5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Pwnagetool/Quickpwn & "yellowsn0w" 3G Unlock, »2G/3G Fw 2.2.1 Unlocking&Jailbreaking«

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:21 PM, updated 17y ago

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Firmware 2.2.1 PwnageTool 2.2.5, Quickpwn and 3G Unlock Thread

"PwnageTool and Quickpwn Jailbreaks your iPhone or iPod Touch. It also installs two app servers. One is call Cydia 2 and the other Installer 4. As of now, Cydia is the most popular server with firmware 2.0.x-2.2.1 compare to Installer 4. These two servers are like the AppStore but for free/trial and it provides apps that's not on Apples AppStore. The servers also offer packages which can totally customize your iPhone/iPod Touch (Winterboard), turning it into your own unique looking device".

Before you proceed to JailBreak, unhide all apps from Categories and please do a full backup with iTunes or manually backup your files with iPhone File Manager. (Only for Jailbroken iPhones) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

Can an unlock 3G iPhone from...

Can i upgrade the iPhone firmware when there's a new firmware?

Is there a software to Unlock 3G Locked iPhones(US, UK etc)?

What happen to my apps from iTunes Appstore and Cydia after a restore or a firmware upgrade?

How to backup 3rd party apps from Cydia?

Do i need to repurchase my apps from iTunes Appstore after an OS installation?

iPhone baseband downgrade-able?

Does Quickpwn erase my application are Jailbreak?

What is the difference between Pwnagetool and Quickpwn?

Can i use 2G iPhone without unlocking? Able to upgrade from Fw 1.1.4?

Updates: For all Maxis users.

No Carrier signal after Jailbreak: Please download Maxis_my.ipcc file: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226

Connect the USB cable to your iPhone and launch iTunes. Click on your iPhone and hold down SHIFT + click Update button. Select the Maxis_my.ipcc file from your desktop.

iPhone Software 3.0 - Do not upgrade as it's still in beta stage and it's only for iPhone developers, not for the mass users.

For more info, please refer to ths thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406
Firmware 2.2.1 Unlocking and Jailbreaking Tutorial/Guide Thread starts: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913/+1480#entry23345060

*Please make sure your connected to the net before you proceed.

Mac OSX

user posted image PwnageTool 2.2.5 - Dev Team
Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Pwnagetool Tutorial/Guide
PLEASE NOTE: Place all essential files - PwnageTool app, Bootloader Images(For 2G iPhone), Firmware to a folder in your Mac before you proceed. Running directly from the disk image will cause erroneuos behavior such as missing bootloader files and other oddities. *Recommended Root partition at 550MB
2G iPhone Unlocking/Jailbreaking Tutorial
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial*Deselect Activate if you have an iPhone legitimately activated on an official carrier.

user posted image Quickpwn 2.2.5 - Dev Team

Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Quickpwn Tutorial/Guide *Requires internet connection when you start the application(both Mac and Windows).
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows

(Quickpwn launch error: "This program failed to initialize properly(0xc0000135)")
Please download/install MS.net http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&displaylang=en (dotNetFx35setup.exe). Relaunch Quickpwn again.

user posted image Window QuickPwn 2.2.5-2 - Dev Team
Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Quickpwn Tutorial/Guide
2G iPhone Unlocking/Jailbreaking Tutorial
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial

Firmware 2.2.1 Downloads
*do not unzip the firmware. Remove the .zip extension. Your firmware should ends with .ipsw extension

2G iPhone Firmware Firmware 2.2.1

3G iPhone Firmware Firmware 2.2.1

Bootloader Images 3.9BL, 4.6BL (For 2G iPhone Only)

Make sure you get the activation message on iTunes and your iPhone and you can use your phone after.

Firmware 2.2 Unlocking and Jailbreaking Tutorial/Guide Thread starts http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913/+500#entry21599917

RELEASE INFO

Cydia source: http://apt9.yellowsn0w.com/
Installer repo: http://i.yellowsn0w.com/

http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

What is yellowsn0w? Yellowsnow is a 3G software/patch unlock application. An application to unlock LOCK 3G iPhones only.

yellowsnow is only applicable for 3G Lock iPhones, not 2G.

Updates:

Q: Can i update to the latest firmware with software unlock aka ''yellowsn0w''? Read the spoiler.

Take Note for Lock 3G iPhone: Once you're on firmware 2.2.1, there's no turning back as your baseband is permanently upgraded even you downgrade your firmware as the baseband is not downgradable. No pwnagetool/quickpwn or buying a new Mac will help you in any way. Puchasing a unlocker sim is the only option. Read "Lock 3G iPhones with Fimware 2.2.1'' below.

How to jailbreak and install yellowsnow? [For NOOBS]

*** Refer to Hanxz for iPhone unlocking service: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl

----
Lock 3G iPhones with Fimware 2.2.1

Example of forumers "accidentally" upgraded to Fw 2.2.1:

Common problems face by users using Sim Unlocker Rebel Sim:

Solution A - Hardware Sim Unlocker: Purchase a Gevey Sim v2 (supports Fw 2.2.1) to unlock your iPhone.

Solution B - Hardware Chip Modification: Refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1002759

Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial

For those who have accidentally upgraded your firmware 2.2.1(Locked iPhones), here's a tutorial on how to downgrade your baseband from 02.30.03 to 2.28.00 which allows you to unlock using yellowsn0w.

There are now three bootloader versions for the iPhone 3G depending on when it was manufactured. 5.08, 5.09 and 6.02. If your iPhone was manufactured before September 2008, you are 5.8. If your device is 2.2.1 OOB (Out Of Box), you can’t downgrade the Baseband because you have bootloader 5.9. Recent news that Apple has updated it basband again to 6.02 back 2 weeks ago.

IMPORTANT: This downgrade process ONLY works for people who have the 5.08 bootloader.

You can find instructions on how to check your bootloader version here.

Windows: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Windows)
Mac: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Mac)

To downgrade, follow the guide below:

Option 1
Ensure you are on the 2.30 baseband by following this tutorial.
Install 3G Baseband Downgrader via Cydia. Launch 3GBDD and select 'Go' and it will proceed to downgrade your baseband.
Final step, use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.

Option 2
3G Fuzzyband Downgrader
- It verifies your bootloader version and displays it before attempting to downgrade (won't attempt if bootloader isn't 5.08) so it is much safer than other methods.
- It detects current baseband version, and the patches accordingly.
Fuzzyband Downgrader Guide

Final step, use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.
(by iClarified)

Use at our own risk.
Warranty

Claim warranty from the country that you bought the 3G iPhone from if there's defect or hardware related issues.

Online Service Assistance Warranty Check: https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do

*For those who have jailbreak your iPhone, warranty will be void. Restore to default settings before sending back for warranty.

---

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 20 2009, 11:44 PM
frozzbyte
post Sep 13 2008, 11:26 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

U always amaze me with all this effort david. Keep up the good work.
samlee860407
post Sep 13 2008, 11:27 PM

4,631 posts

racun to pawn...lol

see how long i can keep my iphone virgin now...

currently the only apps i missing from Cydia is only snapture and cycoder...
but to use iphone browser...hmm.....
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:28 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thank you frozzbyte. Just helping out with what i can. Do add anything you see missing. Thanks
nokia2003
post Sep 13 2008, 11:28 PM

5,786 posts

thanks davidgary73!
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:30 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

No prob..community service..lol..as long no telephone service cukup.
ASAP
post Sep 13 2008, 11:31 PM

1,645 posts

Hi

I have the unlock iphone from Singapore and want to jailbreak using the 2.1 Pawnage. Should I tick the activate on Pawnage or not? Let say I pawn this iPhone unlock version, can I upgrade to future firmware directly from iTunes without pawn? Please advise. Thanks.
yujin86
post Sep 13 2008, 11:33 PM

1,736 posts

wow
good job david!
frozzbyte
post Sep 13 2008, 11:40 PM

3,657 posts

@ASAP
Since your phone is legally unlocked, u don't have to tick activate but i suggest you to use quickpwn since u don't have to restore the phone.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:42 pmAll you need is just jailbreak and quickpwn is the tool for u.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Sep 13 2008, 11:42 PM
alexng2208
post Sep 13 2008, 11:43 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

i already quickpwn using Windows Vista on my 1st Gen Ipod TOuch 16g.

it was quick and easy but itunes refused to detect it at first. then i tried downloading a free game from app store then sync again, then walla, no problem already!
friends
post Sep 13 2008, 11:49 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

that is great work David.... keep it up. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Added to [ Please README BEFORE POST ]
ASAP
post Sep 13 2008, 11:53 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 13 2008, 11:40 PM)
@ASAP
Since your phone is legally unlocked, u don't have to tick activate but i suggest you to use quickpwn since u don't have to restore the phone.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:42 pmAll you need is just jailbreak and quickpwn is the tool for u.
Thanks. But my unlock iPhone is new. So I can use pawnage now and use quickpawn when I have installed data?
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Sep 13 2008, 11:49 PM)
that is great work David.... keep it up.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Added to [ Please README BEFORE POST ]
Thanks bro..thank you.

mcvalue
post Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM

38 posts

arlow sifus, i just upgrade to 2.1, how come become emergency call? i tot its juz non-jailbreak? sad.gif
Dante18
post Sep 14 2008, 12:00 AM

372 posts

thanks davidgary73, looks like i will need to restore my iphone again.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 14 2008, 12:01 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Sep 13 2008, 11:53 PM)
Thanks. But my unlock iPhone is new. So I can use pawnage now and use quickpawn when I have installed data?
I will be using pwnage to JB my 2G iphone and you're fine using Pwnage to start off. Later you can use quickpwn to JB your 3G iPhone.

I'll be uploading Quickpwn Mac after i download the file.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 14 2008, 12:33 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:03 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(mcvalue @ Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM)
arlow sifus, i just upgrade to 2.1, how come become emergency call? i tot its juz non-jailbreak? sad.gif
U upgrade thru itunes upgrade button? If its non-jailbreak then how to activate it. To activate we need to jailbreak (copy the lockdown file).
ASAP
post Sep 14 2008, 12:04 AM

1,645 posts

I want to ask, the purpose of quickpawn is to jailbreak and upgrade the firmware of the phone without affected the data?
hendra86
post Sep 14 2008, 12:05 AM

295 posts

i sollute you davidgary73
alexng2208
post Sep 14 2008, 12:06 AM

4,789 posts

jailbreak only enable us to install apps. using installer and/or cydia
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:07 AM

38 posts

hmm..yea.. so wat should i do now? sad.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:09 AM

5,786 posts

dude,

again i have to reaffirm this statement. we are no mind readers, so kindly provide some basic details regarding your iphone before expecting some feedbacks.
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:11 AM

38 posts

okie.. sorry.. now my phone is in emergency mode.. what should i do?
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:12 AM

3,657 posts

@nokia2003
He upgraded the phone (1st gen) to fw2.1 although its been told to wait first.

@mcvalue
Unless u have a mac so u can jailbreak using quickpwn, then u're left with a working phone but stuck at the emergency page only.
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:16 AM

38 posts

okie.. there is a quiickpwn2.1 that im downloading, can i use that as well? i have mac, so i need download mac quickpwn again.. so, which one u recommended?
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:18 AM

5,786 posts

@ frozzbyte

oh is it? but i did try scanning this thread twice looking for some details before posting that. where was it posted? if it was posted in advance, i do apologise

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 14 2008, 12:19 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:20 AM

3,657 posts

Then use quickpwn to settle your problem. Pwnage version 2.1 and Quickpwn v1.1, there's no quickpwn 2.1 that i know of.
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:21 AM

5,786 posts

eh byte. tak jumpa pun?

anyway maybe davidgary73 wants to shed some light into this since he is an avid mac user (i'm just a fake user)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 14 2008, 12:21 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:21 AM

3,657 posts

@nokia2003
Post #14

Added on September 14, 2008, 12:22 amHe's busy collecting info to put in here and linking downloads for quickpwn.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Sep 14 2008, 12:22 AM
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:23 AM

38 posts

there is quickpwn 2.1 this link, http://www.quickpwn.com/
so now im downloading it.. will try to update u guys
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:24 AM

3,657 posts

@mcvalue
yours is the 1st gen or 3G iPhone?
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:25 AM

5,786 posts

good luck then mcvalue!
mcvalue

38 posts

1st gen.. aha.. thx nokia2003
frozzbyte

3,657 posts

And bro I think your in the wrong Quickpwn site. Most of them are a rip-off.

Added on September 14, 2008, 12:27 am@mcvalue
u press the restore button or upgrade?

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Sep 14 2008, 12:29 AM
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:28 AM

38 posts

erm.. restore.. upgrade cannot pass thru.. wat means rip-off ar?
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:33 AM

3,657 posts

@mcvalue
Read the spoiler that i posted above. It's been quoted from the Dev Team.

Aiya ... u restore no wonder got the emergency page. Now u have to wait for davidgary to finish download quickpwn and link it in the first page. Don't download from anyware else or you'll damage the phone further.
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:35 AM

38 posts

okok.. thx
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 14 2008, 12:38 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

There's no quickpwn for windows yet, only mac so far.

The fake quickpwn is not reliable as we hav no idea what it does to the phone. Use it at your own risk!!
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:40 AM

38 posts

ok.. what to do.. im half way on it.. wish me luck.. aha
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:40 AM

5,786 posts

@ mcvalue

really, i'm not saying this to rub into your face as "nasi sudah menjadi bubur" but next time, just try to take a chill pill and don't rush into upgrading if you have no clue what is going on.

<Sabar Itu Separuh Dari Iman>

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 14 2008, 12:42 AM
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:42 AM

38 posts

wakaka// no prob.. i think should be ok
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:43 AM

3,657 posts

So i've done my part. What u did with your phone after this is solely under your own responsibilities.
vincent_ng86
post Sep 14 2008, 12:43 AM

1,659 posts

I am using an iPhone 2G with 1.1.4 currently. Anyone successfully upgraded their iPhone 2G to 2.1 and unlocked it?
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:47 AM

38 posts

thx alot frozzbyte
nokia2003
post Sep 14 2008, 12:47 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 14 2008, 12:43 AM)
So i've done my part. What u did with your phone after this is solely under your own responsibilities.
chill la byte. it was never our responsibility to begin with.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 14 2008, 12:47 AM
TeK_KeN
post Sep 14 2008, 02:32 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

thanks davey.keep up da gud work rclxms.gif

winpawn still no release sad.gif
Seaedge
post Sep 14 2008, 02:35 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

good job you did david! u are the only one that remain calm while most of us already soak with gasoline...
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 14 2008, 02:41 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thanks bro's. Do let me know if i miss any info on the first post.

Cheers
deadman8836
post Sep 14 2008, 02:43 AM

464 posts

Thank You David for your effort..... it really helps us alot...... notworthy.gif
Dante18
post Sep 14 2008, 02:56 AM

372 posts

so if i use Quickpwn 1.1, i wouldn't need to restore?
mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 03:02 AM

38 posts

success in 2.1... thx alot everyone~!
harmeet15
post Sep 14 2008, 03:47 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

hey david...thx for ur continuous effort 2 help us all...
too bad im nt a mac user..hv 2 wait for winpwn...sad.gif
but still, kudos 2 u david...smile.gif
gengstapo
post Sep 14 2008, 05:59 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

any user with 1st generation iphone update to 2.1?
i would like to update but i want to know the situations 1st
i dont want the 2.0.2 history being play back
its make me sick.. tongue.gif

@david, u always fast to update us. keep it up bro thumbup.gif
cill
post Sep 14 2008, 06:06 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 14 2008, 05:59 AM)
any user with 1st generation iphone update to 2.1?
i would like to update but i want to know the situations 1st
i dont want the 2.0.2 history being play back
its make me sick.. tongue.gif

@david, u always fast to update us. keep it up bro thumbup.gif
mine is edge. just update this morning, so cant say much about battery, performance etc. But the feeling is good as far as major functions are concerned. The sms is slightly faster (about 2 to 3 second faster) and the phone app is almost without lag anymore smile.gif

just a reminder to anyone using mac, do copy the pwnage software into ur mac first before attempting to pwned ur phone. U may end up getting headache if u try to launch the app straight after it completely downloaded. U may not able to add additional packages for cydia from the pwnage or the pwnage simply cannot recognize ur baseband files..

This post has been edited by cill: Sep 14 2008, 09:53 AM
Corvinux
post Sep 14 2008, 08:00 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

Great one bro smile.gif and thanks for calling me smile.gif if not i wont know (except dev development announcement that they are coming up with the new pwnage!) and thank god no need patching to iTunes!

Ive been bz and will be busy prolly until raya ( and most probably lepas raya too sad.gif )
Im so sorry if i cant participate more on this forum sad.gif

Thumbs up to dev development & associates in creating tools for us to pwn our phone! and for FREE!!
Thumbs up to members like DavidGary, Frozzbyte, Nokia2003, SF, others who's name i forgot to mention( you know who u r!) who's doing this for the love of the technology and helping out others for FREE!

Thumbs up guys!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

p/s but i still see ppl excitely upgrade without properly read its for Mac or 2G or for 3G iphone doh.gif but what to do hehe when we excited we forgot bout other things laugh.gif laugh.gif

pp/s i will close Winpwn 2.5 thread once new Winpwn is out smile.gif
cill
post Sep 14 2008, 08:43 AM

102 posts

update:

after syncing several times and installing 3 pages of apps, I can say that the new firmware is faster than older firmwares rclxms.gif

the winterboard is working well, the cydia is working well n other jailbreak apps too biggrin.gif

the happiest change for me is the incredibly fast back up compared to last 2.x.x firmwares.. installing apps is also much faster drool.gif

tayhaithian
post Sep 14 2008, 08:50 AM

460 posts

Cool bro , nice hardwork .
gengstapo
post Sep 14 2008, 09:30 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

hmm like that i might upgrade mine later
currently at kampung with my windows lappy
need to wait until reach home so can use the pwnage with my mac

hehee.. if its much faster, i would be glad laugh.gif
psyeo
post Sep 14 2008, 10:53 AM

2,605 posts

did anyone face any problem with 2.1 JB? coz i can't backup with iTunes now that i'm on 2.1 JB. (using PwnageTool)

This post has been edited by psyeo: Sep 14 2008, 10:54 AM
vincent_ng86
post Sep 14 2008, 10:57 AM

1,659 posts

Just updated. So far so good...
cill
post Sep 14 2008, 11:24 AM

102 posts

more about personal experience:

Good news:

Significantly faster response when opening phone, SMS, ipod
Webpage load much faster- almost nothing to do with my edge connection

Bad:

Cydia keeps sending me back to home page- so in my case, it is not fully working as I claimed before
Cannot open snapture- not supported? Can anybody clarify this?

About the back up, give itunes 8.0 a try, I believe firmware 2.1 comes in handy with itunes 8.0. When I was on 2.0.1, the backup seems to take infinity period of time (keep hanging or took at least 5 hours to complete. Whether I reboot the phone or just cancelled the back up

This post has been edited by cill: Sep 14 2008, 11:28 AM
alexng2208
post Sep 14 2008, 11:35 AM

4,789 posts

psyeo,

same problem here
tayhaithian
post Sep 14 2008, 12:24 PM

460 posts

same here oso =/ ( couldn't restore the backup )
lost all contact and messages ...

mcvalue
post Sep 14 2008, 12:31 PM

38 posts

mine restore back no prob, coz i used iphone pc suit to backup.. tongue.gif
tayhaithian
post Sep 14 2008, 12:37 PM

460 posts

woot i thought iphone pc suit is language translation ...
sad =/
vincent_ng86
post Sep 14 2008, 04:16 PM

1,659 posts

After updating mine, helped my gf and sister to update theirs' too. Everything works like a charm now.
Kernkraft400
post Sep 14 2008, 05:06 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

winpawn out?

psyeo
post Sep 14 2008, 05:12 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Sep 14 2008, 03:35 PM)
psyeo,

same problem here
problem solved, you need to replace the mobileinstallation file with a newer version.
icebrew
post Sep 14 2008, 09:31 PM

69 posts

My friend wants 2.1 custom restore firmware from PwnageTool, I have successfuly pwning my 2g with it. I reckon if I pass him this custom IPSW, he should be able to use that on Itunes 8 on a PC. Since bootneuter is already in the IPSW right.
|Keantan|
post Sep 14 2008, 11:18 PM

407 posts

Just to confirm with you all. Just pwned my iPhone 2G with Quick Pwn and iTunes 8.0. Running firmware 2.1... much better than 2.0 (I skipped the updates in the middle)
alexng2208
post Sep 14 2008, 11:39 PM

4,789 posts

how do i update the mobileinstallation file/
psyeo
post Sep 15 2008, 12:08 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Sep 15 2008, 03:39 AM)
how do i update the mobileinstallation file/
hmm did u patch the mobileinstallation file in mobileinstallation.framework before? if you hvnt, that means that the backup problem is not related to that

if u did, here is the new patch file for mobile installation Link

you need to patch the file into /System/Library/PrivateFrameWorks/MobileInstallation.framework

rarara...why can't i concentrate on my essay that due in 4 hours =.=

This post has been edited by psyeo: Sep 15 2008, 12:09 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 15 2008, 12:26 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thanks psyeo, i will put this up on first post.

Thanks mate.

gengstapo
post Sep 15 2008, 02:37 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 15 2008, 12:08 AM)
hmm did u patch the mobileinstallation file in mobileinstallation.framework before? if you hvnt, that means that the backup problem is not related to that

if u did, here is the new patch file for mobile installation Link

you need to patch the file into /System/Library/PrivateFrameWorks/MobileInstallation.framework
rarara...why can't i concentrate on my essay that due in 4 hours =.=
what this for?
to enable backup via itunes8??
psyeo
post Sep 15 2008, 04:08 AM

2,605 posts

nope, the backup problem that I come accross is because i use an older version of Mobileinstallation patch on it.

If you have not patch it or didnt face any error while backing up, u can ignore that
lcwei85
post Sep 15 2008, 04:29 AM

118 posts

Need help here~!!!
When I reach to create Bootloader v3.9,although I select the file correctly,it still show me "Sorry,but that doesn't appear to be a proper file"
Can I know how to solve it?I tried so many BL3.9 from other website but still can't:(
(This is the first time I face this problem.I don't have this problem when I upgrade from 1.1.4 to 2.0.2.)
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 15 2008, 04:42 AM

184 posts

Wooo...gud job david..Nice2, but hey..im not in a hurry to upgrade from 2.0.1..haha..not much problem except sometimes my "stanby mode" phone cant be recovered unless force restart (hold power n home button) or just tap2 any button tilli recover..lol..(happen since i upgrade to 2.0)
but nvm..i can bear sumthing like that.

TQTQ
gengstapo
post Sep 15 2008, 05:22 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(xTraVagaNza @ Sep 15 2008, 04:42 AM)
Wooo...gud job david..Nice2, but hey..im not in a hurry to upgrade from 2.0.1..haha..not much problem except sometimes my "stanby mode" phone cant be recovered unless force restart (hold power n home button) or just tap2 any button tilli recover..lol..(happen since i upgrade to 2.0)
but nvm..i can bear sumthing like that.

TQTQ
correction, its aint 2.0.1, its 2.1

tq
MoNnY
post Sep 15 2008, 05:47 AM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

he said he's not in a hurry to upgrade FROM 2.0.1 as in the SECOND PREVIOUS firmware BEFORE 2.0.2 which after came 2.1 which is the LATEST FW

tq
gengstapo
post Sep 15 2008, 06:06 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Sep 15 2008, 05:47 AM)
he said he's not in a hurry to upgrade FROM 2.0.1 as in the SECOND PREVIOUS firmware BEFORE 2.0.2 which after came 2.1 which is the LATEST FW

tq
hohoo.. ya lorr, early mornin' still blur.. sigh

my bad rclxms.gif
icebrew
post Sep 15 2008, 07:16 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Sep 15 2008, 04:29 AM)
Need help here~!!!
When I reach to create Bootloader v3.9,although I select the file correctly,it still show me "Sorry,but that doesn't appear to be a proper file"
Can I know how to solve it?I tried so many BL3.9 from other website but still can't:(
(This is the first time I face this problem.I don't have this problem when I upgrade from 1.1.4 to 2.0.2.)
Make sure you extract and place pwnage tool and bl3.9 and bl4.6 in a same folder before it can work properly.

cill
post Sep 15 2008, 09:50 AM

102 posts

Icebrew is rite, I hv encountered the same problem (as mentioned in earlier post), n the problem solved by copying the pwnage to computer first.

This post has been edited by cill: Sep 15 2008, 09:52 AM
lcwei85
post Sep 15 2008, 11:56 AM

118 posts

Thank you sifus~!The problem solved~!Yahoo~!
dizz_my
post Sep 15 2008, 12:32 PM

43 posts

after successfully upgrade to 2.1.. first change i can see is the edge icon..

later i update more on the changes biggrin.gif
syncing.... im syncing...

lcwei85
post Sep 15 2008, 01:01 PM

118 posts

I facing a problem again.After I replace Mobileinstallation in my phone.I still can get those .app file(such asphlat4) after install and restart my iPhone.Why?
psyeo
post Sep 15 2008, 01:04 PM

2,605 posts

you mean you CAN'T...

btw, you can't discuss about those K'ed apps here

original apps shouldnt have a problem with that

This post has been edited by psyeo: Sep 15 2008, 01:04 PM
lcwei85
post Sep 15 2008, 01:06 PM

118 posts

Opps..sorry

Added on September 15, 2008, 1:28 pmJust my noob opinion.I think FW 2.1 do something about the seciruty system.When I try to change application folder to 777 instead of 755,it will change back to 755 after i restart my iPhone.

This post has been edited by lcwei85: Sep 15 2008, 01:28 PM
gengstapo
post Sep 15 2008, 01:48 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Sep 15 2008, 01:01 PM)
I facing a problem again.After I replace Mobileinstallation in my phone.I still can get those .app file(such asphlat4) after install and restart my iPhone.Why?
lol.. when it comes to "Mobileinstallation" & appstore, there nothing else but pirated
u not allowed to discuss in public bro, shall by PM or as silent as u can tongue.gif nod.gif

someone might watching u
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 15 2008, 02:30 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

WinPwn 3.0 Update (09/14/08)
Winpwn

It's been very busy for me recently at work and I haven't had much time to spend on WinPwn.But i'm hoping that planet/squpid and I can get the latest version out soon. I will keep you updated!

\Cmw

Will update post #1 when Winpwn 3 is availlable.

Cheers
capricorn81
post Sep 15 2008, 02:40 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 15 2008, 02:30 PM)
Winpwn

It's been very busy for me recently at work and I haven't had much time to spend on WinPwn.But i'm hoping that planet/squpid and I can get the latest version out soon. I will keep you updated!

\Cmw

Will update post #1 when Winpwn 3 is availlable.

Cheers
I can't wait for WinPwn 3.0. With the host of improvements and positive feedback from those on FW 2.1, I think this time I will be among the first to update as opposed to playing the waiting game smile.gif
harmeet15
post Sep 15 2008, 04:02 PM

2,729 posts

thr r still working on winpwn...sad.gif
cant wait to jb la...
sm one loan me a mac!!!!!!
Seaedge
post Sep 15 2008, 04:05 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i dun think i can wait for 2.1 already... sad.gif
Kernkraft400
post Sep 15 2008, 05:16 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

when is winpawn 3.0 coming out eh??
Seaedge
post Sep 15 2008, 05:24 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

^ when the dev teamm decide to release it.
frozzbyte
post Sep 15 2008, 05:25 PM

3,657 posts

tomorrow

Aiyak ... we also dunno la. Unless Cmw (creator of WinPwn) comes here and announce la. icon_rolleyes.gif
goldieboy
post Sep 15 2008, 05:29 PM

160 posts

guyz, I just saw the link below
http://www.coderetard.com/2008/09/13/how-t...ickpwn-windows/
Do u think is reliable for windows' user?
Dante18
post Sep 15 2008, 05:34 PM

372 posts

firmware 2.1 is really much stable then 2.0.1. no more laggy sms, apps also run smoother, backup is much faster. Feels like i am back to the good old 1.1.4 days.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 15 2008, 05:51 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(goldieboy @ Sep 15 2008, 05:29 PM)
guyz, I just saw the link below
http://www.coderetard.com/2008/09/13/how-t...ickpwn-windows/
Do u think is reliable for windows' user?
We do not recommend that you to JB with windows quickpwn as we do don't know what will it do to the phone. You can proceed if you can't wait for a proper tool to JB, but you'll have to bear the consequences if the phone fails to boot or gives problem in the future.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 15 2008, 05:54 PM
goldieboy
post Sep 15 2008, 05:55 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 15 2008, 05:51 PM)
We do not recommend that you to JB with windows quickpwn as we do don't know what will it do to the phone. You can proceed if you can't wait for a proper tool to JB, but you'll will have to bear the consequences if the phone fails to boot or gives problem in the future.
Noted!~ I better wait for winpwn..
rclxms.gif
gengstapo
post Sep 15 2008, 10:47 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(goldieboy @ Sep 15 2008, 05:55 PM)
Noted!~ I better wait for winpwn..
rclxms.gif
winpwn(windows environment) & pwnage(macintosh environment)
goldieboy
post Sep 15 2008, 11:16 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 15 2008, 10:47 PM)
winpwn(windows environment) & pwnage(macintosh environment)
What about quickpwn? I am confuse it between pwnage.
blink.gif

ff8ong
post Sep 15 2008, 11:25 PM

2,550 posts

Very good job man,you make me wonder to take out my Mac Mini now.Haha
Jermaine
post Sep 16 2008, 12:00 AM

59 posts

This makes me wanna get myself a Mac Mini
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 12:12 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 15 2008, 11:25 PM)
Very good job man,you make me wonder to take out my Mac Mini now.Haha
ceh, i told you to take out your mac mini out of the box like berjuta tahun ago...
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 12:16 AM

2,550 posts

Are you nokia2003?who are you?
I cant stand or the lag of 2.0 safari and other app,I must change it to 2.1 today!!
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 12:24 AM

92 posts

you guys must be high...................
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 05:54 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 16 2008, 12:12 AM)
ceh, i told you to take out your mac mini out of the box like berjuta tahun ago...
w0ot.. what happen?
he keep the mac inbox again?

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 16 2008, 12:16 AM)
Are you nokia2003?who are you?
I cant stand or the lag of 2.0 safari and other app,I must change it to 2.1 today!!
u should upgrade to 2.0.1 previously
but since 2.1 already here, just get em' rclxms.gif

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 16 2008, 12:24 AM)
you guys must be high...................
we are high n' dry here doh.gif
jackdon
post Sep 16 2008, 08:34 AM

719 posts

I will this weekend bring back a 40GB HDD and install MacOSX 10.5.4 for intel on my PC to see if itune can talk to my iphone. I had install it before as a dual boot running Vista and MacOX but uninstall it because I am not too impress with the OS on my hardware. biggrin.gif To me all MacOS and Vista looks much the same as I still use the mouse to click on this and that and I still use Safari or Opera to surf the net biggrin.gif (well I hope I am not flame for this comment tongue.gif ).

So I should be able to Jailbreak with MacOS once I had upgrade my iphone firmware to 2.1.

jackdon.

MY rig at home is an Intel Core2Duo 2.4GHz with 2GB RAM / 2 HDD running Vista.

psyeo
post Sep 16 2008, 09:38 AM

2,605 posts

MAC OS X is a thousand times better than Vista....and it runs best in MAC, not PC smile.gif
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 10:01 AM

2,550 posts

yes,after shower,I going to take out my mac....
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 10:05 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 16 2008, 09:38 AM)
MAC OS X is a thousand times better than Vista....and it runs best in MAC, not PC smile.gif
hehee yeah
but it run faster with my box tongue.gif

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 16 2008, 10:01 AM)
yes,after shower,I going to take out my mac....
go go goo
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 10:20 AM

2,550 posts

out now....haha
Jermaine
post Sep 16 2008, 11:19 AM

59 posts

Damn... I'm so jealous of you guys all having Macs.
Some even just keep it in the box only... tongue.gif
Anyway, happy Pwning.
Seaedge
post Sep 16 2008, 11:36 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i oso wan macbook in my room... sad.gif
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 11:49 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Jermaine @ Sep 16 2008, 11:19 AM)
Damn... I'm so jealous of you guys all having Macs.
Some even just keep it in the box only...  tongue.gif
Anyway, happy Pwning.
No choice,still exam much more important than MAC...

After exam then rock loh.. biggrin.gif
jackdon
post Sep 16 2008, 11:52 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 16 2008, 09:38 AM)
psyeo,

Yah I know that is why I deleted the partition sad.gif so now I have to reinstall in again on another hard disk to JB it when I am successful on the upgrade to FW 2.1 later tonight. Anyway I had always been a Windows man but I will use anything as long as I have a good browser like Opera, Safari, Firefox or IE 7 and a FAST INTERNET connection I would not complain.

The hackintosh as we call it is customize to be install on certain Intel chips set and so far I had been pretty successful to get it running with sound, lan, usb and video. So I believe itune 8 would run because it is leopard. I just want to JB it then will dismantle it smile.gif.

jackdon.
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 12:03 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

@jackdon
i pwn my phone with my box
itunes8 running fine.. really awesome
jackdon
post Sep 16 2008, 12:12 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 16 2008, 12:03 PM)
@jackdon
i pwn my phone with my box
itunes8 running fine.. really awesome
OK but I use my Vista all the time, can I do the following on my iphone 2G currently fw 2.0.1

1. Update from the firmware I download it.
2. Install MacOS on my PC then PWN it.
3. The use my regular itune 8 on my Vista daily to sync video and music.

Reason most of my application are in Windows sad.gif

jackdon
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 12:16 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

^ smile.gif

1. yes
2. yes
3. yes

pr0bs free smile.gif
jackdon
post Sep 16 2008, 12:36 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 16 2008, 12:16 PM)
^ smile.gif

1. yes
2. yes
3. yes

pr0bs free smile.gif
gengstapo,

WOKAY..... terima kasih and I will update today on Vista. Will play around it for a few days then over the weekend will install my hackintosh to pwn it smile.gif.

On another matter, I had a friend who is in NZ now for 2 weeks and with instruction to purchase 2 units of iphone 3G. sad.gif just got a mail from him today "no stock or maybe they don't like to sell to chinaman sad.gif" he will try again at different outlet. So if he gets 1 unit then I will offer my currently 2G to a friend, if he gets 2 units then my friend will get the 3G and this 2G would be up for offer here. Would a RM1,300/= be a good offer for a hardly used 2G phone.

jackdon
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 12:39 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

weii weii.. u can update via vista, but it might lock ur phone sweat.gif

i thought u wanna do em' on the spot after u do restore via vista.. sigh
jackdon
post Sep 16 2008, 01:00 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 16 2008, 12:39 PM)
weii weii.. u can update via vista, but it might lock ur phone sweat.gif

i thought u wanna do em' on the spot after u do restore via vista.. sigh
gengstapo,

Thanks for the WARNING. ...... so I have to do everything in MacOS. Phew.... lucky u say so because I read so many time this thread that once your iphone was pwn before then you can update and it will still be unlock but not jailbreak. So that statement is wrong.

Okay..... will wait until my hackintosh is up and running and do everything there.

jackdon.
mcvalue
post Sep 16 2008, 01:30 PM

38 posts

so, anyone tried install ipa in iphone 2.1?
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 02:41 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Sep 16 2008, 01:00 PM)
gengstapo,

Thanks for the WARNING. ...... so I have to do everything in MacOS. Phew.... lucky u say so because I read so many time this thread that once your iphone was pwn before then you can update and it will still be unlock but not jailbreak. So that statement is wrong.

Okay..... will wait until my hackintosh is up and running and do everything there.

jackdon.
yepp, its better if u got ur hackintosh at same time
hehee..

QUOTE(mcvalue @ Sep 16 2008, 01:30 PM)
so, anyone tried install ipa in iphone 2.1?
if u try to discuss bout pirate in public, u better dont
else.. huhuu laugh.gif
Jermaine
post Sep 16 2008, 03:14 PM

59 posts

I've jailbroken my iPhone 2.1.
I was wondering, why is the installer icon lower than the rest ?
Anybody else facing similar issue ?
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 05:34 PM

2,550 posts

Yeah!on 2.1 now,reply this with iPhone safari(landscape mode)
No lag at all..feel very good..now only left app support..
twinkles
post Sep 16 2008, 05:49 PM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

im using 2.1 now ...but feel abit lag ....
ff8ong
post Sep 16 2008, 05:51 PM

2,550 posts

And this is the first time i able to you iPhone Mail,since i bought my iphone..lol
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 09:56 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 16 2008, 05:51 PM)
And this is the first time i able to you iPhone Mail,since i bought my iphone..lol
w0ot weee
p0oor u, i dont have any prob using mail with any FW ive tried previously
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 10:24 PM

92 posts

aiiii... should i JB my aifontrigi tomorrow? dilemma dilemma...
Dante18
post Sep 16 2008, 10:28 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(twinkles @ Sep 16 2008, 05:49 PM)
im using 2.1 now ...but feel abit lag ....
what kind of lag do u face? so far my 2.1 is very smooth. Much better than 2.0.1
twinkles
post Sep 16 2008, 10:33 PM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Sep 16 2008, 10:28 PM)
what kind of lag do u face? so far my 2.1 is very smooth. Much better than 2.0.1
iphone 3G upgraded to ver 2.1 but quite delay....

Anybody else facing similar issue ? OR This kind of speed is normal ??

When i click " Setting " ---> this moment will be delay abit ....

When i see the message in text sms .....it aslo will delay abit ....

My phone upgraded to version 2.1 ( 5F136 )..
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 10:36 PM

92 posts

@ twinkles

i have already personally "played" with three aifontrigis on 2.1. there is no lag or what so ever. hence there must be a problem with your firmware. however on the safer side, i do recommend, re-downloading a freshly baked firmware.

which country of origin is your iphone?

Added on September 16, 2008, 10:38 pmbtw, twinkles don't repost the same scenario on different threads as it can be quite difficult to keep track.

since you already have a dedicated thread in order to troubleshoot your problem, lets all move there.

This post has been edited by iPhone2008: Sep 16 2008, 10:39 PM
gengstapo
post Sep 16 2008, 10:39 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(twinkles @ Sep 16 2008, 10:33 PM)

hehee.. my i2g also dont have this pr0bs
might incomplete restore of ur newly 2.1 fw?
or its corrupted, so get new copy
hope all went smooth thumbup.gif

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 16 2008, 10:36 PM)
@ twinkles
i have already personally "played" with three aifontrigis on 2.1. there is no lag or what so ever. hence there must be a problem with your firmware. however on the safer side, i do recommend, re-downloading a freshly baked firmware.

which country of origin is your iphone?
hehee, yeah.. if urs the unlocked by default then get the fresh baked FW only from apple
psyeo
post Sep 16 2008, 10:41 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(twinkles @ Sep 17 2008, 02:33 AM)

WTH, ppl already answer ur question in ur thread........read it, don't repost.....don't expect everything to be perfect.....

u hav already said it "delay" (if u like to call it that) A BIT.... is not that bad then
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 10:43 PM

92 posts

@ psyeo

maybe he/she gets motivated upon seeing all the stars that you have beneath your "Apple ConverT"
sudhirian
post Sep 16 2008, 10:55 PM

213 posts

im really into getting this phone but i have been delaying due to all the probs suffered by the ppl overseas n stf...so is anyone willing to give their opinions on the differences they felt with the 2.1 since 2.0 and not before that..in particular iphone 3G and yes of course current iphone users as well. n what are the windows users doing without a JB since winpwn 3 is nt out yet???
thanks for the feedback to all!
iPhone2008
post Sep 16 2008, 10:59 PM

92 posts

@ sudhirian

2.1 definitely provides a much more smooth sailing and a less buggy transition from 2.0 onwards.

it is not hard to find a mac user around here, PM him/her (her would be a bonus if she agrees) as it doesn't take long to quickpwn an aifontrigi.

This post has been edited by iPhone2008: Sep 16 2008, 10:59 PM
psyeo
post Sep 16 2008, 11:06 PM

2,605 posts

u still can install all the apps from app store without jailbreaking ur iPhone (That means, you can do lots of stuff with ur phone e.g. games, applications and etc)....( i actually recommend newbies to avoid jailbreaking 1st before getting use to the iPhone OS&UI)

This post has been edited by psyeo: Sep 16 2008, 11:07 PM
berserk
post Sep 16 2008, 11:24 PM

149 posts

i juz bought an iphone 3g from singapore...its a used set whereby somebody use that for 1 week...now the seller tell me that i cant do any factory restore or else the phone will be locked again...but instead he can help me to unlock it after it locked....

any idea from his statement....personally i find it weird....
MoMeNtOM
post Sep 17 2008, 04:55 AM

Guyz, this is my first time jailbreak and unlock my 1st gen iphone by my own.i have successfully unlock it using PWnage tool, thanks to that. well i have been searching for the correction of the contact namellist, cant found it. any of u guyz can help me out?
gengstapo
post Sep 17 2008, 05:19 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(MoMeNtOM @ Sep 17 2008, 04:55 AM)
Guyz, this is my first time jailbreak and unlock my 1st gen iphone by my own.i have successfully unlock it using PWnage tool, thanks to that.  well i have been searching for the correction of the contact namellist, cant found it. any of u guyz can help me out?
u need this bro: http://forum.lowyat.net/... rclxms.gif
sudhirian
post Sep 17 2008, 10:32 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 16 2008, 10:59 PM)
@ sudhirian

2.1 definitely provides a much more smooth sailing and a less buggy transition from 2.0 onwards.

it is not hard to find a mac user around here, PM him/her (her would be a bonus if she agrees) as it doesn't take long to quickpwn an aifontrigi.
ok will be doing that pretty soon...by the way what do you think of dropped calls and slow 3G speeds? has that been a problem in SEA countries? inside/outside buildings and comparatively against other 3G phones in the market?

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 16 2008, 11:06 PM)
u still can install all the apps from app store without jailbreaking ur iPhone (That means, you can do lots of stuff with ur phone e.g. games, applications and etc)....( i actually recommend newbies to avoid jailbreaking 1st before getting use to the iPhone OS&UI)
yea wasn't planning to JB for awhile till i get used to the current interface. appstore does have a lot to offer. can't wait to try the genius feature, heard its pretty awesome!user posted image
pipedream
post Sep 17 2008, 12:48 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:59 PM)
@ sudhirian

No need for that, i found links for downloading custom pwned ipsw for both 3G iphone and Edge iphone on the web

Source

http://3giphone-hacks.com/2008/09/15/winpw...1-with-windows/

As long as
your iPhone or iPhone 3G has been Pwned previously all you need to do
is restore a custom 2.1 firmware via iTunes 8. Here are two custom 2.1
firmware files made via PwnageTool 2.1 with default settings

Edit : It seems that the custom ipsw made was just jailbreak without unlock, can anyone clarify more on this?

Edit 2 : Found out that if ur iPhone has been previously pwned, it will remain unlocked, links with instruction

http://www.coderetard.com/2008/09/16/how-t...e-ipsw-windows/

This post has been edited by pipedream: Sep 17 2008, 01:48 PM
baretta
post Sep 17 2008, 06:12 PM

1,853 posts

Finally kenot tahan la, already pwned my aifontriji using quickpwn.....
kasmankk
post Sep 17 2008, 06:58 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(berserk @ Sep 16 2008, 11:24 PM)
i juz bought an iphone 3g from singapore...its a used set whereby somebody use that for 1 week...now the seller tell me that i cant do any factory restore or else the phone will be locked again...but instead he can help me to unlock it after it locked....

any idea from his statement....personally i find it weird....
set from singapore market is officially unlock. u can update or restore with no issue.

Added on September 17, 2008, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(pipedream @ Sep 17 2008, 12:48 PM)
No need for that, i found links for downloading custom pwned ipsw for both 3G iphone and Edge iphone on the web

Source

http://3giphone-hacks.com/2008/09/15/winpw...1-with-windows/
Edit : It seems that the custom ipsw made was just jailbreak without unlock, can anyone clarify more on this?

Edit 2 : Found out that if ur iPhone has been previously pwned, it will remain unlocked, links with instruction

http://www.coderetard.com/2008/09/16/how-t...e-ipsw-windows/
did you mean, the custom fw is for officially unlock 3g phone? If yes, it should work with my iphone . Pls confirm tq.

This post has been edited by kasmankk: Sep 17 2008, 07:03 PM
pipedream
post Sep 17 2008, 07:43 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kasmankk @ Sep 17 2008, 07:58 PM)
set from singapore market is officially unlock. u can update or restore with no issue.

Added on September 17, 2008, 7:03 pm

did you mean, the custom fw is for officially unlock 3g phone?  If yes, it should work with my iphone . Pls confirm tq.
Links are included for both iPhone Edge 2.1 and iPhone 3G 2.1

And yes, official unlock 3G iphone should be jailbroken after flashing
kasmankk
post Sep 17 2008, 10:55 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Sep 17 2008, 07:43 PM)
Links are included for both iPhone Edge 2.1 and iPhone 3G 2.1

And yes, official unlock 3G iphone should be jailbroken after flashing
cool. will work on it as soon as the file finish downloading.

This post has been edited by kasmankk: Sep 17 2008, 10:56 PM
ridd
post Sep 17 2008, 11:25 PM

44 posts

Guys, i know you all alrdy pro with iphone n all..im still a noob haha, what i dont understand is what can you do if you JB ure iphone 3g? if you don't JB? does that mean if the iphone is officially unlocked still have to JB?

sorry...pls any one care to explain to me would appreciate it thnx!

pipedream
post Sep 17 2008, 11:29 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ridd @ Sep 18 2008, 12:25 AM)
Guys, i know you all alrdy pro with iphone n all..im still a noob haha, what i dont understand is what can you do if you JB ure iphone 3g? if you don't JB? does that mean if the iphone is officially unlocked still have to JB?

sorry...pls any one care to explain to me would appreciate it thnx!
JB means u can install 3rd party software from Cydia/Installer , more delicious apps can be installed thumbup.gif
ridd
post Sep 17 2008, 11:39 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Sep 17 2008, 11:29 PM)
JB means u can install 3rd party software from Cydia/Installer , more delicious apps can be installed  thumbup.gif
right on! so do you iphone users recommend a new user like myself and others to JB our iphones? or should we jst wait and settle down with it first...and if i do decide to attempt it, is it difficult? can it screw up ure phone if it is not done correctly?

thnx btw!!
pipedream
post Sep 18 2008, 12:08 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ridd @ Sep 18 2008, 12:39 AM)
right on! so do you iphone users recommend a new user like myself and others to JB our iphones? or should we jst wait and settle down with it first...and if i do decide to attempt it, is it difficult? can it screw up ure phone if it is not done correctly?

thnx btw!!
Well, Apple voids warranty if u JB ur phone, but then, there's no apple warranty here anyway, hence, its recommended to JB it

No harm done, and its very easy to it =)

Just think of all the lovely 3rd party apps u can get
ryancfs
post Sep 18 2008, 12:10 AM

77 posts

Guys, i have a unlocked n jb 1.1.4 iphone... dun have a mac but 1 2 have FW2.1...

So pls correct me if i m wrong k... can i use a custom pwned FW2.1 PWNED by a mac and use it on my PC to restore my iphone using itune 8??? will it work??

thanks.

Suk
post Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM

2,330 posts

Erm.... window version JB is not out yet right ?

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 18 2008, 12:31 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(ridd @ Sep 17 2008, 11:39 PM)

thnx btw!!
I would recommend that you don't. Read up on how to do it before you proceed and make sure you know what you're doing. Any wrong moves or steps, you bear the consequences.

QUOTE(ryancfs @ Sep 18 2008, 12:10 AM)
Guys, i have a unlocked n jb 1.1.4 iphone... dun have a mac but 1 2 have FW2.1...

So pls correct me if i m wrong k... can i use a custom pwned FW2.1 PWNED by a mac and use it on my PC to restore my iphone using itune 8??? will it work??

thanks.
You can do if you can't wait for a proper tool like winpwn 3 but do it at your own risk. No one's here gonna be helping you as you are doing it on your own.

QUOTE(Suk @ Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM)
NO.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 18 2008, 12:36 AM
sudhirian
post Sep 18 2008, 12:46 AM

213 posts

yea why bother taking the risk to pwn to the new 2.1 when it is still not ready yet??

plus i suggest that you should pwn it only if you wanna fully customise your iphone or have more control over it and will make full use of the apps provided not in the official AppStore.

play about the 2.1 and see if its more stable for you and stuff which Apple promised in a full version update.

annnnddd if you still cant bear to wait (patience is always a virtue, mind u!) then go to a friends place who has a mac and pwn ur device. biggrin.gif

Added on September 18, 2008, 12:48 am
QUOTE(baretta @ Sep 17 2008, 06:12 PM)
Finally kenot tahan la, already pwned my aifontriji using quickpwn.....
u succumbed to it eh bro? how is it going for you? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sudhirian: Sep 18 2008, 12:48 AM
Suk
post Sep 18 2008, 02:06 AM

2,330 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Sep 18 2008, 12:15 AM)
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:31 AM)
NO.
No, It haven't out ?
or
No, It's out ?
iPhone2008
post Sep 18 2008, 02:14 AM

92 posts

@ Suk

not out yet.

hence the TT today (as seen in the picture thread) was to pwn three phones to 2.1 using my macbook.
JasLyn
post Sep 18 2008, 10:38 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

Ohhh... im dreaming of winpwnnnnn.... christmas... , eh, raya dulu kekeke....
Lurker
post Sep 18 2008, 10:43 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

having some issues with both steps in the 1st post guide
on 2.01 now..looking to go 2.1

Added on September 18, 2008, 10:45 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by Lurker: Sep 18 2008, 10:45 AM
iPhone2008
post Sep 18 2008, 12:21 PM

92 posts

@ JasLyn

find a friend with a mac. using mac to pwn is wayyyy easier...
ff8ong
post Sep 18 2008, 01:37 PM

2,550 posts

@iphone2008

I totally agree with you,it is way easier than winpwn
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 18 2008, 02:25 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:21 PM)
@ JasLyn

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 18 2008, 01:37 PM)
@iphone2008

I totally agree with you,it is way easier than winpwn
Strongly agreeing with you guys and error free. No errors like error 6, 1602 etc.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 18 2008, 02:27 PM
Suk
post Sep 18 2008, 04:25 PM

2,330 posts

i am waiting for the new FW2.1 for window to released...

haaha.... fw2.1 can improve battery life... haha
cill
post Sep 18 2008, 05:12 PM

102 posts

at least as far as I m concerned, my battery does not being better, but worst. Not to ridicule Apple or others experience, but just expect some abnormality may happens wink.gif
ridd
post Sep 18 2008, 11:30 PM

44 posts

@ JasLyn

that's good to know, i guess lucky for me..im a mac user! and soon to be iphone user as well..haha less than 24 hrs! apple for life!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cill @ Sep 18 2008, 05:12 PM)
at least as far as I m concerned, my battery does not being better, but worst. Not to ridicule Apple or others experience, but just expect some abnormality may happens wink.gif
thanx for the heads up. i guess with every gadget there are drawbacks. However, Apple products are one of kind! using a mac now and totally changed my preception towards Apple after using windows for more than 10+ yrs! brows.gif go Steve Jobs! thumbup.gif

ridd.
Corvinux
post Sep 18 2008, 11:42 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

\Cmw

cmw is currently bz now so winpwn has to wait...who cmw? google it laugh.gif
will keep u guys posted when winpwn 3.0 is out for 2.1 firmware..no worries
if less patience then find friends who has mac or on mac OX (sifu gengstapo notworthy.gif )
download pwnage and use it smile.gif

to the rest of the LYN iphone thread members:

Olaaaa!! sorry been bz too..jes like cmw hehe hows things for u guys?

gengstapo
post Sep 18 2008, 11:47 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Sep 18 2008, 11:42 PM)
if less patience then find friends who has mac or on mac OX (sifu gengstapo  notworthy.gif )
download pwnage and use it smile.gif
aikk sifu lagii?
mana ada, newbie here
plss help me, i got probs with pwnage tool laugh.gif

ps: heh, gonna update my hackintosh into retail 10.6, i found the sources already.. free 10.6 FTW

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Sep 18 2008, 11:47 PM
Corvinux
post Sep 19 2008, 12:06 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 18 2008, 11:47 PM)
aikk sifu lagii?
mana ada, newbie here
plss help me, i got probs with pwnage tool laugh.gif

ps: heh, gonna update my hackintosh into retail 10.6, i found the sources already.. free 10.6 FTW
sifu!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif brows.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:10 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@genstapo..

MAC SIFU.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
gengstapo
post Sep 19 2008, 12:10 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Sep 19 2008, 12:06 AM)
sifu!!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif  brows.gif
hopefully can install
kinda stuck coz the files very large
need to get dual-layer dvd.. sigh doh.gif doh.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:13 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

You're using beta OSX 10.6 i reckon..should be fun. But things might not work well.
gengstapo
post Sep 19 2008, 12:17 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 19 2008, 12:13 AM)
You're using beta OSX 10.6 i reckon..should be fun. But things might not work well.
hmm i think so, coz its aint release for public yet kan?
the file was 6.5gb.. sweat.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:20 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Yup..Mac OS installation are that size. Same goes to OSX 10.5 unless you downloaded the 4GB version.
Cikabu
post Sep 19 2008, 12:21 AM

for official unlock 2.1, I think better use quickpwn. Faster and easy.
gengstapo
post Sep 19 2008, 12:22 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 19 2008, 12:20 AM)
Yup..Mac OS installation are that size. Same goes to OSX 10.5 unless you downloaded the 4GB version.
ahh ic ic
thanks for the info bro..

QUOTE(Cikabu @ Sep 19 2008, 12:21 AM)
i prefer pwnage tool..
forever
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:25 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 19 2008, 12:22 AM)
ahh ic ic
thanks for the info bro..
i prefer pwnage tool..
forever
same here..Pwnagetool Rock Solid!!!

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 12:25 AM
Cikabu
post Sep 19 2008, 12:33 AM

for 2g better go pwangetool but for 3g nothing wrong with quickpwn bcos after pwn u don't need to restore to custom firmware and is good for newbie.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:37 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Yup..all good. Mac Quickpwn is good for 3G iphones.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 01:03 AM
euro_R
post Sep 19 2008, 02:02 AM

QUOTE(Cikabu @ Sep 19 2008, 12:21 AM)
the easiest and quickest is to download a customised, ie, unlocked ipsw file. click shift + restore, and you're done. that's how i updated my 2G from 1.1.4 to 2.1 directly..... rclxms.gif
JasLyn
post Sep 19 2008, 08:58 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

@ JasLyn
Ekekekek... today is d day!! im goin to the architect's office nextdoor just to get pwn.. watchout 2.1... here i come!! (Pssstttt... bos dorang outstation hehehe)
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 09:52 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Just some info to take notice: iPhone Safe Mode

Taken from the net.

Today I was installing a few things through Cydia and all of a sudden my iPhone restarted. That in itself is not too weird but when my iPhone rebooted it booted into “Safe Mode.” I had never seen this before. I got a pop-up warning that said,

Mobile Substrate Safe Mode. We apologize for the inconvenience, but SpringBoard has just crashed. A recent software installation, upgrade, or removal might have been the cause of this. Your device is now running in Safe Mode. All extensions that support this safety system are disabled. Reboot (or restart SpringBoard) to return to normal mode.”

frozzbyte
post Sep 19 2008, 10:18 AM

3,657 posts

@davidgary
Hahahaha ... I encountered that last night when investigating why I cant delete webclips. Seems like Mobile Substrate (a framework) that enable us to use 5 icons dock is the culprit. I hope saurik will address this issue quickly.

Added on September 19, 2008, 10:21 amBTW ... I'm loving every bit of my pwned fw2.1 and I can see a difference (system wise) pwning the phone using a Mac compared to a PC.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Sep 19 2008, 10:21 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 10:26 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@frozzbyte

LOL..you have the frist hand encounter..nice. Macam windows safe mode kan.

We shall talk more on your findings.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 10:38 AM
iPhone2008
post Sep 19 2008, 10:28 AM

92 posts

@ davidgary73

ala... frozzbtye memang sudah gonna be a mac convert pretty soon. he is just preparing himself mentally.
frozzbyte
post Sep 19 2008, 10:43 AM

3,657 posts

@davidgary
Mmm ... in a sense its not like the windows safe mode. Its more to disabling the mobile substrate and the components that depends on it. Other functions work like normal.

Cydia no more appends random characters when moving some files to /var/stash folder. And most of the file owner and group properties are correct. Well this is expected as iPhone is based on Mac OS and pwnage is on Mac OS also. WinPwn might have some difficulties as the the HFS is not a well documented file system.

sudhirian
post Sep 19 2008, 11:00 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(iPhone2008 @ Sep 18 2008, 02:14 AM)
@ Suk

not out yet.

hence the TT today (as seen in the picture thread) was to pwn three phones to 2.1 using my macbook.
when is the next TT?
anytime before raya next weekend?
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 11:06 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@frozzbyte

Is good that Apple had the safe mode implemented but is surprising to see that message..lol. Still a good move by apple.

I do notice that Cydia works very much better on fw 2.1 than fw 2.0.1 now judging by what you have mentioned on the owner and group properties.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 11:06 AM
jaychow
post Sep 19 2008, 11:09 AM

111 posts

I have an unlocked iphone 2G with JB FW2.0. QuickPwn looks like can do a quick job but will it keep my phone unlock? Or its better I use Pawnage Tool instead? Thanks.
sudhirian
post Sep 19 2008, 11:22 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Sep 19 2008, 11:09 AM)
I have an unlocked iphone 2G with JB FW2.0. QuickPwn looks like can do a quick job but will it keep my phone unlock? Or its better I use Pawnage Tool instead? Thanks.
If you already have it unlocked and u managed to restore it to the fw 2.0 and its still unlocked, then it shouldn't be a prob to restore or upgrade to fw 2.1 and it will still be unlocked. quickpwn for the fw 2.1 isnt out yet read the 1st post on this thread, so better use pwnage tool wit a mac.
hope this helps.
jaychow
post Sep 19 2008, 11:33 AM

111 posts

I saw the iclarified quikpwn with fw2.1, its out right?? Not sure of the phone's history as when I bought it it came with fw2.0, hence my question. Guess pawnagetools will be a safer bet then?
frozzbyte
post Sep 19 2008, 12:20 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 19 2008, 11:06 AM)
@frozzbyte

Is good that Apple had the safe mode implemented but is surprising to see that message..lol. Still a good move by apple.

I do notice that Cydia works very much better on fw 2.1 than fw 2.0.1 now judging by what you have mentioned on the owner and group properties.
@davidgary
U got it wrong there man ... the safe mode is not a feature of the iPhone or from Apple itself. Its from Saurik's Mobile Substrate framework. That framework use to hook some functions to the springboard without any harm to the system files hence the safe mode mechanism.
euro_R
post Sep 19 2008, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(jaychow @ Sep 19 2008, 11:33 AM)
I saw the iclarified quikpwn with fw2.1, its out right?? Not sure of the phone's history as when I bought it it came with fw2.0, hence my question. Guess pawnagetools will be a safer bet then?
the safest bet to have an unlocked + JB 2G iphone is to restore from a custom ipsw.

check this thread from hwz:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2091706

the threadstarter has a couple of links to custom ipsw. just download the one that suits u, and use itunes (click "shift" on keyboard + restore button) and choose the custom ipsw u downloaded. my 2G iphone is running fine on the custom ipsw which i used itunes to restore from version 1.1.4. no need to use quikpwn / winpwn at all.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 12:32 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 19 2008, 12:20 PM)
@davidgary
U got it wrong there man ... the safe mode is not a feature of the iPhone or from Apple itself. Its from Saurik's Mobile Substrate framework. That framework use to hook some functions to the springboard without any harm to the system files hence the safe mode mechanism.
Ahhh..cool. My bad..See, you're the master. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif I still got alot to learn. Thank you for the correction bro.

Found out that is Winterboard pasal.

"Some of you may experience some issues after updating Cydia and installing or de-installing applications. The error you may see is Mobile Substrate Safe Mode. According to Saurik it has to do with Winterboard and the update of Mobile Substrate in Cydia. This was needed to get many applications compatible with firmware 2.1".

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 01:54 PM
sudhirian
post Sep 19 2008, 02:33 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 19 2008, 12:32 PM)
Ahhh..cool. My bad..See, you're the master.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  I still got alot to learn. Thank you for the correction bro.

Found out that is Winterboard pasal.

"Some of you may experience some issues after updating Cydia and installing or de-installing applications. The error you may see is Mobile Substrate Safe Mode. According to Saurik it has to do with Winterboard and the update of Mobile Substrate in Cydia. This was needed to get many applications compatible with firmware 2.1".
so then how? many JB apps are not compatible wtih the new Cydia or the winterboard?
nghoongen
post Sep 19 2008, 03:01 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(euro_R @ Sep 19 2008, 01:22 PM)
the safest bet to have an unlocked + JB 2G iphone is to restore from a custom ipsw. 

check this thread from hwz:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2091706

the threadstarter has a couple of links to custom ipsw.  just download the one that suits u, and use itunes (click "shift" on keyboard + restore button) and choose the custom ipsw u downloaded.  my 2G iphone is running fine on the custom ipsw which i used itunes to restore from version 1.1.4.  no need to use quikpwn / winpwn at all.
really or not. just notice that u joined LYN today. tongue.gif
euro_R
post Sep 19 2008, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(nghoongen @ Sep 19 2008, 03:01 PM)
really or not. just notice that u joined LYN today.  tongue.gif
.... tongue.gif ......

i have to start somewhere right..... wink.gif
SUSMike3300
post Sep 19 2008, 06:29 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 19 2008, 09:52 AM)
Just some info to take notice: iPhone Safe Mode

Taken from the net.

Today I was installing a few things through Cydia and all of a sudden my iPhone restarted. That in itself is not too weird but when my iPhone rebooted it booted into “Safe Mode.” I had never seen this before. I got a pop-up warning that said,

Mobile Substrate Safe Mode. We apologize for the inconvenience, but SpringBoard has just crashed. A recent software installation, upgrade, or removal might have been the cause of this. Your device is now running in Safe Mode. All extensions that support this safety system are disabled. Reboot (or restart SpringBoard) to return to normal mode.”

Is this a part of 2.0? Looks just like when a Mac needs to reboot. tongue.gif
iPhone2008
post Sep 19 2008, 07:07 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(euro_R @ Sep 19 2008, 06:06 PM)
....  tongue.gif ......

i have to start somewhere right.....  wink.gif
yes, that is very true. just like me!
ff8ong
post Sep 19 2008, 07:33 PM

2,550 posts

I sure you are nokia2003,but the only thing I don't know is why you change your login ID
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 19 2008, 07:52 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@ff80ng
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/678610/+2100#entry19906061

Poor rabbit.

Nokia2003 will be back today.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 19 2008, 07:54 PM
nokia2003
post Sep 19 2008, 11:15 PM

5,786 posts

hi ff8ong

i am back!

*to the soundtrack of terminator*

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 19 2008, 11:17 PM
ff8ong
post Sep 20 2008, 12:04 AM

2,550 posts

good to hear that!you on 2.1 too?
nokia2003
post Sep 20 2008, 12:12 AM

5,786 posts

@ ff8ong

i am using an official unlocked aifontrigi now. so what do you think? =)
IpohBoY
post Sep 20 2008, 01:03 AM

722 posts

Need help here. I have upgraded to 2.1 but still cant be used and prompted to instead an unlocked and valid SIM card instead. What shall I do?
baretta
post Sep 20 2008, 03:58 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Sep 20 2008, 01:03 AM)
Need help here. I have upgraded to 2.1 but still cant be used and prompted to instead an unlocked and valid SIM card instead. What shall I do?
More detail plzz, aifontriji ? From ? Using sim.....simmm .....simmmmmm ?

setoyo
post Sep 20 2008, 04:54 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Hai there..
I think the Winpwn Version already out.. flex.gif
From The unofficial, official blog of the "iphone-dev team"
Cool eh.. Almost wanna buy macbook..

Windows QuickPwn 2.1
Description:
Supports 2.1 firmware with the unlocking and jailbreaking of iPhone 1st generation (2G) device.
Supports the jailbreaking of iPod Touch 1st generation device and iPhone 3G.
Does not support the unlocking of iPhone 3G or jailbreaking of second generation (n72ap based) iPod Touch.

Download Here

This version only support firmware version 2.1/2.0.2 and 2.0.1
Any more wanna try it first? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by setoyo: Sep 20 2008, 05:43 AM
harmeet15
post Sep 20 2008, 05:19 AM

2,729 posts

huston, we are goin in...fire in da hole...incoming...
getting the win quickpwn now

Added on September 20, 2008, 5:38 amdone
5mins jobs
seem all good:)

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Sep 20 2008, 05:38 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 20 2008, 10:36 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Sep 20 2008, 04:54 AM)
Hai there..
I think the Winpwn Version already out.. flex.gif
From The unofficial, official blog of the "iphone-dev team"
Cool eh.. Almost wanna buy macbook..

Windows QuickPwn 2.1
Description:
Supports 2.1 firmware with the unlocking and jailbreaking of iPhone 1st generation (2G) device.
Supports the jailbreaking of iPod Touch 1st generation device and iPhone 3G.
Does not support the unlocking of iPhone 3G or jailbreaking of second generation (n72ap based) iPod Touch.

Download Here

This version only support firmware version 2.1/2.0.2 and 2.0.1
Any more wanna try it first? whistling.gif
Thank you for the updates mate. Updated first post with more download links. This is the official quickpwn (not Winpwn) and as harmeet has proven that it works. Have fun Pwning.

Cheers

setoyo
post Sep 20 2008, 11:18 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

@davidgary73
add this up for
Window QuickPwn 2.1 (Tutorial)
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1881

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 20 2008, 11:24 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@setoyo

Sure mate. I saw that link earlier but am waiting for a 2G tutorial from them.

Anyway, is the rapidshare your link?
setoyo
post Sep 20 2008, 11:30 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Thanks davidgary73 rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by setoyo: Sep 20 2008, 11:40 AM
twinkles
post Sep 20 2008, 11:31 AM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

@setoyo
@davidgary73

Thanks dude smile.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 20 2008, 11:38 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@setoyo

Nah..it's fine. I'm gonna put your link up on first post. Good work.

Cheers
jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 12:39 PM

1,361 posts

tempting.. cannot tahan.. gonna try JB my phone..

but, if i jailbreak my phone, all those apps that i bought, will they get deleted after jailbreaking? or still remain?
chlai
post Sep 20 2008, 03:43 PM

42 posts

hi bro. i got few question, jz need advise
wat is the different between QuickPwn & Win Pwn??
i using 3Giphone fw2.0.2 with windows pc tempting to ugrade to fw2.1.
to upgrade to fw2.1 must have itune 8.0, rite?
but i wana to upgrade my 1st gen iphone (fw 1.1.4) soon, according to davidgary73 in other post saying tat 1st iphone better jz upgrade to fw2.0.1 only. can itune 8.0 can itune 8.0 can do upgrade for tis??
thx
Shock
post Sep 20 2008, 04:16 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 20 2008, 12:39 PM)
tempting.. cannot tahan.. gonna try JB my phone..

but, if i jailbreak my phone, all those apps that i bought, will they get deleted after jailbreaking? or still remain?
As long u never delete from itunes and backup hand b4 JB, the apps will be there back.
jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 04:17 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Shock @ Sep 20 2008, 04:16 PM)
As long u never delete from itunes and backup hand b4 JB, the apps will be there back.
roger.. testing now.. half way restoring to the default 2.1 fw now..
crystal_kit85
post Sep 20 2008, 04:23 PM

1,902 posts

In IClarified step 8, there's this replace boot logos, do i need to check it for bootloader 3.9 and 4.6? I am using Iphone 2G (1st Gen)
Corvinux
post Sep 20 2008, 04:25 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

"search for the truth..once you found the truth, it would set you free" nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by Corvinux: Sep 20 2008, 04:26 PM
setoyo
post Sep 20 2008, 04:37 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

It took me 5 minutes... for jailbreak...
research...research...
crystal_kit85
post Sep 20 2008, 04:38 PM

1,902 posts

Alright i have found the answer for the bootloader, Sry for posting a question where the answer is being made available on Page 1.
psyeo
post Sep 20 2008, 04:44 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(chlai @ Sep 20 2008, 07:43 PM)
hi bro. i got few question, jz need advise
wat is the different between QuickPwn & Win Pwn??
i using 3Giphone fw2.0.2 with windows pc tempting to ugrade to fw2.1.
to upgrade to fw2.1 must have itune 8.0, rite?
but i wana to upgrade my 1st gen iphone (fw 1.1.4) soon, according to davidgary73  in other post saying tat 1st iphone better jz upgrade to fw2.0.1 only. can itune 8.0 can itune 8.0 can do upgrade for tis??
thx
hooray for another person who only have a song/tune in their 'itune 8.0'

i love my iTunes 8.0, at least it got more than 1 song/tune laugh.gif

read my iPhone sig for tips on ur Q biggrin.gif

Corvinux
post Sep 20 2008, 04:50 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Sep 20 2008, 04:37 PM)
It took me 5 minutes... for jailbreak...
research...research...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
I never knew JB took about 5 minutes to do it!! Ure the MAN!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Im gonna nominate you as the THE IPHONE EXPERTS OF LYN!! nod.gif nod.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Finally we have an IPHONE Expert in this Forum!! Wooohooooo!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 05:17 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Sep 20 2008, 04:50 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I never knew JB took about 5 minutes to do it!! Ure the MAN!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Im gonna nominate you as the THE IPHONE EXPERTS OF LYN!!  nod.gif  nod.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Finally we have an IPHONE Expert in this Forum!! Wooohooooo!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
u trying to be sarcastic ?
harmeet15
post Sep 20 2008, 05:20 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Sep 20 2008, 04:50 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I never knew JB took about 5 minutes to do it!! Ure the MAN!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Im gonna nominate you as the THE IPHONE EXPERTS OF LYN!!  nod.gif  nod.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Finally we have an IPHONE Expert in this Forum!! Wooohooooo!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
seriously bro...
i tink it was nt even more than 5 for me
firmware i had, download quickpwn, nt more than 3 mins, run, firmware, select packages, DFU, boom...siap...

btw corvinux, now no more scared 2 mess arnd with ma baby...tongue.gif
setoyo
post Sep 20 2008, 05:24 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 20 2008, 11:24 AM)
@setoyo

Sure mate. I saw that link earlier but am waiting for a 2G tutorial from them.

Anyway, is the rapidshare your link?
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 20 2008, 05:20 PM)
seriously bro...
firmware i had, download quickpwn, nt more than 3 mins, run, firmware, select packages, DFU, boom...siap...

Yup.. correct... nod.gif nod.gif
No expert lor... Being research mar..
maybe this version suitable for us.. No more Fuzzy clik here and there...
Corvinux
post Sep 20 2008, 05:35 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 20 2008, 05:20 PM)
seriously bro...

heheh good for u bro smile.gif
so when are we gonna have the next TT?
the makan2 has to be at Chillies la since SeaEdge kempunan already the other day cant eat there..

hows ya cousin's phone now?
harmeet15
post Sep 20 2008, 06:28 PM

2,729 posts

da phone is working fine..
got da sim tray fixed..
n then managed 2 upgrade to 2.1 aso..
using a better version of turbosim...very very thin...
oni thing when sync, itunes detects da foreign sim n gives an error...
but tat prob aso nt a big prob..smile.gif

next TT, lepas raya la ni..
mana mana boleh la bang...smile.gif
ur work load less d by now?
jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 06:47 PM

1,361 posts

just jb my iphone.. but now i cant install some apps... will get the error msg n ask again.

screenshot of error msg:

This post has been edited by jakesean: Sep 20 2008, 06:50 PM
harmeet15
post Sep 20 2008, 07:02 PM

2,729 posts

wat error msg la bro?
Screenshot mana?

jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 07:22 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 20 2008, 07:02 PM)
wat error msg la bro?
Screenshot mana?
there liao.. check spoiler..

i tried googling the error msg.. tried the solutions but it wont work.. so im doing a clean restoore this time.. hopefully something amazing works out ..
c_calvin
post Sep 20 2008, 07:52 PM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 20 2008, 07:22 PM)
there liao.. check spoiler..

i tried googling the error msg.. tried the solutions but it wont work.. so im doing a clean restoore this time.. hopefully something amazing works out ..
maybe you can try to resync it again
it worked for me
this prb happened to me when i install many apps together.

This post has been edited by c_calvin: Sep 20 2008, 07:53 PM
jakesean
post Sep 20 2008, 08:31 PM

1,361 posts

i restored the whole thing again... working good now..
catsper
post Sep 20 2008, 09:41 PM

1,241 posts

Just upgraded my 2G FW2.0.1 to 2.1 using Quickpwn(Windows). Some issues but not serious..

My phone was locked after upgrade even though I pwned using PwnageTool last time. In the end, unlock and jailbreak again via Quickpwn.
Restore failed as it stated restore file does not compatible with current firmware. Then I set up as new phone instead. Resync everything now....

Finger crossed........
feizaiII
post Sep 20 2008, 10:17 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Waiting for Winpwn 3.0 .....................................
spicyfooty
post Sep 20 2008, 11:23 PM

359 posts

hi guys i used Windows QuickPwn 2.1 to pawn my 2G Iphone 2.1FW.

In QuickPwn, I did checked on "Unlock Iphone". It goes without a hitch, but my sim is locked now!

What should I do? Help/////

hahaha nvm my sim is locked with my own password duh!! 2.1 SUCCESS!!!!!!

This post has been edited by spicyfooty: Sep 20 2008, 11:33 PM
Acquiesce
post Sep 21 2008, 12:18 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Sep 20 2008, 11:23 PM)
hi guys i used Windows QuickPwn 2.1 to pawn my 2G Iphone 2.1FW.

In QuickPwn, I did checked on "Unlock Iphone". It goes without a hitch, but my sim is locked now!

What should I do? Help/////
hahaha nvm my sim is locked with my own password duh!! 2.1 SUCCESS!!!!!!
hehe

oki'm going in! flex.gif
spicyfooty
post Sep 21 2008, 12:32 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Acquiesce @ Sep 21 2008, 12:18 AM)
hehe

oki'm going in!  flex.gif
Come come all are welcomed to embrace 2.1 ! But gonna miss my wiki2touch on 1.1.4 unsure.gif
crystal_kit85
post Sep 21 2008, 01:32 AM

1,902 posts

I got my 1st Gen Iphone upgraded to 2.1fw as well, it took me a whooping 25mins for everything. The Iphone itself is yet to be tested for phone calls and sms, but i am sure it would be fine, just did a backup restoration. Thx alot for those that have contributed to our success. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by crystal_kit85: Sep 21 2008, 01:33 AM
kokpwai
post Sep 21 2008, 12:05 PM

-deleted-

This post has been edited by kokpwai: Sep 21 2008, 12:05 PM
Acquiesce
post Sep 21 2008, 12:07 PM

355 posts

seriously! 5 minutes 9-tim! icon_idea.gif

testing it right now. thumbup.gif
kelvin_tan
post Sep 21 2008, 01:35 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

i still dont get it.. quickpwn is discouraged because of potential problems? so its better to wait for winpwn3.0 for those who want a safe method?
psychopersonified
post Sep 21 2008, 02:43 PM

18 posts

Proclamation: "Suc-cesssssss.....!!! My greatest creation!!! " in an oddly Dexteresque voice.....

2G, 3 week old owner, how much more of a newbie could u get? 2.0.1 -> 2.1, so far so good. *cross fingers*
iClarified tutorial rocks! TQ Nokia 2003, davidgary for d links n warnings.

"Muaha...muahaha..muahahahahahahahaahaha!!!!" *evil laughter* The thunder n lightning u hear in KL right now? That's M.E.

*evil laughter fade out*

nokia2003
post Sep 21 2008, 02:48 PM

5,786 posts

may day may day

special tag alert! special tag alert!
Corvinux
post Sep 21 2008, 03:34 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(psychopersonified @ Sep 21 2008, 02:43 PM)
Proclamation:  "Suc-cesssssss.....!!! My greatest creation!!! " in an oddly Dexteresque voice.....

2G, 3 week old owner, how much more of a newbie could u get?  2.0.1 -> 2.1, so far so good. *cross fingers*

"Muaha...muahaha..muahahahahahahahaahaha!!!!" *evil laughter* The thunder n lightning u hear in KL right now? That's M.E.

*evil laughter fade out*
shocking.gif sweat.gif icon_question.gif sweat.gif
samlee860407
post Sep 21 2008, 05:04 PM

4,631 posts

just JB my iphone3g, but failed to sync all my application due to unknown error sad.gif sad.gif

try a few steps from http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1702 but still failed :S

now trying to restore then jailbreak again..... =.='

PS: my itunes there show that my iphone got 2.28GB of others file, dont knw what is those

PPS: after read back 1 page, saw jakesean also same prob...hope restore will also works for me too

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Sep 21 2008, 05:06 PM
nokia2003
post Sep 21 2008, 05:19 PM

5,786 posts

frankly speaking, you guys (you know whom am i referring to) ought to be embarrassed of yourself.

a gal who has barely used an iphone for less than a fortnight is able to figure everything out without having to ask a single question or even opening a new thread.

enough said!
nokia2003
post Sep 21 2008, 05:20 PM

5,786 posts

mann, i just have rub this fact to your faces! it is a must!
Acquiesce
post Sep 21 2008, 05:22 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 21 2008, 05:20 PM)
mann, i just have rub this fact to your faces! it is a must!
HAHAAH and you have to do in 2 separate posts!~ thumbup.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 21 2008, 05:35 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@nokia

Good one there...hahahhaha..a gal can do it so well without any errors, Brovo psychopersonified. It shows that some do read and make sure they know what they are doing while some just comes here and don't even bother to look at the threads. Some are just pure freaking LAZY and don't take the initiative to even read or search the thread for answers. Sad..but TRUE.

There's a new trend in the forum if you notice...Noobs r very good in opening redundant new threads as they don't like to search for the answers while most answers can be found in the forum here. It's amazing how a gal like psychopersonified can find answers while the rest cannot. That tells you something doesn't it. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

AND spoonfeeding is also a trend here in this forum here. Well, we have ppl to spoonfeed them. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Why do we need the search button and "please read me" thread? For deco????? ...hahhahaha..

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 21 2008, 05:57 PM
samlee860407
post Sep 21 2008, 05:51 PM

4,631 posts

finally after restrore and re JB can sync apps d....hehe
psychopersonified
post Sep 21 2008, 06:01 PM

18 posts

*buffing fingernailz* "Uhh hmm." Girl power!

That said, I do have to say in defense of the newbies, it was confusing to figure out WHICH to use (Pwnage Tool, Quickpwn, etc.) but with a little googling (MacRumours Forums) and some consultation with Nokia2003, and I got d answer.

Beyond that the iClarified tutorial is amazingly simple to follow (TQ again for d link davidgary). As long as you read it to completion beforehand so u dun get a nasty surprise (press what? release wat? how long?? *panic!*). Brings me back to school days. "Read n understand question before u answer!"

Btw, correction: Had the phone for TWO weeks. Okok, enuff before my ego gets too big for my own good. cool2.gif tongue.gif

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 21 2008, 06:14 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(psychopersonified @ Sep 21 2008, 06:01 PM)

That said, I do have to say in defense of the newbies, it was confusing to figure out WHICH to use (Pwnage Tool, Quickpwn, etc.) but with a little googling (MacRumours Forums) and some consultation with Nokia2003, and I got d answer.

Beyond that the iClarified tutorial is amazingly simple to follow (TQ again for d link davidgary). As long as you read it to completion beforehand so u dun get a nasty surprise (press what? release wat? how long?? *panic!*). Brings me back to school days. "Read n understand question before u answer!"

Btw, correction: Had the phone for TWO weeks. Okok, enuff before my ego gets too big for my own good.  cool2.gif  tongue.gif
You're a very brave gal to do this own your own. Very impressive i must say. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I do have Mac section and Windows section for JB the iPhone on the first post. That should not oppose any problems at all. If you're Windows user, just search for your tools as how a mac user would do too. Very simple and easy.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif but you did more than that by looking for more info via google. Very very good. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Indeed, iClarified is simple and straightforward to understand. Some just don't bother to read it properly or even google.

Again, very well done there and welcome to Fw 2.1

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 21 2008, 06:16 PM
Corvinux
post Sep 21 2008, 06:36 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(psychopersonified @ Sep 21 2008, 06:01 PM)

Btw, correction: Had the phone for TWO weeks. Okok, enuff before my ego gets too big for my own good.  cool2.gif  tongue.gif
thumbs up there Girl Power...im more of a flower power type of guy laugh.gif

Anyway i do very much agreed with bro DavidGary on this issue as well as nokia2003...
things are way easier to find nowadays unlike the earlier version before...i remembered it took me the whole night to read
thro iphone club version 6 to identify if its the best phone for me..and i never regret of reading it! and it took awhile to understand
clearly with all the terminologies..again thanks to all the sifu's ere. I guessed ppl dont bothered to read nor to search. They expect
things like the movie Matrix - jes download everything inside the brain and wallah! u know what to do even to fly helicopter!

This world aint matrix...nor justice nor fair....but we still have to live in it! So while living in it, make it a better world for you and
others as well. Help yourself before you call for help. Help yourself by searching for the right answer but beforehand please make
sure you have the right question. How to know its right...its simple..just READ! smile.gif

This is my 50cents errr i mean my 2cents and not meant to flame nor to judge people..remember im the FLOWER POWER type of guy!
So love is all around people...lets get hiiiiigggghhhhhh smile.gif

p/s special tribute to all who contribute in this forum & worldwide, dev development, winpwn team(cmw & others), hackintosh,
iclarified, modmyiphone, bosspref group, Saurikk(cool winterboard) and more others i didnt mentioned name..you guys deserved
a notworthy.gif notworthy.gif & thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

wub.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
kelvin_tan
post Sep 22 2008, 01:14 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 21 2008, 05:19 PM)
frankly speaking, you guys (you know whom am i referring to) ought to be embarrassed of yourself.

a gal who has barely used an iphone for less than a fortnight is able to figure everything out without having to ask a single question or even opening a new thread.

enough said!
I do not know if this is directed to me as i was asking a question in earlier post. However the thread exist for discussion on the iPhone. I'm just wishing for more clarifications thats all. It wouldn't hurt to just provide a simple answer or just ignore the post.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 22 2008, 01:20 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@kelvin

He's not directing on you mate. If you can see what's happening in the forum, noobs are not making effort to read up like psychopersonified. That kinda reflects on how lazy some ppl are.

So no worries mate..it has nothing to do with you.

cheers
nokia2003
post Sep 22 2008, 01:28 AM

5,786 posts

@ kelvin_tan

nope, it is not about you. don't have to take it to the heart. davidgary73 knows me well personally and you can take his word.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 22 2008, 01:30 AM
korn
post Sep 22 2008, 01:36 AM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

haha, so much drama in this iPhone sub-forum tongue.gif

BTW, opening new topic will mess up the sub-forum doh.gif and ppl more rclxub.gif

yeah, i know regular poster here thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by korn: Sep 22 2008, 01:37 AM
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 22 2008, 03:34 AM

184 posts

@@..hey psychopersonified..wanna be my girl? haha..i like it sume gals with guts..lol..wat the hell im merepek..happy sahur guys..~!
Suk
post Sep 22 2008, 03:52 AM

2,330 posts

using FW2.1 now.... now need to restore all the files and ringtone and everything... 80% of the files need to re-do again
JasLyn
post Sep 22 2008, 08:46 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

Proclamation:  "Suc-cesssssss.....!!! My greatest creation!!! " in an oddly Dexteresque voice.....

2G, 3 week old owner, how much more of a newbie could u get?  2.0.1 -> 2.1, so far so good. *cross fingers*

*evil laughter fade out*
*LoL* GurL with big balls!! RocKaFelLa!! icon_rolleyes.gif

P/S: MODE Change Alert icon_idea.gif
kelvin_tan
post Sep 22 2008, 10:36 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

I have looked at potential problems using quickpwn but been unable to find those that use this latest quickpwn problems.. i have downloaded all the necessary files for a firmware upgrade but holding back because i wanna identify thiss "potential problems issue" ><

Added on September 22, 2008, 10:37 am@nokia2003
my apologies =)

This post has been edited by kelvin_tan: Sep 22 2008, 10:37 AM
jaychow
post Sep 22 2008, 12:27 PM

111 posts

Just ran pwnagetools upgrade 2.0 to 2.1 over the weekend, very easy following the iclarified tutorial. Had a minor panic attack during the iphone shutdown/DFU mode steps where my phone hunged with error message. Unplugged the phone and repeat the shutdown process correctly, works like a charm.

This post has been edited by jaychow: Sep 22 2008, 12:27 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 22 2008, 12:56 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Sep 22 2008, 12:27 PM)
Just ran pwnagetools upgrade 2.0 to 2.1 over the weekend, very easy following the iclarified tutorial. Had a minor panic attack during the iphone shutdown/DFU mode steps where my phone hunged with error message. Unplugged the phone and repeat the shutdown process correctly, works like a charm.
Very well done mate. Nothing if difficult if we follow the guide carefully do lot's of read up.

Welcome to Fw 2.1.

Cheers
enemysaxon
post Sep 22 2008, 01:06 PM

180 posts

*evil laughter fade out*
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

scary

LOL
psychopersonified
post Sep 22 2008, 02:00 PM

18 posts

@enemysaxon

Be thankful I have not yet discovered this forum when I changed my iPod mini's battery with the DIY kit.......that was EPIC!
Madwoman weilding a hairdryer, screwdriver, tweezers, pry open tool......and an impressive foul mouth.

Be afraid. Be very afraid.... *Evil echoing laughter*

Other than that I'm a very nice person. ;D
nokia2003
post Sep 22 2008, 02:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(psychopersonified @ Sep 22 2008, 02:00 PM)
@enemysaxon

Be thankful I have not yet discovered this forum when I changed my iPod mini's battery with the DIY kit.......that was EPIC!
Madwoman weilding a hairdryer, screwdriver, tweezers, pry open tool......and an impressive foul mouth.

Be afraid. Be very afraid.... *Evil echoing laughter*

Other than that I'm a very nice person.  ;D
i do have some reservations regarding the underlined statement... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 22 2008, 05:22 PM

184 posts

@nokia2003

oi oi..wat are u reserving for ...haha
rip_code
post Sep 22 2008, 11:52 PM

1,972 posts

Hi, it's been a long time since I mod my 2G iPhone.
When I came here, I saw about new firmware 2.1 can be loaded into 2G.
Now, I am using 1.1.4 firmware with v3.9 baseband.
May I directly upgrade to v2.1? How about the baseband, should I select both v3.9 and v4.6 in the quickpawn? I am downloading all the tools now for Windows based. Might do it by tonight. thanks
catsper
post Sep 23 2008, 12:03 AM

1,241 posts

Select both BL.bin to load in Quickpwn. It will automatically set to appropriate BL according to the firmware.
rip_code
post Sep 23 2008, 12:10 AM

1,972 posts

Thanks. how bout the Unlock Phone option? Should I tick it since my current 1.1.4 is already unlocked?
samlee860407
post Sep 23 2008, 12:16 AM

4,631 posts

no dont tick it
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 23 2008, 12:19 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@sam

Alot don't follow guide given don't they. What's wrong with the world these days.
gengstapo
post Sep 23 2008, 12:22 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 23 2008, 12:19 AM)
@sam

Alot don't follow guide given don't they. What's wrong with the world these days.
sp0onfeed forever.. sigh
samlee860407
post Sep 23 2008, 12:23 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 23 2008, 12:19 AM)
@sam

everyday got new people ma...

when i 1st time JB oso sked, so can understand their feelings, but i only feed when i free ,hehe
rip_code
post Sep 23 2008, 12:49 AM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 23 2008, 12:16 AM)
no dont tick it
Hep! I am suppose to tick the unlock phone hmm.gif
Before that, without ticking it, my phone ain't got any signal nod.gif
Biscuit
post Sep 23 2008, 02:32 AM

177 posts

HI guys,

i'm facing some problems with the restoring of 2.1 using the quickpawn guide. Using itunes to restore with the file specified in the guide, it gives me error after extracting the image. Followed Apple help techniques, to restart, re-install, etc etc but they were all the same ..

My bro tried the exact same thing with his iphone and it worked, =,= just not working with my Touch. It's suppose to support my TOUCH .. Do you guys have any other methods for me to try ? ..

Thanks!
gengstapo
post Sep 23 2008, 06:24 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

^dya use the 2.1 iphone firmware on ur TOUCH?
i dont think the firmware bout the same or i might mistaken

as i know, TOUCH 2.1 firmware need to purchase, it might have less or diff. kidna way of workin'

hope got sifu able to help ya

cheer
catsper
post Sep 23 2008, 10:29 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Sep 23 2008, 12:49 AM)
Hep! I am suppose to tick the unlock phone hmm.gif
Before that, without ticking it, my phone ain't got any signal nod.gif
Same goes to me, no signal after upgrade to 2.1 officially. Need to unlock and JB through quickpwn. So I shall assume you have succeed in doing so.
rip_code
post Sep 23 2008, 12:23 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(catsper @ Sep 23 2008, 10:29 AM)
Same goes to me, no signal after upgrade to 2.1 officially. Need to unlock and JB through quickpwn. So I shall assume you have succeed in doing so.
Yeap. Success after 5 minutes struggling and crossed finger on it rclxms.gif
Corvinux
post Sep 23 2008, 08:15 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

today i went to see howru and solved his problem...and thanks bro for closing down the topic smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/797548 <-- problem solved smile.gif

taught him a thing or two on iphone and how to use cydia..he's a happy man now.. smile.gif
thumbs up bro..hope u enjoy your iphone smile.gif

apps used : quickpwn(lates version) window version
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 23 2008, 08:19 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Master Corvinux notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Corvinux
post Sep 23 2008, 08:21 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 23 2008, 08:19 PM)
Master Corvinux  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif now ure making me blush hihihi

nice new sign there Sifu David.. brows.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 23 2008, 08:22 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Hahahha..the new sign is a hint of what's to come..muaahhahahahha
Corvinux
post Sep 23 2008, 08:37 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 23 2008, 08:22 PM)
Hahahha..the new sign is a hint of what's to come..muaahhahahahha
brows.gif brows.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif wub.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 23 2008, 08:39 PM

5,786 posts

am i inivited to see what's all the commotion about? =)
Corvinux
post Sep 23 2008, 08:43 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 23 2008, 08:39 PM)
am i inivited to see what's all the commotion about? =)
brows.gif brows.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif brows.gif brows.gif

whistling.gif
StrayLight
post Sep 23 2008, 09:26 PM

50 posts

Thanks for helping me out over MSN David, however, it seems that nothing was wrong with the Pwning of the phone but instead my wifi network at home! It works perfectly fine at other places but it shows it's connected when I'm home, just that nothing happens. When I open the Weather or Stocks applications, it fails to update, Cydia doesn't download either. I had no problems with my home wifi before upgrading to 2.1. Any clues guys?
nokia2003
post Sep 25 2008, 02:04 AM

5,786 posts

hey guys, apparently winpwn 3 is out and rumour has it that it will unlock all types of iphone 3Gs!

click here!

* disclaimer: nokia2003 cannot be held liable for any mishaps that might arise from this.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 25 2008, 02:08 AM
=Hanxz=
post Sep 25 2008, 02:05 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

confirm suda keluar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

me downloaded edi good stuffs thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by =Hanxz=: Sep 25 2008, 02:18 AM
vailance
post Sep 25 2008, 02:07 AM

wat??
841 posts

anyone tried using quickpwn 2.1 for 2g iphone fw 2.1? scrolling at contact and opening settings abit slow and sometimes lag.. is it the firmware problem?
baretta
post Sep 25 2008, 02:08 AM

1,853 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by baretta: Sep 25 2008, 02:12 AM
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 25 2008, 02:15 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

blush.gif blink.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Sep 25 2008, 02:59 AM
nokia2003
post Sep 25 2008, 02:18 AM

5,786 posts

WEI! DON'T QUOTE ME LA. land me in hot soup pulak!
rushmode
post Sep 25 2008, 11:32 AM

221 posts

Update my 3G to 2.1.. works better..

But any comment/feedback on updating my Iphone 2G to 2.1? is there any probs and what is different from my current 1.1.4?

tq
olly
post Sep 25 2008, 11:48 AM

267 posts

im also planning upgrade my unit from 1.1.4 to 2.1
i hav a nob question, cause in 1.1.4 need patch then all the contact will showing correctly, like instead of showing the incoming phone number it will show the contact person name.

will 2.1 without the patch can did the same thing??
rushmode
post Sep 25 2008, 05:39 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Sep 25 2008, 11:32 AM)
Update my 3G to 2.1.. works better..

But any comment/feedback on updating my Iphone 2G to 2.1? is there any probs and what is different from my current 1.1.4?

tq
aahhh... nvm.. upgrade my iphone 2G to FW2.1 oredi.. so far so good.

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 25 2008, 05:52 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(rushmode @ Sep 25 2008, 05:39 PM)
aahhh... nvm.. upgrade my iphone 2G to FW2.1 oredi.. so far so good.
Very good mate. Only when you try, you will know how rewarding it is. Welcome to Fw 2.1.

Cheers
rushmode
post Sep 25 2008, 07:03 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 25 2008, 05:52 PM)
Very good mate. Only when you try, you will know how rewarding it is. Welcome to Fw 2.1.

Cheers
yeah thanks! flex.gif

i upgrade my 3G to 2.1 straight away after i got it since it fix most of 3G problem.

i'm just to lazy to update my old iphone from 1.1.4 since its been working fine. plus i don't use it very much.
ff8ong
post Sep 25 2008, 07:40 PM

2,550 posts

I don't mind to take your OLD iPhone...lol
1.1.4 is ok,at least got tribal and iphysic
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 25 2008, 07:44 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 25 2008, 07:40 PM)
I don't mind to take your OLD iPhone...lol
1.1.4 is ok,at least got tribal and iphysic
ff80ng,

Tribal is available via Appstore. Is call Trbal 2 now with music and sound efx.
vassalle
post Sep 25 2008, 11:21 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Sep 25 2008, 02:05 AM)
confirm suda keluar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

me downloaded edi good stuffs thumbup.gif
Really wanna try but dont have aiphontriji. How leh? hahahahha
nokia2003
post Sep 26 2008, 12:25 AM

5,786 posts

@ vassalle

aiseh, what a waste la.
Masamune
post Sep 26 2008, 03:37 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Now on fw 2.1 also! smile.gif
But my hostel no wifi..
Gotta go to MCD tmr to get important stuff like boss prefs and winterboard..
Haha..
MoNnY
post Sep 26 2008, 06:01 AM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

all the apps move to appstore di..
last time icopter on installer, now charging USD1.99 for it man.. rip off.. haha..
anyway, new window quickpwn 2.1 out already.. check it out from dev team's blog.
just letting u guys know if you dont..

Acquiesce
post Sep 26 2008, 09:46 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Sep 26 2008, 06:01 AM)
all the apps move to appstore di..
last time icopter on installer, now charging USD1.99 for it man.. rip off.. haha..
anyway, new window quickpwn 2.1 out already.. check it out from dev team's blog.
just letting u guys know if you dont..
yupe its in the first page. icon_rolleyes.gif
ff8ong
post Sep 26 2008, 10:47 AM

2,550 posts

@davidgary

I know that tribal 2 is on app store but 3.99

I currently don't have iTunes credit and I'm 17
I not able to own any credit card yet..lol
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 26 2008, 10:54 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@ff8ong

Hahaha..sorry bro. My bad. Well, take your time and slowly save some cash and buy iTunes credits.

@Masamune

Well done. It's worthy the upgrade doesn't it..lols.
ff8ong
post Sep 26 2008, 10:59 AM

2,550 posts

@davidgary

Hey bro,how many hour you spend on LYN per day?
Feel like you 24hours on iPhone thread..haha
gengstapo
post Sep 26 2008, 11:00 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 26 2008, 10:47 AM)
@davidgary

I know that tribal 2 is on app store but  3.99

hehee..

g0od boy here, support ori ok
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 26 2008, 11:09 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@ff8ong

Am pretty free since i'm working as a freelancer. I have other forum/sites to visit too, not only LY. When i'm working, i'm offline. Just that i don't log out from LY thus it seems that i'm online all the time..hahaha.

ff8ong
post Sep 26 2008, 11:23 AM

2,550 posts

@gengstapo

Haha,must support original now,if not app store will no longer
Having new app anymore...now I still need to focus on my exam,
After that I going to get some great app
nokia2003
post Sep 26 2008, 12:08 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Sep 26 2008, 10:47 AM)
@davidgary

I know that tribal 2 is on app store but  3.99

buy an itunes gift card. saves you a lot of hassle

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 26 2008, 12:09 PM
potion
post Sep 26 2008, 03:11 PM

319 posts

why winpwn 3 taking so long... almost 3 weeks now
Masamune
post Sep 26 2008, 03:48 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Haven't use 2.1 long enough to give an evaluation yet but i will give an update soon..
LoL..the genius playlist dont work for most of my songs..
They say this... 'This song does not have enough related songs to create a Genius Playlist'
Maybe because all my songs are downloaded...haha
rushmode
post Sep 26 2008, 03:56 PM

221 posts

2.1 seems lagging on 1st gen iphone especially when open up sms. sound become soft (or probably just me)

This post has been edited by rushmode: Sep 27 2008, 01:37 PM
ff8ong
post Sep 26 2008, 04:36 PM

2,550 posts

Hearn that 2.2 is comping out..hope apple pit official
Copy/paste function beside than using app to do that.
And hope they fix the rest laggy thing on iPhone..

I already update to 2.1,2 week ago.the battery really improve
For me,normally my usage on setting won't able to
Reach 8hour++..with 2.1 I manage to reach there with
A lot of safari+wifi usage
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 26 2008, 05:24 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@ff8ong

Beta iPhone 2.2 firmware has been released to developers today. According to Macrumors the new version is labeled as iPhone OS 2.2 beta 1 and also has a beta iPhone SDK build 9M2611. A developer has leaked one of the new features.

The Safari interface has been tweaked around a bit. The new version of Safari has a magnifying glass and refresh buttons at the top of the screen(Can't really see it). A refresh icon has also been added in the URL bar. See the screenshot of the new Safari below.

It will be some time until iPhone firmware 2.2 is released to the public.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 26 2008, 05:26 PM
cill
post Sep 27 2008, 02:01 AM

102 posts

hope this time apple will make 2g users happier smile.gif old 1.1.4 battery performance always been in my mind since porting to 2.x smile.gif some may argue dat their fon performance is only changing for better. still, i believe the 2.x update mainly focus on 3g rite now n somehow 2g is left behind.

this is my personal experience of course, so do not flame me wink.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 27 2008, 02:06 AM

5,786 posts

@ cill

petrol banyak mahal these days la. no flaming as a result la.
cill
post Sep 27 2008, 02:18 AM

102 posts

ha ha smile.gif

its already 25 cents (if i m not mistaken) cheaper than last time wink.gif still good arguments on why most people not flaming anymore smile.gif better use the resource on more profound job.

missed some otai though. good to see u, davidgary n some other seniors still here providing good info smile.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 27 2008, 02:26 AM

5,786 posts

@ cill

well unfortunately, only davidgary73 has the patience of a saint. i don't (however i don't discriminate via gender tongue.gif )
pipedream
post Sep 27 2008, 04:18 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(cill @ Sep 27 2008, 03:01 AM)
hope this time apple will make 2g users happier smile.gif old 1.1.4 battery performance always been in my mind since porting to 2.x smile.gif some may argue dat their fon performance is only changing for better. still, i believe the 2.x update mainly focus on 3g rite now n somehow 2g is left behind.

this is my personal experience of course, so do not flame me wink.gif
Funny, for me, I found that my v2 firmware has better battery life than 1.1.4 firmware, don't know, just feel that it can go for much longer than previous 1.1.4

>>>> When is winpwn 3 coming out icon_question.gif cry.gif
kelvin_tan
post Sep 27 2008, 06:52 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@davidgary
i have downloaded everything and i'm ready for an upgrade to 2.1... however, there is one thing i would like clarification about...

In your first post.. u wrote quickpwn 1.1 <--- this quickpwn will upgrade ur baseband also..

does this apply to quickpwn 2.1 ?
nokia2003
post Sep 27 2008, 06:59 PM

5,786 posts

2.1 is the correct way to go! 1.1.4 sudah ketinggalan zaman ni! blink.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 27 2008, 07:01 PM
samlee860407
post Sep 27 2008, 07:01 PM

4,631 posts

zzzz

what the heck is that link =.='
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 27 2008, 07:07 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Sep 27 2008, 06:52 PM)
@davidgary
i have downloaded everything and i'm ready for an upgrade to 2.1... however, there is one thing i would like clarification about...

In your first post.. u wrote quickpwn 1.1 <--- this quickpwn will upgrade ur baseband also..

does this apply to quickpwn 2.1  ?
Just proceed. Devteam did not mention anything about baseband upgrade on quickpwn 2.1. You're all good to go.
kelvin_tan
post Sep 27 2008, 07:11 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

haha coz now only my sem break.. so i am ready to do the upgrade biggrin.gif anyway if quickpwn is ok.. y are ppl still waiting for winpwn ?is it because it is deemed more stable ? going to upgrade tonight or tomorrow morning biggrin.gif
olly
post Sep 27 2008, 07:53 PM

267 posts

yeppie, i done with my 1.1.4 to 2.1 using quickpwn.

so far everything goes fined, call call in/out , sms no problem.
i feel like 2.1 when open app got a bit delay compare with 1.1.4
same with contact, slightly lagg

overall still acceptable, will do more testing......

jimnuz
post Sep 28 2008, 03:31 AM

109 posts

finally im in 2.1 ^^...thx david for this wonderful thread...very straightforward and easy to understand...im noob n first time doing upgrade firmware ^^....

problem with installer...i install some s/w like tunewiki..but it not display on my springboard..y ar?

any guide how i can purchase app store game? (tat the purpose i upgrade ^^)
Masamune
post Sep 28 2008, 07:39 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(jimnuz @ Sep 28 2008, 03:31 AM)
finally im in 2.1 ^^...thx david for this wonderful thread...very straightforward and easy to understand...im noob n first time doing upgrade firmware ^^....

problem with installer...i install some s/w like tunewiki..but it not display on my springboard..y ar?

Guide?
Just get a US itunes acc..There's a guide in this forum of how to get one..
Then buy an itunes gift card and purchase lor..
friends
post Sep 28 2008, 11:32 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(olly @ Sep 27 2008, 07:53 PM)
yeppie, i done with my 1.1.4 to 2.1 using quickpwn.

so far everything goes fined, call call in/out , sms no problem.
i feel like 2.1 when open app got a bit delay compare with 1.1.4
same with contact, slightly lagg

overall still acceptable, will do more testing......
FW2.x uses different OS structure as compare to FW1.x
I'm sure it will be slightly more on the loading time... but acceptable one.

FW 2.x will definitely change your perspective, especially the GAMING thumbup.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 28 2008, 01:57 PM

5,786 posts

i find it interesting how some ppl will sing praises and butter the person they wanna seek help from before their true intentions surface when they proceed to ask for help

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 28 2008, 01:58 PM
Musiclover
post Sep 28 2008, 02:11 PM

168 posts

Guys I need help here. I am in the process of updating my firmware from 1.1.1 to 2.0.1. Followed this guide from iClarifiediClarified. Everything went well until step 24. My iTunes cannot detect my phone. It show this
user posted imageuser posted image

I believe my iphone has already gone into dfu mode. The phone itself shows the ready to restore image. Not sure I have to click the check button. When I cancelled the message, itunes cannot detect my phone and thus i can't restore it. Please help.

*I have posted this in iPhone Club thread but i think this would be more suitable and i'm using winpwn 2.5 and itunes 7.7

kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 02:23 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

^^ updating in process.. lets pray it works biggrin.gif
Musiclover
post Sep 28 2008, 02:30 PM

168 posts

Kelvin, what do you mean by that? So I have to check the updates at that instant? After like 10-15minutes, the phone restarted itself. Also I had closed winpwn. Now that I have the custom ipsw, can I just directly go into dfu mode and try to restore again.

The problem is I didn't expect to get that update message and iPhone was not shown on itunes.
kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 02:39 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

huh? i meant i was updating to 2.1.. >< for u .. i dunno what happened to urs as i'm not an iphone pro.. mayb u could refer to nokia2003 or davidgary73..
jimnuz
post Sep 28 2008, 02:42 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 28 2008, 01:57 PM)
i find it interesting how some ppl will sing praises and butter the person they wanna seek help from before their true intentions surface when they proceed to ask for help
haha bro.. u mean me? im just happy tat im in fw 2.1 now...thx for all to bring up this thread la... rclxm9.gif
well the intention to ask for help just came up my mind when im thx-ing here....well cheers
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 28 2008, 03:40 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(jimnuz @ Sep 28 2008, 03:31 AM)

Well done mate. Have fun with Appstore applications.

Cheers
kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 04:10 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@davidgary
i need some help.. i did manual backup on my contacts... and after i did a jb i ssh it into my phone but the contacts does not appear sad.gif
deadman8836
post Sep 28 2008, 04:33 PM

464 posts

er.... did u restart your phone after that?
kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 04:47 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

yes i have restarted it.. here is a screen shot..

Added on September 28, 2008, 4:48 pmnvm.. is there any software like simport or isim to transfer my contacts from sim card ?

This post has been edited by kelvin_tan: Sep 28 2008, 04:48 PM

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 28 2008, 05:07 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@kelvin_tan

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/799676

No 6

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 28 2008, 05:07 PM
kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 05:09 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@davidgary
I would like to say "I LOVE YOU" biggrin.gif
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 28 2008, 06:07 PM

184 posts

succewsfully jb n unlock to 2.1..
yeah...!!

Added on September 28, 2008, 6:16 pm i thin k the sound is louder in 2.1..issit?

This post has been edited by xTraVagaNza: Sep 28 2008, 06:16 PM
kelvin_tan
post Sep 28 2008, 07:13 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

sounds the same to me.. > < i haven't really done much with it yet..
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 28 2008, 07:33 PM

184 posts

oh,nvm then...mybe just my feeling only
TeK_KeN
post Sep 29 2008, 05:01 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

success moving from 1.1.4. to 2.1 without any problem.

thanks davey for this tread smile.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 29 2008, 03:41 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@TeK_KeN

Nice going there. Congrats on the upgrade from Fw 1.1.4 to 2.1. Don't forget to patch your caller id fix for the names to show up on the phone.

@xTraVagaNza

Welcome mate to Fw 2.1.

Cheers

xTraVagaNza
post Sep 29 2008, 04:06 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 29 2008, 03:41 PM)
@TeK_KeN

Nice going there. Congrats on the upgrade from Fw 1.1.4 to 2.1. Don't forget to patch your caller id fix for the names to show up on the phone.

@xTraVagaNza

Welcome mate to Fw 2.1.

Cheers
haha..thanxs sifu..
jaychow
post Sep 29 2008, 04:09 PM

111 posts

Another question, my friend uses an older iphone 2g (1.1.2) that uses freesim, so technically I can do a 2.1 pawnage and he can throw away tat hack strip, thus using his sim card as per normal right? Just to be sure before I upgrade his iphone sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jaychow: Sep 29 2008, 04:11 PM
xTraVagaNza
post Sep 29 2008, 04:25 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Sep 29 2008, 04:09 PM)
Another question, my friend uses an older iphone 2g (1.1.2) that uses freesim, so technically I can do a 2.1 pawnage and he can throw away tat hack strip, thus using his sim card as per normal right? Just to be sure before I upgrade his iphone  sweat.gif
yes rclxms.gif
kelvin_tan
post Sep 29 2008, 09:58 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@jaychow
definately biggrin.gif i'm a iphone 2g user and i'm using firmware 2.1 without any freesim
Bernard Yeo
post Sep 29 2008, 10:25 PM

570 posts

Guys, I need your guide in helping me upgrade my iPhone to 2.1. At the moment it runs on 1.14 jailbroken. When I tried to upgrade to 2.1 via iTunes, the phone was stuck in restore mode with error 1604. I managed to get out of restore mode with ibrickr.

How do I upgrade to 2.1 in my situation?
gengstapo
post Sep 30 2008, 01:57 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Sep 29 2008, 10:25 PM)
Guys, I need your guide in helping me upgrade my iPhone to 2.1. At the moment it runs on 1.14 jailbroken. When I tried to upgrade to 2.1 via iTunes, the phone was stuck in restore mode with error 1604. I managed to get out of restore mode with ibrickr.

How do I upgrade to 2.1 in my situation?
may i know what itunes version dya use?
TeK_KeN
post Sep 30 2008, 02:21 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

thanks davey.keep it going smile.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Sep 30 2008, 08:14 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 30 2008, 01:57 AM)
may i know what itunes version dya use?
I'm using iTunes 8.0.0.35.
JasLyn
post Sep 30 2008, 08:42 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

Well, 1604 during quickpwn/pwnage or during restore/upgrade? (That Shift+restore thing)... Ur itunes version is already updated for now...

What about uninstalling all apple's programs and cleaning all tracks before do full re-installation? dun worry bout ur library. U can always rename it to sumthing else first. Later then change to its origin for itunes to detect (Provided correct link)
gengstapo
post Sep 30 2008, 08:43 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Sep 30 2008, 08:14 AM)
I'm using iTunes 8.0.0.35.
if its fails, guess u might need to put ur phone into DFU mode

try my suggestion smile.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Sep 30 2008, 09:43 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(JasLyn @ Sep 30 2008, 08:42 AM)
Well, 1604 during quickpwn/pwnage or during restore/upgrade? (That Shift+restore thing)... Ur itunes version is already updated for now...

What about uninstalling all apple's programs and cleaning all tracks before do full re-installation? dun worry bout ur library. U can always rename it to sumthing else first. Later then change to its origin for itunes to detect (Provided correct link)
More info if it helps: My iphone is from USA, unlocked and jailbroken at 1.14 when I bought it.

1604 during restore (Shift + Restore). Before I try a full reinstall of iTunes 8, I got a couple of questions. Is it possible to use iTunes 7.7 to upgrade to 2.1 or use it to install a custom firmware 2.1? I got the custom firmware from 3giphone-hacks.com

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 30 2008, 08:43 AM)
if its fails, guess u might need to put ur phone into DFU mode

try my suggestion smile.gif
Nope it still does not work. I had to use ibrickr to get the phone out of restore mode again.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Sep 30 2008, 09:47 AM
D-Zire
post Sep 30 2008, 09:58 AM

560 posts

well i gotta say i follow exactly the guide in iclarified and have successfully upgraded to 2.1 quickpwn 2.1....all the info provided in page 1 is really comprehensive...i also did follow the guide here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/776238 to backup my sms, contacts, calender and notes....juz that the notes part i cant find the directory....other than that everything went damn well....
Bernard Yeo
post Sep 30 2008, 03:12 PM

570 posts

I tried everything suggested here, but it's not working.

Would it be wise to try to use Winpwn to install 2.02, then from there update to 2.1 via iTunes?

EDIT: I managed to upgrade to 2.1 using another computer.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Sep 30 2008, 10:50 PM
deviate
post Oct 1 2008, 09:20 AM

31 posts

hey guys, i've successfully moved up to 2.1 fw, anyone having probs with the album art not showing?>
olly
post Oct 1 2008, 10:06 AM

267 posts

i also successful upgrade from 1.1.4 to 2.1 using quickpwn. everything was fined but ringtone not sync, for contact,sms,note no problem.

anyone know what the problem??
ff8ong
post Oct 1 2008, 10:25 AM

2,550 posts

Found out new tips for 2.1 this morning,
When you listening to music and you wanted to go back to your playlist,usually we just
press the (<--)button,now you can just slide on the music art or anywhre,will
able you to back to your playlist menu.
deviate
post Oct 1 2008, 11:41 AM

31 posts

anyone else experiencing the album art not showing? got solutions to fix it? pls help! i cant stand my iphone not having album arts! haha
-_-
post Oct 1 2008, 05:58 PM

178 posts

i wanna ask last time i jailbreak my iphone the installer got a lot of things but this new iphone 3g i jailbreak using pawnage but there is no more sources so meaning u cannot install using installer already?where can i find the list to add my sources in the installer thanks
harmeet15
post Oct 1 2008, 10:20 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Oct 1 2008, 05:58 PM)
i wanna ask last time i jailbreak my iphone the installer got a lot of things but this new iphone 3g i jailbreak using pawnage but there is no more sources so meaning u cannot install using installer already?where can i find the list to add my sources in the installer thanks
1st read here
2nd...installer n cydia repo here
Masamune
post Oct 1 2008, 11:52 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Oct 1 2008, 10:25 AM)
Found out new tips for 2.1 this morning,
When you listening to music and you wanted to go back to your playlist,usually we just
press the (<--)button,now you can just slide on the music art or anywhre,will
able you to back to your playlist menu.
Whoa!Great tips!
It works!
I hope iphone can officially put gestures like pocket touch from cydia..

QUOTE(deviate @ Oct 1 2008, 11:41 AM)
anyone else experiencing the album art not showing? got solutions to fix it? pls help! i cant stand my iphone not having album arts! haha
I'm sorta having this problem too..
Like in cover flow i can't see the album but when i play the song i can see it normally..
ff8ong
post Oct 2 2008, 12:01 AM

2,550 posts

@Masamune

You on 2.1 as well?
baretta
post Oct 2 2008, 12:13 AM

1,853 posts

for album art problem, just delete all song from your iphone with uncheck all songs. After that re- sync again. All album art will organize again.
Masamune
post Oct 2 2008, 04:58 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

@ff8ong

Yeah i'm on 2.1..
ff8ong
post Oct 2 2008, 10:46 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Oct 2 2008, 04:58 AM)
@ff8ong

Yeah i'm on 2.1..
Then i can assume that this function only for fw 2.2 biggrin.gif
-_-
post Oct 2 2008, 02:40 PM

178 posts

eh i wanna ask how to download summerboard? in which category?or no more summer board?
kelvin_tan
post Oct 2 2008, 02:47 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

its now winterboard.. =)
quito80
post Oct 3 2008, 02:03 AM

18 posts

Lately i've tried to upgrade my FW 1.1.4 to 2.1 by following all the thread n instructions here! I just discover one problem of mine... my camera can't store pictures that i took in the camera foll, which means showing nothing?!

Any sifu here would mind to help up or share your experience?
olly
post Oct 3 2008, 05:12 PM

267 posts

looks like a lot ppl upgrade from 1.1.4 to 2.1
got some minor problem regarding restore data.

my problem is can't restore back ringtone and cannot sync ringtone as well.
nokia2003
post Oct 3 2008, 05:14 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(quito80 @ Oct 3 2008, 02:03 AM)
Lately i've tried to upgrade my FW 1.1.4 to 2.1 by following all the thread n instructions here! I just discover one problem of mine... my camera can't store pictures that i took in the camera foll, which means showing nothing?!

Any sifu here would mind to help up or share your experience?
JB? restored from backup or as a new phone? 2G or 3G version?
quito80
post Oct 3 2008, 09:01 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 3 2008, 05:14 PM)
JB? restored from backup or as a new phone? 2G or 3G version?
I've solved the problem by restore it to previous backup~ sigh.... first time doing it my own~ learn from mistakes.!
Now facing another problem on my Installer...not sure which sources i've added wrongly it pop up an Error msg :
Operations could not be completed. (se.haxx.curl error 37.)

anyone know whats the error ?
kelvin_tan
post Oct 4 2008, 04:52 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

contributing here..
davidgary post this up in the first page if possible as its a better guide to create an itunes account

http://techwiredau.com/2008/09/grab-a-free...or-any-country/

Added on October 4, 2008, 4:52 pmno redemption code is required for this one =)

This post has been edited by kelvin_tan: Oct 4 2008, 04:52 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Oct 5 2008, 03:44 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@kelvin_tan

Thank you sir. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I added to the first post and also iphone for Dummies.

Thanks mate. Great work.

Cheers
rabakshoe
post Oct 5 2008, 05:08 PM

35 posts

superb thread !
juz got my iphone yesterday and unlocked it juz now
thanks david for the superb information and guided steps
thumbs up for u ..
TSdavidgary73
post Oct 5 2008, 05:34 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Cheers rabakshoe. Welcome to Fw 2.1.
kayden
post Oct 5 2008, 05:51 PM

912 posts

UNABLE TO DOWNLOAD ESSENTIAL UPDATES.

SOURCES OF ERROR:
1) Instability of WIFI connection.
2) The response from the other side is slow or your connection to their server timed out.
3) The traffic from the other side is high. Cuz every1 gets the same update message and wanna update so its packed. Bandwidth not enough for the world's iphone owners.

SOLUTION:
1) Restart router.
2) Wait sometime before updating. No hurry.

I posted this here because i ask for help here just now.

@ David, this was how i fixed my problem. If i posted in wrong section pm me, will edit. Thanks for ur suggestion just now.

This post has been edited by kayden: Oct 5 2008, 08:14 PM
TeK_KeN
post Oct 5 2008, 11:33 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

@davidgary73

I personally appreciate your contribution to this iphone section.
Please don't closed and delete this thread.

kelvin_tan
post Oct 6 2008, 04:03 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

this thread will remain here for a long time ... until firmware 2.2 is out at least =)
TSdavidgary73
post Oct 6 2008, 05:15 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 5 2008, 05:51 PM)
UNABLE TO DOWNLOAD ESSENTIAL UPDATES.

SOURCES OF ERROR:
1) Instability of WIFI connection.
2) The response from the other side is slow or your connection to their server timed out.
3) The traffic from the other side is high. Cuz every1 gets the same update message and wanna update so its packed. Bandwidth not enough for the world's iphone owners.

SOLUTION:
1) Restart router.
2) Wait sometime before updating. No hurry.

I posted this here because i ask for help here just now.

@ David, this was how i fixed my problem. If i posted in wrong section pm me, will edit. Thanks for ur suggestion just now.
No prob mate. Glad you manage to troubleshoot the problem.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Oct 6 2008, 05:16 PM
TeK_KeN
post Oct 6 2008, 09:31 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Oct 6 2008, 04:03 PM)
this thread will remain here for a long time ... until firmware 2.2 is out at least =)
how do you know?
Baronic
post Oct 29 2008, 11:26 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

pinned. this will be iphone user's new bible
TeK_KeN
post Oct 29 2008, 11:51 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

yes davidgary thread is back!
Baronic
post Oct 30 2008, 12:01 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

tired d. tmr will be busy a bit, with exams near, so pardon me a bit. keep reports and suggestions coming in though, feel free to PM me. good night everyone
setoyo
post Oct 30 2008, 12:02 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Yuhuu..
Im soo glad...
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

TeK_KeN
post Oct 30 2008, 12:02 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

good night mr moderator.

great job you have done here smile.gif
setoyo
post Oct 30 2008, 12:06 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Hope to see more happy news...

and thanks mr mod too..

Peace..
psyeo
post Oct 30 2008, 12:27 PM

2,605 posts

it seems that the Pwnagetool 2.1 method no longer works on Mac OSX 10.5.5 error 1600.

quickpwn still work for mac
ggg123
post Oct 30 2008, 03:57 PM

Dear David,
thanks for posting the jailbreaking guide.
i have a iphone 3G with a 2.1 firmware, can i use the QuickPwn to jailbreak the 2.1 firmware on my cell?
correct me if i am wrong
thanks a lot & keep the good works coming!
mangoman
post Oct 30 2008, 04:00 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(ggg123 @ Oct 30 2008, 06:57 PM)
Dear David,
thanks for posting the jailbreaking guide.
i have a iphone 3G with a 2.1 firmware, can i use the QuickPwn to jailbreak the 2.1 firmware on my cell?
correct me if i am wrong
thanks a lot & keep the good works coming!
yes u can, in fact it is the only way and easiest way to JB fw2.1 other than pwnagetool.
korn
post Nov 2 2008, 10:30 AM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

just upgraded to 2.1 lolx (quickpwn), from old skool 1.1.4, thanks for the david's guide~

my 1.1.4 iphone crashed yesterday, so... nothing else to do than up to 2.1 haiz~ all data gone... fly

a quick question here... how much FREE disk space the max can we get on partition 1 after using bosstool? (with no apps at all, just default apps - cydia+installer+bosstool)

QuickPwn doesn't have the disk space adjustment huhu~

pjastro
post Nov 2 2008, 02:32 PM

82 posts

Pwnage Tool you can set to any size you wish its preset at 500mb.
Corvinux
post Nov 2 2008, 09:17 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

the thread is alllliiiiiiiiiiiiveeeeeeeeeeeeeed!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 2 2008, 09:19 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Hahahaha..welcome back mate. How was your trip?
Corvinux
post Nov 2 2008, 09:55 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

tiring and using iPhone in the area is like luxury hihihihi got heaps of attention and even unlocked and jailbroke one of me future's customer's iphone LOL which is funny!! Go there also hv time to help ppl unlocked & jailbreak..he's a happy dude with all the new apps smile.gif

the nite life erms...niiiiiiiceeeeeeeeeeee!! hihihihi heaps of philiphines band around and good one too..hihihihi whistling.gif
Voonz
post Nov 3 2008, 02:26 AM

701 posts

hi guys i have encountered a problem with my friend's iphone 2g. after i updated to firmware 2.1 and unlock/jailbroken it. my installer can't be started it shows a blank icon instead of the usual blue icon. Also starting the cydia will bring my phone to lock mode after 2-3 seconds. The rest of the apps can be used. But will be brought back to homescreen after awhile. anyone else facing this problem?
i am using quickpwn for windows.
followed the guide perfectly. tried it more than 5 times already. same thing occurs. anyone can shed some light on me?
Corvinux
post Nov 3 2008, 09:24 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(Voonz @ Nov 3 2008, 02:26 AM)
hi guys i have encountered a problem with my friend's iphone 2g. after i updated to firmware 2.1 and unlock/jailbroken it. my installer can't be started it shows a blank icon instead of the usual blue icon. Also starting the cydia will bring my phone to lock mode after 2-3 seconds. The rest of the apps can be used. But will be brought back to homescreen after awhile. anyone else facing this problem?
i am using quickpwn for windows.
followed the guide perfectly. tried it more than 5 times already. same thing occurs. anyone can shed some light on me?
hi voonz

basically installer and cydia is almost the same thing..both are installer of the 3rd party apps apart from cydia where it does more than installing apps for you. So basically you dont have to have both apps and cydia is way recommended to be use as its more stable and more apps are in it..further to it cydia will automatically transfer your fonts, ringtones and apps to the /app folder instead of /root and it will free more space in your /root..

Repawn your iphone and only install cydia..

hope this helps you..

to sifu's correct me if im wrong smile.gif
porkchop
post Nov 3 2008, 09:35 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hi sifu's

wanna ask the partition size at normal is 500mb...so if i up it to 800mb is it ok?? or even 1000mb also can??

this would allow me to install more software rite??
Voonz
post Nov 4 2008, 12:51 AM

701 posts

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Nov 3 2008, 09:24 PM)
hi voonz

basically installer and cydia is almost the same thing..both are installer of the 3rd party apps apart from cydia where it does more than installing apps for you. So basically you dont have to have both apps and cydia is way recommended to be use as its more stable and more apps are in it..further to it cydia will automatically transfer your fonts, ringtones and apps to the /app folder instead of /root and it will free more space in your /root..

Repawn your iphone and only install cydia..

hope this helps you..

to sifu's correct me if im wrong smile.gif
thanks corninux, i'll unlock my phone again as you saidd. and install cydia into it. hope it doesnt cause any problem again rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
kc3832
post Nov 6 2008, 04:26 PM

100 posts

Good Job my friend! Will try it later... rclxms.gif
Fighteden
post Nov 6 2008, 04:43 PM

Stark Industries
976 posts

QUOTE(Voonz @ Nov 4 2008, 12:51 AM)
thanks corninux, i'll unlock my phone again as you saidd. and install cydia into it. hope it doesnt cause any problem again rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Stay the f*** away from Installer !!!

It's the Satan !!
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 6 2008, 04:55 PM

6,497 posts

i've heard almost everybody who did the tutorial of Jailbreak dicourage installing installer.... now i know why.... its... how to put it..... ermmm UNUSABLE?
TeK_KeN
post Nov 6 2008, 05:10 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Nov 6 2008, 04:43 PM)
Stay the f*** away from Installer !!!

It's the Satan !!
this is blasphemy laugh.gif

btw, yes installer is buggy from the beginning of 2.1 era.

setoyo
post Nov 6 2008, 05:15 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

I never use installer yet... haha...

Seeing what happened to Fighteden.. better stay away... laugh.gif laugh.gif
fallzboater
post Nov 6 2008, 09:08 PM

I bought my iPhone last weekend and it came with the 2.1 firmware, so I was able to skip the 2nd step. I got through the rest of it OK, but it was a bit scary since it took so long doing the refresh or whatever, afterward. There's no way to tell what's going on, and I was worried it was locked up. I wasn't sure whether to leave iTunes running the whole time or not. I'm especially interested in being able to use the iPhone for file storage, but I'm stoked to check out the other available apps. Thanks!

-David
Corvinux
post Nov 7 2008, 10:20 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(fallzboater @ Nov 6 2008, 09:08 PM)
I bought my iPhone last weekend and it came with the 2.1 firmware, so I was able to skip the 2nd step.  I got through the rest of it OK, but it was a bit scary since it took so long doing the refresh or whatever, afterward.  There's no way to tell what's going on, and I was worried it was locked up.  I wasn't sure whether to leave iTunes running the whole time or not.  I'm especially interested in being able to use the iPhone for file storage, but I'm stoked to check out the other available apps.  Thanks!

-David
erms bro please elaborate more..in point form would be good what you want us to help u on smile.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 7 2008, 10:49 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(fallzboater @ Nov 6 2008, 09:08 PM)
I bought my iPhone last weekend and it came with the 2.1 firmware, so I was able to skip the 2nd step.  I got through the rest of it OK, but it was a bit scary since it took so long doing the refresh or whatever, afterward.  There's no way to tell what's going on, and I was worried it was locked up.  I wasn't sure whether to leave iTunes running the whole time or not.  I'm especially interested in being able to use the iPhone for file storage, but I'm stoked to check out the other available apps.  Thanks!

-David
u afraid tht ur phone will lock again? is tht it? as far as i know if officially unlock it cant be lock again
if my interpretion is right....
u know what...?? u should just try JB it....
if u follow the instructions.... u'll be ok n be really happy with the result...

icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
sHin0bi
post Nov 8 2008, 04:51 AM

360 posts

oh hai gais. just wanna check again which is bettar? quickpwn or teh pwn4getool?

if its jb it shud be teh saem rite?
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 8 2008, 10:57 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@sHin0bi

Pwnagetool is pretty good. It works very well as it can customize root patition, boot logo, select software from Cydia, upgrade firmware and JB the phone within the software. Same goes with Quickpwn (Mac) accept the customization.

While on Quickpwn for Windows, the phone needs to be upgraded to Fw 2.1 first and then, JB with Quickpwn. Both Pwnagetool/Quickpwn(Mac) and Quickpwn(Windows) does the job well thus depending on the OS platform you're currently using.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 8 2008, 10:58 AM
psyeo
post Nov 8 2008, 11:01 AM

2,605 posts

@DavidGary, I think PwageTool for Mac no longer works in Mac OS X 10.5.5
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 8 2008, 11:23 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Ya..read your post on the other thread. I'm still on Mac OSX 10.5.4. Any reason why it is not working? System file changed?

I read that the new macbook aluminum does not allow pwnage to work too. Unable to DFU.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 8 2008, 11:27 AM
sHin0bi
post Nov 8 2008, 12:13 PM

360 posts

no wonder lah i was having problems with it that day... But thx for the replai mate
LooN
post Nov 9 2008, 02:28 AM

498 posts

something i noticed... when i downloaded quickpwn from the thread starter link (which uses the mediafire) i extract it and a trojan found in the EXE.. scary =.=
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 9 2008, 02:48 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(LooN @ Nov 9 2008, 02:28 AM)
something i noticed... when i downloaded quickpwn from the thread starter link (which uses the mediafire) i extract it and a trojan found in the EXE.. scary =.=
Wow..Thank you for letting me know. I'll take the mediafire link off from the post.

Btw, those are external links which was given on thier site when pwnagetool/qiuckpwn came out.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 9 2008, 03:04 AM
LooN
post Nov 9 2008, 09:40 AM

498 posts

anyway david, i followed the instruction given from the iClarified link u provided but then when i try to double click the quickpwn 2.1, it pop up errors telling me that the program failed to open file, directory or do not have permission to do so. can you help me bit? i'm now stucked in the 2.1 firmware (after restored using itunes 8.0.1), pretty much headache now. sigh..
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 9 2008, 10:36 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@LooN

Try to redownload Quickpwn again or maybe download Quickpwn from iClarified links.

If you stiill unable to solve your problem, head over to the link below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl

Schattenjeager
post Nov 9 2008, 06:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(LooN @ Nov 9 2008, 09:40 AM)
anyway david, i followed the instruction given from the iClarified link u provided but then when i try to double click the quickpwn 2.1, it pop up errors telling me that the program failed to open file, directory or do not have permission to do so. can you help me bit? i'm now stucked in the 2.1 firmware (after restored using itunes 8.0.1), pretty much headache now. sigh..
I too am having this problem; I've downloaded from both LYN & iClarified links. Windows (Vista) just does not want to run the program.

"Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access them." which is complete BS since I am running as administrator.
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 9 2008, 07:30 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Hmmmm..was searching via google. Not sure if this helps. Maybe you guys need to download .NET framework.

Then download Quickpwn again.
Schattenjeager
post Nov 9 2008, 09:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Nov 9 2008, 07:30 PM)
Hmmmm..was searching via google. Not sure if this helps. Maybe you guys need to download .NET framework.

Then download Quickpwn again.
.NET framework is already part of Vista's installation. No dice. Anyone else know what the solution could be?
setoyo
post Nov 9 2008, 09:56 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Im using vista...
Update ur vista tip top...
Download latest Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 or higher..
Turn off the AUC in user acc..
Reboot...

peace..

This post has been edited by setoyo: Nov 9 2008, 09:59 PM
Schattenjeager
post Nov 10 2008, 12:21 AM

40 posts

I have Vista, .NET framework 3.5, all my automatic updates are installed, and as a rule i've turned off AUC since day one.

And yet I still can't use QuickPwn. Ziphone v3 doesn't seem to work (sorta gets stuck at 'entering recovery mode' for a long time,) and WinPwn2.5 doesn't seem to have an option for jailbreaking with 2.1 fw.

Can anyone offer a suggestion? I'd really like to jailbreak my phone...

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Nov 10 2008, 12:22 AM
Buzza
post Nov 10 2008, 01:54 PM

200 posts

Ive done JB my iphone 3G yesterday.. its looks fine and no probs at all. My phone is from US.
setoyo
post Nov 10 2008, 02:57 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Schattenjeager..

How about redownload the quickpwn..?

Schattenjeager
post Nov 10 2008, 06:51 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Nov 10 2008, 02:57 PM)
Schattenjeager..

How about redownload the quickpwn..?
I have man. From 3 different sources (LYN, iClarify, and a torrent). It's not the quickpwn, it's something to do with my PC/Vista's settings or something. I'll just have to find an XP PC to jailbreak it on...
=Hanxz=
post Nov 10 2008, 07:01 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

hehehe community service thread biggrin.gif
i can help ya
harmeet15
post Nov 10 2008, 07:08 PM

2,729 posts

maybe OT but i need 2 ask tis..
my current pc is authorized with my i3g..
if i reformat n install itunes..
wud it recognize my iphone n ask 2 sync?
frozzbyte
post Nov 10 2008, 07:19 PM

3,657 posts

@Schattenjeager
Maybe u need to reformat your Vista. Last time happen to corvinux when running winpwn.
Schattenjeager
post Nov 10 2008, 07:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Nov 10 2008, 07:19 PM)
@Schattenjeager
Maybe u need to reformat your Vista. Last time happen to corvinux when running winpwn.
Aha, no thanks, not sure I want to reformat an entire PC just to jailbreak my phone (I just reinstalled 2 weeks ago!). I'll find an XP-based PC to do it, no worries.

Thanks for the help guys!
potion
post Nov 10 2008, 07:52 PM

319 posts

@Schattenjeager

please do recheck ur antivirus/firewall since it can block program from running and prompt similar error message as yours

cheers

This post has been edited by potion: Nov 10 2008, 07:54 PM
Schattenjeager
post Nov 10 2008, 08:42 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(potion @ Nov 10 2008, 07:52 PM)
@Schattenjeager

please do recheck ur antivirus/firewall since it can block program from running and prompt similar error message as yours

cheers
Yeah I get false-positives from AVG on top of the windows error message. I've even turned off AVG altogether, and still Windows won't let me run the program. I know it's not quickpwn itself because I used the very same file off my XP Laptop, and it runs fine.

(And for the curious, the reason why I'm not using my laptop to jailbreak the phone is because the usb ports on it have blown out. The very act of connecting the iPhone to my laptop hangs/crashes the whole laptop.)
frozzbyte
post Nov 10 2008, 09:29 PM

3,657 posts

@Schattenjeager
Then u better find a good pc to do the process or risk ruining your phone later.
Corvinux
post Nov 11 2008, 08:32 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

yup2 happened to mine before..i would say its more of notebook manufacturer's Vista apps tat reroute the hacking to another port instead of the supposely is..and it happened to all me colleagues as well..so decided to reformat everything and things are great since smile.gif

its not only for hacking purposes but other "non-window" application as well smile.gif

neway hi all biggrin.gif
e 3 h y 0 r
post Nov 11 2008, 08:45 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

ive got 2 units of iphone 3G, i JB both and one is giving me problem calling out and receiving calls as it doesnt have SIGNAL at all, please help

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
setoyo
post Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

Woot... nokia..
"Special Tag" for u... laugh.gif laugh.gif
nokia2003
post Nov 11 2008, 09:07 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM)
Woot... nokia..
"Special Tag" for u... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
don't know real or not... tongue.gif
gengstapo
post Nov 11 2008, 09:11 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Nov 10 2008, 07:08 PM)
maybe OT but i need 2 ask tis..
my current pc is authorized with my i3g..
if i reformat n install itunes..
wud it recognize my iphone n ask 2 sync?
u need to re-authorize after u format ur pc icon_rolleyes.gif

else, u might cant sync the apps u d/load from appstore, IIRC
setoyo
post Nov 11 2008, 09:18 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

just look the signature lor.. sooo.. "cough2"

This post has been edited by setoyo: Nov 11 2008, 09:18 PM
Schattenjeager
post Nov 12 2008, 12:41 AM

40 posts

Update: For some extremely weird reason, QuickPwn decided to work on my PC today! (Weird right? I must've rebooted a dozen times last night to no avail).

Now the proud owner of a jailbroken fw2.1 i3G. Hi guys!
setoyo
post Nov 12 2008, 12:47 AM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Nov 12 2008, 12:41 AM)
Update: For some extremely weird reason, QuickPwn decided to work on my PC today! (Weird right? I must've rebooted a dozen times last night to no avail).

congrat.. rclxms.gif

So hunt the cydia stuff.. the winterboard... go.go... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TeK_KeN
post Nov 12 2008, 09:10 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Nov 12 2008, 12:41 AM)

welcome to the world 2.1 mate!
congratz

now get you self to winterboard section!

modd modd modd
jimbet1337
post Nov 13 2008, 12:34 AM

meh
2,669 posts

I just flashed from 1.1.4 to 2.1 and accidentally installed both Cydia and Installer. Is it ok if I just continue just to use Cydia and ignore Installer? I feel lazy to flash it again. It won't do no harm right?
nokia2003
post Nov 13 2008, 12:37 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 13 2008, 12:34 AM)
I just flashed from 1.1.4 to 2.1 and accidentally installed both Cydia and Installer. Is it ok if I just continue just to use Cydia and ignore Installer? I feel lazy to flash it again. It won't do no harm right?
nope; i have both
psyeo
post Nov 13 2008, 06:21 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Nov 12 2008, 01:45 AM)
ive got 2 units of iphone 3G, i JB both and one is giving me problem calling out and receiving calls as it doesnt have SIGNAL at all, please help

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
hmm...that is highly probably because that you tick "activate the phone" while jailbreaking. re JB it again, and don't tick that
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 02:26 PM

2,273 posts

guys, i dont know if its legal or not to post my questions here, but i'll risk it for my dad's sake.

Well , my dad told me he killed his iphone 3g. So i looked at it, it said it requires activation .. ( it was fine before he did something to it ) .. now when i connect to itunes, it said SIM not supported..

Any idea how to fix this? will jailbreaking it fix it? . i dont know how to check the current version..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 03:41 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

no software available for unlocking iPhone 3G.

you need to do with the hardware.
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 03:44 PM

2,273 posts

so its practically dead? ..

it was working perfectly before my dad 'download some software from itunes' ..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 03:47 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

it's not totally dead bro.
your father sure update firmware through iTunes.
it is a common here.

the hardware unlock I mention before is called Turbo Sim.
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 03:53 PM

2,273 posts

hmm, so thats the only way to fix this half-dead iphone?..

i really appreciate your help..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 03:54 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

no problem mate wink.gif
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 03:56 PM

2,273 posts

does jailbreaking the phone help? though i have no idea what firmware it is in now..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 03:57 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

nope, jailbreaking will not active your phone.
hardware unlock or official unlock will to the way.

what iTunes version you are using?
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 03:59 PM

2,273 posts

im using itunes 8, sadly, if i cant fix this phone, my dad will be very sad..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 04:02 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

that mean you just upgrade to firmware 2.1.
can't help you bro since I'm not using 3G iPhone.

you need to ask 3G + Turbo Sim owner here.
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 04:06 PM

2,273 posts

i think the iphone already has the turbosim in it, i have no idea why it still requires activation through itunes..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 04:13 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

already Turbo Sim but still require unlock?

Never heard before.
your turbo sim failure perhaps?
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 04:19 PM

2,273 posts

turbosim is just a thin plastic sheet with gold plates and a chip on it right?.. u just add that with the sim .. am i right ?

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Nov 13 2008, 04:19 PM
-Torrz
post Nov 13 2008, 04:20 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

Um, iTunes came out with the latest version already..didnt you update?
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 04:21 PM

2,273 posts

its not mine, ill ask my dad later, he told me through the phone that he updated something through itunes this morning that caused this..
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 13 2008, 04:51 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@jedi_dc

Please read the thead below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/830708

There's links to couple of threads concerning usage of Turbosim etc. Do read the US and UK 3G iPhone thread. May have some solution if there is.

Cheers

jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 05:21 PM

2,273 posts

i read that page over and over again, thanks for ur advise..

my dad said he tried to jailbreak his iphone 3g, and then he got to this, he tried restoring but it did not work..
=Hanxz=
post Nov 13 2008, 05:28 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

hehehehe
advertisement here
click on my sig biggrin.gif
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 05:33 PM

2,273 posts

i've checked ur siggy , if u were in Miri, im sure i would come to u first..
=Hanxz=
post Nov 13 2008, 05:34 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

LOL hard luck then bro smile.gif
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 07:09 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

I feel sorry for you bro wink.gif
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 07:11 PM

2,273 posts

issit possible for me to jailbreak iphone 3g without having to unlock it? .. my dad used some ibrick software to jailbreak it.. and now it becomes LOCKED . sad.gif

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Nov 13 2008, 07:12 PM
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 07:13 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

don't misunderstood between unlock & jailbreak bro.
those are different word with different meaning.
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 07:20 PM

2,273 posts

yes, but the phone was unlocked before the jailbreak attempt..
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 07:29 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

then you might be consider that your Turbo Sim is problem.
not the phone.
=Hanxz=
post Nov 13 2008, 07:33 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

turbosim problem?
or u just havent activate the thing yet? if someone is around kl it would be really great for ur dad
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 07:41 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

@Hanxz

turbo sim always problem?
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 07:44 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Nov 13 2008, 07:33 PM)
turbosim problem?
or u just havent activate the thing yet? if someone is around kl it would be really great for ur dad
what do u mean havent activate?. blink.gif it was working fine this morning, my dad said he wanted to install some 3rd party applications, so he did something to it.. using some ibrick software .. now its LOCKED and Itunes does not want to activate it with DiGi SIM sad.gif

now im downloading the 2.1 Firmware ... + quickpwn 2.1 ..
=Hanxz=
post Nov 13 2008, 07:48 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

it occurs lotsa times especially nowadays when it's using the membrane only
where it basically piggy-backs the original sim, and when u wanna change sim basically u are going to slide the sim in and out and the membrane is just a stick on, u have a big risk of having the thing stuck there and it will be a scary moment biggrin.gif

last time when those taiwanese sims was first around, you need to really cut your sim into some small small thingy, u need to even cut off the metal part of ur sim to put inside. you really need precision when u are doing that. last time i spoiled a few sims before i succeed biggrin.gif

and why get one which is using turbosim when u can get one officially unlock one albeit for a higher price only.

last time no choice, now the power is in your hands haha

Added on November 13, 2008, 7:59 pm@jedi_dc
wuah ibrickr, i havent heard of that for a very very long time d...best of luck to u cuz with ur dad doing the thing without really consulting..its like russian roulette

and u activate ur phone with quickpwn but pwnage would be the more superior program on a mac smile.gif

This post has been edited by =Hanxz=: Nov 13 2008, 07:59 PM
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 08:12 PM

2,273 posts

i dont own a mac,

i've just fiddled with the iphone 3g and itunes, i tried DFU mode, and it finnaly got recognized on itunes 8!! now itunes is downloading the Software update automatically to restore the iphone ( i hope ).
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 08:41 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

keep updating mate wink.gif
frozzbyte
post Nov 13 2008, 08:41 PM

3,657 posts

my suggestion ... restore the phone with fw2.1 then use quickpwn to jailbreak n activate since ur using a turbo-sim. iBrickr is only for fw1.0.2 last time. Don't use it anymore or u'll end up ruining the phone. Activate is different from unlock is different from jailbreak.

Since your dad is using a turbo-sim, u don't need to unlock but need to jailbreak so u can activate. I know this seems a bit confusing but u can refer to here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/830708 for more explanation regarding jailbreak, unlock n activate under Terminology: Meaning of Unlock, Jailbreak and Activate

Added on November 13, 2008, 8:43 pmTry to read how to use quickpwn (1st page of this thread) before doing anything.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Nov 13 2008, 08:43 PM
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 08:46 PM

2,273 posts

im lookin on guides on Iclarified for quickpwn to jailbreak the iphone 3g.. ]

internet disconnected, now updating all over again .. 66 minutes more.. =_=

Added on November 13, 2008, 9:14 pmthanks, i've used quickpwn .. jailbreak it to 2.1 and now its working fine =D

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Nov 13 2008, 09:14 PM
TeK_KeN
post Nov 13 2008, 09:35 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

nice already?
jedi_dc
post Nov 13 2008, 10:06 PM

2,273 posts

i guess, my dads playing with it now .. >_> i wonder if i get good karma from helping him source for it whole day.. lol
=Hanxz=
post Nov 13 2008, 10:07 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

ask him to give u the turbosim one and get another officially unlock one for himself
BlaBlaBoy
post Nov 14 2008, 01:32 PM

Make Malaysia a peaceful land
1,028 posts

1.1.4 updated to 2.1 using quickprawn.. very easy to use, even a noob like me able to settle it off.. now backuping, consume quite a time..
nokia2003
post Nov 14 2008, 01:40 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(BlaBlaBoy @ Nov 14 2008, 01:32 PM)
1.1.4 updated to 2.1 using quickprawn.. very easy to use, even a noob like me able to settle it off.. now backuping, consume quite a time..
ha ha. nice one!

great job nevertheless!
frozzbyte
post Nov 14 2008, 03:04 PM

3,657 posts

Quickprawn? Dev team released an uncensored version of Quickpwn? biggrin.gif
TeK_KeN
post Nov 14 2008, 05:24 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

wah nokia you so sharp laugh.gif
BlaBlaBoy
post Nov 14 2008, 05:49 PM

Make Malaysia a peaceful land
1,028 posts

aaaa.. after updated to 2.1, play play with it using iphone suite.. stuck at pineapple logo >.<.. need to restore it again
kc3832
post Nov 16 2008, 12:11 PM

100 posts

Upgraded to 2.1 already.... very niceeee! Thank you..... rclxms.gif
potion
post Nov 16 2008, 12:58 PM

319 posts

great smile.gif welcome aboard

i just finish upgrade my gf firmware 1.1.4 to 2.1 with a sucess :thumb:
and manage to install all :ehem ehem: thing inside
gengstapo
post Nov 16 2008, 01:51 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 13 2008, 11:21 PM)
Since MohdFarid1994 and SUGEN suggested and stand that pwning or jailbreaking your phone is illegal, please refer to them as your reference to jailbreak your phone as of today.

Again..Anything concerning jailbreaking, ask them..They are the cause of this thread infos being deleted.

Cheers
kewl.. awesome.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
terencetoo
post Nov 17 2008, 10:57 PM

3,246 posts

guys im having problems with my phone now....

Posted at iPhone Club Version 8

Currently, im using 1st generation iPhone 2G with 2.01 version.

I realise my earpiece not sound generated after a multiple test. Anyone of u encounter these issue?

Am i able to download with Windows based 2.1 version?

TSdavidgary73
post Nov 18 2008, 11:36 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@terencetoo

It may be software related problems. Try upgrading to Fw 2.1 as some suggested. Do follow the tutorials carefully if you're gonna upgrade to Fw 2.1.

If all else fails after the upgrade, you may have a hardware problem.

Do look at this link if it's hardware issue: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/830708 (No:18)

If you prefer not to upgrade on your own please refer to : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 18 2008, 11:37 AM
alzaim
post Nov 21 2008, 03:05 AM

429 posts

now running 2.1 after so long haha..

This post has been edited by alzaim: Nov 21 2008, 03:59 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Nov 21 2008, 04:48 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Firmware 2.2 Thread starts here... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Updated 1st post with Firmware 2.2 download links for both 2G and 3G iPhones.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 25 2008, 11:52 PM
jimnuz
post Nov 21 2008, 06:49 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Nov 21 2008, 04:48 PM)
Updated 1st post with Firmware 2.2 download links for both 2G and 3G iPhones.

Cheers
thanks alot rclxms.gif ..but wait quickpwn..

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.5629sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:49 PM