Health gaining weight corner, share ur tips to gain weight!

tan_to P
post Oct 3 2022, 03:15 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ros3s @ Apr 29 2022, 11:19 AM)
im petite and wight around 43KG. how to gain weight, I eat a lot still no effect to my weight. do i need to take supplement?
No, I don't think supplement is necessary, just make sure you consistently eat more than you usually do as gaining weight happens when your body is in caloric surplus. It's better to workout (weight lifting) when you want to gain weight or the weight added is just the weight of fat (instead of muscle which will let you look better). smile.gif
tan_to P
post Oct 3 2022, 03:36 PM

Probation

QUOTE(cekpome @ May 12 2022, 05:32 PM)
Hey guys. I'm joining the torture, I mean, the fun. Just started going to gym (3 x per week) and eating more .

Noob question. I did InBody test and saw my "Basal Metabolic Rate" is 1545 kcal. If I want to increase my weight, how can I calculate it?

I saw some calculators and tried it out, but they doesn't seem right.
Keep in mind that the number shown in the InBody test might not be accurate, but it is a good reference. To increase weight, you have to be in caloric surplus state (recommend 200 to 300 more) where daily calories consumption > daily calories burned. Since you are going to gym, I'm assuming you want to add muscle mass so 200-300 calories surplus might do (just for reference) as too much calories surplus will add a lot of fat.

As far as I know, there is an app call MyFitnessPal which helps you to calculate food calories (based on how much gram the food entered by you). The easier way is to eat like usual but then add a meal.

As the InBody's Basal Metabolic Rate might not be accurate, you can weigh yourself once a week to check if your bodyweight is adding. If it's not, then you might have to eat more cause your metabolic rate might be higher than shown by InBody test. Good luck! thumbup.gif
Saya anak Malaysia
post Oct 10 2022, 07:27 AM

50 posts

for me it is adding more carbs like rice or order large instead of medium.
max_cavalera
post Oct 24 2022, 09:51 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Hi guys. Unker just want to share you my experience and journey from skinny to bulking.

I been naturally skinny since teenager.

Height 170cm. Weighs 50-53kg until my mid 20s. My metabolism slow down after mid 20s where i consistently weight 60kg.

For an ectomorph i was happy coz im finally in a normal range of BMI. But many people still consider me in ‘slim’ and ‘small’ category.

So the past 2.5 months i been following a lot of fitness youtuber advice. I must eat in caloric surplus to gain weight. Before i started my journey early aug 2022 i weight around 59.7kg. My Basal Metablolic Rate for maintenance in sedentary lifestyle is 1750 daily. With light exercise/workout it needs 2050 for daily maintenance.

The first 2-3 week i maintain a calorie surplus of 2300-2500 daily. I also started weight lifting at my apartment and office gym 3-4 times weekly. I only do compound exercise that is bench press, backrow and squat/leg press to effect the most overall muscle of my body. I didnt do any isolate weight lifting.

Currently my weight is 65kg+.

Biggest change in my gain is when i started to calculate daily calorie intake. Previously all my bulking effort failed because i just assume i eat a lot but in reality i did not.

CUrrently i consistently eat 2600-2900 calorie daily.

Early on i just do dirty bulking with lots of fast food esp. mcd and burger king. But is very minimal currently and even if i do visit mcd i rarely get burgers. Usually their bfast set like nasi lemak mcd(600kcal)+ hash brown 140kcal + apple pie 160kcal + nescafe latte 80kcal. Breakfast alone usually i wll eat at least 800-1200kcal.

Lunch will be a little smaller amount around 500-700kcal. Same with dinner. I eat around 5 times a day. Morning usually twice8am once and 10.30-11am once. Lunch. 3-5pm in between meal and dinner.

Nowadays i eat much less fast food. For skinny dude that dont have big appetite. Full cream Milk or protein shake is your best fren. I didnt use protein shake at all. I just standby dutch lady 1-2 litre milk in my fridge. The best is goodday choc milk 300ml or 500ml.

Sometime if i feel beind on my calorie intake. I just go to supermarket and buy 2 gardenia black forest bread(500kcal) and goodday full cream choc milk 500ml (400kcal) for my 3.30-5pm evening meal. That simple meal alone already guarantee me 900kcal from a single meal.

Im targeting to be around 68-70kg (closer to 150 pound/lbs) at least.

I will update you guys on my future progress.

Hope fellow ectomorph dont be discourage. Yea i dont have a big stomach too. But i love drinking milk. And also some soft boiled egg.

The trick is have a drink with calorie especially milk or milo after your each meal. Just make small small additional changes from ur original daily diet. Dont try to change too much and make u feel ur oretrending and its not you. Once you stay discipline and stick with the diet for 21 days. Your eating habit will follow ur new habit.

Oh yeah be careful make sure you dont overtrain in the gym. For an ectomorph u guys will have the tendency to work extra hard and overtrain your body in the gym. I workout max 40minutes. Usually 30-35mins.

If you overtrain you may signal your body to go into ‘catabolic’ mode instead of ‘anabolic’ mode.

23-27 Oct 22 update:

I went back to in laws place for 3 days. 2 days later come back home but super busy with workload and 1 full day babysitting my daughter as the school is closed.

Didnt gym up the oast 5 days. Saw my body in the mirror kinda ‘kecut’ and my belly kinda grow more. Even my wife notice it when taking picture of me with my kids lol.

I maintain a calorie surplus daily in this 4 days except the last day. Probably around 1800-1900 calore only that day. My weight still around the same though around 64.4kg early monringn and 65+kg throught the day.

So i notice my motivation to eat more decrease rapidly when i didnt gym and just stay at home with sedantary lifestyle slouching around.

27 Oct 22 gym day again and immediately notice my motivation to eat more coming back. Breakfast alone hit 1300-1400 calorie(2 time bfast early morning and 10am).
Another 1000calorie on lunch and 500cal dinner.

So gym and maintaing an active lifestyle moving around is a must for me as it elevate my eating appetite. I notice during this 5 days off from gym eventhough my body looks kecut. I didnt lose any muscle strength. The glycogen/water retention fluid in my body muscle reduce and park more in my stomach area i guess lol. Once i gym back immediately i can see the usual buffness coming back throughout my body. Belly also look less fatty.

8-10 Nov 22 update:

Weight around 65.3kg early morning and 66kg+ throughout the day.

I maintain going to the gym and 2 days break in between.

Daily calorie intake maintain 2400-2900kcal.

29 Nov 22 update:

Today my weight hit 69kg. Sorry forgot to update the last few weeks. My weight have been steadily gaining the past 2 weeks.

Still maintain going to the gym and 2 days rest in between. Daily calorie intake 2500-2900kcal.

Actually I am already a bit overweight in BMI scale. Already breach 24 mark for BMI. Will see after wake up tomorrow morning I hope my clean weight is just 68kg+. That is my target actually.

Gonna start tone down my calorie intake into just maintenance mode in the next few days…

Feb 2023 update

I am currently at 69kg
Clean weight in the morning and 70kg+ throughout the day. Have stopped counting calorie and eating on surplus for the oast 1 month. My weight still maintain.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Feb 12 2023, 10:17 PM
manfaatkurir P
post Dec 27 2022, 08:27 PM

Probation

Bună. la fel si aici Va rog sa-mi dati sfaturi
Don't Troll me!
post Feb 12 2023, 11:41 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Oct 24 2022, 09:51 PM)
Hi guys. Unker just want to share you my experience and journey from skinny to bulking.

I been naturally skinny since teenager.

Height 170cm. Weighs 50-53kg until my mid 20s. My metabolism slow down after mid 20s where i consistently weight 60kg.

For an ectomorph i was happy coz im finally in a normal range of BMI. But many people still consider me in ‘slim’ and ‘small’ category.

So the past 2.5 months i been following a lot of fitness youtuber advice. I must eat in caloric surplus to gain weight. Before i started my journey early aug 2022 i weight around 59.7kg. My Basal Metablolic Rate for maintenance in sedentary lifestyle is 1750 daily. With light exercise/workout it needs 2050 for daily maintenance.

The first 2-3 week i maintain a calorie surplus of 2300-2500 daily. I also started weight lifting at my apartment and office gym 3-4 times weekly. I only do compound exercise that is bench press, backrow and squat/leg press to effect the most overall muscle  of my body. I didnt do any isolate weight lifting.

Currently my weight is 65kg+.

Biggest change in my gain is when i started to calculate daily calorie intake. Previously all my bulking effort failed because i just assume i eat a lot but in reality i did not.

CUrrently i consistently eat 2600-2900 calorie daily.

Early on i just do dirty bulking with lots of fast food esp. mcd and burger king. But is very minimal currently and even if i do visit mcd i rarely get burgers. Usually their bfast set like nasi lemak mcd(600kcal)+ hash brown 140kcal + apple pie 160kcal + nescafe latte 80kcal. Breakfast alone usually i wll eat at least 800-1200kcal.

Lunch will be a little smaller amount around 500-700kcal. Same with dinner. I eat around 5 times a day. Morning usually twice8am once and 10.30-11am once. Lunch. 3-5pm in between meal and dinner.

Nowadays i eat much less fast food. For skinny dude that dont have big appetite. Full cream Milk or protein shake is your best fren. I didnt use protein shake at all. I just standby dutch lady 1-2 litre milk in my fridge. The best is goodday choc milk 300ml or 500ml.

Sometime if i feel beind on my calorie intake. I just go to supermarket and buy 2 gardenia black forest bread(500kcal) and goodday full cream choc milk 500ml (400kcal) for my 3.30-5pm evening meal. That simple meal alone already guarantee me 900kcal from a single meal.

Im targeting to be around 68-70kg (closer to 150 pound/lbs) at least.

I will update you guys on my future progress.

Hope fellow ectomorph dont be discourage. Yea i dont have a big stomach too. But i love drinking milk. And also some soft boiled egg.

The trick is have a drink with calorie especially milk or milo after your each meal. Just make small small additional changes from ur original daily diet. Dont try to change too much and make u feel ur oretrending and its not you. Once you stay discipline and stick with the diet for 21 days. Your eating habit will follow ur new habit.

Oh yeah be careful make sure you dont overtrain in the gym. For an ectomorph u guys will have the tendency to work extra hard and overtrain your body in the gym. I workout max 40minutes. Usually 30-35mins.

If you overtrain you may signal your body to go into ‘catabolic’ mode instead of ‘anabolic’ mode.

23-27 Oct 22 update:

I went back to in laws place for 3 days. 2 days later come back home but super busy with workload and 1 full day babysitting my daughter as the school is closed.

Didnt gym up the oast 5 days. Saw my body in the mirror kinda ‘kecut’ and my belly kinda grow more. Even my wife notice it when taking picture of me with my kids lol.

I maintain a calorie surplus daily in this 4 days except the last day. Probably around 1800-1900 calore only that day. My weight still around the same though around 64.4kg early monringn and 65+kg throught the day.

So i notice my motivation to eat more decrease rapidly when i didnt gym and just stay at home with sedantary lifestyle slouching around. 

27 Oct 22 gym day again and immediately notice my motivation to eat more coming back. Breakfast alone hit 1300-1400 calorie(2 time bfast early morning and 10am).
Another 1000calorie on lunch and 500cal dinner.

So gym and maintaing an active lifestyle moving around is a must for me as it elevate my eating appetite. I notice during this 5 days off from gym eventhough my body looks kecut. I didnt lose any muscle strength. The glycogen/water retention fluid in my body muscle reduce and park more in my stomach area i guess lol. Once i gym back immediately i can see the usual buffness coming back throughout my body. Belly also look less fatty.

8-10 Nov 22 update:

Weight around 65.3kg early morning and 66kg+ throughout the day.

I maintain going to the gym and 2 days break in between.

Daily calorie intake maintain 2400-2900kcal.

29 Nov 22 update:

Today my weight hit 69kg. Sorry forgot to update the last few weeks. My weight have been steadily gaining the past 2 weeks.

Still maintain going to the gym and 2 days rest in between. Daily calorie intake 2500-2900kcal.

Actually I am already a bit overweight in BMI scale. Already breach 24 mark for BMI. Will see after wake up tomorrow morning I hope my clean weight is just 68kg+. That is my target actually.

Gonna start tone down my calorie intake into just maintenance mode in the next few days…

Feb 2023 update

I am currently at 69kg
Clean weight in the morning and 70kg+ throughout the day. Have stopped counting calorie and eating on surplus for the oast 1 month. My weight still maintain.
170cm and 70kg? I thought it is overweight. I'm 165cm with 54kg (reduced from 59kg). Still not satisfied with some of my belly fat.
max_cavalera
post Feb 13 2023, 03:28 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Feb 13 2023, 12:41 AM)
170cm and 70kg? I thought it is overweight. I'm 165cm with 54kg (reduced from 59kg). Still not satisfied with some of my belly fat.
Are you male or female?

I can tell from own experience. 170cm and 60kg male wont gain much respect from girl.

Yes bmi is normal at 21. But they will still see you as scrawny and weak.

170cm at 68-70kg with frequent gym workout 2-3 times a week. Youll just look slightly bigger frame and muscular.

If you are a female then the dynamic change 180 degrees biggrin.gif
minano0001
post Feb 13 2023, 04:18 PM

540 posts

165cm with 54kg is ok for female but for male i think its scrawny
Don't Troll me!
post Feb 13 2023, 11:31 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 13 2023, 03:28 PM)
Are you male or female?

I can tell from own experience. 170cm and 60kg male wont gain much respect from girl.

Yes bmi is normal at 21. But they will still see you as scrawny and weak.

170cm at 68-70kg with frequent gym workout 2-3 times a week. Youll just look slightly bigger frame and muscular.

If you are a female then the dynamic change 180 degrees biggrin.gif
I'm a male. But I'm pretty sure I look ok as I hit the gym 5–6 days a week (50 % cardio and 50 % strength training). 

I don't eat carb nowadays and concentrate more on protein calories/lot of vegetables. No sugar. No soda.

max_cavalera
post Feb 22 2023, 10:36 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Feb 13 2023, 05:18 PM)
165cm with 54kg is ok for female but for male i think its scrawny
Yup I agree as well. Not to be a condensending Chad but, I experience it myself greatly during younger days.

Countless rejection and frenzone by girls during uni days because I look weak and scrawny(50-53kg 170cm)

Even in my mid to late 20s(60kg 170cm) i experienced:

1. Ex gf that suddenly criticize me why dont you eat more and go to the gym more? I dont like skinny people

2. A crush that I was chasing pilitely asking me you dont go the the gym? Buff up your body a little bit? I kean she was being polite but the rejection is real.

3. 1 of my friend female friend when conversing and clearly joking and said if shes finding a bf but she cant accept someone that as skinny as me: 60kg, my friend was around my height at around 66-67kg also she said borderline minimum okay but she expecting her prospect bf to be biggerrr…

4. 1 of my wife past colleague, a pretty indian lady when he first saw me and suddenly chuckled at how small/skinny I am.

I mean I am older now at 41 years old. Dating scene is way past it for me as I am already married and with kids. I was just doing this to break the negative excuses of inside of me that say “I can never grow bigger as my dad was skinny all his life”.

You guys may agree to disagree with me. My advice for young people bulk yourself up. You can see for yourself many above average female, most of their bf/husband is bigger to way bigger than them. Being physically dominant male is a big part of sexual attraction for the female.

Being skinny-slim-normal but with a BMI of 22 and below will just restrict your dating pool.

minano0001
post Feb 22 2023, 10:56 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 22 2023, 10:36 AM)
Yup I agree as well. Not to be a condensending Chad but, I experience it myself greatly during younger days.

Being skinny-slim-normal but with a BMI of 22 and below will just restrict your dating pool.
yes very true bro. girls wouldnt want a guy smaller than them. your dating pool will be very limited.
glad u are married now and passed that zone. i was in a similar situation before but luckily situation improved once
i passed my uni age. started going to gym. bmi went up to around 21-22. now am married with kids but still wished my bmi was higher.
so recently been going back to exercise and bmi improved. almost reach my target of 25.
advice to other bros who wished to improve weight. remember its muscle u want to put on not weight. also gym is the best place.
if cant afford then youtube is a good source of information.
why go to gym when u can do at home? well gym u get to meet friends with similar goals and dedication. also u get support and encouragement.
at home you are not well equipped. also u will get lazy and give up eventually. another thing to remember is your diet.
iOrange
post Mar 30 2023, 05:59 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 22 2023, 10:36 AM)

Countless rejection and frenzone by girls during uni days because I look weak and scrawny(50-53kg 170cm)

Even in my mid to late 20s(60kg 170cm) i experienced:

1. Ex gf that suddenly criticize me why dont you eat more and go to the gym more? I dont like skinny people

2. A crush that I was chasing pilitely asking me you dont go the the gym? Buff up your body a little bit? I kean she was being polite but the rejection is real.

3. 1 of my friend female friend when conversing and clearly joking and said if shes finding a bf but she cant accept someone that as skinny as me: 60kg, my friend was around my height at around 66-67kg also she said borderline minimum okay but she expecting her prospect bf to be biggerrr…

4. 1 of my wife past colleague, a pretty indian lady when he first saw me and suddenly chuckled at how small/skinny I am.

I mean I am older now at 41 years old. Dating scene is way past it for me as I am already married and with kids. I was just doing this to break the negative excuses of inside of me that say “I can never grow bigger as my dad was skinny all his life”.

You guys may agree to disagree with me. My advice for young people bulk yourself up. You can see for yourself many above average female, most of their bf/husband is bigger to way bigger than them. Being physically dominant male is a big part of sexual attraction for the female.

Any updates of your bodybuilding journey bro? I am also 170cm, about 58 kg now. Thought of gaining weight and become muscular but I lack motivation for it. I mean gaining weight itself ain’t cheap and my commitment and effort for gym aren’t consistent.
max_cavalera
post Mar 30 2023, 06:27 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Mar 30 2023, 06:59 PM)
Any updates of your bodybuilding journey bro? I am also 170cm, about 58 kg now. Thought of gaining weight and become muscular but I lack motivation for it. I mean gaining weight itself ain’t cheap and my commitment and effort for gym aren’t consistent.
Currently losing some weight. Didnt track my meal calorie and mealtime. Around 66.4kg right now. I got some bad fever 3-4 days, and the after effects one week + after. Lose a lot of appetite. That is why my weight reduce to 66.4kg. Didnt keep track of the food intake for quite some time before that and weight reduce a bit but still maintain at 68kg.

My best advice is a change of habit is needed. Everyday must eat calorie surplus. Always update in ur phone note ur progress. Stick to it 3-4 weeks minimum and then it will become ur new habit. Ur body will auto remind you when it needs sustance.

When i was 60kg, I can have a heavy breakfast, skip lunch, eat early dinner around 5-7pm and that was it.

After gaining weight 68.5-70kg, those diet not gonna cut it. Minimum will eat breakfast, lunch, makan petang, dinner. Sometimes even supper. Doesnt even have to force yourself. The body will signal to you they are hungry(insufficient calorie and protein)

My calorie maintenance is around 2100-2200 right now.

Thats the most important thing. The gym is only 1/3 part of it.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Mar 30 2023, 06:28 PM
watabakiu
post May 6 2023, 10:41 PM

1,572 posts

Began taking Appeton Weight Gain, chocolate flavor. Don't like the taste, wonder how to make it taste better ? Currently I am adding Cadbury choc powder to mask what I think is the soy taste in the Appeton.

On another question, when it says warm water, does it really have to be warm ? I find boiling hot water easier for the powder to dissolve.
max_cavalera
post Jun 7 2023, 12:41 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 6 2023, 11:41 PM)
Began taking Appeton Weight Gain, chocolate flavor. Don't like the taste, wonder how to make it taste better ? Currently I am adding Cadbury choc powder to mask what I think is the soy taste in the Appeton.

On another question, when it says warm water, does it really have to be warm ? I find boiling hot water easier for the powder to dissolve.
It depends on every individual.

Most dude buy protein and whey supplement.

I never dig those. It doesnt suit my taste bud.

Taste kinda synthetic.

That is why i prefer to drink off the shelf milk especially farmfresh. Though it might be consider more pricy if you drink at least 1/2 litre of it daily. Which gives around 400-450kcal.
watabakiu
post Jun 10 2023, 08:14 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 7 2023, 12:41 AM)
It depends on every individual.

Most dude buy protein and whey supplement.

I never dig those. It doesnt suit my taste bud.

Taste kinda synthetic.

That is why i prefer to drink off the shelf milk especially farmfresh. Though it might be consider more pricy if you drink at least 1/2 litre of it daily. Which gives around 400-450kcal.
Yup it tasted off. On your approach to drink cow milk, wouldn't drinking soy milk be better for your wallet ?
Not sure if you'll get the same kcal for 1/2 litre, but drinking more of it would equate to the same.
max_cavalera
post Jun 10 2023, 08:24 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jun 10 2023, 09:14 PM)
Yup it tasted off. On your approach to drink cow milk, wouldn't drinking soy milk be better for your wallet ?
Not sure if you'll get the same kcal for 1/2 litre, but drinking more of it would equate to the same.
Yup i notice soy milk is wayy cheaper.

However not keen on that due to higher estrogen effect. May give me manboobs.

watabakiu
post Jun 10 2023, 09:02 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 10 2023, 08:24 PM)
Yup i notice soy milk is wayy cheaper.

However not keen on that due to higher estrogen effect. May give me manboobs.
It won't laaaa! But can monitor & if your manboobs appear than can stop
Sotsotzaii
post Jun 13 2023, 10:42 AM

2,531 posts

Hi sifus, I'm looking to seriously train up ONLY my forearm / arm / wrist etc, anything that is in my arm, so I'm thinking of getting adjustable dumbbells but not sure which brand is best to get with good decent quality.

Anyone can recommend me which adjustable dumbbells to get ? There's virtually unlimited in Shopee but not sure which is actually good.
max_cavalera
post Sep 15 2023, 10:31 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jun 13 2023, 11:42 AM)
Hi sifus, I'm looking to seriously train up ONLY my forearm / arm / wrist etc, anything that is in my arm, so I'm thinking of getting adjustable dumbbells but not sure which brand is best to get with good decent quality.

Anyone can recommend me which adjustable dumbbells to get ? There's virtually unlimited in Shopee but not sure which is actually good.
I dont do isolation weightlifting. Mostly just compound weightlifting.

If you been consistent with your sets and routine and does progressive overload over the months/years. There will be a stage after few months or after a year….your arms will look bigger and much more gain than your body. Its natural. Bcoz everytime you do any upper body workout, your arm will always take part in it.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Sep 15 2023, 10:32 PM

137 Pages « < 134 135 136 137 >Top

0.0236sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:17 PM