. the remaining money I will allocate a portion for travelling. Because seeing new places and exploring streets/tourist spots is one of my dreams or hobby. I will genuinely appreciate the experience.

Only been to Asia. Am working towards saving for Europe and later, the USA. smile.gif
Shazzac
post Dec 9 2010, 10:25 AM

427 posts

Well, I would definately spend as much as 10k for a trip anywhere. I earn peanuts by the way and people keep asking me 'how come you are always travelling??'

I told them ' because i don't drive a Honda, because i don't buy mont blanc belt, because i don't buy LV/Gucci/Branded bags, becauase i don't wear Zara/MNG/Guess'.

Yes, alot of ppl can afford LV/Gucci stuff but cannot afford a trip outside of Malaysia.

Anyway, I believe that travelling is a very good experience itself. It really opens up your mind on how other country's culture is, on how the locals are etc.

I love travelling so, regardless of the amount. It's well worth it.

I'm good with sourcing for good hotels which aren't really expensive. biggrin.gif
happyshirt
post Dec 9 2010, 02:25 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Dec 9 2010, 10:25 AM)
Well, I would definately spend as much as 10k for a trip anywhere. I earn peanuts by the way and people keep asking me 'how come you are always travelling??'
I told them ' because i don't drive a Honda, because i don't buy mont blanc belt, because i don't buy LV/Gucci/Branded bags, becauase i don't wear Zara/MNG/Guess'.
Yes, alot of ppl can afford LV/Gucci stuff but cannot afford a trip outside of Malaysia.
Anyway, I believe that travelling is a very good experience itself. It really opens up your mind on how other country's culture is, on how the locals are etc.
I'm good with sourcing for good hotels which aren't really expensive. biggrin.gif
Well shazzac u raised very good points! Agree. I'm now planning a more expensive trip this year and yeah i hv to cut down on the little extras like u mentioned. and I am going to pay more than 10k for this trip to see what the world has to offer.
iCrash
post Dec 9 2010, 06:02 PM

25 posts

never have to pay for my travelling, not ticket nor hotel and always direct flight. this January going to London then to Den Haag/netherland then germany also no cost smile.gif

but hell yeah, 10k or even more for all that. definately worth it. live life to the fullest smile.gif
10&Counting
post Dec 10 2010, 12:59 AM

QUOTE(iCrash @ Dec 9 2010, 06:02 PM)
never have to pay for my travelling, not ticket nor hotel and always direct flight. this January going to London then to Den Haag/netherland then germany also no cost smile.gif

but hell yeah, 10k or even more for all that. definately worth it. live life to the fullest smile.gif
Looks like you're set for free travel - nature of your work, incentive trips, wealthy sponsor etc
And NO, I'm not jealous or envious.
I did too for a few years - got free flights +hotels + food + transfers but that was for work.

Most of the us here forgo a lot like what Shazzac mentioned to be able to go for holidays
It's a choice we choose to enrich our lives by traveling to many different countries.

Yes, I spent more than 10K for my 18 days budget Europe holiday (Nov 2009) Self planned not through travel agents
Am going again next June for about 1 month to Europe and Baltic.
Budget about 22 - 24K. Doing so with own earnings - not free flights and free hotels

To all peanut earners, I salute you. Go travel and enjoy! notworthy.gif

'TRAVELING DOES NOT SATISFY THE APPETITE, IT INCREASES IT'

This post has been edited by 10&Counting: Dec 10 2010, 01:27 AM
Shazzac
post Dec 10 2010, 09:09 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Dec 9 2010, 02:25 PM)
Well shazzac u raised very good points! Agree. I'm now planning a more expensive trip this year and yeah i hv to cut down on the little extras like u mentioned. and I am going to pay more than 10k for this trip to see what the world has to offer.
Yea, well, feels that life is complete with all the travels rather than feeling complete with life's luxury. I have a mortgage to pay for too. If I am not travelling, there must be seriously something wrong with me!

QUOTE(10&Counting @ Dec 10 2010, 12:59 AM)
Looks like you're set for free travel -  nature of your work, incentive trips, wealthy sponsor etc
And NO, I'm not jealous or envious.
I did too for a few years - got free flights +hotels + food + transfers but that was for work.

Most of the us here forgo a lot like what Shazzac mentioned to be able to go for holidays
It's a choice we choose to enrich our lives by traveling to many different countries.

Yes, I spent more than 10K for my 18 days budget Europe holiday (Nov 2009) Self planned not through travel agents
Am going again next June for about 1 month to Europe and Baltic.
Budget about 22 - 24K. Doing so with own earnings - not free flights and free hotels

To all peanut earners, I salute you. Go travel and enjoy!    notworthy.gif

'TRAVELING DOES NOT SATISFY THE APPETITE, IT INCREASES IT'
Yea, but luckily i'm the type that does not crave luxury items due to peer pressure. And my friends still think I am a 'spoilt rich little girl', just because I travel alot, doesn't mean I'm rich. It means I want it, I just have to save up like crazy! Sheesh.

I hope you have alot of fun during your trip!! biggrin.gif Now need to google where Baltic is located at.

I hope to plan for another trip to either Scotland/Ireland/Scandinavia dunno where else. And also NYC - wonder what the hype is all about. A friend once told me it's more or less very 'KL-ish'.
10&Counting
post Dec 10 2010, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Dec 10 2010, 09:09 AM)
Yea, well, feels that life is complete with all the travels rather than feeling complete with life's luxury. I have a mortgage to pay for too. If I am not travelling, there must be seriously something wrong with me!
Yea, but luckily i'm the type that does not crave luxury items due to peer pressure. And my friends still think I am a 'spoilt rich little girl', just because I travel alot, doesn't mean I'm rich. It means I want it, I just have to save up like crazy! Sheesh.

I hope you have alot of fun during your trip!! biggrin.gif Now need to google where Baltic is located at.

I hope to plan for another trip to either Scotland/Ireland/Scandinavia dunno where else. And also NYC - wonder what the hype is all about. A friend once told me it's more or less very 'KL-ish'.
Thanks, I certainly will. So thrill going back to Iceland again. rclxm9.gif
I don't spend on unnecessarily things. Actually traveling has given me confidence and satisfaction in life.
Being able to plan and go where I want to is really great.

Scotland is nice - beautiful snow capped Mts. and rolling meadows. Lake district in England is awesome too.
For nature lover and diverse scenery - try Iceland (see Iceland thread) thumbup.gif
Something different - Tallinn, Estonia: Medieval Old Town (going in Jun) rclxms.gif

finrod87
post Dec 10 2010, 05:26 PM

Hmmm.. I already did.. XD
tishaban
post Dec 10 2010, 06:45 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Dec 10 2010, 09:09 AM)
And also NYC - wonder what the hype is all about. A friend once told me it's more or less very 'KL-ish'.
Wakaka some people get NYC, a few don't. I lived there for more than a decade and I love NYC so I don't mind spending 5k or more every year going back to enjoy the city. PM me if you decide to go and want some tips biggrin.gif

I've spent more than 7 weeks in France this year but I still haven't truly immersed myself in the culture or even had much chance to travel the country. Will probably take advantage of AAX cheap tickets to do it again in the future.

In the mean time, NZ is coming in 2011 on AAX! Fortunately not 10k since flight tickets are cheap!

10&Counting
post Dec 10 2010, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(finrod87 @ Dec 10 2010, 05:26 PM)
Hmmm.. I already did.. XD
Iceland / Tallinn or both?
finrod87
post Dec 13 2010, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(10&Counting @ Dec 10 2010, 11:36 PM)
Iceland / Tallinn or both?
Scotland, London, Rome and Athens~
Lovely places!
Have you been to Rome or Athens?
10&Counting
post Dec 13 2010, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(finrod87 @ Dec 13 2010, 06:00 PM)
Scotland, London, Rome and Athens~
Lovely places!
Have you been to Rome or Athens?
No, don't intend to in the near future.
I like nature and not so into historic places
Have to choose where to go cos $$$$

pilotHans
post Jan 2 2012, 07:48 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

yup, i definitely will ....n the only souvenirs or shopping that i'll do would be a few fridge magnets + postcards...... tongue.gif
pocketcctv
post Jan 3 2012, 01:43 PM

129 posts

I vote for a YES !
Just did mine last month for 4D3N Bangkok trip - staying at Shangri La Hotel with limousine driving us around the entire trip. Together with the air tickets would be overall approx. RM20,8xx

Worth every single cent spent ! biggrin.gif
ryan18
post Jan 3 2012, 02:52 PM

2,394 posts

last dec our family(3 person) went to hongkong,macau,guangzhou & shenzhen for 11days about rm10k include all airfare,hotel(4 star hotel),spending money,food,etc (not on package tour)
rather expensive compared to packaged tour
SUSUpCar
post Jan 3 2012, 07:40 PM

1,612 posts

go genting alone can spend more than 10k lor.
(with investments)
Listiani
post Jan 3 2012, 10:27 PM

I don't mind spending that much money for travelling. The experience that I'll gain while travelling, no money can buy.

Discuss....

Added on January 3, 2012, 10:34 pmI like this. We are in the same boat. I earn good salary but I don't buy unneccesary stuff like Gucci, LV and the likes as I spend my $$ on travelling. My husband too. We share the same passion rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Dec 9 2010, 10:25 AM)

This post has been edited by Listiani: Jan 3 2012, 10:34 PM
10&Counting
post Jan 3 2012, 10:57 PM

QUOTE(pocketcctv @ Jan 3 2012, 01:43 PM)
I vote for a YES !
Just did mine last month for 4D3N Bangkok trip - staying at Shangri La Hotel with limousine driving us around the entire trip. Together with the air tickets would be overall approx. RM20,8xx

Worth every single cent spent ! biggrin.gif
WOW! 20K for 4D3N Bangkok.
How much for Europe? 100K!!!
Holyboy27
post Jan 3 2012, 10:59 PM

842 posts

Got money go. Experience different culture, people. And food. =D
10&Counting
post Jan 3 2012, 11:08 PM

Save money and go!
Traveling is learning in real live situation.
Nothing beats that! rclxm9.gif

maru
post Jan 4 2012, 11:20 AM

1,191 posts

its depend on people.....

some ppl earn 50-100k per month, spending that kind of money its nothing to them

but majority ppl earning less than 5k.....this is group of the ppl that u need to target

i earning less than 5k, did my shanghai trip with 7k inclusive airlines

pocketcctv
post Jan 4 2012, 11:28 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(10&Counting @ Jan 3 2012, 10:57 PM)
WOW! 20K for 4D3N Bangkok.
How much for Europe? 100K!!!
Europe ? No idea yet. RM20K inclusive of everything to be exact .. accommodation, airfares, limo transfer - airport - hotel - airport, tour packages, F&B, etc etc .. smile.gif
10&Counting
post Jan 4 2012, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(pocketcctv @ Jan 4 2012, 11:28 AM)
Europe ? No idea yet. RM20K inclusive of everything to be exact .. accommodation, airfares, limo transfer - airport - hotel - airport, tour packages, F&B, etc etc .. smile.gif
Damn good to be able to have, to spend biggrin.gif
Just curious - how many persons or solo?

pocketcctv
post Jan 4 2012, 12:08 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(10&Counting @ Jan 4 2012, 11:57 AM)
Damn good to be able to have, to spend  biggrin.gif
Just curious - how many persons or solo?
That's about 7 of us. smile.gif
nonnon
post Feb 3 2012, 10:43 PM

81 posts

YES!!!! WC2010 is awesome!!!!
JenniJane
post Feb 10 2012, 01:32 AM

34 posts

Yes, i've hit my life quota once. Spent 10k in tokyo on just shopping and food. Yes, felt good but after came back, broke for months.
noonies_naruto
post Feb 10 2012, 01:58 AM

735 posts

^
LOL i was about to talk about my trip to japan as well XD

well i spent around RM9k... pretty almost the target ^^;

but the truth is, on 3k used for flight, hostel, and transport + food..

the rest... idol concerts!!!
digitalz
post Feb 10 2012, 09:37 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Yeah why not?

Money can be earned again; things/items can be bought again but not the memories made. The people we meet, the things we see & do, the time we spend with our loved ones; those are irreplaceable. smile.gif
ukiya
post Feb 10 2012, 10:18 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Yeah!

Definitely will spend tat amount, but of coz reasonable lah!
It's more up to individual preference or lifestyle, for me 10k if go some place that I could enjoy and have long lasting nice memories. Why Not?! Is not like I'm going there everyday, or can be easily access by me with minimal of money spend.
popcorn513
post Feb 10 2012, 12:53 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Travel, enjoy the food and chick when young better than when you got grandson time

Dont mind spend 10k lor to go those developed country

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Feb 10 2012, 12:54 PM
HughieRmX
post Feb 10 2012, 01:20 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

My plan of going to the Shangri La located at Cebu Island have to be cancelled .. due to the earthquake issue and bad weather forecast. Sigh .. :(
lowyatter
post Feb 10 2012, 01:24 PM

70 posts

Work every day every year without holiday...kinda defeats the whole purpose of living.

Even if you don't earn much it would still be nice to holiday once in a while, maybe set aside some money every month for a nice holiday. If poor then go once every few years lor, if richer then can go every year.

Important thing is to go out and see new experiences and new countries and have fun doing it.
HughieRmX
post Feb 10 2012, 01:32 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 01:24 PM)
Work every day every year without holiday...kinda defeats the whole purpose of living.

Even if you don't earn much it would still be nice to holiday once in a while, maybe set aside some money every month for a nice holiday. If poor then go once every few years lor, if richer then can go every year.

Important thing is to go out and see new experiences and new countries and have fun doing it.
Nice one ! thumbup.gif
10&Counting
post Feb 10 2012, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 01:24 PM)

lowyatter, Well said!!!

"To travel is to live." - H. C. Andersen ...

Small pay, save, save, save - no luxury purchases and fancy restaurants
Happy memories and life time experiences more than make up for the sacrifices

When one is young, time is on your side but for when you're young at heart, go before the legs give out.
There'll be time for luxury indulgences later, nearer to home when the heart is willing but the body is reluctant.

Traveling is addictive - Enjoy while you can - No regrets! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by 10&Counting: Feb 10 2012, 04:16 PM
zhngmykahzhng
post Feb 16 2012, 10:21 PM

I am not willing to spend that much that's why I do backpacking with budget hotel.

On the other side, the most (air ticket only and not from my own wallet) to US with Cathay business class almost RM20K each person. This shall be my highest ever in a life time because I just couldn't freaking willing to do that insane spending. ** Is a company ** Not countable?

shohoku_14
post Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM

89 posts

flash back in year 2006 when i went nagoya, although total spent almost 7k, including all, for 8 days, its totally worth for it... and im so lucky coz that time exchange rate not so high, and my accommodation is totally free (home-stay program)...

if got chance, will go japan again... but now in planning, is to clear ASIA target 1st... siem reap, HK, taipei, seoul, shanghai, beijing mostly 1st... after that onli will figure out for backpack Europe across several countries..
h3ll0
post Feb 20 2012, 08:11 PM

29 posts

how about if travelling by joining travel agency? I'm planning to travel by travel agency (I'm thinking about Apple Holiday) coz they include everything already, the flight tickets, hotels, meals, etc.. can anyone share their experience if it's worth it to spend 10k?
mmyy
post Feb 20 2012, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Feb 20 2012, 08:11 PM)
how about if travelling by joining travel agency? I'm planning to travel by travel agency (I'm thinking about Apple Holiday) coz they include everything already, the flight tickets, hotels, meals, etc.. can anyone share their experience if it's worth it to spend 10k?
Where are you planning to go?
youngman28
post Feb 20 2012, 10:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 02:24 PM)

Actually with AA available, the cost for travel have reduce subtantially, provide you plan ahead, choose the low cost destination, and do some home work before travelling.

Added on February 20, 2012, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 02:24 PM)
+1, beside that can relax our body and soul, in short, can re-charge battery again

This post has been edited by youngman28: Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM
Warfare08
post Feb 21 2012, 01:03 AM

Due to certain circumstances that changed my life back in year end 2010, I started to travel alot in the year 2011. I spent about 8k to travel around SEA countries in year 2011 alone (2k each trip). I visited 4 different countries with the 8k alone, which excluding my business trip to Beijing.

In short, I visited 5 different countries in year 2011 alone and I think I started to get addicted with traveling. I wasn't traveling much back then due to financial constraint and personal circumstances. Eventually I realised that I can even travel with small little amount of budget and mind you, I don't earn alot (averagely and able to live comfortably)

I had lots of fun, I learnt alot and I made new friends along the journey. I must say that I realised there's whole lot of new world out there waiting for you to discover. Some say, I can even do better, visit more places and countries with the budget that I've spent and I told them, well, I will learn from my mistakes then (part and parcel of life smile.gif)

Since I got addicted to travels, I have few plans in queue for the year 2012. The coming trip would be traveling to Europe which will cost me another 10k. I made the itinerary myself, booking myself, research myself, etc. and I must say that I've learnt a whole lot more than my previous trips to SEA countries. Soul searching trip is not an easy trip to plan IMHO tongue.gif

So the question, what makes me to spend so much on traveling? IMHO, there are things which you can't exactly buy with money alone. You gotta spend some efforts in doing that you need/should/want to do in order to carry on with life and live the life to the fullest. With that being said, not only cash are required for such traveling, but time and efforts. However, the return of your hardwork is priceless when you feel that everything is worth it in the end, be it psychology or emotional wise smile.gif

I've always believe in "you gain something, you lose something" smile.gif I will definitely travel more and more in coming years.

This post has been edited by Warfare08: Feb 21 2012, 01:03 AM
tishaban
post Feb 21 2012, 02:25 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(zhngmykahzhng @ Feb 16 2012, 10:21 PM)
I am not willing to spend that much that's why I do backpacking with budget hotel.

On the other side, the most (air ticket only and not from my own wallet) to US with Cathay business class almost RM20K each person. This shall be my highest ever in a life time because I just couldn't freaking willing to do that insane spending. ** Is a company ** Not countable?
It's all relative now isn't it? If you make 5-6 figures a month then 10k is insignificant. Problem is when you make lots of money will you have the time to spend on yourself? I have investment banker/private equity friends who make millions but don't have time to spend the money.

Anyway my current US trip is already costing close to 6k... ouch.

Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 09:29 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 21 2012, 02:25 AM)
It's all relative now isn't it? If you make 5-6 figures a month then 10k is insignificant. Problem is when you make lots of money will you have the time to spend on yourself? I have investment banker/private equity friends who make millions but don't have time to spend the money.

Anyway my current US trip is already costing close to 6k... ouch.
I totally agree with you.

US Trip at RM6k, not bad what? Incl. air ticket and accommodation?

I'm in the midst of looking out for a better fare to Barcelona/Madrid - then head on to Portugal for 2.5 weeks. Hope there will be some promotion next month (as currently, most fare promotion are for travel up to June and selling period up to end of Feb). Wish me luck!

I am totally overspending for this year's trip budget having gone to Spain & Portugal in Jan and Seoul next month!
Cas
post Feb 21 2012, 09:42 AM

262 posts

Travelling IS addictive. I usually do 5 different countries a year with my hubby. I remember even when I was pregnant, I still went on holidays because I just couldnt sit quietly at home. I felt something was missing and the itch to travel was just strong! Really felt the pinch after giving birth but on certain ocassion my mom was kind enough to take care of my baby so I could go places, including Europe last year. Now that my child is bigger, our travelling has resumed and hopefully she will enjoy these new places that we'll be showing her. Her first trip was to Bali last year and she just LOVED it - she was the happiest baby on board.

And some of you guys are totally right, I know lots of people who make alot of money but they dont have time to spend it at all. That's not how I'd like to live.

stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 09:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No matter how I spent, all my previous trips never exceed RM2k/pax all-in inc of air fare, acc, food, transports & souvenirs..haha..

I'm gonna do the same in my nxt 7D5N Tokyo trip. Right now, I already spent RM900/pax on air fare & prebooked hotel. So budgetting only RM1K/pax on transports, food & souvenirs..haha.. Yeah I think I can achieve it
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 09:58 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 09:49 AM)
No matter how I spent, all my previous trips never exceed RM2k/pax all-in inc of air fare, acc, food, transports & souvenirs..haha..

I'm gonna do the same in my nxt 7D5N Tokyo trip. Right now, I already spent RM900/pax on air fare & prebooked hotel. So budgetting only RM1K/pax on transports, food & souvenirs..haha.. Yeah I think I can achieve it
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

I think you are the champion is budget travels lor.

No matter what, I still end up with medium range hotels/b&b if i can find. But currently been sourcing rooms/apartments/flats from www.airbnb.com which saves me a whole lot - being some accommodations are actually very centrally located, hence myself saving on train tickets to go from places to places.

I'm only planning to bring 1mil won to Seoul for my 6 day trip in March. I wonder how can I get it to reduce........ afraid not enough money for food later. ;P The last night in Seoul, will be spent at the airport because my flight is at 8.30am the next day (AAX). Too lazy to rush from city to airport at the earliest hour! I think must wake up at 4.30am to mandi, get ready, breakfast and then 5.30am need to be at train station and it takes about 40 mins from city to airport... what a rush! Hopefully the transit hotel in Incheon airport got room, if not.... just hang out at airport. LOL! If i can tahan 19hrs in Doha Airport, I can certain tahan 7 hours in Incheon airport.
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 10:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

RM2800/pax to Seoul more than enough for 6 days provided you prebooked your accomodations haha.. FYI, I only spent less than RM800 for my 6D4N there. Incheon airport on the 2st floor having a superb resting nest..damn comfy & wth big Samsung LCD...Anyway, the airport so quiet after 9:30pm..All duty free shops closed at 9:30pm haha.. I'm not sure whether they will shut off the lighthing after midnite or not biggrin.gif ..I hv bd experience stranded wth all lights off at Gimpo airport..walking in the dark looking for taxi to Seoul.. sad.gif ..That time no direct train to Seoul and the airport train till Gimpo airport only and their subway ended at 11:30pm & so do their domestic airport..damn blush.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 09:58 AM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

I think you are the champion is budget travels lor.

No matter what, I still end up with medium range hotels/b&b if i can find. But currently been sourcing rooms/apartments/flats from www.airbnb.com which saves me a whole lot - being some accommodations are actually very centrally located, hence myself saving on train tickets to go from places to places.

I'm only planning to bring 1mil won to Seoul for my 6 day trip in March. I wonder how can I get it to reduce........ afraid not enough money for food later. ;P The last night in Seoul, will be spent at the airport because my flight is at 8.30am the next day (AAX). Too lazy to rush from city to airport at the earliest hour! I think must wake up at 4.30am to mandi, get ready, breakfast and then 5.30am need to be at train station and it takes about 40 mins from city to airport... what a rush! Hopefully the transit hotel in Incheon airport got room, if not.... just hang out at airport. LOL! If i can tahan 19hrs in Doha Airport, I can certain tahan 7 hours in Incheon airport.
vanpersie91
post Feb 21 2012, 10:38 AM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

MYR 10K - travel outside malaysia...is it enuff?
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 10:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just read my earlier comment.. I dun spent >RM2K on all my oversea travels so far haha and that inc of airfare, hotel, food & transportation haha
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 10:55 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 10:06 AM)
RM2800/pax to Seoul more than enough for 6 days provided you prebooked your accomodations haha.. FYI, I only spent less than RM800 for my 6D4N there. Incheon airport on the 2st floor having a superb resting nest..damn comfy & wth big Samsung LCD...Anyway, the airport so quiet after 9:30pm..All duty free shops closed at 9:30pm haha.. I'm not sure whether they will shut off the lighthing after midnite or not  biggrin.gif ..I hv bd experience stranded wth all lights off at Gimpo airport..walking in the dark looking for taxi to Seoul..  sad.gif ..That time no direct train to Seoul and the airport train till Gimpo airport only and their subway ended at 11:30pm & so do their domestic airport..damn  blush.gif  sad.gif
Sure??? RM800?!?!?!?! Confirm??!?!?! Wow, then I'll probably bring 500k won = RM1600. Should be more than enough. Yes my accommodation already booked beforehand and paid for dy. RM800+ for 6 nights at a small studio near Seoul Station. Promo price at USD45 per night!! I think it's a superb price since I can't find anything cheaper and I don't feel comfy staying at those 8 bed or 6 bed dorm.

Thanks for the tip on the 2nd floor though. Was it full when you were there then? I plan to actually depart from Seoul city at 10pm (anytime after dinner). Hopefully they have free wifi all over the place but at least maybe some designated areas, if not, will be damn bored. If really shut the lights after midnight will be good, at least can sleep, rather than being at Doha airport - the lights damn bright 24/7. LOL

Poor you! But at least you got into seoul safe and sound la!

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:38 AM)
MYR 10K - travel outside malaysia...is it enuff?
100% confirm can!

mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 09:29 AM)

I'm in the midst of looking out for a better fare to Barcelona/Madrid - then head on to Portugal for 2.5 weeks. Hope there will be some promotion next month (as currently, most fare promotion are for travel up to June and selling period up to end of Feb). Wish me luck!

For long-haul sales keep an eye on those Middle-eastern carriers -- Emirates, Qatar, Etihad, Gulf Air. They have periodic sales, all the way to South America, esp. Emirates. Late last year, Qatar did a campaign - got KUL-DOH-OSL for just RM1.2k, all-in, full service some more. Early this year Emirates did global sale, so got another ticket KL - St Petersburg, for RM2.4k, traveling in April, on A380. We are doing Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania too.

Btw if you are a history buff, do Andalucia while in Spain -- Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla are awesome. A side trip to Gibraltar is cool. smile.gif

===

stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 11:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..Yes.. That's one of bloody cool & futuristic airport..Another +1 for Incheon..Our KLIA nothing if compare to this...this is one of the many relaxing lzy chair in Incheon lounge..Mine was almost empty and we occupied all the LCDs & the chairs.. Photo random from google.. This longe without LCD screen..but all occupied biggrin.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 11:03 amI see what you;'e eeying there unker.. brows.gif ..Your travel maps still empty @ South America brows.gif
QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM)
For long-haul sales keep an eye on those Middle-eastern carriers -- Emirates, Qatar, Etihad, Gulf Air. They have periodic sales, all the way to South America, esp. Emirates. Late last year, Qatar did a campaign - got KUL-DOH-OSL for just RM1.2k, all-in, full service some more. Early this year Emirates did global sale, so got another ticket KL - St Petersburg, for RM2.4k, traveling in April, on A380. We are doing Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania too.

Btw if you are a history buff, do Andalucia while in Spain -- Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla are awesome. A side trip to Gibraltar is cool. smile.gif

===
This post has been edited by stimix: Feb 21 2012, 11:03 AM
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 11:05 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM)

===
Thanks for that mat.

I'm already eyeing Middle Eastern carriers. I took Qatar Airways twice for my europe trip. Layover sucks for super cheap prices but I'm working on it.

Waiting for March so can check if they have any offer for travel in Aug. Currently their fares are for travels up to June only.

Yup, i knew about the Emirates global sale BUT, travelling time didn't suit me so...... And yea, I knew bout the Oslo fare by QR as well, BUT i was already going to Spain/Portugal then. LOL Talk about timing!!!!

Currently fare to BCN via SQ is RM3.4k and QR is RM3.3k. Transit times are both attractive though. Couldn't find anything cheaper than this! But we'll see!
mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 11:06 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 10:55 AM)
Sure??? RM800?!?!?!?! Confirm??!?!?! Wow, then I'll probably bring 500k won = RM1600. Should be more than enough. Yes my accommodation already booked beforehand and paid for dy. RM800+ for 6 nights at a small studio near Seoul Station. Promo price at USD45 per night!! I think it's a superb price since I can't find anything cheaper and I don't feel comfy staying at those 8 bed or 6 bed dorm.

Thanks for the tip on the 2nd floor though. Was it full when you were there then? I plan to actually depart from Seoul city at 10pm (anytime after dinner). Hopefully they have free wifi all over the place but at least maybe some designated areas, if not, will be damn bored. If really shut the lights after midnight will be good, at least can sleep, rather than being at Doha airport - the lights damn bright 24/7. LOL

$45 single occupancy is good deal, make sure got en-suite, otherwise fight for toilets with the dorm ppl. smile.gif
Your budget looks fine, the only spoiler is when you wanna take day trips to DMZ, Nami or one of those ski resorts, otherwise pay by card. Or maybe compulsive shopping.

And yes, DOH is awful for lengthy layover, ICN is heaven!

===

h3ll0
post Feb 21 2012, 11:14 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(mmyy @ Feb 20 2012, 08:31 PM)
Where are you planning to go?
planning to go to central europe, here's the itinerary
according to the itinerary, they are going to belgium + france + netherlands within 8 days, is it too rushing or 8 days are enough already?

QUOTE(Warfare08 @ Feb 21 2012, 01:03 AM)
I spent about 8k to travel around SEA countries in year 2011 alone (2k each trip). I visited 4 different countries with the 8k alone, which excluding my business trip to Beijing.
I made the itinerary myself, booking myself, research myself, etc. and I must say that I've learnt a whole lot more than my previous trips to SEA countries. Soul searching trip is not an easy trip to plan IMHO tongue.gif

2k each trip??! woahhh you must be very good in planning a trip!

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 10:48 AM)
Just read my earlier comment.. I dun spent >RM2K on all my oversea travels so far haha and that inc of airfare, hotel, food & transportation haha
usually how long did you take to plan a trip ahead? I really wanna go travelling without overspending sad.gif
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 11:16 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 11:06 AM)
$45 single occupancy is good deal, make sure got en-suite, otherwise fight for toilets with the dorm ppl. smile.gif
Your budget looks fine, the only spoiler is when you wanna take day trips to DMZ, Nami or one of those ski resorts, otherwise pay by card. Or maybe compulsive shopping.

And yes, DOH is awful for lengthy layover, ICN is heaven!

===
My accommodation is a proper studio duplex flat. It's not exactly double storey but the owner built like those 'near the ceiling' half floor for the 'bedroom'. Got washing machine, kitchen, bathroom, living room, wifi (FOC - Thank god!).

Ski resorts ah, not this time round coz not into that. Maybe in the future.

DMZ ah - scared leh.... later kena tangkap how?

Definately gonna check out Nami.

Hopefully the weather would be warmer by 6 march... sad.gif
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 11:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Normally 1-2mth ahead of time.. My best resources so far is Mat Sputnik's blog. I copied lotsa his itineraries actually blush.gif My best copied job from his was my Cambodian -Siem Riep trip..Even copied what he did by walking to the Malay's Champa village blush.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Feb 21 2012, 11:14 AM)
according to the itinerary, they are going to belgium + france + netherlands within 8 days, is it too rushing or 8 days are enough already?
usually how long did you take to plan a trip ahead? I really wanna go travelling without overspending sad.gif
h3ll0
post Feb 21 2012, 11:30 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 11:20 AM)
Normally 1-2mth ahead of time.. My best resources so far is Mat Sputnik's blog. I copied lotsa his itineraries actually  blush.gif My best copied job from his was my Cambodian -Siem Riep trip..Even copied what he did by walking to the Malay's Champa village  blush.gif  rclxms.gif
i see..can u post his blog's link here? ady view his profile but he didn't put the link to his blog. Wanna read his blog too =)
hopefully I can plan my budget trip too
mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 11:33 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Feb 21 2012, 11:30 AM)
i see..can u post his blog's link here? ady view his profile but he didn't put the link to his blog. Wanna read his blog too =)
hopefully I can plan my budget trip too
Hi h3ll0, pls click HERE.

It's a non-commercial blog, clean, no adverts. I did it to document my journeys. It's like a personal journal. smile.gif

===
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Feb 21 2012, 11:34 AM

580 posts

i only go to oversea once, At Rakyat expense.
mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 11:47 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 11:20 AM)
Normally 1-2mth ahead of time.. My best resources so far is Mat Sputnik's blog. I copied lotsa his itineraries actually  blush.gif My best copied job from his was my Cambodian -Siem Riep trip..Even copied what he did by walking to the Malay's Champa village  blush.gif  rclxms.gif
Tibet Everest Base Camp next for you, bro!
Warfare08
post Feb 21 2012, 11:58 AM

not really la. I made quite a number of mistakes each time during the trip which cost me quite an amount of money smile.gif but of course, the max budget that I can go for each particular trip is only 2k and anything beyond than that, I tried not to spend so much wink.gif
h3ll0
post Feb 21 2012, 02:08 PM

29 posts

^hopefully I'll be able to plan 2k trip too =) so far my trip (just 2 for now) both exceeds 2k..

oh btw, did you use public transportation to travel around? coz usually the transport itself already require loads of cash

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 11:33 AM)
Hi h3ll0, pls click HERE.

It's a non-commercial blog, clean, no adverts. I did it to document my journeys. It's like a personal journal. smile.gif

===
thanks for the link! I've just gone through ur blog, you surely travel a lot!
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 03:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

YEs I used lotsa public transport for sure.. Best way to save & also mingle wth the locals.. However on places having poor public trp like Indonesia, I normally rent a car & drive or rent a car + driver. Yeah it cost more esp rent a car wth driver.

Added on February 21, 2012, 4:14 pmProbably try using the newly built raiway to Tibet biggrin.gif
QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 11:47 AM)
Tibet Everest Base Camp next for you, bro!
This post has been edited by stimix: Feb 21 2012, 04:14 PM
mmyy
post Feb 21 2012, 07:02 PM

Well with tours you can't expect to stay long in one place. Normally they let you free 1-2 hours in one place of interest. It's more of a touch-n-go travel, you'll feel pretty relaxed since everything is organised for you and you don't have to walk so much with the bus ever ready there. If you don't really have specific places you wanna visit, you just want to have a feel of the country, and you can't stand counting your budget everyday, tours are good for you. But if you think you're the person who wants to visit longer, mingle around, be part of cultures and don't mind all the hassle of doing research, and you have many places you want to see that's not included in the itinerary, then better plan your own trip. smile.gif

I was with Reliance's Italy + Austria tour, which was a great trip, well-planned and transition of journey was smooth. But I guess for me, it's way more fun to learn travelling yourself in a foreign country - you'll end up feeling like a local or someone who's been staying there for years. You learn how to use their public transport and you even remember directions around town - the experience is pretty awesome, you feel like you become different nationalities every time you travel. thumbup.gif

So it really depends on your own priorities. Whether it's a country you want to spend more time knowing (F&E), or a country you just want to visit for the feel of it (tour).
h3ll0
post Feb 21 2012, 07:34 PM

29 posts

^thanks for ur reply
I guess both are also fine, but maybe I'll have a company to travel along w me if I'm planning to travel without tour biggrin.gif

gonna check out Reliance too =)

*edit : checked the Reliance website, how do you check the prices? or I have to call them? they don't provide the dates either

This post has been edited by h3ll0: Feb 21 2012, 07:48 PM
mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 08:37 PM

13 posts

Just saw your itinerary. Looks pretty good but compact, all the major spots covered.

If you go during Keukenhof time, I'm sure you'd love the tulips -- on what to expect, pls click HERE.

Bruges is simply delightful, but I only did a short story on it, see HERE, which is unfair to this beautiful World Heritage Site city.

Amsterdam, Brussels and Paris are excellent for roaming around to explore, as the case is with any big places.

---

Keukenhof.

Bruges.

Brussels.

Amsterdam.

Of course there are museums and other indoor stuff to see.

===

Cas
post Feb 22 2012, 09:18 AM

262 posts

Ah Amsterdam, brings back memories.

Btw mat sputnik - i checked out your blog and must say your travels are VERY inspiring!! I showed the link to my hubby and hopefully many years from now hand in hand we'll be still going places together biggrin.gif
mat sputnik
post Feb 22 2012, 12:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Cas @ Feb 22 2012, 09:18 AM)
Ah Amsterdam, brings back memories.

Btw mat sputnik - i checked out your blog and must say your travels are VERY inspiring!! I showed the link to my hubby and hopefully many years from now hand in hand we'll be still going places together  biggrin.gif
Thanks, cas. Kids all grown up (we started early, so we finished the family early biggrin.gif), and since we have a bit of savings, we are going to places we have always wanted to go. Next trip is early April -- to Russia, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania - independent travel, just the two of us exploring the World Heritage Sites there on our own.

Btw, here's a slideshow of our 2011 trips.

===

This post has been edited by mat sputnik: Feb 22 2012, 01:27 PM
The Analyst
post Feb 22 2012, 01:41 PM

127 posts

Why not. You only live once.
oren_studio
post Feb 22 2012, 03:23 PM

81 posts

if i can afford it, why not! the experience gained from travelling is indescribable and unique every time. i'd always felt anew after each trip, ready to take on the world the next day. and like many have said, the memories that you made during those trip are eternity, hopefully i can look back and reminisce all that when i'm old.

but if planning the travel budget already makes you scratch your head, i say u better don't. budget is good of course, but not until it makes you hard to meet ends meet.
stimix
post Feb 22 2012, 03:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Travel on budget is not hard. just abit of planning & research. On how much you willing to spend really depending on how much is your airfare & prebooked hotel

Most of the time I just bought these two. And normally go on budget promo fare.. 'So for eg..If you can get cheap fare to Tokyo let say ~RM500/pax return, Hotel triple sharing at RM400/pax for 5 nites. Your actual total cost only RM900 no matter how you want to spend.

Therafter when you're there how much you want to spend also depending on you. Tranport probably ~RM300/wk, food ~ RM80/day (600yen/meal) & souvenirs/entrance ~ RM200.. no matter how I calculate, I think RM900/pax/wk is more than enough even to Tokyo haha. Thus Why need to spend RM10K when you can get similar Holiday for <RM2K/pax even to Tokyo haha
mmyy
post Feb 22 2012, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Feb 21 2012, 07:34 PM)
^thanks for ur reply
I guess both are also fine, but maybe I'll have a company to travel along w me if I'm planning to travel without tour biggrin.gif

gonna check out Reliance too =)

*edit : checked the Reliance website, how do you check the prices? or I have to call them? they don't provide the dates either
Yeah for F&E going with someone is more fun and safer, you can take care of each other and share experience - I don't travel alone lol.

For Reliance, I usually see their ads in the newspapers and call, or walk-in their offices get their really nice brochures and quotations tongue.gif
People always say Apple is the best for Japan tours, while Reliance is the best for Europe tours. Just what I heard. Just choose the one with the itinerary you like best I guess (usually Apple is slightly more expensive)
deqna
post Feb 22 2012, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 22 2012, 03:33 PM)
Travel on budget is not hard. just abit of planning & research. On how much you willing to spend really depending on how much is your airfare & prebooked hotel

Most of the time I just bought these two. And normally go on budget promo fare.. 'So for eg..If you can get cheap fare to Tokyo let say ~RM500/pax return, Hotel triple sharing at RM400/pax for 5 nites. Your actual total cost only RM900 no matter how you want to spend.

Therafter when you're there how much you want to spend also depending on you. Tranport probably ~RM300/wk, food ~ RM80/day (600yen/meal) & souvenirs/entrance ~ RM200.. no matter how I calculate, I think RM900/pax/wk is more than enough even to Tokyo haha. Thus Why need to spend RM10K when you can get similar Holiday for <RM2K/pax even to Tokyo haha
stimix, u are right.. it is very enjoyable doing budget travelling.. doing the research, planning, it is worth it once you reach the destination.

most of my travel was budget travel, even i've done siem riep with only rm300 budget... hehehe... my most expensive travel so far was 2.5k, to osaka/kyoto/nara recently..
ohh, i really envy those who had been europe.. planning to go europe once got enough budget.. brows.gif brows.gif
h3ll0
post Feb 23 2012, 12:44 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 08:37 PM)
Just saw your itinerary. Looks pretty good but compact, all the major spots covered.
===
ya you're right, the itinerary is so compact, I prefer to spend more time on certain places actually
the pictures you posted & your blog really inspire me to work & earn money a lot & travel! don't know when will I able to do that though sweat.gif

QUOTE(mmyy @ Feb 22 2012, 10:24 PM)
For Reliance, I usually see their ads in the newspapers and call, or walk-in their offices get their really nice brochures and quotations tongue.gif
People always say Apple is the best for Japan tours, while Reliance is the best for Europe tours. Just what I heard. Just choose the one with the itinerary you like best I guess (usually Apple is slightly more expensive)
I joined Apple before to Korea, I'm really satisfied with them, but yea kinda expensive
ok will check more about Reliance =) thank you

skylinelover
post Mar 4 2012, 12:42 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
10,509 posts

damm u pilothanss 4 blowing up 2 years old dead tred laugh.gif doh.gif

anyway if 1 person 10k holiday i dont mind blowing it when i already targeting USA east coast n west coast s my 1st holiday destination ever

if i couple with gf 4 honeymoon then 10k is not enough 4 the USA...mostly need around 30k-50k 4 everything including food n lodgings laugh.gif doh.gif
Serendipity123
post Mar 5 2012, 01:00 PM

175 posts

Yes, absolutely willing.
I'm actually trying to save up 10k to either go to Europe or NYC next year. wink.gif
KTCY
post Mar 5 2012, 02:44 PM

BumbleBee™
12,461 posts

I spend around 8k include air ticket (to n fro) to London and include all train ticket, internal flight within europe (LON -> Swiss -> Italy -> Lon)
The 8k include hotel accommodation too.
Staying in 2-3 hotel except for Venice.
And most of the time dine in. Am a happy man and very satisfy with it wink.gif

havenzhiv
post Mar 5 2012, 08:45 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 08:37 PM)

If you go during Keukenhof time, I'm sure you'd love the tulips -- on what to expect, pls click HERE.

Bruges is simply delightful, but I only did a short story on it, see HERE, which is unfair to this beautiful World Heritage Site city.

Amsterdam, Brussels and Paris are excellent for roaming around to explore, as the case is with any big places.

---

Keukenhof.

Bruges.

Brussels.

Amsterdam.

Of course there are museums and other indoor stuff to see.

===
That's my ex lecturer when I was in UNISEL

If you are related to her, tell her the I says hi...

Added on March 5, 2012, 9:29 pm3 weeks trip to europe: Visited UK / France / Sweden
Lodging: 22k
Ticket: 2 adults and 2 children in total 50k
Food: 15k (the bulk was when we went for Fat Duck restaurant in UK and Wedholms Fisk in stockholm)
Expenses and shopping: 35k (bulk came for bicester village and Harrods)

The most expensive holiday for me.....was it worth it? yes it was? will i do it again...HELL NO!!!!!

This post has been edited by havenzhiv: Mar 5 2012, 09:29 PM
pleasuresaurus
post Oct 18 2012, 05:09 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

Financial capability aside, I'd say willingness to spend on travel ultimately depends on the individual's sense of values.

If a person is of the kind who believes satisfaction and contentment in life comes in the form of possessions like material/physical trappings, it hardly seems plausible at all hmm.gif .

But for someone who believes that what matters in life is the sights, sounds and experiences that they are able to soak in in their fleeting existence, then there is no question about it. If one has that desire, that drive, that wanderlust, that urge "to boldly go where no man has gone before", then 10k is just the beginning biggrin.gif .
minto13
post Oct 18 2012, 05:54 PM

127 posts

Depends on location and number of days.

Usually, I will save the money on flight ticket ( of course during promo ) and accommodation ( Low cost budget hotel).

Then I will spend on the local transport traveling, entrance and some really good local food.

Till now, my traveling usually cap max at 6k for 10 days trip.

kc01
post Oct 18 2012, 09:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Mar 5 2012, 04:00 PM)
Yes, absolutely willing.
I'm actually trying to save up 10k to either go to Europe or NYC next year. wink.gif
Just came back from 18 days East Coast US holidays. Destination includes Orlando, Florida (7 nights) , NYC (8 nights), Niagara Falls & Toronto (2 night). Cost my family of 4, 2 adult and 2 children a total of AUD$23k, but worth it!
Putraskyline
post Oct 18 2012, 09:38 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

I spent RM30k for 10 days in Maldives for 2.
Mr.TeddyBear
post Oct 18 2012, 10:46 PM

73 posts

thumbup.gif Absolutely thumbup.gif
e-jump
post Oct 19 2012, 05:51 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

im currently spending almost 10k for 19days S.Korea-Japan trip alone, DIY trip.
Not a single regret..

Seoul -(KTX bullet)-> Busan -(Ferry)-> Kyushu (Fukuoka, Oita, Saga) -(Fly Peach)-> Kansai(Kyoto) -(express train)-> Hokuriku (Fukui, Kanazawa, Tateyama, Toyama) -(express train)-> Chubu (Nagoya, Shizuoka) -(Shinkansen)-> Kanto (Tokyo)

2 countries, full of adventures esp on land i cant speak their language biggrin.gif
TSOM
post Oct 19 2012, 06:01 AM

2,145 posts

that sounds ridiculously expensive!! I've travelled so much and I've never spent that much money..

a) are you travelling with tour operators?

b) are you staying 3, 4 or 5 stars hotel??

c) are you eating at expensive restaurants/ restaurants beside tourist attractions??

d) are you flying premium economy/ business/ first class?

e) have you ever walked or do you take public transports all the time??

This post has been edited by TSOM: Oct 19 2012, 06:02 AM
pspfan
post Oct 19 2012, 08:18 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 19 2012, 05:51 AM)
im currently spending almost 10k for 19days S.Korea-Japan trip alone, DIY trip.
Not a single regret..

Seoul -(KTX bullet)-> Busan -(Ferry)-> Kyushu (Fukuoka, Oita, Saga) -(Fly Peach)-> Kansai(Kyoto) -(express train)-> Hokuriku (Fukui, Kanazawa, Tateyama, Toyama) -(express train)-> Chubu (Nagoya, Shizuoka) -(Shinkansen)-> Kanto (Tokyo)

2 countries, full of adventures esp on land i cant speak their language biggrin.gif
10k for 19days is really cheap.... rclxms.gif
Shazzac
post Oct 19 2012, 09:29 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Oct 19 2012, 06:01 AM)
that sounds ridiculously expensive!! I've travelled so much and I've never spent that much money..

c) are you eating at expensive restaurants/ restaurants beside tourist attractions??

I think most of his budget has gone to shinkansen and flight ticket dy. Coz if not mistaken the shinkansen tickets are already almost 1k for his itinerary.

For me, if i had the time to go all over japan with their shinkansen, confirm will do it 1 shot coz it's more value for money.

So far for a trip to Japan, I've never spent more than 6k for a week's trip. The place that I stay are usually B&B and cost about RM150 max per night.

So i guess for him to spend 10k for 19 days is quite affordable.

This post has been edited by Shazzac: Oct 19 2012, 09:31 AM
xerox5566
post Oct 19 2012, 09:32 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 18 2012, 09:38 PM)
I spent RM30k for 10 days in Maldives for 2.
wow.. thumbup.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Oct 19 2012, 09:47 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

QUOTE(fylgyp @ Oct 19 2012, 06:06 PM)
Spend 8k altogether for 1 month in Europe.

Totally worth it.
That's a pretty affordable trip man, considering 1 month.Where'd u go in EU?
deodorant
post Oct 20 2012, 01:31 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(fylgyp @ Oct 19 2012, 06:06 PM)
Spend 8k altogether for 1 month in Europe.

Totally worth it.

my Europe (well, just UK and Paris lol) was 24k for 15days (2pax), not including shopping. I wouldn't actually have gone because I'm saving up for wedding, but it was my brother's wedding so no choice hehe.
pleasuresaurus
post Oct 20 2012, 04:00 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

QUOTE(fylgyp @ Oct 20 2012, 09:06 AM)
The best things are always free.
thumbup.gif spot on mang!

How did u move about? I mean, did u use major towns as a base and then took daily trains/make daytrips to and from the places u wanted to visit? Or did u hop from place to place continuously w/o being based anywhere in particular?

I'm curious cuz I found it a bit tedious to cook as I moved around a lot in my last trip and lugging all the food stuff with me from hostel to hostel wasn't practical. I usually end up buying stuff from the supermarket or grocer, but had to limit it to things that would last like bread etc.
e-jump
post Oct 20 2012, 11:55 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

if u'r refering to my post, im not sure which part of my 19 days S.Korea+Japan for 9k is expensive.
Do you know where are these cities located?
Or have you been to these 2 countries?

I think 19days for what im doing is badass tier cheap already, unless someone can prove me wrong
ZenXL
post Oct 20 2012, 11:57 PM

Oh shi-
704 posts

would definitely spend to travel , have fun and enjoy life biggrin.gif and i get to fly for free till finish studies ! tongue.gif so could -flight ticket in the budget ! haha.
samlee860407
post Oct 21 2012, 07:42 AM

4,625 posts

if you are referring to e-jump almost 10k on both japan and korea....i wana bump in and answer lol

b) do you know how much 5 star hotel cost in japan/korea per nite in RM?

c) define expansive

d) please go check business/first class flight to japan and korea 1st k? see how much ya....

e) have you ever walked? wut? public transport appear directly in front of his hotel room? lol
Putraskyline
post Oct 22 2012, 03:21 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 21 2012, 07:42 AM)
if you are referring to e-jump almost 10k on both japan and korea....i wana bump in and answer lol

b) do you know how much 5 star hotel cost in japan/korea per nite in RM?

c) define expansive

d) please go check business/first class flight to japan and korea 1st k? see how much ya....

e) have you ever walked? wut? public transport appear directly in front of his hotel room? lol
Why so angry sam? tongue.gif
greyshadow
post Oct 22 2012, 04:38 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,826 posts

10K for 19 days in 2 of the most expensive Asian country?
the super cheap already! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Oct 22 2012, 04:38 PM
foccacia
post Oct 22 2012, 08:49 PM

38 posts

10k definately....its worth the experience, the memories, the sense of fulfillment
aaron1kee
post Oct 22 2012, 09:07 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Traveled a FULL month to London, Amsterdam, Rome, Florence, Venice, Madrid, Barcelona AND Paris. Best 10k I spent in my life.
Serendipity123
post Oct 23 2012, 08:53 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(kc01 @ Oct 18 2012, 09:24 PM)
Just came back from 18 days East Coast US holidays. Destination includes Orlando, Florida (7 nights) , NYC (8 nights), Niagara Falls & Toronto (2 night). Cost my family of 4, 2 adult and 2 children a total of AUD$23k, but worth it!
Thanks, but I have already decided on Spain and Portugal next year... rclxms.gif
Budget around RM8k all-in...
moody5
post Oct 24 2012, 03:55 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 23 2012, 08:53 PM)
Thanks, but I have already decided on Spain and Portugal next year...  rclxms.gif
Budget around RM8k all-in...
wow when are you planning to go and how many days (I guess 8k all in can last for 12 days)?!

(please forgive me as I am so excited to see Spain + Portugal)
Chocoholic
post Oct 24 2012, 04:12 PM

33 posts

the last time i visited OZ , i spent 10k just for my own in 3 weeks there..The experience i had are all WORTHY !!! Although i coming back with cup noodles to stay alive smile.gif
Serendipity123
post Oct 24 2012, 06:42 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 24 2012, 03:55 PM)
wow when are you planning to go and how many days (I guess 8k all in can last for 12 days)?!

(please forgive me as I am so excited to see Spain + Portugal)
Tentative budget is RM8k, depending on how much my flight tickets would cost.
I plan to go in August 2013 and it should, roughly, be a 14-days trip. icon_rolleyes.gif

blmse92
post Oct 25 2012, 10:31 AM

560 posts

YES.. my family spend 10k (3 of us) in beijing, china.. With tour guide of course. awsome package offered.. nice food..

but the negatives are the tour guide always bringing us to buy those expensive stuff like herbs or medicine. they think we from Malaysia are rich..
matter fact NO
moody5
post Oct 25 2012, 11:32 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 24 2012, 06:42 PM)
Tentative budget is RM8k, depending on how much my flight tickets would cost.
I plan to go in August 2013 and it should, roughly, be a 14-days trip.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Summer time..
How many of you will be going?
Serendipity123
post Oct 25 2012, 11:38 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 25 2012, 11:32 AM)
Summer time..
How many of you will be going?
Yeah, it has to be in August as I wanted to go to the La Tomatina festival... rclxms.gif
A few of my friends are interested to go but none confirmed yet.
It's a good thing I don't mind traveling solo. LOL. tongue.gif
chickyyuan
post Oct 25 2012, 11:49 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 25 2012, 12:38 PM)
Yeah, it has to be in August as I wanted to go to the La Tomatina festival...  rclxms.gif
It's a good thing I don't mind traveling solo. LOL.  tongue.gif
Spain is a lovely city - was in Barcelona and the ppl there are very friendly!

I guess to spend in Europe cities will definitely need at least RM10K - RM20k (inclusive everything for two persons) will be more if during summer period

by the way, i just booked my flight tic to paris next June 2013! gonna do some shopping in Ldn/paris/milan!
Serendipity123
post Oct 25 2012, 12:04 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Oct 25 2012, 11:49 AM)
Spain is a lovely city - was in Barcelona and the ppl there are very friendly!

I guess to spend in Europe cities will definitely need at least RM10K - RM20k (inclusive everything for two persons) will be more if during summer period

by the way, i just booked my flight tic to paris next June 2013! gonna do some shopping in Ldn/paris/milan!
Awesome! Paree in the summer! rclxms.gif
Which airline did you book with for your flight to Paris?
I'm still looking around for my flight to Spain. wink.gif

chickyyuan
post Oct 25 2012, 12:10 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 25 2012, 01:04 PM)
Awesome! Paree in the summer! rclxms.gif
Which airline did you book with for your flight to Paris?
I'm still looking around for my flight to Spain.  wink.gif
I booked with MAS recently with their promotion price RM2.9k all in return flight

Consider cheap for a direct flight - albeit Qatar/Emirates/Eithad might be lower (but i doubt so since it is a summer period)

If travelling during August....the promotion/sales window to book the flight should be towards the end of the year...right?
Serendipity123
post Oct 25 2012, 12:21 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Oct 25 2012, 12:10 PM)
I booked with MAS recently with their promotion price RM2.9k all in return flight

Consider cheap for a direct flight - albeit Qatar/Emirates/Eithad might be lower (but i doubt so since it is a summer period)

If travelling during August....the promotion/sales window to book the flight should be towards the end of the year...right?
Yeah, RM2.9k sounds good for a direct flight.
I'm not sure, I've subscribed to the relevant airlines, but so far the promotions were for immediate travel period.
If I find a fare that's a little over RM3k, I'm just gonna go ahead and book it.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed!
chickyyuan
post Oct 25 2012, 12:46 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 25 2012, 01:21 PM)
Yeah, RM2.9k sounds good for a direct flight.
I'm not sure, I've subscribed to the relevant airlines, but so far the promotions were for immediate travel period.
If I find a fare that's a little over RM3k, I'm just gonna go ahead and book it.
I'm keeping my fingers crossed!
If I am not mistaken, those flight with transit to Spain/Portugal priced roughly around 3.5 - 3.8k (mostly middle east airlines)

Best is you fly into other cities (i.e. Amsterdam/Paris or London) with the ticket priced around 2.7 - 3.1k n take budget airlines...having said that few comparisons have to be carried out...

moody5
post Oct 25 2012, 03:09 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Oct 25 2012, 11:38 AM)
Yeah, it has to be in August as I wanted to go to the La Tomatina festival...  rclxms.gif
It's a good thing I don't mind traveling solo. LOL.  tongue.gif
oh... hahaha hopefully i can save enough money to Europe again on next year

I doubt flight tickets will be cheap for summer as summer is always the peak season!
(easily rm3500++)

I have noticed that flying to Amsterdam (via KLM) and Paris (any airlines including MAS) are always the cheaper as compared to other city i.e London and Frankfurt due to the airport tax

Added on October 25, 2012, 3:12 pm
QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Oct 25 2012, 12:10 PM)

talking about MAS, they always do Global sales around Feb for summer flights and another round of sales around mid Sept (thats the period that you booked your 2.9k flight..hehehe)

This post has been edited by moody5: Oct 25 2012, 03:14 PM
chickyyuan
post Oct 25 2012, 05:15 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 25 2012, 04:09 PM)

I doubt flight tickets will be cheap for summer as summer is always the peak season!
(easily rm3500++)

I have noticed that flying to Amsterdam (via KLM) and Paris (any airlines including MAS) are always the cheaper as compared to other city i.e London and Frankfurt due to the airport tax

talking about MAS, they always do Global sales around Feb for summer flights and another round of sales around mid Sept (thats the period that you booked your 2.9k flight..hehehe)
Its good to book early at a reasonable flight ticket and start booking the accommodation at good deal (from booking.com)

and maybe two/three months before the travel - it is advisable to book the internal train/flight tickets
Serendipity123
post Oct 26 2012, 01:10 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Oct 25 2012, 12:46 PM)
If I am not mistaken, those flight with transit to Spain/Portugal priced roughly around 3.5 - 3.8k (mostly middle east airlines)

Best is you fly into other cities (i.e. Amsterdam/Paris or London) with the ticket priced around 2.7 - 3.1k n take budget airlines...having said that few comparisons have to be carried out...
Yeah, I thought of that too. I don't mind spending a few days in London or Paris. Will see what happens.

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 25 2012, 03:09 PM)

(easily rm3500++)

Thanks, will definitely keep an eye out for the Feb sales if I have not book my ticket by then. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Oct 25 2012, 05:15 PM)
Its good to book early at a reasonable flight ticket and start booking the accommodation at good deal (from booking.com)

and maybe two/three months before the travel - it is advisable to book the internal train/flight tickets
Yups, I'm looking at hostels now. Man, the accommodation rates in Valencia are steep! *phew*

glim5
post Oct 29 2012, 07:33 PM

Yeah I would. I have spent more than 10k on my travels so far but the value cannot be measured in terms of money. Some of the places were a real eye opener and learning experience.
But I dont see how some people here could spend 10k per trio. I was in Japan for a week and spent probably 3-4k all in. Same thing with Europe for 2 weeks, wayyy under 10k. I did get my direct flight with MAS to London for 1.8k and return from Frankfurt for 2.3 tongue.gif
aminur87
post Oct 30 2012, 12:44 AM

As far as i know 10k is not enough for me. so sad. plus i am very last minute plan and normally last minute plan is the trip always on. i dont like to plan early, based on my experienced selalu tak jadi. hahahah

This post has been edited by aminur87: Oct 30 2012, 12:53 AM
Serendipity123
post Oct 30 2012, 08:52 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(glim5 @ Oct 29 2012, 07:33 PM)
Yeah I would. I have spent more than 10k on my travels so far but the value cannot be measured in terms of money. Some of the places were a real eye opener and learning experience.
But I dont see how some people here could spend 10k per trio. I was in Japan for a week and spent probably 3-4k all in. Same thing with Europe for 2 weeks, wayyy under 10k. I did get my direct flight with MAS to London for 1.8k and return from Frankfurt for 2.3 tongue.gif
It depends on one's spending habits. For example, some of us do not mind staying in hostels while some cannot fathom the idea of sharing washrooms with strangers. Some of us do not mind doing a DIY trip while some prefer the comfort of a tour group. And so on.

My cousin and hubby spent RM14k for a trip to Taipei last year. They went with a ground tour and bought lotsa stuffs. I was like shocking.gif . Taipei would be a RM2k trip for me. LOL.

QUOTE(aminur87 @ Oct 30 2012, 12:44 AM)
As far as i know 10k is not enough for me. so sad. plus i am very last minute plan and normally last minute plan is  the trip always on. i dont like to plan early, based on my experienced selalu tak jadi. hahahah
I like planning ahead, gives me something to look forward to. Hahaha... rclxms.gif
But I have burnt a few tickets too, due to natural disasters, medical emergencies and whatnot.
If my friends FFK me, I wouldn't mind going alone, so planning ahead has not been a problem for me. tongue.gif

guy3288
post Oct 31 2012, 02:09 PM

4,398 posts

it is simple. Depends on how much money you have and how much you can earn in a month.

If someone earns only 5k a month or less, and saving not much, better go for cheaper holiday. Start with cheaper options first.

Then later you got savings more than RM1m, and earning above 20k a month, no problem sepending for holiday- alot of people spending 30-40 k a year just for that, sap sap water to them, but how are we to compare???

No point having not much money yet mati mati wanna follow people spend so much on holidays.

deodorant
post Oct 31 2012, 04:26 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(glim5 @ Oct 29 2012, 07:33 PM)

Just replace your "trip" with "buying a car." Some people are satisfied with Proton, others buy Beemers or Mercs because they want more "luxury" (etc) and can afford it.
supaztyler
post Nov 3 2012, 07:01 PM

120 posts

experience vs. materials?

I've long chosen experience.
So 10k is worth it.

Go backpacking to stretch that 10k value and it'll take you to more cities on a single trip rather than a single city vacation.
Bongpb
post Nov 8 2012, 04:21 PM

54 posts

I've just placed my order to Korea this coming December, and i think its worth it though its RM4899 x 2 for me and my wife. cry.gif

Sometimes its not the money matter, but the experience and memory count. biggrin.gif
pilotHans
post Feb 13 2013, 01:57 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

TRAVEL is the only thing that u buy, that makes u richer thumbup.gif

i'd spend 10k but not on 5star hotels + unnecessary excess shopping icon_rolleyes.gif
navilink
post Feb 13 2013, 03:13 PM

【ツ】
10,782 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 13 2013, 01:57 PM)
TRAVEL is the only thing that u buy, that makes u richer  thumbup.gif

i'd spend 10k but not on 5star hotels + unnecessary  excess shopping  icon_rolleyes.gif

hmm i heard that quote before smile.gif

10K can last me how long in hawaii? really my dream destination leh.. going from island to island seem already cost a bomb..
funnybone
post Feb 13 2013, 03:17 PM

958 posts

I would put the 10K in investments and subscribe to ASTRO channel travel and living brows.gif
funnybone
post Feb 14 2013, 08:47 AM

958 posts

QUOTE(facfil @ Feb 13 2013, 08:49 PM)
Lol, trust me, travelling on TV and real life is different.

As different as watching porn and actual sex.
Well..admit that's true......maybe can win free holiday trips thru radio or contests.....still like to hold on to the RM10K brows.gif
MiaFatinn
post Feb 14 2013, 11:34 AM

34 posts

If you start counting ringgit and sense, just stay at home and watch Astro. Me -I wish I could travel a little further :/
micgil
post Feb 14 2013, 01:18 PM

54 posts

I did that last year spending about RM12K traveling around South Island, New Zealand for 12 days. Did a lot of extreme stuff like skydiving, bungy jumping, Nevis swing. Also spent some time doing sight seeing, chilling around from town to town. I did that with 7 buddies and 1 of my buddy's mom. It's so far the best trip of my life. I'm only a mid income earner but no regrets at all with the experience that I gained throughout that 12 days. Just got to do it with the right travel buddies smile.gif
youngman28
post Feb 21 2013, 12:40 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(micgil @ Feb 14 2013, 02:18 PM)
I did that last year spending about RM12K traveling around South Island, New Zealand for 12 days. Did a lot of extreme stuff like skydiving, bungy jumping, Nevis swing. Also spent some time doing sight seeing, chilling around from town to town. I did that with 7 buddies and 1 of my buddy's mom. It's so far the best trip of my life. I'm only a mid income earner but no regrets at all with the experience that I gained throughout that 12 days. Just got to do it with the right travel buddies smile.gif
My family and I travel South Island , NZ on last year May, 12D10N as well, cost us almost 10k, for a family of four, 2 kid age 3 and 6, We do normal sight seeing, stay in YHA and prepare breakfast and dinner ourself.
Listiani
post Feb 21 2013, 01:50 PM

My husband & I will be visiting NZ for 17 days next month. Flight tkt KUL/AUC/KUL cost us RM7500 already. Domestic ticket in NZ cost us RM980. Accommodation around RM2650. We will be staying at backpackers & hostel. We purchase tour to Glacier Explorer, Milford Sound Nature Tour, Te Anau Glowworm Caves & Hobbition movie set. It cost us RM920 per person. Car rental cost us RM2160. This not including money to buy petrol, entrance fees, food, souvenir.

We are so excited just thinking about it. We will depart on 7/3/13. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(micgil @ Feb 14 2013, 01:18 PM)
Jo3yZ92
post Aug 9 2013, 05:02 PM

113 posts

My friend told me that she had traveled to Dubai, Venice, Rome, Spain and 2 more countries (I can't remember), as a backpacker, all together around RM8K.

The question here is.. how willing are you to travel on a minimum budget? wink.gif
gs20
post Aug 9 2013, 09:00 PM

1,685 posts

Me & family are plan to allocate 50k for Bhutan, but that seem like a dream so far away. rclxub.gif
Listiani
post Aug 10 2013, 09:15 AM

Do a lot of research & look for promo/bargain. I always plan at least a year ahead before my trip to get a better rates.

QUOTE(Jo3yZ92 @ Aug 9 2013, 05:02 PM)
My friend told me that she had traveled to Dubai, Venice, Rome, Spain and 2 more countries (I can't remember), as a backpacker, all together around RM8K.

The question here is.. how willing are you to travel on a minimum budget? wink.gif
gilmar
post Aug 15 2013, 02:44 PM

141 posts

Maybe once every few years for places like US, Australia, etc. I love Canada. But the exchange rate kills. In the mid of those years, maybe a local holiday.
aaron1kee
post Aug 16 2013, 12:24 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Spent 10k last year travelling Europe...best 10k I've ever spent in my life.
Christopher7
post Aug 17 2013, 01:17 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,043 posts

My mindset is Spend reasonably and Earn it back.
10K is reasonable depending on individual.
I am pretty fine with it as I don't travel a lot but few times a year.
Anyway hotel always cost a bomb to me :/
syamsulizhan
post Aug 18 2013, 04:47 AM

171 posts

You dont need 10K for Japan, last time i stay for 10days, total cost included everything will be around 3.2K. i went for Tokyo, Nikko, Fuji.
-yl-
post Sep 4 2013, 06:57 PM

54 posts

10k to Europe -> yes
tishaban
post Sep 4 2013, 10:04 PM

3,615 posts

Would you spend RM10k to travel locally? 3 nights for me and the family at Club Med is already almost 10k.

nandayryu
post Sep 4 2013, 10:08 PM

1,072 posts

Not a problem to me.I dont mind spending 20k too,as long as i travel comfortably.Get a nice hotel,foods,souvenir and etc.I dont like to be in the rush either.
hihihehe
post Sep 8 2013, 03:47 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(syamsulizhan @ Aug 18 2013, 06:47 AM)
You dont need 10K for Japan, last time i stay for 10days, total cost included everything will be around 3.2K. i went for Tokyo, Nikko, Fuji.
are you serious? how abut flight and accommodation?
syamsulizhan
post Sep 8 2013, 03:57 PM

171 posts

flight at promo airasia. i think 700+. and accommodation i used airbnb. they have quite cheap offer by some hosts. can nego as well. i went to Nikko for 1 night, very worth to stay there for 1 night, i went to onsen where they have their own onsen biggrin.gif unfortunely dont have much time to overnight at fuji. smile.gif
Putraskyline
post Sep 8 2013, 05:46 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 4 2013, 10:04 PM)
Would you spend RM10k to travel locally? 3 nights for me and the family at Club Med is already almost 10k.
Haha rclxms.gif
hihihehe
post Sep 8 2013, 06:43 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(syamsulizhan @ Sep 8 2013, 05:57 PM)
flight at promo airasia. i think 700+. and accommodation i used airbnb. they have quite cheap offer by some hosts. can nego as well. i went to Nikko for 1 night, very worth to stay there for 1 night, i went to onsen where they have their own onsen biggrin.gif unfortunely dont have much time to overnight at fuji.  smile.gif
lucky you

flight alone also cost me RM1.4k by MAS. Accommodation might cost me RM1.5k and above for 12 nights. Then the rest I lazy to count de
wenzhenzhen
post Nov 3 2013, 02:15 PM

112 posts

I would rather spend RM10k to USA or Europe trip. I stayed in USA for 5 months under work and travel programme and it is the best experience and exposure ever!! I spent around USD2.7k to NYC,san francisco,LA,san diego,las vegas and grand canyon. smile.gif
undentifiedKC
post Jan 9 2017, 03:11 PM

413 posts

This year i went on holiday streak cause i changed my job and have 4 month holiday, bringing my mom along towards few trip and spend quite a good amount of money

Australia (Darwin to Adelaide) - together with other relative, driving campervan all along the whole trip. Total 21 days, spend of total 21k for me and my mom

Japan (Kansai area) - with my mom only, staying for 11 days, only 9k spending for 2 person

Singapore - lone trip, going for a short trip to find my fren

Thailand (Phucket + Krabi) - went with my whole family (brother family + sister family + mom) for 4d3n, good time spending with all the kids

Taiwan - 15 days trip with friends, car rental to go through whole Taiwan, spend 5k

Every cent spend is so worth it, wouldn't say it's wasted
bcombat
post Jan 9 2017, 11:30 PM

985 posts

pain in ass after trip over
Bank acc shrink so much
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 12 2017, 10:30 PM

216 posts

10K for Europe visiting multiple countries is a good experience.
MandyG
post Jan 13 2017, 12:56 AM

181 posts

Me spend rm13k for 21days Europe visiting... worth it
Aztec
post Jan 13 2017, 05:40 AM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,362 posts

Funny how I just decided to spend rm10-12k on my trip to Europe in March and I saw this thread.

Actually my return flight tickets from San Jose - Kuala Lumpur is already paid by my company. I just gotta top up about 3.7k for tickets. Rest of the money im gonna spend on hotels, food and shopping tongue.gif

Itinerary

1) San Jose,Costa Rica - Newcastle, UK (3D 2N)
Just 3D 2N here to watch my fav football team. Its been a dream of mine since I was 8 to set foot in the stadium to watch a match and im so freaking excited its gonna come true.

2) Newcastle, UK - Amsterdam, Netherlands (6D 5N)
First time my family is going to Europe so they chose NL as I worked there for 6months before going to Costa Rica. Will be nice to show them around

3) Amsterdam, Netherlands - Vienna, Austria (5D 4N)
Mum was really eager to go here compared to Paris or Brussels which she said was too mainstream. Lol
ukiya
post Jan 13 2017, 01:56 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

10K mark nowadays really like nothing... if u decide travel out of Asia. It can be easily reach that point.

But if u put 25K, now that's something...
avantasia
post Jan 13 2017, 10:53 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Nowaday 10k for travelling is normal thing, especially europe!
braindeath
post Apr 23 2017, 07:39 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(undentifiedKC @ Jan 9 2017, 03:11 PM)
This year i went on holiday streak cause i changed my job and have 4 month holiday, bringing my mom along towards few trip and spend quite a good amount of money

Australia (Darwin to Adelaide) - together with other relative, driving campervan all along the whole trip. Total 21 days, spend of total 21k for me and my mom

Japan (Kansai area) - with my mom only, staying for 11 days, only 9k spending for 2 person

Singapore - lone trip, going for a short trip to find my fren

Thailand (Phucket + Krabi) - went with my whole family (brother family + sister family + mom) for 4d3n, good time spending with all the kids

Taiwan - 15 days trip with friends, car rental to go through whole Taiwan, spend 5k

Every cent spend is so worth it, wouldn't say it's wasted
May i know which campervan company you getting yours from?

MiLKTea
post Apr 24 2017, 05:01 PM

942 posts

RM10k is not even enough for some countries like Japan and European countries....and I don't mind to spend to get that travelling experience...

And no, I won't stay at hostel dormitory either...
kentmeng
post Apr 25 2017, 12:35 PM

339 posts

I have finish up RM 10K for my EURO & UK trip. Regrets..
azkoleq
post Apr 25 2017, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Apr 25 2017, 12:35 PM)
I have finish up RM 10K for my EURO & UK trip. Regrets..
Hmmm... may I know why? I went last year and spent rm12k and I had a great time!
kentmeng
post Apr 25 2017, 03:02 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Apr 25 2017, 01:48 PM)
Hmmm... may I know why? I went last year and spent rm12k and I had a great time!
The trip is great. but just think about 10k gone. sad.. biggrin.gif
MiLKTea
post Apr 25 2017, 03:04 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Apr 25 2017, 03:02 PM)
10k in exchange with wonderful memories and experiences.

Worth it.
azkoleq
post Apr 25 2017, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Apr 25 2017, 03:02 PM)
Lol....😅
ragk
post Apr 25 2017, 06:46 PM

BooBoo~
2,265 posts

22k backpacker style @ Europe for 10 weeks lifetime experience, definitely worth it biggrin.gif
kapalterbang_737
post Apr 26 2017, 06:00 PM

859 posts

Just came back from a 2 weeks holiday which definitely burns more than rm10k (i change cash rm8k,all finish, and use card)

It was definitely the best trip! But i need to wait till i can let go the holiday mood then only count back everything lol
MR_alien
post Apr 27 2017, 09:03 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,301 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Apr 26 2017, 06:00 PM)
Just came back from a 2 weeks holiday which definitely burns more than rm10k (i change cash rm8k,all finish, and use card)

It was definitely the best trip! But i need to wait till i can let go the holiday mood then only count back everything lol
where u went?
kapalterbang_737
post Apr 27 2017, 09:59 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 27 2017, 09:03 AM)
where u went?
USA.. suddenly when im back the rate turun liao.. sad
MR_alien
post Apr 27 2017, 10:01 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,301 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Apr 27 2017, 09:59 AM)
USA.. suddenly when im back the rate turun liao.. sad
syok...USA
wenzhenzhen
post Apr 28 2017, 01:23 PM

112 posts

I dont mind to spend RM10k to travel as it helps me to widen my mind and change my perspective.

I traveled to USA 4 years ago, until now it is still in my mind. If I have chance to visit again, I will smile.gif
kapalterbang_737
post Apr 28 2017, 02:56 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 28 2017, 01:23 PM)
I dont mind to spend RM10k to travel as it helps me to widen my mind and change my perspective.

I traveled to USA 4 years ago, until now it is still in my mind. If I have chance to visit again, I will smile.gif
yeah USA really is a great place with great people. already scouting for ticket price because 2 weeks there seems too short tongue.gif
wenzhenzhen
post Apr 28 2017, 07:43 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Apr 28 2017, 02:56 PM)
yeah USA really is a great place with great people. already scouting for ticket price because 2 weeks there seems too short  tongue.gif
You can check kayak.com or skyscanner. Personally I prefer kayak.com because it is simple and straight to the point. I managed to get return flight ticket at RM4,200 back in 2013 (normally RM4.5k at least) For flights to New york city, winter tickets is the cheapest because the chances of getting flight delayed is high. tongue.gif

I had travelled east coast and west coast. Personally I prefer east coast because of the environment and the people and the facilities!! If i have a chance to visit USA, NYC will be my list haha.
aspartame
post Apr 28 2017, 10:50 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 28 2017, 07:43 PM)
You can check kayak.com or skyscanner. Personally I prefer kayak.com because it is simple and straight to the point. I managed to get return flight ticket at RM4,200 back in 2013 (normally RM4.5k at least) For flights to New york city, winter tickets is the cheapest because the chances of getting flight delayed is high. tongue.gif

I had travelled east coast and west coast. Personally I prefer east coast because of the environment and the people and the facilities!! If i have a chance to visit USA, NYC will be my list haha.
Why not fly in west fly out east and in between take domestic flight? NYC nearby got what interesting place/activities?
wenzhenzhen
post Apr 28 2017, 11:52 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 28 2017, 10:50 PM)
Why not fly in west fly out east and in between take domestic flight? NYC nearby got what interesting place/activities?
I arrived at JFK airport and leave USA via LAX airport. I took Southwest airlines from La Guardia airport to San Franchisco airport (SFO). NYC really got plenty of place to enjoy!!

You can walk around Central Park, visit Rockafella centre, Empire State of Building, visit Statue of Liberty, Times Square, 911 memorial site, Brooklyn bridge and etc. If you interested to visit musuem, u can visit Museum of arts, museum of sex (if you open minded), madam tussaud wax museum and etc.

For food, try burger at shake shack once in a lifetime! Restaurants are everywhere, depending on your budget. I was lucky enough that I have free dinner bcos I have my aunt staying at Brooklyn haha.

If you want to visit Niagara Falls, you can take amtrak from Penn Station and stop at Buffalo station. However, the duration can be 11 hours journey. Alternatively, you can take greyhound bus to Niagara Fall bus station which is 10-15 mins from Niagara Falls.

Hope my opinion helps. Thank you
aspartame
post Apr 29 2017, 12:01 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 28 2017, 11:52 PM)
I arrived at JFK airport and leave USA via LAX airport. I took Southwest airlines from La Guardia airport to San Franchisco airport (SFO). NYC really got plenty of place to enjoy!!

You can walk around Central Park, visit Rockafella centre, Empire State of Building, visit Statue of Liberty, Times Square, 911 memorial site, Brooklyn bridge and etc. If you interested to visit musuem, u can visit Museum of arts, museum of sex (if you open minded), madam tussaud wax museum and etc.

For food, try burger at shake shack once in a lifetime! Restaurants are everywhere, depending on your budget. I was lucky enough that I have free dinner bcos I have my aunt staying at Brooklyn haha.

If you want to visit Niagara Falls, you can take amtrak from Penn Station and stop at Buffalo station. However, the duration can be 11 hours journey. Alternatively, you can take greyhound bus to Niagara Fall bus station which is 10-15 mins from Niagara Falls.

For Travel within NYC, use public transport or rent a car? Wow, 11 hours just for waterfalls... worth it? I know the answer: those who have gone will say " worth it!!" smile.gif

This post has been edited by aspartame: Apr 29 2017, 12:45 AM
wenzhenzhen
post Apr 29 2017, 08:11 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 29 2017, 12:01 AM)
For Travel within NYC, use public transport or rent a car? Wow, 11 hours just for waterfalls... worth it? I know the answer: those who have gone will say " worth it!!" smile.gif
Of course public transport! Their subway is operate 24 hours, so no worries. Rent a car only if you go for group roadtrip like Niagara Falls . Never rent a car and drive within NYC because the parking can make u broke!

I saw the parking in manhattan costs USD1.50 for every 15mins. This shows how expensive the parking.

aspartame
post Apr 29 2017, 10:05 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 29 2017, 08:11 AM)
Of course public transport! Their subway is operate 24 hours, so no worries. Rent a car only if you go for group roadtrip like Niagara Falls . Never rent a car and drive within NYC because the parking can make u broke!

I saw the parking in manhattan costs USD1.50 for every 15mins. This shows how expensive the parking.
24 hours subway? Great! So far have not come across subway 24 hours. Did you go to Niagara Falls and later Grand Canyon? How about Vegas? I thought Vegas is a must for me but not sure about the other 2 cause of the long travel time!
wenzhenzhen
post Apr 30 2017, 11:08 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 29 2017, 10:05 AM)
24 hours subway? Great! So far have not come across subway 24 hours. Did you go to Niagara Falls and later Grand Canyon? How about Vegas? I thought Vegas is a must for me but not sure about the other 2 cause of the long travel time!
Yes. I managed to visit Chicago, Niagara Falls, NYC, San Franchiso, LA, San Diego, Las vegas and Grand Canyon.
MR_alien
post May 1 2017, 08:23 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,301 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 29 2017, 08:11 AM)

new yorkers will say using a car within the city is pointless, its jam everywhere
a bicycle or skateboard is a way better option
wenzhenzhen
post May 1 2017, 11:42 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 1 2017, 08:23 AM)
new yorkers will say using a car within the city is pointless, its jam everywhere
a bicycle or skateboard is a way better option
True. However, I prefer to walk bcos it is cooling.
kangkayu
post May 3 2017, 12:32 PM

120 posts

Just a passing thought about the RM10K splashed and splurged for travelling .....

Years ago, when the Ringgit was less weak, travelling was a bit easier .... I remember someone went to China whne RM1 = RMB3.3 ...... Now? rolleyes.gif

For those who are able, what is RM10K .... or even RM100K ?

For the average Joe like yours truly, it is another silly question altogther.

Different umbrella, different handle.

No matter where you go, either on Business Class or AA or ETS or Rapid Bus, Bon Voyage ..... for on the ability to be on the move is a blessing.

Some smart alec once said, it is not the destination, it is the destination that counts .... i hope he agrees with me to disagree biggrin.gif
Aztec
post May 10 2017, 07:13 AM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,362 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Apr 28 2017, 11:52 PM)

planning to visit NYC in July for 3 weeks. Probably gonna do NYC and Washington though.

where would u recommend to be a good area to stay? Somewhere in Brooklyn like Williamsburg or Bushwick maybe?
CKKwan
post May 10 2017, 07:15 AM

886 posts

I can easily spent 20 ~ 30k in one trip
aspartame
post May 10 2017, 03:19 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ May 10 2017, 07:15 AM)
I can easily spent 20 ~ 30k in one trip
How many ppl?
CKKwan
post May 10 2017, 03:26 PM

886 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ May 10 2017, 03:19 PM)
How many ppl?
TWo lah, alone cannot spend to much
digitalz
post May 11 2017, 08:29 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

10k. It depends on how you wanna spend and what you wanna see. You can go places with it or you can choose to finish that amount in 1 city.
SUSlowya
post May 11 2017, 08:49 AM

4,821 posts

Discuss....
if the 10k is 1% of your savings why not?

this question is irrelevant unless you state how many percent that 10k is to your saving.
aspartame
post May 11 2017, 02:11 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 11 2017, 08:49 AM)
if the 10k is 1% of your savings why not?

this question is irrelevant unless you state how many percent that 10k is to your saving.
50% ok?
Dothan
post May 13 2017, 01:47 PM

Dingle Berries
1,020 posts

I spent 20k for my family (2 adults 2 kids) to let them feel the first snow of 2016 in Hokkaido.

The kids were impressed and they still recall the trip. To me it is totally worth the price.
wenzhenzhen
post May 13 2017, 09:36 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ May 10 2017, 07:13 AM)
planning to visit NYC in July for 3 weeks. Probably gonna do NYC and Washington though.

where would u recommend to be a good area to stay? Somewhere in Brooklyn like Williamsburg or Bushwick maybe?
Depends on your budget though. I stayed at Coney Island which is near Brighton beach because it was USD25 per night for shared room and it is few steps away from Brighton beach station. The subway fare is fixed which is USD2.75 per way, I purchased for 7-day pass which is unlimited ride. However, it is time consuming because the journey to manhattan took 45mins for express train or 1.5 hr for normal train.

skylinelover
post May 15 2017, 02:04 PM

10,509 posts

Haha planning 2 spend 10k 2 travel entire malaysia for a month laugh.gif rclxms.gif solo backpack here hahahaha
SUSlowya
post May 15 2017, 02:13 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 15 2017, 02:04 PM)
Haha planning 2 spend 10k 2 travel entire malaysia for a month laugh.gif rclxms.gif solo backpack here hahahaha
care to share your itinerary here?
skylinelover
post May 15 2017, 02:22 PM

10,509 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ May 15 2017, 02:13 PM)
care to share your itinerary here?
Not yet plan...Will only confirmed after raya haha...Travel starting year end
randoll
post May 28 2017, 09:12 PM

506 posts

That is a good decision. Most people spend a lot to travel around the world but when u ask them where have they been in Malaysia most of them can only answer Melaka, Penang and Ipoh.
BoT@k
post May 29 2017, 02:19 PM

# When in doubt, ask! #
1,017 posts

Wouldn't 10k be too much for backpacking in Malaysia fo a month?
bchan28
post Jun 8 2017, 11:00 AM

375 posts

10k for month backpacking in Malaysia??? thats is alot of money. I just came back from UK trip for 10 day and the total money I spend is only 8k plus include air ticket, car rental (5days) and accommodation, food and expenses. I dont mind to spend 10k for an over sea trip but Malaysia it self for 10k is .......abit too much.
MR_alien
post Jun 8 2017, 03:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,301 posts

QUOTE(bchan28 @ Jun 8 2017, 11:00 AM)
10k for month backpacking in Malaysia??? thats is alot of money. I just came back from UK trip for 10 day and the total money I spend is only 8k plus include air ticket, car rental (5days) and accommodation, food and expenses. I dont mind to spend 10k for an over sea trip but Malaysia it self for 10k is .......abit too much.
the question is have u done malaysia yet?
I can say 99% will have gone to overseas but never done local before
me included
meanwhile foreigners flock here for our natural beauties
grass is always greener on the other side yeah? laugh.gif
would spend 10k for overseas but not for local, as if it should be free instead laugh.gif
L.Torreira
post Feb 20 2020, 02:21 PM

76 posts

Discuss....
All places have their own unique. They have their specialities.
For me I like go manila better than Tokyo. Go ASEAN I can enjoy their cultures food many times than go 1x in japan.
mrdokok
post Feb 20 2020, 02:22 PM

219 posts

go to weed legal country in urope
Chaud
post Feb 21 2020, 09:34 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(mrdokok @ Feb 20 2020, 02:22 PM)
go to weed legal country in urope
yes...just been there last summer...spent around 15k per pax
paragon202
post Feb 21 2020, 01:12 PM

I did tried 5 days stay in Osaka + kyoto day tour for 10k.
Please try the breakfast is good room quality excellent.

SUSlowya
post Feb 25 2020, 05:29 PM

4,821 posts

it's a question of:

Experience vs Material vs Saving.
L.Torreira
post Feb 28 2020, 04:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Feb 25 2020, 05:29 PM)
it's a question of:

Experience vs Material vs Saving.
but experience quality or not? mine in manila better experience than in Japan
L.Torreira
post Feb 28 2020, 04:10 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 8 2017, 03:19 PM)
me included
would spend 10k for overseas but not for local, as if it should be free instead laugh.gif
overseas will get new experience
peach_on_tea
post Feb 28 2020, 05:13 PM

101 posts

I sold off my old car and spent 15k+ for a month of USA trip 5 years ago.
Everything start from zero again and work hard for saving after coming back.
Ppls said I'm crazy but it's a different life experience for me.
hZa23
post Feb 29 2020, 03:30 AM

76 posts

10k for 2 is a bit low..usually 15k and up..depends on locations
McFD2R
post Mar 3 2020, 04:31 PM

1,074 posts

Without a doubt, yes. RM10k for 2, many times. Australia & Japan being amongst them on several occasions. RM10k per person so far twice. 21 days Greece, Portugal & Italy, approx RM12k per person. And 15 days Norway & Finland, approx RM13k per person.

Upcoming Iceland this May, estimated at RM14k per person for 15 days.

If one can save for it, or make money for travel, it is something to be done every now and then. The world is vast. We don't want to be travelling when we are old, bones needing WD40, eyes requiring magnifying glasses and bladder wanting to go pee every other hour ..

For some, traveling is not their thing. And that's fine. Just live with no regrets, that's all I got to say.
kelwin2504
post Mar 13 2020, 12:24 PM

193 posts

I spent almost RM10K for 3 months road trip in New Zealand, best travel experience in my whole life. You learnt a of life lesson and serenity in your mind. Next time, I will do it with my future wife.

This post has been edited by kelwin2504: Mar 13 2020, 12:25 PM
bearbearwong
post Apr 23 2020, 02:30 AM

9,532 posts

Japan Osaka, Tokyo, few more stations,

via cruise.. 2 pax ard 16k
the spending and etc 15k plus flights tickets, we board at Japan Osaka..

then Shanghai.. Japan
bearbearwong
post Apr 23 2020, 02:32 AM

9,532 posts

QUOTE(kelwin2504 @ Mar 13 2020, 12:24 PM)
I spent almost RM10K for 3 months road trip in New Zealand, best travel experience in my whole life. You learnt a of life lesson and serenity in your mind. Next time, I will do it with my future wife.
cheap oh New Zealand di... NZD dollars ard 3x Msia.. went from north to south.. even mount cook.. accommodation very expensive ard 6xx NZD.. foods also not nice bread.. sandwiches
-kytz-
post Apr 23 2020, 11:33 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(paragon202 @ Feb 21 2020, 01:12 PM)
I did tried 5 days stay in Osaka + kyoto day tour for 10k.
Please try the breakfast is good room quality excellent.

Is that for 2 people?
paragon202
post Apr 24 2020, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 23 2020, 11:33 AM)
Is that for 2 people?
Is for 2x adults 2x kids age6&10

We also stayed in Disneyland Hilton Tokyo Bay 5D4N for JPY195956
And ride the Nozomi Shinkansen Osaka to Tokyo.
Osaka to Tokyo sit on your left to see the Mount Fuji.
Tokyo to Osaka sit on your left side.

If is couple go for cheaper stay walk longer will be fine. Advice For family with kids stay near as possible covered walk way to your hotel is best to shelter from any rain or winter winds.
-kytz-
post Apr 24 2020, 11:26 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(paragon202 @ Apr 24 2020, 10:29 AM)
Is for 2x adults 2x kids age6&10

We also stayed in Disneyland Hilton Tokyo Bay 5D4N for JPY195956
And ride the Nozomi Shinkansen Osaka to Tokyo.
Osaka to Tokyo sit on your left to see the Mount Fuji.
Tokyo to Osaka sit on your left side.

If is couple go for cheaper stay walk longer will be fine. Advice For family with kids stay near as possible covered walk way to your hotel is best to shelter from any rain or winter winds.
Thanks for sharing.

I did 12 nights in Osaka + Kyoto with my partner for total of RM15k (DIY trip)

Really worth every cent spent for the Japan trip. In fact, since it was our first trip there, we refrained from spending too much on food (we limit to around RM220 per day or 5,000Y for both of us) which we actually regretted later on. Next time will spend more on food!
paragon202
post Apr 24 2020, 12:03 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 24 2020, 11:26 AM)
Thanks for sharing.

I did 12 nights in Osaka + Kyoto with my partner for total of RM15k (DIY trip)

Really worth every cent spent for the Japan trip. In fact, since it was our first trip there, we refrained from spending too much on food (we limit to around RM220 per day or 5,000Y for both of us) which we actually regretted later on. Next time will spend more on food!
Stay safe, Stay home, Learn more and Do more. Plan for your upcoming many many more japan trip. Is contagious.

Share some contagions with you.[attachmentid=10472750]Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by paragon202: Apr 24 2020, 12:29 PM
SUSnot slow n timid
post Apr 29 2020, 04:04 PM

55 posts

seems that malaysian Chinese are more well travelled compared to any other nationality? is my streptococcus stereotype accurate?
deyamato
post May 28 2020, 04:48 PM

418 posts

1 week in iceland, home stay, food and accommodation.
RegentCid
post May 28 2020, 06:48 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,036 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 8 2017, 02:19 PM)
me included
Malaysia all state include Labuan also checked.
World except Israel, Turkmenistan, Middle East(Except UAE), Africa (Except Morroco) - All checked.

Next big target are mid Africa Safari tour. Est Rm10k to 15k per pax.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: May 28 2020, 07:16 PM
MR_alien
post May 28 2020, 07:23 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,301 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 28 2020, 06:48 PM)
World except Israel, Turkmenistan, Middle East(Except UAE), Africa (Except Morroco) - All checked.
i wish i can travel as much as u...sadly budget restriction cry.gif

and malaysian's beauties are not states
they're our multiple islands, mount kinabalu
like how many malaysians actually can say they climbed mount kinabalu laugh.gif

the true beauty of other country(or their state), we have to go deep inside as well...it will not be within their city center area
L.Torreira
post May 29 2020, 05:38 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 28 2020, 07:23 PM)
i wish i can travel as much as u...sadly budget restriction cry.gif

and malaysian's beauties are not states
they're our multiple islands, mount kinabalu
like how many malaysians actually can say they climbed mount kinabalu laugh.gif

the true beauty of other country(or their state), we have to go deep inside as well...it will not be within their city center area
Kuching sarawak what are the attractions there?
L.Torreira
post May 29 2020, 05:38 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(not slow n timid @ Apr 29 2020, 04:04 PM)
seems that malaysian Chinese are more well travelled compared to any other nationality? is my streptococcus stereotype accurate?
Singapore Chinese even more
tekkaus
post May 30 2020, 03:18 AM

364 posts

I think it is ok as long as I am travelling with my family.

It will be money well spent.
Justin.Loong
post Jun 16 2020, 10:27 AM

5,266 posts

Discuss....
Late by 10 years to reply, but yes. $10K isn't "much" nowadays as our currency has dwindled slightly. cry.gif moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif

If can't afford to go far away, then go to neighbouring countries also is OK. No need to be keeping up with the Joneses. shakehead.gif
Blofeld
post Jun 16 2020, 01:52 PM

4,457 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 28 2020, 06:48 PM)
If go Africa can kena bot fly shocking.gif or other parasitic infection
Justin.Loong
post Jun 16 2020, 04:31 PM

5,266 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 16 2020, 01:52 PM)
If go Africa can kena bot fly  shocking.gif or other parasitic infection
When you travel anywhere, there are chances that you might pick up something. nod.gif
You never know. dry.gif
But no need to be afraid. flex.gif
Before going, just take precautions (like going for jobs if necessary) and during the trip be aware of the food you eat and drink.
L.Torreira
post Jun 16 2020, 05:27 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 16 2020, 04:31 PM)
When you travel anywhere, there are chances that you might pick up something.  nod.gif
You never know.  dry.gif
But no need to be afraid.  flex.gif
Before going, just take precautions (like going for jobs if necessary) and during the trip be aware of the food you eat and drink.
Kena scam, sick, etc. But the experience is priceless. The moment you travel will be never forgotten.
Justin.Loong
post Jun 17 2020, 08:12 AM

5,266 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Jun 16 2020, 05:27 PM)
Kena scam, sick, etc. But the experience is priceless. The moment you travel will be never forgotten.
Exactly! nod.gif
Money can always find again but the memories will never be forgotten. cheers.gif hands.gif
alvinboey
post Jun 17 2020, 05:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 16 2020, 01:52 PM)
If go Africa can kena bot fly  shocking.gif or other parasitic infection
puke.gif i didnt know what was botfly so i kasi google first thing i see is " Removing botfly larvae from under human skin "
aiks yuksssssssssssssssss...i feel a little sick ish already puke.gif sad.gif
Blofeld
post Jun 17 2020, 06:26 PM

4,457 posts

QUOTE(alvinboey @ Jun 17 2020, 05:36 PM)
puke.gif  i didnt know what was botfly so i kasi google first thing i see is " Removing botfly larvae from under human skin "
aiks yuksssssssssssssssss...i feel a little sick ish already  puke.gif  sad.gif
Hehe laugh.gif

Here's a short educational video on botfly infection

The botflies use mosquitoes as an agent to lay their eggs on humans

SaberCortez
post Jun 17 2020, 06:28 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 14 2010, 04:03 PM)

Discuss....
Spend around that also in Canada. But 10K in Canada is like poor man trip liao.
alvinboey
post Jun 18 2020, 05:31 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 17 2020, 06:26 PM)
Hehe  laugh.gif

Here's a short educational video on botfly infection

The botflies use mosquitoes as an agent to lay their eggs on humans

doh.gif jangan la.....preview also enuf to make the stomach flip... rclxub.gif puke.gif
alvinboey
post Jun 18 2020, 05:35 PM

42 posts

holiday is subjective gua.....if u like the beach spend that money go maldives sure the level of satisfaction is like super max..but if u like beach then go places like Japan mayb wil enjoy but level of satisfaction diff...
if you like country like japan and you end up spending going to place like europe also not satisfied...
we all have diff preference on what we enjoy, want to see
some go wanna see scenery some wanna makan..
imagine u super hardcore foodie then end up whole trip only scenery also sure emo wan...
QBeck37
post Jul 10 2020, 09:20 PM

49 posts

It is a matter of budgeting, mindset, and of course how much money you make. I am faaaar from spending 10K on travel currently, though hoping to get there at some point...
bukulima
post Jul 11 2020, 01:50 AM

309 posts

10k budget is nightlife and tasting local delicacy brows.gif
paragon202
post Aug 2 2020, 09:09 AM

Go bring gf, mistress, wife here for the experience.
One night plus dinner around RM2.5k

How do you attached YouTube video on to lowyat? I don’t know how to do it.

This post has been edited by paragon202: Aug 2 2020, 09:13 AM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Aug 2 2020, 04:28 PM

1,123 posts

This thread started 10 years ago. You can hardly go out of SEA countries with 10k budget if you want to have a decent trip now (air tickets, hotels, transportation, food, attraction tickets, souvenirs)

Now the title should be changed to "will you spend rm20k to go travelling. " 😁😁
madman.com
post Aug 3 2020, 01:01 PM

351 posts

30days, 3pax, total spend 55k.

Greatest achivement in my life...🤣
aspartame
post Aug 7 2020, 11:02 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(paragon202 @ Aug 2 2020, 09:09 AM)

Go bring gf, mistress, wife here for the experience.
One night plus dinner around RM2.5k

How do you attached YouTube video on to lowyat? I don’t know how to do it.
What resort of hotel is this? Can’t see video
hihihehe
post Aug 9 2020, 09:54 PM

13,451 posts

15 days across europe and spent about 15k with comfort stays+flight+transport+food+abit shopping
Worth it?yes but of course wish myr can go higher in future
westlife
post Aug 20 2020, 09:38 AM

12,316 posts

Spend more than rm17k++ (everything included) for my 2 weeks trip to Europe (Italy, Switzerland and Germany).
L.Torreira
post Aug 21 2020, 10:18 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(alvinboey @ Jun 18 2020, 05:35 PM)
holiday is subjective gua.....if u like the beach spend that money go maldives sure the level of satisfaction is like super max..but if u like beach then go places like Japan mayb wil enjoy but level of satisfaction diff...
if you like country like japan and you end up spending going to place like europe also not satisfied...
we all have diff preference on what we enjoy, want to see
some go wanna see scenery some wanna makan..
imagine u super hardcore foodie then end up whole trip only scenery also sure emo wan...
I don't enjoy Japan so will not go back again to Japan. But my mission is to explore different countries except Bali is exceptionally to be missed
L.Torreira
post Aug 21 2020, 10:21 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 9 2020, 09:54 PM)
15 days across europe and spent about 15k with comfort stays+flight+transport+food+abit shopping
Worth it?yes but of course wish myr can go higher in future
My recommendation is to go to Turkey now. Their Turkey Lira depreciates very deep so their foods etc must be super cheap and holiday like a king there
KSMMA
post Aug 21 2020, 10:24 AM

144 posts

all the time

life without travelling is no life at all
alvinboey
post Aug 21 2020, 11:51 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Aug 21 2020, 10:18 AM)
I don't enjoy Japan so will not go back again to Japan. But my mission is to explore different countries except Bali is exceptionally to be missed
why bali ? also why turkey >.< mom went there all she took was many diff pic of stones..which they look somewhat similar..then didnt get to sit hot air baloon cause of i dunno what reason close..but this was last year or 2 years ago la..
ive not been to turkey but in my head all that pop up are stones....there was once a friend's friend dropby while we had dinner to pass like souvenir and he just got back from turkey..
i didnt know him but i asked how was the stones n he just started laughing >.<
L.Torreira
post Aug 22 2020, 11:58 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(alvinboey @ Aug 21 2020, 11:51 AM)
why bali ? also why turkey >.< mom went there all she took was many diff pic of stones..which they look somewhat similar..then didnt get to sit hot air baloon cause  of i dunno what reason close..but this was last year or 2 years ago la..
ive not been to turkey but in my head all that pop up are stones....there was once a friend's friend dropby while we had dinner to pass like souvenir and he just got back from turkey..
oh I like historical and cultural places. like in Japan I only enjoy Kyoto than other places. why Bali? coz one stop living place. everything is near and accessible there. want beach. mountain, historical, cultural, farm, adventure, water sport, diving, malls everything got. why turkey? everything is cheap there and many historical places I can learn. the view also very good. go pamukkale hot spring, bosporus view. not just stones. stones I only go selcuk

This post has been edited by L.Torreira: Aug 22 2020, 12:00 PM
xpole
post Aug 23 2020, 11:39 AM

Rain on me baby
1,362 posts

QUOTE(deyamato @ May 28 2020, 04:48 PM)
1 week in iceland, home stay, food and accommodation.
Is it enough time going to Iceland for 1 week?
rara_bella
post Aug 24 2020, 12:56 PM

86 posts

depends on destination..
if Europe/US for sure 10k at least.. so it's ok la..
if SEA only no way ler i'm going to spend 10k haha
Koranshita
post Aug 25 2020, 01:18 PM

402 posts

If my saving have X5 and more of the 10k then I will spend it.
kidmad
post Aug 25 2020, 01:21 PM

4,371 posts

Discuss....
NZ so far is the most i've spent.. RM25k 2 pax for 15 days trip..
It's even more expensive when compared to my EU trip to 3 different countries.

And it's worth it. what you experience can never be bought with that RM10k or RM20k. What's money's worth to you in the end?

This post has been edited by kidmad: Aug 25 2020, 01:22 PM
alvinboey
post Sep 1 2020, 04:49 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(alvinboey @ Aug 21 2020, 11:51 AM)
why bali ? also why turkey >.< mom went there all she took was many diff pic of stones..which they look somewhat similar..then didnt get to sit hot air baloon cause  of i dunno what reason close..but this was last year or 2 years ago la..
true..sigh but now we're stuck..random question have u visited our local historical places?
i personally nvr been but when go out of the country will sweat.gif
cc980024
post Sep 10 2020, 11:22 AM

492 posts

Holiday highly dependable on your financial capability. I remember n-years ago, hearing ppl go Japan is like a big deal as most of the time heard it cost RM7-8K (no budget airline era). And London Bridge is just a song to sing.. dream also cannot reach there. Hahaha..

Due to that .. n-years back we went to Phuket almost every year (cheap and no pinch my pocket). Until Japan tsunami where their currency badly hit. Daringly bring my 4yr old and hubby go there spend RM7K for 4days trip .. can't believe that was my katak bawah tempurung first time to Japan. But do realize save more from small nearby travel..then go for a big expensive trip worth it.

Then on.. we went Japan like every 2-3 years once.. already been there 4x. Last trip (2 years ago) spent RM45K (3ppl) DIY 15days Tokyo-Hokkaido-Osaka. Then also spent RM22K on 10days UK trip (2ppl). It become annual travel.. badan itchy if stay put too long. So this year very kesian.. cuti-cuti Malaysia not enough to settle my urge as I prefer cold weather places. We by right have a trip last June to Perth but Covid got it defer.

For DIY, mine is on the pricier side. As we don't stay AirBnB and my son needs a bed himself even when he was small child. Now even more pricey.. as he become teenager.. eat alot!

This post has been edited by cc980024: Sep 10 2020, 11:26 AM
Arsenal21
post Sep 15 2020, 05:45 PM

720 posts

Discuss....
Willing to spend the money, after that, work hard to cover back the money
metalfire
post Sep 15 2020, 06:06 PM

1,191 posts

got people go HK Disneyland, stay 1n in Disneyland hotel and another 4d3n in HK also cost more than RM15k, come back MY like nothing. So 10k sap sap sui la...move along now.
yolo1990
post Sep 15 2020, 06:14 PM

161 posts

If I go on vacations, I'm willing to spend. Rent car, stay in 4-5 star hotels, go for 2-3weeks, without any planning. wake up every morning only decide where do or drive to another town. Book last min hotel because i don't know where i will end up. If im going to cheap out then I rather don't go. stay in malaysia.
That's just me la. Im not the smartest person here, that's why im stupid with my money.
subliminal_dreams
post Sep 16 2020, 03:39 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Aug 21 2020, 10:21 AM)
My recommendation is to go to Turkey now. Their Turkey Lira depreciates very deep so their foods etc must be super cheap and holiday like a king there
This is not necessarily true, most of the touristy places including hotels are priced in euros. And even though the lira is tanking, inflation is driving prices up. It's still a nice place to visit though.
subliminal_dreams
post Sep 16 2020, 03:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(yolo1990 @ Sep 15 2020, 06:14 PM)
If I go on vacations, I'm willing to spend. Rent car, stay in 4-5 star hotels, go for 2-3weeks, without any planning. wake up every morning only decide where do or drive to another town. Book last min hotel because i don't know where i will end up. If im going to cheap out then I rather don't go. stay in malaysia.
That's just me la. Im not the smartest person here, that's why im stupid with my money.
I was, or perhaps still, the same. It's the whole experience, something you can't really factor in rationally with money. I can't fathom how people willing to fly to foreign lands but skimp on food, surviving on maggi or biscuits... but I guess to each his/her own.
L.Torreira
post Sep 16 2020, 05:34 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(subliminal_dreams @ Sep 16 2020, 03:39 PM)
This is not necessarily true, most of the touristy places including hotels are priced in euros. And even though the lira is tanking, inflation is driving prices up. It's still a nice place to visit though.
my friend just gone there. very cheap. eating is like nasi kandar price. hotel cheap just check traveloka Hilton even 200 ringgit only
JimK
post Oct 23 2020, 11:19 AM

191 posts

15k ok la... come on..
SUSChaNzy
post Dec 27 2020, 10:48 PM

May the Force be with You
578 posts

over 10k for 2 to 3 weeks in Europe or North America is worth it.

Done that few times and never regretted.
DenshaOtoko
post Jan 10 2021, 09:14 AM

124 posts

I spent more than rm10k every time travel to Japan.
saikuan
post Jan 12 2021, 02:42 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Sep 16 2020, 05:34 PM)
my friend just gone there. very cheap. eating is like nasi kandar price. hotel cheap just check traveloka Hilton even 200 ringgit only
I was in Istanbul in 2018 and that time the currency conversion was about 1 to 1. Already felt cheap. Could eat and stay in nicer hotels. I think now with 10K can be quite luxurious. For those who likes history can also consider Greece. Very nice place and people. Food is cheap too.
saikuan
post Jan 12 2021, 03:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(yolo1990 @ Sep 15 2020, 06:14 PM)
There's no right or wrong in spending our money on how we want to travel. When i travel, i will take it slow and easy instead of trying to check in at every tourist spot. And go for the food while spending time talking to locals and fellow travelers at the cafes and markets.

0.1159sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:58 PM