Nvidia Shield TV 2017
SSJBen
Nov 19 2018, 05:26 PM
The Shield is $140 on Amazon now btw. +30 bucks import and shipping fees, so $170 = ~RM730 (SIRIM excluded). Unless I'm wrong, aren't most grey importers still selling it for RM1.2k+ and above?
This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 19 2018, 05:29 PM
SSJBen
May 15 2021, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(poobalanc @ May 15 2021, 09:52 AM) No bro. there wasnt lightning strike. its off itself while i was using it. i will check the thread you shared. How peculiar. Literally same thing happened to my Shield Pro yesterday, in middle of a movie (was watching Jackie 2016). It just auto shut off and can no longer be turned on anymore.
SSJBen
Jun 1 2021, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 15 2021, 08:27 PM) How peculiar. Literally same thing happened to my Shield Pro yesterday, in middle of a movie (was watching Jackie 2016). It just auto shut off and can no longer be turned on anymore. Just to update on my dead Shield, I sent it back to the seller (mycomouterhome shopee) and they 1 to 1 replaced it for me without questions asked. Sent it back in 1 day, received a new unit couple days later. Only bummer is that the remote is also new, but they sent the v1 version instead of the V2.
SSJBen
Jun 2 2021, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jun 2 2021, 01:08 PM) Thanks! No wonder the remote I ordered for my Shield 2017 was slightly different than the one that came with my Shield 2019. Couldn't figure out how to open the battery compartment until I realised the arrow was a button. Can't say I noticed the other two differences haha There's also one more difference that wasn't noted, the thickness of the plastic shell. The V2 is just a smidge thicker, so it doesn't feel as hollow when you tap on it. I very much prefer the V2 remote.
SSJBen
Jun 29 2021, 03:06 PM
New Google TV discovery launcher going to infest Malaysia soon. The new launcher is riddled with ads and in-your-face promotions. Hate that shit.
Time to load a custom launcher onto the Shield.
SSJBen
Oct 20 2021, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Oct 19 2021, 10:38 AM) Oh damn, the new Google TV interface just loaded on my Shield TV. Bloody ads and all. Easy fix, just sideload FLauncher and be happier with your Shield. I did mine:  This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 20 2021, 04:44 PM
SSJBen
Oct 20 2021, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Oct 20 2021, 05:05 PM) I should use this for my Chromecast with Google TV as well. Man I hate that new Google TV UI, especially since I can't hide any of the recommendations Just know that the launcher is still very new, there are still some annoying bugs like pressing back may not exit an app or if you force shutdown an app, it may actually close the entire launcher itself. Just small niggly things, doesn't always happen but yeah otherwise it's an amazing no bs, no frills, clean launcher.
SSJBen
Nov 2 2021, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 2 2021, 01:45 AM) kind of disappointing that "flagship" android tv don't have enough ram to play 4k videos? Shield tube isn't flagship though... considering its price, it's actually a pretty bad android player. My Shield Pro has zero issues playing UHD Remux with lossless tracks (Atmos/DTSX) on Kodi 19 and Plex. No issues playing encoded DV files either.
SSJBen
Nov 2 2021, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2021, 04:21 PM) i reckon that, could have gotten a chromcase 4k can do samething like tube, cos tube also mostly streaming device only. wan play mkv file from plex macam struggling for 4k hdr and 4k DV. now only can wait for new pro come. Next Pro refresh will only come when Nintendo announces Switch Pro/2. Considering they just launched their pointless OLED Switch, looks like Shield Pro 2 won't be happening anytime soon.
SSJBen
May 3 2022, 08:00 PM
Just realized that Plex still has issues with seamless branching titles. Usually these are movies with 2 discs (LotR trilogy for example) or movies where the UHD and FHD versions are on the same disc (i.e Fast 9, The Martian). Movies like these will have its audio go out of sync when the branching occurs (jumping from disc 1 to disc 2 eventhough it is a single media file).
Kinda silly that this hasn't been fixed for years.
This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 3 2022, 08:01 PM