iamyuanwu
post Aug 15 2009, 11:24 AM

2,425 posts

Source: http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...learned_in_2008

Eric Cressey's stuff in T-Nation.

Alcohol kills soft tissue quality.

Back in the spring, I had lunch with a buddy of mine who is a manual therapist for a major league team. He told me that just by working on one of his athletes' tissues, he could tell that they had been out drinking the night before, describing the tissue as "boggy." So, right when I got home, I hopped on Pubmed to investigate further and came across this:

"The development of alcoholic muscle disease, which affects both cardiac and skeletal muscle, leads to increased morbidity and mortality in patients who abuse alcohol. The disease pathology includes myocyte degeneration, loss of striations, and myofilament dissolution, which is consistent with alterations in structural and myofibrillar proteins" (1).

Now, it's been a while since my muscle physiology courses back in graduate school, but I can still say with almost certainty that these effects can be acute and not just chronic. All in all, alcohol isn't great for tissues, but I'd call it especially problematic for those who are trying to bounce back from injuries.

This becomes especially problematic when you're also suppressing the Testosterone levels on which you're counting to help maintain muscle mass while on the shelf. Add in that alcohol consumption interferes with sleep quality, and you'll quickly realize that growth hormone output won't be optimal (sleep is an extremely important time for growth hormone, which is very important in strengthening connective tissues).
wallpaper89
post Aug 16 2009, 02:21 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Aug 13 2009, 09:15 PM)
screw u guys who dun like muscular gals.

She's hot. brows.gif But with a face like that, I bet she'd still sell like hot cakes even without the muscles, as long as she keeps her body shapely and sufficiently toned enough.

Florian, just tell the guy straight that your muscles = to let the ladies look, feel and admire. Equivalent to how we drool over women with shapely and perky boobs and tight ass with hourglass figure. Sexy.

The skinny guy = equivalent to females with plank body, airport chest, and flat ass. He needs to face the truth sooner or later. tongue.gif

Okok, I'm not gonna touch on this issue anymore. Don't want to mess with you, your muscles are intimidating flex.gif Hope the new routine works for you!
Hamilton
post Aug 16 2009, 03:07 PM

158 posts

anybody taking glucolin? which store sells the cheapest?
tineagle
post Aug 16 2009, 06:28 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Hamilton @ Aug 16 2009, 03:07 PM)
anybody taking glucolin? which store sells the cheapest?
i've came across some chinese medicine shops selling them for RM9.50.

tats lower than your conventional RM10-11.50 at most places.
yeah_guyz
post Aug 16 2009, 11:16 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

Holy shit.... sweat.gif

-Dan
post Aug 17 2009, 10:25 PM

4,382 posts

Exceptional muscle control.
zaxxshoxx
post Aug 17 2009, 10:31 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

wahahhaa.... scary but impressive biggrin.gif
angrydog
post Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

I'm more freaked out by the belly button.
zaxxshoxx
post Aug 17 2009, 11:08 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(angrydog @ Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM)
I'm more freaked out by the belly button.
yeah. nasib baik mine x not like that biggrin.gif
pizzaboy
post Aug 17 2009, 11:57 PM

9,495 posts

I wonder what zeist has to say about abs like tha.t
-Dan
post Aug 18 2009, 12:24 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 17 2009, 11:57 PM)
I wonder what zeist has to say about abs like tha.t
NAIS NAIS! blush.gif
zaxxshoxx
post Aug 18 2009, 02:12 AM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

suit him biggrin.gif
bata
post Aug 18 2009, 02:25 AM

3,726 posts

cant beat my fav abs video blush.gif

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: Aug 18 2009, 02:27 AM
post Aug 18 2009, 05:56 PM

45 posts

actually for Incline bench press shud we lower down the bar to our upper chest level or middle chest level ? what about flat bench press ? sometimes i see different ppl doing them differently...
shanecross
post Aug 18 2009, 05:59 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Aug 18 2009, 03:25 AM)

cant beat my fav abs video  blush.gif
Chow
NAIS! Any of you guise got this abs? I do situp till koyak orgasm also can't get. But I can leg press 320kg !
-Dan
post Aug 18 2009, 06:03 PM

4,382 posts

Shit, I think I did something to my shoulder today. On the last set of incline DB benches, my right shoulder 'popped' or 'clicked or whatever. Hurts when I move my arm to a certain point. Hopefully its nothing serious. =/

This post has been edited by -Dan: Aug 18 2009, 06:03 PM
zaxxshoxx
post Aug 18 2009, 07:18 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 18 2009, 06:03 PM)
Shit, I think I did something to my shoulder today. On the last set of incline DB benches, my right shoulder 'popped' or 'clicked or whatever. Hurts when I move my arm to a certain point. Hopefully its nothing serious. =/
wuh.. better rest or pegi check blush.gif
bledig
post Aug 18 2009, 08:19 PM

262 posts

Funny news of the day. I bought some stuff from bb.com...just to try and it's stuck at customs!

i need a letter from dept of veterinarian to bring it in. lol!. They are afraid that i might feed my horse whey and kill im
-Dan
post Aug 18 2009, 08:24 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(bledig @ Aug 18 2009, 08:19 PM)
Funny news of the day. I bought some stuff from bb.com...just to try and it's stuck at customs!

i need a letter from dept of veterinarian to bring it in. lol!. They are afraid that i might feed my horse whey and kill im
I've never heard that one before. xD
jamis
post Aug 18 2009, 08:52 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 18 2009, 08:24 PM)
I've never heard that one before. xD
It did happen, some of the forumer kena.

130 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:28 AM