73 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

T231H
post Feb 9 2017, 07:16 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Feb 9 2017, 06:25 PM)
Guys , need some advice here.
I have invested same amount in both CIMB Titans and AP means my investment portfolio is 50% 50%/ . Now the NAV value is 20% higher, and for both fund there was no distribution last year.  I understand from this forum if the price drop next year, i dont get anything

So in my current situation , what should i do? Since the NAV price is high now, i think it doesnt make sense to do a top up ? Does this mean i need to sell both the funds , enjoy the profit and reinvest into another fund with lower NAV?

Or is there another strategy here?
if your concern is you will not get anything if the price dropped......why not sell off the profits amount and go buy yourselve something nice or good to have?
Else if there is nothing material to do with the profit.....you can switch that profits into cmf or aniista bond fund for some diversification n some dry powder.
T231H
post Feb 9 2017, 08:42 PM

5,143 posts

Psssst! before FSM upgrade this ......

Moody's raises Indonesia outlook
http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/asean/1195...donesia-outlook
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 12:44 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Feb 10 2017, 12:37 PM)
KLCI breached 1700. is it still gonna go up up up or profit skimming will happen?
as always,...some corrections will happens later....

hmm.gif just not sure when it will be, for how long and how much.
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 01:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 10 2017, 01:05 PM)
Isn't this the correction itself ? Malaysia is undervalued right ?
yes, isn't it too fast?
in just 1 week..up this much?
what fundamental has changed?
any good news?

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 10 2017, 01:24 PM

T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 03:31 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ Feb 10 2017, 02:49 PM)
Hi Sifus, I plan to start invest some of my saving to prepare as future fund for my growing baby.

What fund you all can suggest? I am newbie to unit trust thing.
rclxms.gif welcome to this forum and it is a good thing that you starts to plan for it this early.

may I suggest you study an estimation of how much you needed to have (goal) to prepare as future fund for your growing baby and by when you needed to see that goal value (time horizon).

after you had the goal value, and the horizon (time frame)
then you determine how much you can set aside each month to reach that goal.

then surf the net....look for financial calculator to determine how much % of ROI pa you needed to generate with the monthly saving and time duration you have so that you can reach that goal value.

then see if there is a possibility to get ROI yearly with unit trusts funds......most probably you will need to have another investment vehicle....

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 10 2017, 03:32 PM
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 03:42 PM

5,143 posts

potential energy bar for those planning to go all out in equities.....
Where Are We in The Global Investment Cycle? What Does This Mean for Investors? [10 Feb]

"Investment implication:
.... while corrections should be anticipated – with Trump and upcoming Eurozone elections being potential triggers – we still appear to be a long way from the peak in the investment cycle. Second, non-US share markets and economies – notably Japan and Europe - are less advanced in their cycles and so provide opportunities for investors. "

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...s--10-Feb--7978
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 05:52 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(nick_linz @ Feb 10 2017, 05:46 PM)
I've just created an account at FSM and still doing readings on all these unit trusts, fixed income and trying to understand how to invest. Have some basic questions to ask the sifu here

Question 1:
According to this table at FSM: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All

For this fund: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR, it says the 5 year (%) is 115.60. Does this mean the projection is that you can get a return of 115.6% in 5 years time? Obviously I understand that this is only a forecast, but is this how this table is read?

Question 2:
I invest Affin Hwang Absolute Return Fund II on 2 Jan 2017 at Bid/NAV 1.0985. On 7 Jan 2017 the Bid/NAV price is 1.1452. My profit is the increase which is 4.25%. Is this correct?

Do bear with me with the noob questions while I try to get my basics right first. Thanks in advance!
Answer Q1. No...it is NOT projection.it was past results
AnswerQ2. Yes.but you need to minus the sales charges n other redemtion charges if any.
Btw, that is a wholesales fund...need alot of capital to start
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 08:13 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Eddy924 @ Feb 10 2017, 08:03 PM)
Do u guys think it's worth to pay little bit more sc (5.5 vs 2) on buying the funds with bank? Coz in FSM all depends on personal experience & awareness, while in bank at least there is one person ready for your enquiry, although noted FSM have client support channel via email, however recent enquiry reply like "copy paste" statement, I don't find their advice to me is constructive. But i aware lower SC = faster to break even, to see the return. And my investment plan start with minimal purchase then constantly dump in money for long term investment. Need some suggestion here, do u all start with self study on funds (through FSM) or learn from banker first?
hmm.gif
if you want, there are "live" chat with FSM CS other then Email
if you want, there are Client Investment Specialist in FSM
if you want you can pay the extra SC to use the bank employee.
if you want you can buy from the bank

for the sales charges differential is nothing in the longer terms......

just do what ever that is "comfortable" to you.....after all it is your money......have control and maximise to your wishes over it

T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 08:29 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 10 2017, 08:14 PM)
Did anyone see this Bank Central Asia crash? Really troublesome lah, BBCA appears in most of my funds. Today was supposed to be a good day, but this is a major loss that is very hard to offset.

https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/BBCA:IJ

It also drag down the entire Indonesia LQ45 index with it. https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/LQ45:IND

To make matters worse I can't find out what the cause of this is.
I think there is "nothing" to worry about....if you clicked at the 5 yr trend charts....there are many cases of BIG % drops can be noticed.
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 09:47 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice)
I may have missed, .....
have you started to buy in M'sia Eq funds yet or accumulate it? notworthy.gif
T231H
post Feb 11 2017, 08:36 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(afdhal_89 @ Feb 11 2017, 08:20 AM)
Awesome,  thx Avangelice!  Resourceful as always smile.gif
+100 thumbsup.gif
T231H
post Feb 12 2017, 09:50 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 12 2017, 09:21 PM)
if you are managing your wives portfolio I would suggest you have a 20 minute talk like what I did with mine. you need to get her to have a rough understand what is her risk appetite.
may I add on....
when there is a first chance,
let her know when the mkts corrected/dips.....show her how much was "lost"
ask her how she felt, see her emotion.

let her know when the mkts on bull run (like recently)
ask her how she felt, see her emotion.

let her know, volatility is always there, what she made during the bull may disappeared soon too....if she cannot take it or shows adverse emotions till it affects the family atmosphere ....then just take the money out.
T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 08:29 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Feb 13 2017, 07:33 AM)
My portfolio consisting of 50% KGF. Shall I trim now as the price went up alot ?
hmm.gif when you constructed that portfolio with 50% KGF, what is the objective? why go 50% KGF?
isn't now the results of your portfolio favourable to you?, isn't now is what you had hoped for?
what is the other 50%?
if you sell now, where do you want that money to go?
if you still want to hold 50% KGF, you can take the excess out to buy a valentine gift or move to a CMF

on the relativity note: KGF had just gone up abt 5% this last 6 months, which would be 2.5% of your portfolio increase...so now, there is just 52.5% of KGF in yr portfolio (simple maths calculation only) just 2.5% increase niah..not much wor...if you have the heart for 50% in KGF, I am sure there are rooms to take in another 10% or more.

else, you can try this....

Basic Steps To Construct An Investment Portfolio (very old article...just get the general idea)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Nov-2011--1753

The Importance of Rebalancing A Portfolio
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Portfolio-5374

The Nature of the Game – Rebalancing
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ebalancing-4232

Clearing Your Doubts On Rebalancing
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ebalancing-1980

As The Year Comes To A Close, Consider Rebalancing
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...Rebalancing-842

btw, there is nothing seriously wrong with holding 50% or 100% of a fund in a portfolio.....as long as 1 is happy with it......
but I would personally advocate a more diversified portfolio.....well maybe it is my age, the amount invested, the knowledge, faith and the chicken in me

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 13 2017, 09:05 AM
T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 09:21 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 13 2017, 09:07 AM)
It is a bit strange to me that when it not performing you are not doing anything about it but when doing better you want to trim it.
hmm.gif this may not be him...

but there are some that first got into so much faith in KGF due to its past performance and good recommendations bought it with full beliefs that it is a sure make money fund. but after having got it, the performance stayed flat, not up to historical expectation, the buyers felt dismayed, despaired at time felt cheated....what to do at that situation, no more faith to buy more again, cannot sell (for will be considered 100% lost)...just hold on with hope that it will recovers.
Now that KGF had recovered it losses or portfolio IRR had beaten FD rate.....some would just want to sell it off due to the "BAD experience" they had had.

have seen that for India and China funds during the last 3 years....
T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 09:45 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Feb 13 2017, 09:34 AM)
regardless, it still is very risky to just go into one fund though.
thumbsup.gif yes,....
but "maybe" he is getting that 50:50 based on this..with the hope that past performance may repeats.....for it had for the past 1,2,3,5,10 years beaten EPF

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 13 2017, 09:46 AM

T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 04:40 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 13 2017, 03:40 PM)
I think some of us are partly to be blamed for the onslaught of new members concentrating their entire portfolio into Asia ex Japan as we hardly talk about developed countries like US or Japan. I noticed the influx of new members with very Asian centric ports. its worrisome that the stuff we post here makes a huge impact
hmm.gif I think the main culprit is FSM.... biggrin.gif
they have been saying 5 Stars Rating for Asia Pac
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo

Asian Equities to Offer A 40% Potential Upside by End-2018
November 4, 2016
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...y-End-2018-7660

I am guilty too. mega_shok.gif

T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 07:03 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 06:55 PM)
I planning to put my.first 1k saving into affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum fund / TA Global Technology fund..subsequently I will add in rm 150-200 every month while continue to save money until enuf money den buy into diff fund..will it be a good choice? Just started working..not much spare to invest
you can try do RSP to cover most funds for your portfolio instead of having to start with just 2 funds.
try read this and contact FSM CIS or CS for further discussion on the T&C of RSP if you cannot get more from the RSP FAQs.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buyse...ntroduction.tpl

RSP FAQs
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...avings-Plan-976

T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 08:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 08:19 PM)
Then what is the different ah since we can choose our own fund also...how is it diff from putting 1k into the fund of our choice
hmm.gif you put in 1K buy 1 fund, then save for a few months another 1K to buy into another fund, and the cycle goes on until your diversified portfolio are achieves.....
in the meantime your portfolio maybe 1 sided.....

With RSP, you can set up and starts a diversified asset class and geographic markets diversification and ....
CONSIDER REGULAR SAVINGS PLANS
Investors who are unable to set aside the initial lump sum investment may find our Regular Savings Plan (RSP) more appealing. Fundsupermart currently has 198 unit trusts in the RSP Special List that does not require a minimum initial investment lump sum amount. For as little as RM100 a month, investors can choose to begin an RSP into any fund on the list.
The RSP utilises the "dollar cost averaging" concept, where a fixed sum of money is invested each month, regardless of whether the market has risen or fallen. When the markets are heading up, you buy fewer units per dollar invested while still participating in the ascent of financial markets. When the markets are heading down, the situation is reversed and you purchase a greater of number of units per dollar invested, allowing the investor to benefit from market volatility to the downside. Over the long run, the cost of the investment averages out, saving you the time and effort required to monitor market movements and strategically time your investments.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...July-2015--6123

This post has been edited by T231H: Feb 13 2017, 08:31 PM
T231H
post Feb 14 2017, 06:25 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(afdhal_89 @ Feb 13 2017, 11:33 PM)
Hi guys, really enjoyed reading everyone's views and insight on the current market trend.

I'd like to ask regarding CMF. If i gain certain profit after certain period of investing, i have options to transfer my gains to CMF or leave it in the fund. Any benefit if i just  leave the profit as it is in the fund?
I assumed you are asking, if got gains from the funds, should you move to CMF or leave in in those funds....

I assumed you have a portfolio of diverse asset/geographical funds in you portfolio

(On portfolio's asset class level)
I assumed you have determined a certain ratio of FI:EQ when you first set up a portfolio,
if you have, review and determine to see whether those ratio are still comfortable to you NOW.
if you have reviewed it, review it now with the current ratios (including the gains)
if you have, determine how much out of sync those ratios are......
if you have, determine how comfortable are you with those out of sync ratios value.
if you have and if you are still comfortable, don't shift those ratio from EQ to FI
else shift those gains from EQ to FI to the desired ratios

(on portfolio's composition level)
on determining which gains from the EQ funds to shift out? .....

hmm.gif
I assumed you have determined a certain targeted % for each funds when you first set up a portfolio,
if you have, review and determine to see whether those % are still comfortable to you NOW.
if you have reviewed it, review it now with the current % (including the gains)
if you have, determine how much out of sync those % are......
if you have, determine how comfortable are you with those out of sync those % value. (review fund by fund)
if you have and if you are still comfortable (after taking into consideration of the current Star ratings too), don't shift those % from that fund(s) to others
else shift those excess % to other fund(s) to maintain them to the desired % level.

on your question of "Any benefit if i just leave the profit as it is in the fund?"
I assumed you meant left those gains in those funds....
Yes, you have a lot of units at lower prices.....(which could helps maintain your ROI of those funds in Green territories during corrections/dips to a certain extend)
No, the ratios or % of your asset/geographical compositions may be over your comfort zones.
Maybe, for you have to find it out during the next cycle of corrections/dips, how your emotions/psychological feeling are......have to really experience it to learnt it and adjust to it.

Terima Kasih

T231H
post Feb 14 2017, 06:37 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Feb 14 2017, 12:48 AM)
What stock are you currently holding if i may ask ?
On the other hand, looks like the Dow is currently cruising upwards rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
I liked that up and keep on rising feeling too.....

some people said...... they are just like when on Viagra with Vodka PLUS a young and sexy moy

but some people also said.....
Historically, when the US market has traded over 17X PE, those were considered times when valuations were high. That means that the chances of a market correction in that market over the next one to three years have increased. Certainly, there are other cheaper markets than US to be in. Thus, accordingly, one should reduced his/her portfolio’s exposure to US equities and move to other more desired lower valued regions.

currently I liked the 1st group of people more, thus will continue for a few more weeks to enjoy the Viagra with Vodka PLUS a young and sexy moy's feeling.
just hope the feeing would last.....it just feel so much uuuumph for the past few weeks.

73 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 AM