167 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

pizzaboy
post Sep 1 2009, 09:24 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 09:04 PM)
Care to elaborate on that one bro?

Am curious.
I'm wondering, if the Swiss ball can overload your stabilizers, perhaps you can get stronger by switching a part of your bench workout, to dumbbell benches on a Swiss ball. I've seen Joe DeFranco do it and put his athletes to it. They also like to use chains to act as overloading agents, though I'm not sure anybody on this forum needs this yet.

Basically, they will choose one bench exercise (pin benches for example) Work to a max according to the Prilepin's table. Then they move to exercises that require the stabilizers to fry, and the Swiss ball bench is one of them. Sometimes they change to kettlebells and chains as well. Kettlebells shake like crazy when put on a barbell. If you don't watch it properly, you may be benching just 40KG but the bar can fall and turn your teeth out.

It's worth a try, if you can keep the ego out and progress gradually from lighter to heavier dumbbells on the swiss ball.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 1 2009, 09:45 PM
pedro
post Sep 1 2009, 09:45 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

The guy who did that is the previous manager/owner of Celebrity fitness,Jamie is his name.

Serious bodybuilder with an awesome body,now no longer in Malaysia tho,he is American.

Used to pump the 100 pounders as if it was nothing,i spotted him for barbell bench until 250kgs.

I might give the Swiss ball bench a serious effort if i see some progress in 3 more weeks.
diablokun
post Sep 1 2009, 09:48 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 1 2009, 09:24 PM)
It's worth a try, if you can keep the ego out and progress gradually from lighter to heavier dumbbells on the swiss ball.

if you're referring to me, i'm not ego bro...in my head, a tonnes of training method i'd like to try but with limited time to do workout and physical constraint, i'm really not fit to try most of it...including the swiss balls... smile.gif

pizzaboy
post Sep 1 2009, 09:51 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 09:45 PM)
The guy who did that is the previous manager/owner of Celebrity fitness,Jamie is his name.

Serious bodybuilder with an awesome body,now no longer in Malaysia tho,he is American.

Used to pump the 100 pounders as if it was nothing,i spotted him for barbell bench until 250kgs.

I might give the Swiss ball bench a serious effort  if i see some progress in 3 more weeks.
Do keep me updated with the progress.
I tried doing push-ups on a swiss ball before. Silliest thing ever. I kept falling on the ball.

Added on September 1, 2009, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(diablokun @ Sep 1 2009, 09:48 PM)
if you're referring to me, i'm not ego bro...in my head, a tonnes of training method i'd like to try but with limited time to do workout and physical constraint, i'm really not fit to try most of it...including the swiss balls... smile.gif
I didn't even know you posted anything. I was looking for the video for the kettlebell bench when you posted your reply, so I didn't even see your reply. Rest assured, I was more concerned about other more important things.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 1 2009, 09:56 PM
diablokun
post Sep 1 2009, 10:03 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 1 2009, 09:51 PM)
I didn't even know you posted anything. I was looking for the video for the kettlebell bench when you posted your reply, so I didn't even see your reply. Rest assured, I was more concerned about other more important things.

LMAO allrighty then...being over sensitive I am... blush.gif
pedro
post Sep 1 2009, 10:06 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Sure,ego is not a problem as i take it more as a challenge!

Push ups might require a little bit more balance.
-Dan
post Sep 1 2009, 10:07 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Sep 1 2009, 09:09 PM)
That's a pretty stupid thing to do. Seriously. There's been several posts like that on bb.com forums are they got flamed to high heaven.
Lol whut? No.
Why not?
shanecross
post Sep 1 2009, 10:43 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 10:45 PM)

I might give the Swiss ball bench a serious effort  if i see some progress in 3 more weeks.
Just try not to fall off the swiss ball. It's a big mess if that happens.
iamyuanwu
post Sep 1 2009, 11:08 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 1 2009, 09:51 PM)
Do keep me updated with the progress.
I tried doing push-ups on a swiss ball before. Silliest thing ever. I kept falling on the ball.
Not with your feet on the ball meh?
You did it with both hands on the ball instead?
pizzaboy
post Sep 1 2009, 11:13 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Sep 1 2009, 11:08 PM)
Not with your feet on the ball meh?
You did it with both hands on the ball instead?
I'm not that smart alright. Give it up already.

pedro
post Sep 2 2009, 12:07 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 1 2009, 10:43 PM)
Just try not to fall off the swiss ball. It's a big mess if that happens.
Its easy to balance actually,the trick is balancing both weights at the end of your arms and also to control the rebound.
JonYeap
post Sep 2 2009, 12:25 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

easier said than done. =.=
Florian
post Sep 2 2009, 12:31 AM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

Me benching 45lbs DB.

I have no idea why the video is so laggy...it was fine on the phone. Must have been youtube's fault for compressing it.

Darklight is going to bash me for not going down all the way, but I swear it's the lowest I could go and it was my 4th set for DB bench press and before that I did 5 4 sets of flat BB bench press and 5 sets of SM incline bench press.

darklight79
post Sep 2 2009, 01:39 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 2 2009, 12:31 AM)
Me benching 45lbs DB.

I have no idea why the video is so laggy...it was fine on the phone. Must have been youtube's fault for compressing it.

Darklight is going to bash me for not going down all the way, but I swear it's the lowest I could go and it was my 4th set for DB bench press and before that I did 5 4 sets of flat BB bench press and 5 sets of SM incline bench press.

Why? It looks fine to me. As long as you get the stretch. Seriously those weights don't do you justice. I know you can push much harder than that. Great form.
pedro
post Sep 2 2009, 07:38 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Sep 2 2009, 12:25 AM)
easier said than done. =.=
Its not as difficult as it looks,am doing it so i know!
jamis
post Sep 2 2009, 09:39 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Sep 2 2009, 01:39 AM)
Why? It looks fine to me. As long as you get the stretch. Seriously those weights don't do you justice. I know you can push much harder than that. Great form.
Yeah, i love this quote by scott abel from t-nation

Strength doesn't increase forever and ever. There's a ceiling effect.

What happens is after the bodybuilders learn that it's the amount of stress the muscle is under and not the load, they actually start to progress more by using less and less weight.

— Scott Abel

By the way, florian ur video looks like gif file :s.
DWYWIcewolf
post Sep 2 2009, 09:53 AM

72 posts

Wuahahaha!!!
finally finish my busy thing last week and back to my lovely workout yesterday
but ended up sinfully with heavy KFC tongue.gif

lcsum
post Sep 2 2009, 12:27 PM

282 posts

talk about KFcccc....at one time i against and avoided kfc and now i myself addicted to it...
hate all the oily part but what to do the tatste is so good tongue.gif
good source of protein + the oil = ??

kurtkob78
post Sep 2 2009, 01:16 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

is the oil healthy ? I'm afraid if it use the trans fat to fry it.
shanecross
post Sep 2 2009, 02:18 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Sep 2 2009, 02:16 PM)
is the oil healthy ? I'm afraid if it use the trans fat to fry it.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

167 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:16 AM