167 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

pizzaboy
post Sep 3 2009, 01:17 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(angrydog @ Sep 3 2009, 01:04 PM)
All the other numbers are good, actually.  Pretty strange, considering my diet.

I think Malaysians have a Pavlovian response whenever they see the words "Ramly burger" written anywhere.
I read a study, but as usual lah...I never bother to bookmark it. There was a doctor that believed that HDL/LDL/saturated fat is all good stuff. He says that cholesterol is just running in your body and when there's a problem, cholesterol will fix it.

AH! FOUND IT!
http://westonaprice.org/moderndiseases/benefits_cholest.html

And then, there's another study (which I can't access because I don't have the acc password/username) about cholesterol, fat and protein. It has very solid proof (Test subject of 150 ppl. 86 ppl managed to finish the test) that may ruin the agriculture industry. It seems, we humans really do not need...... rice! We can basically live very well off simple meat and fruits. That bodes great for me, because I can't stand rice. It leaves me bloated.
shanecross
post Sep 3 2009, 03:12 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 3 2009, 02:17 PM)
I read a study, but as usual lah...I never bother to bookmark it. There was a doctor that believed that HDL/LDL/saturated fat is all good stuff. He says that cholesterol is just running in your body and when there's a problem, cholesterol will fix it.

AH! FOUND IT!

And then, there's another study (which I can't access because I don't have the acc password/username) about cholesterol, fat and protein. It has very solid proof (Test subject of 150 ppl. 86 ppl managed to finish the test) that may ruin the agriculture industry. It seems, we humans really do not need...... rice! We can basically live very well off simple meat and fruits. That bodes great for me, because I can't stand rice. It leaves me bloated.
If you are able to access the site, please let me have a full copy of the journal article for reading purposes . 150 samples and 86 of them made through isn't that convincing but then again, running through the report might prove me wrong.
pizzaboy
post Sep 3 2009, 08:07 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 3 2009, 03:12 PM)
If you are able to access the site, please let me have a full copy of the journal article for reading purposes . 150 samples and 86 of them made through isn't that convincing but then again, running through the report might prove me wrong.
86 samples. I think that's good enough for me. The dropout rate is quite high, but I think it's because the study was run in US, where it's rather hard for them to stick to a proper diet for a long time. I'd like to see the study done in Europe though. That ought to have solid consistent entries.
iamyuanwu
post Sep 3 2009, 08:47 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 3 2009, 01:17 PM)

AH! FOUND IT!

Errr... it's not that surprising actually. Rice (and wheat) simply happens to be a great source of energy, and thus cultivated.

I attended a 7th Day Adventist church seminar a looooonng time ago (some friend trying to convert me. LOL!). One points they kept hammering to their members is good nutrition through primitive diet.

Primitive as in: Fruits & only fruits. Even vegetables are not considered the main source of food for humans.
Of course, that's not possible for most. So it is only an ideal diet.
They then suggested this: Fruits, vege and Jesus bread.
(OK, OK! I made this name up because they were referring to the type of bread made during Jesus's time. Not the white bread we have now, but the raw, hard, brown bread 2000 years ago.) =)

Think about fruit fasting, if some dude can live with just eating fruits for a week and become healthier... I'm sure we could eat fruits only for all our lives with no problem.
Well, perhaps protein might be a bit of a problem in the long term.
shanecross
post Sep 3 2009, 09:19 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 3 2009, 09:07 PM)
86 samples. I think that's good enough for me. The dropout rate is quite high, but I think it's because the study was run in US, where it's rather hard for them to stick to a proper diet for a long time. I'd like to see the study done in Europe though. That ought to have solid consistent entries.
When evaluating a study, there are lots of things that you need to look into. Its not a matter of who can stick to a diet or so. We don't know what they really eat. Studies can be very misleading. You are saying that a success rate of 57% could justify things for you? Not very convincing to me. Whats more without running through the journal, you wouldn't even know who are the samples ; athletes ? some jock ? old people ? To also say that humans don't need rice to survive is just too much . A lot of things should be put into consideration. Credibility of a study is so important because we got heaps of journal articles these days proving things that would only cause a huge mislead.

I'm just trying to make a point here because I don't want everyone to go home and start eating meat and fruits and nothing else. Things like this just can't be preached.

w/r

This post has been edited by shanecross: Sep 3 2009, 09:22 PM
pizzaboy
post Sep 3 2009, 09:35 PM

9,495 posts

Very true. I'll see what I can do about the journal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCFZoqmKf5M

Pretty close to what we're talking bout.
~LynX~
post Sep 4 2009, 04:29 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Sep 2 2009, 06:51 PM)
KFC oil is definitely reused. See the colour of the oil also know already. Its like dark brownish. Most fried chicken vendors also like that. Cuz there's a large amount of oil being used and its expensive if they keep changing it.
I did some part time work at McDonalds for around a month before, and here's how they handle cooking oil.

They completely change the oil about once or twice a week, the rest of the time the oil is topped up when necessary. So naturally, by the time a change is due, the oil has turned rather dark.

Can't say I know how KFC's kitchen procedures are exactly, but i'd say its similar.
kurtkob78
post Sep 4 2009, 05:32 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

QUOTE(~LynX~ @ Sep 4 2009, 04:29 AM)
I did some part time work at McDonalds for around a month before, and here's how they handle cooking oil.

They completely change the oil about once or twice a week, the rest of the time the oil is topped up when necessary. So naturally, by the time a change is due, the oil has turned rather dark.

Can't say I know how KFC's kitchen procedures are exactly, but i'd say its similar.
oil change per 1 week with alot of cooking per day. Are McD using normal palm oil or specil oil ?
King83
post Sep 4 2009, 09:55 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

QUOTE(lcsum @ Sep 3 2009, 12:47 PM)
Thansks Jamis, yes its him the guy who goes to KFC almost everyday, King83. What happen to this guy anyway long time never see him in here. He always become darklight's victim before zeist.
Angrydog:
Your statement makes me wonder how is your LDL, HDL and cholesterol level is. What is your doctor's advice base on the result? Stress test is related to hearth and artery condition rite.
Wow your 'taste good food' list makes me go hungry tongue.gif
hallo
uhuk-uhuk
post Sep 4 2009, 11:45 AM

bulaiyan
718 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Sep 4 2009, 09:55 AM)
hallo
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
lcsum
post Sep 4 2009, 12:16 PM

282 posts

'i'm the guy your mother warned you'....nice try King83. How is your training going on?

jamis
post Sep 4 2009, 12:36 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Hey king83 how's going? still 100kg?
King83
post Sep 4 2009, 12:51 PM

5,237 posts

elloz...
I've been 105kg for awhile now...
trying to keep it that way, don't wanna get any heavier 'cos i keep breaking them chairs lol.
But lately i have gotten a lil bigger, when i stepped on the scale, i was shocked to see myself at 108kg lifetime heaviest...
so i am dieting now.... atm i'm back to 105kg, i'm thinking of dropping back to double digits, cos i wanna be faster in sports.

got caught up with the numbers bcos i am getting stronger and stronger so i continue eating without realizing my weight is shooting up laugh.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 12:51 pmwhat about u guys ?

This post has been edited by King83: Sep 4 2009, 12:51 PM
King83
post Sep 4 2009, 12:53 PM

5,237 posts

met lynx the other day, big guy
jamis
post Sep 4 2009, 02:10 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Sep 4 2009, 12:51 PM)
elloz...
I've been 105kg for awhile now...
trying to keep it that way, don't wanna get any heavier 'cos i keep breaking them chairs lol.
But lately i have gotten a lil bigger, when i stepped on the scale, i was shocked to see myself at 108kg lifetime heaviest...
so i am dieting now.... atm i'm back to 105kg, i'm thinking of dropping back to double digits, cos i wanna be faster in sports.

got caught up with the numbers bcos i am getting stronger and stronger so i continue eating without realizing my weight is shooting up laugh.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 12:51 pmwhat about u guys ?
cool, i have been downsizing to 84kg, planning to get to 90+ end of this year. Now i can feel tat i lose strength on my DL. Dayum.
King83
post Sep 4 2009, 04:25 PM

5,237 posts

damn, that sucks...
i dun wanna lose strength either cry.gif
jamis
post Sep 5 2009, 09:49 AM

3,385 posts

yeah, it is very demotivating, i m going to start with light again, at least my gut is smaller now hehe.
Shah_15
post Sep 6 2009, 05:11 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

my back. still "malu" want to show with shirt off. still skinny. i'm bulking currently. the most effective workout for back is lat pulldown?

This post has been edited by Shah_15: Sep 6 2009, 06:10 AM
bata
post Sep 6 2009, 07:17 AM

3,726 posts

the shirt do no justice for you bro

Chow
Florian
post Sep 6 2009, 12:18 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Sep 6 2009, 05:11 AM)
my back. still "malu" want to show with shirt off. still skinny. i'm bulking currently. the most effective workout for back is lat pulldown?

Only one exercise is not enough.

BB row, lat pull down, one arm DB row, deadlift and seated cable row, shrugs.

167 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:56 AM