1554 Pages « < 258 259 260 261 262 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post May 31 2017, 02:35 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ May 30 2017, 09:41 PM)
hi peeps,

after opening an account i contacted the in-house investment specialist dude and he was really helpful in giving an in-depth recommendation on how i should get started. i'm quite convinced with his recommended portfolio but of course, it would be nice if i could gather some thoughts from the sifus here before i start committing into it.

kenanga growth fund - 10%
kaf vision fund - 10%
eastspring investment global emerging market fund - 10%
cimb principal asia pacific dynamic income fund - 20%
cimb principal global titans fund - 10%
rhb emerging market bond fund - 10%
affin hwang select bond fund - 10%
libra asnita bond fund - 20%

60% eq/40% fi

good portfolio to start off with?
Looks like quite a diversified portfolio. I'm not familiar with KAF vision fund, but if you want a small cap fund for the thrill, Interpac fund should be more exciting and potentially more upside

I don't really like emerging market bond fund, but at the moment is a good timing to go in with MYR strengthening

Not sure what's your risk appetite like so can't comment on if the portfolio matches your risk appetite

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 31 2017, 02:22 PM)
Ramjade is so well delved into every areas of money.

Sg, my, stock, bitcoin, gold, forex, ut, ......except for money game  rclxms.gif
*Warning - nagging coming*

For someone at this young age, the biggest asset is not what you have in your pocket; but your future income. So the question is, are you putting even more effort on your future income part than managing the 0.x% per annum difference in investment income

If say your future income potential is 1000x of what you currently have, maybe you should put 1000% effort in future income for every 1% effort you put in investment income

And arguably the future income potential should be much higher than 1000x at this age
Avangelice
post May 31 2017, 02:50 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 31 2017, 02:35 PM)

*Warning - nagging coming*

For someone at this young age, the biggest asset is not what you have in your pocket; but your future income. So the question is, are you putting even more effort on your future income part than managing the 0.x% per annum difference in investment income

If say your future income potential is 1000x of what you currently have, maybe you should put 1000% effort in future income for every 1% effort you put in investment income

And arguably the future income potential should be much higher than 1000x at this age
totally agree with this. I never let my passive income affect my main income even if it vomits blood from a global recession no point panicking and taking day off to run from bank to bank or worst still go to a neighboring country to deposit a few measly thousands. that's just me
walkman660
post May 31 2017, 02:56 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ May 31 2017, 01:36 PM)
Let's compare our subscribed portfolios after 1 year, mark this day  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
One more question, basically after we sign up the managed portfolio then we pay it, then what we do after that is just wait for their confirmation right? Like 3 to 4 business days (new to FSM)
funnyface
post May 31 2017, 03:01 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(walkman660 @ May 31 2017, 02:56 PM)
One more question, basically after we sign up the managed portfolio then we pay it, then what we do after that is just wait for their confirmation right? Like 3 to 4 business days (new to FSM)
No idea, just wait and see flex.gif
You should be able to view your managed portfolio at "View Holding -> Managed Portfolio"
aoisky
post May 31 2017, 03:19 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2017, 02:25 PM)
Correction: tiada investment in MY stock, bitcoin, gold, forex.
ada investment in SG stock la kan
aoisky
post May 31 2017, 03:25 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ May 31 2017, 01:36 PM)
Let's compare our subscribed portfolios after 1 year, mark this day  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
aggressive port is 1.25% upfront + 0.5% port managed fee pa almost same as u invest direct via fsm normal account, nothing special unless the managed port can garner greater return than ur own invest. please share with us your comparison find out afterward.
thanks in advance

This post has been edited by aoisky: May 31 2017, 03:27 PM
xuzen
post May 31 2017, 03:29 PM

4,436 posts

Algozen™ version four speaketh; listen well...(The values are now in MYR correlation).

I tried putting in various UTF(s) into Algozen™ and letting her run the numbers. Maximum per simulation run is ten UTFs. Anything more, is limited by the correlation coefficient parameters.

The criteria for selecting UTFs for simulations are:

1) Good risk to reward ratio among peers.
2) They must have poor correlation among each other (meaning must be well diversified)

Next step, after running twelve simulated portfolios, ranging from port that generate 8% to 20% p.a. , out of 12 ports,

To be continued...

The ports that I have run simulation gave the highest possible return to be 21% (100% TA-GTF) and the lowest possible return is 7% (100% Esther Bond). Hence the whole spectrum of return is from 7 to 21%. As expected the higher the return the higher the risk aka std - deviation. After running 12 times with various composition of portfolios, I find that the most risk optimal point is around the 10, 11, 12 and 13% point.

Let's take 13% as the expected return. In order to get 13% the composition of UTFs are as below.

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Std - deviation of this portfolio is 4.41% and the risk to reward ratio is 13/4.41 = 2.95.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 31 2017, 03:44 PM
aoisky
post May 31 2017, 03:40 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 31 2017, 03:29 PM)
Algozen™ version four speaketh; listen well...(The values are now in MYR correlation).

I tried putting in various UTF(s) into Algozen™ and letting her run the numbers. Maximum per simulation run is ten UTFs. Anything more, is limited by the correlation coefficient parameters. 

2) They must have poor correlation among each other (meaning must be well diversified)

Next step, after running twelve simulated portfolios, ranging from port that generate 8% to 20% p.a. , out of 12 ports,

To be continued...
Great thumbsup.gif I thought you have forgotten to share up, few post back your assistant angel reply to search few post backward. anyway forget about her.
now analyze Algo thingy while waiting for your continue Zen
SUSyklooi
post May 31 2017, 04:27 PM

8,188 posts

The ports that I have run simulation gave the highest possible return to be 21% (100% TA-GTF) and the lowest possible return is 7% (100% Esther Bond). Hence the whole spectrum of return is from 7 to 21%. As expected the higher the return the higher the risk aka std - deviation. After running 12 times with various composition of portfolios, I find that the most risk optimal point is around the 10, 11, 12 and 13% point.

Let's take 13% as the expected return. In order to get 13% the composition of UTFs are as below.

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Std - deviation of this portfolio is 4.41% and the risk to reward ratio is 13/4.41 = 2.95.

Xuzen
wow.... thumbup.gif seems like i just need to make some changes to get this portfolio....new to add in TA-GTF
wow,..the correlation is just so beautiful with this new port
wow,...if i can just have the heart to "throw away" some beloved funds like ponzi 1.0, EISC, india, greater china.....

xuzen, can i keep these just 2 of this funds at 5% each....PLEASE... cry.gif

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 15%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.
Greater China 5%
India 5%

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 31 2017, 04:32 PM

Avangelice
post May 31 2017, 04:39 PM

5,272 posts

just did a switch from RHB AIF to RHB EMBF with 25 myr switching fee then xuzen posts comes along. nice!
dasecret
post May 31 2017, 04:45 PM

1,498 posts

To be continued...

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Xuzen
Interesting

So no more love for India? AIF I can understand why, it's the kind of fund that do well in turmoil but not when the market is going up.

And welcome home jaguh kampung thumbsup.gif

Personal view, not supported with quant evidence - I'd swap REITs and maybe half of EMB for a AP EQ fund, in this case ponzi 2.0 is more suitable than ponzi 1.0
woonsc
post May 31 2017, 05:53 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

To be continued...

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Xuzen
thumbup.gif I guess I will be buying into TA GTF now..

EISCF @ 15%
REITs @ 15%
TA - GTF @ 25%
CIMB APDIF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 10%
India @ 10% icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by woonsc: May 31 2017, 05:57 PM
puchongite
post May 31 2017, 05:56 PM

33,696 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 31 2017, 04:45 PM)
Interesting

So no more love for India? AIF I can understand why, it's the kind of fund that do well in turmoil but not when the market is going up.

And welcome home jaguh kampung  thumbsup.gif

Personal view, not supported with quant evidence - I'd swap REITs and maybe half of EMB for a AP EQ fund, in this case ponzi 2.0 is more suitable than ponzi 1.0
REITS and EMB are still the "old wine" in this new bottle.
T231H
post May 31 2017, 07:08 PM

5,143 posts

some of the questions that we pondered, argued or are still pondering over the last weekend about the managed portfolio system had been answered....

Q1: Can we do top up/ partial sell or RSP at this juncture?
At this current stage, top up/partial sell and regular savings plan (RSP) are not available. For now, investors can only perform full buy and full redemption, subscribing into a single portfolio per account basis (we understand that it is not the most efficient way). The FSM team is working vigorously to enhance the system to allow for these features. At the meantime, while we are working on system enhancements, investors can take this opportunity to observe the portfolios first during this timeframe, before they decide to add on more investments when the features are set to be available for investors.

more questions and answers are here

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...Portfolios-8427

[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 31 2017, 08:51 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

To be continued...

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Xuzen
Huh, this post deserved to be in 1st page.

But bond 30% isn't it a lill more conservative?

Its time to sell RHB then. lost day by day,

At first thinking there was market correction or what, but out of my 7 funds, this 2 just act like falling knife..

This post has been edited by [Ancient]-XinG-: May 31 2017, 08:53 PM
Ramjade
post May 31 2017, 09:02 PM

24,386 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 31 2017, 08:51 PM)

Its time to sell RHB then. lost day by day,

At first thinking there was market correction or what, but out of my 7 funds, this 2 just act like falling knife..
Xuzen orang conservative what. RHB drop because USD dropping. If you have faith in USD, keep it. RM cannot keep appreciating. Will reverse course after election. If you have faith in RM, sell RHB. devil.gif
T231H
post May 31 2017, 09:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 31 2017, 08:51 PM)

hmm.gif the higher the bond ratio MAY not be a BAD things at times.....

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...lio-Returns-566

Nemozai
post May 31 2017, 09:29 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 31 2017, 09:24 PM)

Make me wonder why I have been building a so called aggressive portfolio with 80% EQ and 20% bond all these while. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Nemozai: May 31 2017, 09:30 PM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 31 2017, 09:33 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2017, 09:02 PM)
Xuzen orang conservative what. RHB drop because USD dropping. If you have faith in USD, keep it. RM cannot keep appreciating. Will reverse course after election. If you have faith in RM, sell RHB.  devil.gif
Keep abit lo since not much also... lol
Election near? I doubt. At least half a year to go.
But I see lot people in my kampong start wayang ad lol
QUOTE(T231H @ May 31 2017, 09:24 PM)

I think i will more aggressive in fsm because i have asx as my bond and some fd too...

QUOTE(Nemozai @ May 31 2017, 09:29 PM)
Make me wonder why I have been building a so called aggressive portfolio with 80% EQ and 20% bond all these while.  hmm.gif
Hey, almost same as mine...
T231H
post May 31 2017, 09:34 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ May 31 2017, 09:29 PM)
Make me wonder why I have been building a so called aggressive portfolio with 80% EQ and 20% bond all these while.  hmm.gif
you are not alone,...many people used to think of "higher the risk higher the returns".......
I think it because of ...sort of cumulative compounding effects of positive accumulation thru out the years....

1554 Pages « < 258 259 260 261 262 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:27 PM