benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 01:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:59 PM)
KLCC got LTE for Maxis . Double check with a friend working there , full LTE whole day .
I am in KLCC now n definitely there is LTE on Maxis
benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 02:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I would want a LTE version anytime. Example suddenly this morning I discover Celcom LTE was available in my town Batu Pahat when I switched on my N7 lte. No notice at all from Celcom. Download speeds at least 15k to 22k !! Telcos will be aggressively upgrading their LTE coverage these 1-2 years
I upgraded my 3g XZU to the LTE model recently even though Maxis LTE unavailable yet at my place. But the feeling of the faster download speeds is just undescribeable when I go to KL n Spore about once to twice a month.

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 8 2013, 02:35 PM
benny888
post Nov 8 2013, 03:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 8 2013, 03:00 PM)
Bro, OT a bit. Your Celcom, did you replace with new micro sim or "cut" version? Some claimed need newer sim (micro and onward) in order for LTE to work.
Celcom you need a specific 4G card from them. You cannot use a 3g card unlike Maxis whose past 2 years cards are already LTE enabled. Problem is this card based on 2 months back can only be obtained from Menara Celcom Jln Semarak or Bluecube centers at Sunway, KLCC n activation is immediate. You need call Celcom to find out whether now there is any newer centers you can get this 4G card. There is no charge for changing card. I got mine from Menara Celcom.
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 08:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Well this site summarized well the phone shortfall

http://bgr.com/2013/11/08/nexus-5-review-worst-thing/

I look forward to 3rd party battery add on casing which are excellent alternative instead of bringing along a powerbank. Extremely happy with Brando add on powercase on my XZU n even Note3.

Finally which one is suitable ( not best) for you. For me will be N5 anytime. Dump the HTC1 within a month using it

http://www.androidcentral.com/nexus-5-vs-h..._medium=twitter

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 9 2013, 08:06 AM
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 09:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

BGR's Zach Epstein counter points on what is good in the Nexus 5 after his article on the shortfalls:
I'd think price wise is more relevant in USA but over here in Malaysia don't expect LG to offer it too cheap and at best only slightly cheaper than the Sony, Samsung, HTC. This is based on their N4 released pricing

http://bgr.com/2013/11/08/nexus-5-review-best-thing/
benny888
post Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Nov 9 2013, 11:32 AM)
bro are you serious bout 500mb cant finish ?

that i think for me 1 week could finish it d
My 5gb plan just enough for me. Previously on 3gb plan n every month top up twice !! Usage depends on individual user . I used most when download firmware average 2.5gb per month on this alone. Always used phone data as is 3-5x faster than home miserable P1 network

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 9 2013, 01:18 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 09:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Unsatisfactory battery test results from gsmarena

http://blog.gsmarena.com/nexus-5-grinds-th...y-test-routine/
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 12:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 14 2013, 09:43 AM)
item.com also selling 1699 free 5 things. guess this 1699 will be maintain for sometime
Might as well pay RM100 more for 32GB international set ( D821) from techbug. This price for 16GB only for those who really cannot tahan to wait. Techbug units should be in buyer's hands by end of this month . I have ordered a 32GB black unit from him on 5 Nov. He has now in stock white 32GB ( USA set) for same price RM 1699

benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 01:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasperpkh @ Nov 14 2013, 01:09 PM)
1699 for nexus 5 is not really worth since american can get it with 349 dollars
That is subsided price from Google USA. Even if you buy direct from Google n bring it in you need to add about rm100 - 120 or courier n rm100 for Sirim permit.
You can reduce costs by buying in 3 units as the permit can cover up to 3 phones

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2013, 01:22 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 01:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasperpkh @ Nov 14 2013, 01:19 PM)
Based on my experience,100% the electronic things will kena by custom
Depend on your luck sometimes. I have import in 5 times phones from UK n USA n only twice holdup by customs n need apply sirim. The other 3 times arrived safely without package being opened
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 02:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasperpkh @ Nov 14 2013, 02:02 PM)
Assume the phone price at Rm1116 for 16gb
Shipping fees-RM100
Sirim-100 or might get lucky get through customs without being charge
Total RM1316. still 23% cheaper the only drawback is not cover under warranty only
All are correctly declared as I buy from clove uk, handtec uk n google USA. These sellers will always declare stuffs correctly. Simple fact sone msian custom officers are just lazy to do extra work holding up your stuffs. Sometimes it coukd be too much cargo in for them to check. That is why I say depend on one's luck
benny888
post Nov 14 2013, 05:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 14 2013, 04:59 PM)
ys if you believe you not going to mnp to other telco and yes again if you belileve your are will not have LTE on year 2104 .
LTE coverage expend quiet fast compare to early this year....i am refering to celcom + maxis by the way... digi TOMORO network for me is tomoro never come 1
Digi 3g/h network is bad n many areas don't even have h+. If serious intention to use mobile data network should consider change to maxis or celcom. In KL even the newer UMobile thrumps it
benny888
post Nov 15 2013, 12:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Nov 15 2013, 12:16 PM)
Thanks guys. My friend is actually bringing back two units, will the SIRIM thing be a problem? It's just for personal use anyway...
Just have box unsealed n tell custom is for personal use. I have brought in up to 2 phones without any problems. Don't try to hide it or it will be confiscated.
benny888
post Nov 16 2013, 07:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mwirs77 @ Nov 16 2013, 02:32 AM)
Just wanna update my order from Qoo10..

Today afternoon courier pick up from seller..

Tonight at 23:46 already reach sepang..

That was fast ehh.. brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Maybe tomorrow of Monday will get it..

BTW seller & phone come all the way from South Korea..
This will shutup all those sceptics about buying from him. As said earlier, I have dealed with him before 3 times and each time was smooth n easy . Best custom did not even open package.
I would buy from him again but I had committed earlier to get it from Techbug at extra rm90+ for the 32gb. But than it will cost me rm100 to apply Sirim permit if holdup at customs. So it is after all similar

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 16 2013, 07:39 AM
benny888
post Nov 19 2013, 11:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mwirs77 @ Nov 19 2013, 10:02 AM)
demm..

its look like my stuff held by kastam.. no movement since monday morning.. sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

need help here.. uncle benny.. otai.. any1 who know how to handle sirim thing.. im very far away from KL & cant do it myself..

So b4 i call Fedex regarding my stuff where i feel like they surely ask for sirim permit b4 release by kastam.. i need to ask if any1 here face same problem like me & wanna do it yourself to get sirim permit.. where we can use 3 same thing for single permit which cost RM 100.. pls pls pls pm me ASAP..

FedeX runner ask for 300.. WTF..??
FEDEX used to charge at least RM 250 to help you clear out stuffs. They can apply SIRIM permit for you too if you wish and that not sure whether any extra charge for this
Best you do it yourself at nearest Sirim Center and save the RM 300 !! Actually you should be prepared to pay RM 100 for Sirim and not to even buy it online if is inconvenient for you to apply Sirim
This is what you need to apply for Sirim permit : copy of courier arrival notice, printout of email to confirm order of the phone and any specs of the phone - printout from any web site will do
At Sirim, fill up 3 forms , pay 100 and you will get permit usually within an hour
benny888
post Nov 19 2013, 05:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 19 2013, 05:09 PM)
Hi, anyone wanna share the SIRIM PERMIT with me? I've bought my N5 from Korea and it's now held in the custom. It's better if I could find 2 person to share with me as SIRIM PERMIT charges is RM100 for 3 phones.

Or any possible way to escape from this SIRIM PERMIT? TT
Must be same phone in same shipment
benny888
post Nov 19 2013, 08:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Nov 19 2013, 07:25 PM)
So this mean the only thing i can do is just pay the sirim?
If your phone is holdup at custom, you must apply Sirim permit ( RM100) to clear it out. Exception is you know the custom officer and he close a blind eye !!
benny888
post Nov 19 2013, 08:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Nov 19 2013, 08:26 PM)
I am curious on whats the purpose.. haha..

cuz i thk if kena tahan at custom.. u still haf to pay ma rite?..
Right - what is purpose of Sirim stickers ??? Even AP sets the sellers will put on these stickers as needed by law to do so. Unless the person has a phone and he want to pass it off as a certified legal phone. But than any seller can simply just put on such stickers even if phone is brought in illegally
benny888
post Nov 19 2013, 11:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jason_x1008x @ Nov 19 2013, 11:03 PM)
1 question about LTE.
Does U-mobile prepaid provided LTE support?
U Mobile does not have LTE support n no news when they will provide such.
All other telcos prepaid does not support LTE . You must subscribed to postpaid

benny888
post Nov 22 2013, 02:08 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(tcmean @ Nov 22 2013, 11:06 AM)
Here it is: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3039715

Btw, anyone knows if only Celcom KL is able to activate LTE?
For Celcom need change to LTE specific simcard. Do it at Menara Celcom Jln Semarak or Bluecube Sunway/ KLCC n no idea whether now got any new centers to change simcard. Is free n activation is immediate

0.0479sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:51 AM