Come and post your pictures of those beloved guppies. No longkang guppies okay!
Any guppy fans here?, come come come
Nov 18 2006, 08:42 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
245 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Come and post your pictures of those beloved guppies. No longkang guppies okay!
Nov 19 2006, 03:51 AM
664 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
wat u mean "longkaohu" ahhh? sigh, "paiseh" lo, how u define the "longkaohu" ahh? my one just red and blue tux nia wow, post urs la, fast fast fast, cant wait to c
Nov 19 2006, 01:06 PM
2,105 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Malaysia |
I love guppies, hve a few of them, attached ,my current aquarium and some
guppy shots...these hve been with me past 2 months, some hve died after birth ande some are the kids of the previous ones.... ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 19 2006, 01:08 PM |
Nov 19 2006, 01:08 PM
Nov 19 2006, 01:12 PM
308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar Ikan Patin |
haha longkang guppy ... they dun hav nice colors ... very plain color ...
Nov 19 2006, 01:14 PM
Nov 19 2006, 01:17 PM
Nov 19 2006, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 19 2006, 03:51 AM) wat u mean "longkaohu" ahhh? sigh, "paiseh" lo, how u define the "longkaohu" ahh? my one just red and blue tux nia wow, post urs la, fast fast fast, cant wait to c Longkang guppies are the ones where you can find in longkangs and streams or ponds. They have very faint colours (yellow, orange, small blue dots) and the male is smaller compared to the 'nice' guppies. |
Nov 19 2006, 02:15 PM
hahaha, urs one is mosaic species ahh?? did u join
http://www.myguppy.net/guppy/ ? i am there la, can c me there too |
Nov 19 2006, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 19 2006, 02:15 PM) hahaha, urs one is mosaic species ahh?? did u join The forum is in chinese larr, wat abt those of us who dont speak orhttp://www.myguppy.net/guppy/ ? i am there la, can c me there too hve the software? thanks anyways.... |
Nov 19 2006, 11:36 PM
icic, nvm, then we can talk about guppy here, anything about guppy, but y only a few of us here ahh?? where the rest??????
Nov 19 2006, 11:51 PM
308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar Ikan Patin |
is it possible to set up a tank without any oxygen pump 4 guppies?
juz put more live plant in water ok already? |
Nov 20 2006, 01:43 AM
2,104 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
hi...wanna ask how long normally a guppie will live?..and how to breed guppie ar?..
Nov 20 2006, 04:11 AM
7,671 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 20 2006, 04:11 AM
i've been finding this guppy thread for a long time
finally there's one so let's start discussing about guppies! thanks, thread-starter for starting this thread |
Nov 20 2006, 04:13 AM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 20 2006, 01:43 AM) according to people, they say guppies have a short lifehow long do they live, i can't really answer that to breed, you need males & females, of course live plants will be needed too so that they can hide and lay their eggs the more the merrier, that's what i heard from people |
Nov 20 2006, 10:43 AM
1,532 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
the amount they give birth is nothing compared to how long they live....i once "save" a few longkang guppies and put it into the pond...then the next thing i knew it multiplied X500.and it was fun catching it.because of the amount they have grown into; we have no choice but to burry them under ground wherelse my sis chicken had a great time catching em by herself from the pond to eat!!:0 i love guppies..very peaceful fish.i wonder where to find very good quality ones?
Nov 20 2006, 10:48 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 20 2006, 04:13 AM) according to people, they say guppies have a short life Erm... guppies don't lay eggs lah.....how long do they live, i can't really answer that to breed, you need males & females, of course live plants will be needed too so that they can hide and lay their eggs the more the merrier, that's what i heard from people |
Nov 20 2006, 02:31 PM
3,043 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Heheh... I can second that. Guppies are live bearers! No eggs to hide.
Leafy live plants or rocks cover are still needed for the babies to hide. The adults do eat their little ones. RB |
Nov 20 2006, 02:37 PM
1,739 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: somewhere |
can give more details on how to rare guppies?
im interested. |
Nov 20 2006, 02:42 PM
You mean rear? Well I am no expert and I only have regular guppies, not any rare types. I didn't have to do anything other than provide a good home (mine is a 29 gallon tank), food, correct temperature, live plants, regular water change, etc. Before too long, I have so many that I stopped counting!
RB |
Nov 20 2006, 02:48 PM
1,739 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: somewhere |
i mean rear. not rare....my fingers just went on and type the word that wasnt in my mind...
Nov 20 2006, 10:56 PM
hi guys, aqua plant is good for guppy, but plants wil release some protein to the water after the process fotosintesis, so if u notice there wil b a layer of oil like floating on top surface of water, if u dont hv a surface skimmer, then just put in 1 or 2 black molly fish, and if u wan to hv babies guppies, then make sure u hv a lot plants inside the tank, the ratio for male : female the best is 2 male : 1 female. if u just keep for fun, then any breed wil do, but if u r a beginer, then i suggest u dont go for the red eye / albino red eye species, they r quite hard to handle bcos they cant really see! if u mix with other fish/types, then they wil always kena bully. any fish food or bloodworm is good enug for them. if u wan to hv nice plant tank, then make sure u hv a lamp with at least 6000K full spectrum n water temperature keep to around 25-26C. just to share my basic knowledge, anyone kno mandarin n interest to learn more can join the site i recommend. peace
Nov 21 2006, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 20 2006, 10:48 AM) sorry sorrymy mind used to think that fishes lay eggs how did you all maintain the babies? how to feed them? anyone moved the babies after the mother finish giving birth? or when you all see signs of giving birth, then shift the mother to another tank? QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 20 2006, 02:42 PM) You mean rear? Well I am no expert and I only have regular guppies, not any rare types. I didn't have to do anything other than provide a good home (mine is a 29 gallon tank), food, correct temperature, live plants, regular water change, etc. Before too long, I have so many that I stopped counting! i'm still wondering, how to measure how many gallon my tank is?RB mind to advise? thank you |
Nov 21 2006, 02:39 AM
hi..i am thinking of setting up a tank for guppy...wondering if i replace the real plant with the plastic one..izzit ok?..the guppy will breed ar?...and do i need to put any black water or ketapang leave?..oh ya..one more thing..if the tank didnt have pump..izzit ok ar?
Nov 21 2006, 03:56 AM
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 21 2006, 01:36 AM) sorry sorry 1 cubic feet = 7.48051945 US gallonsmy mind used to think that fishes lay eggs how did you all maintain the babies? how to feed them? anyone moved the babies after the mother finish giving birth? or when you all see signs of giving birth, then shift the mother to another tank? i'm still wondering, how to measure how many gallon my tank is? mind to advise? thank you Measure: (Length x width x depth) x 7.48051945 = size of tank in gallons. If you want to keep all the babies safe, I would suggest moving it to another tank or buy those baby nets that you can keep the babies in the same tank but in the suspended net so the adults can't eat them. This will also keep them safe from being sucked by filtration systems and such if you have them in your tanks. QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 21 2006, 02:39 AM) hi..i am thinking of setting up a tank for guppy...wondering if i replace the real plant with the plastic one..izzit ok?..the guppy will breed ar?...and do i need to put any black water or ketapang leave?..oh ya..one more thing..if the tank didnt have pump..izzit ok ar? Plastic plants is fine but real plants always looks better. Black water? Hmm... I'm a little lost by that term. I think you mean brackish water. For me, I just use regular tap water that is dechlorinated either by dechlorination solution or by leaving it for a few days in a clean bucket each time I do a water change. The guppies seem to do fine.Air pumps improve water circulation. For babies in a separate temporary tank, you will be fine without a pump. I would strongly suggest having a filtration system and live plants in your main tank. I do not use air pumps after I moved to having live plants in my tanks. Believe it or not, I actually make my own carbon dioxide to pump in the water rather than having an air pump. Plants release oxygen for fish, I release CO2 for plants. RB |
Nov 21 2006, 08:39 AM
ic ic...but normally real plant will always die faster right?..unlike plastic one..i think around few weeks d need to change lor..and which one is better for breeding guppy ar?
This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 21 2006, 08:57 AM |
Nov 21 2006, 09:42 AM
677 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bangi |
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 20 2006, 10:56 PM) hi guys, aqua plant is good for guppy, but plants wil release some protein to the water after the process fotosintesis, so if u notice there wil b a layer of oil like floating on top surface of water, if u dont hv a surface skimmer, then just put in 1 or 2 black molly fish, and if u wan to hv babies guppies, then make sure u hv a lot plants inside the tank, the ratio for male : female the best is 2 male : 1 female. if u just keep for fun, then any breed wil do, but if u r a beginer, then i suggest u dont go for the red eye / albino red eye species, they r quite hard to handle bcos they cant really see! if u mix with other fish/types, then they wil always kena bully. any fish food or bloodworm is good enug for them. if u wan to hv nice plant tank, then make sure u hv a lamp with at least 6000K full spectrum n water temperature keep to around 25-26C. just to share my basic knowledge, anyone kno mandarin n interest to learn more can join the site i recommend. peace why black molly fish? do they eat the protein?QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 21 2006, 01:36 AM) sorry sorry if lazy or forget how to count, i always use this websitemy mind used to think that fishes lay eggs how did you all maintain the babies? how to feed them? anyone moved the babies after the mother finish giving birth? or when you all see signs of giving birth, then shift the mother to another tank? i'm still wondering, how to measure how many gallon my tank is? mind to advise? thank you http://www.fishlore.com/ConversionCalculator.htm QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 21 2006, 08:39 AM) ic ic...but normally real plant will always die faster right?..unlike plastic one..i think around few weeks d need to change lor..and which one is better for breeding guppy ar? thats because your aquarium does not have the necessary requirements for a planted aquarium (lights, co2, fertilizer, etc). maybe you can just purchase does easy plants like java ferns, anubias, and some floating plants |
Nov 21 2006, 09:55 AM
thanx for all the answer...
Nov 21 2006, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 21 2006, 08:39 AM) ic ic...but normally real plant will always die faster right?..unlike plastic one..i think around few weeks d need to change lor..and which one is better for breeding guppy ar? I am sure there are certain plants that die very easily or do not have a long life. I am not sure what I have but they grow steadily to replace the ones that get old and wither away. Start with some easy ones. You can find loads of information on the Internet.Sayasebuk is right. You need the right ingredients for the plant to thrive. Enough light for the right length in a day, enough CO2 and O2, the plants in my aquarium greened up and grew strong. I buy some regular tablet form plant food but I find a proper amount of CO2 and light works easily. RB This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 21 2006, 11:05 AM |
Nov 21 2006, 11:16 AM
39 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i have a guppy that it's tail is larger than the fish, and damn long the fish plus the tail, around 4 -5 cm
Nov 21 2006, 11:50 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
male to female ratio 1:3
lotsa plants, make sure filter don't suck in the babies. kau tim - recipe for rearing / breeding. and i wish my aquaria site is still up, there's a calculator there. unfortunately some complications in payment resulted it being down and i some how didn't have the source files with me (old HDD, died, didn't backup). |
Nov 21 2006, 01:19 PM
Hmm.. this inspires me to try again. 1 question.... I think my aquarium is contaminated... well, now no fish lah coz once I bought 10 guppies... all died in 1 week.... my uncle said it could be contaminated so he advice to wash the whole tank with mild bleach... got any better way to do it? How about the gravel? Wash with bleach also? I am guessing it could be the filter coz it has been running for 5 years already..... those cheap rm20 fliters... should change right?
Nov 21 2006, 01:21 PM
i have 3 Kois living in another of my mini "kong"'s beside my fish "kong", last time i use to put it wif the guppies and it ate the poor guppies, juz a few of them, then now after a few months the Kois are about 3-4 times the size of the mid aged guppies
Nov 21 2006, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 21 2006, 01:19 PM) Hmm.. this inspires me to try again. 1 question.... I think my aquarium is contaminated... well, now no fish lah coz once I bought 10 guppies... all died in 1 week.... my uncle said it could be contaminated so he advice to wash the whole tank with mild bleach... got any better way to do it? How about the gravel? Wash with bleach also? I am guessing it could be the filter coz it has been running for 5 years already..... those cheap rm20 fliters... should change right? during the first 3 days i think u shud bot feed the guppies, let the guppies know the place first, then oni start feeding it, another cause maybe becuz of the contaminated thing lor |
Nov 21 2006, 01:34 PM
any suggestions for DIY Co2? My tank posted in first page, hve
gone to a few shops, cheapest abt RM85/-....thanks |
Nov 21 2006, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(HaM7 @ Nov 21 2006, 01:23 PM) during the first 3 days i think u shud bot feed the guppies, let the guppies know the place first, then oni start feeding it, another cause maybe becuz of the contaminated thing lor Nah, I didn't feed the guppies so soon. I'm just curious as to why they died and can the tank and gravel be cleaned with bleach or not. I scared bleach may kill new fishes if there is any residue.. Is there any other way to clean everything? Now my tank running with water for 2 months liao... no fish... sounds like waterfall in my living room coz dun wanna make the water calm to attract mozzies hahhah... |
Nov 21 2006, 01:56 PM
then liddat i dunno bout u
Nov 21 2006, 02:02 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 21 2006, 01:19 PM) Hmm.. this inspires me to try again. 1 question.... I think my aquarium is contaminated... well, now no fish lah coz once I bought 10 guppies... all died in 1 week.... my uncle said it could be contaminated so he advice to wash the whole tank with mild bleach... got any better way to do it? How about the gravel? Wash with bleach also? I am guessing it could be the filter coz it has been running for 5 years already..... those cheap rm20 fliters... should change right? what was previously in the tank?and why would you want to bleach your tank, gravel and such. cos if it was running all these years, then the helpful bacterias are ready there. fish don't die so easily, but without detailed information on your tank it's difficult to advice the course of action. filter yes, of course must change but then it's not so bad until can kill off 10 guppies in 1 week. if could be the guppies being bad stock. it could be that they were stressed in some way. there's many other factors to consider, not just "contaminated" tank. perhaps you can ask your uncle why he said it was possibly contaminated. |
Nov 21 2006, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 21 2006, 02:02 PM) what was previously in the tank? I used to have ranchus... but they didn't last long, 3 years they lasted, were my dad's fish... then I switched to Gold Severums and gouramis.... kept a few years till I decided to get an oscar..... then my oscar lasted only a few weeks coz got hole in the head... treatment didn't work properly loh then I thought ok lah, stop for now, clean everything and let the water run.... after run a month, I put some guppies... then 1 by 1 died... so sad... and why would you want to bleach your tank, gravel and such. cos if it was running all these years, then the helpful bacterias are ready there. fish don't die so easily, but without detailed information on your tank it's difficult to advice the course of action. filter yes, of course must change but then it's not so bad until can kill off 10 guppies in 1 week. if could be the guppies being bad stock. it could be that they were stressed in some way. there's many other factors to consider, not just "contaminated" tank. perhaps you can ask your uncle why he said it was possibly contaminated. In the tank there is no plants... just gravel. Funny, I can manage to keep a 1ft mini tank with plants and fishes alive for 1 year and still growing but my 2ft tank always die.... I think I will change the pump and the hanging filter and try again.... |
Nov 21 2006, 02:25 PM
Shots of my current guppies, sorry for the pic quality, used my mobilephone
![]() have about 5 females and 6 males with about 20ish babies..will try to take shots of the babies and pos it soon...they ar enow hiding in the trees... |
Nov 21 2006, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 21 2006, 01:19 PM) Hmm.. this inspires me to try again. 1 question.... I think my aquarium is contaminated... well, now no fish lah coz once I bought 10 guppies... all died in 1 week.... my uncle said it could be contaminated so he advice to wash the whole tank with mild bleach... got any better way to do it? How about the gravel? Wash with bleach also? I am guessing it could be the filter coz it has been running for 5 years already..... those cheap rm20 fliters... should change right? Hmm... I am not sure about bleach but I think the residual will be as harmful to your fishes. Here is what I will do. Pour all the water away. Clean the tank with clean water. The most I would use might be some mild dishwasing detergent. Be sure to rinse it out properly. Spread the gravel onto a tarp and wash with clean water too. Let it dry really well under the sun. Set your tank back up with the gravel with new water after. Don't put fishes in there yet so tap water will be fine.I would buy or use a filtration system where I can get a used filter of the same size from someone else - friends or local fish store that is from a healthy clean tank. Use that filter on your filtration system. Why use this? A used filter will contain all the proper bacteria that is needed to jumpstart your tank. Quicker than waiting for it to develop naturally. Eg. break down ammonia, etc. When I start a new tank, the water is always not clear but don't worry about this. Let it sit for a min of 3 to 4 weeks. Change the water like normal. You can look up the frequency to change water based on size of tank. I do a water change every fortnight on my 29 gallon tank. As the water clears up, I would start with some hardy fish (fish that do not die easily) like 4 or 5 Albino Corydoras and just let them be in the tank for another 2 to 3 weeks before adding other fishes. QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 21 2006, 01:34 PM) any suggestions for DIY Co2? My tank posted in first page, hve Here is what I have used:gone to a few shops, cheapest abt RM85/-....thanks - 2 liter coke bottle - tubings that is smaller than the coke bottle cap (~5mm) - airstone - super glue - knife - yeast I cut a hole that is just a tad smaller than the tubing diameter on the center of the coke bottle cap. Stick the tubing through and apply superglue around the hole to seal it properly. Attach the airstone to the other end which you will set to the bottom of your tank. You can do without the airstone if you don't have one. I just stick my tubing under a decorative stone to hold it down. Mix half a cup of yeast and a cup of sugar with warm water. Stir to mix it evenly. Let it sit for about a minute or two and then pour it into your coke bottle. Add more water to fill the coke bottle about slightly below 2/3 full. The yeast should start producing CO2 in a day or so. The measurement above are subject to change. Experiment with it. I did it a few times before I found the right amount of yeast and water. Quality of yeast will also affect the production of CO2 so do a trial and error until you find the correct amount of what you need. I am sure there are better methods out there but I find this to be very cost effective. You get to enjoy your coca cola or favorite beverage before using it! Just a word of caution. If you use an adjustable valve to control the release of CO2, be aware that you may have an exploding bottle on your hand if it produces too much CO2!! Do at your own risk! Good luck. RB This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 21 2006, 11:07 PM |
Nov 21 2006, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 21 2006, 02:39 PM) Here is what I have used: many thanks bro, but since u said it can explode, dont think I will be experementing or fermenting anything soon, i hve kids at home, and their- 2 liter coke bottle - tubings that is smaller than the coke bottle cap (~5mm) - airstone - super glue - knife - yeast I cut a hole that is just a tad smaller than the tubing diameter on the center of the coke bottle cap. Stick the tubing through and apply superglue around the hole to seal it properly. Attach the airstone to the other end which you will set to the bottom of your tank. You can do without the airstone if you don't have one. I just stick my tubing under a decorative stone to hold it down. Mix half a cup of yeast with warm water. Stir to mix it evenly. Let it sit for about a minute or two and then pour it into your coke bottle. Add more water to fill the coke bottle about slightly below 2/3 full. The yeast should start producing CO2 in a day or so. The measurement above are subject to change. Experiment with it. I did it a few times before I found the right amount of yeast and water. Quality of yeast will also affect the production of CO2 so do a trial and error until you find the correct amount of what you need. I am sure there are better methods out there but I find this to be very cost effective. You get to enjoy your coca cola or favorite beverage before using it! Just a word of caution. If you use an adjustable valve to control the release of CO2, be aware that you may have an exploding bottle on your hand if it produces too much CO2!! Do at your own risk! Good luck. RB safety is my utmost priority, really appreciate your help and info, THANK YOU This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 21 2006, 02:53 PM |
Nov 21 2006, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 21 2006, 02:52 PM) many thanks bro, but since u said it can explode, dont think I will be experementing or fermenting anything soon, i hve kids at home, and their My caution was if you use a valve to control the released of CO2. Just don't use a valve then. However, this may cause too much CO2 in your tank if it released too much. If this is the case, just take the tubing out of the tank. Once you try it a few times, you will find that you can get the right mixture. safety is my utmost priority, really appreciate your help and info, THANK YOU I have used it on a 10 gallon and 29 gallon tank. I have never owned any other sizes. I'm too lazy to go measure it now but I am sure the volume will give you an idea. RB This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 21 2006, 02:57 PM |
Nov 21 2006, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 21 2006, 02:56 PM) My caution was if you use a valve to control the released of CO2. Just don't use a valve then. However, this may cause too much CO2 in your tank if it released too much. If this is the case, just take the tubing out of the tank. Once you try it a few times, you will find that you can get the right mixture. again THANK YOU for your help and uidance, really imformative.I have used it on a 10 gallon and 29 gallon tank. I have never owned any other sizes. I'm too lazy to go measure it now but I am sure the volume will give you an idea. RB My current tank is nice (sendiri puji) but my plants tend's to die off in a week or so, so was told to hve C02....thats my only reaosn...and i like to see my guppies "happy" with so many plants, but tired of buying them on and off..sum of the babies tends to die off...sigghh |
Nov 21 2006, 06:55 PM
Nov 21 2006, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 21 2006, 02:39 PM) Hmm... I am not sure about bleach but I think the residual will be as harmful to your fishes. Here is what I will do. Pour all the water away. Clean the tank with clean water. The most I would use might be some mild dishwasing detergent. Be sure to rinse it out properly. Spread the gravel onto a tarp and wash with clean water too. Let it dry really well under the sun. Set your tank back up with the gravel with new water after. Don't put fishes in there yet so tap water will be fine. Wah... detailed! Wuuu... thanks... Corydoras are hardy? Didn't know...I would buy or use a filtration system where I can get a used filter of the same size from someone else - friends or local fish store that is from a healthy clean tank. Use that filter on your filtration system. Why use this? A used filter will contain all the proper bacteria that is needed to jumpstart your tank. Quicker than waiting for it to develop naturally. Eg. break down ammonia, etc. When I start a new tank, the water is always not clear but don't worry about this. Let it sit for a min of 3 to 4 weeks. Change the water like normal. You can look up the frequency to change water based on size of tank. I do a water change every fortnight on my 29 gallon tank. As the water clears up, I would start with some hardy fish (fish that do not die easily) like 4 or 5 Albino Corydoras and just let them be in the tank for another 2 to 3 weeks before adding other fishes. Here is what I have used: - 2 liter coke bottle - tubings that is smaller than the coke bottle cap (~5mm) - airstone - super glue - knife - yeast I cut a hole that is just a tad smaller than the tubing diameter on the center of the coke bottle cap. Stick the tubing through and apply superglue around the hole to seal it properly. Attach the airstone to the other end which you will set to the bottom of your tank. You can do without the airstone if you don't have one. I just stick my tubing under a decorative stone to hold it down. Mix half a cup of yeast with warm water. Stir to mix it evenly. Let it sit for about a minute or two and then pour it into your coke bottle. Add more water to fill the coke bottle about slightly below 2/3 full. The yeast should start producing CO2 in a day or so. The measurement above are subject to change. Experiment with it. I did it a few times before I found the right amount of yeast and water. Quality of yeast will also affect the production of CO2 so do a trial and error until you find the correct amount of what you need. I am sure there are better methods out there but I find this to be very cost effective. You get to enjoy your coca cola or favorite beverage before using it! Just a word of caution. If you use an adjustable valve to control the release of CO2, be aware that you may have an exploding bottle on your hand if it produces too much CO2!! Do at your own risk! Good luck. RB |
Nov 21 2006, 09:19 PM
Nov 21 2006, 09:21 PM
Nov 21 2006, 10:11 PM
hi guys, about the diy co2, u can refer this link if u r interested to make one, sorry i dont kno how to copy n post the thing here, so i just post the url: http://www.plantedtank.net/articles/DIY-Yeast-CO2/7/
hope this wil help for guppy no need black water n ketapang leave, u r not keeping bettas, i myself is a wildbetta keeper, guppy dont need this. for aquatic plant, plz refer this link: http://www.plantedtank.net/plants.php , if u r beginer, plz go for the plant tat stated overall difficulty: easy. sayasebuk: rm85 is the small one right? its not suitable for 2' tank, tats for minitank one. yes, everytime u finish the gas then u need to refill, just go any shop tat refill the fire distinguisher shop wil do aldi, as long as it is co2. if u sakit hati with money, then diy la, save money ma just to share the info, peace |
Nov 21 2006, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 21 2006, 09:19 PM) it was a small Co2 tank thingy wit a 1 month supply of "CO2" to be replinished Wow... expensive to replendish. I buy packets of yeast from grocery store for 50cents a pack.every month at a cost of RM20/- a pack QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 21 2006, 09:21 PM) bro, IF you cld, can you post how your CO2 setup, how it looks like, I don't have one to show at this moment. See the link provided by jaspery27 above. Very similar. My tank currently have enough Corydoras and Guppies so I have not made a new diy CO2 setup. The plants are not as green as before. I have been spending more time with my puppy than on my aquarium these days. just need an idea IF i do go ahead with it, advance thanks. RB This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 21 2006, 11:12 PM |
Nov 22 2006, 12:45 AM
Forum Admin
later i'll post some guppy tank pics of mine.
Nov 22 2006, 10:12 AM
me too.......
Nov 22 2006, 12:39 PM
Well I tried to take some pictures of mine but they keep swimming around after I zoomed in on them.
RB |
Nov 22 2006, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 21 2006, 10:11 PM) THANK YOU for the informative url, appreciated... QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 21 2006, 11:11 PM) Wow... expensive to replendish. I buy packets of yeast from grocery store for 50cents a pack. yes i know, its expensive, that why i wanted to DIY, so looks like will go aheadI don't have one to show at this moment. See the link provided by jaspery27 above. Very similar. My tank currently have enough Corydoras and Guppies so I have not made a new diy CO2 setup. The plants are not as green as before. I have been spending more time with my puppy than on my aquarium these days. RB with my project later this weekend, how many guppies you have now? tank size? |
Nov 22 2006, 01:08 PM
hehehehehehe, my guppy tank nvm provide any co2 too, but the plants r doing well, if u guys dont wan to waste money on co2, then diy la, or like me, go for the fern types plants, easy to grow, minimum light, no need co2 ( if u hv fish inside), ferterlizer i use JBL brand (its up to u la), fern like java or singapore moss just nice for those lazy ppl like me lo
Nov 22 2006, 01:11 PM
I got hit with some illness and now left with 8 guppies, 4 Albino Corydoras, 1 Corydoras Melanistus and some snails in a 29 gallon tank.
I also have 2 goldfish in a 10 gallon tank. The two goldfishes have been with me for about 4 to 5 years now. Before that, it belongs to a friend of mine who gave it to me after he moved. The goldfishes are estimated at about 9 or 10 years old now! [edit] Here's what I use for plant food. Just some regular ones I found at a small local pet store. RB This post has been edited by RedBox: Nov 22 2006, 01:21 PM |
Nov 22 2006, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 22 2006, 01:08 PM) hehehehehehe, my guppy tank nvm provide any co2 too, but the plants r doing well, if u guys dont wan to waste money on co2, then diy la, or like me, go for the fern types plants, easy to grow, minimum light, no need co2 ( if u hv fish inside), ferterlizer i use JBL brand (its up to u la), fern like java or singapore moss just nice for those lazy ppl like me lo Bro,I hve considered C02 DIY as recommended by bro RB, below is my tank, think its abt 10gallons, hve considered Java Moss, but dont know how much to buy as most shops sell by "weight" or palm size and cost abt RM10/- to RM12/- a pc. so am curently torn between CO2 bomb, as am not a scientist, or a being a normal lazy guy and getting moss.....advise pls?? ![]() |
Nov 22 2006, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 22 2006, 01:11 PM) I got hit with some illness and now left with 8 guppies, 4 Albino Corydoras, 1 Corydoras Melanistus and some snails in a 29 gallon tank. ouch, had the same problem wit sum snails, whihc turned out to be millions... I also have 2 goldfish in a 10 gallon tank. The two goldfishes have been with me for about 4 to 5 years now. Before that, it belongs to a friend of mine who gave it to me after he moved. The goldfishes are estimated at about 9 or 10 years old now! RB |
Nov 22 2006, 04:30 PM
Nov 22 2006, 06:51 PM
Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM
puffer is a carnivore le, dont mix with small fish.
mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? guys: my red guppies just delivered babies |
Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM
Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails!
I did buy a snail remover/killer solution but to no avail. When I get home, I'll post some pictures of the snail remover solution. If I can, I'll take some close up of what I think are snail eggs too if when I find them. Pesky little things. I know they provide benefits to a tank but boy... they produce too fast for my liking! QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 22 2006, 02:04 PM) Bro, Get some plants that are tolerant to low CO2 then. Do a search on the Internet, you will find information on these. I still find that some CO2 will allow the plants to grow much stronger. I can tell a difference when I stopped providing CO2 in my tank. I hve considered C02 DIY as recommended by bro RB, below is my tank, think its abt 10gallons, hve considered Java Moss, but dont know how much to buy as most shops sell by "weight" or palm size and cost abt RM10/- to RM12/- a pc. so am curently torn between CO2 bomb, as am not a scientist, or a being a normal lazy guy and getting moss.....advise pls?? ![]() Speaking of, after discussing diy CO2 here, I am going to start my CO2 production again. Bought my 'coca cola' 2liter bottle already. QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM) puffer is a carnivore le, dont mix with small fish. Congratulations on the new guppy babies! mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? guys: my red guppies just delivered babies |
Nov 22 2006, 10:57 PM
People wanna get rid of snails... but I want snails hahah.... coz they eat up my algea.
Nov 23 2006, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Nov 22 2006, 09:48 PM) puffer is a carnivore le, dont mix with small fish. yes they are, dats why i decided against them, the pet shop i normally go to, mydelsol: ur tank only a few plants nia, need co2 meh?? guys: my red guppies just delivered babies recommended a snail remover, but atlast, removed more then my snails, cialat only, too much it killed eveything in my tank..... jus bought more plants and a Co2 tank, sigh, sorry brothers coudlnt help it, am weak when it comes to gadgets hehehehehe....btw, congrats on the babies... QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM) Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails! just bought a C02 tank last nite, with more plants and a piece of Java Moss,Get some plants that are tolerant to low CO2 then. Do a search on the Internet, you will find information on these. I still find that some CO2 will allow the plants to grow much stronger. I can tell a difference when I stopped providing CO2 in my tank. Congratulations on the new guppy babies! will post pics during lunch time....cost me RM35/- wit a 1 1/2 mth supply of C02....also bought some Neon Tetra's, (my son insisted on "I wan da brue karer pish, prisss daddyyy....so nice wannnn)...siigghhhh.... to later.... |
Nov 23 2006, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 22 2006, 06:51 PM) yes i was told but also the might eat my other fishes in the tank, so decided against it, but mana tau, the meds were too strong, killed everything in sight thanks anyways... QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 22 2006, 10:44 PM) Well let me tell you, I have given up trying to get rid of the snails! i've had several incidents of snail outbreaks. i've used two techniques and they both worked marvelously. first method was to put a slice of cucumber or lettuce. after 1 day snails will gather at the vegetable. take out the vegetable, remove the snails and put it back. this will take 1 week for you to remove all the snailsI did buy a snail remover/killer solution but to no avail. When I get home, I'll post some pictures of the snail remover solution. If I can, I'll take some close up of what I think are snail eggs too if when I find them. Pesky little things. I know they provide benefits to a tank but boy... they produce too fast for my liking! the second and most efficient way is to get a DWARF puffer. One is enough. i've never had any incident of it attacking my other fish. but make sure buy the DWARF puffer, not the bigger ones. Dwarf puffers themselves are even much much smaller than guppies or even neon tetras. |
Nov 23 2006, 12:14 PM
Nov 23 2006, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 22 2006, 10:57 PM) dont think u really need them, its really bad, honestly....once kenaspread like wild fire...very hard to remove... btw, these are the "new" pics of my tank after visiting the pet shop with the family lastnite:- bought 1x C02, 15x Neon Tetras, 1xJava Moss, 3 Female Guppies and 3x Plants cost RM85/-, priceless ![]() ![]() below pic of C02 cannister and after set-up in tank ![]() This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 23 2006, 12:27 PM |
Nov 23 2006, 01:28 PM
Nice pics. Thanks for sharing!
RB |
Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM
360 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods...
what am i suppose to do? |
Nov 23 2006, 07:59 PM
ermm..mayb they havent feel comfartable with the new enviroment gua..
anyone selling nice and healthy guppy here?...thinking of setting one more tank for guppy.. This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 23 2006, 08:17 PM |
Nov 23 2006, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 23 2006, 07:59 PM) ermm..mayb they havent feel comfartable with the new enviroment gua.. my guppies did try to eat the foods....anyone selling nice and healthy guppy here?...thinking of setting one more tank for guppy.. but then after seconds they threw out all the foods from their mouth the fish food is new.... |
Nov 23 2006, 08:37 PM
810 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
ur fish food is as of wat kind? flakes is small and more suitable for guppies i wud say...
Nov 23 2006, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Nov 23 2006, 01:28 PM) Nice pics. Thanks for sharing! thanks, the place i go to, tmn megah in PJ is called My Pet World carries abt 3 types of Tetras, Blue, Green and Silver i think, blue is RM1/- Green at RM2/- forgot abt the silver price RB QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM) I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods...what am i suppose to do? dude, sometimes they are not "used" the to new envorinment, so give it a daybefore feeding, or look at my pic above, am feeding them guppy food pellets, rally tiny ones mixed with flakes, works well... |
Nov 23 2006, 11:14 PM
Yeah, feed flakes. Easier for the guppies to eat.
RB |
Nov 23 2006, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 23 2006, 09:45 PM) thanks, the place i go to, tmn megah in PJ is called My Pet World carries abt 3 types of Tetras, Blue, Green and Silver i think, blue is RM1/- Green at RM2/- forgot abt the silver price cant see the pic clearly... how tiny is the food pellets? dude, sometimes they are not "used" the to new envorinment, so give it a day before feeding, or look at my pic above, am feeding them guppy food pellets, rally tiny ones mixed with flakes, works well... like powder? |
Nov 24 2006, 12:05 AM
hehehe, i feed my guppies bloodworm, then the male more ummmhhh ma,
neon tetra better get bigger one, small one very easy to xxx one, put some aqua plants in the tank to calm the guppies, they like plants. just share info, correct me if wrong, peace |
Nov 24 2006, 12:44 AM
i also fed my fish with bloodworm...for me it is better than those fish food in the market coz it is natural ma
Nov 24 2006, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 11:50 PM) really really tiny the "biji" very small, fits exactly into the Guppy & Tetra mouths as so far my guppies ok lar can "tahan" the pellets & falkes I hve been feeding them, so goes for the tetras, fast lil'buggers, sometimes "steal" food frm the guppies This post has been edited by mydelsol: Nov 24 2006, 09:09 AM |
Nov 24 2006, 11:52 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 23 2006, 07:19 PM) I bought 5 guppies from pasar malam yesterday... but they dont want to eat the fish foods... firstly - you don't know how's their condition before you purchased, they could already be stressed silly already.what am i suppose to do? secondly - after purchase, how did you place them into your tank? did you just dump them in and on the lights straight away? |
Nov 24 2006, 03:29 PM
Nov 24 2006, 07:41 PM
499 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Nov 24 2006, 10:45 PM
Nov 24 2006, 10:51 PM
Nov 24 2006, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 24 2006, 11:52 AM) firstly - you don't know how's their condition before you purchased, they could already be stressed silly already. No, i didnt dump them in. i put the whole plastic bag in the aquarium for 30 minutes and the opened it to let them swam out of the plastic bag slowly.secondly - after purchase, how did you place them into your tank? did you just dump them in and on the lights straight away? i don't use light. nevermind, all my guppies survive and are now in good conditions. they are eating the foods now.. |
Nov 25 2006, 10:37 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: keh-el |
Hi to all guppy fans.. I've just started rearing guppy last week.. and found this thread..
there is a few questions that i would like to ask the experts out there.. 1) I plan to put plants into my tank, but only the kind of plants that is easy to take care. read about java moss. Recomended?? 2) Normally where to get this aquatic plants? |
Nov 25 2006, 11:32 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 24 2006, 11:55 PM) No, i didnt dump them in. i put the whole plastic bag in the aquarium for 30 minutes and the opened it to let them swam out of the plastic bag slowly. glad to hear that. i don't use light. nevermind, all my guppies survive and are now in good conditions. they are eating the foods now.. |
Dec 4 2006, 11:58 PM
14 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hi all
i was wondering www.myguppy.net got english version.. i notice it is all in chinese and i can't read.. and i happen to know that this forum is more popular than other forums. anyone can help ? it's a waste if i don't join that forum.. |
Dec 5 2006, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(MisterStan @ Dec 4 2006, 11:58 PM) hi all You get the best help here with fans that are true at heart. No need to look elsewhere... i was wondering www.myguppy.net got english version.. i notice it is all in chinese and i can't read.. and i happen to know that this forum is more popular than other forums. anyone can help ? it's a waste if i don't join that forum.. RB |
Dec 5 2006, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(Golden @ Nov 24 2006, 07:41 PM) bro golden, kakaka, me from penang, where u from?? agreed with redbox, misterstan, u can ask any questions here, all the sifuu here r very willing to share the knowldge one, no worry. sunmaster: u can refer to the plants in my tank. its a very easy to keep one, java moss need temp around 25-27C, java fern is more easier to keep, hahaha me only use JBL liquid fert for the plant n light 9W. tats it lo. local fish shop (LSF) sure hv this kind of plants la, but wat fish u r keeping? goldfish or koi wil finish all ur plants lo. for more plants reference, http://www.my-mac.net/forum/ refer this link la, a lot sifu there one. |
Dec 7 2006, 09:42 AM
56 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
i put my guppy in a pond and after some time the tail is gone.i think its being bitten up by bigger fish.then a few days later its vanished..
Dec 7 2006, 11:07 PM
Dec 11 2006, 01:00 AM
74 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
hello... i'm a new member here...
say hiii... |
Dec 11 2006, 01:17 AM
Alright!! Everyone say hi to harima007! Mr. 007.
RB |
Dec 11 2006, 01:27 AM
5 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL |
sup y'all...i'm new too~
Dec 11 2006, 04:20 AM
Cool. First post. Hello there.
RB |
Dec 11 2006, 05:49 PM
hihihihihihi to all new members, welcome welcome
Dec 13 2006, 05:03 PM
hi..i wanna know can i mix my goldfish with guppy?..
Dec 13 2006, 09:49 PM
Dec 14 2006, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Dec 13 2006, 05:03 PM) hahaha, actually u can try, my bro mix gold fish with guppies, nothing happend, just tat the guppy color not so nice as b4 and the overall view just not nice bcos goldfish so big and guppies so small, dont kno how to describe |
Dec 14 2006, 08:19 PM
hii. wanna ask.
i noticed that the color of my guppy became pudar and pudar la. before all of them so colorfull, but now look like no color. what do u think happened? |
Dec 14 2006, 09:07 PM
harima007: can make it more details like ur tank size, any plant, light.....etc. wat color is ur guppies? is it the lighting is too strong? wats ur water ph value? any symtoms of sickness? u can try to put some salt and ketapang leaf (if u dont mind the color wil change to a bit brownish) [5gallon to 1 tbs salt]. wat food u feeding them? i feed them with bloodworm, flakes food.
Dec 14 2006, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 14 2006, 10:07 PM) harima007: can make it more details like ur tank size, any plant, light.....etc. wat color is ur guppies? is it the lighting is too strong? wats ur water ph value? any symtoms of sickness? u can try to put some salt and ketapang leaf (if u dont mind the color wil change to a bit brownish) [5gallon to 1 tbs salt]. wat food u feeding them? i feed them with bloodworm, flakes food. my tank size around 1.5 ft i think. i dont know what happened actually, bcoz i asked my roomate to look after them around a week. when i reach, every thing was changed. at that week, my friend didnt put any plant inside, exp bunga tiruan, and no light.color of mine are blue, and yellow almost. i know nothing about the water ph value. hehe. about feeding, i just give them "makanan ikan halus" (i dont know what to call). no extra feed. then, i'll try to put some salt? how much? where can i get ketapang leaf, bloodworm? how much of cost? |
Dec 14 2006, 09:34 PM
harima007: i think u can feed them with tubiflex if u wan, rm1 per pack, 1.5' tank then i think u can put half table spoon of salt in it, then c how they doing for 1-2 days, if stil the same, then put in another half table spoon of salt, dont worry, it wont kill ur guppies. do u change the water? how often?? the best is around 1 week change 30-40% of water, and if u can, try to put some live aqua plants there, guppies like it very much. do they hv clamp tail? age the water for 2-3 days b4 u use it. ketapang i hv no idea where to get in ur area, but i hv a few ketapang trees in front of my house
Dec 14 2006, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 14 2006, 10:34 PM) harima007: i think u can feed them with tubiflex if u wan, rm1 per pack, 1.5' tank then i think u can put half table spoon of salt in it, then c how they doing for 1-2 days, if stil the same, then put in another half table spoon of salt, dont worry, it wont kill ur guppies. do u change the water? how often?? the best is around 1 week change 30-40% of water, and if u can, try to put some live aqua plants there, guppies like it very much. do they hv clamp tail? age the water for 2-3 days b4 u use it. ketapang i hv no idea where to get in ur area, but i hv a few ketapang trees in front of my house ok, i'll do what u asked to do.about their tail, i think all are ok. can u show me how the ketapang trees look like? |
Dec 14 2006, 10:27 PM
harima007: i try to snap a foto for u about the tree..
Dec 14 2006, 10:34 PM
Is it something like this? I simply google, I also don't know what they looked like.
http://www.nationaalherbarium.nl/Cryptocor...n/Ketapang.html RB |
Dec 15 2006, 02:16 PM
hi all masters: ketapang leaf and tree : http://www.topbb.com/bsm/viewtopic.php?t=129&mforum=bsm hope this help and hoping sifuu John Low dont mind i pinjam his article here....
master RB: tats not the ketapang i meant...... just sharing info, correct me if i am wrong all sifuuu |
Dec 15 2006, 02:29 PM
102 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
to those guppy master here, Are those tiny putut snails give disadvantages/advantages to the guppies in the aquarium?
My aquarium has been infected with these putut snails... damn hard to eliminate them. |
Dec 15 2006, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 15 2006, 02:16 PM) hi all masters: ketapang leaf and tree : http://www.topbb.com/bsm/viewtopic.php?t=129&mforum=bsm hope this help and hoping sifuu John Low dont mind i pinjam his article here.... NP. I also don't know. Eh.. no need master or sifuu sifuu lah. No master here, just a regular side hobbyist. master RB: tats not the ketapang i meant...... just sharing info, correct me if i am wrong all sifuuu RB |
Dec 16 2006, 12:10 AM
hahaha, same same here, me also. just a hobbyist only
bro asern: wat is "putut snail"?sorry i dont understand the word |
Dec 17 2006, 11:31 PM
5 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
hi all, noob here
been having the same problem as harima007 as my guppies turned no color later swim slow then upside down and then die... is it really effective to put in the ketapang leaf to guppies? coz from what i've known and seen my frens who bred and kept bettas do put in ketapang leafs so that their bettas will be healthy.water of course will turn grayish in color same as the leaf color itself. will it work fork guppies too?? |
Dec 18 2006, 11:17 PM
yes it did heal some sickness, but b4 u just put in the ketapang i suggest u "cook" the ketapang 1st then only just let it dry (dont wash with tab water), then after tat only u put in, normally i just put in for 3 days then i will take out the leaf, no need to put til it rot inside the tank, bcoz it wil lower water ph to around 6-6.5, if u put it too long it wil go to 5.something which ur guppies dont really like tat..
Dec 21 2006, 09:19 PM
3,254 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: :: Papar - KK :: |
hai, i'm new here.
one question, at one time, berapa banyak anak gapi yang lahir? mine, only one baby. now already big, around two months i think. |
Dec 26 2006, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(dien @ Dec 21 2006, 09:19 PM) hai, i'm new here. hahaha, bro dien, i think some of the fries been eaten aldi, my small small guppies also got 5-6 fries......the best is put a lot plants in the tank/or make a lot hiding place for fries....then u can get higher rate of fries.....unless u r so free like me sitting whole day in front of tank just wait to see it deliver babies.....2 months around 1.5-2cm long aldi right?? just my opinion..... one question, at one time, berapa banyak anak gapi yang lahir? mine, only one baby. now already big, around two months i think. |
Dec 26 2006, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 26 2006, 10:21 PM) hahaha, bro dien, i think some of the fries been eaten aldi, my small small guppies also got 5-6 fries......the best is put a lot plants in the tank/or make a lot hiding place for fries....then u can get higher rate of fries.....unless u r so free like me sitting whole day in front of tank just wait to see it deliver babies.....2 months around 1.5-2cm long aldi right?? just my opinion..... oo.. i think she will deliver only one baby at one time.. hehe..ya, it reach 2 cm long.. |
Dec 27 2006, 08:05 PM
hahaha, ya one time deliver one, many times then deliver many babies lo, hahaha :lol:just put alot plants or deco for the fries to hide then later u wil hv a tank of guppies
Dec 27 2006, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 27 2006, 09:05 PM) hahaha, ya one time deliver one, many times then deliver many babies lo, hahaha :lol:just put alot plants or deco for the fries to hide then later u wil hv a tank of guppies i used to put some plants before, but the plants not kekal lama..either they broke them, or the plant layu and busuk.. any idea or sugestion how to keep the plants long in the water? |
Dec 27 2006, 11:25 PM
u can try to keep some fern la, or moss also can, they dont need much light, just a normal aqua light will do, everyday just light up for 4-6 hrs enug la if u lazy, but i do put some fert la, they grow like madman.....u can refer the pics i post in aquarium fish thread there....
Dec 27 2006, 11:42 PM
102 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
jaspery27, putut is my word expression for small/tiny.
so putting a few dwarf puffer will do? does this puffer eat guppy fries? |
Dec 28 2006, 05:00 PM
bro asern: plz plz plz dont put dwarf puffer with guppies....end up disaster one
Dec 28 2006, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 28 2006, 12:25 AM) u can try to keep some fern la, or moss also can, they dont need much light, just a normal aqua light will do, everyday just light up for 4-6 hrs enug la if u lazy, but i do put some fert la, they grow like madman.....u can refer the pics i post in aquarium fish thread there.... ok.. i'll refer to that thread.. maybe this weekend will find and buy somes..thank you for your info.. |
Dec 28 2006, 07:13 PM
u are most welcome, if u need more plant info : http://www.my-mac.net/forum/ u can refer to all the master there...hehehehe, i am there also, hahahaha, some of them are master/sifuuu from oversea, very xperience one, can really learn a lot from them
Dec 28 2006, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 28 2006, 08:13 PM) u are most welcome, if u need more plant info : http://www.my-mac.net/forum/ u can refer to all the master there...hehehehe, i am there also, hahahaha, some of them are master/sifuuu from oversea, very xperience one, can really learn a lot from them ok thank you again..right now busy with assignments.. only can going out after finish half of them.. so tired.. |
Dec 28 2006, 11:17 PM
hahaha, then good luck to you, after u done then post pic to share la
Dec 29 2006, 08:23 PM
Dec 29 2006, 09:53 PM
Jan 2 2007, 12:03 AM
Anyone knows where can i get this....
i just want to prevent the guppy from eating the fry ![]() ![]() http://www.arcatapet.com/item.cfm?cat=211 This post has been edited by Panda: Jan 2 2007, 12:07 AM |
Jan 2 2007, 04:01 PM
189 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Panda @ Jan 2 2007, 12:03 AM) Anyone knows where can i get this.... go to pet's family taman megah.i just want to prevent the guppy from eating the fry ![]() ![]() http://www.arcatapet.com/item.cfm?cat=211 |
Jan 2 2007, 04:30 PM
Jan 2 2007, 04:58 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(hihi @ Jan 2 2007, 04:01 PM) QUOTE(Panda @ Jan 2 2007, 04:30 PM) where is taman megah? yeah. below RM 10 wan la.do you know the price? most places can find la, if not this type then there's also the net type. the problem with this type is you enclose your female guppy in that tight spot, it stresses her. i prefer to let the baby be born in the tank then scoop them out. unfortunately my guppy babies died (A LOT AHHH!!!) in the net so now i let nature take it's course already. which part of M'sia are you from la? This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 2 2007, 05:00 PM |
Jan 2 2007, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 2 2007, 04:58 PM) yeah. below RM 10 wan la. thank you for replying...most places can find la, if not this type then there's also the net type. the problem with this type is you enclose your female guppy in that tight spot, it stresses her. i prefer to let the baby be born in the tank then scoop them out. unfortunately my guppy babies died (A LOT AHHH!!!) in the net so now i let nature take it's course already. which part of M'sia are you from la? of course i will release the female guppy after the babies are born. i didnt know the baby guppies die so easily, so we cant catch them using the net then? if we just left them in the tank, they will be eaten by bigger sized guppy.. |
Jan 2 2007, 06:07 PM
if ur tank is heavy planted then should be no problem at all, or provide alot of hiding places.....i nvr use any thing like tat b4, just plants and some broken bowl only,
Jan 2 2007, 06:15 PM
Forum Admin
Jan 2 2007, 06:50 PM
2,281 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Littleroot Town |
any guppy breeder wanna bulk? i want lotsa guppies to feed my turtles. thanks.
Jan 3 2007, 12:43 AM
turtles??
Jan 3 2007, 12:49 AM
1,429 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Trance MUsic |
Long kang guppies oso looked nice 2 me..cheap i guez
Jan 3 2007, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(Panda @ Jan 2 2007, 01:03 AM) Anyone knows where can i get this.... you can bought this at Giant.. i saw it sell there.. not confirm the price..i just want to prevent the guppy from eating the fry ![]() ![]() http://www.arcatapet.com/item.cfm?cat=211 |
Jan 3 2007, 07:06 PM
ya actually "longkang fish" also very nice...
Jan 3 2007, 08:33 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: PJ / Puchong |
where to get the longkang guppy?
haha... i got 2 male guppy and 4 female guppy,all pregnant...but,i saw the male so horny lah!keep on chase the female ,what to do?buy more female guppy? |
Jan 3 2007, 11:56 PM
3,769 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Perak |
So damn cruel la u guys..I also got those long kang fish..but end up I've released them all
Jan 3 2007, 11:56 PM
4,331 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
the best ratio is 1 male to 2 females...
the best way for the female guppy to deliver is with just water plants... for the breeding trap..it's good but u may lost some fry cos some might get stuck there...as in my experience... join Malaysia Guppy Club.. www.myguppy.net |
Jan 4 2007, 12:02 AM
yayaya, go n join d site, alot masters there willing to share knowledge..hahahaha, can c me there too
faiz92: no need to get more female la, later u will a lot n alot n alot of guppies, ended up like me lo, give some to ppl, or bcome aro / betta snack lo |
Jan 4 2007, 12:07 AM
what is your nick in mas guppy club...
my nick there is squareballs |
Jan 4 2007, 12:19 AM
so nice, i am using same nickname there, nice to meeting u here
Jan 4 2007, 12:22 AM
nice meeting u oso...cant see u report ur self at the newb section...
Jan 4 2007, 12:26 AM
hahahaha i think i didnt "post myself" there la, hahahahaha
Jan 4 2007, 12:28 AM
466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: N.S |
Can we eat guppies ? are they tasteful? StarScream01 liked this post
Jan 4 2007, 12:32 AM
ya u can eat anything u wan, StarScream01 liked this post
Jan 4 2007, 12:40 AM
deep fry guppy tastes nice... StarScream01 liked this post
Jan 4 2007, 01:32 AM
scary
Jan 9 2007, 03:07 PM
all my guppy fry died today...
i just don't know why.... yesterday they all looked ok... |
Jan 9 2007, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 19 2006, 02:06 PM) I love guppies, hve a few of them, attached ,my current aquarium and some want to ask..guppy shots...these hve been with me past 2 months, some hve died after birth ande some are the kids of the previous ones.... ![]() ![]() how long usually your real plants can live in your tank? |
Jan 9 2007, 08:38 PM
1,270 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
i got a pair of guppy...but i dont have interest on it..... but still my pet in my room
Feb 10 2007, 09:14 PM
13 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Hi guys... i`m a newbie ere. I just bought 3 pairs of guppies on 1st of february. Nice date to remember.
Now, i`ve gotten 16 baby guppies born on 5th February and in 2-3 days more are coming. Many incidents happened first few days such as dying fish, jumping fish, parent- eating off-spring, body-itching and so on... Now, its all settling down i hope. Never had the chance to see my female guppies give birth. They all did it while I was asleep either during the day or nite. This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 11 2007, 12:35 AM Attached image(s) |
Feb 10 2007, 11:57 PM
350 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: kajang |
i been wondering...
usually those guppies in fish shop are quite big in size but mine shrink & each generation is getting smaller & smaller what u guys feed them? |
Feb 13 2007, 01:49 AM
I feel lucky tonite coz i got to see one of my female guppies gave birth to 23 healthy fries.
Feb 13 2007, 08:24 AM
591 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(heloelaine @ Feb 10 2007, 11:57 PM) i been wondering... I think the best way is to replace some new fish to the breeding tank. That was what I did last time to maintain their saiz. usually those guppies in fish shop are quite big in size but mine shrink & each generation is getting smaller & smaller what u guys feed them? |
Feb 13 2007, 09:28 AM
Feb 13 2007, 09:59 AM
Feb 13 2007, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Feb 13 2007, 09:59 AM) waah.... new info to me... will that happen if humans oso do the inbreed? getting smaller and smaller all the time.. errr no comment StarScream01 liked this post
Feb 13 2007, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Feb 13 2007, 11:37 AM) Added on February 13, 2007, 1:01 pm QUOTE(squareballs @ Jan 4 2007, 12:40 AM) my sis pet chicken ate them gulpful and fish the wild guppies himself from the pondAdded on February 13, 2007, 1:03 pm QUOTE(mydelsol @ Nov 19 2006, 01:06 PM) I love guppies, hve a few of them, attached ,my current aquarium and some mydelsol i like ur fish tank...what plants do u use? and do u need to buy special soil for it or plant into rocks? guppy shots...these hve been with me past 2 months, some hve died after birth ande some are the kids of the previous ones.... ![]() ![]() after all my fishes has pass away now i planing to start anew...i want to make a beautiful tank like urs! very serene looking This post has been edited by kimmie: Feb 13 2007, 01:04 PM |
Feb 13 2007, 01:33 PM
waiting to c ur new tank
Feb 22 2007, 04:18 PM
Hi guys~ May luck be with you for those 'celebrated' CNY~
Hmm... very 'sunyi'lah this forum lately. everybody oredy become guppy master is it? Anyway.. I wanna ask about those gravel/pebbles/sand sold in the stores are clean enuf to be put directly in the tank. Or is it just normally wash with tap water or must bleach first? I just bought a 7 gallon tank to replace my very damn small mini tank. Just wanna make sure that everything is safe for the new residence of the tank. This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 22 2007, 04:20 PM |
Feb 22 2007, 08:09 PM
want asking..
guppy and longkang guppy cant live together ke?? why my guppy gradually died after entering longkang guppy?? |
Feb 22 2007, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(dien @ Feb 22 2007, 08:09 PM) want asking.. normally longkang fishi carry desease lo, u can mix them, but if u notice carefully the longkang fishi always bully guppies n chase after their tails....y u wan to mix them?...it will make the breed bcome.. guppy and longkang guppy cant live together ke?? why my guppy gradually died after entering longkang guppy?? |
Feb 23 2007, 07:38 AM
HI... anyone here from ipoh? i`m studying in Seri Iskandar and I got my guppies either from tronoh, batu gajah, 1 in silibin near Billion and another store near the stadium. I bought 2 pairs of black tux at he store in silibin. since then i`ve ben searching other types of guppies. Anyone living near Ipoh knows where i can find those rare types?
Feb 23 2007, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 23 2007, 12:54 AM) normally longkang fishi carry desease lo, u can mix them, but if u notice carefully the longkang fishi always bully guppies n chase after their tails....y u wan to mix them?...it will make the breed bcome.. i dont know la what guppy are them..but the longkang guppy i bought from petshop as feeder.. i put in my guppy tank only as their "settlement".. hehe.. before transfering to another tank.. This post has been edited by dien: Feb 23 2007, 10:41 AM |
Feb 23 2007, 03:12 PM
any recommendation where to find good guppies in pj,sj or sunway area? wat about the ss17 fish shop? im planing to redo tank this march so now planing stage...
dien...i once saved longkang guppies i took back 6 of them.and then 3 months time my whole kio pond full of wild guppies.some males are almost as good as the normal guppies! but prob is they are too small to catch all.so i drained the whole pond and dry it for few days.expensive lesson.in the process of replacing the water i also need to catch them, some grew to 4-6cm!and some kio died cause not use to the other tank where i placed them for a week |
Feb 23 2007, 05:05 PM
hmm.. i saw this weird action of 1 fry of mine. It sank itself to the bottom of the tank like a dead fish then quickly "came alive" once reaching the bottom and repeated the action 2-3 times. Is it playing dead with the siblings? or stressed in some way? Anyone knows?
Feb 23 2007, 05:12 PM
lol maybe fish tired of swimming and then when reach bottom realised he needs air *just kidding*
Feb 23 2007, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(kimmie @ Feb 23 2007, 04:12 PM) dien...i once saved longkang guppies i took back 6 of them.and then 3 months time my whole kio pond full of wild guppies.some males are almost as good as the normal guppies! but prob is they are too small to catch all.so i drained the whole pond and dry it for few days.expensive lesson.in the process of replacing the water i also need to catch them, some grew to 4-6cm!and some kio died cause not use to the other tank where i placed them for a week ooo.. but now i already gave the longkang guppy to my friend.. just saperated them from my colorful guppy..i dont want all of them will die because of the longkang one.. hehe.. This post has been edited by dien: Feb 23 2007, 09:59 PM |
Feb 23 2007, 09:24 PM
708 posts Joined: May 2005 From: PJ |
can anyone help me and gimme tips on the best water condition for a guppy?
meaning what items to use and whether to age the water...coz my guppies are prone to fin rot |
Feb 23 2007, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Feb 23 2007, 10:24 PM) can anyone help me and gimme tips on the best water condition for a guppy? ynneb, maybe you can get something from here..meaning what items to use and whether to age the water...coz my guppies are prone to fin rot
Guppy.pdf ( 123.67k )
Number of downloads: 199This post has been edited by dien: Feb 23 2007, 10:04 PM |
Feb 24 2007, 01:18 AM
Feb 24 2007, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Feb 23 2007, 07:38 AM) HI... anyone here from ipoh? i`m studying in Seri Iskandar and I got my guppies either from tronoh, batu gajah, 1 in silibin near Billion and another store near the stadium. I bought 2 pairs of black tux at he store in silibin. since then i`ve ben searching other types of guppies. Anyone living near Ipoh knows where i can find those rare types? hi bro, u can refer this forum : http://www.myguppy.net/guppy/ some sifuu there breed very very very nice guppies, some even import from taiwan n thailand....but the forum in chinese, if u wan to look for specific species, mayb i can try to find for u...no worry about where u stay...bcos they will "dhl" to anywhere on earth....hahahaha, i also buy fishi like this...untilll now no fatal yet....so far so good...many good species u cant find in lfs, bcos it is costly n the market is too small, some sort like more to collector items...so i also buy from them......if u browse thru then u will poison by all the guppies there like me |
Feb 24 2007, 12:54 PM
649 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Friends of the Earth |
yeah all ang pao money for a lot of people here all donate to LFS. Thinking of getting rid of 2 units of 2' tank. Anyone interested in exchanging for a 4'?
Feb 24 2007, 10:06 PM
My two female black phantom delta gave birth mostly dead fries. Why aaa?
Feb 25 2007, 01:53 AM
hows the water condition?? or do u remove them to new tank?? can tell in more details? so sorry to hear tat ....
Feb 25 2007, 02:01 AM
Feb 25 2007, 02:15 AM
how to promote spawning? Don't really know what I'm doing is right or wrong. Every time I do WC, for sure guppy give birth, maybe coincidence. My WC is 20% only in a 1' tank that's a lot of water.
Feb 25 2007, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 25 2007, 01:53 AM) hows the water condition?? or do u remove them to new tank?? can tell in more details? so sorry to hear tat .... I dont really know the water condition coz i`m still under tight budget. So, no kits or what so ever to check it. I did not remove to a new tank coz i think vegetation in my tank is sufficient for the fries. Visually, all the guppies look happy. The two particular guppies oredy pregnant when i bought it. Plus it took them a very long time to release a single fry. My previous grass type gave birth instantly. I wonder wether inbreeding is the cause. The adults guppies didnt even try to eat the dead fries. They only tend to eat the live ones. Hmm.. I think they stood for their names, they are livebearers not deadbearers~ So eat the live ones.... Added on February 25, 2007, 8:27 pmJust introduced my guppies to their new tank mates - a pair of ghost shrimps. All the guppies swam at the surface as if they saw ghosts. Funny eh? This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 25 2007, 08:27 PM |
Feb 27 2007, 06:13 PM
Feb 28 2007, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(heloelaine @ Feb 10 2007, 11:57 PM) i been wondering... it's because of inner breeding..means breeding between brother and sisters...or perhaps son and mum..or perhaps dad and daughter...usually those guppies in fish shop are quite big in size but mine shrink & each generation is getting smaller & smaller what u guys feed them? datz y 1 generation by the another size get smaller and smaller Added on February 28, 2007, 9:06 pmdo not put guppy with ghost shrimp... u know y they keep swim at the top?try observe and u'll see the shrimps nipping their tails... it's better to keep guppy in their own tank without other fishes.. cheers... This post has been edited by squareballs: Feb 28 2007, 09:06 PM |
Feb 28 2007, 11:08 PM
ya, normally we get at least 6 pairs, then after that f1 cross breed, and if can try to xchange the fishi with others to maintaince the quality....inner breeding is just
Mar 1 2007, 12:23 AM
541 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: peejay |
Inbreed is not as bad as it seems and it's probably the easiest way to fix a trait into a lineage when you've perform an outcross...normally inbreeding effects become more prominent when you've selected parent stocks with hidden negative traits. Inbreeding is suppose to amplify the positive traits or genes you wanted into your line but if you've accidentally selected a parent stock with some hidden negative traits and genes therefore it'll be amplified as well.
Line breeding, selective breeding are all variation of inbreeding and involve breeding among siblings (brother to sister, mum to son, dad to daughter, cousin to cousin) It's a neccessity if you want to fix certain traits into you lineage meaning to say all offsprings inherits the gene or traits you've breed into the line. Besides that it'll also improve the percentage of purity of your line meaning how many percentage of the offsprings look exactly like the parents...in other words in order to create a strain (new colour or new tail type) you need to have at least 70-80% of offsprings that breeds true and inbreeding is the easiest way to do it. Maybe for normal hobbyists it is not really that important but for breeder that breeds for show (show guppy, betta, discus, gold fish n etc) it's an unavoidable process. This post has been edited by evildonkey: Mar 1 2007, 12:28 AM |
Mar 1 2007, 12:26 AM
My shrimps and guppies had already signed agreement for peace after 2 black phantom males got themselves tail-nipping incidents during the first night together. Now, everyone can enjoy themselves.
Mar 1 2007, 10:05 AM
huh shrimps and guppies? isnt that dangerous.esp guppies so small
Mar 1 2007, 07:06 PM
i think no prob to mix shrimp n guppy, if u have a lot plants like i did for the tank.
evildonkey: agree with ur points |
Mar 1 2007, 08:03 PM
jasper27: can show what a "pure white" looks like? A pix or 2 would be nice. Most female guppies on sale don't really have nice color anyway, the best I got was a bi-color meaning 2 color (blue and white) and she didn't last very long, about to give birth 1 day then the next sleeping next to filter intake
Mar 1 2007, 09:02 PM
I'm zero in guppy genetics but i've heard of them before...btw still a newbie in guppy and i've just purchased a pair of snakeskin spadetail but it looks more like a speartail for me.
Mar 2 2007, 10:28 PM
guys, just visit this website la, http://www.myguppy.net/ , a lot of guppy sifuu there...and u can learn a lot from them too...me also learning from them la, so nice one all sifuu there...very helpfull n informatice one
geediver: soli i dont hv the pic wow, bcos i read the thread from tat site too, but all in mandarin la, dont know how to translate also...but they do sale the fishi, just visit to sale section there |
Mar 2 2007, 11:20 PM
Banana la dunno how to read chinese ZZZzzzzzzZZZzzzzz
Just noticed a small english subforum there This post has been edited by evildonkey: Mar 2 2007, 11:21 PM |
Mar 3 2007, 04:05 PM
nvm la, if later they post the pic there then i copy n post here lo
Mar 4 2007, 07:48 PM
1,218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
so my guppy just spawned...but the problem is, the males kept chasing this particular female guppy of mine. non-stop. male to female ratio is like 3:1. is that why they keep chasing? should i get more female guppy?
Mar 4 2007, 08:57 PM
253 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
female to male ratio shud me 3 : 1 -.-
u terbalik d |
Mar 4 2007, 09:00 PM
1,218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
HAHA..ya...just read about. sux. wanted to buy more females but LFS is closed. so i removed 2 pregnant females into a bucket and the one which has already spawned into another. no more females in the tank. hopefully they don't turn gay after the next few days...lol
Mar 4 2007, 10:45 PM
they wont turn gay but they will chase each other n later u might hv some floating male....
Mar 9 2007, 01:53 AM
513 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
i have ghost shrimps in my tank><" no wonder tail like cacat lah=.=" ghost shrimps makan plants anot? i juz bought sum plants... den after 1 hours... one part of the stem kena chew...=.="
isit ghost shrimps fault? |
Mar 9 2007, 11:25 PM
hahaha let them chew la...is their behaviour ma, but normally it wont cause serious harm right?? just my opinion
Mar 12 2007, 10:22 AM
282 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Heaven on Earth |
Err, if somebody chewing your butt wat do you feel?
It takes time for them to recover their tails in full and takes some energy for them also. Feed them nicely and separate better la. |
Mar 15 2007, 09:11 PM
i have a question for guppy sifus...May i know what do you put in the water to condition the water?
because i normally use anti chlorine/chloramine(azoo brand), some salt, and some melafix. (However by doing so, i still find some of my guppies dying sooner or later) |
Mar 16 2007, 12:17 AM
have to put salt for guppy one meh? I thought salt for betta only.
Mar 16 2007, 08:28 AM
Mar 16 2007, 02:08 PM
438 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
hmmm here's some stuff i learned from the sifu's around here. if your tank is a new one meaning everything is brand new than the cycle would be the culprit.or maybe u placed too many fish into 1 tank? water contains contaminants? what i meant by contaminants are those chemical and biological types which we can't see with our naked eye. also you might have overdosed on the anti chlorine and salt.....duno perhaps if you could describe your tank better like what size, how many fish, any live plants, gravel, how long the tanks has been around i think the sifu's could help you better
Mar 16 2007, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 16 2007, 02:08 PM) hmmm here's some stuff i learned from the sifu's around here. if your tank is a new one meaning everything is brand new than the cycle would be the culprit.or maybe u placed too many fish into 1 tank? water contains contaminants? what i meant by contaminants are those chemical and biological types which we can't see with our naked eye. also you might have overdosed on the anti chlorine and salt.....duno perhaps if you could describe your tank better like what size, how many fish, any live plants, gravel, how long the tanks has been around i think the sifu's could help you better ok....there are 6 guppies in a 2ft tank(a few years old) i did not overdose the anti chlorine and salt as i measured everything precisely.....There are 2 live plants that do not show any signs of rotting...normal stone gravel...1 sponge filter, and an overhead filter (with anti ammonia rocks) |
Mar 17 2007, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Mar 16 2007, 05:30 PM) ok....there are 6 guppies in a 2ft tank(a few years old) i did not overdose the anti chlorine and salt as i measured everything precisely.....There are 2 live plants that do not show any signs of rotting...normal stone gravel...1 sponge filter, and an overhead filter (with anti ammonia rocks) hmm a few years old tank so the cycle might be out of the question. exact measurement for the anti chlorine and salt so no problem there but i've been informed that never ever use table salt. use the salts meant for aquarium use sold by lfs.one other reason i can think of is the guppy whacking each other and i'm not joking. a few of my guppies died and i noticed that their tail was in shreds......evidence of being attacked. |
Mar 17 2007, 02:17 PM
568 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
my guppies get more n more but not so nice.... try to find a nice guppy to born a nice baby guppy.
Mar 17 2007, 02:20 PM
hi everyone where to find super nice gred guppies?
Mar 17 2007, 02:39 PM
nice guppy very expensive.....
Mar 17 2007, 02:49 PM
Mar 19 2007, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 17 2007, 02:49 PM) i saw a complete full red guppy |
Mar 19 2007, 11:02 AM
Mar 19 2007, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 17 2007, 11:09 AM) hmm a few years old tank so the cycle might be out of the question. exact measurement for the anti chlorine and salt so no problem there but i've been informed that never ever use table salt. use the salts meant for aquarium use sold by lfs. err never heard before of guppies whacking each other. they are peaceful by nature.one other reason i can think of is the guppy whacking each other and i'm not joking. a few of my guppies died and i noticed that their tail was in shreds......evidence of being attacked. shredded tails may be due to bad water condition, or fin rot maybe? a picture might help |
Mar 20 2007, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Mar 19 2007, 02:45 PM) err never heard before of guppies whacking each other. they are peaceful by nature. the fish dead long ago threw away already......if i found the dead fish maybe left bones only shredded tails may be due to bad water condition, or fin rot maybe? a picture might help |
Mar 20 2007, 10:23 AM
wonder is urs really a guppy? what u feed them ahem?
Mar 20 2007, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 19 2007, 10:39 AM) i saw a complete full red guppy |
Mar 21 2007, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 20 2007, 10:23 AM) QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Mar 20 2007, 11:52 PM) edit: the lfs where i saw the guppy has very few fish.they sell aquarium mostly. i think i can expect to get his high quality guppy soon as i noticed he only have the guppy i mentioned in 1 pair of female and male in their own private tank. around 6 to 7 tanks. he's definitely trying to breed them. hope that he succeed then heheheeh i can buy the offspring This post has been edited by cskeong: Mar 21 2007, 09:38 AM |
Mar 22 2007, 09:48 PM
After feeding time, most of my guppies will search sumthing on the sand as if searching for food. Does that mean i did not give enuf? or i shud not "layan" their desire?
Mar 23 2007, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 22 2007, 09:48 PM) After feeding time, most of my guppies will search sumthing on the sand as if searching for food. Does that mean i did not give enuf? or i shud not "layan" their desire? no idea what your fish is doing. i read from the net they usually feed their guppy twice a day in small quantitiy. as for me i feed them a heavy meal once a day. never seen my guppy behave like yours. perhaps its just some natural behaviour for them? any sifu can explain? |
Mar 23 2007, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 22 2007, 09:48 PM) After feeding time, most of my guppies will search sumthing on the sand as if searching for food. Does that mean i did not give enuf? or i shud not "layan" their desire? i think every fish behaves like that. always looking for food. my advise is do not give in. fish will eat and eat and eat untill they get buncit (and still eat) and eventually die. no matter how much you give them they will still appear hungry |
Mar 23 2007, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 23 2007, 10:10 AM) no idea what your fish is doing. i read from the net they usually feed their guppy twice a day in small quantitiy. as for me i feed them a heavy meal once a day. never seen my guppy behave like yours. perhaps its just some natural behaviour for them? any sifu can explain? ive only seen greedy goldfish doing that...This post has been edited by kimmie: Mar 23 2007, 10:42 AM |
Mar 24 2007, 01:01 AM
1,630 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 20 2007, 09:40 AM) the fish dead long ago threw away already......if i found the dead fish maybe left bones only ya, some time my guppy oso behave like tat. 1 hepothesis i made my own is, the tail color is almost the same with the food, so they thought the tail is the food, so they chase lo..... lol |
Mar 24 2007, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Mar 23 2007, 10:35 AM) i think every fish behaves like that. always looking for food. my advise is do not give in. Thnx for d advice. fish will eat and eat and eat untill they get buncit (and still eat) and eventually die. no matter how much you give them they will still appear hungry Still about food: How long can guppies stay alive before they starve and RIP? |
Mar 24 2007, 11:27 PM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 24 2007, 07:37 PM) My record is 15 days. Only 10 out of ...I think 100 died. they can actually lst quite long without food. Or maybe they cannibalise others? |
Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM
HI
1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods? |
Mar 30 2007, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM) HI how to tell if its old or not i duno. established tank for a week?maybe lonely coz its the only guppy around?maybe some disease?anything weird u noticed on the fish when it died?rotting fins?slimy body? xtra large stomach?1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods? |
Mar 30 2007, 07:07 PM
Maybe becoz different batch in different environment and different level of immune system?
Apr 8 2007, 08:57 AM
1,630 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(petro_ash @ Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM) HI ya, tat happened to me also, i think some of them cannot stand the new environment, tat's why they die.1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods? |
Apr 9 2007, 09:50 AM
suspring...for a hardy fish
Jun 6 2007, 08:36 AM
Any new info on guppies?
Jun 6 2007, 09:03 AM
the weird thing happen is some time i will found that 5-6guppies dead in certain period. B4 they die, i try to save them with move them to other tank that the water is clean but the result still the same
Jun 6 2007, 10:47 PM
Is it very big n old ones or just normal ones??? Male or Female?
Sometimes they just died of exhaustion due to the chasing n breeding, both applies for male and female. This post has been edited by Lance8431: Jun 6 2007, 10:50 PM |
Jun 7 2007, 06:19 PM
Jun 7 2007, 06:57 PM
786 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: melaka |
still remember my child period gt feeding many tis type of guppies...
now no time2 care for them,so no feed anymore |
Jun 14 2007, 01:10 AM
783 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: subang |
Hye all.. i feel like having some guppies.. so can anyone tell me the items needed and the initial cost?? thanks..
Jun 14 2007, 01:29 AM
284 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
drop by any aquarium shop... then u'll know
it fun though rearing fish.. |
Jun 14 2007, 01:35 AM
hehe.. thats why i want to ask 1st b4 heading to the shop.. how much do you estimate it wud cost? and how bout the water? shld be cycled or just neutralize the chlorine?
Jun 14 2007, 02:25 AM
erkk.. newbie here... wanna ask how much 1 guppy cost? can give me range from the common to the rare ones..
Jun 14 2007, 03:20 AM
851 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Jun 14 2007, 09:25 AM
473 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
my guppies turning funny leh..... die then sink under the water.... normally shud float terbalik... then a few days later float and terbalik... then sink back
Jun 14 2007, 09:34 AM
4,077 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 한국 |
thread move to pets section
thanks |
Jun 14 2007, 09:57 AM
cost please.........
Jun 14 2007, 11:08 AM
hmmm well guppies price in penang range from RM 1 until RM hundreds.price depends on the quality of the guppy
Jun 14 2007, 11:11 AM
depending on the number of guppies that you want to keep. a regular 1.5 feet tank should cost less than RM 50. add in a china brand hob filter which cost roughly rm20. and if u wanna aquascape u gotta invest in gravels or soils, rocks, plants blablalbla.recommended to cycle the tank first before dumping in fish. although guppies are hardy fish it doesn't mean that they are invincible.
also if u have anymore questions regarding setting up a tank go over to aquarium v2 thread. alot of helpful and experienced forumners there. This post has been edited by cskeong: Jun 14 2007, 11:13 AM |
Jun 14 2007, 11:16 AM
Forum Admin
better get a 2ft tank la. cheap only. gravel also no need to buy expensive type la, RM 10 also can get 4 - 5 kilo already. HOB filter is fine, RM 20 - 30 range. kau tim. oh yeah, if you can get airpump + tube, that's good. it'll be around RM 20 also. one of the most costly part of aquarium setup is light. StarScream01 liked this post
Jun 14 2007, 11:50 AM
6 years guppy owner here........ actually very easy... but a mini fish tank.... (dunit air pump)..... buy anti-clorine water.... buy fish food(flakes will be the best.... becuz guppies dun eat pellets)..... and buy the guppy then throw it in.... once the water turn abit brown... change the water and put several drops of anti-clorine water into the clean water before putting the guppies back in
Jun 14 2007, 12:49 PM
good!! thnx ranvil!! nice tutorial there!! actually looking for pumpless setup!!
Jun 14 2007, 01:17 PM
yay!! just bought 2 males n 4 females!!
but y did they act so aggressive to their new surrounding? is that normal? |
Jun 14 2007, 01:21 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(kyser39099 @ Jun 14 2007, 01:17 PM) yay!! just bought 2 males n 4 females!! a good ratio would be 1 male to 3 female. and generally they're very active. after you put them in the tank, let them settle in. off the lights and don't go meddle the tank and all for a while. |
Jun 14 2007, 05:05 PM
owh ic... haha.. now have 3 males n 6 females.. maybe will add another 3 females later.. but my tank is only 2ft x 1ft x 1ft.. u think its okay for 12 pax to live 2gether? owh ya.. i also have 2 algae eaters.. will they help me clean up the tank a lil bit?
Jun 14 2007, 07:08 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(kyser39099 @ Jun 14 2007, 05:05 PM) owh ic... haha.. now have 3 males n 6 females.. maybe will add another 3 females later.. but my tank is only 2ft x 1ft x 1ft.. u think its okay for 12 pax to live 2gether? owh ya.. i also have 2 algae eaters.. will they help me clean up the tank a lil bit? 2ft tank is ok. add some plants for babies.algae eater doesn't clean up your tank. it just eat algae and leftover food and after that it'll poo. |
Jun 14 2007, 07:37 PM
guppies dunit air pump wan.. they breath in the water not like koi or goldfish or arowana etc..... guppies is one of the easiest pet fish to breed
Jun 14 2007, 08:12 PM
but maybe i need the pump now coz the water gets even darker now... maybe coz of the food??? i need pump to cycle the dirty water...
correct me if im wrong... |
Jun 14 2007, 09:36 PM
no it's natural for me for 6 years liao... i wash the fish "kong" every week or maybe once in 2 weeks... is because they sh1t and the food and they vomit lol
Jun 15 2007, 01:45 AM
darn!! my rm4 female just died!! y is this happening??
Added on June 15, 2007, 1:03 pm QUOTE(kyser39099 @ Jun 14 2007, 08:12 PM) but maybe i need the pump now coz the water gets even darker now... maybe coz of the food??? i need pump to cycle the dirty water... and they die weekly??correct me if im wrong... Added on June 15, 2007, 1:06 pmand owh yeah... if i dont separate the pregnant moms now, will they release their fries? This post has been edited by kyser39099: Jun 15 2007, 01:06 PM |
Jun 15 2007, 11:34 PM
They will release their fries no matter what. Just put in more water plants or places that were good hiding spot for the fries before they get eaten up by the parents.
Female die could be any reason, might be tired because being chased too much by the male, infection or disease, whats the behavior and symptoms on your fish? |
Jun 15 2007, 11:46 PM
erm... 1stly they loose will.. like exhausted.. usually they will run when our hands goes near them, but shes not active like that.. and soon it floats....
no sign of bacterial infections though... im just worried if she died bcoz of excessive ammonia... but y others didnt die too? although after she died another 2 died as well... pay attention that i just set up my tank yesterday.. and im newbie.. so do understand me pls.. haha... |
Jun 15 2007, 11:50 PM
Forum Admin
sometimes you happen to get bad stock, coupled with the stress of being caught, transport, new tank, new condition, male harassment. - what do you expect?
even my guppy stock, the ones i bought are mostly dead due to their not-so-good condition. however their off-spring grew in my tank right from the start and are now in happy and healthy condition. |
Jun 16 2007, 10:22 AM
Jun 16 2007, 10:31 AM
Jun 17 2007, 12:03 AM
help!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what shld i give to the fries???????????? just got 1 and seperated from others now....
Jun 17 2007, 12:05 AM
Forum Admin
mine just eat normal food only. i use flakes, it'll drop to the bottom. and at the bottom i have plenty of plants. so fries hide there, eat there.
Jun 17 2007, 12:26 AM
i have micro pellets... looks like their mouth is still too small for them.. but soon if the pellets dissolve will they eat those?
Jun 17 2007, 01:42 AM
Forum Admin
aiyah they don't have to gulp the whole thing.
Jun 17 2007, 09:38 AM
gold fries, ur nick come from ur fries is it? lol
=P Well, the fries will find food on their own, even our fish flakes sometimes dunno they eat or not. They nibble on the plants i put in last time, dunno eating algae or what. Relax man, they are a hardy group of fishes. |
Jun 17 2007, 09:45 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Jun 17 2007, 09:38 AM) gold fries, ur nick come from ur fries is it? lol =P actually my nick is from McD french fries. |
Jun 17 2007, 10:44 AM
lol but McD's fries is gold meh??? i see some part of it black wan lol
Jun 17 2007, 01:06 PM
1,205 posts Joined: May 2007 |
hi there i'm new in tis guppy thing just started last monday so 2morrow marks a week and i guess its time to change the water but i'm rather confused on how to do it like ok i get a pail of water set it for a 2 days thn i get the guppys out and put where? thn the old water put where? the new water put where?...haih totally lost someone tell me how?
Jun 17 2007, 10:32 PM
i dunno... for me i just put out 1/2 or 1/4 of the old water and pour in another 1/2 or 1/4 new water inside....
Jun 17 2007, 11:08 PM
oh so did u set the water for a day or 2? or put anti chlorine?
Jun 18 2007, 01:03 PM
haha i put straight.......... just put anti chlorine.......
Added on June 18, 2007, 1:04 pmand remember... if you put any gravel, your job will be tougher.... guppy produce lots of 'output'!! This post has been edited by kyser39099: Jun 18 2007, 01:04 PM |
Jun 18 2007, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 17 2007, 01:06 PM) hi there i'm new in tis guppy thing just started last monday so 2morrow marks a week and i guess its time to change the water but i'm rather confused on how to do it like ok i get a pail of water set it for a 2 days thn i get the guppys out and put where? thn the old water put where? the new water put where?...haih totally lost someone tell me how? no need to take your fish out. catching them and placing them elsewhere will stress them. just siphon out the water and then siphon back in the new water. u can use aged water or water direct from tap. if u're using water direct from tap add anti chlorine according to the prescribed dosage.try not to pour water in. it will cause alot of turbulence. you might think its ok but its not funny at all for the fish inside and on top of that if you have a planted tank the turbulence will mess up your aqua scape |
Jun 19 2007, 01:56 PM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
i love guppy
used to have alot at home but time passed it dies mum dun wan buy guppy anymore she say too small |
Jun 19 2007, 01:59 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(kyser39099 @ Jun 17 2007, 10:32 PM) i dunno... for me i just put out 1/2 or 1/4 of the old water and pour in another 1/2 or 1/4 new water inside.... 1/2 is unnecessary. too much water change will cause sudden change in water chemistry, thus leading to your fish being stressed. |
Jun 20 2007, 11:16 PM
1 more thing i wanna ask u guys wat do i do wif the uneaten food? they sink all the way down to the bottom onto the gravel and i can't scoop it up...
Jun 21 2007, 02:57 AM
86 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: *~* Kay 3ll *~* |
i miss my pink guppy fish T^T she's a real beauty..but she died a couple of years ago
Jun 21 2007, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 20 2007, 11:16 PM) 1 more thing i wanna ask u guys wat do i do wif the uneaten food? they sink all the way down to the bottom onto the gravel and i can't scoop it up... go to any lfs and buy a gravel cleaner. best way is not to feed them too much at one go. feed them a little bit of food 2 or 3 times a day. dun go and dump a whole day ration of food in one go..................... |
Jun 21 2007, 06:39 PM
73 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Johor |
My guppy already died! 2 Swordtails eat them lol!! Will try to get another guppys.
Jun 22 2007, 12:02 AM
348 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Puchong/Subang |
kyser39099... though im not an expert.. but i think based on wat u said in pg 13 regarding ya guppies die out of sudden..
i think 1 of the reason is u mentioned u just set up the new tank yesterday and u put in fish the next day.. from my experience.. i used to put in fish 1 day after setting up the tank.. next thing i know.. whole tank of fishes gone...i read some books they say, is better left ur new tank/tank which left empty without having any fish...run the water for arnd 5-7 days before putting in fish.. or the other reason could be, is it bcoz u disturb them very often? or maybe there's no shade for them? which cos them to be really stress..coz when a new fish comes into a new environment.. usually they need some cool off time, so u need to provide cover for them.. Added on June 22, 2007, 12:06 amohh. and 1 more thing.. can male guppies live with each other peacefully? coz my dad just got a whole bunch, i think got bout 20-30 male guppies *not the normal type, i think is those nicer ones* and only got 6 females!!! im planning to separate them tomolo. is gonna take me quite some time to divide them... This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jun 22 2007, 12:06 AM |
Jun 22 2007, 01:17 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « new tanks needs to go through a process which we call cycling and it takes sometime. google for nitrogen cycle for more information. after the cycling has been completed add fish a few at a time. never ever add a whole bunch at one go. male guppies can live with each other no problem however there will be instances of bullying and chasing.judging by the ratio of male to female i think the females are going to get harrassed to death. info that i got from the net suggest that the best male to femal ratio is 1 male to 3 female. |
Jun 22 2007, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 22 2007, 01:17 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « new tanks needs to go through a process which we call cycling and it takes sometime. google for nitrogen cycle for more information. after the cycling has been completed add fish a few at a time. never ever add a whole bunch at one go. male guppies can live with each other no problem however there will be instances of bullying and chasing.judging by the ratio of male to female i think the females are going to get harrassed to death. info that i got from the net suggest that the best male to femal ratio is 1 male to 3 female. Added on June 22, 2007, 1:46 pmoh, and regarding water plants *im new to this*, am i able to plant some java moss in my garden pot, where i locate some guppies in, quite shallow arnd half a ft. deep.. i heard java moss dont need fertilizer rite? need co2? and finally.. wats the price of it? im staying in Klang Valley.. thx a bunch sifus sifus and if i plant it in my 4ft tank.. wats the requirement? can DIY Co2 support such a big tank? as in i make more than 1? lolx.. wat kind of lighting i need? roughly how much is it for the lights? This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jun 22 2007, 01:48 PM |
Jun 22 2007, 08:10 PM
i put water grass in my fish tank... it's good ... the babies can hide in there
Jun 22 2007, 11:48 PM
my tank has got some java moss wif homemade diy co2.. okler they can photosynthesis bt usually at nite...
Jun 23 2007, 12:23 AM
Jun 23 2007, 10:23 AM
my tank is very small... i think itz a 1 ft tank i read some guide they say tis type can support up to 4 ft not very sure though sorry no help to you but i got my moss for 8 bucks per packet from cty penang u can see some pix of my tank at my blog link is at the bottom of my post lol
Jun 23 2007, 12:05 PM
lol at night also can photosynthesis??? i tot nid light... oh ya... but ur tank got the flurescent light
Jun 23 2007, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 23 2007, 10:23 AM) my tank is very small... i think itz a 1 ft tank i read some guide they say tis type can support up to 4 ft not very sure though sorry no help to you but i got my moss for 8 bucks per packet from cty penang u can see some pix of my tank at my blog link is at the bottom of my post lol i see. checked out ya blog dee. warh.. nice work on the co2!! looks cool! i think i will get my hands on 1 real soon.. so anything i not sure.. i ask for ya oh, and i noticed.. did u have a co2 reactor? i heard DIY co2 must have a reactor, otherwise (correct me if im wrong), ur co2 cant dissolve into the water..it will rise straight up to the surface... This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jun 23 2007, 12:28 PM |
Jun 23 2007, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Jun 23 2007, 12:28 PM) i see. checked out ya blog dee. warh.. nice work on the co2!! looks cool! i think i will get my hands on 1 real soon.. so anything i not sure.. i ask for ya diy co2 or co2 tank needs reactor or diffusor. reactor & diffusor helps increase contact surface of co2 gas and contact time with water to ensure as much co2 is dissolved into the water as possible. reactor forces water to flow into the direction of co2 gas while diffusor breaks co2 bubbles into very very tiny bubbles this increasing the contact surface of co2 gas with the water. oh, and i noticed.. did u have a co2 reactor? i heard DIY co2 must have a reactor, otherwise (correct me if im wrong), ur co2 cant dissolve into the water..it will rise straight up to the surface... for 4 feet tank i suggest u get co2 tank. save u alot of money and hassle in the long run. |
Jun 23 2007, 04:25 PM
yup u do need a reactor or diffusor bt as u can see my tank is a 'budget type' tatz y most of the things are diy-ed including the fan. i think u need either a diffusor or a reactor don't need both but do correct me if i'm wrong.. i'm tring to make a diy diffusor..should be by next mon can d hehe
Jun 23 2007, 05:53 PM
budget wan u use a straw and blow in cO2 can liao
Jun 23 2007, 07:18 PM
Jun 23 2007, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(cskeong @ Jun 23 2007, 02:04 PM) diy co2 or co2 tank needs reactor or diffusor. reactor & diffusor helps increase contact surface of co2 gas and contact time with water to ensure as much co2 is dissolved into the water as possible. reactor forces water to flow into the direction of co2 gas while diffusor breaks co2 bubbles into very very tiny bubbles this increasing the contact surface of co2 gas with the water. i see. but tank for now very exp.. and im planning to play play 1st.. not very serious into it yet, coz another 6 months, i will be off to Aus.. no one will help me take care liao.. but im so into this DIY thingy.. hahaha. like trying this project out! kakaka. maybe i will try make 2 DIY co2 generator? lolx!! can someone post a detail pics of their DIY reactor and Generator? kekeke..for 4 feet tank i suggest u get co2 tank. save u alot of money and hassle in the long run. anyway, blowing co2 in to ya tank wif a straw is no budget man, as later u will get so exhausted, hurting yaself.. masuk hospital tat time lagi costly o.. |
Jun 24 2007, 12:32 AM
last time when i bought my fish tank ah the lady was trying to sell me the co2 130 bucks refill 2 months once 30 bucks itz kinda exp lo and thn theres another alternative which is a co2 pill.. not sure abt tat i know 1 box can last 3 months around 9.90 bucks bt at nite canot turn off...
Jun 24 2007, 12:45 AM
ohh. i heard bout the co2 pill.. kinda useless. bought it.. still. plant din make it.. tat was my 1st attempt to water plantation.. now this is my 2nd attempt! ohh. so during night we need to stop the co2 supply la? then if a DIY unit? how am i going to stop the co2 supply? take it out of the water?
Added on June 24, 2007, 11:39 pmguppy fans!! where have u guys been? This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jun 24 2007, 11:39 PM |
Jun 25 2007, 12:00 AM
well it's uaully ok but if u don't take it out ur fish may drown in excess co2 i stop mine by taking the pipe out of the tank but i was planning to make a reservoir thing... still can't see how.. hehehe
Jun 25 2007, 12:22 AM
i see i see.. yeah, or else the the co2 will go wasted.. im building mine too.. still looking for the plug though.. *the one which u connect ya tube to the bottle*
Jun 25 2007, 12:48 PM
oh thats the 2 way valve or u can juz plug the whole pipe into the cap bt u need to make sure the hole isn't nt too big if nt the co2 will nt reach the tank
Added on June 26, 2007, 10:34 pmsuddenly so quiet... well i was wondering if anyone knows how can i diy an air pump? dun wanna buy if possible lol i wanna build a brine shrimp hatchery lol anyone? This post has been edited by someone_stupid: Jun 26 2007, 10:34 PM |
Jun 28 2007, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 25 2007, 12:48 PM) oh thats the 2 way valve or u can juz plug the whole pipe into the cap bt u need to make sure the hole isn't nt too big if nt the co2 will nt reach the tank aihh. so sad to hear tat.. but mine.. dunno why.. last night all look happy.. this morning.. 4 died! mysteriously, and suddenly.. all males. so sad.. QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 25 2007, 12:48 PM) Added on June 26, 2007, 10:34 pmsuddenly so quiet... well i was wondering if anyone knows how can i diy an air pump? dun wanna buy if possible lol i wanna build a brine shrimp hatchery lol anyone? pump? sorry. i had no idea. perhaps try to google arnd la.. u will be surprise wat u may find! This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jun 28 2007, 09:29 AM |
Jun 28 2007, 07:53 PM
hmm cant find any info bt still looking maybe is the cycling process? suddenly so many fishie die
Jun 29 2007, 03:59 AM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 28 2007, 07:53 PM) dunno la. but i already let it run for about a week plus before putting in any fishes.. but after the case. currently the fishes look happy. will be changing water again to make sure the water is clean. |
Jun 29 2007, 07:50 PM
lol mine also almost a week only die wan maybe is the peak of the process lol bt the fishies are cute~~
Jul 5 2007, 12:11 AM
oooo.. now my guppies are giving birth to many baby fries.. but this morning discovered 2 female died.. duno wats wrong.. sad.... 1 of them samore pregnant laio..
This post has been edited by Pumpkin_G: Jul 5 2007, 12:12 AM |
Jul 5 2007, 01:51 AM
1,224 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: miri now sunway |
some lives some dies..guppies like dat wan la hehehe
my guppy also..damn loads of babies..then die..too many babies i think lulz |
Jul 5 2007, 10:37 PM
oh another reason is of old age?
Jul 6 2007, 02:40 PM
Too stress and tired out due to the chasing and giving birth. Normally the right way was separate out the females after birth and feed them some nutricious feeders.
But most of the people just dont care and leave them in the same tank. Pity tho... Added on July 6, 2007, 2:44 pm QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Jun 28 2007, 09:28 AM) aihh. so sad to hear tat.. but mine.. dunno why.. last night all look happy.. this morning.. 4 died! mysteriously, and suddenly.. all males. so sad.. Hmm.. how's the water condition? Did you just bought them or sumthing and straight away put into tank?Or you had them for some time already and suddenly all died? Well for fishes, especially small ones, sometimes they might get infected by some virus and in worse case the whole fleet kena the same disease and died. I used to have a whole tank of guppies living happily and suddenly all died. If lucky maybe got 1 or 2 survivor to bring down the genes. Then these will be the stronger ones that resistant to the disease. This post has been edited by Lance8431: Jul 6 2007, 02:44 PM |
Jul 7 2007, 02:36 PM
all my 3 fishes are floating on the surface and looking bored and like very sien nothing to do mood if you know wat i mean usually they're swimming around all happy and merry and whn u put some fish food they'll chase around bt...they kinda like lost appetite b4 i post tis i juz changed the water..s omeone tell me wat happen?
Added on July 8, 2007, 9:42 pmsuddenly so quiet here... anyway i wanna ask a bit of opinion here u know the cpu fan? u can see the pix in my blog the fan i use for cooling i was thinking wif dad that using tat fan, screw into a small container thn the other end of the container puncture a hole big enuff juz to fit a valve in to make a diy air pump...wat do u guyz think? This post has been edited by someone_stupid: Jul 8 2007, 09:42 PM |
Jul 12 2007, 10:50 PM
might just be that you just change the water and they are strssed or getting use to the new environment.
can is can, but risky la, if electric leak your fish all shock and float up side down. |
Jul 15 2007, 02:28 AM
back back!! warh.. a busy busy week! ehhehe.. good news, i redecorated my entire garden and now they look awesome!!! bad news.. all my baby fries gone.. missing.. i guess they're in heaven la..
i din put in fish too soon, but i guess i changed too much water.. as im using a shallow flower pot to breed my guppies.. cant tell how much water i have sucked out till its too late.. lolx.. nvrm, will breed them again. hope this time at least a few will survive la.. heartbroken la when see all my big big colourful tails guppies mati.. |
Jul 15 2007, 10:53 AM
hmm hw come mine nt getting pregnant wan... sad
Jul 15 2007, 09:48 PM
wats the male female ratio? got any plantation in the tank? or maybe u might wanna go get some females from other LFS? coz last time i heard some places they sort of err. cacatkan
Jul 15 2007, 09:50 PM
Jul 15 2007, 11:18 PM
my ratio of the sex of my tank is 1 male is to 2 females and at the time i posting tis my male fishy died d
Added on July 15, 2007, 11:18 pmanyway u guys got a any diy way to clean algae? mine is an acrylic tank This post has been edited by someone_stupid: Jul 15 2007, 11:18 PM |
Jul 16 2007, 10:09 AM
get the bandaraya fish will do the job
Jul 16 2007, 12:29 PM
get siamese algae eater..will do the job..
or pleco..will do also.. but ofcoz SAE looks better |
Jul 16 2007, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 7 2007, 02:36 PM) all my 3 fishes are floating on the surface and looking bored and like very sien nothing to do mood if you know wat i mean usually they're swimming around all happy and merry and whn u put some fish food they'll chase around bt...they kinda like lost appetite b4 i post tis i juz changed the water..s omeone tell me wat happen? don't think it will work. cpu fan won't generate enough of pressure to push the air through the valve.Added on July 8, 2007, 9:42 pmsuddenly so quiet here... anyway i wanna ask a bit of opinion here u know the cpu fan? u can see the pix in my blog the fan i use for cooling i was thinking wif dad that using tat fan, screw into a small container thn the other end of the container puncture a hole big enuff juz to fit a valve in to make a diy air pump...wat do u guyz think? |
Jul 16 2007, 04:54 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
SAE will grow quite big and even for a 3ft tank, I'm reluctant to put 1 in.
Otocinclus are wonderful algae eaters and they're peaceful and stay small as well. All algae eaters will not eat all types of algae. Bandaraya fish will get really big, if I remember. |
Jul 16 2007, 05:02 PM
ohya totally forgot bout ottos !
Jul 18 2007, 01:03 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yamato shrimps are good algae eaters as well. But need much more extra care and conditions.
Jul 31 2007, 12:11 PM
8 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
My tetras in my 2 ft tank, would love to get some guppies next, but dunno where got quality nice pure breed guppies, any ideas?
![]() ![]() Added on July 31, 2007, 12:14 pm ![]() I've got one black neon, 2 neon tetras, 4 cardinals tetras, 2 bumble bee , 2 rummy nose and one fish dunno wats the name This post has been edited by gsrturbo: Jul 31 2007, 12:14 PM |
Aug 15 2007, 06:47 PM
81 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
bad news.. 6 out of 10 of my guppies died...
good news...now got 5 babies inside.. dunno exactly how many get birth.. so now i hv 4 elders & 5 babies.. shuld i transfer the elders to diffrnt tank?? |
Aug 15 2007, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(VforCe @ Aug 15 2007, 06:47 PM) bad news.. 6 out of 10 of my guppies died... transfering them will not be necessary if u have alot of hiding place for the fries.. otherwise, transferring the adults will ensure higher survival rate for the fries.. just make sure u will transfer them into a nice environment, otherwise ya adults will get stressed and ultimately die.good news...now got 5 babies inside.. dunno exactly how many get birth.. so now i hv 4 elders & 5 babies.. shuld i transfer the elders to diffrnt tank?? |
Aug 16 2007, 12:25 AM
i never transfer my fries as i have a water plant to let the fries hiding. i got around 20-30 guppies in one pail. but sometime the frog come to eat the guppies n gave birth in the pail
Aug 16 2007, 12:47 AM
Forum Admin
my guppy last time bought about <15. then all died, but left some babies. now babies grow and give birth and expand some more. StarScream01 liked this post
Aug 16 2007, 02:01 PM
1,250 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Tropicalu Janguru |
Hi guys, my boss recently bought an aquarium and everyone was told buy a fish each. Thing is, I LOVE guppies and will contribute maybe 2 pairs but thing is, one of my colleague is buying one of those feng shui fish.. the gold colour fish (not goldfish).
I was wondering, will those fish eat the guppies ar? I don't want to see my guppies killed.. |
Aug 16 2007, 04:28 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Aug 16 2007, 02:01 PM) Hi guys, my boss recently bought an aquarium and everyone was told buy a fish each. ok now that's a DAMN stupid thing to do. try mixing goldfish + betta + guppy + neon tetra + oscar gila man. does your boss need a lecture? if yes please tell. |
Aug 16 2007, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 16 2007, 04:28 PM) ok now that's a DAMN stupid thing to do. Yea lor. We told him but the HR manager say, "Caaan, who say cannot". Everyone also went WTF. That's why until now we havent bought any fish. I suggested guppies but they all say 'aiyo, so small'.try mixing goldfish + betta + guppy + neon tetra + oscar gila man. does your boss need a lecture? if yes please tell. Some ppl have no eyes for subtle beauty. (It's not that guppies' colour/design is subtle) StarScream01 liked this post
Aug 16 2007, 05:03 PM
Forum Admin
if they say"Caaan, who say cannot". then ask them back la "who say can?" basket these type of people deserve sledge-hammer on the head. guppies small? ask them - what size tank are they? fine la. put 6 baby oscars and wait 3 months later and let's see who start talking about fish tank expansion. btw what size is the tank? regardless, 6 baby oscars aren't that big. in fact they're smaller than gouramis. StarScream01 liked this post
Aug 16 2007, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 16 2007, 05:03 PM) if they say"Caaan, who say cannot". then ask them back la "who say can?" basket these type of people deserve sledge-hammer on the head. guppies small? ask them - what size tank are they? fine la. put 6 baby oscars and wait 3 months later and let's see who start talking about fish tank expansion. btw what size is the tank? regardless, 6 baby oscars aren't that big. in fact they're smaller than gouramis. If he want to be smart alec, I just let him be. Later I just buy a bandaraya fish better. If not, the guppies will die for nothing. The tank size ar... it's almost like an arm span's width (from left to right) so it's 5/6 feet? I'm not sure. But I think for offices, guppies are the best because they look very graceful, especially if we set up the tank right with lotsa lotsa 'vegetation'. Guppies = tranquility StarScream01 liked this post
Aug 16 2007, 06:46 PM
Forum Admin
ouuh guppy traffic build up is damn nice.
as for the arm-width. i'd say around 4ft tank la. put bandaraya also good, tahan lasak. i remember my bandaraya, when my oscar baby that time full time the oscar got whacked. after the oscar grew up, he returned the favor. luckily the bandaraya have armor. ok going off topic. back to guppies. actually guppies are nice but once your collagues put in nippers or stuff like aggressive cichlids, say bye bye oh. |
Aug 16 2007, 07:01 PM
2,450 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
you can try to put or buy those aquarium glass splitter(don't know what it is called), that can be custom/pre-made and separate the tanks for different fish
This post has been edited by stevanistelrooy: Aug 16 2007, 07:04 PM |
Aug 16 2007, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 16 2007, 06:46 PM) ouuh guppy traffic build up is damn nice. Aiii? Bandaraya also whack other fishes ar? Last time when I had a fish tank, my two bandaraya busy sucking the glass panel only. Never seen them whack other fishes. But last time my uncle gave us a flower horn, the dumb fish attack the bandaraya until its fin rosak edi. Ish, poor thing.as for the arm-width. i'd say around 4ft tank la. put bandaraya also good, tahan lasak. i remember my bandaraya, when my oscar baby that time full time the oscar got whacked. after the oscar grew up, he returned the favor. luckily the bandaraya have armor. ok going off topic. back to guppies. actually guppies are nice but once your collagues put in nippers or stuff like aggressive cichlids, say bye bye oh. QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Aug 16 2007, 07:01 PM) you can try to put or buy those aquarium glass splitter(don't know what it is called), that can be custom/pre-made and separate the tanks for different fish But that will make the tank very 'tight' lo. Because, I suggest that they rear guppies because they're nice to look at and we have lots of variety. But the big boys want those feng shui fish. I will not sacrifice poor guppies just because I like them. Like I've said, if they want other fishes, I will contribute bandaraya fish. |
Aug 21 2007, 06:02 PM
397 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kelantan--> --> Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Aug 16 2007, 04:33 PM) Yea lor. We told him but the HR manager say, "Caaan, who say cannot". Everyone also went WTF. That's why until now we havent bought any fish. I suggested guppies but they all say 'aiyo, so small'. then just discuss with ur colleagues not to buy a fish that are noteat small fish lol Some ppl have no eyes for subtle beauty. (It's not that guppies' colour/design is subtle) ask ur colleagues to buy tetra, pencil fish, guppies, etc (just small fish) & add some drift wood or plants in the aquarium.... hope this could help This post has been edited by Namgor2006: Aug 21 2007, 06:04 PM |
Aug 21 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(Namgor2006 @ Aug 21 2007, 06:02 PM) then just discuss with ur colleagues not to buy a fish that are noteat small fish lol Hmm I dont know what it is with guys and big stuff but all the guys want those big (as in goldfish sized) fish. They say if I want guppies, I'm welcomed to buy and deposit them into the tank.ask ur colleagues to buy tetra, pencil fish, guppies, etc (just small fish) & add some drift wood or plants in the aquarium.... hope this could help *stabs colleagues* |
Aug 21 2007, 09:57 PM
im looking for nice guppies...but i dont know where to get them...its rare to find nice looking ones nowadays
Aug 21 2007, 11:44 PM
any body here can show me "daun ketapang"!!
Added on August 21, 2007, 11:44 pmany body here can show me "daun ketapang"!! This post has been edited by dien: Aug 21 2007, 11:44 PM |
Aug 23 2007, 02:27 PM
397 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kelantan--> --> Seri Kembangan |
Sep 3 2007, 12:01 AM
keep arowana la, so nice
Sep 3 2007, 10:08 AM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
its stupid to keep diff type of fish in one tank
Oct 11 2007, 04:03 AM
218 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Ipoh, China |
There is an aquarium at my home. My sis used to buy gold fishes. Whenever she changes water, some fishes died. Then she switches to smaller fish (the one that used to feed "Fa Lou Hon"), same thing happen, fishes died after water changed. I saw how she change water, she keeps the fishes in a half-full pile with the aquarium water, then she add tap water (another half pile). Then she drops some anti-clourin liquid in, and anti alga liquid.
Anyway, my sister decided to stop keeping fishes after seeing fishes died again and again and again. She keeps baby tortoise instead. Now the tortoises has grown too big for the fish aquarium, so the aquarium is empty agian. It is sad seeing an empty aquarium at home...the feeling of emptiness and liveless. So i decided to keep fishes that is more edure to environment. My friend recommends guppy or we also call it "peacock fishes" because of the beautiful tail. At a start, I just persuade my colleague to give me a pair of his "peacock fishes" from his pond. He genenously gave me many "peacock fishes" in a 650ml peanut butter container. There are male, female, olds, youngs and babies. The thing is, my aquarium is in Ipoh, i am now still in Penang, I will only travel back to my home 3 days later. Seeing all the fishes are so congested inside a 650ml container, I add some tap water and move the fishes to a small pile, so that there are more room for the fishes to move around, and more oxigen for them to breathe. The sad thing is 1/3 of the fishes already died tonight. I really worried if some of them can last until Friday night. |
Apr 11 2008, 07:12 PM
plan to use my old fish tank to keep guppy...but wat should i do first to clean the tank?..coz the tank left around very long d..and there is some salt harden on the tank..how ar?
Apr 19 2008, 05:16 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
hmm. guppies dont need so clean la. the dirtier the better.
my guppies living in a 5 foot aquarium the water never change since 2002 only add water. got moss and weird crap inside but the guppies are humongous. will upload photo once i figured out how to upload a phyoto |
Apr 19 2008, 05:47 PM
2,647 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Apr 19 2008, 06:31 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
got Moss la.
and grass and green gunk. the gunk will absorb nitrate and ammonia as nutrient then in turn the fish munch on the gunk. so i never feed the fish and i never change water. damn economic. any idea how to upload pictures.? |
Jul 14 2008, 01:35 PM
155 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hi all...
i'm still new keep guppy... here is the photo of my guppy... ![]() i'll hope u all can see the guppy...got 6 in last month...but yesterday only have 3 guppy bcoz after they breed & get son,the female will die immediately(this is what my dad told me bcoz my dad already went to fish course before)...then now i already get lot of baby...here the photo... ![]() then now i got aquestion...where to get the baby of guppy food??urgent need... |
Jul 14 2008, 02:03 PM
1,082 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jul 14 2008, 01:35 PM) hi all... i'm still new keep guppy... here is the photo of my guppy... ![]() i'll hope u all can see the guppy...got 6 in last month...but yesterday only have 3 guppy bcoz after they breed & get son,the female will die immediately(this is what my dad told me bcoz my dad already went to fish course before)...then now i already get lot of baby...here the photo... ![]() then now i got aquestion...where to get the baby of guppy food??urgent need... ya meh? my female guppies never died before. When i had baby guppies i just fed them with those guppy fish food, but crushed ones.. |
Jul 14 2008, 02:30 PM
yes...she died bcoz of tired & also stress i think logically...i'mnot at home when the babies born...so no one know the babies born & the mother died...so just use standard guppy fish & crush it & give the babies lah ye??
Jul 14 2008, 02:37 PM
1,734 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL / PJ / JB |
QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jul 14 2008, 02:30 PM) yes...she died bcoz of tired & also stress i think logically...i'mnot at home when the babies born...so no one know the babies born & the mother died...so just use standard guppy fish & crush it & give the babies lah ye?? i got longkang guppies only, care to spare a pair of your guppies for me? later la when they're bigger |
Jul 14 2008, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 14 2008, 02:37 PM) i got longkang guppies only, care to spare a pair of your guppies for me? later la when they're bigger hope to meet u at outsidelah..hehehe...yam cha or go makan2.... no problem kenji...i will keep it for u...my betta still got problem with male & female...so they all still not yet have babies...now only my guppy have babies...next will start planted aquarium for good life of my guppy...hehehe |
Jul 14 2008, 05:54 PM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Malaysia |
u can even feed the guppy with boiled egg yolk for the baby guppy....u eat the white, guppy eat the yolk!!
Jul 14 2008, 06:08 PM
Jul 14 2008, 06:20 PM
same for bettas:
http://bettysplendens.com/articles/page.imp?articleid=724 QUOTE The first food of the fry varies from person to person, but most of them shared a common thread - the vast majority use hard-boiled egg yolk as a staple, from as early as the first day of feeding. A tiny amount is either mashed into water and fed a few drops at a time, or crumbled directly into the tank twice a day. Fry grow very quickly on this protein-rich diet, and even the smallest fry can swallow the tiny particles of egg yolk that are dissolving in the water. |
Jul 14 2008, 07:41 PM
yea...dats the way of cut cost and effective way to keep ur guppy grow fast!!!
and also good for urself!! eat more egg!!! |
Jul 15 2008, 10:47 AM
i'll try yesterday night but the babies still dont want the yolk egg..any idea how to feed them??yesterday put the plant,so i saw the babies eat the alga..
Jul 15 2008, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jul 15 2008, 10:47 AM) i'll try yesterday night but the babies still dont want the yolk egg..any idea how to feed them??yesterday put the plant,so i saw the babies eat the alga.. yeah they love algae too, so if you have lots of it then you can feed them |
Jul 15 2008, 11:06 AM
HAHAHA....bagi i sikit algae...i mahu..hehehe...i mahu buat umpan ikan...hehehe
it's fishing time loooooooooo |
Jul 15 2008, 11:09 AM
Jul 15 2008, 11:39 AM
yesterday get some guppy from my fren...he give bcoz he went todubai today....so post pic after this..hehee
Added on July 15, 2008, 12:02 pmhere is the guppy photo... ![]() ![]() seem this thread so slow,not must keep this thread happening again...hehhee This post has been edited by masta_hafiz: Jul 15 2008, 12:02 PM |
Jul 15 2008, 02:58 PM
ur female look great!!.....they dun eat egg yolk ar??? hmmm....but jus leave it there la if u wan....can be their spare food when u busy to feed them or not around.....yea, if ur tank got planty of algae or plants, then u nonit feed the baby guppy also can...but ur plant will soon habis!!!....hahahaha
Jul 16 2008, 01:53 AM
wanna ask..if my guppy tank not those planted tank...can i just buy those plant tat d grow on the wood?? will it grow without any co2 tank or special mineral?
Jul 16 2008, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Jul 16 2008, 01:53 AM) wanna ask..if my guppy tank not those planted tank...can i just buy those plant tat d grow on the wood?? will it grow without any co2 tank or special mineral? yes you may, provided ur tank is clean !! |
Jul 16 2008, 12:23 PM
i see i see.thanks ya
Jul 16 2008, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 15 2008, 02:58 PM) ur female look great!!.....they dun eat egg yolk ar??? hmmm....but jus leave it there la if u wan....can be their spare food when u busy to feed them or not around.....yea, if ur tank got planty of algae or plants, then u nonit feed the baby guppy also can...but ur plant will soon habis!!!....hahahaha which one is female??i dont got u lah bro...seem i'm at site now,so i just leave the egg yolk...wait until i'm back from outstation,so after that can see the plant what's going on..hehehe |
Jul 16 2008, 02:02 PM
who got alga..mayb can give me some
Jul 16 2008, 02:07 PM
hahaha...contact kenji_britney...i already book from kenji..hehehe...wait until kenji free then just take from kenji...
KENJI..u r male o female?? |
Jul 16 2008, 02:19 PM
haha thanks for the 'promotion'. if you live in pj then can easily pass you the algae. pm me
btw i'm male This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jul 16 2008, 02:20 PM |
Jul 16 2008, 02:26 PM
haha..hi bro kenji..which part of pj?...
Jul 16 2008, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jul 16 2008, 01:54 PM) which one is female??i dont got u lah bro...seem i'm at site now,so i just leave the egg yolk...wait until i'm back from outstation,so after that can see the plant what's going on..hehehe alamak, the female is the 1 wit red tail n body without colour......apa la u!!! |
Jul 16 2008, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Jul 16 2008, 02:26 PM) amcorp mall side.QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 16 2008, 02:27 PM) also the female is the one which is bigger in size. females are bigger than males, but fins are smaller and less attractive. |
Jul 16 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 16 2008, 02:27 PM) hahaha....i dont know lah...still learning...hahaha tq tq tq Added on July 16, 2008, 5:18 pm QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 16 2008, 02:30 PM) amcorp mall side. kenji..dont 4get our deal of algae k..hehehe also the female is the one which is bigger in size. females are bigger than males, but fins are smaller and less attractive. now iknow which one is female & male... This post has been edited by masta_hafiz: Jul 16 2008, 05:18 PM |
Jul 16 2008, 05:35 PM
hahahah....great u learn new thing...kekekeke....
female look eactly like our kilometrico liquid paper....LOL |
Jul 16 2008, 06:12 PM
yes...now learn something new...thanks to who teach me...hehehe
hope t get more baby guppy next month... |
Jul 16 2008, 06:28 PM
haha yes don't worry i'll remember to give you.. i got so much unwanted algae, i'd be happy if someone found them useful haha.
Jul 16 2008, 06:36 PM
Jul 17 2008, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 16 2008, 06:28 PM) haha yes don't worry i'll remember to give you.. i got so much unwanted algae, i'd be happy if someone found them useful haha. the algae is good for fishing sepat ronggeng maa...near my house got lot of sepat ronggeng..so much catch & make ikan masin & sell it...Added on July 17, 2008, 10:31 am QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 16 2008, 06:36 PM) next week...hope so lioaaa... This post has been edited by masta_hafiz: Jul 17 2008, 10:31 AM |
Jul 17 2008, 06:12 PM
Jul 18 2008, 12:38 AM
hahahahaha
fishing for guppy...hahaha |
Jul 18 2008, 11:43 AM
Jul 18 2008, 05:32 PM
303 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Honky Tonk... |
my male guppy juz dead after 2 days...he can stay with 4 other female or nt?...i think he was killed by his wives...so sad...
Jul 18 2008, 09:18 PM
ahhhaaha....should be ok ma...i got 1 male with 5 female in a tank also no prob...ekekeke...mayb ur male no handsome
Jul 18 2008, 10:36 PM
27 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: sabah |
hye.my bf really loves guppy..i love it too.but oll mati wo.i xpndai jaga..huhu..my bf got 70++ baby guppies oldy..nicely breed..varios color..he got blue,green and yellow..
Jul 18 2008, 10:51 PM
766 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(ally_sunmi2003 @ Jul 18 2008, 10:36 PM) hye.my bf really loves guppy..i love it too.but oll mati wo.i xpndai jaga..huhu..my bf got 70++ baby guppies oldy..nicely breed..varios color..he got blue,green and yellow.. Nice! Should post some pictures. Below are some of pictures that i took long ago. ![]() ![]() ![]() Albino Full Red. |
Jul 18 2008, 10:58 PM
plez help me..does guppy need O2??
Jul 18 2008, 10:58 PM
Jul 18 2008, 10:59 PM
i'll try n get da pics from him..^.^.wait ya guyss
Jul 18 2008, 11:00 PM
can lives olso eh..but izit better wif O2??
Jul 18 2008, 11:17 PM
529 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Jul 19 2008, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(yscagro @ Jul 18 2008, 09:18 PM) ahhhaaha....should be ok ma...i got 1 male with 5 female in a tank also no prob...ekekeke...mayb ur male no handsome hahaha...i think he is handsome...maybe on fish's view...he is not...cos he is not shiny...i bought 2 more shiny male guppies...2 male vs 4 female...will it be more balance?...hehe... hope tat tis time they can live happily and build some happy family... |
Jul 19 2008, 10:40 AM
538 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Damansara |
how come i cant success rear guppy?
some will suddenly die... some will hide and die... sad~~ |
Jul 19 2008, 11:40 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Singapore |
pls guys... there is a guppy thread already i guess....
Jul 19 2008, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jul 19 2008, 11:40 AM) exactly..There's already an existing thread, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/369451. Please use the search function before opening a new thread. |
Jul 20 2008, 01:47 AM
?????
Jul 21 2008, 03:07 AM
Jul 21 2008, 05:35 PM
what new of ur guppy last week everybody??
mine is still same...all baby is fine & already eat pellets & yolk egg..hehehe |
Jul 22 2008, 12:27 AM
cool.....finally u see them eat egg yolk.... congrats!
Jul 24 2008, 10:46 AM
wat happen to my guppies?...
yesterday afternoon got 2 guppies' tail gt white dot... today morning all 6 gone...whole body got white dot... wat bacteria is tat?...how to cure the infected's fish?... thanx... |
Jul 24 2008, 04:50 PM
u change water???? probably water problem...
Jul 24 2008, 04:58 PM
Jul 24 2008, 05:04 PM
as i know that is chlorine...so u need to put anti chlorine into ur water...put it 1 day earlier...if possible use mineral water or RO water...i'm practice use mineral water at my home...until now all my fish still alive...use mineral water for small2 tank oly...dont use at ur pond k...
Jul 24 2008, 05:19 PM
thanks a lot... hope tat my fish can recover soon... This post has been edited by alesshans: Jul 24 2008, 05:21 PM |
Jul 24 2008, 05:22 PM
hope soo...then post some photo of ur fish lah....
Jul 24 2008, 09:15 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: A place where the sun don't shine |
Hi guppy keepers, anyone knows what type of guppy is this? saw this guppy today and bought it thinking that it's rather unique as i have never seen guppy in this colour before.. its body is goldish yellow and red finishing at the end of its tail
![]() |
Jul 29 2008, 10:45 AM
mother guppy giving birth now... ^ ^
Jul 29 2008, 10:54 AM
Jul 29 2008, 11:06 AM
hehe..sure sure..coz now the baby pop-ping out one by one slowly..hav to pay attention to the mom..if no the baby habis kena eat aa...
Jul 30 2008, 03:40 AM
yea...pay attention on the matured guppy......or else, transfer the baby to another tank....previously i saw many baby guppy in my tank, but got 1 weekend im away, so they dont have food...come back, few baby hilang liao...sad saddd
Jul 30 2008, 08:15 AM
hmmm..wat we hav to feed the babies ya?..they so small wor..they cant even eat my smallest fish pellet
Jul 30 2008, 09:09 AM
egg yolk
Jul 30 2008, 09:21 AM
Jul 30 2008, 09:24 AM
nope, the yolk that dissolves will be the food for the fry, you can try to put in little by little and don't crush it too much.
Jul 30 2008, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Jul 29 2008, 10:45 AM) congrats...dont 4get to post some photo...hehehe Added on July 30, 2008, 12:54 pm QUOTE(ryant3 @ Jul 24 2008, 09:15 PM) Hi guppy keepers, anyone knows what type of guppy is this? saw this guppy today and bought it thinking that it's rather unique as i have never seen guppy in this colour before.. its body is goldish yellow and red finishing at the end of its tail nice female there...hope can give nice2 baby & cantik 1...hehehe![]() This post has been edited by masta_hafiz: Jul 30 2008, 12:54 PM |
Jul 31 2008, 01:26 PM
the daddy and mummy
![]() the babies ..so small and i temporary put them in a plastic container..should be okie rite? ![]() ![]() |
Jul 31 2008, 02:11 PM
wah not bad, that's quite a lot of little babies. can't see the mummy clearly though.
Jul 31 2008, 02:46 PM
haha..coz using hp camera..and the fish swim here swim there....the mum is normal guppy lor, with orange tail..hehe
Jul 31 2008, 02:52 PM
2,521 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: UrbanSubangJaya |
so cute the small small guppies. how often do they breed? |
Jul 31 2008, 04:49 PM
Aug 1 2008, 02:01 AM
cool!!! greaat job ur guppy
Aug 1 2008, 09:33 AM
yscargo...show us ur guppy photo lah bro......
Aug 2 2008, 01:53 PM
haR??? mine 1 ar??? i dont have any pic leh...i try to capture some before, buthen the tank is too dark!!!... i dont put a lamp on it.....
erm...i try k!....will get it done soon!...mayb like wat ciohbu do, take the baby up into a tupperware and take.... |
Aug 4 2008, 05:31 PM
haha..i hav to put the baby in the tupperware..if no all habis kena makan..
this afternoon i feed them with egg yolk d.. |
Aug 5 2008, 11:42 AM
bagus..bagus...hehehe.....take care of ur guppy baby looo chiobu...
yscargo...u have the black arowana??it is indon or malaysia...hehehe...take ur guppy photolah..i wanna see,what kind of guppy u have looo...coz at my area fish shop just bought the competition guppy...it cost u rm2.00 for 1...i didnt take photo coz no phone camera...hehehe..... |
Aug 5 2008, 02:00 PM
haha...can i feed the parents with egg yolk also?..
Aug 7 2008, 11:49 AM
should b can i think...hehehe
Aug 8 2008, 03:00 PM
68 posts Joined: May 2008 From: selangor |
jz wanna ask any1 here now where to get ketapang leaves??..i heard it can lower d PH n soften the water(same function like black water but a lot cheaper)...heee..but the water sure will look like teh cina
Aug 8 2008, 03:08 PM
find a ketapang tree and get the brown leaves that fall off, crush it then put it into the water. google for pictures of the leaf, it's sometimes reddish colour too before it turns brown i think.
Aug 8 2008, 05:42 PM
i think ada jual di petshop at ikano there...not sure about that but can survey...hehehe...& dont forget to share with us here...hehe
Aug 8 2008, 08:32 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Malaysia |
-sry removed-
This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Aug 8 2008, 09:24 PM |
Aug 8 2008, 08:43 PM
68 posts Joined: May 2008 From: selangor |
i thk i noe how's the tree looks like..now i thk everytime when i go out i will try to look around me..lolxx..good leaves for fish
Aug 8 2008, 09:10 PM
481 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: from da land of dori dori |
another guppy fan reportin in.....
been pet guppy since kid.... now my guppy multiplied more than hundred.... |
Aug 10 2008, 10:51 PM
put ketapang leaf better ar?..
hmmm..anyways, now my fish swim in very weird style la...izzit sick d?..swim till half will stop d wor |
Aug 11 2008, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Aug 10 2008, 10:51 PM) put ketapang leaf better ar?.. ketapang leaf is normally used for fighting fish to try and suit their environment to its original home so that the colours of their fin can be more vibrant, bright and colourful. so i don't think it's necessary for guppies.hmmm..anyways, now my fish swim in very weird style la...izzit sick d?..swim till half will stop d wor and explain what you mean by swim halfway then stop? is it the babies? if it is then yeah they do that sometimes, like they dart around then stop, look around then dart again. but would be better if you explain more on how they swim then stop halfway. |
Aug 11 2008, 06:27 PM
no..but happen to my adult guppy...and 2 of them die just now ...
Aug 11 2008, 07:18 PM
they should be sick.. cause could very well be dirty water/infection
This post has been edited by ryant3: Aug 11 2008, 07:20 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 07:20 PM
hmmm..i just change the water wor
Aug 11 2008, 07:24 PM
no symptoms of unusual behaviours before this? my guppies Died too due to dropsy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fish_Dropsy my guppies all Died and the gourami was sick but survived.. other fishes not affected and i changed the water everyday for 4 days to eliminate all the contaminated water Added on August 11, 2008, 7:29 pmnow i use a bit of aquarium salt to help fishes produce a coat of slime that could protect them from some infection This post has been edited by ryant3: Aug 11 2008, 07:29 PM |
Aug 11 2008, 07:37 PM
the water i changed was added with salt d... or do i need to add more?together with med? ..
but i didnt any swollen stomach on my guppy |
Aug 16 2008, 09:19 AM
chiobu how are your guppies now? it may help if you put some water plants or algae so that they can eat and also neutralise the water?
Aug 16 2008, 09:44 PM
555 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Malaysia, UNITED STATES OF ASIA |
Do cats eat this Guppy fish?
Aug 16 2008, 10:26 PM
Aug 16 2008, 10:57 PM
802 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Johor |
hi, newbie here.. may keep fish in the future.. before that, i want to ask some Qs..
what's the cost of keeping guppy per month? do they need planted grass or big aquarium? can i keep in the fish bowl? what do i need to feed them with? how often should i change the water? what fish can be mixed with guppy? many thanks in advance! This post has been edited by jayniel: Aug 16 2008, 11:00 PM |
Aug 16 2008, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(jayniel @ Aug 16 2008, 10:57 PM) hi, newbie here.. may keep fish in the future.. before that, i want to ask some Qs.. erm, i dunno how to estimate the cost but it's really cheap la. you can choose an aquarium or fish bowl, any will work. it would be better if you put some greens in it, they like to eat algae so it'll be good if you got an area where algae can grow easily. other than that, you can feed the fish flakes which you can get at pet shops. water change, erm.. once or twice a week?what's the cost of keeping guppy per month? do they need planted grass or big aquarium? can i keep in the fish bowl? what do i need to feed them with? how often should i change the water? many thanks in advance! |
Aug 16 2008, 11:10 PM
Hey people, just wondering, when the female guppies are pregnant, do you guys transfer em to another tank?
Aug 16 2008, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(jayniel @ Aug 16 2008, 10:57 PM) hi, newbie here.. may keep fish in the future.. before that, i want to ask some Qs.. it should cost u much because guppies by nature are hardy fishes.. they do not require plants in the tank and the size of the aquarium will depend on the number of guppies.. 3 or 4 guppies in a fish bowl should be fine.. feeding them common fish food will do as they are not picky eaters.. a tank with filtration(fully cycled) should go about changing water once in 1-2 weeks.. but since u're using a fish bowl i dont think there will be any filtration so in order to keep them healthy, say, 3 - 5 days 100% water change.. u will need to condition the water as well because chlorine in tap water is harmful to fishes.. the price for anti chlorine ranges to +- RM 2 to RM10++.. I am personally using cheap ones and didnt have any problems.. but I use aged water(water left overnight to neutralize chlorine) and anti chlorine to be on the safe side..what's the cost of keeping guppy per month? do they need planted grass or big aquarium? can i keep in the fish bowl? what do i need to feed them with? how often should i change the water? many thanks in advance! |
Aug 16 2008, 11:30 PM
Aug 16 2008, 11:35 PM
Aug 16 2008, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(neshie @ Aug 16 2008, 11:35 PM) Okay, If i transfer them to a guppy plastic tank (common tanks seen in fish shops), and just put a pump will be okay? Depend on you, Guppy can live even without any pump or filter, just that you need to change your water frequently. Or do i need to put them with a filter? Remember to put some plants inside or something that can let your fries to hide as you can't predict the time your female guppy breed. And, remove the guppy gently to avoid your guppy being shock until hard to breed. |
Aug 16 2008, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(mengdez @ Aug 16 2008, 11:41 PM) Depend on you, Guppy can live even without any pump or filter, just that you need to change your water frequently. Okay. Thanks for the advice. Remember to put some plants inside or something that can let your fries to hide as you can't predict the time your female guppy breed. And, remove the guppy gently to avoid your guppy being shock until hard to breed. I see a few of my female guppies stomach turning rounder. |
Aug 17 2008, 09:42 AM
Aug 19 2008, 12:40 PM
the cat pic is not cute.....u r cuter...
Aug 21 2008, 10:43 AM
why so quite looooooooo???
Aug 21 2008, 03:14 PM
27 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Canada |
Hi Guppy Lovers,
I have a lot of guppies. They are all beautiful and coexist peacefully and happily together. I also have 4 very red swordfishes. I keep them in a huge ceramic pot with lots of water plants. I don't have a very good camera and I can't take them from the view of an aquarium. However, I hope you'd be able to enjoy and see some of the colours of the guppies in this picture. |
Aug 21 2008, 03:58 PM
nice guppy there.....
Aug 21 2008, 06:27 PM
Aug 21 2008, 09:23 PM
when males keep chasing female...it should be more happening full.....new life were born by then....
Aug 21 2008, 09:52 PM
163 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Alor Setar |
What grass you put in there? Is it difficult to keep the plant alive? I am looking to add some green in my guppy tank too.
Aug 22 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(yscagro @ Aug 21 2008, 09:23 PM) when males keep chasing female...it should be more happening full.....new life were born by then.... Ya ya ya..had many babies until nearly exploded so I separated male all in one tank and all female in another.Then the male became like want to die..no semangat to live..haih..now all back together..happy again. weird. Good thing the ceramic pot is big one. QUOTE(JetOoi @ Aug 21 2008, 09:52 PM) What grass you put in there? Is it difficult to keep the plant alive? I am looking to add some green in my guppy tank too. The water plant is those normal ones from aquarium shop..cheap ones like RM1.20 for one small bunch I think. You look atmy picture then when you see the same ones in the shop, those are the ones..Other types look different. This type is very easy to keep. I have so much that I have to weed every few months. They just grow and grow. I keep my pot in the balcony so can get some sun and I have some soil that I originally bought for my lotus plant that I put inside. That helps I think although I didn't plant the water plant to the soil. I just left it floating also can survive. |
Aug 22 2008, 04:41 PM
Aug 22 2008, 04:50 PM
yeah i want some guppies, anybody got some to spare?
Aug 24 2008, 02:18 AM
free 1 longkang got alot....some wth colour too!!....hehehehe......actually i got some....but hard to giv it to u la....cuz my guppy is in my kl tank....someone takecare for me....i onli be back to kl next month
Sep 1 2008, 06:02 PM
67 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(yscagro @ Aug 24 2008, 02:18 AM) free 1 longkang got alot....some wth colour too!!....hehehehe......actually i got some....but hard to giv it to u la....cuz my guppy is in my kl tank....someone takecare for me....i onli be back to kl next month longkang guppy? lol got free one can give me ar hahaha i live near kl too:P |
Oct 5 2008, 06:08 PM
Oct 6 2008, 03:12 AM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
my previous guppies... vr vr nice tail....
![]() but all dead coz wrong water temp... pipe water temp too hot.... |
Oct 6 2008, 08:45 AM
ouch.. kena masak?
Oct 6 2008, 09:34 AM
Oct 6 2008, 08:08 PM
4,105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: eE-pOh | KL |
noob
Oct 6 2008, 10:10 PM
1,447 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Puchong |
guppy is live bear...there are hardy...how come all dead....did u clear the chlorine in the water tat u r using???
Oct 6 2008, 11:43 PM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Just buy six guppy and setup my mini aquarium.Guest im on the right place!!!I WILL UPLOAD THE AQUARIUM AND GUPPY FISH LATER.CHEERSS!!!
Oct 6 2008, 11:46 PM
krekofan~~welcum...post more photo ya....by the way...i do recommend u put in some weed...so tat the guppy more comfortable v....
Oct 7 2008, 12:04 AM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
thanks!! i will upload it.2 female ,4 male plus 2 green shrimps.haha.Cheers!
Oct 7 2008, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Oct 6 2008, 08:08 PM) dun laugh at me lak... QUOTE(jason86 @ Oct 6 2008, 10:10 PM) guppy is live bear...there are hardy...how come all dead....did u clear the chlorine in the water tat u r using??? nope... i thought jz a quick swap of water... less than 3mins.... i jz fill up some tap water... dump my guppies in there... replace my aquarium water with non-clorin water and put them back.... under 3mins all cooked.... |
Oct 7 2008, 12:43 AM
u never test ur water temp??even u never test the temp v any thermometer...at least u can the water 's temp whn u filled into ur tank rite???by the way...guppies can live even i place my tank under the sun...i dont think is the temp...
u shld declorin the water 1st b4 u dump in ur guppies...tis is wat ppl will do normally....even for me..i will store the tap water in a big container thn puor in the de chlorine solution in it...leave it for few days only i will use it....tis way safer... |
Oct 7 2008, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(jason86 @ Oct 7 2008, 12:43 AM) u never test ur water temp??even u never test the temp v any thermometer...at least u can the water 's temp whn u filled into ur tank rite???by the way...guppies can live even i place my tank under the sun...i dont think is the temp... icic.... alrite... got the tips... thanks... u shld declorin the water 1st b4 u dump in ur guppies...tis is wat ppl will do normally....even for me..i will store the tap water in a big container thn puor in the de chlorine solution in it...leave it for few days only i will use it....tis way safer... |
Oct 7 2008, 10:37 PM
144 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: --S'GOR-- |
Oct 10 2008, 09:03 PM
148 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hi. I need help >.<. One of my guppy fish's stomach and neck area suddenly kembang and became huge....sort of reminds me of a balloon >.<. Three days ago,i saw it but it wasn't as huge as yesterday. The tummy and neck area grew so big until you can see the scale sort of like pop out a little and not stuck completely on it's skin because of the sudden change in size. At first i thought maybe it has egg inside but then i thought when it first got pregnant(lol),it was half it's size compared to now so cannot be. If got egg inside,only the stomach will look bloated up but now,even the neck area... Does anyone know why? I'm really worried... >.<
This post has been edited by joychin89: Oct 10 2008, 09:04 PM |
Oct 10 2008, 10:44 PM
118 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Once upon a time, my sis got a tank of guppies when she was bored of them, they were throw to longkang... after some time, they were happily breeding and making family in the longkang, and they became longkang fish and bring colour to the longkang... and then i cant resists and caught some of the nice longkang fish back for my selfish need... again they flourish... until one day...the king of my house kindly change the water without knowing, and they become victims of chloring water. And later that day.... murderer of mosquito come to spray around my house, and longkang guppies became victims colleteral damage.... and neva again i seen a single guppy in my home.... the moral of story is i like telling story... guppies are beautiful. ps: joychin, sad to hear that wish to help you but i also dunoe..just care it more..and let nature take its way. StarScream01 liked this post
Oct 11 2008, 10:51 PM
148 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
^
I know what it is already...it's called dropsy ..... >.> . I think my fish is at a critical stage already so i can't do much about it >.< |
Oct 21 2008, 11:56 AM
helloooo.....
my V shape tail guppy already die yesterday due to jentik2 stay on the body fish. so be carefull with jentik2...sometimes guppy dont want to eat jentik2... |
Nov 11 2008, 08:10 PM
134 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Anime World |
hi, recently i bought 7 males and 6 females.. only two days the female start giving birth.. now i manage to get 7 babies out from the tank and put aside in a small tank.
Any sempai out there know why my guppies after give birth, some of the adult(male and female) are feeding/eating on the babies? This post has been edited by Sealsmaster: Nov 11 2008, 08:14 PM |
Nov 11 2008, 08:14 PM
tis is normal for them to eat their fries...so is recommended to u to provide hidden place for the fries lik providing alotz of weed....u can put some wood....so tat the fries can hide
Nov 11 2008, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(jason86 @ Nov 11 2008, 09:14 PM) tis is normal for them to eat their fries...so is recommended to u to provide hidden place for the fries lik providing alotz of weed....u can put some wood....so tat the fries can hide I don't have any weed but got two small plastic plants with two small rock. Can i put lots of bigger rock? Put together to create hiding place.. Do you separate the fries from the main tank or their parents? If my eyes don't fail me, the mother fish ate her own babies huh!? This post has been edited by Sealsmaster: Nov 11 2008, 08:18 PM |
Nov 11 2008, 10:09 PM
yes...u can put more rock to create the hidden place for them....mayb u can get those coconut leave....n put in..good luck
Nov 11 2008, 10:19 PM
Nov 11 2008, 10:36 PM
hmm....is ok if u wan.....
Nov 11 2008, 10:42 PM
Nov 11 2008, 10:47 PM
499 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
What is the life span for a guppy?
my guppies seem cannot last for more than 2 years... |
Nov 19 2008, 04:57 PM
hi all...
yesterday...did u all know that my longkang guppy giving birth..got lot..around 20-30 babies...hehehe... today morning...my pearl white guppy giving birth too...when i saw they got 10-15 babies...but now i dont know..may be got lot2...hehehe... |
Nov 20 2008, 12:25 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Guppy Lovers Gathering - all are welcome
Date: 22nd November 2008 (Saturday) Time: 10:00pm Venue: Starbucks. Times Square Call 019-663 1758 for more details. |
Nov 20 2008, 04:15 PM
WAHHHHHH........now got gath liao...good...good....but cant joint u all...aqua fair liao...
Nov 21 2008, 08:07 PM
Hope sempai here can help~!! Recently, two of my female guppy and one female patty die suddenly.(all this death fish is pregnant with very biggg tummy..
Check the tank for possible other death fish and find out two very tinny babies patty.(cos same color with mama fish Can someone please give me some idea what happen?? This post has been edited by Sealsmaster: Nov 21 2008, 08:08 PM |
Nov 21 2008, 08:47 PM
sorry...cant join the gathering....working...
Added on November 21, 2008, 8:54 pm QUOTE(Sealsmaster @ Nov 21 2008, 08:07 PM) Hope sempai here can help~!! Recently, two of my female guppy and one female patty die suddenly.(all this death fish is pregnant with very biggg tummy.. if not mistaken la....is because of the water's condition n ph....i forgot where i read this already.....Check the tank for possible other death fish and find out two very tinny babies patty.(cos same color with mama fish Can someone please give me some idea what happen?? This post has been edited by jason86: Nov 21 2008, 08:54 PM |
Nov 21 2008, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(jason86 @ Nov 21 2008, 09:47 PM) sorry...cant join the gathering....working... Then it is due to water temperature and water ph? What temperature and ph that's suitable for them? Added on November 21, 2008, 8:54 pm if not mistaken la....is because of the water's condition n ph....i forgot where i read this already..... Please help.. This post has been edited by Sealsmaster: Nov 21 2008, 09:47 PM |
Nov 21 2008, 09:48 PM
sealmaster~~wait ya...i go search....or u can try google it...
Nov 22 2008, 08:27 AM
today morning give food to my guppy & suddenly found 10-15 babies....yeahhh.....
Nov 22 2008, 10:43 AM
masta_hafiz~ congrate,.....for the fries...u recommended u punch the fish food into powder so tat the fries can take it....n provide more hidden place for them in case
Nov 24 2008, 12:04 PM
i recommende to punch the food powder or some yolk egg..hidden place is a must...hehehe...because i put the fish inside my planted tank...
Nov 24 2008, 09:21 PM
great to hear tAT....congrate again...
Nov 26 2008, 12:52 PM
today saw another female guppy pregnant...hehehe...saw the red egg inside the female stomach...and also saw guppy longkang pregnant too...
yeterday i buy new pve aquarium & landscape it like planted tank...so i can quarantine the fry/babies...saw this morning,they very happy in their new aquarium...no more stress or need to run away from matured guppy...hehehe... |
Nov 27 2008, 03:54 AM
861 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bangsar |
Demm, i did not know got dis guppy thread in pets wonderland...
Nov 27 2008, 11:46 AM
COME2 SHOW SOME PHOTO HERE...HEHEHE...LETS ROCK AGAIN THIS THREAD...
| Change to: | 0.2115sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:43 PM |