11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post Feb 13 2017, 10:56 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 12 2017, 10:05 PM)
Both UTF NAV & Stock price do increase ex-dividend date, not just stock price alone.

However, if one wants to really be nitpicking or hair splitting (hint hint Dasecret), dividend from stock is taken from the profit and not capital. If capital is used, then the term used should technically be called capital repayment, not called dividend.

P/s waiting for auntie Dasecret to come and correct me or to give her dua sen worth of professional advise. For the uninitiated, auntie Dasecret is a chartered accountant  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif

On the other hand, distribution (UTF's jargon eqv to dividend for stock), can be taken from both income and capital.

Xuzen
hmm.gif why tag me pulak... not sure what I can contribute on this

Anyway, dividends can only be declared when there's distributable reserves, usually derived from profits from operation, be it this year or previous's.
With the new company's bill effective last month, directors are now required to make a solvency assessment before they declare dividends to make sure that dividends would not have an adverse impact to the cashflow position of the entity

capital repayment is quite rare for ordinary shareholders, so I'm not familiar with its requirements or uses.
dasecret
post Feb 15 2017, 01:47 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 15 2017, 01:37 PM)
The big question is where are you now ? How far from 12% ?  blink.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 15 2017, 01:43 PM)
I am at 5%+
Why 12%? You do realise the benefits that you feel available in SG and not MY such as better funds would mean that in a bull run you would earn more with funds in SG instead of MY; and if you believe SGD:MYR would go up to 3.5 in near future would mean it's better to translate now than later right?

Just pointing out the obvious cool2.gif
dasecret
post Feb 27 2017, 03:44 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 26 2017, 12:33 PM)
If you do recall, these products where is deemed wholsesale fund or fund open only to "sophisticated / accreditated" investors comes with certain T&C. Among them, the targeted participant must have MYR 3M in networth and / or household combined earning of MYR400K p.a..

For these qualified participants, it is assume that they have the financial capacity to withstand these flucuation and liquidity risk.

Whenn one sees these products from a retail perspective; that is why you start to think like this and like that such as; about DCA lar, about risk lar etc.

Interested participants should comprehend that these wholesale products are not targeting retail participants.

As such, come friend ... lai lai... let's play together-gether at the kiddie pool. Kiddie pool is nice, is safe and yet one can still enjoy the nice cool water.

Xuzen
Thanks boss. Obviously on this thread what you say bear a lot more weight than what I say. Been trying to say this so many times and yet get replies like "but the initial investment only RM10k", or "FSM doesn't check or ask for income or networth proof"

How do you protect retail investors from banging wall on their own? sweat.gif
dasecret
post Feb 28 2017, 03:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 28 2017, 02:54 PM)
maybe too new? I mean didn't they just open up esther to fsm market?
I don't have an answer to it, the selection methodology is quite open ended and doesn't specify and fund house exclusion. But I noticed Affin Hwang did not win anything in both 2016 and 2017.
Another possibility is they only rate MYR bonds and select bond is more of an asia bond fund like RHB ATR and RHB EM bond

By the way AmDynamic used to be "THE BOND" to hold. Until they had some issues few years back. I supposed that's why they are still the winner for 10 years
dasecret
post Mar 1 2017, 10:25 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 28 2017, 06:21 PM)
Where can get the latest list?
KWSP website is now updated with the latest list effective today
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/...vestment-scheme
Public Mutual and RHB has the most suspended funds it seems. Even Kidsave which was a once flagship fund is now suspended. PM's highest return funds - Small cap and islamic opportunities also suspended

QUOTE(howszat @ Feb 28 2017, 10:23 PM)
Just want to point out something that has been discussed in previous posts.

That the best time to buy funds is when the valuations are cheap, and not when the sales charges are cheap.

Of course, there are many other factors to consider.
Glad to see that the forumers here are beginning to remember this advice rclxms.gif
dasecret
post Mar 1 2017, 03:40 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 1 2017, 10:50 AM)
Promotion: 1% Sales Charge On Asia Pacific Equity Income

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ty-Income--8058

FSM Fund Choice: Asia Pacific Equity Income [March 2017]

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arch-2017--8056
Interesting choice from FSM. This is one fund that I have love hate relationship with. The volatility is higher than most asia pac EQ funds. Everytime it's down I'd vow to sell it, after I sell some it would go back up. At the moment my IRR is 8.6 %; held for almost 4 years. Bought this fund same time as RHB Asian Income Fund; much prefer AIF's stability; and my IRR for AIF is 10.4%
dasecret
post Mar 8 2017, 10:23 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 8 2017, 10:15 AM)
Wew, PRS is not a 1% per annum investment product..
PRS is a normal fund with extras:

Pros: Tax relieve, no SC = higher growth

Cons: lock in until you reach retirement age, hard to switch funds
Let me trigger some discussion here

while your points are correct, there's one more item you have not considered

The effective expense ratio is higher for PRS funds that takes a feeder fund model because unfortunately the way PPA structure the fund, the mother funds have their management fee and expenses; while PRS funds management fee portion is not double counted; the expenses are incurred in both mother fund and PRS fund. So although you saved on sales charge; which is one off; every year you pay slightly more on the expenses. And in someone's books, that's totally unacceptable; for me, the tax savings still justifies it

for details on this I'd suggest you look into old discussion on the PRS thread involving myself n xuzen.
dasecret
post Mar 9 2017, 02:09 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 9 2017, 01:52 PM)
Actually from the list of funds, I am already seeing Amreits, Ponzi 2, CIMB titans are coming down.

Those are still on the rise are EISC, KGF and Ponzi 1.

And if you say you are at all time high, meaning your MY allocation in the port must be quite high.
Mine also same; but I think Msia allocatio high or not is relative. When everyone else here say Msia doom doom doom I continue to hold MY funds lor

So who else still have their MY EQ funds?
dasecret
post Mar 12 2017, 10:47 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 09:57 AM)
Inter switching? Then u need to look for funds within the same fund house.

A bit difficult...cos the "star" funds are all from different fund houses doh.gif

Take your pick, do your own mix and match tongue.gif

Global bond
Hwang Select Bond
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond
RHB Asian Total Return

Pure MYR bond
OSK-UOB Income Fund (up to 30% in Asian bonds)
AmBond
Kenanga Bond

Global equity
Pacific Global Stars
Pacific Dana Dividend (Shariah-compliant, heavy Malaysian focus)
Alliance Global Equities
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield
RHB Global Fortune

Malaysian equity
Kenanga Growth
Eastspring Investments Equity Income
Hwang Select Opportunity (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)
Hwang Select Dividend (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)
Yea, most funds got no exit fee. Like in this case, u will kena charge at the "buy" side, Kenanga.

Yea, HwangIM is a good fund house. nod.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 12 2017, 09:35 PM)
Actually it was introduced long time ago when dasecret bought it from affin hwang at 3% SC whil wil-i-am bought it at 0% SC. It was sold briefly by FSM and then kena tarik.
This kind of credit I don't dare to claim lor.... did a quick search and the fund was already mentioned in the first ever FSM thread 4 years ago notworthy.gif

p/s: I didn't pay 3% la; the maximum charge on the sales channel I bought from is 2% but I didn't pay that much either cool2.gif All in all it was a great buy, cos with the lobbying here, now it only cost 0.2% platform fees for future purchases

pp/s: Miss having william around. Who keep in touch with him?
dasecret
post Mar 13 2017, 09:50 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 13 2017, 09:37 AM)
Apasai dig my old post and saman me here blink.gif
Didn't saman la; just showing the newer ppl here that select bond was discussed way back ma

Most of the old timers don't spend time here anymore cry.gif
dasecret
post Mar 13 2017, 09:53 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 13 2017, 09:41 AM)
I'm more surprised she remembered that post and manage to dig it up. very impressed. shows women have very good memories, for better or worst. lol
it's call using the search function. and it's more auditor's skills than woman memories

I haven't even started hanging out here in 2013, was still on property threads
dasecret
post Mar 13 2017, 05:47 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 13 2017, 05:25 PM)
Last Friday, Ponzi 1.0 up a lot!

+0.0318 to 1.6659
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 13 2017, 05:42 PM)
you check kapchai fund and you know why
Ponzi 1.0 1 day change is 1.8%; kapchai pun lose ok

Sometimes fund of the month that FSM promotes is really timely. Glad I topped up ponzi 1.0 last month following FSM's buy call; 7.4% ROI since 3 Feb rclxm9.gif

This month's APEI buy call I'm still not so confident

This post has been edited by dasecret: Mar 13 2017, 05:49 PM
dasecret
post Mar 14 2017, 05:57 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Mar 14 2017, 05:47 PM)
RHB EM is -1% in one week. Still want to keep ?
Affin Select bond fund is less affected compared to EM.
Select bond's forex is hedged; so when MYR weakens, select bond won't go up as much as EM bond. Not quite the apple to apple comparison if you ask me
dasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 10:38 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 14 2017, 09:16 PM)
Portfolio status before tmr's RSP tongue.gif

[attachmentid=8593215]
So what's your plan on REITS? That's your lowest IRR funds and quite high allocation

Very high risk portfolio sweat.gif
dasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 04:22 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 15 2017, 04:16 PM)
No la...i do both...i want to know more about ut because asb i almost know everything hehe...

Im still new as a UT consultant so i need more knowledge about UT so i can counter or explain in detail when i see my clients or prospects.

Can right? Hehe...i can see there are many otai UT here...
Wow, you know everything about ASB?

My ever burning question of ASB - What is the NAV of ASB? Don't tell me 1.00 per unit because that's just the book value that it's trade at. I would like to know what is the value of its underlying assets; both 70+% quoted shares and 20+% other investments
dasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 04:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 15 2017, 04:28 PM)
Dont get me wrong i know about asb technique and calculation use in asb financing. That details u ask u can get it in the ASB prospectus...hehe...
That goes to show that you've not read the master prospectus nor the financial statements for ASB. The NAV is not disclosed; in fact, the so called financial statements do not even present statement of financial position (in layman terms balance sheet), beats me why they even call it financial statements, more like incomplete records.

I asked because I've exhausted methods I know how to get the information and I have a genuine interest to find out. It's more than just dividend rate that matters

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 15 2017, 04:30 PM)
Quite a let down lor. We gave you two questions both also you can't give a satisfactory answer.  devil.gif
Yawor, I thought I met the otai who can finally give me answer to my burning question
dasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 05:31 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 15 2017, 04:55 PM)
Since you say you know almost everything about ASB (yes, the bumi FP fund), which is a cloud of mystery for us who try to understand it from mutual funds perspective.

You see NAV is the price that the fund value at, which shows the net asset per unit

NAV do fluctuate as per market movement, but not the case for ASB

Which then we want to know how is the true performance of this fund (not the dividend declared to the unit holders), since it is not disclosed publicly, which make it very suspicious such as the recent years distribution (despite negative KLCI performance)
QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 15 2017, 05:22 PM)
For ASB, ASW 2020, AS, ASD 1 malaysia and asb 2 the introduction of MFRS requires the fund to apply NAV in its valuation bases and processes.

The SC has specified that ASB, ASW 2020, ASM,ASD and AS 1 Malaysia are not required to comply with MFRS 139 and MFRS 7 until 31 december 2018.

I dunno if this can help u or not to clarify any involve ASB NAV or whatsoever u r trying to seek for... Anyway i come here is to learn about UT...hehe...but for ASB calculation i might can help u guys.
Anyway, what I wanted to know, on top of the market value of the quoted shares; is also what is this other investments/pelaburan lain dan aset bersih

But nevermind la, I'm not vested in ASB and can never be. If ppl who are vested are happy of not knowing, why should I be so nosy. This fund is not even capital guaranteed like Tabung Haji which raises the risk of bail out causing a systemic risk to the country
dasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 05:56 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 15 2017, 05:33 PM)
Note : i have read the master prospectus u look at page 218. Yes ASB and ASW 2020 are exempted from disclosing about etc2 include statement of changes in NAV. (Download the master prospectus and read by yourself)

Anyway tq for open my eyes about the fact of ASB...
Thanks, I am aware of the exemption granted. But aren't you curious about the underlying value of the assets that you invested in?

anyway, I should stop here la. Not like this discussion will really get anywhere

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Mar 15 2017, 05:44 PM)
[Vanguard eating popcorn and watching the new member getting grilled]

Talk about getting a warm reception.  biggrin.gif
Boss, don't like that la. It's just one of those topics I like to kepo about; cos cannot get answer. How la a set of accounts without balance sheet. Accountant+Auditor OCD

dasecret
post Mar 16 2017, 10:22 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 16 2017, 10:16 AM)
I don't mind paying. I suck in excel. do you have one?
Send me $$ and your transaction listing and I fill in for you want? brows.gif
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:19 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 04:12 PM)
Hi guys was wondering where should I park my MYR as I currently am working in SG and has already a FSM SG holder subscribing to their robo-advisory service. But I still have quite a bit of MYR left in the country and not considering converting it to SGD due to the bad rate, but was wondering should I throw in to FSM MY and bear the 2% SC (which FSM SG has 0% SC) or is there any better option?

Note: Not bumiputera, else would throw all in to ASB.
Answer to your note - There are ASx funds that allows non-bumi to invest in, they are usually fully subscribed but you can still try your luck to place your orders. Especially now there's online portal to do it. Look for the Amanah Saham thread and the folks will guide you accordingly

As for FSM MY, personally I'd go for it. Yes, they charge one off sales charge for equity funds, but that means no platform fees. So long run it can work out to be cheaper. There's also switching ninja trick that makes sure you only pay sales charge once for every ringgit you invest in equity fund. but it's tedious la

Unfortunately FSM MY does not offer robo advisory yet, so you will need to figure out what fund you want to invest in and buy them accordingly. There's a list of favorites among the forumers here. Crystal ball's prediction is particularly popular. I can list you mine too but I take no responsibility if you lose money following my recommendation tongue.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:13 AM