This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 12 2013, 05:31 AM
TSphantomash
post Nov 7 2013, 11:34 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

Reviews

Anandtech
Google is really so close to perfecting the Nexus as a smartphone. Nexus 5 is a huge improvement over Nexus 4, and the obvious upgrade for Nexus 4 users, it just still needs a few refinements before I can comfortably recommend it to normal smartphone shoppers. For enthusiasts seeking the device that will get Android updates first, or shoppers looking for optimal value, the Nexus 5 is a definite buy.
The Verge
The Nexus 5 is an excellent phone in many ways. It's solidly built and feels great to use. It's got serious processing power which means it can handle pretty much anything you throw at it. The phone has an absolutely gorgeous display. The KitKat update is polished and refined, and cements my belief that not only is Android leading the charge in mobile OSs from a functionality and user interface standpoint, but from a design standpoint as well.
Engadget
A phone like the Nexus 5 would get our blessing even at a higher price, but the fact that you can buy it for as low as $350 makes it that much sweeter. We can't point our finger at any one feature that was clearly the victim of cost-cutting, with battery life being the only possible exception. And even that's somewhat of an improvement over last year's Nexus 4. We love the high-res display, overall performance and the enhancements brought to us by Android KitKat. Most of the problems we saw in the Nexus 4 have been addressed here. All told, we can think of very few things we find fault with.
Techno Buffalo
Nexus 5 is the best Nexus device to date and it has rocking specs, hardware and display all for a great price.  Unlike the Nexus 4, this version features LTE connectivity, something users have been clamoring for for a while now.  The Nexus phone, which used to be a developer-only device, has become a consumer brand upon itself. The Nexus 5 a fine device that is worthy of the buzz we have witnessed in the last few months. As Google intends for it to be, the Nexus 5, sets the bar for other Android devices to follow.
Phone Arena
The Nexus 5 is very much like that person at the gym who wears an oversized t-shirt to hide the results they’ve been working hard on for some time. There are other smartphones that might be bigger, badder, and better looking, but regardless of that, the Nexus 5 is a humble little fella that doesn’t feel obligated to “show off.” Instead, its modest approach and one-of-a-kind pricing is an effective combination that shows us that it’s a force to be reckoned with.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Dec 6 2013, 12:30 AM
TSphantomash
post Nov 7 2013, 11:35 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

FAQ

Black vs White
• Earpiece color: black vs white
• Side finish: matte vs glossy
• Back finish: soft-touch vs regular matte

[MKBHD video comparison]

D820 vs D821
• D820 is US set; D821 is international set
====================
• D820 supported connections
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: Band Class: 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/19
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

• D821 supported connections
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20

====================
• D820 will work with local SIM
• D820 does NOT work with Singapore and Malaysia LTE; only works with 3G.
• D821 will work with both Singapore and Malaysia LTE

ETA to Malaysia
Still unknown

Current price
16GB at 1499
32GB at 1750

GST refund on Australian set
Please refer to [this post] by tanjinjack

This post has been edited by phantomash: Dec 12 2013, 02:49 AM
TSphantomash
post Nov 7 2013, 11:36 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

MOD

[Camera MOD]
• Video Bitrate
• Dual Audio Channel Hack
• Max Image Quality

[Backup and Restore ROM]

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 30 2013, 01:17 AM
TSphantomash
post Nov 7 2013, 11:36 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

reserved
LongLastFX
post Nov 7 2013, 11:41 PM

421 posts

Pertamaxxxxxx... tongue.gif

by the way, u should add comparison between US set and international set.
ndragon
post Nov 7 2013, 11:42 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

must have the info on the US and non US set..
mikeeeee
post Nov 7 2013, 11:45 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Yeah put out the differences between d820 and d821

Also differences between black and white model
victorian
post Nov 7 2013, 11:48 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

Put a V2 there please.
whtan
post Nov 7 2013, 11:48 PM

159 posts

comparison of price from different country maybe? biggrin.gif
AaronFPS
post Nov 7 2013, 11:53 PM

1,657 posts

Price of the device (16GB and 32GB) at US store
I can't find a proxy that works
Jurlique
post Nov 7 2013, 11:55 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

TS, can u please remove the 2 small balls on the subject header? Not pleasant leh.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 8 2013, 12:09 AM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

I like the way the FAQ image is displayed. The dialer on that phone looks hot from that angle coming for the n5 body~~ woot~~

for differences between white and black, put up the MKBHD youtube video and well elaborate in your words lah if rajin~

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Nov 8 2013, 12:10 AM
infernoaswen
post Nov 8 2013, 12:12 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Finally a TS that is hardworking thumbup.gif Excellent work bro, good job. Now anyone ask the same question we can tell them refer to page 1 smile.gif
eveready
post Nov 8 2013, 12:16 AM

242 posts

Keep the info coming
andyjyneo
post Nov 8 2013, 12:42 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Please add "When will Nexus 5 arrive in Malaysia" into FAQ too.
This is very important since a lot of people are asking the Q.
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2013, 12:44 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 8 2013, 12:42 AM)
Lazy to spoonfeed already? tongue.gif
TSphantomash
post Nov 8 2013, 12:55 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 8 2013, 12:42 AM)
... provide source / answers?

this goes for all other suggestions, please provide source / answers too so I can add it easily.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 8 2013, 12:55 AM
andyjyneo
post Nov 8 2013, 12:56 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 8 2013, 12:44 AM)
Lazy to spoonfeed already? tongue.gif
I've been answering 2930102310319031 times on "When will Nexus 5 reach Malaysia" Q.
And I'm bombarded 324900123892392 times with "Does Malaysia LTE compatible with US LTE" Q.
So total I've answered 3255002434211423 times.
andyjyneo
post Nov 8 2013, 12:56 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Nov 8 2013, 12:55 AM)
... provide source / answers?

this goes for all other suggestions, please provide source / answers too so I can add it easily.
Q: "When will Nexus 5 reach Malaysia?"
A: Unknown yet.
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 8 2013, 01:01 AM

620 posts

wonderful job, TS

for the headers, ie FAQ, Features, Directory etc
maybe using a bright colour will make them easier to notice, as eventually the info will expand until it becomes a wall of text, or maybe a spoiler will do

Here I have a list of reviews until now, only from tech sites
I think the SITE NAME + URL will do, don't need for an excerpt
http://www.technobuffalo.com/reviews/nexus-5-review/
http://www.engadget.com/2013/11/05/nexus-5-review/
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/mobile-phones/go...eview-50012670/
http://www.ubergizmo.com/2013/11/nexus-5-r..._source=mainrss
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Nexus-5-per...chmarks_id49059
http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-5-batt...nough-not-great
http://www.techhive.com/article/2060496/ne...out-kitkat.html
http://www.zdnet.com/google-nexus-5-review...one-7000022924/
http://phandroid.com/2013/11/06/nexus-5-camera-review/
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2426730,00.asp
http://bgr.com/2013/11/06/google-nexus-5-review/
http://gizmodo.com/nexus-5-review-the-best...ally-1458003288

again, TS, WONDERFUL JOB
tanjinjack
post Nov 8 2013, 01:04 AM

4,122 posts

Black vs White. His channel also has quite a few Nexus 5 videos as well. Enjoy the British accent!
http://youtu.be/h-Isu8WSvfs
paul5263
post Nov 8 2013, 01:06 AM

257 posts

does N5 sell in brick n mortar shop in Japan?? Or had to get it on Google Play Store?
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 8 2013, 01:07 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 8 2013, 01:06 AM)
does N5 sell in brick n mortar shop in Japan?? Or had to get it on Google Play Store?
No

only through playstore

This post has been edited by Tsukiyomi001: Nov 8 2013, 01:08 AM
NightFelix
post Nov 8 2013, 01:16 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Hi guys! Reporting in here now.

Back to the previous thread talking about the droptest thing, I think that why Nexus 5 will just crack like that or Nexus 4 whatever you like.

If I'm not mistaken, the Nexus 4 previously using the Zero Gap Technology which makes your fingers almost touch to the screen thing. So I assume the Nexus 5 would be same? No? hmm.gif
Andrewtst
post Nov 8 2013, 01:22 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Official thread V2? Should label it at title header.
shdin271
post Nov 8 2013, 01:29 AM

365 posts

hi. reporting in.
interested in buying this phone. prefered 821 32gb white.
if you have/know anyone selling, pls pm me. also surveyed few threads at lyn and pmed most of the sellers.
thanks much appreciated.
andyjyneo
post Nov 8 2013, 01:30 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Maybe can put list of LYN sellers, for those who want fast phones.
shdin271
post Nov 8 2013, 01:33 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 8 2013, 01:30 AM)
second that. gone into 5-6 pages at garage sales.
most of them selling 820 variant.
selling at high price. cry.gif

This post has been edited by shdin271: Nov 8 2013, 01:33 AM
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 8 2013, 01:40 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 01:16 AM)

Back to the previous thread talking about the droptest thing, I think that why Nexus 5 will just crack like that or Nexus 4 whatever you like.

If I'm not mistaken, the Nexus 4 previously using the Zero Gap Technology which makes your fingers almost touch to the screen thing. So I assume the Nexus 5 would be same? No? hmm.gif
Ifixit.com reported the screen is laminated to the glass, so yes should be zero gap
im_not_stupid
post Nov 8 2013, 01:43 AM

1,083 posts

phantomash become TS again lol...

by the way any reviews on the screen protector and casing?
TSphantomash
post Nov 8 2013, 01:43 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 8 2013, 12:56 AM)
Q: "When will Nexus 5 reach Malaysia?"
A: Unknown yet.
thanks, added! icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 8 2013, 01:01 AM)
thanks man. tongue.gif I'll add some of those that are interesting and full featured ones.

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 01:16 AM)

its called in cell touch, and yes Nexus 5 has it. nod.gif

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Nov 8 2013, 01:43 AM)
phantomash become TS again lol...
icon_rolleyes.gif feeling itchy to design a new thread.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Nov 8 2013, 01:49 AM
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 02:39 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

Congratz on V2. Add also userbase,
My suggestion:

Nexus 5 users
xKAIZERUx 32GB BLK D821

The D821 is optional, maybe have or not have the same...
tennytyy
post Nov 8 2013, 02:47 AM

1,916 posts

Still waiting for local set lol
shdin271
post Nov 8 2013, 02:54 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 02:39 AM)
My suggestion:

Nexus 5 users
xKAIZERUx 32GB BLK D821

where u bought ur device?
VictorKeong
post Nov 8 2013, 02:58 AM

599 posts

new fan signing in biggrin.gif
VictorKeong
post Nov 8 2013, 02:59 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 03:39 AM)
My suggestion:

Nexus 5 users
xKAIZERUx 32GB BLK D821

wow, mind sharing some camera shots? rclxms.gif
thanks smile.gif
Xirality
post Nov 8 2013, 03:39 AM

12,176 posts

TS get all the picture from the verge eh? tongue.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 03:58 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzbd99Xq7k4

Sample video and sound from surroundings.
t3n
post Nov 8 2013, 04:45 AM

1,457 posts

I want Nexus 5 T.T
ck.chunkeat
post Nov 8 2013, 05:53 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

Some random shots taken during the first day of use.Still need some getting used to for the camera. I also notice that it has some focus issue..

HDR+ off.

HDR+ on

A random shot at my living room of my laptop. The lighting condition is quite poor here.

1st day battery usage.
Wifi on, mobile data on, network location on, google now off, location report on.

Im in uni since 10am-5pm. Most of the time connected to wifi but the wifi coverage arent that strong.

Another annoying bit is the power button. When ever you shake the phone or you tap on the top right corner(near the power button), you will hear the rattling sound of the button. It is quite obvious. sad.gif
Think I'll either get a TPU case to cover the power button or I'll open the handphone up to put some paper in it after the warranty gone.

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Nov 8 2013, 05:55 AM
Black Red
post Nov 8 2013, 07:18 AM

485 posts

signing in.

a lot of potential owner here. biggrin.gif
SUSSKY233
post Nov 8 2013, 08:06 AM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Nov 8 2013, 07:18 AM)
signing in.
a lot of potential owner here. biggrin.gif
3rd page dy biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
garylimcn
post Nov 8 2013, 08:34 AM

51 posts

Reporting in. Still waiting for local LG set.
Need to compare the price first before decide to buy local or frm LYN seller.
LTE din means a lot to me, because I dun have d habbit to use Youtube by phone. Besides, LTE coverage is limited in my area.
Addition, the drop test by AndroidAuthority means nothing...
In manufacturing and QA, drop test never mean to be this height. Usually, we talk about table height only.
maks_pain
post Nov 8 2013, 08:54 AM

380 posts

For your reference in case u still thinking about to purchase from oversea.

Nexus 32 GB

Australia:
Price - $449 = RM 1352
Price Selling here - n/a
You pay extra -

Japan:
Price - ¥44,800= RM 1443
Price Selling here - 1750
You pay extra - 307

US:
Price - $399 = RM 1267
Price Selling here - 1600 - 1699
You pay extra - 333 - 380

Malaysia price?? brows.gif

This post has been edited by maks_pain: Nov 8 2013, 08:58 AM
billy_overheat
post Nov 8 2013, 08:57 AM

3,373 posts

It already gets lotsa attentions over here. And, seriously, LG Malaysia will not price it low. laugh.gif

Btw, drop test really means nothing because it very depends on the angle. Drop a few times with my nexus 4 with and without bumper, luckily mine is still ok. Thank god!
Black Red
post Nov 8 2013, 08:59 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Nov 8 2013, 08:57 AM)
It already gets lotsa attentions over here. And, seriously, LG Malaysia will not price it low. laugh.gif

Btw, drop test really means nothing because it very depends on the angle. Drop a few times with my nexus 4 with and without bumper, luckily mine is still ok. Thank god!
maybe LG IT department will monitor this thread and give ideas to their superior how much to sell LG Nexus here. I bet if 32gb 1700 to 1900, people will still buy. tongue.gif or is that too cheap? biggrin.gif
billy_overheat
post Nov 8 2013, 09:02 AM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Nov 8 2013, 08:59 AM)
maybe LG IT department will monitor this thread and give ideas to their superior how much to sell LG Nexus here. I bet if 32gb 1700 to 1900, people will still buy.  tongue.gif or is that too cheap?  biggrin.gif
Actually, in my pov, it's a little beast, even Nexus 4 is a beast with cheap price tag. It could have been priced higher, however, all of us are pampered because of the price of those devices in playstore. So, no, I still want it cheap albeit the very good hardware! tongue.gif
rickysay
post Nov 8 2013, 09:08 AM

Arsenal F.C.
1,018 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Nov 8 2013, 01:33 AM)
second that. gone into 5-6 pages at garage sales.
most of them selling 820 variant.
selling at high price.  cry.gif
which seller would be so dumb to sell D820? doh.gif That's pretty dumb bringing in one that doesn't work with MY's LTE band, isn't it? shakehead.gif
Black Red
post Nov 8 2013, 09:20 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Nov 8 2013, 09:02 AM)
Actually, in my pov, it's a little beast, even Nexus 4 is a beast with cheap price tag. It could have been priced higher, however, all of us are pampered because of the price of those devices in playstore. So, no, I still want it cheap albeit the very good hardware! tongue.gif
well, everyone want it to be cheap.. I don't think I'll buy the 32gb, gonna be costly for poorfag like me, but if difference around 200, who knows. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rickysay @ Nov 8 2013, 09:08 AM)
which seller would be so dumb to sell D820? doh.gif That's pretty dumb bringing in one that doesn't work with MY's LTE band, isn't it? shakehead.gif
got demand maa, of course people will sell.

and I'm not too sure bout this LTE, if I'm not mistaken, now only got around big town right? if people from small town don't want one with LTE becoz they place don't have LTE, I don't blame them, it's cheaper.
maks_pain
post Nov 8 2013, 09:20 AM

380 posts

Buy from this guy. Japan set.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2702590

Very fast response. after 5 min deposit he already placed an order. Shipment from warehouse 15 Nov rclxms.gif
billy_overheat
post Nov 8 2013, 09:21 AM

3,373 posts

It's not dumb at all. The LTE's coverage in Malaysia has yet to reach a stage where it's usable especially in rural areas like the place I'm living now. I hardly get 3G/H and that's why I'm getting d820 and till the time LTE is getting a bigger coverage, only then I will buy another one.
underGr0und_8
post Nov 8 2013, 09:27 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Nov 8 2013, 09:20 AM)
Buy from this guy. Japan set.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2702590

Very fast response. after 5 min deposit he already placed an order. Shipment from warehouse 15 Nov  rclxms.gif
Lol later i have to do everyone a 5 minutes order. Was browsing Rakuten for some other shopping for myself so it is quite fast to order the nexus 5 laugh.gif
victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 09:30 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Nov 8 2013, 09:21 AM)
It's not dumb at all. The LTE's coverage in Malaysia has yet to reach a stage where it's usable especially in rural areas like the place I'm living now. I hardly get 3G/H and that's why I'm getting d820 and till the time LTE is getting a bigger coverage, only then I will buy another one.
Yeah its not dumb. I myself doesn't mind the D820 variant. I have 2 LTE phone with me currently, Lumia 820 and HTC One. Using Umobile now and Im happy for what I pay for. 250MB quota and I don't expect LTE lol. 3G is fast enough for daily usage. Plus expect the quota to finish in less than one day
MsiaqweR
post Nov 8 2013, 09:30 AM

642 posts

Maybe only u and some members who are rich fag used to change phones every 6 mths to 12 mths. Many out there only change phones once every 36 mths.
So it's better to get a LTE compatible phone now. How much more u need to spend vs a non LTE phone? Only about RM80 extra the most.
victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 09:33 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 8 2013, 09:30 AM)
Maybe only u and some members who are rich fag used to change phones every 6 mths to 12 mths. Many out there only change phones once every 36 mths.
So it's better to get a LTE compatible phone now. How much more u need to spend vs a non LTE phone? Only about RM80 extra the most.
Oh really Rm 80 is the most? FYI US set only cost around Rm 1100. International set cost around 1300-1400. Where's the Rm 80?

This post has been edited by victorian: Nov 8 2013, 09:34 AM
MsiaqweR
post Nov 8 2013, 09:40 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Nov 8 2013, 09:33 AM)
Oh really Rm 80 is the most? FYI US set only cost around Rm 1100. International set cost around 1300-1400. Where's the Rm 80?
Pls see post 45 above USA set vs Japan set.
victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 09:44 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 8 2013, 09:40 AM)
It's Rm 180, not Rm 80. doh.gif
billy_overheat
post Nov 8 2013, 09:46 AM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 8 2013, 09:40 AM)
in my case, 32gb differs RM300+, so who is the richer now? haha. I don't need LTE yet, so it saves me about 300. biggrin.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2013, 09:49 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Aiya people want to sell Non LTE variant let them la. Why must call people dumb and such? There is always others who wants to buy the non LTE variant. You may not want it but others do. Dont put your own preference over others. After all, consumers can choose what they want to purchase.

Those who are going for Non LTE are probably:
1) Wants to have the feel of N5 and become an early adoptor in the country where 3G is sufficient for them.
2) They have no LTE coverage in their residing area.
3) Change phones often where price is not an issue.
4) For showing off.

And again, people changing smartphones every 1 or 2 years is pretty common these days. Its not the matter of richfag or poorfag. Its all about personal choice.
victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 09:49 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

Getting the international set from other country is also more costly compared to getting it from US. There is not much forwarding company in other countries so expect to pay more for the service. On top of the Rm 200 difference device price, expect to pay another Rm 100 more for the shipping and service.
TSphantomash
post Nov 8 2013, 10:41 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 8 2013, 03:39 AM)
TS get all the picture from the verge eh?  tongue.gif
the verge, engadget, and google official nexus 5 page, and more. biggrin.gif
mudkipryan94
post Nov 8 2013, 10:48 AM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

satu Gagdet dot com
Direct D
Ailing126(u gotta to PM her)
DannyGeni
AaronFPS
post Nov 8 2013, 11:17 AM

1,657 posts

What's the price of US set 16/32GB?
$349 and $399?
LongLastFX
post Nov 8 2013, 11:35 AM

421 posts

Is it worth upgrade from Nexus 4 to Nexus 5?

This video have the answer

mudkipryan94
post Nov 8 2013, 11:56 AM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 8 2013, 11:35 AM)
Is it worth upgrade from Nexus 4 to Nexus 5?

This video have the answer

depending on others smile.gif
crispycreame
post Nov 8 2013, 12:35 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 8 2013, 09:30 AM)
Yeah. For me i will change phone every 2-3 years. Don't have money to change phone every year.
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2013, 12:56 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Nov 8 2013, 11:17 AM)
What's the price of US set 16/32GB?
$349 and $399?
I believe a simple Google search will get you the answer that you seek?

http://www.google.com/nexus/5/
Noobi3
post Nov 8 2013, 12:59 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Nov 8 2013, 12:15 AM)
No need for extra charge to use LTE. If you are using the old sim card, just go to the center and ask them for the 4G Micro Sim, and you're good to go.

Personally I use LTE everyday. and its hard going back to 3G/H+ and its quite stable too. I work in Masjid Jamek, and lives in Jelatek. Weird thing is, KLCC doesnt get LTE. hahaha. I'm using Maxis, which ironically maxis HQ is there. Gagagagaga...

I'd say if you live in KL, LTE is gonna be worth it. The coverage and speed keeps on increasing everyday. Its been like 4 months since I use LTE here. It keeps getting better and could be available in new area in a few months.
KLCC got LTE for Maxis . Double check with a friend working there , full LTE whole day .
garylimcn
post Nov 8 2013, 01:00 PM

51 posts

i come across this website...
Anyone familiar with it?

http://www.shopandbox.com/ads/nexus-five.h...CFWFS4godASoAVg
benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 01:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:59 PM)
KLCC got LTE for Maxis . Double check with a friend working there , full LTE whole day .
I am in KLCC now n definitely there is LTE on Maxis
AaronFPS
post Nov 8 2013, 01:12 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 8 2013, 12:56 PM)
I believe a simple Google search will get you the answer that you seek?

http://www.google.com/nexus/5/
Thanks, i thought only accesible via play store
VictorKeong
post Nov 8 2013, 01:22 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 04:58 AM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzbd99Xq7k4

Sample video and sound from surroundings.
awesome haha
considering this phone and LG G2... erm price difference pretty big, only difference screen size, camera, and buttons lol~
djlah
post Nov 8 2013, 01:30 PM

7,723 posts

yes, I contribute a bit, anyone feel free to add if not listed:

VictorKeong
post Nov 8 2013, 01:35 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 8 2013, 02:30 PM)
yes, I contribute a bit, anyone feel free to add if not listed:

awesome
are all reliable?
wanted to get from directd. but rm400 cheaper can get 32gb brows.gif
tanjinjack
post Nov 8 2013, 01:53 PM

4,122 posts

Just want to offer some thought on possible LG Malaysia pricing. Last year 16GB Nexus 4 is priced at RM1,649 and the sibling Optimus G is around 2k. Now we see AP set LG G2 32GB is going at RM1,799.

Assuming the Nexus 5 16GB keeps the same price, RM1,649, the Nexus 5 32GB is likely to be priced RM150-200 higher, so we are looking at RM1,799-RM1,849. How much should LG G2 cost then? Given the AP price now, I think it might have been probable to go for a RM1,999 (or even RM1,899). I think the gap between LG G2 and Nexus 5 (both 32 variants) are a bit too tight (and even tighter if 16GB N5 is priced higher). Since I see no reason LG to not bring their G2 in (it's their flagship after all), could we be seeing only official 16GB set?
shdin271
post Nov 8 2013, 02:12 PM

365 posts

most of them, i hardly see 821 version here.

where are you living, im at cyberjaya and jb, most of the places i go got lte. well you should getting one now biggrin.gif

QUOTE(victorian @ Nov 8 2013, 09:30 AM)
Yeah its not dumb. I myself doesn't mind the D820 variant. I have 2 LTE phone with me currently, Lumia 820 and HTC One. Using Umobile now and Im happy for what I pay for. 250MB quota and I don't expect LTE lol. 3G is fast enough for daily usage.  Plus expect the quota to finish in less than one day
nahh i dont think so. for me lte is a must. using htc one, w/o lte coverage, i feel like im in G. yea so used to lte sweat.gif

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 8 2013, 09:49 AM)
Aiya people want to sell Non LTE variant let them la. Why must call people dumb and such? There is always others who wants to buy the non LTE variant. You may not want it but others do. Dont put your own preference over others. After all, consumers can choose what they want to purchase.

Those who are going for Non LTE are probably:
1) Wants to have the feel of N5 and become an early adoptor in the country where 3G is sufficient for them.
2) They have no LTE coverage in their residing area.
3) Change phones often where price is not an issue.
4) For showing off.

And again, people changing smartphones every 1 or 2 years is pretty common these days. Its not the matter of richfag or poorfag. Its all about personal choice.
second that. some of us looking for a long term phone, not like some who can afford to buy new phone every year.
billy_overheat
post Nov 8 2013, 02:16 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Nov 8 2013, 02:12 PM)
where are you living, im at cyberjaya and jb, most of the places i go got lte. well you should getting one now  biggrin.gif
nahh i dont think so. for me lte is a must. using htc one, w/o lte coverage, i feel like im in G. yea so used to lte  sweat.gif
second that. some of us looking for a long term phone, not like some who can afford to buy new phone every year.
I'm living in Perak. A very small town, really small. Hahaha. Hardly get 3g. Adui. So for me, it's enough. Haha.
vostro78
post Nov 8 2013, 02:24 PM

6,804 posts

billy, which part you at by the way?
mikeeeee
post Nov 8 2013, 02:28 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

For me lte or no lte, doesn't make much different due the reason below
1) mostly on wifi
2) don't say lte coverage limited, sometimes 3G/H pun limited
3) I don't want to burst by 1gb data plan in 1 day tongue.gif

victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 02:33 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Nov 8 2013, 02:12 PM)
where are you living, im at cyberjaya and jb, most of the places i go got lte. well you should getting one now  biggrin.gif
nahh i dont think so. for me lte is a must. using htc one, w/o lte coverage, i feel like im in G. yea so used to lte  sweat.gif
What plan are you running on? Unlimited data?
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2013, 02:33 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 8 2013, 01:53 PM)
Just want to offer some thought on possible LG Malaysia pricing. Last year 16GB Nexus 4 is priced at RM1,649 and the sibling Optimus G is around 2k. Now we see AP set LG G2 32GB is going at RM1,799.

Assuming the Nexus 5 16GB keeps the same price, RM1,649, the Nexus 5 32GB is likely to be priced RM150-200 higher, so we are looking at RM1,799-RM1,849. How much should LG G2 cost then? Given the AP price now, I think it might have been probable to go for a RM1,999 (or even RM1,899). I think the gap between LG G2 and Nexus 5 (both 32 variants) are a bit too tight (and even tighter if 16GB N5 is priced higher). Since I see no reason LG to not bring their G2 in (it's their flagship after all), could we be seeing only official 16GB set?
Probably around RM1799 as you've said since the US version is $50 more expensive than the N4. laugh.gif Definitely not going beyond 2k otherwise LG Malaysia are shooting themselves in the foot. 1799 for those specs, I feel that is still considered reasonable rolleyes.gif
benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 02:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I would want a LTE version anytime. Example suddenly this morning I discover Celcom LTE was available in my town Batu Pahat when I switched on my N7 lte. No notice at all from Celcom. Download speeds at least 15k to 22k !! Telcos will be aggressively upgrading their LTE coverage these 1-2 years
I upgraded my 3g XZU to the LTE model recently even though Maxis LTE unavailable yet at my place. But the feeling of the faster download speeds is just undescribeable when I go to KL n Spore about once to twice a month.

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 8 2013, 02:35 PM
LuffyPSP
post Nov 8 2013, 02:36 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:59 PM)
ooo ya ka... will check later as i'm going there in a few hours. haha.
Black Red
post Nov 8 2013, 02:42 PM

485 posts

can check LTE coverage at celcom or maxis website?
Harddisk
post Nov 8 2013, 03:00 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 8 2013, 02:34 PM)
I would want a LTE version anytime. Example suddenly this morning I discover Celcom LTE was available in my town Batu Pahat  when I switched on my N7 lte. No notice at all from Celcom. Download speeds at least 15k to 22k !! Telcos will be aggressively upgrading their LTE  coverage these 1-2 years
I upgraded my 3g XZU to the LTE model recently even though Maxis LTE unavailable yet at my place. But the feeling of the faster download speeds is just undescribeable when I go to KL n Spore about once to twice a month.
Bro, OT a bit. Your Celcom, did you replace with new micro sim or "cut" version? Some claimed need newer sim (micro and onward) in order for LTE to work.
benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 03:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 8 2013, 03:00 PM)
Bro, OT a bit. Your Celcom, did you replace with new micro sim or "cut" version? Some claimed need newer sim (micro and onward) in order for LTE to work.
Celcom you need a specific 4G card from them. You cannot use a 3g card unlike Maxis whose past 2 years cards are already LTE enabled. Problem is this card based on 2 months back can only be obtained from Menara Celcom Jln Semarak or Bluecube centers at Sunway, KLCC n activation is immediate. You need call Celcom to find out whether now there is any newer centers you can get this 4G card. There is no charge for changing card. I got mine from Menara Celcom.
AaronFPS
post Nov 8 2013, 03:23 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(r00n @ Nov 8 2013, 02:59 PM)
Guys, this fella selling Nexus 5, Japan unit D821 LTE available in Malaysia.
can get within 7-10days.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=131557
quite cheap compared others LTE enabled thumbup.gif
wrong link?
smokey78
post Nov 8 2013, 03:24 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Nov 8 2013, 02:35 PM)
awesome
are all reliable?
wanted to get from directd. but rm400 cheaper can get 32gb  brows.gif
from most the seller .. i think only directd and satu gadget selling over priced for 16Gb.. if let say they price was 1999 for 32Gb still consider it.. but that price was for 16Gb .. blush.gif sweat.gif
JohnDiew0107
post Nov 8 2013, 03:32 PM

ガンダム、行きます!
1,628 posts

QUOTE(smokey78 @ Nov 8 2013, 03:24 PM)
from most the seller .. i think only directd and satu gadget selling over priced for 16Gb.. if let say they price was 1999 for 32Gb still consider it.. but that price was for 16Gb .. blush.gif  sweat.gif
yalo, super over-priced
mudkipryan94
post Nov 8 2013, 03:32 PM

12,000 posts

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/phones/mo...-1194974/review
TS add this yeah tongue.gif
vostro78
post Nov 8 2013, 03:42 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 8 2013, 03:07 PM)
Celcom you need a specific 4G card from them. You cannot use a 3g card unlike Maxis whose past 2 years cards are already LTE enabled.  Problem is this card based on 2 months back can only be obtained from Menara Celcom Jln Semarak or Bluecube centers at Sunway, KLCC n activation is immediate.  You need call Celcom to find out whether now there is any newer centers you can get this 4G card. There is no charge for changing card. I got mine from Menara Celcom.
i plan to mnp my umobile to celcom also next month due to the website stated that there is 4g at setia alam and also few area in klang. will check out at setia alam blue cube their sim card is 4g ready or not..else hv to mnp at sunway already.
NightFelix
post Nov 8 2013, 03:44 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(r00n @ Nov 8 2013, 03:41 PM)
can do nothing, they have stock in hand now  sweat.gif
see next week their price drop..
They won't drop until local official stock arrive. sweat.gif
tanjinjack
post Nov 8 2013, 03:56 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, any idea where to source screen protector? Any recommended brand?
Want to get it before my phone comes.
NightFelix
post Nov 8 2013, 04:02 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 8 2013, 03:56 PM)
SPIGEN Google Nexus 5 Screen Protector?
victorian
post Nov 8 2013, 04:13 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

Order from Amazon? Quite hard to get at Malaysia atm
tanjinjack
post Nov 8 2013, 04:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 04:02 PM)
QUOTE(victorian @ Nov 8 2013, 04:13 PM)
Order from Amazon? Quite hard to get at Malaysia atm
LOL, ridiculous shipping charge though. Maybe get a noname brand from ebay first?
iSmooth seems to have reasonable shipping though and reviews seem to be okay. Anyone used before?

Intel Core i7
post Nov 8 2013, 04:20 PM

Thunder Buddies
582 posts

IF overseas set,How to claim warranty? Can claim local?
andyjyneo
post Nov 8 2013, 04:24 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:20 PM)
No, 2 options for you.
1. Send back to the origin.
2. Send to LG Malaysia, and get ready to be charged.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 8 2013, 04:24 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:20 PM)
Have to send back to original country.
Lg Malaysia only accept local warranty.
bugb34r
post Nov 8 2013, 04:27 PM

Pablo Honey
1,843 posts

Seems a good deal to me.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPIGEN-SGP-Ultra-H...=item3a868cc19b
Andrew_1980
post Nov 8 2013, 04:29 PM

6,196 posts

So expecting what time will this monster reach MY?
Intel Core i7
post Nov 8 2013, 04:30 PM

Thunder Buddies
582 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:24 PM)
Damn,I guess i will just wait till Malaysian Set Is here
smokey78
post Nov 8 2013, 04:38 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 05:02 PM)
go to www.techbug.my as this seller got sell spigen stuff for nexus 5 rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by smokey78: Nov 8 2013, 04:39 PM
tanjinjack
post Nov 8 2013, 04:38 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Nov 8 2013, 04:27 PM)
Sounds like a good deal but I am looking to get pouch instead of case. Maybe I'll get a protective case if I ever go for more challenging places?

Anyone up for group buy Nillkin screen protector? Shipped via EMS costs around 42USD, reached in 4-10 days.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Nillkin-LCD...1457705426.html
infernoaswen
post Nov 8 2013, 04:45 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:24 PM)
100% sure LG malaysia wont repair non-local set? I mean if we need to pay for a certain charge to repair the US set, they still wont accept meh?
Zseusz
post Nov 8 2013, 04:46 PM

191 posts

Seems like it's quite hard to get the 32GB around here. I wonder if I can live with 16GB.
XeactorZ
post Nov 8 2013, 04:53 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:29 PM)
So expecting what time will this monster reach MY?
should be together with LG G2
now hoping before christmas come
Andrew_1980
post Nov 8 2013, 04:58 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Zseusz @ Nov 8 2013, 04:46 PM)
Seems like it's quite hard to get the 32GB around here. I wonder if I can live with 16GB.
Hardcore user maybe no. I can. Use phone for Facebook and youtube. Mostly installed social apps only.

Instagram, Facebook, Facebook Messenger, Youtube, Whatsapp.
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 05:03 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 8 2013, 04:58 PM)
Hardcore user maybe no. I can. Use phone for Facebook and youtube. Mostly installed social apps only.

Instagram, Facebook, Facebook Messenger, Youtube, Whatsapp.
For me, even if i can have 500gb storage on a mobile phone, it wont be enough. But considering 32gb, i would have a longer time to fill it. My 16gb GNexus fills up every month, and have to do cleaning up backing up to PC every month.

soulseeker6187
post Nov 8 2013, 05:04 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 8 2013, 04:45 PM)
100% sure LG malaysia wont repair non-local set? I mean if we need to pay for a certain charge to repair the US set, they still wont accept meh?
I think they accepting repair but need to pay.
But still warranty not covered.
shazmn
post Nov 8 2013, 05:05 PM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

where else can source for reliable casing...

headache and paranoid already seeing my naked n5... cry.gif
infernoaswen
post Nov 8 2013, 05:08 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 8 2013, 05:04 PM)
I think they accepting repair but need to pay.
But still warranty not covered.
oh then ok la laugh.gif coz if got small problem & repair cost around RM100 then it would be better to repair it locally since shipping to US would cost around RM70 already & need to wait.
tennytyy
post Nov 8 2013, 05:13 PM

1,916 posts

Wow, this case is sexy drool.gif
shazmn
post Nov 8 2013, 05:15 PM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 8 2013, 05:13 PM)
Wow, this case is sexy  drool.gif
yup but who can bulk eh? if anyone buying i wanna chip in notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
underGr0und_8
post Nov 8 2013, 05:25 PM

2,236 posts

Ordered a black 16GB USA Set, although google say ship in 3-4 weeks, but they charged my credit card already for USD 362.99
paul5263
post Nov 8 2013, 05:27 PM

257 posts

at first i looked at is is not bad. but after this, speechless!
NightFelix
post Nov 8 2013, 05:28 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 05:03 PM)
For me, even if i can have 500gb storage on a mobile phone, it wont be enough. But considering 32gb, i would have a longer time to fill it. My 16gb GNexus fills up every month, and have to do cleaning up backing up to PC every month.
What stuff you store inside your phone? sweat.gif
Ahmaz
post Nov 8 2013, 05:35 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 8 2013, 05:27 PM)
That's not a case though.. just a vinyl wrap tongue.gif
iamkent
post Nov 8 2013, 05:43 PM

i shoot you <3
3,073 posts

bravo v2 without phone yet release . so many fans !
paul5263
post Nov 8 2013, 05:52 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 05:28 PM)
What stuff you store inside your phone?  sweat.gif
full HD prawn drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
tennytyy
post Nov 8 2013, 06:03 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 8 2013, 05:27 PM)
Customisable skin, not bad but not protective enough haha
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 8 2013, 06:06 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 8 2013, 05:52 PM)
full HD prawn  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Full HD Prawn

some case reccommendations
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Best-Nexus-...-covers_id49065
http://www.t3.com/features/google-nexus-5-...and-covers-2013
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 06:44 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 05:28 PM)
What stuff you store inside your phone?  sweat.gif
Anime, manga, HD Youtube Clips (tubemate), all those camera shots i take, HD videos... Musics, i use my phone as my PMP, no need tablet or laptop.

QUOTE(iamkent @ Nov 8 2013, 05:43 PM)
I already got my phone for 5 days. Some here also got their phone elsewhere.... Its a Nexus la, ofcoz got soo many fans. No need being apple/samsung fan we can reach V2.

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 8 2013, 05:52 PM)
full HD prawn  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Prawn can stream, no need keep.

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 8 2013, 06:06 PM)
Link no found, but i can see you take the word literally, congratz.
iamkent
post Nov 8 2013, 07:02 PM

i shoot you <3
3,073 posts

your pre-order from where ?

guess not so fast reach malaysia
tcmean
post Nov 8 2013, 07:18 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 8 2013, 04:02 PM)
I have SGP Crystal Clear screen protector on the way. Expected next week. I have ordered extra. Let me know if you are interested.

This post has been edited by tcmean: Nov 8 2013, 07:19 PM
icyflame911
post Nov 8 2013, 07:57 PM

Alright guys, just jumped the gun. Order me a Nexus 5 16GB from that korean seller at qoo10.my

Can anyone explain me the SIRIM thing, can I apply online? I'm scared it will be stuck at customs.

The seller is sending it through fedex, can I just ask them to apply for the SIRIM? It's 100RM right?

Let me know
infernoaswen
post Nov 8 2013, 08:45 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Anyone knows who are selling the cheapest US set so far for now? dark devon is the cheapest & anyone knows which seller has ready stock? laugh.gif

I think I am just going to grab the D820 version, no need LTE since I dont really use much data plan anyways. Mostly on whatsapp, facebook & lyn.net.
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2013, 08:49 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(icyflame911 @ Nov 8 2013, 07:57 PM)
Alright guys, just jumped the gun. Order me a Nexus 5 16GB from that korean seller at qoo10.my

Can anyone explain me the SIRIM thing, can I apply online? I'm scared it will be stuck at customs.

The seller is sending it through fedex, can I just ask them to apply for the SIRIM? It's 100RM right?

Let me know
RM100 if you apply yourself, if you get a 3rd party to do it, definitely be more laugh.gif
crispycreame
post Nov 8 2013, 08:55 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(r00n @ Nov 8 2013, 02:59 PM)
Guys, this fella selling Nexus 5, Japan unit D821 LTE available in Malaysia.
can get within 7-10days.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=131557
quite cheap compared others LTE enabled thumbup.gif
how much? Don't see him open thread.
Nixdorf
post Nov 8 2013, 08:59 PM

80 posts

wah already V2, no wonder the previous thread no more update.
Xp3rT
post Nov 8 2013, 09:24 PM

1,028 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Nov 8 2013, 05:43 PM)
Already boring w my N5 tongue.gif
anwarmatlani
post Nov 8 2013, 09:26 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(crispycreame @ Nov 8 2013, 08:55 PM)
how much? Don't see him open thread.
I asked him, 16gb is rm1600 & 32gb is rm1800. Latest come from playstore at 15th. He can help with the warranty claim but all the cost bear by us.
-kytz-
post Nov 8 2013, 09:27 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 8 2013, 04:38 PM)
Sounds like a good deal but I am looking to get pouch instead of case. Maybe I'll get a protective case if I ever go for more challenging places?

Anyone up for group buy Nillkin screen protector? Shipped via EMS costs around 42USD, reached in 4-10 days.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Nillkin-LCD...1457705426.html
Please be aware of fake SGP goods on eBay. There are tons of them, usually priced much lower than SGP official store. That link is one of them.
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 09:42 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

more sample sorry about the sample before, didn't notice it was in 480p, now in 720p.

azrash
post Nov 8 2013, 10:11 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 09:42 PM)
more sample sorry about the sample before, didn't notice it was in 480p,  now in 720p.

That OIS is pretty nice. Definitely a decent enough performance for the price.
LongLastFX
post Nov 8 2013, 10:23 PM

421 posts

As expected, the retail will mark up the price. This also already effected LG Malaysia since Nexus 4. Lol

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Googles-Nex...ers-say_id49178

According to British retailers talking to The Guardian, Google is actually undercutting wholesalers by as much as £50 ($80), making the purchase through a Play Store significantly more compelling. Resellers can turn to LG and buy the phone for around £350 ($563, consumer electronics are expensive in the UK), whereas the British Play Store offers the handset for £300 ($483).

This post has been edited by LongLastFX: Nov 8 2013, 10:24 PM
twixstyl
post Nov 8 2013, 10:27 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 8 2013, 06:06 PM)
Cool! SGP casings are always nice.
Rearth Ringke Fusion is not bad too.
twixstyl
post Nov 8 2013, 10:28 PM

233 posts

more sample sorry about the sample before, didn't notice it was in 480p,  now in 720p.

i would go for nexus 5 if the video can focus manually. cry.gif
gastacopz
post Nov 8 2013, 10:37 PM

4,928 posts

V2 already

Hope when reach our shore, price wont be more than 16++
xKAIZERUx
post Nov 8 2013, 11:06 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(twixstyl @ Nov 8 2013, 10:28 PM)
i would go for nexus 5 if the video can focus manually.  cry.gif
touching:
iphone = focus.
Nexus5 = snap pic.

I also hope google make revision on the camera app to let people choose if they want to manually focus.
gmhafiz
post Nov 8 2013, 11:15 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

Camera and video fix. Needs root and custom recovery
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2516061

V1 :

1)Stock Bitrate are as follows:
720P@12 Mb/s.
1080P@17 Mb/s.

Modded are as follows:
720P@20 Mb/s.
1080P@26 Mb/s.

2) Audio Bitrate quality :
Stock = 96000 Kb/s
Modded = 192000 Kb/s
3) Image Encode Quality :
Stock = 90.
Modded = 99.
4) JPEG Encode Quality :
Stock = 80.
Modded = 99.
5) Modified hammerhead.camera.so for better sharpness of the pictures. Increased the Sharpeness to 90 from 75.

V1.1 :
1) Sound Recording now in Stereo with the secondary Mic.
2) Faster Focusing for the camera.
3) Front Camera also records 720P Videos@ 20 Mb/s.
4) Front camera Audio Bitrate@ 192000 Kb/s.
5) AntiBanding default set to 50Hz
6) Focus Range Adjusted.
7) Enhanced Smooth Zoom .
8) Turned Edge Enhancement ON.
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 8 2013, 11:15 PM

620 posts

video is very stable, the OIS did its job smile.gif
but then the camera keeps on refocusing...
really hope Google updates the camera app ASAP, the hardware is wasted on this crappy software
twixstyl
post Nov 8 2013, 11:23 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 8 2013, 11:06 PM)
touching:
iphone = focus.
Nexus5 = snap pic.

I also hope google make revision on the camera app to let people choose if they want to manually focus.
yep, thats why it cant do manual focus.
TSphantomash
post Nov 9 2013, 12:09 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Nov 8 2013, 03:32 PM)
its not a full review, I'll reserve until the full review is posted.
victorian
post Nov 9 2013, 12:17 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,596 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Nov 8 2013, 10:37 PM)
V2 already

Hope when reach our shore, price wont be more than 16++
Definitely will be higher than Rm 1700. Even the $299 Nexus 4 is Rm 1649 in Malaysia
ck.chunkeat
post Nov 9 2013, 12:23 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(tcmean @ Nov 8 2013, 07:18 PM)
I have SGP Crystal Clear screen protector on the way. Expected next week. I have ordered extra. Let me know if you are interested.

The screen protector have no cut out for the sensor and front camera iinm, better reconfirm.
underGr0und_8
post Nov 9 2013, 12:24 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Nov 9 2013, 12:17 AM)
Definitely will be higher than Rm 1700. Even the $299 Nexus 4 is Rm 1649 in Malaysia
Nexus 4 USD 299 is after price going down. It was USD 349 for 16GB and USD 299 is for 8GB.

aronliew
post Nov 9 2013, 12:28 AM

306 posts

hi guys i found this deal from a website
http://list.qoo10.my/item/GOOGLE-LG-NEXUS-...RSION/412762420
is this trustable???i see they giving quite a fair offer 1.5k and LTE which able to use in here..
-kytz-
post Nov 9 2013, 12:29 AM

12,573 posts

Anyone has any idea how much is the Nexus 5 in Australia without contract now?
kelvinlym
post Nov 9 2013, 12:34 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

2 quick snapshots at default settings and HDR+

Top: Late evening

Bottom: Early morning on a cloudy day.
LongLastFX
post Nov 9 2013, 01:02 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 9 2013, 12:29 AM)
Anyone has any idea how much is the Nexus 5 in Australia without contract now?
This is nexus. Nexus device will not be sale under contract. this what google had set for nexus device. Nexus also exclusive for Play Store. Retail store will sell it higher than Play store price.
echoesian
post Nov 9 2013, 01:21 AM

3,294 posts

Australia sell a lot cheaper it's only RM12xx, wonder who is the forwarder that can ship this with minimal charges?
-kytz-
post Nov 9 2013, 01:41 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 9 2013, 01:02 AM)
This is nexus. Nexus device will not be sale under contract. this what google had set for nexus device. Nexus also exclusive for Play Store. Retail store will sell it higher than Play store price.
QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 9 2013, 01:21 AM)
Australia sell a lot cheaper it's only RM12xx, wonder who is the forwarder that can ship this with minimal charges?
I would be going to Melbourne soon, do you think they would be sold at Retail stores at RM12XX? Sorry I'm not too familiar with that hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 9 2013, 01:42 AM
tympg
post Nov 9 2013, 02:00 AM

3,104 posts

Hi, newbie at buying phone online here.

Just want to ask, if I buy from UK, what is the warranty T&C like? (e.g. serviceable in M'sia?)
Irishcoffee
post Nov 9 2013, 02:00 AM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

going tumpang fren to buy nexus 5 from perth , now still gt stock in aus?
anyone know where to check as we dont have access to aus playstore
can easily claim tax at airport right?
- JaY -
post Nov 9 2013, 02:05 AM

t(^.^t)
1,031 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 9 2013, 12:28 AM)
is this trustable???i see they giving quite a fair offer 1.5k and LTE which able to use in here..
i not sure.. but one thing i am sure of is that his Early Bird price will forever be there.. go down to 1-2 and then back to 7-8 rclxub.gif
SonnyCooL
post Nov 9 2013, 02:09 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 9 2013, 12:28 AM)
no please don't try q0010, they worst, they push all responsibility to buyer and hold nothing other than ur money.

my experience with them is nightmare, i bought something from them, but item never arrived, they said that is not their responsibility on it, as they only middle man have nothing to do with product or shipping .....
until i files charge back from credit card company (which few month later), than only they response
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 08:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Well this site summarized well the phone shortfall

http://bgr.com/2013/11/08/nexus-5-review-worst-thing/

I look forward to 3rd party battery add on casing which are excellent alternative instead of bringing along a powerbank. Extremely happy with Brando add on powercase on my XZU n even Note3.

Finally which one is suitable ( not best) for you. For me will be N5 anytime. Dump the HTC1 within a month using it

http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-5-vs-h..._medium=twitter

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 9 2013, 08:06 AM
un_id
post Nov 9 2013, 08:15 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

When will it be available here? Going to Austria early next month, not sure if it's available there and the price lower/higher than here
kuntakinte
post Nov 9 2013, 08:29 AM

607 posts

Checked out Google play Australia as I'll be there next week. However, it lists shipping from warehouse in 3-4 weeks. Too bad. Would have grabbed a couple back
underGr0und_8
post Nov 9 2013, 08:49 AM

2,236 posts

Dont too worry about the order estimation date of 3-4weeks. Ordered a google play USA 16gb black which stated 3-4weeks but shipped the next day.

But well, google are always being random. Not in FIFO order
MsiaqweR
post Nov 9 2013, 08:59 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 9 2013, 08:02 AM)
Well this site summarized well the phone shortfall

http://bgr.com/2013/11/08/nexus-5-review-worst-thing/

I look forward to 3rd party battery add on casing which are excellent alternative instead of bringing along a powerbank. Extremely happy with Brando add on powercase on my XZU n even Note3.

Finally which one is suitable ( not best) for you. For me will be N5 anytime. Dump the HTC1 within a month using it

http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-5-vs-h..._medium=twitter
For me I will definitely holding my HTC one.
I see there is not much difference between S600 and S800
I just can't stand the soft volume output of N5 and the bad battery life reported by many users in XDA.
djlah
post Nov 9 2013, 09:25 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 9 2013, 08:59 AM)
For me I will definitely holding my HTC one.
I see there is not much difference between S600 and S800
I just can't stand the soft volume output of N5 and the bad battery life reported by many users in XDA.
paste from V1 thread (TS phantomash, please add back V1 link at front page, since this is V2)

This post has been edited by djlah: Nov 9 2013, 09:26 AM
un_id
post Nov 9 2013, 09:34 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 9 2013, 09:25 AM)
paste from V1 thread (TS phantomash, please add back V1 link at front page, since this is V2)

Seems like huge difference in terms of power consumption.. But how about process handling?
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 09:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

BGR's Zach Epstein counter points on what is good in the Nexus 5 after his article on the shortfalls:
I'd think price wise is more relevant in USA but over here in Malaysia don't expect LG to offer it too cheap and at best only slightly cheaper than the Sony, Samsung, HTC. This is based on their N4 released pricing

http://bgr.com/2013/11/08/nexus-5-review-best-thing/
keebl
post Nov 9 2013, 10:46 AM

425 posts

Any my own user already
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 11:22 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

LTE will use up more data compared to 3G? 1gb should be enough for month use right? considering i have wifi at home and all i do with the data is whatsapp, insta,fb,twitter
Nixdorf
post Nov 9 2013, 11:29 AM

80 posts

way more enough la bro. I'm using Unifi and only on my data when I go out. Umobile here with 500MB data but every month can't even finish it. As long as you dont YouTube then that's enough.
iamkent
post Nov 9 2013, 11:32 AM

i shoot you <3
3,073 posts

bro are you serious bout 500mb cant finish ?

that i think for me 1 week could finish it d
andrewtho
post Nov 9 2013, 11:32 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 11:22 AM)
LTE will use up more data compared to 3G? 1gb should be enough for month use right? considering i have wifi at home and all i do with the data is whatsapp, insta,fb,twitter
1GB is more than enough for everyday use. My data is on 24/7 and normal use of surfing/whatsapp/fb/insta and sometimes mobile wifi for my laptop will not exceed 500mb of data. You can stream videos if you want but just keep track of the data usage of course, I usually stream at the end of the month where I have balance left. Utilize the remainder man. Lol
clon12
post Nov 9 2013, 11:33 AM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 11:22 AM)
Depends on how you use it. LTE means faster data transfer rate and when you have a fast transfer rate, you will automatically use too much. For instance, when you watch a video and it loaded up pretty fast, chances are you will watch another one and that would means more data consumed.

However if you only use the phone mainly for whatsapp, instagram, facebook and twitter, my bet is that 1gb would be suffice. Like I said, depends on how you use it. biggrin.gif
Xirality
post Nov 9 2013, 11:36 AM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(twixstyl @ Nov 8 2013, 10:28 PM)
i would go for nexus 5 if the video can focus manually.  cry.gif
What can you expect when the phone is cheap compare to other flagship phone.
Nixdorf
post Nov 9 2013, 11:38 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Nov 9 2013, 11:32 AM)

Really la, I only use whatsapp, facebook, email and some lite web browsing only. Apps update all set to be done over wifi.
kukakoko
post Nov 9 2013, 11:45 AM

33 posts

anyone know delivery period for usa now?, if booking by this week.
norrafi
post Nov 9 2013, 11:56 AM

106 posts

Take note;

There are two Nexus 5 versions.
Nexus 5 D820 model (North America)
CDMA: Band Class - 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands - 1/2/4/5/6/8/19
LTE: Bands - 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

Nexus 5 D821 model (Rest of the world)
WCDMA: Bands - 1/2/4/5/6/8
LTE: Bands - 1/3/5/7/8/20
Some people have received answers from Google informing that there is only one version available and it isn't actually incorrect because you are asking about U.S. Google Play and from there you can indeed get only one version - D820 (North America). If you want to get D821 model, then you will have to buy it from any other country that are selling Nexus 5 in Google Playstore (UK, Australia, Germany, Spain, etc.).

Google has confirmed that for me:

"Unfortunately, you won't be able to purchase the world version of the NEXUS 5 in the U.S. Google Playstore."

If you want to buy Nexus 5 in U.S. Google Playstore and use it in other country, you can still do it. It will work just fine except for one thing - if your carrier for 4G is using any of LTE bands 3, 7, 8 or 20 then only LTE (4G) will not work for you, 3G and voice will still work. That's it.

Note: Malaysian LTE Band 3 & 7

This post has been edited by norrafi: Nov 9 2013, 11:58 AM
tennytyy
post Nov 9 2013, 11:56 AM

1,916 posts

So far only Maxis and Celcom offer LTE right?
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 11:57 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Nixdorf @ Nov 9 2013, 11:38 AM)
Really la, I only use whatsapp, facebook, email and some lite web browsing only. Apps update all set to be done over wifi.
its true. i used to be on 500mb and i couldn't finish. I decided to upgrade to 1gb because i changed plan and its the same price as before, might as well use 1gb for future use when i get nexus

just wondering, how much do you guys pay monthly for phone bill? is rm80 alot without contract?

also, i guess we should stop comparing flagship models with the nexus5. for a comparison to be valid we should be comparing items of the same price range. we should be comparing with the likes of galaxy ace and i5c laugh.gif
AaronFPS
post Nov 9 2013, 12:07 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 11:57 AM)
its true. i used to be on 500mb and i couldn't finish. I decided to upgrade to 1gb because i changed plan and its the same price as before, might as well use 1gb for future use when i get nexus

just wondering, how much do you guys pay monthly for phone bill? is rm80 alot without contract?

also, i guess we should stop comparing flagship models with the nexus5. for a comparison to be valid we should be comparing items of the same price range. we should be comparing with  the likes of galaxy ace and i5c  laugh.gif
DG68++ 3gb 2 years contract
NightFelix
post Nov 9 2013, 12:22 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 9 2013, 11:56 AM)
So far only Maxis and Celcom offer LTE right?
I thought DiGi have LTE too but limited area. no? hmm.gif
azrash
post Nov 9 2013, 12:24 PM

1,174 posts

also, i guess we should stop comparing flagship models with the nexus5. for a comparison to be valid we should be comparing items of the same price range. we should be comparing with  the likes of galaxy ace and i5c  laugh.gif
Phone plans are very subjective. I for one, am happy with u mobile prepaid. RM 28 per month for 500 MB of data and 100 minutes free call to any network + 30 SMS. My average call usage is around 60 minutes per month, and data around 350-450 MB /month. So this plan suits me well
Nixdorf
post Nov 9 2013, 12:26 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Nov 9 2013, 12:24 PM)
Phone plans are very subjective. I for one, am happy with u mobile prepaid. RM 28 per month for 500 MB of data and 100 minutes free call to any network + 30 SMS. My average call usage is around 60 minutes per month, and data around 350-450 MB /month. So this plan suits me well
Yeah i also use RM28 Umobile, best deal in town! It is not because I want to save money, it just i'm not heavy user, seldom make call, maybe 30min per months of less.
Mr.CoMoT
post Nov 9 2013, 12:28 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

i think this is a best review.. biggrin.gif

Xirality
post Nov 9 2013, 12:29 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Nov 9 2013, 12:28 PM)
i think this is a best review..  biggrin.gif

Hands down tongue.gif
gmhafiz
post Nov 9 2013, 12:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 9 2013, 09:25 AM)

That was from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=64282778

TS can put this image I made to the front page. It looks impressive but remember that voltage alone is not the lone factor. More details from the xda thread I pulled out: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2483794
djlah
post Nov 9 2013, 12:34 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 9 2013, 12:22 PM)
I thought DiGi have LTE too but limited area. no? hmm.gif
DiGi? LOL...

QUOTE(azrash @ Nov 9 2013, 12:24 PM)
That's right, it's subjective and depend on own needs. for me, my current plan is the best for me, Celcom postpaid 1GB + call/sms payu and every month I pay around below 42. In before, both Maxis and DiGi disappointed me.
tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2013, 12:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Nov 9 2013, 02:00 AM)
going tumpang fren to buy nexus 5 from perth , now still gt stock in aus?
anyone know where to check as we dont have access to aus playstore
can easily claim tax at airport right?
For what I know, you don't get the tax refund because the phone is shipped from HK. If you check their custom's page, tax refund does not include goods purchased over the internet and imported into Australia.
Mr.CoMoT
post Nov 9 2013, 12:49 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

damn..damn..just see all review from youtube..

this phone speaker turn down me.. cry.gif cry.gif
djlah
post Nov 9 2013, 12:54 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 9 2013, 12:33 PM)
That was from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=64282778

TS can put this image I made to the front page. It looks impressive but remember that voltage alone is not the lone factor. More details from the xda thread I pulled out: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2483794
Yes, thanks for great sharing in V1 and now again. support to pinned this comparison in front page.

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Nov 9 2013, 12:49 PM)
damn..damn..just see all review from youtube..

this phone speaker turn down me..  cry.gif  cry.gif
hopefully is just software issue but not the hardware, so custom rom to fine tune or improve it.
infernoaswen
post Nov 9 2013, 01:00 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Maxis: RM7/week(100mb) x 4 = RM28 (400mb)

Sometimes even less if I didnt need to subscribe for the data plan during that week. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Nov 9 2013, 01:01 PM
ndragon
post Nov 9 2013, 01:05 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 9 2013, 01:00 PM)

Sometimes even less if I didnt need to subscribe for the data plan during that week.  laugh.gif
y wanna use rm 7 x 4.. when hotlink now has rm 30 for 1gb 30 days?...
tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2013, 01:06 PM

4,122 posts

Sometimes even less if I didnt need to subscribe for the data plan during that week.  laugh.gif
I am on RM20/month for 350MB. I just found this out few weeks ago, pretty good substitute if you are a RM7/week user.
Mr.CoMoT
post Nov 9 2013, 01:10 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

im using umobile rm48 = 2GB /months..

usually max usage is 1.5gb only..on last day before expired..open free wifi hotspot at office.. tongue.gif

but dunno why..in office line is really suck.. E everytime.. sad.gif sad.gif

so maybe wanna plan to change to maxis back..
infernoaswen
post Nov 9 2013, 01:11 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 9 2013, 01:05 PM)
y wanna use rm 7 x 4.. when hotlink now has rm 30 for 1gb 30 days?...
coz sometimes I only subscribe for 2 or 3 weeks only so it will cost me around RM21 or RM14.

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 9 2013, 01:06 PM)
I am on RM20/month for 350MB. I just found this out few weeks ago, pretty good substitute if you are a RM7/week user.
Ya I just notice this too lol, maybe next time will just register for this already. I can save even more, they just recently update their plans I believe, last time dont have lol. Maxis ftw thumbup.gif
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 01:12 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

im on rm28 talkmore plan + 1gb data. total rm76++. i think its quite expensive no? im thinking of changing to celcom or hotlink if there is a cheaper plan. I text and call less than 100mins and 100texts a month respectively.
infernoaswen
post Nov 9 2013, 01:15 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Nov 9 2013, 01:10 PM)
im using umobile rm48 = 2GB /months..

usually max usage is 1.5gb only..on last day before expired..open free  wifi hotspot at office.. tongue.gif

but dunno why..in office line is really suck.. E everytime..  sad.gif  sad.gif

so maybe wanna plan to change to maxis back..
I know that feeling laugh.gif never use umobile but i switched to digi before. After 1 week, I switch back to maxis coz digi damn slow, coverage is ok but cant browse anything. Pretty useless as I am paying for data plan but cant use it. Maybe because my campus everyone was on digi or something. Now using maxis, never failed me even once, plus with their new rates its even much affordable for a good service thumbup.gif
djlah
post Nov 9 2013, 01:17 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 01:12 PM)
im on rm28 talkmore plan + 1gb data. total rm76++. i think its quite expensive no? im thinking of changing to celcom or hotlink if there is a  cheaper plan. I text and call less than 100mins and 100texts a month respectively.
how about surfmore50?
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Nov 9 2013, 11:32 AM)

My 5gb plan just enough for me. Previously on 3gb plan n every month top up twice !! Usage depends on individual user . I used most when download firmware average 2.5gb per month on this alone. Always used phone data as is 3-5x faster than home miserable P1 network

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM
Mr.CoMoT
post Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 9 2013, 01:15 PM)
I know that feeling  laugh.gif never use umobile but i switched to digi before. After 1 week, I switch back to maxis coz digi damn slow, coverage is ok but cant browse anything. Pretty useless as I am paying for data plan but cant use it. Maybe because my campus everyone was on digi or something. Now using maxis, never failed me even once, plus with their new rates its even much affordable for a good service thumbup.gif
this is the new plans right? rm30=1GB/month..

maybe will try this plan.. smile.gif
ndragon
post Nov 9 2013, 01:19 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 9 2013, 01:15 PM)
I know that feeling  laugh.gif never use umobile but i switched to digi before. After 1 week, I switch back to maxis coz digi damn slow, coverage is ok but cant browse anything. Pretty useless as I am paying for data plan but cant use it. Maybe because my campus everyone was on digi or something. Now using maxis, never failed me even once, plus with their new rates its even much affordable for a good service thumbup.gif
i started uisng umobile.. the rm 28/500mb plan.. it was fine.. and good.. got 100mins free talk time.. laugh.gif coverage wise is okok..

den saw digi having the new prepaid data plan.. i switched to digi n try.. after 1 month i cannot tahan d.. the speed is dam slow.. coverage also nt any much better than umobile..

den i went to try hotlink.. the first few hours of using it already impress me.. the speed is much faster than umobile and digi... then i m totally hooked.. and since the new plan is also quite cheap n good... i will staying with em for quite some time.. biggrin.gif
tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2013, 01:21 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 9 2013, 01:11 PM)
coz sometimes I only subscribe for 2 or 3 weeks only so it will cost me around RM21 or RM14.
Ya I just notice this too lol, maybe next time will just register for this already. I can save even more, they just recently update their plans I believe, last time dont have lol. Maxis ftw  thumbup.gif
Or if you want more, you can opt for RM30/month for 1GB. Very reasonable asking price also, and definitely can go for it - may get this once my Nexus 5 is here as I intend to get Spotify Premium as well!
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 01:45 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 9 2013, 01:21 PM)
Or if you want more, you can opt for RM30/month for 1GB. Very reasonable asking price also, and definitely can go for it - may get this once my Nexus 5 is here as I intend to get Spotify Premium as well!
is this hotlink or postpaid ? maxis?
tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2013, 01:55 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 01:45 PM)
is this hotlink or postpaid ? maxis?
Hotlink has RM20/month for 350MB and RM30/month for 1GB.
Maxis has RM30/month for 1GB but you have to be a supplementary line. Since Maxis is a postpaid, you get 4G as well though.
infernoaswen
post Nov 9 2013, 02:01 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM)
this is the new plans right? rm30=1GB/month..

maybe will try this plan..  smile.gif
yup, this is all prepaid btw, pay & use. I am not sure about postpaid plans, never into the whole sign contract thingy haha.

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 9 2013, 01:21 PM)
Yup, I am thinking of getting spotify too, RM10/mth. Been using on pc & its good so far, plus they give 150mb extra. I think if get spotify then I will need the 1gb plan lol
djlah
post Nov 9 2013, 02:14 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 9 2013, 02:01 PM)
yup, this is all prepaid btw, pay & use. I am not sure about postpaid plans, never into the whole sign contract thingy haha.
Yup, I am thinking of getting spotify too, RM10/mth. Been using on pc & its good so far, plus they give 150mb extra. I think if get spotify then I will need the 1gb plan lol
Postpaid can be off-contract too.
clon12
post Nov 9 2013, 02:43 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 9 2013, 01:19 PM)
i started uisng umobile.. the rm 28/500mb plan.. it was fine.. and good.. got 100mins free talk time..  laugh.gif  coverage wise is okok..

den saw digi having the new prepaid data plan.. i switched to digi n try.. after 1 month i cannot tahan d.. the speed is dam slow.. coverage also nt any much better than umobile..

den i went to try hotlink.. the first few hours of using it already impress me.. the speed is much faster than umobile and digi... then i m totally hooked.. and since the new plan is also quite cheap n good... i will staying with em for quite some time..  biggrin.gif
OT, whats your hotlink plan?
soulseeker6187
post Nov 9 2013, 03:07 PM

2,774 posts

Suddenly this thread becoming telco discussion.
ndragon
post Nov 9 2013, 04:19 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 9 2013, 02:43 PM)
OT, whats your hotlink plan?
i m using the plan u can find here.. just subscribe to it..
https://new.hotlink.com.my/content/hotlink/...leinternetplans

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 9 2013, 03:07 PM)
lol oops.. laugh.gif
r312
post Nov 9 2013, 04:23 PM

127 posts

but i personally find that, digi services is kinda less compared to other service provider. But in terms of price, very reasonable.
sry abit off topic
Najmods
post Nov 9 2013, 04:30 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 9 2013, 03:07 PM)
What do you expect? This is lowyat.net in Bolehland biggrin.gif
tessei
post Nov 9 2013, 04:34 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 9 2013, 04:19 PM)
i m using the plan u can find here.. just subscribe to it..
https://new.hotlink.com.my/content/hotlink/...leinternetplans
lol oops..  laugh.gif
careful with this term for new/interested user with this supercharge HOTLINK....

xHj09
post Nov 9 2013, 04:39 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Nov 7 2013, 02:20 PM)
Is camera important to you?
Is Earphone important to you?
fast shooting is important to me, earphone doesn't matter since i use aux to listen music in the car..
ndragon
post Nov 9 2013, 04:43 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(tessei @ Nov 9 2013, 04:34 PM)
careful with this term for new/interested user with this supercharge HOTLINK.... 

that is only if u use the daily facebook pass .etc..
if u subscribe for the monthly pass.. u get 1gb of data with no restriction.. quite satisfied..

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Nov 9 2013, 04:39 PM)
fast shooting is important to me, earphone doesn't matter since i use aux to listen music in the car..
i also thk fast shooting is important...
quite impress with iphone shooting speed..
but i thk this is software problem.. later google will surely push out fixes on it...
NightFelix
post Nov 9 2013, 04:47 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 9 2013, 04:43 PM)
that is only if u use the daily facebook pass .etc..
if u subscribe for the monthly pass.. u get 1gb of data with no restriction.. quite satisfied..
i also thk fast shooting is important...
quite impress with iphone shooting speed..
but i thk this is software problem.. later google will surely push out fixes on it...
thinner, lighter, faster whistling.gif
aronliew
post Nov 9 2013, 04:52 PM

306 posts

nexus 5 fail in drop test
gmhafiz
post Nov 9 2013, 04:55 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 9 2013, 04:52 PM)

These type of phones are not meant to be dropped. A more practical test will be a drop test with different cases on.
shdin271
post Nov 9 2013, 05:04 PM

365 posts

In dilemma between htc one and n5. Whether to sell my one and buy this nexus or just keep my one. I cant find much things that attracts me to buy n5. I tried GE on my one, so it would be the same like n5. Plus i like my one's camera and sense. So anyone can bakar me to get this phone? Hahahaha
shdin271
post Nov 9 2013, 05:05 PM

365 posts

This tered is so derailed

This post has been edited by shdin271: Nov 9 2013, 05:05 PM
NightFelix
post Nov 9 2013, 05:06 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Nov 9 2013, 05:04 PM)
In dilemma between htc one and n5.  Whether to sell my one and buy this nexus or just keep my one. I cant find much things that attracts me to buy n5. I tried GE on my one, so it would be the same like n5. Plus i like my one's camera and sense. So anyone can bakar me to get this phone? Hahahaha
http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-5-vs-htc-one
THis
r312
post Nov 9 2013, 05:06 PM

127 posts

couldnt agree more, how often you drop ur phone. Unless when your drunk.
it happened to me ones, threw my Gnex on the wall. thx god the glass did not crack
MsiaqweR
post Nov 9 2013, 05:51 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(r312 @ Nov 9 2013, 05:06 PM)
couldnt agree more, how often you drop ur phone. Unless when your drunk.
it happened to me ones, threw my Gnex on the wall. thx god the glass did not crack
Don't assume, I read an article the other day. A study shows that on average, every user drops their phone 6 times in every year. I can't recall that article.
gmhafiz
post Nov 9 2013, 06:03 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 9 2013, 05:51 PM)
Don't assume, I read an article the other day. A study shows that on average, every user drops their phone 6 times in every year. I can't recall that article.
I believe I've read similar article too. Which is why phone casing market is booming. We hardly sees any phone without one because we know these phones has glass and it will break if dropped.
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 07:45 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 9 2013, 04:52 PM)

nit many cases in the market can save the screen from a fall like that. anyone has recommendations on good solid cases that could even save a face-down fall?

This post has been edited by C-Note: Nov 9 2013, 07:45 PM
syimalifmim
post Nov 9 2013, 08:25 PM

19 posts

Went to lowyat and bumped with N5. Once asked, the guy quote me rm2400 for 16G doh.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 9 2013, 08:26 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 9 2013, 05:51 PM)
Actually that's kinda true but maybe slightly less. I am sure we will drop our phones at least once, even if its from the table to the floor. Dropped my Note 2 from pocket height flat face down without casing, lucky no scratch no cracks sweat.gif

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 07:45 PM)
nit many cases in the market can save the screen from a fall like that. anyone has recommendations on good solid cases that could even save a face-down fall?
Otterbox or UAG. If they have one for the Nexus 5 of course.
Ahmaz
post Nov 9 2013, 08:49 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(syimalifmim @ Nov 9 2013, 08:25 PM)
Went to lowyat and bumped with N5. Once asked, the guy quote me rm2400 for 16G  doh.gif
ROFL seriously? so overpriced!
Andrew_1980
post Nov 9 2013, 08:54 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Nov 9 2013, 05:05 PM)
This tered is so derailed
your profile picture so nice lolx.
_JD_
post Nov 9 2013, 09:50 PM

78 posts

when is it coming to malaysia? cant wait to buy a hi-end smartphone at affordable price drool.gif drool.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 9 2013, 09:52 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(_JD_ @ Nov 9 2013, 09:50 PM)
when is it coming to malaysia? cant wait to buy a hi-end smartphone at affordable price  drool.gif  drool.gif
Affordable only in the USA, not here in Malaysia doh.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 9 2013, 09:53 PM

12,573 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 9 2013, 09:53 PM
kueckcinx
post Nov 9 2013, 09:54 PM

715 posts

Went to lowyat and bumped with N5. Once asked, the guy quote me rm2400 for 16G  doh.gif
rm2400.. Better go buy note 3 or other else phone lol doh.gif
_JD_
post Nov 9 2013, 09:57 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 9 2013, 09:52 PM)
Affordable only in the USA, not here in Malaysia doh.gif
hence the question WHEN doh.gif doh.gif
_JD_
post Nov 9 2013, 09:58 PM

78 posts

you can get in the forum for around 1.75-2k for the 32gb version whistling.gif
andyjyneo
post Nov 9 2013, 09:59 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(_JD_ @ Nov 9 2013, 09:57 PM)
hence the question WHEN  doh.gif  doh.gif
I'm sure the first thread already answer your Q.
_JD_
post Nov 9 2013, 10:03 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 9 2013, 09:59 PM)
I'm sure the first thread already answer your Q.
ETA is unknown. Ouch doh.gif doh.gif
LongLastFX
post Nov 9 2013, 10:06 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(_JD_ @ Nov 9 2013, 10:03 PM)
ETA is unknown. Ouch  doh.gif  doh.gif
everyone know that.
_JD_
post Nov 9 2013, 10:13 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 9 2013, 10:06 PM)
everyone know that.
lol was referring to the 1st Post. anyway, battery life is a bit let off, but nevertheless a good phone biggrin.gif
QuickFire
post Nov 9 2013, 10:28 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

I think if you guys can somehow get the it from Australia, whether the 16 or 32gb, it will be the deal of the year. And if you manage to get the GST refund, it's going to be something like RM1200 for the 32gb version. What a bloody steal. And to think people are selling the 16gb for twice that here.
C-Note
post Nov 9 2013, 10:29 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Nov 9 2013, 10:28 PM)
I think if you guys can somehow get the it from Australia, whether the 16 or 32gb, it will be the deal of the year. And if you manage to get the GST refund, it's going to be something like RM1200 for the 32gb version. What a bloody steal. And to think people are selling the 16gb for twice that here.
gst can only be refunded if bought from physical store no?
clon12
post Nov 9 2013, 10:31 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 9 2013, 10:29 PM)
gst can only be refunded if bought from physical store no?
and you need to be there to buy it too? getting someone to buy it from there and export it to here won't get that refund for the tax.
QuickFire
post Nov 9 2013, 10:53 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Well even without the GST refund it's an unbeatable deal. But I believe you can email google for the tax invoice and get the refund at the airport. 10%.
matkim
post Nov 9 2013, 10:54 PM

iFag
711 posts

even 1gadget sold it 1999 for 16gb unit
syimalifmim
post Nov 9 2013, 11:33 PM

19 posts

I did my survey for the price here n there. thats why i got shocked when he said rm2400. sugar price goes up also gives impact to N5? hahahaha..
shdin271
post Nov 10 2013, 12:26 AM

365 posts

2400 wow so overpriced.
infernoaswen
post Nov 10 2013, 01:19 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

If buy from aussie play store on the 5th, how long does it take to ship to your house (in aussie)? I have a friend that will be there for couple of days so if the courier speed is fast then I might ask him to buy for me. Anyone here from aussie & bought from the play store before? How fast do they ship to you? hmm.gif
LuffyPSP
post Nov 10 2013, 01:36 AM

3,771 posts

yay my order has been placed on 7th Nov. Hope it could make it here by end of this month! Black + 32GB is hard to come by...ahha
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 02:01 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Nov 10 2013, 01:36 AM)
yay my order has been placed on 7th Nov. Hope it could make it here by end of this month! Black + 32GB is hard to come by...ahha
Congrate for your nexus5. sure ar end of this month? Muzamil info u?
kelvinlym
post Nov 10 2013, 04:35 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(kuntakinte @ Nov 9 2013, 01:29 AM)
Checked out Google play Australia as I'll be there next week. However, it lists shipping from warehouse in 3-4 weeks. Too bad. Would have grabbed a couple back
I bought mine in Germany (white 32GB) while the store states shipping in 2-3 weeks. I got confirmation that it will ship no later than 22nd Nov. But it was shipped on the next working day and arrived 2 days later. UPS ground shipping- Eindhoven, Netherlands to Ulm, Germany.
sunnyboy
post Nov 10 2013, 09:02 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 10 2013, 04:35 AM)
I bought mine in Germany (white 32GB) while the store states shipping in 2-3 weeks.  I got confirmation that it will ship no later than 22nd Nov.  But it was shipped on the next working day and arrived 2 days later.  UPS ground shipping- Eindhoven, Netherlands to Ulm, Germany.
Same here....ordered jp ver, stated delivery on 11/11, but they shipped on 8/11.
gmhafiz
post Nov 10 2013, 09:06 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 10 2013, 01:19 AM)
If buy from aussie play store on the 5th, how long does it take to ship to your house (in aussie)? I have a friend that will be there for couple of days so if the courier speed is fast then I might ask him to buy for me. Anyone here from aussie & bought from the play store before? How fast do they ship to you?  hmm.gif
Bought from playstore and google says it will ship from 5th Nov. I received the phone on the 4th. However shipment depends on the courier. Many others got it later. Check out this thread http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2177647 if you seriously want to know.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Nov 10 2013, 09:38 AM
Andrew_1980
post Nov 10 2013, 09:17 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 10 2013, 09:06 AM)
Bought from playstore and google says it will ship from 5th Nov. I received the phone on the 4th. However shipment depends on the courier. Many others got it later. Check out this thread http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2177647 if you are seriously want to know.
Malaysian can buy from google play store??
gmhafiz
post Nov 10 2013, 09:38 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 10 2013, 09:17 AM)
Malaysian can buy from google play store??
It's exclusive to Australian only?

BTW, check this out

N5 has autofocus like many other phones but iphone don't. Another thing he didn't mention is nexus 5 managed to capture the birds flying when he pointed the phones at the sky. iphone didn't get it because of lack of autofocus - he would have to tap on the screen to focus it manually.

It's hard to gauge to colour accuracy without proper monitor calibration although nexus5 seems to have more warmth in comparison.
feekle
post Nov 10 2013, 10:20 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

retailed at 1.9k in lelong...too expensive IMO

This post has been edited by feekle: Nov 10 2013, 10:22 AM
ndragon
post Nov 10 2013, 11:03 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Nov 10 2013, 09:02 AM)
Same here....ordered jp ver, stated delivery on 11/11, but they shipped on 8/11.
so how much u paid in total including the shipping?..
which shipping service?.. vpost or tenso?.. ty
chding
post Nov 10 2013, 11:19 AM

556 posts

anyone interested in HK set? It is around RM1700 for 16GB black + shipping

This post has been edited by chding: Nov 10 2013, 11:20 AM
alchn
post Nov 10 2013, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Nov 10 2013, 09:38 AM)
It's exclusive to Australian only?

BTW, check this out
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXTX21BGiSI
N5 has autofocus like many other phones but iphone don't. Another thing he didn't mention is nexus 5 managed to capture the birds flying when he pointed the phones at the sky. iphone didn't get it because of lack of autofocus - he would have to tap on the screen to focus it manually.

It's hard to gauge to colour accuracy without proper monitor calibration although nexus5 seems to have more warmth in comparison.
For those camera/video is important, can check out Supersaf's comparison with iPhone 5s, GS4. Quite detailed and controlled comparisons.

For me, definitely good enough. smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qp6clWG-b5c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-6AszlQIIs

night_wolf_in
post Nov 10 2013, 11:29 AM

512 posts

guys, i was wondering. is the phone out in Singapore?

and if i get a friend to buy it for me from Aus, how much is the typical shipping?

This post has been edited by night_wolf_in: Nov 10 2013, 11:32 AM
C-Note
post Nov 10 2013, 11:34 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

it took my unit 15mins to start up on first boot. normal?
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 11:48 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 10 2013, 11:34 AM)
it took my unit 15mins to start up on first boot. normal?
Normal. I have watch a lot of unboxing video. The boot time is about the same as your N5.
clon12
post Nov 10 2013, 12:00 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Nov 10 2013, 11:29 AM)
guys, i was wondering. is the phone out in Singapore?

and if i get a friend to buy it for me from Aus, how much is the typical shipping?
depends on which type of shipping you want.
http://auspost.com.au/apps/postage-calculator.html
normal one also $18.80.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 10 2013, 12:10 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 10 2013, 02:01 AM)
Congrate for your nexus5. sure ar end of this month? Muzamil info u?
i was just hoping. haha. end of Nov would be the 16GB version he said. But i'm keeping my fingers crossed.
r312
post Nov 10 2013, 01:00 PM

127 posts

agreed, currently getting it from Australia is the best deal, im planning to get one from there too, for my own early Christmas gift
but kinda curious, im wondering. how much does the shipping fee cost from AUS -> MY? any idea
infernoaswen
post Nov 10 2013, 01:24 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(r312 @ Nov 10 2013, 01:00 PM)
agreed, currently getting it from Australia is the best deal, im planning to get one from there too, for my own early Christmas gift
but kinda curious, im wondering. how much does the shipping fee cost  from AUS -> MY? any idea
fedex around ~AUD85. It would be cheaper if bulk buy since everyone can share the shipping, but then if do bulk buy not sure kastam will hold the item or not hmm.gif
billy_overheat
post Nov 10 2013, 01:26 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 10 2013, 01:24 PM)
fedex around ~AUD85. It would be cheaper if bulk buy since everyone can share the shipping, but then if do bulk buy not sure kastam will hold the item or not  hmm.gif
yes, you will need to settle the SIRIM. There's no tax.
infernoaswen
post Nov 10 2013, 01:40 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Nov 10 2013, 01:26 PM)
yes, you will need to settle the SIRIM. There's no tax.
SIRIM we personally need to apply or fedex will settle for us & we pay the amount they give us? Because bought few items from overseas, usually when tax they will settle for us and I just need to pay the amount when they deliver to my doorstep but not sure about SIRIM laugh.gif

Also heard 1 SIRIM can apply to 3 phones brows.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Nov 10 2013, 01:41 PM
bdkbaik
post Nov 10 2013, 01:54 PM

47 posts

why we need to apply sirim
billy_overheat
post Nov 10 2013, 02:06 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 10 2013, 01:40 PM)
SIRIM we personally need to apply or fedex will settle for us & we pay the amount they give us? Because bought few items from overseas, usually when tax they will settle for us and I just need to pay the amount when they deliver to my doorstep but not sure about SIRIM laugh.gif

Also heard 1 SIRIM can apply to 3 phones  brows.gif
Ya, some companies can help to settle it. HOwever, Uncle Benny explains quite well but forgot which pages on these several threads. haha
SUScarbike
post Nov 10 2013, 02:31 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kueckcinx @ Nov 9 2013, 09:54 PM)
rm2400.. Better go buy note 3 or other else phone lol doh.gif
a person who is in the market for Nexus 5 won't even consider a Note 3 whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
whtan
post Nov 10 2013, 02:37 PM

159 posts

Hi guys, any idea if the white matted back panel will become yellowish easily?? never deal with this material before.

Dilemma in chossing the colour...

This post has been edited by whtan: Nov 10 2013, 02:38 PM
andrewtho
post Nov 10 2013, 02:41 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(bdkbaik @ Nov 10 2013, 01:54 PM)
why we need to apply sirim
Because it is compulsory for any electronic devices. Unless you are bringing it by hand into the country then it is not needed (personal use).
clon12
post Nov 10 2013, 02:44 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(whtan @ Nov 10 2013, 02:37 PM)
Hi guys, any idea if the white matted back panel will become yellowish easily?? never deal with this material before.

You can try to search up the review on black vs white nexus 5. iirc he did mention something about the colour durability in the white nexus 5. But the sides for white nexus is all glossy, unlike the black one.
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 02:48 PM

421 posts

The material is nearly same as HTC One X white. I have used One X before, no yellowish what so ever. this material also easy to clean.
whtan
post Nov 10 2013, 02:57 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 10 2013, 02:44 PM)
You can try to search up the review on black vs white nexus 5. iirc he did mention something about the colour durability in the white nexus 5. But the sides for white nexus is all glossy, unlike the black one.
iirc? sorry... can provide link? hahah been watch ton of video now..

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 10 2013, 02:48 PM)
The material is nearly same as HTC One X white. I have used One X before, no yellowish what so ever. this material also easy to clean.
Thanks for the update.. this help alot
Xirality
post Nov 10 2013, 03:07 PM

12,176 posts

White!
djlah
post Nov 10 2013, 03:41 PM

7,723 posts

The Nexus 5 F.A.Q from androidcentral, good read thumbup.gif
mudkipryan94
post Nov 10 2013, 05:49 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 10 2013, 02:31 PM)
a person who is in the market for Nexus 5 won't even consider a Note 3  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
zzz... he newbies la laugh.gif

haha... i agree... just go for the Nexus 5 lo....
apasal mau n3 ?
LuffyPSP
post Nov 10 2013, 05:55 PM

3,771 posts

hahaha normal la tu. see Nexus expensive ask to find other phones...Since Nexus 4/Nexus 7, we have many people complaining.

Nexus One, Nexus S, Galaxy Nexus have a 2.1k price tag and nobody cares. Some of us want only a Nexus and we are paying for a Nexus, not other brand. hahahaha.
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 08:45 PM

421 posts

Bump for this thread. This thread not very active today. Everyone waiting nexus5 arrive to the doorstep?? lol

DuDe5593
post Nov 10 2013, 08:49 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 10 2013, 08:45 PM)
Bump for this thread. This thread not very active today. Everyone waiting nexus5 arrive to the doorstep?? lol
who doesn't? tongue.gif
infernoaswen
post Nov 10 2013, 08:59 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

seems like i9250 users are reporting lots of memory improvement with kit kat. Maybe if my phone gets kit kat update, i dont have to get nexus 5 laugh.gif
C-Note
post Nov 10 2013, 09:21 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

battery life honestly really isn't an issue..most ppl work 9-5 and have chargers in office or uni..you can always set brightness to low

honestly how many phones in the market cost usd399 and with specs that can last more than 2 years of usage
marcus_bread
post Nov 10 2013, 09:37 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 10 2013, 09:21 PM)
battery life honestly really isn't an issue..most ppl work 9-5 and have chargers in office or uni..you can always set brightness to low

honestly how many phones in the market cost usd399 and with specs that can last more than 2 years of usage
+1 rclxms.gif
Andrew_1980
post Nov 10 2013, 09:38 PM

6,196 posts

Free bump biggrin.gif
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 09:48 PM

421 posts

Network coverage also effecting battery life. Maybe people that have battery issue have this problem. Or maybe they dont realoze that they used their phone heavily but claim they just used like normal usage.
C-Note
post Nov 10 2013, 09:55 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 10 2013, 09:48 PM)
Network coverage also effecting battery life. Maybe people that have battery issue have this problem. Or maybe they dont realoze that they used their phone heavily but claim they just used like normal usage.
alot of people play games and surf alot.

if my 2 year old note1 with 2500mAh battery can last a day im sure a 2300mAh would last pretty much the same amount of hours on a smaller screen, albeit high pixel density but shouldnt affect too much

This post has been edited by C-Note: Nov 10 2013, 09:55 PM
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 10:04 PM

421 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by LongLastFX: Nov 10 2013, 10:05 PM
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 10:04 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 10 2013, 09:55 PM)
alot of people play games and surf alot.

if my 2 year old note1 with 2500mAh battery can last a day im sure a 2300mAh would last pretty much the same amount of hours on a smaller screen, albeit high pixel density but shouldnt affect too much
They hava try ART function in kitkat? I read about ART, mane user experience better battery life.
Irishcoffee
post Nov 10 2013, 10:50 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

ordered nexus 5 at perth
possible to get tax refund at airport?
the receipt comes with the parcel right?
sunnyboy
post Nov 10 2013, 11:00 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 10 2013, 10:04 PM)
They hava try ART function in kitkat?  I read about ART, mane user experience better battery life.
How to use ART?
VictorKeong
post Nov 10 2013, 11:05 PM

599 posts

bump bump bump bump xD
aronliew
post Nov 10 2013, 11:14 PM

306 posts

bump~~~ ^^
LongLastFX
post Nov 10 2013, 11:19 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Nov 10 2013, 11:00 PM)
How to use ART?
Go to Develepor option n then select runtime. Choose ART.
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 10 2013, 11:24 PM

620 posts

whatsapp doesn't work with ART
Go_up
post Nov 10 2013, 11:37 PM

Hallucinogen
917 posts

Any user here yet ?
LongLastFX
post Nov 11 2013, 12:18 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 10 2013, 11:24 PM)
whatsapp doesn't work with ART
Only wasep have compatible problem with ART.
gmhafiz
post Nov 11 2013, 12:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 11 2013, 12:18 AM)
and titanium backup I believe. ART is not for end user. It's for developers to experiment on.
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 12:51 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 11 2013, 12:18 AM)
and other mods and stuff that you find on xda

i see no benefit using ART as of now, patiently waiting for ART 2.0
WyjSwmW
post Nov 11 2013, 01:42 AM

862 posts

Not all ppl work in the office nine to five.
They are many who work outside like direct sales, property agents, businessmen etc.
unknowngenius
post Nov 11 2013, 05:27 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 10 2013, 05:21 PM)

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 10 2013, 09:42 PM)
Not all ppl work in the office nine to five.
They are many who work outside like direct sales, property agents, businessmen etc.
true that what we pay is what we get. but for users who game or browse a lot (like me) , not matter how i look at it, 2300 mAh will not be sufficient. that's 1 downside (at least for me) of the nexus 5

different people, different needs nod.gif
maks_pain
post Nov 11 2013, 09:31 AM

380 posts

since nothing can be done on hardware side, let's just hope google will release major software fix on camera & battery.

But my guess they are only working on camera fix.

Battery improvement will come in next version of Kit Kat tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maks_pain: Nov 11 2013, 09:46 AM
C-Note
post Nov 11 2013, 11:13 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Nov 11 2013, 09:31 AM)
since nothing can be done on hardware side, let's just hope google will release major software fix on camera & battery.

But my guess they are only working on camera fix.

Battery improvement will come in next version of Kit Kat tongue.gif
wonder why android phones always launch with these two problems and we all always pray for a software fix that never comes usually..haha at least for my phones in the past. cant they just test drive everything properly..
tennytyy
post Nov 11 2013, 11:37 AM

1,916 posts

Too bad the battery only 2300mah....
rickysay
post Nov 11 2013, 11:52 AM

Arsenal F.C.
1,018 posts

For people who have camera problem and has rooted the N5.
Flash this:

LongLastFX
post Nov 11 2013, 12:32 PM

421 posts

This video make some speaker. i can say the speaker pretty loud. hmm.gif

marcus_bread
post Nov 11 2013, 01:32 PM

506 posts

hi, is anyone tested LTE signal of US version D820 Nexus 5 in malaysia?
silver311
post Nov 11 2013, 01:38 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Nov 11 2013, 01:32 PM)
hi, is anyone tested LTE signal of US version D820 Nexus 5 in malaysia?
US version's LTE bands are not supported in Malaysia
syin16
post Nov 11 2013, 01:39 PM

665 posts

malaysia only support lte bands of 3/7 here
marcus_bread
post Nov 11 2013, 01:40 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(silver311 @ Nov 11 2013, 01:38 PM)
US version's LTE bands are not supported in Malaysia
so mean got ppl using US version Nexus 5 in Malaysia ady...
rickysay
post Nov 11 2013, 01:43 PM

Arsenal F.C.
1,018 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Nov 11 2013, 01:40 PM)
What talk you? shakehead.gif Read again the above. You can't use US version's Nexus 5 in MALAYSIA period
syin16
post Nov 11 2013, 01:44 PM

665 posts

i dont think malaysian people would buy the us version, probably uk or australia, unless some hacks can be made to enable the lte bands of 3/7 on the us set
Ahmaz
post Nov 11 2013, 01:48 PM

500 posts

Surely got. both US and International version. A poster posted a screenshot of him using International version in Msia edi.

Of course the ppl who got US version won't be able to use LTE here but frankly they don't care.
syin16
post Nov 11 2013, 01:49 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Nov 11 2013, 01:48 PM)
Surely got. both US and International version. A poster posted a screenshot of him using International version in Msia edi.

Of course the ppl who got US version won't be able to use LTE here but frankly they don't care.
haha, my bad. looks like got few people really itchy hand to get the nexus 5 rclxms.gif
marcus_bread
post Nov 11 2013, 01:51 PM

506 posts

cause i saw from other forum, the seller claim that he tested the US version can use LTE signal in Malaysia. that is why i need to know whether there is ppl holding a US N5 now n able connect to LTE in Mas.

so most likely that fellow is cheating...
andrewtho
post Nov 11 2013, 02:00 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Nov 11 2013, 01:51 PM)
cause i saw from other forum, the seller claim that he tested the US version can use LTE signal in Malaysia. that is why i need to know whether there is ppl holding a US N5 now n able connect to LTE in Mas.

Different bands ler, confirm cannot. doh.gif
xDjWanNabex
post Nov 11 2013, 02:05 PM

932 posts

Thats what im wondering also. Someone in SG said thier telco said can use US Set with thier local telco..

http://productforums.google.com/forum/#...0c/F1O9fmGE2uEJ

a friend of mine just bought his US set today. will ask him to test
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 02:08 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Nov 11 2013, 01:43 PM)
What talk you? shakehead.gif  Read again the above. You can't use US version's Nexus 5  in MALAYSIA period
QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Nov 11 2013, 01:51 PM)

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Nov 11 2013, 01:48 PM)

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 11 2013, 02:00 PM)
Different bands ler, confirm cannot.  doh.gif
NO

you can't use Band 3 (1800mhz) LTE on the US set in malaysia,
Band 7 (2600mhz) LTE and all other aspects of the phone will still work

This post has been edited by Tsukiyomi001: Nov 11 2013, 02:16 PM
xDjWanNabex
post Nov 11 2013, 02:10 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 11 2013, 02:08 PM)
NO

Sorry, not really good at this. If we are able to use 1/2 the band only, would there be difference in terms of signal reception?
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 02:14 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Nov 11 2013, 02:10 PM)
Sorry, not really good at this. If we are able to use 1/2 the band only, would there be difference in terms of signal reception?
that means you won't get LTE at areas that only have Band 3
also means if Band 7 is crowded, you might experience slow speed

AFAIK
maxis & celcom uses both band 3 & 7
digi only uses band 7, for now

no idea on the overlapping of band 3 & 7 coverage
underGr0und_8
post Nov 11 2013, 02:17 PM

2,236 posts

To clarify again, YES you still can use US version here. With maximum internet speed of HSPA+

So as Moto X
ckchan
post Nov 11 2013, 02:32 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 11 2013, 12:32 PM)
This video make some speaker. i can say the speaker pretty loud.  hmm.gif

nice review

btw, what game is that shown in the video?
LongLastFX
post Nov 11 2013, 02:51 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Nov 11 2013, 02:32 PM)
nice review

btw, what game is that shown in the video?
Dead Trigger 2.
SUScarbike
post Nov 11 2013, 03:08 PM

330 posts

NO

D820 (us set) doesn't have lte band 7
+Newbie+
post Nov 11 2013, 03:11 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 11 2013, 11:13 AM)
wonder why android phones always launch with these two problems and we all always pray for a software fix that never comes usually..haha at least for my phones in the past. cant they just test drive everything properly..
You mean Nexus phones, not android phones.

Many flagship android phones now sell with upwards of 3000mah batteries and some even have decent cameras. The Note 3 comes to mind.

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Nov 11 2013, 02:17 PM)
To clarify again, YES you still can use US version here. With maximum internet speed of HSPA+

So as Moto X
No. Saying it that way is liable for misunderstanding. Let's make this as clear as daylight to ensure everyone understands

D820 US Set
3G YES
LTE NO

D821 International Set
3G YES
LTE YES

So if you buy the US set you can still use 3G, but you will not be able to use LTE

caveat emptor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2475275

This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Nov 11 2013, 03:32 PM
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 03:23 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 11 2013, 03:08 PM)
D820 (us set) doesn't have  lte band 7
my bad

band 7 and band 41 both uses 2600mhz, that was my source of confusion

thanks for bringing that up
andrewtho
post Nov 11 2013, 03:26 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

NO

Dude. US sets does not support Band 7 doh.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 11 2013, 03:28 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Nov 11 2013, 03:11 PM)
You mean Nexus phones, not android phones.

Many flagship android phones now sell with upwards of 3000mah batteries and some even have decent cameras. The Note 3 comes to mind.
No. Saying it that way is liable for misunderstanding. Let's make this as clear as daylight to ensure everyone understands

D820 US Set
3G YES
LTE NO
D821 International Set
3G YES
LTE YES

So if you buy the US set you can still use 3G, but you will not be able to use LTE

caveat emptor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2475275
Maybe TS can pin this up as well, to avoid anymore misinterpretation/miunderstanding laugh.gif
SUScarbike
post Nov 11 2013, 03:29 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 11 2013, 03:23 PM)
my bad

band 7 and band 41 both uses 2600mhz, that was my source of confusion

thanks for bringing that up
2600FDD - band 7
2600TD - band 41
+Newbie+
post Nov 11 2013, 03:30 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Yeah, that was the source of his confusion and he has apologized. I've edited the front page for further clarity. Hopefully that helps. Sorry to the TS for intruding on his post.
sebastianX11
post Nov 11 2013, 03:43 PM

1,735 posts

anyone tried to ask in LG Msia FB page for eta?
SUScarbike
post Nov 11 2013, 03:56 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Nov 11 2013, 03:43 PM)
earliest would be around early january just like Nexus 4 last time
Adrian Noobb
post Nov 11 2013, 04:10 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 11 2013, 12:32 PM)
This video make some speaker. i can say the speaker pretty loud.  hmm.gif

Ya very loud laugh.gif Like it.
NightFelix
post Nov 11 2013, 04:11 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Nov 11 2013, 03:30 PM)
Yeah, that was the source of his confusion and he has apologized. I've edited the front page for further clarity. Hopefully that helps. Sorry to the TS for intruding on his post.
You have made a right move to prevents others new comer confusion. notworthy.gif rclxms.gif
NightFelix
post Nov 11 2013, 04:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Some battery test:

Done test through PhoneArena.

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Nov 11 2013, 04:19 PM
SUScarbike
post Nov 11 2013, 04:24 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 11 2013, 04:17 PM)
Some battery test:

Almost identical result to Galaxy S4; the phone with the best battery life according to The Star hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/Tech/Tech-News/2...ife-report.aspx
iOrange
post Nov 11 2013, 04:44 PM

319 posts

nexus 5 would be perfect for me if only the battery capacity is bigger
EpsilonStar
post Nov 11 2013, 04:48 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 11 2013, 04:17 PM)
Some battery test:

How come the HTC one battery life so good ah?
NightFelix
post Nov 11 2013, 04:50 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Nov 11 2013, 04:48 PM)
How come the HTC one battery life so good ah?
I was thought of the same question as well. sweat.gif somemore same battery capacity as Nexus 5 as well... something fishy here.
mudkipryan94
post Nov 11 2013, 04:58 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 11 2013, 03:08 PM)
D820 (us set) doesn't have  lte band 7
doh.gif see the specs n white paper properly and pls use search function before u ask la ....
mudkipryan94
post Nov 11 2013, 04:59 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Nov 11 2013, 03:43 PM)
i asked already... 1 answer haven't reply me yet... doh.gif wtheck....
later i post the question
super_evil_alien
post Nov 11 2013, 05:06 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 11 2013, 04:50 PM)
I was thought of the same question as well. sweat.gif somemore same battery capacity as Nexus 5 as well... something fishy here.
It's not Area 51 mystery.
All Nexus devices' battery are crappier compared to regular high end devices.
Ahmaz
post Nov 11 2013, 05:06 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 11 2013, 04:50 PM)
nothing fishy. kernel + software optimisations.

Most of you keep focusing on paper specs only.. while it is true that bigger capacity usually means longer charge but you should consider software optimisations as well.

Look at Apple's iPhone.. battery is in 1500mAh range but can get comparable SoT and talktime.

Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 05:18 PM

620 posts

manufactures do optimizations on their phones, which explains the better battery life

pure google android = no optimizations
Ahmaz
post Nov 11 2013, 05:19 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 11 2013, 05:18 PM)
manufactures do optimizations on their phones, which explains the better battery life

pure google android = no optimizations
Just to clarify, they do optimisations.. but it's pretty balanced (all rounder).

EDIT: Indian Play Store has just opened their stock orders for N5
http://imgur.com/jHdGolW <--32GB

Works out to around RM1662

This post has been edited by Ahmaz: Nov 11 2013, 05:22 PM
LongLastFX
post Nov 11 2013, 05:38 PM

421 posts

I don't care much about battery life in nexus. This is nexus device, i just root, flash custom kernel and tweak without need to hustle much.
xDjWanNabex
post Nov 11 2013, 06:37 PM

932 posts

Actually, the radios in the N5 is software defined or hardware?

If its software, cant we actually change it to an international one?
Jurlique
post Nov 11 2013, 06:43 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Nov 11 2013, 05:19 PM)
Just to clarify, they do optimisations.. but it's pretty balanced (all rounder).

EDIT: Indian Play Store has just opened their stock orders for N5
http://imgur.com/jHdGolW <--32GB

Works out to around RM1662
This only the cost price, haven add in shipping, parcel forwarding charges and SIRIM cost.

It will still be RM1,800++ when it reaches our hands.
djlah
post Nov 11 2013, 06:44 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Nov 11 2013, 06:37 PM)

this is repeat question, someone asked before.
xDjWanNabex
post Nov 11 2013, 06:47 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 11 2013, 06:44 PM)
this is repeat question, someone asked before.
cant find it in this thread.
whats the answer?
SUScarbike
post Nov 11 2013, 06:51 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Nov 11 2013, 06:43 PM)
This only the cost price, haven add in shipping, parcel forwarding charges and SIRIM cost.

It will still be RM1,800++ when it reaches our hands.
what's the chance of google selling Nexus devices in Play Store Malaysia? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
clon12
post Nov 11 2013, 06:52 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Nov 11 2013, 06:37 PM)

the answer is it is hardware-defined or however you name it. It is a hardware limitation and cannot be change with software alteration.
djlah
post Nov 11 2013, 06:54 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Nov 11 2013, 06:47 PM)
cant find it in this thread.
whats the answer?
here you go.

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 11 2013, 06:51 PM)
what's the chance of google selling Nexus devices in Play Store Malaysia?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
google don't care for small country whistling.gif
xDjWanNabex
post Nov 11 2013, 06:55 PM

932 posts

Thanks clon and djlah!
Ahmaz
post Nov 11 2013, 07:05 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(carbike @ Nov 11 2013, 06:51 PM)
what's the chance of google selling Nexus devices in Play Store Malaysia?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
zero since Google Play Devices is not available in Malaysia
andrewtho
post Nov 11 2013, 08:32 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Don't bother asking LG Malaysia on their FB page, they won't reply. As usual.
mudkipryan94
post Nov 11 2013, 08:54 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 11 2013, 08:32 PM)
Don't bother asking LG Malaysia on their FB page, they won't reply. As usual.
yeah indeed smile.gif
n
u wanna swap your note 2 for this? brows.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 11 2013, 09:14 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Nov 11 2013, 08:54 PM)
yeah indeed smile.gif
n
u wanna swap your note 2 for this? brows.gif
Either Nexus 5 or iPhone 5s. But 85% Nexus 5 laugh.gif
OptimusStar
post Nov 11 2013, 09:32 PM

801 posts

Im thinking Nexus 5 or Note 3.
My major concern is camera and battery.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 11 2013, 09:39 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Nov 11 2013, 09:32 PM)
Go for Note 3.
nexus 5 crap on both.
Adrian Noobb
post Nov 11 2013, 09:47 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Nov 11 2013, 09:39 PM)
Go for Note 3.
nexus 5 crap on both.
Camera also? I am thinking to get this leh
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 09:56 PM

620 posts

Bit the bullet and ordered 1 unit from a seller here, hope it comes without any dead pixels
clon12
post Nov 11 2013, 09:59 PM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Nov 11 2013, 09:56 PM)
Bit the bullet and ordered 1 unit from a seller here, hope it comes without any dead pixels
What model you ordered and from who? When's the ETA?
gmhafiz
post Nov 11 2013, 10:06 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

Note3 have much better battery life. Camera however, I learn to make do with it. I didn't expect much out of it except for uploading to google+.
Intel Core i7
post Nov 11 2013, 10:57 PM

Thunder Buddies
582 posts

Guys,Suggest me a seller
LTE,White,32GB
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 11 2013, 11:29 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 11 2013, 09:59 PM)
What model you ordered and from who? When's the ETA?
QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Nov 11 2013, 10:57 PM)
Guys,Suggest me a seller
LTE,White,32GB
@underGr0und_8
ETA 30/11 or 01/12
Hyde`fK
post Nov 11 2013, 11:53 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Not sure posted yet, but here's a camera mod for N5. Do it at your own risk. Samples of before/after can be found on page 2.

TS may put it up on the first page for easier reference.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Nov 11 2013, 11:53 PM
Scavia
post Nov 12 2013, 12:06 AM

531 posts

How much price for international set 16gb/32gb. ? I saw at lelong its rm1999. Its too high i think.
TSphantomash
post Nov 12 2013, 12:10 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

I think you should go for Note 3
Tsukiyomi001
post Nov 12 2013, 12:50 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Scavia @ Nov 12 2013, 12:06 AM)
How much price for international set 16gb/32gb. ? I saw at lelong its rm1999. Its too high i think.
depends on where you get it, price varies by country
lelong price includes shipping and taxes already, the sellers only profit about rm100+-

a quick google search should get you the prices of the N5 from different countries
wan5544
post Nov 12 2013, 01:37 AM

69 posts

a week with it...
a lil bit disappointed with the batt...
sad.gif hmm.gif
infernoaswen
post Nov 12 2013, 01:37 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Nov 11 2013, 10:57 PM)
Guys,Suggest me a seller
LTE,White,32GB
techbug has ready stock for 32gb white, but I am not sure if its LTE or us set. You will need to check with them but I am sure someone might grab it already laugh.gif

ck.chunkeat
post Nov 12 2013, 04:05 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

I've been getting approximately 3hour SOT with google now, location report, location service,wifi on.
Will try for 1 more week then if the battery is still the same then I'm gonna flash a stock image. Many say that flashing a stock image actually helped and they can get an average of 5hour sot.
TSphantomash
post Nov 12 2013, 05:33 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 11 2013, 11:53 PM)
Not sure posted yet, but here's a camera mod for N5. Do it at your own risk. Samples of before/after can be found on page 2.

TS may put it up on the first page for easier reference.
done.
AaronFPS
post Nov 12 2013, 07:22 AM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(Scavia @ Nov 12 2013, 12:06 AM)
349/399
maks_pain
post Nov 12 2013, 08:10 AM

380 posts

anyone read this?

http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Google-N...Apple-iPhone-5s

For me N5 camera is comparable with iphone 5S. In some case looks better. Check it out.

The main concern is probably speed.

djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 08:44 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 12 2013, 01:37 AM)
techbug has ready stock for 32gb white, but I am not sure if its LTE or us set. You will need to check with them but I am sure someone might grab it already laugh.gif
Anyone know techbug international set source from which country?
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 08:50 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 12 2013, 08:44 AM)
Anyone know techbug international set source from which country?
Australia set.
djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 09:18 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 08:50 AM)
Australia set.
thx

either wait until Dec or if place order now, I consider and compare only these 3 for International Set, Black, 32GB:
1. Qoo10 - RM1707.30 (South Korea) buyer bear all the shipping cost.
2. TechBug - RM1799 (Australia) bear all warranty cost 1 month, 2nd month onward buyer bear RM90.
3. underGr0und_8 - RM1750 (Japan) no warranty

which 1 to go?

infernoaswen
post Nov 12 2013, 09:39 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 08:50 AM)
Australia set.
No, they get theirs from US.

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 12 2013, 09:18 AM)
thx

either wait until Dec or if place order now, I consider and compare only these 3 for International Set, Black, 32GB:
1. Qoo10 -  RM1707.30 (South Korea) buyer bear all the shipping cost.
2. TechBug - RM1799 (Australia) bear all warranty cost 1 month, 2nd month onward buyer bear RM90.

which 1 to go?
I believe they bring in both US set & International set. Refer to their website.
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 09:52 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 12 2013, 09:39 AM)
No, they get theirs from US.
I believe they bring in both US set & International set. Refer to their website.
halo kwn.. u can check at techbug website. they offer international and US set. i already ask the techbug owner, he import international set at Australia playstore.
vostro78
post Nov 12 2013, 10:05 AM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 12 2013, 09:18 AM)
thx

1. Qoo10 -  RM1707.30 (South Korea) buyer bear all the shipping cost.

which 1 to go?
liek that mesti techbug lo as it comes with 1 moth warranty.
djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 10:40 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 12 2013, 10:05 AM)
liek that mesti techbug lo as it comes with 1 moth warranty.

same thought. just pay a little bit for 1 month warranty, worth right? also our trustable/respect seller here thumbup.gif
sleepy 1
post Nov 12 2013, 10:44 AM

155 posts

Just purchased 2 x nexus 32gb in Australia for A$937.90. The funny part of it is the phones are actually going to shipped from Google Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. -8 Marina View, Asia Square 1, Singapore. But you can't get the phone from google play Singapore. ///

This post has been edited by sleepy 1: Nov 12 2013, 10:46 AM
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 10:45 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(sleepy 1 @ Nov 12 2013, 10:44 AM)
Just purchased 2 x nexus 32gb in Australia for A$937.90. The funny part of it is the phones are actually going to shipped from Singapore. But you can't get the phone from google play Singapore. ///
What your ETA after order at play store?
sleepy 1
post Nov 12 2013, 10:59 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 10:45 AM)
What your ETA after order at play store?
6/12/13 dispatch from SG. What about yours?
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 11:01 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(sleepy 1 @ Nov 12 2013, 10:59 AM)
6/12/13 dispatch from SG. What about yours?
What a long time. i not making any order yet. just asking. biggrin.gif
Black Red
post Nov 12 2013, 11:03 AM

485 posts

my GNex is still serving me well but hand very itchy to buy Nexus 5. biggrin.gif
sleepy 1
post Nov 12 2013, 11:07 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 11:01 AM)
What a long time. i not making any order yet. just asking.  biggrin.gif
It suit me very well. I am going back to Malaysia on 17th Dec. So I could claim the GST for both handset. brows.gif
pcphobic
post Nov 12 2013, 11:40 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Nov 12 2013, 11:03 AM)
my GNex is still serving me well but hand very itchy to buy Nexus 5. biggrin.gif
Yeah..my 2 year old Galaxy Nexus is still awesome.. especially running custom ROM like LiquidSmooth JB 4.3

But recently, on the anniversary of Galaxy Nexus, it slipped from my phone sleeve and dropped and cracked the screen... so sad....

So now... no choice... have to join the Nexus 5 bandwagon.

Andrew_1980
post Nov 12 2013, 11:47 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Nov 12 2013, 11:40 AM)
Yeah..my 2 year old Galaxy Nexus is still awesome.. especially running custom ROM like LiquidSmooth JB 4.3

But recently, on the anniversary of Galaxy Nexus, it slipped from my phone sleeve and dropped and cracked the screen... so sad....

So now you have no phone to use? hmm.gif Good choice too to buy Nexus 5, hope won't be too high price
tennytyy
post Nov 12 2013, 12:17 PM

1,916 posts

Is the battery of N5 removable?
Xirality
post Nov 12 2013, 12:18 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Nov 12 2013, 11:40 AM)

Good to see G Nex user still faithful to Nexus line rclxms.gif
Ahmaz
post Nov 12 2013, 12:19 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 12 2013, 12:17 PM)
No.. unless you want to pry open your back cover
Xirality
post Nov 12 2013, 12:20 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 12 2013, 12:17 PM)
it's not "user removable". Store inside the phone body.
AzimLord
post Nov 12 2013, 12:45 PM

136 posts

still dont know the official release date in malaysia huh?
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 12:58 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(AzimLord @ Nov 12 2013, 12:45 PM)
still dont know the official release date in malaysia huh?
i bet the date still same with nexus 4 launching. January. laugh.gif
LuffyPSP
post Nov 12 2013, 01:09 PM

3,771 posts

Anyone want to take my slot for nexus 5 32gb black D821 ordered from techbug/muzamil. Thinking of withdrawing my order and i'm sure he want a replacement if i am to do that to get my deposit back. Rm100 only. Pm me your hangout address and we have a chat with muzamil together.

Thanks!
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 01:26 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Nov 12 2013, 01:09 PM)
Anyone want to take my slot for nexus 5 32gb black D821 ordered from techbug/muzamil. Thinking of withdrawing my order and i'm sure he want a replacement if i am to do that to get my deposit back. Rm100 only. Pm me your hangout address and we have a chat with muzamil together.

Thanks!
wah.. why withdraw your order men?
zorbyss.
post Nov 12 2013, 01:49 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

Just realize you can't get tax refunds from Australian set.
-goods purchased over the Internet and imported into Australia
http://www.customs.gov.au/site/page4646.asp
9.1% gone. D:

DannyOP
post Nov 12 2013, 02:09 PM

5,220 posts

Will the USA version work in Malaysia? My friend flies there quite often, so he can buy for me.
LuffyPSP
post Nov 12 2013, 02:10 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 01:26 PM)
wah.. why withdraw your order men?
I have some last minute personal incident coming on. Haha. Can still buy it but I am not gonna take the risk. Play safe and keep the extra money. Haha.
AaronFPS
post Nov 12 2013, 02:10 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Nov 12 2013, 02:09 PM)
Will the USA version work in Malaysia? My friend flies there quite often,  so he can buy for me.
• D820 (US set)does NOT work with Singapore and Malaysia LTE; only works with 3G.
• D821 will work with both Singapore and Malaysia LTE
This post has been edited by AaronFPS: Nov 12 2013, 02:11 PM
DannyOP
post Nov 12 2013, 02:11 PM

5,220 posts

Noted thanks
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 02:14 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Nov 12 2013, 02:10 PM)
I have some last minute personal incident coming on. Haha. Can still buy it but I am not gonna take the risk. Play safe and keep the extra money. Haha.
so, u already got your nexus 5 ah?
Jurlique
post Nov 12 2013, 02:21 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 12:58 PM)
i bet the date still same with nexus 4 launching. January.  laugh.gif
If in Jan, might as well go buy the HTC One M8 or Samsung S5
AzimLord
post Nov 12 2013, 02:22 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 12:58 PM)
i bet the date still same with nexus 4 launching. January.  laugh.gif
that time s4 already cheaper -.-
billy_overheat
post Nov 12 2013, 02:39 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(AzimLord @ Nov 12 2013, 02:22 PM)
well, those who are nexus series lover, will not ever look at samsung's. tongue.gif
walikard
post Nov 12 2013, 02:49 PM

660 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Nov 12 2013, 02:39 PM)
well, those who are nexus series lover, will not ever look at samsung's. tongue.gif
Indeed thumbup.gif

Pulled the trigger already tongue.gif Waiting for it to arrive somewhere around this week biggrin.gif A little worry on the batt life and camera performance...but the Kitkat is so tempting for me to try it out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by walikard: Nov 12 2013, 02:51 PM
tanjinjack
post Nov 12 2013, 03:10 PM

4,122 posts

For those who are worried about the camera, I believe it's really just software issue seeing how the HDR+ photo is so awesome.
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 03:19 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Nov 12 2013, 02:21 PM)
If in Jan, might as well go buy the HTC One M8 or Samsung S5
This is Malaysia!! LOL
paul5263
post Nov 12 2013, 03:30 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Nov 12 2013, 01:09 PM)

Thanks!
When is ur unit ETA?
sp6068
post Nov 12 2013, 03:56 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

IPMart PO RM1699 base model sweat.gif I think locally DarkDevon still has the cheapest price around.

http://www.ipmart.com.my/main/browse/Mobil...9.php?cat=12479
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 03:58 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Nov 12 2013, 03:56 PM)
IPMart PO RM1699 base model  sweat.gif I think locally DarkDevon still has the cheapest price around.

i'm expecting LG Malaysia set with the same price range.

Dark devon selling US set and the price should be cheaper than international set.
sp6068
post Nov 12 2013, 04:01 PM

1,699 posts

But for those who don't really care about the LTE bands of US set it would be worth it. Always when come here to MY price will sky rocket. sad.gif
Andrew_1980
post Nov 12 2013, 04:04 PM

6,196 posts

Like S3? 11xx? lolx
Andrew_1980
post Nov 12 2013, 04:06 PM

6,196 posts

IPMart PO RM1699 base model  sweat.gif I think locally DarkDevon still has the cheapest price around.

I prefer the black one laugh.gif White one will easy cause dirty (I'm not that carefully person)
djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 04:15 PM

7,723 posts

IPMart stock source from which country? anyone have experience purchased from IPMart? 1 year AP warranty meant no cost, hidden cost or shipping charge at all when RMA?
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 04:17 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 12 2013, 04:15 PM)
IPMart stock source from which country? anyone have experience purchased from IPMart? 1 year AP warranty meant no cost, hidden cost or shipping charge at all when RMA?
Actually, the price is very good. with warranty that their offer. it worth to buy for person want the nexus5 faster.
sp6068
post Nov 12 2013, 04:23 PM

1,699 posts

Their site says IPMART Warranty don't think this is local set hmm.gif
LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600
kelvinlym
post Nov 12 2013, 04:25 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Already used my phone for 5 days. 1st time Android user. Very satisfied with it.

Since I have the day off today and tomorrow, I can try to answer some questions if needed regarding the phone.
SUSSKY233
post Nov 12 2013, 04:33 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 04:25 PM)
Already used my phone for 5 days.  1st time Android user.  Very satisfied with it.

Since I have the day off today and tomorrow, I can try to answer some questions if needed regarding the phone.
mind to share ur usage the batt life? biggrin.gif
glad to hear that u enjoiced ur phone brows.gif
tennytyy
post Nov 12 2013, 04:40 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 04:25 PM)
Already used my phone for 5 days.  1st time Android user.  Very satisfied with it.

Kindly share your SOT if possible hehe
kelvinlym
post Nov 12 2013, 04:40 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Nov 12 2013, 09:33 AM)
mind to share ur usage the batt life?  biggrin.gif
glad to hear that u enjoiced ur phone  brows.gif
Recent usage is not indicative. This is because I've been using the phone heavier than usual due to the weekend and it's a new phone.

First impression is that battery life is quite disappointing.

However, with my normal usage (non music listener, non mobile gamer, non movie watcher, light web browsing with always on chat and push email plus max 2 calls a day), I'm confident that it should last a day.
kelvinlym
post Nov 12 2013, 04:41 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Nov 12 2013, 09:40 AM)
Kindly share your SOT if possible hehe
What's SOT? Shots on target? icon_question.gif
tennytyy
post Nov 12 2013, 04:42 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 04:41 PM)
What's SOT?  Shots on target?  icon_question.gif
It's Screen On Time smile.gif
djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 05:22 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Nov 12 2013, 04:23 PM)
Their site says IPMART Warranty don't think this is local set hmm.gif
LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600
if the spec listed confirm, then should be D821, international set. anyone contact or order from IPMart?
tanjinjack
post Nov 12 2013, 05:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 04:40 PM)
Recent usage is not indicative.  This is because I've been using the phone heavier than usual due to the weekend and it's a new phone.

However, with my normal usage (non music listener, non mobile gamer, non movie watcher, light web browsing with always on chat and push email plus max 2 calls a day), I'm confident that it should last a day.
Please downoad GSAM Battery Monitor and screenshot the summary page. It will contain probably all the info people need to evaluate battery life. Thanks!

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Nov 12 2013, 05:31 PM
infernoaswen
post Nov 12 2013, 05:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 09:52 AM)
halo kwn.. u can check at techbug website. they offer international and US set. i already ask the techbug owner, he import international set at Australia playstore.
I asked him, he said he bring in both. So I am guessing the international set is from sg & us set is from us? laugh.gif
kelvinlym
post Nov 12 2013, 05:40 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 12 2013, 10:31 AM)
Please downoad GSAM Battery Monitor and screenshot the summary page. It will contain probably all the info people need to evaluate battery life. Thanks!
I will do it.

Edit: Downloaded, cannot start. "Unfortunately, GSAM Battery Monitor has stopped." Seems like not compatible?

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: Nov 12 2013, 05:46 PM
azizulmmu99
post Nov 12 2013, 05:47 PM

32 posts

potential owner here. great discussion, i read every single page since v1. thanks
tanjinjack
post Nov 12 2013, 05:59 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 05:40 PM)
I will do it.

Edit: Downloaded, cannot start.  "Unfortunately, GSAM Battery Monitor has stopped." Seems like not compatible?
First of all, thanks a lot. Maybe it's 4.4 related problem. Maybe a reboot?
SUSSKY233
post Nov 12 2013, 06:02 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 12 2013, 04:40 PM)
Recent usage is not indicative.  This is because I've been using the phone heavier than usual due to the weekend and it's a new phone.

thumbup.gif i'm oso light surfer
Boy96
post Nov 12 2013, 07:40 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

So any indicators when will it be launched by Maxis/DiGi?
kueckcinx
post Nov 12 2013, 07:41 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 07:40 PM)
So any indicators when will it be launched by Maxis/DiGi?
currently dun have i think.. wait patiently lo rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Boy96
post Nov 12 2013, 07:47 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kueckcinx @ Nov 12 2013, 07:41 PM)
currently dun have i think.. wait patiently lo rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Kenot. My Galaxy Nexus acting up. cannot charge. need to charge via external charger which goes from empty to full in around 12 hours
kueckcinx
post Nov 12 2013, 07:49 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 07:47 PM)
Kenot. My Galaxy Nexus acting up. cannot charge. need to charge via external charger which goes from empty to full in around 12 hours
warranty gone ? so wait patiently loh smile.gif
kelvinlym
post Nov 12 2013, 07:55 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 12 2013, 10:59 AM)
First of all, thanks a lot. Maybe it's 4.4 related problem. Maybe a reboot?
Nope, reboot doesn't help. Sorry.
AaronFPS
post Nov 12 2013, 08:18 PM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 07:47 PM)
other charger also same problem?
battery problem?
Boy96
post Nov 12 2013, 08:24 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Nov 12 2013, 08:18 PM)
other charger also same problem?
battery problem?
Went to 2 repair shops both said motherboard problem.. It cannot properly detect the charge..

RM550 to repair..
djlah
post Nov 12 2013, 08:28 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 08:24 PM)
Went to 2 repair shops both said motherboard problem.. It cannot properly detect the charge..

RM550 to repair..
you really need new phone. already order? brows.gif brows.gif

Boy96
post Nov 12 2013, 09:08 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 12 2013, 08:28 PM)
you really need new phone. already order?  brows.gif  brows.gif
I want a phone with local warranty la..
kueckcinx
post Nov 12 2013, 09:12 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 09:08 PM)
I want a phone with local warranty la..
galaxy note 3 lo smile.gif
Boy96
post Nov 12 2013, 09:27 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kueckcinx @ Nov 12 2013, 09:12 PM)
galaxy note 3 lo  smile.gif
Too mainstream tongue.gif
kueckcinx
post Nov 12 2013, 09:33 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 09:27 PM)
Too mainstream  tongue.gif
den ah.. hmm.gif LG G2 suitable for u since LG less people use
LongLastFX
post Nov 12 2013, 10:53 PM

421 posts

LG G2 is good actually. Lg also promise Kitkat will arrive at LG G2 this december.
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Nov 13 2013, 12:33 AM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Nov 12 2013, 10:53 PM)
LG G2 is good actually. Lg also promise Kitkat will arrive at LG G2 this december.
Kitkat ? Now its time to consider hmm.gif
jasperpkh
post Nov 13 2013, 12:48 AM

117 posts

Smart decision ,a lot singaporeans intended to import N5 from Japan because of the LTE, the price is slightly higher than the US version
jasperpkh
post Nov 13 2013, 12:49 AM

117 posts

Ya,quite nice but dont know the price yet..
jasperpkh
post Nov 13 2013, 12:49 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 12 2013, 09:27 PM)
Too mainstream  tongue.gif
Sony xperia z1 or vertu
sunnyboy
post Nov 13 2013, 01:15 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(jasperpkh @ Nov 13 2013, 12:48 AM)
Smart decision ,a lot singaporeans intended to import N5 from Japan because of the LTE, the price is slightly higher than the US version
Me ordered an 32gb from google jp. Total damage so far is 46078yen with shipping fee included, and the forwarding company just gav me the tracking number today(12/11).

Will update n see if my unit safely reach me or not. Ems in jp reach here will be handle by poslaju. Meaning it gonna hav to go through the sticky hand of our kastam and poalaju staff.

Let's pray.
bdkbaik
post Nov 13 2013, 02:21 AM

47 posts

Me ordered an 32gb from google jp. Total damage so far is 46078yen with shipping fee included, and the forwarding company just gav me the tracking number today(12/11).

Will update n see if my unit safely reach me or not. Ems in jp reach here will be handle by poslaju. Meaning it gonna hav to go through the sticky hand of our kastam and poalaju staff.

Let's pray.

which fowarding company did you use?

This post has been edited by bdkbaik: Nov 13 2013, 02:23 AM
sunnyboy
post Nov 13 2013, 03:07 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(bdkbaik @ Nov 13 2013, 02:21 AM)
which fowarding company did you use?
Jshoppers
KoYuKii
post Nov 13 2013, 04:19 AM

1,979 posts

should i wait for local set or pre-order from local source ? this phone look interesting
AaronFPS
post Nov 13 2013, 06:37 AM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Nov 13 2013, 04:19 AM)
should i wait for local set or pre-order from local source ? this phone look interesting
Wait for local if you want warranty, but price will be higher
bdkbaik
post Nov 13 2013, 06:39 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Nov 13 2013, 03:07 AM)
Jshoppers
how you access japan playstore and understand the language?
sunnyboy
post Nov 13 2013, 07:41 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(bdkbaik @ Nov 13 2013, 06:39 AM)
how you access japan playstore and understand the language?
Get a vpn to access...to buy a nexus in jp site, simple straight click n buy only...not necessary know the language..
sleepy 1
post Nov 13 2013, 08:29 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Nov 12 2013, 01:49 PM)
Just realize you can't get tax refunds from Australian set.
-goods purchased over the Internet and imported into Australia
http://www.customs.gov.au/site/page4646.asp
9.1% gone. D:
Nice spotted.

I believe it would depend on the invoice. If the invoice shows distributed from oversea, then you cant get tax return. Or else, how could they knew whether it's order over internet or not?

I did online purchasing most of the time and haven't have single issue to claim the GST?

MsiaqweR
post Nov 13 2013, 08:46 AM

642 posts

LG main problem is
Slow updates, I believe Android 4.4 will be the last update for this phone.
Release too many flagship phones in one year like samsung.
Imagine S4 can have S600 and S800 version which will makes your phone looks obsolete at such a fast pace. Unlike HTC One, still remains the only flagship after so many months and only one variant.
Stochastic
post Nov 13 2013, 09:20 AM

124 posts

DirectD revised the price to RM1699. Should I go for it? Currently using iPhone 4s
Galaxy_Nexus
post Nov 13 2013, 09:27 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(Stochastic @ Nov 13 2013, 09:20 AM)
DirectD revised the price to RM1699. Should I go for it? Currently using iPhone 4s
if i were u i will get g2 at that price ><
LongLastFX
post Nov 13 2013, 09:35 AM

421 posts

See, LG G2 already 3month after launching. LG Malaysia still not bring in the LG G2 official for malaysia. i expecting nexus5 is later than that. laugh.gif
NightFelix
post Nov 13 2013, 09:37 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Nov 13 2013, 08:46 AM)
LG main problem is
Slow updates, I believe Android 4.4 will be the last update for this phone.
Release too many flagship phones in one year like samsung.
Imagine S4 can have S600 and S800 version which will makes your phone looks obsolete at such a fast pace. Unlike HTC One, still remains the only flagship after so many months and only one variant.
Samsung strategy is to fulfill every single of consumer need. Is like picking from A color to Z color and XXXXXS size to XXXXXXXL size. brows.gif
Racerx
post Nov 13 2013, 10:04 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

That price is not bad considering that it's supposed to have warranty,it's readily available and it's the D821 model which supports our LTE bands. smile.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 13 2013, 10:50 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Finally? Wow thats a huge drop in price.
Black Red
post Nov 13 2013, 11:03 AM

485 posts

not bad, just wondering what is the price for 32GB..
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 11:03 AM

7,723 posts

some of us still hold the horse is because the warranty support. just list out some AP comparison:
RM1699 - IPMart.com (1 year AP warranty)
RM1699 - Directd (24 months by brandstar)

obviously Directd is winner, who else I missed?
Black Red
post Nov 13 2013, 11:04 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 11:03 AM)
some of us still hold the horse is because the warranty support. just list out some AP comparison:

Directd oso mention the price is for black colour only. biggrin.gif
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 11:10 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Nov 13 2013, 11:04 AM)
Directd oso mention the price is for black colour only.  biggrin.gif
is alright, my choice is black but I want 32GB. just nice to know, anyone contact directd for white pricing? must be higher, due to popular demand.

This post has been edited by djlah: Nov 13 2013, 11:11 AM
walikard
post Nov 13 2013, 11:16 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 11:10 AM)
is alright, my choice is black but I want 32GB. just nice to know, anyone contact directd for white pricing? must be higher, due to popular demand.
Normally for white or other special colour option, they'll ask for RM50 more. Maybe the same applies to Nexus 5
jasperpkh
post Nov 13 2013, 11:24 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Nov 13 2013, 01:15 AM)

Let's pray.
Actually you have to pay for the sirim and tax in malaysian custom ,i will send to my brother who stay at sg if i import since only charge 7%only

stormlcc
post Nov 13 2013, 11:26 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

wow price not bad even though it's not yet official launch. the nexus 4 when launch almost same price.

u ask in android forum of course ppl will say get the nexus, no need to think about it.

the iphone 4s is just too old.
paul5263
post Nov 13 2013, 11:28 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 11:10 AM)
same la..directd got 16gb only..why no bring 32gb, sure will sell out very fast. i already reply in this N5 selling thread, no reply from directd so far rclxub.gif
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 11:30 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 13 2013, 11:28 AM)
same la..directd got 16gb only..why no bring 32gb, sure will sell out very fast. i already reply in this N5 selling thread, no reply from directd so far  rclxub.gif
right, someone asked too in lelong but still no reply. hopefully there is reasonable number of demand for directd, to consider offer it.
LongLastFX
post Nov 13 2013, 11:31 AM

421 posts

Just call them. they will assist u.
paul5263
post Nov 13 2013, 11:36 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 11:30 AM)
right, someone asked too in lelong but still no reply. hopefully there is reasonable number of demand for directd, to consider offer it.
yeah. not sure about the warranty, although stated 2 yrs, need to RMA or not shakehead.gif if the warranty bear by directd. l'll say shut up and take my $ rclxms.gif
whereis the love
post Nov 13 2013, 11:44 AM

2,546 posts

directd selling d821?
Andrew_1980
post Nov 13 2013, 11:50 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(whereis the love @ Nov 13 2013, 11:44 AM)
directd selling d821?
I saw them selling Nexus 5 not sure what model, 1999 sweat.gif
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 12:05 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(whereis the love @ Nov 13 2013, 11:44 AM)
directd selling d821?
QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 13 2013, 11:50 AM)
yes, source from Czech Republic, if not mistaken. revised to 1699 already.
demio121
post Nov 13 2013, 12:26 PM

2,084 posts

i'm waiting for the official LG distribution. warranty is important if anything goes south. i hope LG is not gonna do a G2 with Nexus 5.

i have fren waiting for official G2 and now chicken dropping gone cold.
stormlcc
post Nov 13 2013, 12:29 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 13 2013, 11:50 AM)
they stated in lelong is international version D821
vostro78
post Nov 13 2013, 12:35 PM

6,804 posts

directd 1699 is consider acceptable already. just dono the ap warranty which to cover and not only...but stil better then others that provide no warranty at all la.

just wondering if i trade in my gnex with nex 5 will they consider or not...
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 12:40 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 13 2013, 12:35 PM)
directd 1699 is consider acceptable already. just dono the ap warranty which to cover and not only...but stil better then others that provide no warranty at all la.

just wondering if i trade in my gnex with nex 5 will they consider or not...
you try call them directly to ask n see laugh.gif
chrono7
post Nov 13 2013, 12:52 PM

442 posts

Is it highly possible that Nexus 5 can arrive at Malaysia (local set) before CNY next year?

I am interested to get one to replace my ageing iPhone 4
infernoaswen
post Nov 13 2013, 12:57 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 13 2013, 12:05 PM)
yes, source from Czech Republic, if not mistaken. revised to 1699 already.
see nobody buys the 1999 price tag now they revise dy. Thats the way la thumbup.gif
djlah
post Nov 13 2013, 12:59 PM

7,723 posts

ok, missed 1 more:

RM1699 - Satu Gadget (2 YEARS WARRANTY)

and also found out, Superbuy want to offer LG warranty set coming soon, now asking your email for notification.
Andrew_1980
post Nov 13 2013, 01:01 PM

6,196 posts

whoa RM1699 ady shocking.gif should be worth, but better wait for official
NightFelix
post Nov 13 2013, 01:04 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(chrono7 @ Nov 13 2013, 12:52 PM)
Is it highly possible that Nexus 5 can arrive at Malaysia (local set) before CNY next year?

I am interested to get one to replace my ageing iPhone 4
No answer for your question lol.
Boy96
post Nov 13 2013, 01:13 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

LG talk crap only la promise this promise that, during LG Optimus 2X also promise to get updates, but look at it now..
kueckcinx
post Nov 13 2013, 01:15 PM

715 posts

RM1699... worth buying what thumbup.gif
Andrew_1980
post Nov 13 2013, 01:17 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(kueckcinx @ Nov 13 2013, 01:15 PM)
RM1699... worth buying what thumbup.gif
But warranty, think twice before buy. nod.gif
kueckcinx
post Nov 13 2013, 01:26 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 13 2013, 01:17 PM)
But warranty, think twice before buy. nod.gif
yea.. need wait for official LG smile.gif

warranty is a big issue if u got a Defective set doh.gif
NightFelix
post Nov 13 2013, 01:52 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Let's group an Army and start spamming at LG Malaysia Fan Pages. brows.gif
KoYuKii
post Nov 13 2013, 02:02 PM

1,979 posts

argh...hand itchy..wanna try out how 1.6k kitkat taste like
un_id
post Nov 13 2013, 02:04 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Nov 13 2013, 01:01 PM)
whoa RM1699 ady shocking.gif should be worth, but better wait for official
there is possibility official local set might be selling higher, because the price depend on LG here, not Google
Xirality
post Nov 13 2013, 02:04 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 13 2013, 01:13 PM)
LG talk crap only la promise this promise that, during LG Optimus 2X also promise to get updates, but look at it now..
LG, most people don't like them in Msia. Even HTC. Mostly want Sammy and Apple whistling.gif
Xirality
post Nov 13 2013, 02:05 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 13 2013, 02:04 PM)
there is possibility official local set might be selling higher, because the price depend on LG here, not Google
Do you think it will be higher than Nexus 4 when launch?
un_id
post Nov 13 2013, 02:07 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 13 2013, 02:05 PM)
no idea bro.. in my mind now, a wild guess, at least RM200-300+ higher than Google pricing
tanjinjack
post Nov 13 2013, 02:16 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 13 2013, 02:05 PM)
Definitely not lower than RM1,649. Considering phone price generally see a trend in price increase (Note 3 for RM2,399, iPhone 5S price hike, Lumia 1020 reaching RM2,499 etc.) AND the fact that Korean Won is stronger than it is last year (about 10% difference), maybe we will see a price bump - to RM1,699 or even a 10% bump to justify the currency conversion (that will be a sad RM1,799).
NightFelix
post Nov 13 2013, 02:27 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Maybe you guys should pray for Najib put the Chromebook and this Nexus 5 part of the 1 Malaysia Education Plan. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Andrew_1980
post Nov 13 2013, 02:31 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 13 2013, 02:27 PM)
Maybe you guys should pray for Najib put the Chromebook and this Nexus 5 part of the 1 Malaysia Education Plan. brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Impossible whistling.gif
KoYuKii
post Nov 13 2013, 02:40 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 13 2013, 02:27 PM)
Maybe you guys should pray for Najib put the Chromebook and this Nexus 5 part of the 1 Malaysia Education Plan. brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
wait long long la~~...hahaha

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1459sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:18 AM