Any guppy fans here?, come come come

petro_ash
post Feb 10 2007, 09:14 PM

13 posts

Hi guys... i`m a newbie ere. I just bought 3 pairs of guppies on 1st of february. Nice date to remember. brows.gif

Now, i`ve gotten 16 baby guppies born on 5th February and in 2-3 days more are coming. rclxms.gif

Many incidents happened first few days such as dying fish, jumping fish, parent- eating off-spring, body-itching and so on... Now, its all settling down i hope. Never had the chance to see my female guppies give birth. They all did it while I was asleep either during the day or nite. cry.gif

This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 11 2007, 12:35 AM

Attached image(s)
petro_ash
post Feb 13 2007, 01:49 AM

13 posts

I feel lucky tonite coz i got to see one of my female guppies gave birth to 23 healthy fries. smile.gif It was indeed breath taking seeing the birth and also attempts of the mother to "ngap" the fries. My so-called "maternity clinic" proved its efficiency in receiving the fries. 2 more pregnant mom will go to the "clinic" in few days time. NOw i have a total of 39 fries including 16 from last week. rclxms.gif

petro_ash
post Feb 13 2007, 09:59 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Feb 13 2007, 09:28 AM)
thats what happen if they inbreed too much (or in other words, breed with errr brothers and sisters)
waah.... new info to me... will that happen if humans oso do the inbreed? getting smaller and smaller all the time..
petro_ash
post Feb 22 2007, 04:18 PM

13 posts

Hi guys~ May luck be with you for those 'celebrated' CNY~

Hmm... very 'sunyi'lah this forum lately. everybody oredy become guppy master is it? rclxms.gif

Anyway.. I wanna ask about those gravel/pebbles/sand sold in the stores are clean enuf to be put directly in the tank. Or is it just normally wash with tap water or must bleach first?

I just bought a 7 gallon tank to replace my very damn small mini tank. Just wanna make sure that everything is safe for the new residence of the tank.

This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 22 2007, 04:20 PM
petro_ash
post Feb 23 2007, 07:38 AM

13 posts

HI... anyone here from ipoh? i`m studying in Seri Iskandar and I got my guppies either from tronoh, batu gajah, 1 in silibin near Billion and another store near the stadium. I bought 2 pairs of black tux at he store in silibin. since then i`ve ben searching other types of guppies. Anyone living near Ipoh knows where i can find those rare types?
petro_ash
post Feb 23 2007, 05:05 PM

13 posts

hmm.. i saw this weird action of 1 fry of mine. It sank itself to the bottom of the tank like a dead fish then quickly "came alive" once reaching the bottom and repeated the action 2-3 times. Is it playing dead with the siblings? or stressed in some way? Anyone knows? hmm.gif
petro_ash
post Feb 24 2007, 01:18 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Feb 23 2007, 05:12 PM)
lol maybe fish tired of swimming and then when reach bottom realised he needs air *just kidding*
waahhh... u very 'hebat' aaa.. how come u know oredy the gender of the particular fry? tongue.gif
petro_ash
post Feb 24 2007, 10:06 PM

13 posts

My two female black phantom delta gave birth mostly dead fries. Why aaa? sad.gif(
petro_ash
post Feb 25 2007, 02:16 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 25 2007, 01:53 AM)
hows the water condition?? or do u remove them to new tank?? can tell in more details? so sorry to hear tat .... cry.gif  cry.gif
I dont really know the water condition coz i`m still under tight budget. So, no kits or what so ever to check it. I did not remove to a new tank coz i think vegetation in my tank is sufficient for the fries.

Visually, all the guppies look happy. The two particular guppies oredy pregnant when i bought it. Plus it took them a very long time to release a single fry. My previous grass type gave birth instantly. I wonder wether inbreeding is the cause.

The adults guppies didnt even try to eat the dead fries. They only tend to eat the live ones. Hmm.. I think they stood for their names, they are livebearers not deadbearers~ So eat the live ones.... whistling.gif

Added on February 25, 2007, 8:27 pmJust introduced my guppies to their new tank mates - a pair of ghost shrimps. All the guppies swam at the surface as if they saw ghosts. Funny eh? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by petro_ash: Feb 25 2007, 08:27 PM
petro_ash
post Mar 1 2007, 12:26 AM

13 posts

My shrimps and guppies had already signed agreement for peace after 2 black phantom males got themselves tail-nipping incidents during the first night together. Now, everyone can enjoy themselves. rclxms.gif

petro_ash
post Mar 22 2007, 09:48 PM

13 posts

After feeding time, most of my guppies will search sumthing on the sand as if searching for food. Does that mean i did not give enuf? or i shud not "layan" their desire? blink.gif
petro_ash
post Mar 24 2007, 07:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Mar 23 2007, 10:35 AM)
i think every fish behaves like that. always looking for food. my advise is do not give in.
fish will eat and eat and eat untill they get buncit (and still eat) and eventually die. no matter how much you give them they will still appear hungry
Thnx for d advice. smile.gif

Still about food: How long can guppies stay alive before they starve and RIP? rclxub.gif
petro_ash
post Mar 29 2007, 07:30 PM

13 posts

HI rclxms.gif

1 of my newly bought male guppy just died of all sudden. It has been in my established tank for a week. Others are doing just fine without any signs of tension or disease. So, i`m all out of ideas of the cause of death. Is it becoz it died of old age? How can anyone know how old their guppies are? any methods?

0.0472sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:40 AM