QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Aug 31 2009, 07:53 PM)
smith machine, is it ok to use it for squat? i heard it will not trigger the additional stabilizer muscle but for me, i feel smith machine safer.
Just don't use the Smith machine to do bicep curls.Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!
Sep 1 2009, 12:12 AM
993 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Sep 1 2009, 12:15 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Singapore |
Sep 1 2009, 12:32 AM
718 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Sep 1 2009, 12:15 AM) lol!!! muahahhaha Haha LOL I've seen that in my gym. I dun quite understand why they do that when the freaking leg press machine is just like 3m away. guys, have any of u seen someone using the smith machine to do leg press? =.= i got a shock when i see this... wakkakaka The leg press machine may not be of Hammer Strength quality but at least it's meant for leg press. They lie on the floor and push the Smith bar upwards. I think that's kinda dangerous. This post has been edited by uhuk-uhuk: Sep 1 2009, 12:37 AM |
Sep 1 2009, 12:49 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Singapore |
thats the thing... this dude sit on the bench and do that... i dunno why... smith machine in my gym is right beside the leg press
Sep 1 2009, 01:02 AM
2,395 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Up in the Sky |
i prefer free weight too but since i went to gym alone, there is no one will support me if i fail..haha....since i'm on bulking, my workout is focusses more on squat. is doing squat using smith machine will affect the gain i will have than using free weight?
Sep 1 2009, 01:02 AM
2,967 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(MayAnne @ Aug 31 2009, 02:12 PM) Unapproved posts have been set invisible. Personal insults/attacks are not permitted in the Forum. Consider this a verbal warning... and if it happens again, 10% will be added to your warn logs. i think the standard bar at the squat rack is 12kg's kanso that makes it around 62? haha |
Sep 1 2009, 01:03 AM
2,395 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Up in the Sky |
leg press with smith machine? i wonder how that dude did it..
Sep 1 2009, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Aug 31 2009, 07:53 PM) smith machine, is it ok to use it for squat? i heard it will not trigger the additional stabilizer muscle but for me, i feel smith machine safer. good start with a smith machine for squat to get ur 'tonggek' (arch) right, and ur elbows position, ur knees etcbut i believe both will promote growth but perhaps smith is a lot slower QUOTE(JonYeap @ Sep 1 2009, 12:15 AM) lol!!! muahahhaha there's nothing wrong i thinkguys, have any of u seen someone using the smith machine to do leg press? =.= i got a shock when i see this... wakkakaka i've seen this guy in bb.com super huge guy but friendly he posts vids at his bodyspace but forgot la his nick he did that too i think timberwolf pun buat |
Sep 1 2009, 01:05 AM
993 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Sep 1 2009, 01:02 AM) i prefer free weight too but since i went to gym alone, there is no one will support me if i fail..haha....since i'm on bulking, my workout is focusses more on squat. is doing squat using smith machine will affect the gain i will have than using free weight? If you're just starting out, I think pretty much anything you do in the gym will get results.This post has been edited by angrydog: Sep 1 2009, 01:06 AM |
Sep 1 2009, 01:09 AM
Sep 1 2009, 01:11 AM
718 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 1 2009, 01:02 AM) Standard Olympic sized bar 20 kg's bro. Biasanye kat squat rack tu 20 kg's but some gyms might not have that. There isn't a squat rack in my gym hahaa This post has been edited by uhuk-uhuk: Sep 1 2009, 01:12 AM |
Sep 1 2009, 06:03 AM
QUOTE(uhuk-uhuk @ Sep 1 2009, 01:11 AM) Standard Olympic sized bar 20 kg's bro. Biasanye kat squat rack tu 20 kg's but some gyms might not have that. aku tak rase gym aku pegi tu, or the other gym i go i.e. fitness first the bars are 20kg'sThere isn't a squat rack in my gym hahaa at least they dont feel 20kg's tapi berat gak cuz its long (the standard bench press / squat bar i think is 12kg's kot)...i've never tried the oly bar nor have i seen one...tapi i could be wrong cuz those bars might be 20kg's actually hahaha... This post has been edited by gtoforce: Sep 1 2009, 06:03 AM |
Sep 1 2009, 07:32 AM
3,833 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Shah Alam |
hehe. If do leg press with smith, how do they lock the bar. standard man barbell 20kg, woman 15kg.
Sep 1 2009, 08:04 AM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
One of the odd exercises i saw was doing dumbbell bench press using a Swiss ball and the guy was using 100Lbs per side (Max weight for dumbbell),i tried it the following and found that its quite hard as i was only able to use 30Lbs and maintain correct form,if i went for higher poundage its really hard to control the movemnt.
Sep 1 2009, 09:16 AM
262 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
I think once while i was benching my max weight, i suddenly feel weak. Can't carry up anymore!! No matter how much i try. Have to roll it down my chest, stomach, legs and to the floor.
I was kinda bruised for awhile later:P |
Sep 1 2009, 05:43 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 08:04 AM) One of the odd exercises i saw was doing dumbbell bench press using a Swiss ball and the guy was using 100Lbs per side (Max weight for dumbbell),i tried it the following and found that its quite hard as i was only able to use 30Lbs and maintain correct form,if i went for higher poundage its really hard to control the movemnt. Swiss balls are awesome for training core stability and general balance. QUOTE(bledig @ Sep 1 2009, 09:16 AM) I think once while i was benching my max weight, i suddenly feel weak. Can't carry up anymore!! No matter how much i try. Have to roll it down my chest, stomach, legs and to the floor. I did that before. Had to tense up my whole body in fear of breaking a rib or something. I was kinda bruised for awhile later:P The kind of annoying thing was, there were 2 other guys in the gym at that time who're somewhat regulars. And all they did was watch as I was trying to get the bar off me and onto the floor. |
Sep 1 2009, 08:54 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Does anybody want to experiment with the swiss ball? It sounds like if you can overload those stabilizers, you may be able to get some way in strength.
Anybody? |
Sep 1 2009, 09:04 PM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
Sep 1 2009, 09:09 PM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 08:04 AM) One of the odd exercises i saw was doing dumbbell bench press using a Swiss ball and the guy was using 100Lbs per side (Max weight for dumbbell),i tried it the following and found that its quite hard as i was only able to use 30Lbs and maintain correct form,if i went for higher poundage its really hard to control the movemnt. That's a pretty stupid thing to do. Seriously. There's been several posts like that on bb.com forums are they got flamed to high heaven. QUOTE(-Dan @ Sep 1 2009, 05:43 PM) Lol whut? No. |
Sep 1 2009, 09:17 PM
1,078 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(pedro @ Sep 1 2009, 08:04 AM) One of the odd exercises i saw was doing dumbbell bench press using a Swiss ball and the guy was using 100Lbs per side (Max weight for dumbbell),i tried it the following and found that its quite hard as i was only able to use 30Lbs and maintain correct form,if i went for higher poundage its really hard to control the movemnt. Since the ball requires you to keep your balance, a number of supportive muscle groups are called into play, thus creating a more "well-rounded" athlete, not only in muscular terms, but in functional terms, too. But I think it's not worth to try, at my level I means... |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:28 PM |