Subtitles, Software & Guides

TSshockw@ve
post Apr 30 2006, 09:51 AM, updated 19y ago

d[-_-]b
1,889 posts

Codec packs which contain subtitle rendering filtersSubtitle display filter onlySubtitle Database (some site need registration)
  • Subtitles for DivX and DVD | Homepage
  • Download Subtitles - DivX Movies | Homepage
  • MooVeeZ | Homepage
  • DivX SubTitles | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
  • dvd-subtitles.com | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
  • Internet Subtitles Database (ISDb) | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
  • SubTitles & DivX World | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
  • OpenSubtitles | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
  • Divxstation | Homepage | Credit to andyjyneo
Subtitle Tools/EditorSubtitle GuideCredit to Wikipedia for subtitle download sites.

If you have anything else that you would like to add to this list (software, links or guides), please reply to this thread. smile.gif

This post has been edited by keyz: Dec 5 2006, 05:24 PM
freem@n
post May 7 2006, 03:07 AM

how to use all this?
can teach me....
keyz
post May 7 2006, 10:07 AM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(freem@n @ May 7 2006, 03:07 AM)
how to use all this?
can teach me....
Sorry, your question is too general.However, maybe I can give you some idea.Codec pack required in order for you to play audio/video on your system.If you don't have appropriate codec, you may get an error when playing video file using WMP :
Error's C00D109A/C00D109B/C00D109C or One or more codec's required to play the file could not be found or Some of the codec's required by this media are not installed on your system can have a few different solutions depending on exactly what you are playing or try to play in Windows Media Player.

Most of the problem can be solved by installing codec pack.Certain codec pack included the player like Media Player Classic or codec inspector such as GSpot (in K-Lite Codec pack).

Scud_eSpade
post Jun 29 2006, 04:05 PM

345 posts

i dunno what term to use.. but the srt is showing faster than the sound.. ive used this one tool before.. which i can mark the end and start position of the sub, and the tool correct the timing of the sub itself. very easy that tool.. complete with two visual screen
But after format, ive forgot what the tool name and i cant find it through google

ok guys anything that will do the job for a noob like me will do.. bcoz so many advance editor out there that makes me blur
e-jump
post Jun 29 2006, 06:01 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(Scud_eSpade @ Jun 29 2006, 04:05 PM)
i dunno what term to use.. but the srt is showing faster than the sound.. ive used this one tool before.. which i can mark the end and start position of the sub, and the tool correct the timing of the sub itself. very easy that tool.. complete with two visual screen
But after format, ive forgot what the tool name and i cant find it through google

ok guys anything that will do the job for a noob like me will do.. bcoz so many advance editor out there that makes me blur
could it be Aegisub? Sabbu?
keyz
post Jun 30 2006, 08:53 AM

1,271 posts

Check this link :

http://www.videohelp.com/tools?s=24#24

It also have screenshot. Hopefully you can remember the program.
Scud_eSpade
post Jun 30 2006, 11:29 AM

345 posts

ive found a nice subsitute that does the same job. time adjuster. Thx guys for the help
imgaylord
post Jul 6 2006, 03:17 AM

245 posts

May i know is there any software that can embed subtitle (from .srt file) into a .avi file. I need the subtitle to be embedded in the video itself because I want to convert it into DVD by using Nero Vision. However, i can't insert subtitle with Nero Vision.

Pls advise. TQ.
shinjite
post Jul 6 2006, 01:59 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

take a look at the essential guides and review on how to hardsub a subtitle
adri4n
post Jul 11 2006, 12:37 AM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,850 posts

ok normally we'll look for english subtitles which is relatively easy... how about mandarin subtitles ? any sites .. i tried googling.. but nothing came out sad.gif
sotong168
post Aug 1 2006, 08:46 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Jul 11 2006, 12:37 AM)
ok normally we'll look for english subtitles which is relatively easy... how about mandarin subtitles ? any sites .. i tried googling.. but nothing came out sad.gif
The one that i use at all time:
http://www.shooter.com.cn/
freem@n
post Aug 21 2006, 08:44 PM

how to add sub file to DVD file.What is the easiest way.Can anyone teach me? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
ccy1989
post Sep 13 2006, 09:05 PM

2,415 posts

Hey guys i have a .sub file but it seems i cannot load into .....any idea how to solve it ? rclxub.gif

alucard89
post Nov 4 2006, 12:08 PM

4,454 posts

i have lots of anime collection encoded in Xvid MPEG4 and most are them are fullscreen( only 35% are widescreen) if i watch fansub fullsreen anime( wherebt the subtitles are already embedded below), can i actually see the subtitles becoz there are already sending comments about not able to see them..is there anything i should do like changing the proper settings for the dvd player...
one more thing are there settings to on the dvd to modify the size of the video like widescreen movie to kinda strech the picture/pan scan/zoom a little because movies like silent hill is in a widescreen format and when played on my TV(not widescreen tv) looks more like it fills only 1/3 of the screen...
andyjyneo
post Dec 1 2006, 06:20 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

i'm currently using VSO ConvertXtoDVD
it's really a good software that will automatically convert your subtitle and movie into a DVD
all you need is to browse your movie and subtitle, then it'll do the converting for you automatically!
processing time is about 2 hours for 1 movie
you can find more info here - http://www.vso-software.fr
download link is at http://www.vso-software.fr/download_produc...t=convertxtodvd

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Dec 1 2006, 06:28 AM
~Rogue~
post Dec 9 2006, 12:23 AM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

how to chage .sub files to .srt??

got any guides.....

i search videohelp there...and they provide very less guides....
keyz
post Dec 9 2006, 09:48 PM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Dec 9 2006, 12:23 AM)
how to chage .sub files to .srt??

got any guides.....

i search videohelp there...and they provide very less guides....
Use Subtitle Workshop (link in the post #1). Open/load subtitle *.sub, File > Save as ..select SubRip

This post has been edited by keyz: Dec 9 2006, 09:49 PM
~Rogue~
post Dec 9 2006, 10:10 PM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

got problem....the error said "bad subtitle or unsupported files"
tan_pang
post Dec 9 2006, 10:22 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Dec 9 2006, 09:48 PM)
Use Subtitle Workshop (link in the post #1). Open/load subtitle *.sub, File > Save as ..select SubRip
something that make me curious and he forgot to mention about:
the Rogue .sub file is 4MB!!
is a sub file can use up this kind of space??
and that is the sub juz for an hour only...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Dec 9 2006, 10:23 PM
keyz
post Dec 10 2006, 11:10 PM

1,271 posts

Sometime *.SUB may come with *.IDX also. The size is true. My sample video 1h30m comes with 8.5Mb *.SUB !
tan_pang
post Dec 10 2006, 11:14 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Dec 10 2006, 11:10 PM)
Sometime *.SUB may come with *.IDX also. The size is true. My sample video 1h30m comes with 8.5Mb *.SUB !
oo
but when open with subtitle workshop
it is unsupport format... and same with aegis...
wondering is the sub being protected...

and for my problem
i cant open chinese srt sub with subtitle workshop
and it say it is unsupport format...
keyz
post Dec 10 2006, 11:26 PM

1,271 posts

*.sub itself can be a few format. DVDSubtitle, SonicDVD Creator, Subviewer, Subviewer 2 etc. Only thing I can suggest is try to download different subtitle tool from videohelp.com & check which one is work.

That's most of the problem I notice. Chinese subtitle cannot be read in most of the program, not only with Subtitle Workshop.
~Rogue~
post Dec 10 2006, 11:39 PM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

i tried finisg help in videohelp..but all the software/tools doesnt work....

have tried

VObsub
avidemux
subrip

This post has been edited by ~Rogue~: Dec 10 2006, 11:43 PM
tan_pang
post Dec 16 2006, 10:03 PM

3,110 posts

dunno why
when i try to open a avi with srt as the subtitle
it will show a msg box with title "VSFilter"
and the msg inside is "Syntax error at line 346!"

what is happening and how to solve this problem??

EDIT: problem solved
i tot the problem is in the No.346 of the of the sub
but the problem is at the line 346 in the notepad which the time got some error...

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Dec 16 2006, 11:21 PM
andyjyneo
post Dec 25 2006, 10:37 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

many of the tools there in videohelp.com can't recognise my .sub file sad.gif
really helpless because the subtitles come together with the movie
can't find an exact subtitle matching the movie
xtreme_paranoid
post Jan 25 2007, 04:46 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

i have a problem..
i have installed my pc with codec..
and DirectVobSub..
but still use subtitle..
anyone can help me?
thanks..
tan_pang
post Jan 25 2007, 04:53 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 25 2007, 04:46 PM)
i have a problem..
and DirectVobSub..
but still use subtitle..
anyone can help me?
thanks..
??
you want what??
you want to disable the subtitle??

once open a video, you can see the DirectVobSub quick launch icon
try to check the settings at there

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jan 25 2007, 04:54 PM
shinjite
post Jan 25 2007, 05:04 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

if u guy's softwares/tools can't detect .SUB files
Convert them to SRT instead
xtreme_paranoid
post Jan 25 2007, 05:24 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 25 2007, 05:04 PM)
if u guy's softwares/tools can't detect .SUB files
Convert them to SRT instead
my subtitle format already .srt

bobtiang
post Feb 10 2007, 06:11 PM

I live in a 6 STARS Hotel
1,788 posts

damn, none of the format in Subtitle Workshop can recognize my .sub?
the sub is in English only..any idea?
shinjite
post Feb 11 2007, 01:24 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jan 25 2007, 04:46 PM)
i have a problem..
and DirectVobSub..
but still use subtitle..
anyone can help me?
thanks..
I wonder what u really mean by "but still use subtitle"
jayhan
post Feb 14 2007, 01:57 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

my vobsub can render chinese srt sub no problem, just need to change the option to chinese (forgotten), or else will result in random codes..

and vobsub can display .sub too, just the sub appear a bit ugly.

i hv a time where i play divx movie with srt subs, vobsub will display an ugly green diagonal line, then i just uninstall it. after a while i reinstall back, the green line dissapear, dunno why...
David900924
post Feb 17 2007, 01:39 PM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

If a movie without subtitles,how to make it got subtitles in the movie? any recomend ?thx
kulus
post Feb 17 2007, 01:43 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

QUOTE(~DaViD~ @ Feb 17 2007, 01:39 PM)
If a movie without subtitles,how to make it got subtitles in the movie? any recomend ?thx
just find a subtitle any on the sites provided
n open it with ur movie using mpc or vlc
or just rename it using the same name as ur movie title n open with wmp(but this need vobsub installed, if u dont want to find any trouble just dl klite mega codec pack, it's bundled there)
bertz
post Feb 25 2007, 05:13 PM

178 posts

wut software should i use to convert .sub to .srt?
subtitle workshop cant convert them
some help in here is much appreciated
thx
keyz
post Feb 25 2007, 07:14 PM

1,271 posts

List of available subtitle tools (some of the software is not updated anymore) :

http://www.videohelp.com/tools?s=24#24

SUB in not supported by Subtitle Workshop ? Cannot load at all & get the error ?

QUOTE(bertz @ Feb 25 2007, 05:13 PM)
wut software should i use to convert .sub to .srt?
subtitle workshop cant convert them
some help in here is much appreciated
thx
bertz
post Feb 27 2007, 07:17 AM

178 posts

yea the error subtitle workshop gave was bad subtitle or unsupported files
keyz
post Feb 28 2007, 03:06 PM

1,271 posts

bertz,

Thanx for the sample. I manage to convert the sample using Avidemux 2.3.0.

This how I do it.
  1. Download avidemux. Unzip it to it's own folder
  2. Launch the main program
  3. Go to Tools > OCR
  4. Focus on "Files". Click open & browse to *.idx file (*.idx & *.sub MUST be in the same location)
  5. Click "Save". Make sure the file include the extension. Eg: "subtitle.srt"
  6. Click "start OCR"

You'll see the subtitle. Just enter the character correspond to the "bitmap" and press enter. What you doing is "teaching" the software to understand the character. You're teaching the software to "read" from bitmap & save it as text.

Depend how many lines, you'll take some time to do that.
unnamed
post Feb 28 2007, 03:38 PM

502 posts

The most common way to convert .idx+.sub (vobsub) to .srt is using SubRip.
for .sub(text type), just use Media Player Classic's save subtitle feature(the best),although SubRip can also convert but is buggy
silrave
post Mar 18 2007, 01:13 AM

5,893 posts

need to ask u if i wanna change the video languange can?
ffrulz
post Mar 18 2007, 01:25 AM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 18 2007, 01:13 AM)
need to ask u if i wanna change the video languange can?
Provided that your video has a 2nd track with another language. Yes. But if it doesn't then No.

You can switch audio tracks with MPC and VLC.
silrave
post Mar 18 2007, 01:43 AM

5,893 posts

how to change can teach me?
coolmast3r
post Mar 18 2007, 03:56 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 18 2007, 01:43 AM)
how to change can teach me?
just right click on the movie, goto audio and select the audio (language) u wanted.
that is, provided the video has more than 1 audio language.
but if it's not, then cannot change lah.

edit: so far i only know 1 video format that can has more than 1 language, and that is matroska format (.MKV).

there are others, maybe..it's just i don't know about them..

This post has been edited by coolmast3r: Mar 18 2007, 03:58 AM
ffrulz
post Mar 18 2007, 10:29 AM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

^^ What he said. .VOB files that are directly ripped from DVDs can have them as well if they bother to include it in the first place.
silrave
post Mar 18 2007, 07:12 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(coolmast3r @ Mar 18 2007, 03:56 AM)
just right click on the movie, goto audio and select the audio (language) u wanted.
that is, provided the video has more than 1 audio language.
but if it's not, then cannot change lah.

edit: so far i only know 1 video format that can has more than 1 language, and that is matroska format (.MKV).

there are others, maybe..it's just i don't know about them..
hmm if i change the name to xxxxx.MKV it already be mkv format but i right click audio jz have 1 means that video only have 1 language?if i wanna other langauage cannot de?
coolmast3r
post Mar 20 2007, 05:01 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 18 2007, 07:12 PM)
hmm if i change the name to xxxxx.MKV it already be mkv format but i right click audio jz have 1 means that video only have 1 language?if i wanna other langauage cannot de?
*cough*
the file must be encoded with matroska format (.MKV) in the first hand.
for example u have a video called myVideo.mpg.

then u have 2 audio files for the video, let say Audio1.mp3 & Audio2.mp3

then u encode all 3 files (video, udio1 & audio2) to matroska format.

only then u have a valid matroska files and those 2 audio can be change la..
simply renaming the files (e.g: .AVI to .MKV) will not change anything.
silrave
post Mar 20 2007, 04:09 PM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(coolmast3r @ Mar 20 2007, 05:01 AM)
*cough*
the file must be encoded with matroska format (.MKV) in the first hand.
for example u have a video called myVideo.mpg.

then u have 2 audio files for the video, let say Audio1.mp3 & Audio2.mp3

then u encode all 3 files (video, udio1 & audio2) to matroska format.

only then u have a valid matroska files and those 2 audio can be change la..
simply renaming the files (e.g: .AVI to .MKV) will not change anything.
wao pro...can teach me how to encode second u say the audio1.mp3 and audio2.mp3 if i don't have can i find it?
coolmast3r
post Mar 21 2007, 05:16 PM

740 posts

^^wow that is hard..
i dunno where to find dubbed audio..

shinjite
post Mar 21 2007, 06:56 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

Clarification, mkv is not a video format, its just a container that containes the video stream and audio stream

If you wanna add audio, just take 2 audios and mux it into MKV, no need to encode, just remux

This post has been edited by shinjite: Mar 21 2007, 06:56 PM
shirohamada
post Mar 23 2007, 12:46 PM

944 posts

start by googling mkvtoolnix
coolmast3r
post Mar 25 2007, 04:25 AM

740 posts

^haha.. ya ya remux..
i forgot the exact word.. sweat.gif
bobtiang
post Apr 6 2007, 07:54 PM

1,788 posts

hi guys, I want to use SubtitleWorkshop to convert .srt to .sub.
so, i load the .srt and then choose SaveAs, but I was prompted to choose 1 of the format.

I tried a few, but none of them work on Windows MP or Media Player Classic. sad.gif

how do I know which one to choose?

and I thought Media Player Classic should be able to play my .avi with the .srt subtitle?
keyz
post Apr 7 2007, 10:23 AM

1,271 posts

Make sure you installed DirectVobSub (VSFilter) | Link |. It's main purpose is to display subtitle based on DirectShow.

It may come with most codec packs also. You may install stand alone or install from codec packs.
bobtiang
post Apr 11 2007, 01:25 AM

1,788 posts

hey keyz, thanks a lot!

so, this .srt is consider as soft sub?
and .sub is hard sub?

like in my previous question, i tried to convert the .srt to .sub.
but am not sure which .sub to choose. how can we identified them?

This post has been edited by bobtiang: Apr 11 2007, 01:26 AM
ruffstuff
post Apr 11 2007, 02:12 AM

3,345 posts

The oldskool mpg format sometimes contain dual audio. Basically it just a stereo where they split it into two language for each channel. So, you want to eliminate one of the channel so you can hear one language only at the same time. In Media player classic there is an option called Audio Switcher. Enable custom channel mapping, and tick the appropriate channel you want to hear only.

Added on April 11, 2007, 2:14 am
QUOTE(bobtiang @ Apr 11 2007, 01:25 AM)
hey keyz, thanks a lot!

so, this .srt is consider as soft sub?
and .sub is hard sub?

like in my previous question, i tried to convert the .srt to .sub.
but am not sure which .sub to choose. how can we identified them?
Both are softsub. Hardsubs are subtitles which is hardcoded during the process of video encoding. It becomes one entity as in the video itself.

This post has been edited by ruffstuff: Apr 11 2007, 02:14 AM
shinjite
post Apr 17 2007, 06:08 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

In layman terms, any subtitles that comes externally or embedded and can be removed are softsubs.(MKV for an example)
epsilon99
post Apr 18 2007, 01:50 PM

?????
1,711 posts

Hardsubs is the subtitles/wordings that are permanently/forever "printed"/"displayed" as part of your video.

And I found a website that shows how to make hardsub so that we can burn vcd/dvd with subtitle in it so that can watch on vcd/dvd player. It is quite simple.

http://www.divxland.org/permanentsubtitling.php

Just need 3 softwares :
VirtualDub -- Video edition and conversion utility
VirtualDub subtitler filter -- VD filter to embed SSA subtitles with video
DivXLand Media Subtitler -- Subtitle editor and converter

You can even change the font type, font size and color of your subtitle.
wartevar
post May 2 2007, 01:10 PM

170 posts

wont it take forever 2 paste the subtitle? i tried using virtual dub b4 it took me hours den i gave up...anyone have recommendations on which prog 2 make hard sub in a faster and efficient way??thx
koayty
post May 11 2007, 05:31 PM

182 posts

hardsubbing a video takes that long, because you have to reencode the whole video with the text on it,
There are 2 ways for you to do it
1. virtualdub + vsfilter + your subtitle file(*.srt,*.ssa,*.ass, other subtitle file)
but this can only let you encode according to what codec you have installed in your computer (H.264 encoding not supported in vdub or vdubmod)
2. megui + avisynth + vsfilter.dll + your subtitle file
with this you can encode your video stream in H.264 and put in matroska container or mp4 container (*.mkv,*.mp4)

hardsubbing subtitles is considered very simple if you compare it to make subtitles, timing, and making karaoke effects

WARNING: It is not advisable for you to hardsub subtitles to video because it will cause your video file to degrade in video quality, keep it softsubbed if possible, and if you do not know how to configure the settings for the encoder, the resulting encoded video would be larger than the source and is a waste of space and would drop the video quality by quite a lot that it will be easily noticeable.

This post has been edited by koayty: May 11 2007, 05:38 PM
shinjite
post May 12 2007, 03:09 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ May 2 2007, 01:10 PM)
wont it take forever 2 paste the subtitle? i tried using virtual dub b4 it took me hours den i gave up...anyone have recommendations on which prog 2 make hard sub in a faster and efficient way??thx
u need to transcode it again with the subs, that is why it takes a long time. Plus it all depends on your bitrate settings too for the final output file size. If u want it fast, choose the lowest quality settings with 1 pass and you're done but don't expect good quality out of it

koayty : H264 also has vfw but lacks in some settings. So it is supported in VirtualDub, just that it won't be 100% compliant.
koayty
post May 12 2007, 06:24 PM

182 posts

if it is not 100% compliant, whats the use, you can't send that video to others and other decoders will start complaining about it, no one uses vfw for h264 anymore

tried it nearly a year ago, but that x264 vfw version sucks a lot

cli x264 encoders is already considered mainstream, no point using vfw that makes your video incompatible with other players
erxier
post May 18 2007, 09:38 PM

807 posts

1.may I noe how if I have a movie divided into 2 part(part 1 & part 2), how can i link these two video so that i can play my srt file.?
can it be done?

2. how to edit my subtitle if the time and the dialogue are incorrect?
lehtung
post Jun 10 2007, 05:12 PM

544 posts

why the subs doesnt show when i play mkv in WMP 11 on vista ? i installed the same thing as i do on my deskop which using xp and WMP 10 ..
ss_izal
post Jun 20 2007, 02:24 AM

591 posts

ok my question is about DirectVobSub,i can see video of the movies before installing this filter, but not after it installed.My WMP10 indicate that the movie is playing but there is no sound and picture and the slider are not moving too.
what is the problem guys?
shinjite
post Jun 20 2007, 03:02 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,303 posts

hmm...DirectVobSub is for the subtitles, nothing got to do with the video codecs
trix
post Jul 5 2007, 06:02 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(ss_izal @ Jun 20 2007, 02:24 AM)
ok my question is about DirectVobSub,i can see video of the movies before installing this filter, but not after it installed.My WMP10 indicate that the movie is playing but there is no sound and picture and the slider are not moving too.
what is the problem guys?
right click the vobsub icon, choose directvobsub(auto loading version), go to general tab, change vertical padding from whatever it is on currently to original heights

though this will most likely fix the prob, some subtitle will appear too high inside the video, so its better if you use other media player that doesn't require that fix like media player classic
hazel_2k
post Jul 24 2007, 04:37 PM

hello guys...
i'm a newbie here
i have a question

i have bought dvd player with divx support
the product is PIONEER DVD PLAYER DV-383-S
i had play a divx movie with subtitles

my problem is
some of the movies i burn into dvds, cannot play with subtitles
i used .srt file as subtitles
i have series of desperate housewives, lost, heroes, csi... using .srt subtitles
but seems subtitles cannot appear at tv screen

but i don't know how, some movies can play with subtitles...
for info, some of the movies i used .sub file
some of them i used .srt
don't know which one cannot appear and which one can appear on my tv screen

anybody can help me???

thanks guys!!!

trix
post Jul 27 2007, 10:00 PM

848 posts

try this program see whether it fixes the poblem or not
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/SRTWiz.htm
xtreme_paranoid
post Jul 28 2007, 02:08 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

what the easiest software to edit subtitle?
my subtitle forward 5 second b4 the audio..
any suggestion.?
thanks.. happy.gif
trix
post Jul 30 2007, 11:52 AM

848 posts

http://www.tomzavodny.cz/program/subtool/
get the subtitletool program
btw, your subtitle get progressively out of sync or right form the start early 5 secs?

if it's progressively out of sync, then you need to adjust the speed(ie 23.976fps->25fps).

if it stays constant early 5 secs throughout the movie, use the timeshift function to move it backward 5 secs.

This post has been edited by trix: Jul 30 2007, 11:52 AM
xtreme_paranoid
post Jul 31 2007, 07:00 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

ok..thanks happy.gif
polarzbearz
post Aug 2 2007, 08:37 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(erxier @ May 18 2007, 09:38 PM)
1.may I noe how if I have a movie divided into 2 part(part 1 & part 2), how can i link these two video so that i can play my srt file.?
can it be done?

2. how to edit my subtitle if the time and the dialogue are incorrect?
You can use a program(Free I think, not sure where I got it. Either google or download.com) called "SubtitleEdit" and manually cut the back part of the movie (2nd part) and create a new .srt yourself. For the time, you can use the program to make the text appear later/earlier too.

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jul 28 2007, 02:08 PM)
any suggestion.?
thanks.. happy.gif
As above.
Suicidal Guy
post Aug 11 2007, 04:39 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Jul 28 2007, 02:08 PM)
any suggestion.?
thanks.. happy.gif
I suggest u use GOMplayer and install CCCP and real alternative...that's all u need to play almost all video formats..from GOMplayer itself, you can forward or backward the subtitle...
ngjames
post Sep 24 2007, 11:15 PM

57 posts

how to burn vcd with subtitle?
TuanKing
post Oct 10 2007, 05:53 PM

523 posts

Hi to all, i have one movie and movie's srt subtitle file, but when watching the movie, the subtitle show is faster than the actor speak..so how i going to delay the time with this software? anyone know? thanks
1024kbps
post Oct 10 2007, 07:36 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

ffdshow?
enable subtitle decoding on ffdshow by tick the check box, then put negative value one the "delay:" input box.
skma
post Oct 14 2007, 11:15 PM

Occam's Razor In Problem-solving!
546 posts

QUOTE(ngjames @ Sep 25 2007, 12:15 AM)
how to burn vcd with subtitle?
Sorry man, ur question's not clear. U mean u want to convert other video formats into mpeg-1 with subtitle? hmm.gif
shirohamada
post Oct 26 2007, 06:35 AM

944 posts

how to make directvobsub subs look as good as vmr7/9 mode?
i'm using overlay mixer.
subs look awfully jaggy when resized 1680x1050 in fullscreen mode. only applies to SD stuff.
1024kbps
post Oct 26 2007, 07:05 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Oct 26 2007, 06:35 AM)
how to make directvobsub subs look as good as vmr7/9 mode?
i'm using overlay mixer.
subs look awfully jaggy when resized 1680x1050 in fullscreen mode. only applies to SD stuff.
what kind of sub format? im using ass and srt type, decode video and resize with ffdshow, they look nice for me.
unless u r using wrong output colorspace sweat.gif
~Rogue~
post Oct 29 2007, 02:41 AM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

http://www.wikisubtitles.net

here a good site , no need register!!
shirohamada
post Oct 30 2007, 07:33 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 26 2007, 07:05 PM)
what kind of sub format? im using ass and srt type, decode video and resize with ffdshow, they look nice for me.
unless u r using wrong output colorspace sweat.gif
anykind. using ffdshow resizer sure looks better than the player resize, the video and subtitle. but use to much cpu power. not taht my cpu can't handle it...
i like my setup super efficient icon_rolleyes.gif
kobe8byrant
post Oct 30 2007, 06:33 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

sorry guys i have a problem. i did as the tutorial said and change to VMR 9 but when I try to load subtitles, error come out:

to load subtitles, you need to change the video renderer type and reopen the file.
-DirectShow: VMR 7/VMR 9 renderless or Haali's
-RealMedia: Special Renderer for RealMedia, or open it through Directshow.

AM I to download something?
1024kbps
post Oct 30 2007, 06:52 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Oct 30 2007, 07:33 AM)
anykind. using ffdshow resizer sure looks better than the player resize, the video and subtitle. but use to much cpu power. not taht my cpu can't handle it...
i like my setup super efficient icon_rolleyes.gif
u mean overlay mixer + directvobsub? sub will look jaggy anyway unless u do resizing,
u need to resize atleast 1.5x from original video width and height to "anti-aliasing" ur sub biggrin.gif
or if u have nVidia card, try use mplayer with opengl renderer.

Added on October 30, 2007, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 30 2007, 06:33 PM)
sorry guys i have a problem. i did as the tutorial said and change to VMR 9 but when I try to load subtitles, error come out:

to load subtitles, you need to change the video renderer type and reopen the file.
-DirectShow: VMR 7/VMR 9 renderless or Haali's
-RealMedia: Special Renderer for RealMedia, or open it through Directshow.

AM I to download something?
what tutorial? what player are u using?

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Oct 30 2007, 07:02 PM
kobe8byrant
post Oct 30 2007, 07:07 PM

12,275 posts

the tutorial in the first page first post: Viewing subtitle on first page, that tutorial.

Using Real Media Player.
1024kbps
post Oct 30 2007, 07:47 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

try media player classic first sweat.gif easy for troubleshooting.
kobe8byrant
post Oct 30 2007, 08:18 PM

12,275 posts

sorry i meant media player classic tongue.gif....it's a 700mb file, think it's called AVI? not sure the format of the file.
1024kbps
post Oct 30 2007, 08:42 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

just make sure u r using VMR7/9 renderless.
or just install directvobsub to use with default overlay mixer.
kobe8byrant
post Nov 2 2007, 03:59 PM

12,275 posts

i went to options to set it to VMR 9 renderless but still same thing sad.gif

Added on November 2, 2007, 4:00 pmsomeone had a similar problem:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=8446108

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Nov 2 2007, 04:00 PM
1024kbps
post Nov 2 2007, 06:13 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 2 2007, 03:59 PM)
i went to options to set it to VMR 9 renderless but still same thing sad.gif

Added on November 2, 2007, 4:00 pmsomeone had a similar problem:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=8446108
i got the same thing if i didnt use vmr renderless sweat.gif
change to vmr renderless and restart player.
kobe8byrant
post Nov 2 2007, 07:27 PM

12,275 posts

ok. maybe i am doing it wrong. am i supposed to open Media Player without any file? and if so, do i select VMR 7 or VMR 9 renderless? and the other stuff? Do i select Direct X 7 or Direct X 9?
1024kbps
post Nov 2 2007, 07:34 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

with or without also can, VMR7/9 renderless doesnt matter as both also can load subtitle, the DirectX 7/9 has nothing to do with the VMR renderer sweat.gif
kobe8byrant
post Nov 2 2007, 08:16 PM

12,275 posts

i mean do i select VMR 7 or 9, i seemed to try both but nothing

Added on November 2, 2007, 8:19 pmVMR 7 enables subtitles but the video appears on 2 screens. sad.gif

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Nov 2 2007, 08:19 PM
1024kbps
post Nov 2 2007, 08:26 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

still cant load subtitle? weird=.=
if ur video renderer has changed to VMR renderless, the notify windows will not show up anymore.

u can use the default overlay mixer anyway, but u must use directvobsub, it render subtitle even on overlay mixer without eating high CPU usage(unless u have mid-end GPU) like VMR renderless.
kobe8byrant
post Nov 2 2007, 08:27 PM

12,275 posts

it doesn't do it properly. when i go VMR 9, the window shows up. when i go VMR 7, can but the screen is green but the subtitles appear and the screen is cut into 2 parts doh.gif
1024kbps
post Nov 2 2007, 08:45 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

Do u have Direct x 9.0 installed?
the problem u have is kinda complicated,
try directvobsub, less problem than VMR sweat.gif
kobe8byrant
post Nov 2 2007, 08:48 PM

12,275 posts

how to check if i have Direct x 9.0?
1024kbps
post Nov 2 2007, 09:09 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

go to "Run" or command prompt type dxdiag and hit enter.
~Rogue~
post Nov 8 2007, 03:48 PM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

http://subscene.com/

great place to find axxo subs~~
qwerty79
post Nov 23 2007, 03:37 PM

1,907 posts

I just found this new website. For tv series. TV Subtitles
shirohamada
post Nov 28 2007, 07:32 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 30 2007, 06:52 PM)
u mean overlay mixer + directvobsub? sub will look jaggy anyway unless u do resizing,
u need to resize atleast 1.5x from original video width and height to "anti-aliasing" ur sub biggrin.gif
or if u have nVidia card, try use mplayer with opengl renderer.

Added on October 30, 2007, 7:02 pm
what tutorial? what player are u using?
hmm.
went to directvobsub general setting set it to resize double size if lower than 1024x576. lower than this the subs looks jaggy. it does resize the video together. but subs now looks sharp. not sure if it resizes twice, i mean vobsub then player. check later.

do i win? nod.gif

hmm. cpu load 2x for 704x400

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Nov 28 2007, 07:36 PM
1024kbps
post Nov 28 2007, 08:14 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 28 2007, 07:32 PM)
hmm.
went to directvobsub general setting set it to resize double size if lower than 1024x576. lower than this the subs looks jaggy. it does resize the video together. but subs now looks sharp. not sure if it resizes twice, i mean vobsub then player. check later.

do i win?  nod.gif

hmm. cpu load 2x for 704x400
yup the sub look sharper than before with directvobsub resizer, but not video.
you could try ffdshow resizer and leave the directvobsub setting to default, ffdshow resizers(ffmpeg softwarescaler) are mmx optimized, so it might be faster than directvobsub resizer.
wayne322
post Dec 26 2007, 01:24 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

I hv a movie called The Sinking of Japan,but there is no subtitle,i wan to add a chinese sub. to it.

Any software u can recommend to me,with the step plz.

Thanks a lot.
linkinpark
post Jan 14 2008, 09:31 AM

454 posts

What software can rip the subtitle from DVD?
1024kbps
post Jan 14 2008, 06:34 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

vsrip?
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/VSRip
Feliz
post Feb 5 2008, 02:10 PM

67 posts

How to delay the subtitle? Or fix the subtitle time?

Radeon
post Feb 5 2008, 02:20 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(wayne322 @ Dec 26 2007, 01:24 PM)
I hv a movie called The Sinking of Japan,but there is no subtitle,i wan to add a chinese sub. to it.

Any software u can recommend to me,with the step plz.

Thanks a lot.
download vobsub
http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_so...ools/vobsub.cfm

QUOTE(linkinpark @ Jan 14 2008, 09:31 AM)
What software can rip the subtitle from DVD?
do you mean you wan only the subtitles?

QUOTE(Feliz @ Feb 5 2008, 02:10 PM)
How to delay the subtitle? Or fix the subtitle time?
use vobsub,
there is an option inside where you can play with the delays
expertester
post Feb 15 2008, 01:03 AM

321 posts

auto subtitle downloader?

OSCAR
and subtitle downloader

both work only at opensubtitle.org
xen0
post Feb 26 2008, 12:00 AM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

how to add subtitles into DVD?

i mean..i encode a movie(AVI) into DVD format...and i want it appear when play it at normal DVD player..dont care it can b navigate or merge subtitle..

i want it appear..thanks..
Feliz
post Feb 28 2008, 11:53 AM

67 posts

Why some of the subtitle that i downloaded will out of sync as time goes by? Is it the subtitle that i downloaded has problem?
Shahzan
post Mar 4 2008, 05:07 PM

can change colour font for the subtitle? wat program isit?
ykc
post Mar 4 2008, 09:13 PM

1,884 posts

QUOTE(Shahzan @ Mar 4 2008, 05:07 PM)
can change colour font for the subtitle? wat program isit?
use DirectVobSub

go to setting, Main tab -> Text Settings -> Colors & Transparency
kurtkob78
post Mar 16 2008, 10:32 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

i want to convert avi without subtitle but have the subtitle in separate file to DVD format with subtitle to play with standard DVD player. How to do that ?
keyz
post Mar 18 2008, 06:06 PM

1,271 posts

Check out these links :
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Mar 16 2008, 10:32 AM)
i want to convert avi without subtitle but have the subtitle in separate file to DVD format with subtitle to play with standard DVD player. How to do that ?
highbury1913
post Apr 8 2008, 07:53 AM

526 posts

I use subscene.com to find subtitles.
Goliath764
post Apr 20 2008, 04:33 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

I haven't try anything from the list of first post but just wonder what program can make different subs appear at same time, one on top and another on bottom? See the spoiler for example. And thx for anyone that answer me.

OMGGED
post Apr 29 2008, 03:03 AM

BEE FAM.
633 posts

Hei, I have this subtitle file called something.srt...i am using media player classic and i need some1 to guide me how to play that something.srt file...Do i need any special program ? Thx in advance

vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Apr 29 2008, 11:38 PM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

this kind of software can build subtitles for movies tat without subtitles?

tolong_saye
post May 1 2008, 06:37 PM

408 posts

how to rip subtitle from rmvb file or avi???
Goliath764
post May 5 2008, 04:49 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(OMGGED @ Apr 29 2008, 03:03 AM)
Hei, I have this subtitle file called something.srt...i am using media player classic and i need some1 to guide me how to play that something.srt file...Do i need any special program ? Thx in advance
Make sure the .srt file has the same name with your movie file. Install "VobSub"(a program) if you didn't install any codec pack as it is needed for the subs to display.
wayne322
post May 16 2008, 11:07 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(vo0de3_x | oum@n @ Apr 29 2008, 11:38 PM)
this kind of software can build subtitles for movies tat without subtitles?
Some may not,like K-lite,it only can play the the prepared subtitle tat u downloaded from the web.

Added on May 16, 2008, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(tolong_saye @ May 1 2008, 06:37 PM)
how to rip subtitle from rmvb file or avi???
VobSub is a plug-in for VirtualDub that allows you to rip subtitles from DVD VOB files.

Added on May 16, 2008, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(OMGGED @ Apr 29 2008, 03:03 AM)
Download K-lite and install it,its media player is Media player classic too.
After u downloaded it,u play the movie using the mpc provided by k-lite,then choose the tab of 'play',under it choose 'filters',then choose 'fdd show video decorder',tick at the blank box written subtitle,and browse the subtitle file,srt,then click ok.

And make sure tat ur subtitle file's name is same as the movie u wan to play.

This post has been edited by wayne322: May 16 2008, 11:14 PM
avengers88
post May 17 2008, 03:22 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

is there any software hat i can manually fast forward the subs ?
because i have a show .. the subs at the first part of the show is ok . then after maybe 20 minutes it got delayed 5 second i guess ..
any help ?
wayne322
post May 17 2008, 12:47 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ May 17 2008, 03:22 AM)
is there any software hat i can manually fast forward the subs ?
because i have a show .. the subs at the first part of the show is ok . then after maybe 20 minutes it got delayed 5 second i guess ..
any help ?
See wheter this can help?
jimi7
post Jun 11 2008, 07:48 AM

204 posts

i need to insert subtitle to my rmvb files...
how is this possible?

I'm using WMP with real alternatives.

Thanks in advance
jeff_v2
post Jun 19 2008, 04:11 AM

965 posts

BSP or VLC can paly .srt file???
subs cannot appear in K-lite...
thanksss
jimi7
post Jun 20 2008, 05:55 PM

204 posts

I just found that you just have to rename the srt file same as the video file.
With vobsub installed,you just play the video using WMC or VLC and the subtitle will be played by the VobSub.

Hope this help
jeff_v2
post Jun 20 2008, 08:55 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(jimi7 @ Jun 20 2008, 05:55 PM)
I just found that you just have to rename the srt file same as the video file.
With vobsub installed,you just play the video using WMC or VLC and the subtitle will be played by the VobSub.

Hope this help
i play using WMC but subs not appear lor...
the file is same name as the movie but its .srt
that why i want to try VLC or BSP...
or my WMC version is old one... hmm.gif
jimi7
post Jun 21 2008, 10:27 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(jeff_v2 @ Jun 20 2008, 08:55 PM)
i play using WMC but subs not appear lor...
the file is same name as the movie but its .srt
that why i want to try VLC or BSP...
or my WMC version is old one...  hmm.gif
have you installed vobsub?
JuNz-V
post Jun 24 2008, 05:42 AM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

i need some help,
what software do i need to burn a series of drama with subtitles in it?
or what can i do in order to burn it with subtitles?

my movies are chapters by chapters but without subtitles (for eg. Prison break, House, etc. ), i want to burn into a dvd with subtitle, and subtitle options so that i can watch it using TV..

pls guide me, your help will be very much appreciated..
Skylinestar
post Jul 1 2008, 12:29 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

i found out that subtitle displayed using DirectVobSub is jagged and not as sharp as the one shown using the default Media Player Classic. why? i'm using the same font.
punkyswat
post Jul 11 2008, 07:03 PM

1,519 posts

i hav rmvb format drama and subtitle too.i dun noe how to open it?
1024kbps
post Jul 11 2008, 07:25 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

install directvobsub,
but u will get jagged font problem like Skylinestar,
just resize the video by using ffdshow or directvobsub.
punkyswat
post Jul 12 2008, 12:50 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 11 2008, 07:25 PM)
install directvobsub,
but u will get jagged font problem like Skylinestar,
just resize the video by using ffdshow or directvobsub.
thanks got it.
mmohdnor
post Oct 27 2008, 01:08 PM

1,021 posts

does dvd players read *.sub or *.idx subs?

i tried to convert this *.sub with subtitle wrokshop and aegisub but both says cannot read the sub.
how to fix this?

thinking of converting these *.sub to *.srt
SingTime
post Dec 16 2008, 11:29 AM

110 posts

i need a software that allow me to watch video and then type subtitles. Currently there's Titlevision that allow you to do that but with the freeware version, you can't do the time code (ie insert time for subtitle to match with dialogue)
twilight_fever
post Dec 29 2008, 11:38 PM

660 posts

for some video,v can't remove the subtitle
its like embedded into the movie liao
evilhomura89
post Jan 3 2009, 05:12 PM

5,886 posts

how to batch convert .ssa to .srt??
sheenho
post Jan 9 2009, 07:06 PM

On mah way! :D
688 posts

may i know is there any programme to 'take out' the embedded sub?
i wan to 'take' it out and change it..
Pr1me_Minister
post Jan 12 2009, 09:17 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Jan 9 2009, 07:06 PM)
may i know is there any programme to 'take out' the embedded sub?
i wan to 'take' it out and change it..
You can use Media Player Classic's DSM converter to demux the subtitle file.
sheenho
post Jan 12 2009, 02:07 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Jan 12 2009, 09:17 AM)
You can use Media Player Classic's DSM converter to demux the subtitle file.
may i know where can i download the converter?
ive tried look for it yet still cant find it...
btw, wat does demux mean? tongue.gif
Pr1me_Minister
post Jan 12 2009, 08:30 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Jan 12 2009, 02:07 PM)
may i know where can i download the converter?
ive tried look for it yet still cant find it...
btw, wat does demux mean? tongue.gif
If you have Media Player Classic installed, the option is available through File > Utils > DSM Converter. Just add the video file, right click on the subtitle stream and choose demux. There're other more speciallized muxers out there so you can reinsert the subtitles back, but I afraid I'm not an expert on that department. You can get MPC-HC in the link below:

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/

sheenho
post Jan 13 2009, 01:54 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Jan 12 2009, 08:30 PM)
If you have Media Player Classic installed, the option is available through File > Utils > DSM Converter. Just add the video file, right click on the subtitle stream and choose demux. There're other more speciallized muxers out there so you can reinsert the subtitles back, but I afraid I'm not an expert on that department. You can get MPC-HC in the link below:

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/

thx alot dude!! notworthy.gif
but it works on MKV files only, hope to find any other programme coz ive gt avi and mp4 files too.. sad.gif
Pr1me_Minister
post Jan 13 2009, 02:35 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Jan 13 2009, 01:54 PM)
thx alot dude!! notworthy.gif
but it works on MKV files only, hope to find any other programme coz ive gt avi and mp4 files too..  sad.gif
You can't get the subtitles directly from AVI or MP4, they're already hardsubed into the video itself. You'll need OCR softwares to capture the subs. Again, I don't have any knowledge about any of these softwares so you have to search yourself for it.
sheenho
post Jan 13 2009, 09:12 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Jan 13 2009, 02:35 PM)
You can't get the subtitles directly from AVI or MP4, they're already hardsubed into the video itself. You'll need OCR softwares to capture the subs. Again, I don't have any knowledge about any of these softwares so you have to search yourself for it.
oh, ic... anyway, thx alot dude...
keyz
post Jan 18 2009, 09:32 PM

1,271 posts

Use Aegisub to make the subtitle. Use VirtualDub (with vsfilter.dll) to merge the subtitle into *.avi video (hardsubbing).

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Apr 20 2008, 04:33 PM)
I haven't try anything from the list of first post but just wonder what program can make different subs appear at same time, one on top and another on bottom? See the spoiler for example. And thx for anyone that answer me.

HenryLow
post Feb 20 2009, 08:31 AM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

hi sifu sifu sekalian...

i have a mkv file, play with WMP11, installed XP Codec Pack...
it played with 2 languagues...
how to switch the language???

i go Play > Audio And Language Track > Default
it show default only... i try change to the language but still 2 sounds... sad.gif

Help~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1024kbps
post Feb 20 2009, 10:02 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Feb 20 2009, 08:31 AM)
hi sifu sifu sekalian...

i have a mkv file, play with WMP11, installed XP Codec Pack...
it played with 2 languagues...
how to switch the language???

i go Play > Audio And Language Track > Default
it show default only... i try change to the language but still 2 sounds... sad.gif

Help~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
dual channel?
1. easiest way, mute your left or right speaker brows.gif
2. ac3filter, or ffdshow audio decoder, configuration will be harder.
you must use one of the audio decoder above to mute left or right channel,
then using the matrix filter to "upmixing" left or right channel to both speaker.

First, you must make sure ffdshow is your default audio decoder,
second, enable the matrix filter, and tick "custom matrix"
example
enter the both 1 on input channel L to output channel L(eft) and ®ight, and clear the input channel R(put zero),
you will end up with Left channel audio output to you PC speakers.
qwe65
post Feb 27 2009, 11:14 AM

my assistant
815 posts

usefull info here!!
Skylinestar
post Mar 6 2009, 09:49 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

i have an MKV movie that does not comes with subtitle. I've downloaded a suitable SRT sub for it, but it doesn't shows up while playback in WMP. why?

SRT with AVI works fine though.

I'm using CoreAVC with ffdshow+vsfilter(vobsub)

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 6 2009, 09:49 PM
sunmenghao
post Mar 11 2009, 08:35 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 6 2009, 09:49 PM)
i have an MKV movie that does not comes with subtitle. I've downloaded a suitable SRT sub for it, but it doesn't shows up while playback in WMP. why?

SRT with AVI works fine though.

I'm using CoreAVC with ffdshow+vsfilter(vobsub)
Try download "COMBINED COMMUNITY CODEC PACK" and play it on "WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER"

It should work like a charm, that how i do it.

"VLC PLAYER" also works but i prefer using WMP nod.gif

CODE
www.cccp-project.net

Shufflerz
post Apr 26 2009, 09:54 AM

913 posts

I don't know this has been asked before or not, sorry if it is.

Instead of have 2 files, 1 is the movie file(mkv, avi), and another 1 is the subtitle file(STR), can I make it into 1?
Which mean its something like integrate the subtitle file into the movie file.
sinoffire
post Apr 28 2009, 10:51 PM

3,557 posts

i'm using GOM player. search for subtitles in subscene.com.......

get a subtitle that matches exactly with the movie. depends on the name of the uploader. if not, go & search for a subtitle file that matches exactly to ur movie. u may rename either one of the files, must make sure both name of movie file & name of subtitle exact same. that off u go! icon_rolleyes.gif
Skylinestar
post May 1 2009, 08:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

how to show 2 subtitles in media player classic?
1024kbps
post May 1 2009, 09:23 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

^ first one usr mpc-hc with VMR7/9/EVR Renderless renderer to load subtitle, second subtitle use FFdshow or Directvobsub to load,
untested but it may works tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post May 5 2009, 07:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 1 2009, 09:23 PM)
^ first one usr mpc-hc with VMR7/9/EVR Renderless renderer to load subtitle, second subtitle use FFdshow or Directvobsub to load,
untested but it may works tongue.gif
tested and it works...just feel that now the video screen is crowded with text. doesn't look nice. i'll have to do with 1 sub.
ventrilocks
post May 6 2009, 12:05 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

Subscene
sheenho
post May 16 2009, 05:40 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Apr 26 2009, 09:54 AM)
I don't know this has been asked before or not, sorry if it is.

Instead of have 2 files, 1 is the movie file(mkv, avi), and another 1 is the subtitle file(STR), can I make it into 1?
Which mean its something like integrate the subtitle file into the movie file.
i thk it has been answered in the post b4...
use VirtualDub...
~Rogue~
post May 18 2009, 01:03 AM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

guys, i wan to ask, i used GOM player as my default player! and i played a 720P anime (MKV file) on it, some of the subtitles seems to be not coming out! but when i played on media player classic! everything seems okay! i wonder why?? and btw its a hard subbed file!
Pr1me_Minister
post May 18 2009, 03:39 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ May 18 2009, 01:03 AM)
guys, i wan to ask, i used GOM player as my default player! and i played a 720P anime (MKV file) on it, some of the subtitles seems to be not coming out! but when i played on media player classic! everything seems okay! i wonder why?? and btw its a hard subbed file!
It's impossible for the subtitle to disappear in a hardsubed video as the subtitle is a part of the video stream itself, so it must be softsub (subtitle file embeded in the .mkv file). It seams like both of the players uses different filters to render the subtitles.

Anime fansubs are usually optimised for the CCCP which uses Media Player Classic as the default player, playback problems might occur if other players/ codec pack are used.
firedemon
post Jun 24 2009, 12:06 PM

235 posts

hai there!!
i need some help in subtitle! i have downloaded an .avi movie and the subtitle as well. but when i play the movie the subtitle is workin but the subtitle is only comes out late after the conversation is finish.. it comes after 30sec the audio played.. it is hard for me to follow up with the movie since time in the movie and the subtitle is compatible..

is there any way i can fix this prob ?
gengenrinni
post Jul 11 2009, 05:36 AM

203 posts

any subtitles adder / editer software??
x@b@rx
post Jul 24 2009, 07:24 PM

mana nak cari subtitle malay?..........

Pr1me_Minister
post Jul 24 2009, 11:23 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(gengenrinni @ Jul 11 2009, 05:36 AM)
any subtitles adder / editer software??
Aegisub
Skylinestar
post Aug 6 2009, 10:44 AM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

how do i merge 2 subtitles with different languages into one SRT so that the first line appear chinese while the second line appear english sub? what software can do that?
Ahsin1987
post Aug 25 2009, 08:33 PM

154 posts

founded the solution .. <remove> biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ahsin1987: Aug 27 2009, 02:18 AM
Pis
post Sep 21 2009, 07:00 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 6 2009, 10:44 AM)
how do i merge 2 subtitles with different languages into one SRT so that the first line appear chinese while the second line appear english sub? what software can do that?
Try this software:

-SubMagic
-Subtitle Edit
-Subtitle Processor
-Subtitle Workshop

kae7
post Sep 21 2009, 08:14 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(x@b@rx @ Jul 24 2009, 07:24 PM)
mana nak cari subtitle malay?..........
www.allsubs.org/
www.subscene.com

there are a lot.. you just need to google it
David900924
post Jan 17 2010, 11:54 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

how to merge .srt file(subtitle file) with my video file into 1?
MojA_VieW
post Jan 20 2010, 12:53 PM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

QUOTE(Pis @ Sep 21 2009, 07:00 AM)
Try this software:

-SubMagic
-Subtitle Edit
-Subtitle Processor
-Subtitle Workshop
you should give link for those software..
give credit to them.. rclxms.gif
sotong168
post Feb 9 2010, 11:35 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 6 2009, 10:44 AM)
the easiest way which i do is shift your 2nd subtitle time a bit (by 0.0005 sec like that), then copy it to the 1st subtitle file
another simplest way is to use player which supports dual subtitle display such as splayer
nestleomega
post Jul 7 2010, 11:33 PM

252 posts

hi i try to load subtitles of a rm using MPC by i kept getting the message to ask me to change the video renderer. i change it already and reopen file but still the same.any help??
Fallensya14
post Nov 28 2010, 05:43 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(nestleomega @ Jul 7 2010, 11:33 PM)
hi i try to load subtitles of a rm using MPC by i kept getting the message to ask me to change the video renderer. i change it already and reopen file but still the same.any help??
You need software called Real Alternative.. It plays .rm format in MPC blush.gif
Human Nature
post Dec 20 2010, 01:54 AM

- student of human nature -
26,498 posts

Hi, the srt subtitle for my avi movie is late by few seconds. I have tried 2 ssoftwares (time adjuster and subtitle workshop) to solve it but unsuccesful. Any easy-to-use freeware that may help? Thanks

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 20 2010, 03:02 PM
I'm CEO
post Jan 5 2011, 08:05 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 20 2010, 01:54 AM)
Hi, the srt subtitle for my avi movie is late by few seconds. I have tried 2 ssoftwares (time adjuster and subtitle workshop) to solve it but unsuccesful. Any easy-to-use freeware that may help? Thanks
Download this:-
http://www.digital-digest.com/software/dow..._SE292.rar.html

Open it, on the left side there's "Adjust All time". Just change the time and save it. Easy and reliable.
Nosferatu
post Jan 9 2011, 04:53 PM

308 posts

how do i display chinese characters properly in mpc-hc?
I've tried changing my language format in W7 display to trad. chinese before unrar the srt but the characters in the srt still shows gibberish like this

downloaded from shooter.cn
00:01:52,863 --> 00:01:54,582
½Ð±µ°h¥ðª÷ªA°È

00:01:54,582 --> 00:01:57,944
ÁÂÁ±z  ²ö¦è´µ¥ý¥Í   ½Ðµy¦Z  §Ú¬°±zÂà±µ±M­û

00:02:14,967 --> 00:02:16,908
±z¦n  §Ú¬O²ï©Ô

00:02:16,909 --> 00:02:18,326
§Ú¬OªkÄõ§J?²ö¦è´µ

I cant read simplified chinese so, I am trying to find trad. chinese.

This post has been edited by Nosferatu: Jan 9 2011, 04:54 PM
moonss
post Feb 10 2011, 08:49 AM

my media player classic (i have w7) so far has worked properly..today it displays message SYNTAX ERROR IN LINE 1822, and plays the .avi file anyways, but doesn't recognize the .srt file..what should I do?
dvinez
post Mar 31 2011, 05:23 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

hi guys i got some videos with russian subtitles, i would like to remove it. is it possible ?

and maybe insert english subtitle for it.
zebra1995
post Apr 8 2011, 10:33 PM

Jedi Padawan
503 posts

How To Merge A Srt File Into A Video File Such As Avi,Mkv During Burning To A Dvd blink.gif
sniper69
post Jul 17 2011, 01:42 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

i have this problem when loading subtitle from embedded *.mkv file, it'll freeze the playback and nothing resume or plays.

my system is 42" connected through iGPU (i7 2600K) on Asus P8Z68-V Pro via HDMI as secondary monitor and primary monitor connected through DVI on HD5850 on 11.6 Catalyst driver.

any help?
hackwire
post Jul 24 2011, 10:12 PM

4,256 posts

I always locate my subtitles in google in srt format, sometimes I found the files match my xvid avi file but sometimes it's not. And some file says dvdrip, imagine, vision , etc in their filename, what is this. I used ffmpg software to encode my movie with selected srt file to be embedded. Do we always have to find out the right srt everytime we do a search?
amirudin920927
post Aug 1 2011, 04:44 AM

///-| Kapten | Amirudin |-\\\
1,431 posts

I'm using this website to search subtitle. Very nice one.

http://subscene.com/
toottut89
post Aug 7 2011, 02:55 AM

704 posts

can anyone here guide me on applying chinese subs to vlc or MPC-HC??
i can't figure the way to do it, got the srt but the words coming out from it isn't actually chinese, it's weird.
PLEASE GET BACK TO ME, thank you smile.gif
Ryou
post Nov 25 2011, 11:25 PM

866 posts

I used to play some videos with subtitles fine. However, after updating my players, Some videos which previously are playing with subtitles, had not been showing subtitles. Any suspects? Need helps from all the masters.

Thanks in advance. =)
de|phantom
post Nov 30 2011, 08:43 PM

▣⌇▣ Rest In Peace ▣⌇▣
891 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Aug 7 2011, 02:55 AM)
i can't figure the way to do it, got the srt but the words coming out from it isn't actually chinese, it's weird.
vlc player.. try go to tools ~ preferences ~ subtitles and OSD ~ Default coding change to universal chinese

QUOTE(Ryou @ Nov 25 2011, 11:25 PM)
I used to play some videos with subtitles fine. However, after updating my players, Some videos which previously are playing with subtitles, had not been showing subtitles. Any suspects? Need helps from all the masters.

Thanks in advance. =)
what video player r u using?
Ryou
post Dec 10 2011, 10:53 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(de|phantom @ Nov 30 2011, 08:43 PM)
vlc player.. try go to tools ~ preferences ~ subtitles and OSD ~ Default coding change to universal chinese
what video player r u using?
Tiger Player.

I used to play the mp4 files with Tiger Player, Media Player Classic but recently they can't seem to play the subtitles and only a player from Thunder is able to display the subtitles but it doesn't play smoothly.
rikimtasu
post Dec 11 2011, 04:59 PM

Tired...
760 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Dec 10 2011, 10:53 PM)
Tiger Player.

I used to play the mp4 files with Tiger Player, Media Player Classic but recently they can't seem to play the subtitles and only a player from Thunder is able to display the subtitles but it doesn't play smoothly.
you sure about that player?
http://www.codecguide.com/faq_subtitles.htm
Those are for k-lite codec pack,but apply to mpc-hc with normal codec too.
Shoot@M3
post Jun 22 2012, 10:27 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hope this the right place to ask..
I need some help with creating karaoke subtitles
I'm using Aegisub, I made my karaoke subtitles already and everything is well
but when i try export subtitle to .srt and open my music video files, everything is off, timing, font, etc as if nothing had been done

Can someone guide me what went wrong or i should post in main thread?

thx

Aegisub
export to .srt
FLV file downloaded from Youtube music video file
1024kbps
post Jun 23 2012, 01:57 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jun 22 2012, 10:27 PM)
hope this the right place to ask..
I need some help with creating karaoke subtitles
I'm using Aegisub, I made my karaoke subtitles already and everything is well
but when i try export subtitle to .srt and open my music video files, everything is off, timing, font, etc as if nothing had been done

Can someone guide me what went wrong or i should post in main thread?

thx

Aegisub
export to .srt
FLV file downloaded from Youtube music video file
Why dont export to ASS sub format?
IIrc SRT format is more simpler than ASS, for example you cant use custom fonts with SRT if the user's computer doesnt have that special fonts,
it will revert to default fonts, while ASS support embedded fonts that can be attached during remuxing to MKV with MVKToolnix, if im correct.
Shoot@M3
post Jun 23 2012, 09:32 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

ah icic
didn't know the .ass is subtitle too, only saw srt before
I thought i saved the subtitle just as project in .ass
Okay thx, will give it a try smile.gif
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jun 23 2012, 01:57 AM)
Why dont export to ASS sub format?
IIrc SRT format is more simpler than ASS, for example you cant use custom fonts with SRT if the user's computer doesnt have that special fonts,
it will revert to default fonts, while ASS support embedded fonts that can be attached during remuxing to MKV with MVKToolnix, if im correct.

Added on June 25, 2012, 12:30 pmit works now!
But when i tested it in my karaoke player.. it doesn't show again.. haih, need to find another solution for this

thx
QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jun 23 2012, 09:32 PM)
ah icic
didn't know the .ass is subtitle too, only saw srt before
I thought i saved the subtitle just as project in .ass
Okay thx, will give it a try smile.gif
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Jun 25 2012, 12:30 PM
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Jul 29 2012, 03:22 PM

699 posts

hi there.. is there anyway where i can move the position of the subtitle to be higher as right now the movie has a chinese subtitle to it.. and when the english sub is loaded, it overlaps each other

zakuan_mz14
post Aug 12 2012, 11:14 PM

i have done created a music video for my class project. the problem now i want to create a subtitle like a music video karoake? anyone can help me
1024kbps
post Aug 12 2012, 11:20 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(zakuan_mz14 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:14 PM)
i have done created a music video for my class project. the problem now i want to create a subtitle like a music video karoake? anyone can help me
http://www.aegisub.org/ !
Never tried it before, but iirc most fan made anime subtitile are made using this software.
MugenK20A
post Sep 1 2012, 01:54 PM

1,244 posts

i'm using VLC player for adding subtitles. Quite good but the problem is after adding subs, the format changes into .ps which my player can't recognise. Ori file was in .avi. Any1 can share how to overcome this problem?
fcukkk
post Nov 24 2012, 04:06 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Jul 11 2006, 12:37 AM)
try www.subscene.com. its generally got many different subtitles language. besides i think this is one of the most up to date subtitle website.
dzmfrees
post Dec 29 2012, 10:34 PM

45 posts

i'm always use aegisub..
SUSErgoProxi
post Jan 7 2013, 04:51 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

where to download .ass subtitle?
BlackWoods
post Jan 11 2013, 03:03 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Jan 7 2013, 04:51 AM)
http://www.opensubtitles.org/en

You may search at any subtitles providers sites, and then look for .ass format.
I would recommend .srt for major compatibility, .ass may look fancy but may not be able to display in certain players.
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 5 2014, 01:52 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Aug 7 2011, 02:55 AM)
Try http://www.splayer.org/

The best player I had used. It has auto subtitle download feature.
axxer
post Apr 19 2014, 05:49 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

i use this site to manually search subtitle. it crawled other subtitle site and showed it as search results
http://www.subtitleseeker.com
nujikabane
post May 3 2014, 08:15 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Jan 7 2013, 04:51 AM)
Try this :
http://www.subscene.com
jyothireddy
post Oct 22 2014, 12:32 PM

45 posts

Nice information
scilover
post Jul 24 2020, 11:12 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(shockw@ve @ Apr 30 2006, 09:51 AM)
Codec packs which contain subtitle rendering filtersSubtitle display filter onlySubtitle Database (some site need registration)

• MooVeeZ | Homepage
Subtitle Tools/EditorSubtitle GuideCredit to Wikipedia for subtitle download sites.
If you have anything else that you would like to add to this list (software, links or guides), please reply to this thread. smile.gif
is all this available for macOS

scilover
post Nov 3 2020, 01:25 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(shockw@ve @ Apr 30 2006, 09:51 AM)

• MooVeeZ | Homepage
Is it hard to make the subtitle? since we need to follow the script and mouth movement as well toa void putting a subtitle at a wrong time.

0.0744sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:47 AM