Any good ways to gain mass?, skinny guy here...

TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 8 2008, 12:57 PM, updated 3y ago

rebirth
5,613 posts

Hey sup. Im around 170cm height but weights only around 56kgs. Ard 26 yrs old. FYI I actually add a few kgs naturally through time coz few years before i was really skinny like 50-51kgs.

But right now i still feel like the skinniest ppl ard at my age especially when im at my workplace... sweat.gif
thrs even 1 girl colleague that keep teasing me constantly saying that im too skinny n my skinny arms looks like cacat vmad.gif ... as a guy, at the height of 170cm and being 56kg is really cacatly skinny ?? O.o"

Pls gip me some tips dats good n economical on how to bulk up more.

Added on November 8, 2008, 1:01 pmn yeah i think my problem is i got small body frame(even my shoulders isnt that broad) so eventho im 56kgs, some guys dats the same height as me n weights only 52kg-53kkgs can still look bigger than me overall T_T. any of you guys feels like this before?

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 8 2008, 01:01 PM
minhal
post Nov 8 2008, 01:09 PM

82 posts

natural is the best way, so eat load of food, 5 times a day, more meat, chocs, crisps, fast oily food, sure 3months you will be bulk, but more chances of dieng soon...

amyway in pharmacy's there is 'wieghtgain', bt i dnt knw is it good for health, ask the pharmacist, they will advice you, or better consult a doctor/dietition.

This post has been edited by minhal: Nov 8 2008, 01:17 PM
yeahs4.1
post Nov 8 2008, 01:21 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 8 2008, 12:57 PM)
Hey sup. Im around 170cm height but weights only around 56kgs. Ard 26 yrs old. FYI I actually add a few kgs naturally through time coz few years before i was really skinny like 50-51kgs.

But right now i still feel like the skinniest ppl ard at my age especially when im at my workplace... sweat.gif
thrs even 1 girl colleague that keep teasing me constantly saying that im too skinny n my skinny arms looks like cacat  vmad.gif ... as a guy, at the height of 170cm and being 56kg is really cacatly skinny ?? O.o"

Added on November 8, 2008, 1:01 pmn yeah i think my problem is i got small body frame(even my shoulders isnt that broad) so eventho im 56kgs, some guys dats the same height as me n weights only 52kg-53kkgs can still look bigger than me overall T_T. any of you guys feels like this before?
170cm at 56kg is really skinny. i'm 173cm at 60kg, i'm getting "you're so skinny!" all the time.

the only way to gain mass is weight lifting + correct diet. read up the stickies and read through some of the member workout journal. you'll get an rough idea on how it's done
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 8 2008, 01:27 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Nov 8 2008, 02:21 PM)
170cm at 56kg is really skinny. i'm 173cm at 60kg, i'm getting "you're so skinny!" all the time.

the only way to gain mass is weight lifting + correct diet. read up the stickies and read through some of the member workout journal. you'll get an rough idea on how it's done
yeah man, i really dun like my waistline, i feel like i got a waistline frailer than a girls >_>. n on top of that my skinny arms.
Florian
post Nov 8 2008, 01:35 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

Try to eat 5 to 6 meals a day, just eat anything, McD, Pizza, KFC etc. In the beginning you might not be able to take in the amount of food, but once you start working out in the gym, it'll skyrocket your metabolism, sooner or later you'll feel very hungry very fast. Then you'll be able to eat a lot.

So start small, like a sandwich for each meal, then slowly build up your appetite.

The best and cheapest food to gain weight is economy rice, no weight gainers needed. biggrin.gif

Right now I eat about RM8 worth of economy rice which is like a small mountain on my plate just to stay full for the next 2 hours. T_T

This post has been edited by Florian: Nov 8 2008, 01:39 PM
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 8 2008, 01:46 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

yea i can see the girls at my workplace all 'sihat sihat' since working environment is u sit still on your workplace all the time.... i dunno if i can increase my wieght naturally by wokring here in the next few years biggrin.gif
jovyn
post Nov 8 2008, 01:49 PM

309 posts

i envy u...dry.gif

erm, go to gym la...go to body built sesion... nod.gif
or go to japan....join the sumo-san club....tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jovyn: Nov 8 2008, 01:51 PM
caerulln
post Nov 8 2008, 01:54 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

Do simple exercise.
Walk a lot. Running is not necessary.
Eat healthy food. Less fat. More protein.
Reduce stress.
Good sleep.
jamis
post Nov 8 2008, 07:14 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Bodybuidling.
XCcude
post Nov 8 2008, 11:40 PM

Rockers United
975 posts

go to www.bodybuilding.com its got alot of tips... heres one for mine http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/best_ectomorph_workout.htm
nottikid
post Nov 8 2008, 11:48 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(jovyn @ Nov 8 2008, 01:49 PM)
i envy u...dry.gif

erm, go to gym la...go to body built sesion... nod.gif
or go to japan....join the sumo-san club....tongue.gif
wahaha sumo-san club

max_cavalera try bodybuilding and eat more?
but i didnt mean junk food nor fast food
good luck and happy gaining weight flex.gif

This post has been edited by nottikid: Nov 8 2008, 11:49 PM
deedumdum
post Nov 9 2008, 01:17 AM

29 posts

try taking protein powder. it will help weight gain. of coz hit the gym after that. for best advise, go to gnc, they give really good advice. =)
nottikid
post Nov 9 2008, 02:15 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(deedumdum @ Nov 9 2008, 01:17 AM)
try taking protein powder. it will help weight gain. of coz hit the gym after that. for best advise, go to gnc, they give really good advice. =)
and then they gonna advice their expensive supplements? sad.gif

This post has been edited by nottikid: Nov 9 2008, 02:15 AM
mofonyx
post Nov 9 2008, 09:56 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

what's wrong with a small waistline? my waistline is 30in (used to be 29in when I was lighter) and i weigh just about 80kg.
lolacaso
post Nov 9 2008, 12:20 PM

17 posts

you may gain weigh, by eat more frequent, more carbs, more protein, and increase fat quality,
for your information, fat help you to "resist" your nutrition absorption. because all the bad fat ( saturated, trans).

And if you wanna gain more muscle, you may add 2-3 days gym routine which concentrate on muscle gaining program,

protein powder not really necessary needed, it's "supplement food"
not food substitution,
naturally you can get enough protein amoun (2gram/kg body weight)
by consuming fish, chicken, meet, and sprout.

ronaldoo
post Nov 9 2008, 02:16 PM

526 posts

Try herbalife. u will see the results in few weeks time .
NelsonBoy
post Nov 9 2008, 04:53 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

uh ?herbalife.

eat more oconomy rice.
den hit teh gym.

that's all.

Florian must be a hulk then .
deedumdum
post Nov 9 2008, 08:16 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(nottikid @ Nov 9 2008, 02:15 AM)
and then they gonna advice their expensive supplements? sad.gif
where got... join as a member la. they give 20% less. i went there last time to get my protein powder to increase metabolic rate. bout 199 i think. if im not mistaken. but results are superb! my boyfriend takes that. he is grows. not looking darn hot already.. lol wub.gif
Tingwei89
post Nov 9 2008, 08:20 PM

51 posts

173cm 48kg here.
Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2008, 08:45 PM

3,366 posts

eat and hit the gyM!
nottikid
post Nov 10 2008, 01:17 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(deedumdum @ Nov 9 2008, 08:16 PM)
where got... join as a member la. they give 20% less. i went there last time to get my protein powder to increase metabolic rate. bout 199 i think. if im not mistaken. but results are superb! my boyfriend takes that. he is grows. not looking darn hot already.. lol  wub.gif
hmm... its pretty good price.
but last time i went to a gnc center to buy on whey.. they have 2 lbs for a high price
i can buy 5 lbs of the same product in other place with cheaper price than the 20% discounted price in gnc
maybe i go to wrong gnc center sad.gif

This post has been edited by nottikid: Nov 10 2008, 01:27 AM
jhong
post Nov 10 2008, 01:31 AM

685 posts

WOW...48 kg !
I guess the only way is EAT ...
Maybe you shud go and see doctor or some sensei ....
Which might help u to know what kinda prob are u having that caused u underweight.
stalker
post Nov 10 2008, 01:55 AM

29 posts

bro, maybe u should try eat carbs every night before sleeping... eat as much as u can, just seat to relax about 5 mins, then go sleep...

This post has been edited by stalker: Nov 10 2008, 01:56 AM
gsuwizard
post Nov 10 2008, 01:59 AM

36 posts

great to hav this thread here.i'm planning to gain weight also. at least during wedding day i dont look so skinny.

172cm/57kg

i'm an ectomorph-easy to lose weight but difficult to gain weight..
jamis
post Nov 10 2008, 11:43 AM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(deedumdum @ Nov 9 2008, 08:16 PM)
where got... join as a member la. they give 20% less. i went there last time to get my protein powder to increase metabolic rate. bout 199 i think. if im not mistaken. but results are superb! my boyfriend takes that. he is grows. not looking darn hot already.. lol  wub.gif
NO NO NO, no gnc those r blood sucker. Get ur supplement from reyzai and u will know why u should hate gnc. Advise? ask here.
nottikid
post Nov 10 2008, 11:56 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Nov 10 2008, 11:43 AM)
NO NO NO, no gnc those r blood sucker. Get ur supplement from reyzai and u will know why u should hate gnc. Advise? ask here.
hahaha jamis.. you are so straight forward... not blood sucker.. its money sucker tongue.gif
i need alot of advice too sad.gif

This post has been edited by nottikid: Nov 10 2008, 12:03 PM
noobcake
post Nov 10 2008, 01:33 PM

61 posts

hey max,

i'm exactly like you. was 54kg at 174cm 6 months back. i've been hitting the gym and so far my weight has reached the minimum cutoff point of 60kg.
there's no other option for body sizes like ours (ectomorphs) other than lifting weights. the good thing is about being skinny is that your muscles will have higher definition, thus you will look more ripped.

try hitting the gym seriously, take a look at the stickies in this section - they offer some great advice for beginners. time to show that female colleague of yours. biggrin.gif

p/s: oh and don't forget to eat like there's no tomorrow.

This post has been edited by noobcake: Nov 10 2008, 01:34 PM
tictactoe
post Nov 10 2008, 01:53 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(noobcake @ Nov 10 2008, 01:33 PM)
hey max,

i'm exactly like you. was 54kg at 174cm 6 months back. i've been hitting the gym and so far my weight has reached the minimum cutoff point of 60kg.
there's no other option for body sizes like ours (ectomorphs) other than lifting weights. the good thing is about being skinny is that your muscles will have higher definition, thus you will look more ripped.

try hitting the gym seriously, take a look at the stickies in this section - they offer some great advice for beginners. time to show that female colleague of yours. biggrin.gif 

p/s: oh and don't forget to eat like there's no tomorrow.
noobcake,
do u mind to share with us here your food taken/diet?
what do u eat?

i also wanna gain weight
just join gym membership last week.. smile.gif

tq.

noobcake
post Nov 10 2008, 02:34 PM

61 posts

i have no exact/specific diet routine which i follow - to me eating habits should be flexible (i'm speaking for the general person here). most people will say cut down on the carbs, no fat etc but really there is much more leeway than you think.

being skinny, i eat just about anything i can get my hands on - rice, rendang, chicken pieces, peanut butter/tuna sandwiches, fruits, half/full boiled eggs. main thing is to eat consistently (i.e 6 meals a day), and never go hungry.

couple that with some solid weight lifting and you should grow in no time bro. biggrin.gif
Tingwei89
post Nov 10 2008, 07:18 PM

51 posts

I eat quite a lot but didn't gain any weight, sometimes I lose few kg. So, next year I plan to workout. Oh yah, last time my teacher said, chances of skinny people get heart attack is higher than fat people. so must eat well.
advanced
post Nov 11 2008, 12:19 AM

1,567 posts

i am 181cm and 65kg ,am i skinny?

Added on November 11, 2008, 12:22 am
QUOTE(Tingwei89 @ Nov 10 2008, 07:18 PM)
I eat quite a lot but didn't gain any weight, sometimes I lose few kg. So, next year I plan to workout. Oh yah, last time my teacher said, chances of skinny people get heart attack is higher than fat people. so must eat well.
omfg cry.gif

This post has been edited by advanced: Nov 11 2008, 12:22 AM
joelipan
post Nov 11 2008, 10:02 AM

Bro,
Try to ggogle for "Squats and Milk Program". It is a fairly simple yet very effective program to bulk up. Used my body builder in olden times.

All the best!

rclxms.gif
spoon2272
post Nov 11 2008, 10:24 AM

1,117 posts

me also last time 53kg before hit the gym.a year later (now) 72kg.my height is 176cm smile.gif
myvi5949
post Nov 11 2008, 10:32 AM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

I am once 55kg, at 169cm. That was last few month. Now I gained 7kg in 2 months. Currently at 62kg.

You should start lifting weights, 3 times a week. Dont necessarily need to join the gym, just use free weights like dumbells and barbell.

Once u start training, your appetite will be growing. Consume 5 - 6 small meals a day. Take whey protein, eat more vegetables and lean meat. Eat even when you don't feel like eating. Its much easier for skinny guys like us to bulk since we can go away with eating more fatty foods. But try to eat healthy...milk, eggs, tuna, chicken, oatmeal.

Since youre skinny like me, you should try to avoid ANY cardio. Cardio make you loose weight, training 3 times a week is already good for your heart. Make sure you train heavy and use proper form. The best mass building exercises are Squats, Deadlifts, BenchPress, and BentOver Rows.

Go to bodybuilding.com supersite, alot of info there. If you really interested in bodybuilding and want to be huge, remember that bodybuilding it is not a pastime, its a lifestyle.
tictactoe
post Nov 11 2008, 12:03 PM

152 posts

hi, i wanna gain weight (i m a hard gainer.. huhu)

since forumer here suggested not to do cardio activities if wanna gain weight, is it ok if i swim 2/3 times a week? other than jogging, swimming consider cardio activity?

tq.
andychee81
post Nov 11 2008, 12:06 PM

Meoowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
6,118 posts

i'm 180cm 59kg previously 1 year ago.

ate alot still the same, then took 1 course of mass gainer thingy for 2 months, gained 65kg till now, maintaining the mass with weights.
tictactoe
post Nov 11 2008, 12:39 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(andychee81 @ Nov 11 2008, 12:06 PM)
i'm 180cm 59kg previously 1 year ago.

ate alot still the same, then took 1 course of mass gainer thingy for 2 months, gained 65kg till now, maintaining the mass with weights.
what mass gainer u take?

hanieyf
post Nov 11 2008, 01:55 PM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

thrs even 1 girl colleague that keep teasing me constantly saying that im too skinny n my skinny arms looks like cacat  vmad.gif ... as a guy, at the height of 170cm and being 56kg is really cacatly skinny ?? O.o"

170 cm and 56kg? omg..same with me.. the most weight i can 'get' only 60kg, need to gain weight too ... shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
myvi5949
post Nov 11 2008, 03:15 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

QUOTE(tictactoe @ Nov 11 2008, 12:03 PM)
hi, i wanna gain weight (i m a hard gainer.. huhu)

since forumer here suggested not to do cardio activities if wanna gain weight, is it ok if i swim 2/3 times a week? other than jogging, swimming consider cardio activity?

tq.
Swimming is cardio. Though its good to develop broad shoulders, its not good if u want to bulk. Cardio burns fat, and increases the metabolism rate. Reduce your swimming days and consume more calories. One session of cardio activity is already good enough for your health.

The main concern here is that if you do 3 sessions of cardio activity without proper diet, this will surely make your body go to a catabolic state. Most athlete eat like a horse to cater to their training sessions. Do you?
Joyuan
post Nov 11 2008, 03:56 PM

106 posts

I got a friend,50kg,180cm.. Can u imagine that? He eat a lot,but still no use. He spent a lot of money and time in Fitness First,end up still the same.....Until he took the U product that his parents bought for him,he really gain mass!!!
jamis
post Nov 11 2008, 04:08 PM

3,385 posts

i was 67 kg and i drink the A product and i gain mass like ronnie coleman.
andychee81
post Nov 11 2008, 04:32 PM

Meoowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
6,118 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Nov 11 2008, 04:08 PM)
which A? PM me. my SM stagnant already.
nottikid
post Nov 11 2008, 04:57 PM

208 posts

drool.gif rclxm9.gif drool.gif

silverwave
post Nov 11 2008, 09:32 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(Joyuan @ Nov 11 2008, 03:56 PM)
I got a friend,50kg,180cm.. Can u imagine that? He eat a lot,but still no use. He spent a lot of money and time in Fitness First,end up still the same.....Until he took the U product that his parents bought for him,he really gain mass!!!
Pls name me the U product. tongue.gif
Lamb Of Dog
post Nov 12 2008, 01:24 AM

387 posts

Eat some protein weight gain mixture or something or just eat alot
JustForFun
post Nov 12 2008, 04:51 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Roids ? lmao.
bonedragon
post Nov 12 2008, 08:19 AM

351 posts

I'm about the same weight and height as you, abt 175cm 55 kg or so ( haven't weigh myself but should be 60 now). I eat so much(dinner everyday is 2 steaks salad, potato, supper sometimes 4 omelettes) but still thin, oh well, it's a good thing I guess
advanced
post Nov 12 2008, 10:43 AM

1,567 posts

to bonedragon

your avatar is funny ,lol
samantha88
post Nov 13 2008, 10:50 PM

114 posts

You're really skinny shocking.gif
Maybe you can try swimming....it will somehow broaden your shoulder
and as you train up your lung....ur ribs might get slightly bigger (hopefully)
and remember to eat a lot after swimming thumbup.gif
red_scorpion
post Nov 13 2008, 11:24 PM

1,211 posts

i also skinny since child. Now my weight is around 60kg with 177cm around, but all ppl still said i am still skinny. Fyi, i have gain weight from 50 to 60 in about 2 years time but have achieve 177cm around 5 years ago. I am still trying my best to gain more weight. I think the only way is only eat more eat more. -.- Try to eat whatever u can -.-
sandboxz
post Nov 14 2008, 01:34 AM

169 posts

how about, eat more, Sleep more... smile.gif
myvi5949
post Nov 14 2008, 09:43 AM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Eat more, sleep more, and exercise 2-3 times a week. Try to avoid cardio workouts (jogging, aerobic, strenuous work etc.) Start lifting weights, eat 5 portions a day, and sleep 8 hours daily.
jamis
post Nov 14 2008, 09:44 AM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Nov 12 2008, 04:51 AM)
Roids ? lmao.
lol

QUOTE(sandboxz @ Nov 14 2008, 01:34 AM)
how about, eat more, Sleep more... smile.gif
yeap, but eat properly, dun over sleep and remember train more.
yngwie
post Nov 14 2008, 11:35 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

used to be 178cm and 58kg rolleyes.gif
about 18 months ago, 1 started doing workouts from home + lousy nutra-life weight gainer bought from watson + more potatoes and
eggs( i hate meat!). i'd been maintaining 66 - 68kg; which is still underweight but with some shape here and there, i feel more comfortable and healthy than ever! smile.gif
btw, i usually do workouts from home and ocassionally, some cardios. hit a ppv gym once in a while for squatting and some bench press.

thanks a lot to darklight's journal icon_rolleyes.gif it works well for me... albeit, in much lower volume tongue.gif

silverwave
post Nov 14 2008, 11:52 AM

4,082 posts

There's so many people here similar to me. I'm 175cm and 53kgs.

I'm following Rippetoe's program and over the last 4 months, i've noticed a huge improvement in strength but only i've only gained 1kg.

I know my diet is terrible but i'm slowly trying to improve on it.
myvi5949
post Nov 14 2008, 01:59 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Taking on bodybuilding can be expensive. Whey protein is around RM200. I shop for extra eggs, milk, quaker, yoghurt, chicken, veges and fruits thats already hurting my wallet. Since I already made a commitment, there is no sense of giving up now. I imagine it would be harder for students with no steady income to start this.
sandboxz
post Nov 15 2008, 02:34 AM

169 posts

yupz..
students and their stress..
They'll burn the fat faster than filling them up i think!! biggrin.gif
hazwan_aviator
post Nov 15 2008, 02:51 PM

418 posts

quite hard 4 a student like me.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 16 2008, 03:02 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

sup. my weight reached 57kgs now, goes to the gym once or twice a week. This time i try approach gaining mass different stratergy than b4. I identified my routine n my diet plan. Hope it will works. I target to gain, at least let me reach 60-65kg would be enough biggrin.gif
hazwan_aviator
post Nov 16 2008, 07:19 PM

418 posts

if eatin chocolate can do???
thank...
advanced
post Nov 17 2008, 08:25 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(hazwan_aviator @ Nov 16 2008, 07:19 PM)
if eatin chocolate can do???
thank...
eat chocolate gain fat i think,not muscle
kurtkob78
post Nov 17 2008, 09:54 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

Yes eat chocolate gain fat if not utilized
jamis
post Nov 17 2008, 10:31 AM

3,385 posts

to be percise, choco wif lots of carbs make u fat. try to check out those unsweeten choco, the carbs wasnt tat high. So choco does not necc make u fat. tongue.gif
Sp00kY
post Nov 17 2008, 02:32 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Nov 17 2008, 10:31 AM)
to be percise, choco wif lots of carbs make u fat. try to check out those unsweeten choco, the carbs wasnt tat high. So choco does not necc make u fat. tongue.gif
yeah, there are some sugar free choc...i think its less than 5g of sugar per bar...but its not cheap RM12++ yummy though
jamis
post Nov 17 2008, 02:34 PM

3,385 posts

i m think of making my own choco bar for meal replacement kekee, Plus the chco that i found is HERSHEY drool.gif
Sp00kY
post Nov 17 2008, 02:55 PM

3,366 posts

i am making my own protein bar nowadays...smile.gif just made one that day and it is very nice i made it the chewy type. simple ingredients: oats, whey, bit of milk, 1 piece of chocolate and it is good to go~
hazwan_aviator
post Nov 17 2008, 07:22 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Nov 17 2008, 02:55 PM)
i am making my own protein bar nowadays...smile.gif just made one that day and it is very nice i made it the chewy type. simple ingredients: oats, whey, bit of milk, 1 piece of chocolate and it is good to go~
can give the specific amount of the meals...
wanna try it... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 18 2008, 07:04 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

sometimes we think we eat a lot but when we count the total amount of calories we consume daily i think not even reach 1000-1500 calories...

is there any good tips how much calorie an ectomorph(hard gainer-is this term correct?) like me should consume daily to be able to grow?
myvi5949
post Nov 18 2008, 07:20 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 18 2008, 07:04 PM)
sometimes we think we eat a lot but when we count the total amount of calories we consume daily i think not even reach 1000-1500 calories...

is there any good tips how much calorie an ectomorph(hard gainer-is this term correct?) like me should consume daily to be able to grow?
Here is a copy of a post from bodybuilding.com, create your own mass gainers. It shows how to make your own mass gainer product like Cytogainer, MuscleJuice and Realgains.

Hope you find it useful. smile.gif

This post has been edited by myvi5949: Nov 18 2008, 07:22 PM
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 18 2008, 07:25 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

thanks for the tips bro. I think i read somewhr b4 Takuya Kimura on his prime time weights only around 56kg, and his height is 176cm yawn.gif OMG! dat means his stature dat time....sure tulang one....
myvi5949
post Nov 18 2008, 07:30 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Shakes are easier way to build mass. Just drink it along with your 3 meals, or drink in between meals 2 or 3 times a day. But u need to count your calories and train, unless off course you want to gain fat.
SUSpubee
post Nov 18 2008, 07:43 PM

604 posts

eat hysterically. Sure fat one.
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 18 2008, 08:01 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(pubee @ Nov 18 2008, 08:43 PM)
eat hysterically. Sure fat one.
uncle pubee belanja la supplement setong dua wub.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 9:05 pmsup. today measrue my weight, already 58kg lo, wow fist time i hit in my life this heavy.try to gain anotha 3 kgs pls.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 22 2008, 09:05 PM
johnnight2
post Nov 23 2008, 11:53 AM

183 posts

Ok here the things. I'm also facing the same problems. After I have done research here are few things to do:

1) Eat 5 to 6 times a day. Not necessary full for each meal. As long each meal enough number of protein. Breakfast: egg, grain, cereal, peanuts

Lunch, dinner: Eat rice, chicken, fish,

Extra 2 meals left: whatever supplement you can think of as long got enuff nutirens

2) Few rounds you will fill stomach quite full. Ignore it because you must train your body to store extra food that will make your body grow extra bigger

3) Forget bout gain weight supplement. It would not help if you not eat 5 meals a day by just drink the gain weigh supplement.

4) Make sure everytime you feel full and keep eating once you start feel hungry.

5) Once you body become bulkier after few months, start weight lifting. Don't do any cycling or jogging because this program is for slimming purpose. You must built weight resistant to built more muscle.

6) Eat more protein will do the trick.
kumarr
post Nov 23 2008, 12:30 PM

Fast n Furious
707 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 18 2008, 08:01 PM)
uncle pubee belanja la supplement setong dua  wub.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 9:05 pmsup. today measrue my weight, already 58kg lo, wow fist time i hit in my life this heavy.try to gain anotha 3 kgs pls.
Eat more fast food, junk foods n fried chickens more on daily basis surely ur weight will go up higher
healthyskin7.com
post Nov 23 2008, 03:10 PM

Hello max, I have a son who is 20 this year, and he used to face the same problem as you (small frame, skinny arms).

Then my husband bought him a pair of dumbells. He started doing 2 main exercises: 1 for arms, 1 for frame.

The arm exercise is just lifting the dumbell with the biceps. He does it around 10 times for 2-3 sets.
The frame exercise is lifting the dumbell with both arms from the side (like flying). Also around 10 times for 2 sets.
He does this every 2 days (exercise 1 day, rest 1 day).

Besides that, I have been cooking more for him and he eats 4-5 times a day. After a few weeks, he is much 'bigger' now. smile.gif
0701k60230
post Nov 23 2008, 09:52 PM

136 posts

in a healthy way.invest on weight gain products such as GNC and concentrate on weight training (GYM) or bodyweight training(HOME)

of course fast and junk foods will add weight however it will increase your visceral fat which can lead to obesity in the end sad.gif

TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 23 2008, 10:24 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(healthyskin7.com @ Nov 23 2008, 04:10 PM)
Hello max, I have a son who is 20 this year, and he used to face the same problem as you (small frame, skinny arms).

Then my husband bought him a pair of dumbells. He started doing 2 main exercises: 1 for arms, 1 for frame.

The arm exercise is just lifting the dumbell with the biceps. He does it around 10 times for 2-3 sets.
The frame exercise is lifting the dumbell with both arms from the side (like flying). Also around 10 times for 2 sets.
He does this every 2 days (exercise 1 day, rest 1 day).

Besides that, I have been cooking more for him and he eats 4-5 times a day. After a few weeks, he is much 'bigger' now. smile.gif
hey dats good. actually eventho being skinny n hard to grow, gym training is very important. I do it tho not seriously, but from time to time, for the past 4-5 years. now my body grows more proportionately. Ur soulders, back, arms, chest will be more define n when you do gym training from time to time, when you gain weight naturally those area that you always train will trend to grow 1st.
pizzaboy
post Nov 23 2008, 10:40 PM

9,495 posts

Do some of that.

Some of that.

A bit of this intensity.

A bit too much of an arch for me, but if John Grimek says okay, he probably knows what he's doing.

Quite a bit of that can't hurt either.

Yeah, I think these few exercises can be your secret to major mass. Just make sure to do it as heavy as you possibly can.
LaFinDesTemp
post Nov 24 2008, 04:12 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Nov 8 2008, 01:35 PM)
Try to eat 5 to 6 meals a day, just eat anything, McD, Pizza, KFC etc. In the beginning you might not be able to take in the amount of food, but once you start working out in the gym, it'll skyrocket your metabolism, sooner or later you'll feel very hungry very fast. Then you'll be able to eat a lot.

So start small, like a sandwich for each meal, then slowly build up your appetite.

The best and cheapest food to gain weight is economy rice, no weight gainers needed. biggrin.gif

Right now I eat about RM8 worth of economy rice which is like a small mountain on my plate just to stay full for the next 2 hours. T_T
worst advice ever. eating 5-6 meals a day is correct, but eating anything is a no-no. google insulin spike. whats the point of eating 5-6 meals a day full of junk? at the end of the day, threadstarter will turn out to be something like akebono, and im sure thats not what he wants.

proper mass gaining advice.

1)eat 5-6 times a day, not 5-6 normal full meals, but split your daily calorie intake into those meals.
2)create a calorie excess (eat more to gain mass)
3)workout in the gym
4)do your cardio
5)PROPER DIET

= win

cheers
nottikid
post Nov 24 2008, 01:24 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 18 2008, 08:01 PM)
uncle pubee belanja la supplement setong dua  wub.gif

lol.
gambateh... u can do it flex.gif
TSmax_cavalera
post Nov 28 2008, 07:19 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

i duno if this is the reason why i managed to gain a few kgs now, before i this, 2 months straight i eat like practically once a day, max is only twice a day. even if twice a day the other meal would be only like a snack.... then when i get a new job offer i eat back as usual my weight increase significantly. can anyone tell me do barely eatig for the past 2 months may effect n alter my metabolism rate?
picozoo
post Nov 29 2008, 06:56 PM

176 posts

go here and check ur fitness :
http://www.mensworkoutguide.com/fitness_calculator.html

but, based on your info, your BMI is less than 20.... hmm... your ideal weight is between 70-75kg.... hehehe...

u r like my friend... oso very skinny.... height same as u... weight 50kg.... he eat very much.... but still can't gain body.... haha... pity him... maybe his metabolism very high all the time.... huhuhu....
JIB-89
post Nov 29 2008, 07:10 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 28 2008, 07:19 PM)
i duno if this is the reason why i managed to gain a few kgs now, before i this, 2 months straight i eat like practically once a day, max is only twice a day. even if twice a day the other meal would be only like a snack.... then when i get a new job offer i eat back as usual my weight increase significantly. can anyone tell me do barely eatig for the past 2 months may effect n alter my metabolism rate?
yes it can
and chances are, most of the weight you lose that way is muscle mass + fat, thats why its impossible to get in shape that way unless u've got genetics that are exceptional
your metabolism didnt go up, so if u start eating more again than its obvious u'll gain weight
DjKenji
post Dec 4 2008, 10:24 PM

650 posts

Can I ask some questions about food to gain mass?

In the early morning, drink low fat milk, or oats with milk.

can we drink fruit bleeder in the early morning?
any suggestion?
kurtkob78
post Dec 4 2008, 10:37 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

Eat anything that you want. Thin people will hard to be fat. But make sure you workout hard. So that you build muscle not fat. Anybody seen 4.5% bodyfat with nice body ? It's on youtube. I will try to find it and post it here

here's direct link - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uh98rfw-8k

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Dec 4 2008, 11:06 PM
DjKenji
post Dec 4 2008, 10:54 PM

650 posts

As you said that try to eat everything as I want.
I mean we should eat proper food in the proper time?
Example; Can we eat Asam Laska in the early morning?
I think it is not good for stomach.
post the link for us. tq

This post has been edited by DjKenji: Dec 4 2008, 10:57 PM
ezralimm
post Dec 4 2008, 10:55 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

Flex your forearm and measure the size of your elbow. Is it really smaller than other people? If so, then it is likely you have a "small frame". If not, then you are just skinny.

I feel ya. Im sorta recovering for a severe episode of idiopathic anorexia whereby I was 174cm/46kg!

Im 60kg now and feeling much better, and at 174cm my BMI should be about the same as yours.

Try measuring your food intake for a week and check your daily caloric consumption.

Maintain 2500+ calories with 50g of protein a day. As a rough guide, one large egg has 10g of protein and a pack of indomee has 400 calories.

Thin people may appear to "eat as much as they like", but in reality they are actually only consuming about ~1500cal a day.
It has nothing to do with metabolism!

But rather, their satiety mechanism. They eat alot, yes. But they feel full for hours after that. On the whole, overall, in a day, they are not eating enough.

I used to think i was eating enough with two slices of toast in the morning and a big, as much as I can eat, dinner. But when push came to shove, it was only about 1500 cal a day!

This post has been edited by ezralimm: Dec 4 2008, 11:01 PM
bambambam
post Dec 5 2008, 03:23 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Dec 4 2008, 10:55 PM)
Flex your forearm and measure the size of your elbow. Is it really smaller than other people? If so, then it is likely you have a "small frame". If not, then you are just skinny.
I feel ya. Im sorta recovering for a severe episode of idiopathic anorexia whereby I was 174cm/46kg!

Im 60kg now and feeling much better, and at 174cm my BMI should be about the same as yours.
Try measuring your food intake for a week and check your daily caloric consumption.

Maintain 2500+ calories with 50g of protein a day. As a rough guide, one large egg has 10g of protein and a pack of indomee has 400 calories.

Thin people may appear to "eat as much as they like", but in reality they are actually only consuming about ~1500cal a day.

But rather, their satiety mechanism. They eat alot, yes. But they feel full for hours after that. On the whole, overall, in a day, they are not eating enough.

I used to think i was eating enough with two slices of toast in the morning and a big, as much as I can eat, dinner. But when push came to shove, it was only about 1500 cal a day!
I thought A grade chicken egg only 7g of protein? What egg is that?

This post has been edited by bambambam: Dec 5 2008, 03:25 PM
Tak3shi
post Dec 5 2008, 04:00 PM

431 posts

I had similar problems. This is my previous regime that you can follow it worked for me.

- 200 - 300 push ups a day
- 3 times a week to the gym, doing benches and other exercises.
- Took Creatine and Whey Protein. Bulked up on protein on before and after my exercise.

I gained 4-5 Kg over a 6 month period. I wish i could be more specific as to the exercises i followed but it's in one of my books at home and i'm too lazy to search for it. tongue.gif

Was pretty buff then, anyway for guys like us you would never really be able to see the difference at least for me unless we take out our shirts or wear sleeveless due to our/my small frame. At my peak you could see the difference but now, you can hardly see it. Of course i loss a few kg's after entering the hospital so i'm nowhere near normal let alone peak haha.

Added on December 5, 2008, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(bambambam @ Dec 5 2008, 03:23 PM)
I thought A grade chicken egg only 7g of protein? What egg is that?
Dinosaur egg. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Tak3shi: Dec 5 2008, 04:01 PM
firstbread2794
post Dec 6 2008, 04:50 PM

203 posts

im 180 cm at 68kg

but my bone structure very good1..my ribs bigger than most ppl =P

make me look like got muscles...

anyway without beating around the bush..

1. Eat Chocolates before sleeping..[buy cheap cheap chocolates]
2. Eat more rice, less vege
3. Drink Milk.
4. Don't take super small snacks between meals..[take large ones]
->you dont want your Basal Metabolic rate to increase right?..or else use up more calories =P
5. Don't eat too oily la...still need to keep your heart healthy

happy fattening?..lol
Beachkid
post Dec 6 2008, 05:25 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(firstbread2794 @ Dec 6 2008, 05:50 PM)
im 180 cm at 68kg

but my bone structure very good1..my ribs bigger than most ppl =P

make me look like got muscles...

anyway without beating around the bush..

1. Eat Chocolates before sleeping..[buy cheap cheap chocolates]
2. Eat more rice, less vege
3. Drink Milk.
4. Don't take super small snacks between meals..[take large ones]
  ->you dont want your Basal Metabolic rate to increase right?..or else use up more calories =P
5. Don't eat too oily la...still need to keep your heart healthy

happy fattening?..lol
yeah basically this guy's advice is good-bottomline is to just EAT

but i'm wondering do you just want to be BIG or do you want to be muscular big?

if you want big,,that's totally easy..eat like your life depens on it..snacks,suppers,teatime,fast food,meat,carbs-potatoes,rice,drinks. Hell, drink beer too.

if you want the good type of big,,where it's mostly good lean mass and not fat cholesterol high mass..then it'll be harder. I suggest going to a gym or taking up a sport because all those calories will turn to fat if not exercised. But from your situation, you could probably be those kind of peeps that burn calories without moving a muscle. So the most important is to just force feed yourself, i know a guy who burns more calories sitting down then a person going to gym everyday..touch his head and you'll think he has a fever when actually his body is going through metabolism.
TSmax_cavalera
post Dec 7 2008, 12:08 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

damn, my progress a bit stagant lately....my weights hovers around 57.5-58kgs....

Added on December 11, 2008, 9:05 pmwats up, this past few days measure my weight already hit 59kg lor.... biggrin.gif. maybe the food during raya haji fatting me up...

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Dec 11 2008, 09:05 PM
TSmax_cavalera
post Jun 9 2023, 11:11 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

My…

How times flies

Unker stucked at 60kg from end 2008 until mid 2022.

2022 unker decide to start seriously bulk up. Managed to hit 69-70kg by early 2023.

Stop my bulking diet by february-march.

Currently drop a little and its now around 67.5-68kg

Eating 4 times a day on average. Bfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner.

On average 2 times a week 1 hour gym session.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Jun 9 2023, 11:13 PM
TSmax_cavalera
post Jun 9 2023, 11:17 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Dec 4 2008, 11:55 PM)

You spoke a lot of truth. All this while on average ive only been consuming 1500-1700kcal a day.

During my bulking phase i eat on average 2300-2700 per day.

Now my average dail calorie maintenance intake is around 2000-2100 kcal at 67.5 - 68kg
VeeJay
post Jun 9 2023, 11:33 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 9 2023, 11:17 PM)
You spoke a lot of truth. All this while on average ive only been consuming 1500-1700kcal a day.

During my bulking phase i eat on average 2300-2700 per day.

Now my average dail calorie maintenance intake is around 2000-2100 kcal at 67.5 - 68kg
Interesting to see one posting after 14yrs!!!

Good that you are still keeping up your routine, and some good news with your weight.

Just take note that as we age, our metabolism reduces as well. hence for some, they tend to put on more weight.

Important thing is being healthy! Keep it up thumbsup.gif
TSmax_cavalera
post Jun 9 2023, 11:38 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 10 2023, 12:33 AM)
Interesting to see one posting after 14yrs!!!

Good that you are still keeping up your routine, and some good news with your weight.

Just take note that as we age, our metabolism reduces as well. hence for some, they tend to put on more weight.

Important thing is being healthy! Keep it up  :thumbsup:
Bro. Magically from end 2008 to mid 2022 my weight never changes sad.gif

It wasnt until i started following a few gym freaks utuber that went from skinny to bodybuilder and follow their caloric suprlus advice, BMR, count every food calori intake daily jot down in my phone. That i managed to escape this 60kg weight the past 14 years sad.gif.

Oh yeah i also hit the gym that helps me eating more.
VeeJay
post Jun 10 2023, 12:03 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 9 2023, 11:38 PM)
Bro. Magically from end 2008 to mid 2022 my weight never changes sad.gif

It wasnt until i started following a few gym freaks utuber that went from skinny to bodybuilder and follow their caloric suprlus advice, BMR, count every food calori intake daily jot down in my phone. That i managed to escape this 60kg weight the past 14 years sad.gif.

Oh yeah i also hit the gym that helps me eating more.
If I remember correctly even back then you started caloric surplus right?

So what was the different in your current program?
Maybe it will help others as well
TSmax_cavalera
post Jun 10 2023, 12:09 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 10 2023, 01:03 AM)
If I remember correctly even back then you started caloric surplus right?

So what was the different in your current program?
Maybe it will help others as well
I do update in quite detail in this thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/351343/+2700#entry107423351

TLDR:
Failure to jot down every little thing that i eat and drinks and its caloric value, means im assuming. When i start to assume i eat a lot.

Thats when i always fail. Last year my bulking success because im much more discipline. I jot down every little thing kcal intake everyday and sum it up. And it need to be 500kcal in surplus to my Basal metabolic Rate.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Jun 10 2023, 12:10 AM
calapia
post Jun 10 2023, 03:29 PM

689 posts

i am exactly like ur shape... 169cm weight 54kg when i was young..for so many years..... generally to add weight means like u already know more calorie surplus like extra 200 to 500 above ur basic need. e.g if 1500 then u need to hit 2000....
calculate ur macros.....i hit the gym and take mass gainer...but i only see real result when i ditch my mass gainer... and also found root cause to my hyper metabolism... once tat was fixed medically....
i was choping down 2 eggs morning n oats bread... then lunch is mix rice with vege and i purposely pack chic breast only from chic rice shop.... tea time usually just 2 loaf bread n milk..... then hit the gym (3 times a week) and protein shake after..... at nite just normal dinner at home....
once i am used to counting macros and tracking what i eat.... its easy to remember... don't over do it...
at one point my weight was 70kg..nicely build... my fren was surprise when see me in tight t shirt.... flex.gif
anyway now my weight is 63 65kg range.. maintenance mode....

wish u happy gaining and maintiaining...
TSmax_cavalera
post Jun 10 2023, 03:57 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(calapia @ Jun 10 2023, 04:29 PM)
i am exactly like ur shape... 169cm weight 54kg when i was young..for so many years..... generally to add weight means like u already know more calorie surplus like extra 200 to 500 above ur basic need. e.g if 1500 then u need to hit 2000....
calculate ur macros.....i hit the gym and take mass gainer...but i only see real result when i ditch my mass gainer... and also found root cause to my hyper metabolism... once tat was fixed medically....
i was choping down 2 eggs morning n oats bread... then lunch is mix rice with vege and i purposely pack chic breast only from chic rice shop.... tea time usually just 2 loaf bread n milk..... then hit the gym (3 times a week) and protein shake after..... at nite just normal dinner at home....
once i am used to counting macros and tracking what i eat.... its easy to remember... don't over do it...
at one point my weight was 70kg..nicely build... my fren was surprise when see me in tight t shirt.... flex.gif

wish u happy gaining and maintiaining...
Nice update 👍🏼

SUSEX Unseen Forces
post Jun 30 2023, 12:40 PM

143 posts

Try eat at least 5 eggs per day. Eat more carb.

And no cardio. Train up your muscle mass first.
ninky
post Jul 7 2023, 01:23 AM

QUOTE(calapia @ Jun 10 2023, 03:29 PM)
It's inspiring to hear that you were able to reach a weight of 70kg and build a nicely toned physique. Your friends' surprise at your transformation must have been rewarding. And now, being in the maintenance phase with a weight range of 63-65kg shows that you have successfully transitioned to maintaining your desired weight.

For years, I struggled to gain weight and build muscles. But once I understood the importance of a calorie surplus, everything changed. I focused on consuming an additional 200 to 500 calories above my daily needs, calculating my macros to ensure a balanced diet.

I hit the gym regularly, combining strength training and cardio exercises. I ditched mass gainers and instead relied on natural foods for my nutrition. With a meal plan consisting of eggs, oats bread, mixed rice with vegetables, and protein shakes post-workout, my body started responding positively.

Tracking macros became a habit, helping me make healthier choices effortlessly. Gradually, I saw the scale move, and my physique transformed. I reached a weight of 70kg, feeling stronger and more confident.
Pikichu
post Jul 7 2023, 04:26 PM

2,278 posts

=EX Unseen Forces,Jun 30 2023, 12:40 PM
Try eat at least 5 eggs per day. Eat more carb.
And no cardio. Train up your muscle mass first.
This type of bull shit will slowly torture and turn into big pharma life time subcriber to stent medication.
Blofeld
post Jul 8 2023, 01:21 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 9 2023, 11:11 PM)
My…

How times flies

Unker stucked at 60kg from end 2008 until mid 2022.

2022 unker decide to start seriously bulk up. Managed to hit 69-70kg by early 2023.

Stop my bulking diet by february-march.

Currently drop a little and its now around 67.5-68kg

Eating 4 times a day on average. Bfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner.

On average 2 times a week 1 hour gym session.
no pic before and after?

0.0459sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:54 AM