QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:55 AM)
Bro, here's my answer.
.. what exp u have with androids... androidtv, androidbox, android phone, android tablet..?
I'm just a social user on the android phone and have purchase some of the android boxes (include modified my hypp tv box to the ahem version from outside vendor). However I'm not a pro on this techie thingy as occasionally I found those boxes especially China made will have some issues after a while (no WIFI connection or apps stopped working, probably I have accidentally updated certain OS).
.. what r u looking for in an "android"?
Freedom to install apps especially for movies streaming (I'm not into much gaming).
.. what video and audio expectations?
My expectations are on low side as I just need HD streaming for movies. No special requirements on video or audio input/output as I do not owned any high-end entertainment set although I do not rule out may purchase a bundled speaker entertainment set to boost the movie experience in the near future.
boxes are definitely not made equal.
your scenario... if u hv the money, get a better box.
the learning exp will be richer with less trouble like disconnects or run out of memory or overheating.
better still if u hv someone who can help u during the initial period.
if low budget, get a less known brand, learn.
as for tv's... note "smart" comes in many types.
some brands use own platform - u can't install any app u like; can only use what is provided.
sony and sharp run on androidtv, the same one as shield - these, u can sideload.
in general, the best features of a tv are found in premium 4khdr tv's; u dun find a dumb tv with great PQ and other goodies.
take note shield runs on androidtv which is a little diff from the generic android platform.
for newbies, generic is easier to use but for exp users, diff is immaterial.
having a smart android tv does not mean u dun need a box.
navigation, file management is easier with boxes; smart tv is more convenient, may do apps some boxes can't.
one last thing... if u must hv a certain app working like astrogo or unifi playtv, do check carefully as it is tricky.
most boxes wont run these 2; androidtv will for sure.
QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 9 2018, 09:48 AM)
Bro, thanks for sharing and based on the above certified boxes, only Nvidia and Mibox S can be considered. I have check on Amazon and they have latest offer whereby only USD139.99 for the Shield with remote which looks tempting. However still quite divided as was thinking to upgrade my current 3 years old LED TV to Sharp LC60UA6800X or just grab the high-end Android box.
From your personal point of view, which would you opt to if you are being given above choices?
looks like u prefer andorditv, which is fine.
mibox s just launched is not available here yet, i think.
since it is new, gotta be mindful of firmware bugs, esp with the troubles in previous models incl android8 - read mibox thread.
as for the sharp ua6800x, u can visit:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+1240i am using this tv and boxes too!
This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 9 2018, 01:55 PM