1554 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

adele123
post Mar 9 2017, 08:11 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Mar 8 2017, 04:16 PM)
Maybe I did not make my sentence clearer...
What i meant was the initial tax relief you got when amortised (new word to me) over a long period of time, the advantage is probably not going to worth it for all the hassle of PRS..
E.g. you get 20% tax rebate from the PRS, and you still have 20 years before you can withdraw this money. This works out to roughly 1% p.a. which means  whatever your PRS return was that year, you add 1% return to it.
So this versus you put this money into FSM or whatever and actively manage it whereby you are free to choose between hundreds of UT products and you are free to withdraw all during a freefall..

Hope you get the gist of what I am trying to say, I aint well-versed in economic terms.. I am not disputing the power of compound interest or UT in general

My point is there are pros and cons and probably more cons than what ppl thought.
E.g. If we have a retiree-gonna-be, then this PRS income tax relief is a no brainer, since he is going to get his money back within a few years
Not disagreeing with you. but another perspective is this
1) alot of them dont need the 3k now. For me, Some of the PRS funds are perfectly fine in terms of returns vs volatility (not sure about expenses though, maybe i should research on it)
2) not fair to amortise it over 20 years lo. it's still your money, cannot withdraw only...
3) i agree with the hundreds of fund to choose from... but for those who don't manage their finances well, this is one method lo.
4) those who manage finances well, can't help but just want to capitalise on the tax savings.

Like you have said, maybe one should be more selective about the prs funds they chose, rather than just pick one and leave it as it is. if not the returns does not justify the tax savings gained 20 years ago...

rapple
post Mar 9 2017, 08:37 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

What i meant was the initial tax relief you got when amortised (new word to me) over a long period of time, the advantage is probably not going to worth it for all the hassle of PRS..
E.g. you get 20% tax rebate from the PRS, and you still have 20 years before you can withdraw this money. This works out to roughly 1% p.a. which meansĀ  whatever your PRS return was that year, you add 1% return to it.
So this versus you put this money into FSM or whatever and actively manage it whereby you are free to choose between hundreds of UT products and you are free to withdraw all during a freefall..

Hope you get the gist of what I am trying to say, I aint well-versed in economic terms.. I am not disputing the power of compound interest or UT in general

My point is there are pros and cons and probably more cons than what ppl thought.
E.g. If we have a retiree-gonna-be, then this PRS income tax relief is a no brainer, since he is going to get his money back within a few years
Why we should pay more taxes when there's a way to saved it? rclxub.gif

In short term you have extra rm600 cash.

In a longer term you have another 3k for retirement.

This post has been edited by rapple: Mar 9 2017, 08:38 AM
coolguy99
post Mar 9 2017, 09:09 AM

7,350 posts

So if I place in 3k into PRS. I can get 3k + an additional 1k tax relief if I am < 31 years old?
T231H
post Mar 9 2017, 09:22 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Mar 9 2017, 09:09 AM)
So if I place in 3k into PRS. I can get 3k + an additional 1k tax relief if I am < 31 years old?
the RM1k is NOT additional tax relief...it is youth incentive
actually put RM1k ok already....to get the youth incentive....
there are more T&C other than age.....
RM3K is to get the max tax relief/rebate allowed.

This post has been edited by T231H: Mar 9 2017, 09:42 AM
Avangelice
post Mar 9 2017, 09:43 AM

5,272 posts

for those who own a house and still on the fence on putting your money in prs you can do what I do.

initiate a withdrawal from EPF by using account 2 to pay into your monthly home loan. epf will bank in your money into a bank account of your choice.

1) yearly epf contribution is already tax deductible.

2)contributions to prs is tax deductible.

3) both epf and prs have the same lock down period.

as long as you manage to ur prs every year and making sure it makes more than epf dividend. you are essentially enjoying tax rebates twice without it disturbing your finance
Drian
post Mar 9 2017, 09:45 AM

4,999 posts

E.g. you get 20% tax rebate from the PRS, and you still have 20 years before you can withdraw this money. This works out to roughly 1% p.a. which meansĀ  whatever your PRS return was that year, you add 1% return to it.

It's not so simple because you have to consider the tax returns as a form of capital.
Lets assume you have 3k and you can either invest in PRS or unit trust.

If you invest in unit trust:-

Investment capital unit trust:- RM3k

If you invest in PRS:-

Invstment capital unit trust : RM720 (24% of 3k)
Investment capital PRS: RM3k

So you start of with a total higher investment capital if you go through the PRS route.
But I do agree if your tax bracket is lower than 20%, you probably better of starting with unit trust and when your tax bracket exceed the 20% range , start investing in PRS.

Now at 20 years whether or not you're better off with PRS or Unit Trust depends on PRS returns and unit trust returns.

This post has been edited by Drian: Mar 9 2017, 09:58 AM
Kaka23
post Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM

8,259 posts

My total portfolio at all time high interms of ROI... smile.gif
Avangelice
post Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM)
Don't jinx it bro. =)
ykit_88
post Mar 9 2017, 11:19 AM

264 posts

Sorry off topic abit. Not sure if this is the right platform to ask.

I've open a PRS account with my friend cum AIA insurance agent two years back to get the RM500 incentive.
Is it possible to transfer from AIA to another service provider OR preferably FSM?
Kaka23
post Mar 9 2017, 11:23 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM)
Don't jinx it bro. =)
rolleyes.gif Just update it today... feeling happy!

This year did not purchase or topup any UT yet to date... everything has been good

Vanguard 2015
post Mar 9 2017, 11:26 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM)
Don't jinx it bro. =)
Kaka is a sis. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:23 AM)
rolleyes.gif  Just update it today... feeling happy!

This year did not purchase or topup any UT yet to date... everything has been good
Sis, no time no see. Sudah hilang pergi mana?
T231H
post Mar 9 2017, 11:54 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ykit_88 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:19 AM)
Sorry off topic abit. Not sure if this is the right platform to ask.

I've open a PRS account with my friend cum AIA insurance agent two years back to get the RM500 incentive.
Is it possible to transfer from AIA to another service provider OR preferably FSM?
Call them to ask then let us know will you?
Thks
newbiz2008
post Mar 9 2017, 12:26 PM

102 posts

Bro any suggestion for global titan fund? Let go or hold, I had 10% capital gain now
Avangelice
post Mar 9 2017, 12:28 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2008 @ Mar 9 2017, 12:26 PM)
Bro any suggestion for global titan fund? Let go or hold, I had 10% capital gain now
1) hold for capital appreciation (long term growth)

2) skim profit

why sell?

voyage23
post Mar 9 2017, 01:32 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:12 AM)
Same!
Amreits (1.76%)
Ponzi 2 (12.12%)
CIMB Titans (14.71%)
EISC (8.62%)
KGF (11.88%)

Waiting to see when will all these come crashing down...when is the burble bursting. hmm.gif
puchongite
post Mar 9 2017, 01:52 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Mar 9 2017, 01:32 PM)
Same!
Amreits (1.76%)
Ponzi 2 (12.12%)
CIMB Titans (14.71%)
EISC (8.62%)
KGF (11.88%)

Waiting to see when will all these come crashing down...when is the burble bursting. hmm.gif
Actually from the list of funds, I am already seeing Amreits, Ponzi 2, CIMB titans are coming down.

Those are still on the rise are EISC, KGF and Ponzi 1.

And if you say you are at all time high, meaning your MY allocation in the port must be quite high.
frankzane
post Mar 9 2017, 02:01 PM

664 posts

Hi Sifus,

I still don't understand:

Let's say I invested RM1000 in a fund and now I have a 6% return. So to 'earn' that return I have to sell some of the units right?

That means my unit has now decreased (assuming no top up). So what will happen next month? With lesser units in hand, will I still see profits? Or what should I do?
vincabby
post Mar 9 2017, 02:06 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Mar 9 2017, 02:01 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I still don't understand:

Let's say I invested RM1000 in a fund and now I have a 6% return. So to 'earn' that return I have to sell some of the units right?

That means my unit has now decreased (assuming no top up). So what will happen next month? With lesser units in hand, will I still see profits? Or what should I do?
u bought at a lower price, you sell, you have lesser units. when it goes up, your profit from the remaining units in it will of course be lesser than compared to if you did not touch it at all.

you will then live in either of this two universes. 1. sold. "why i sell?? should keep so i get more profit!"
2. didn't sell " lucky i didn't sell. now i see more profit. up up up!"

of course, if after selling, it goes down, then you know the drill. make your own scenarios wat it's like.
Avangelice
post Mar 9 2017, 02:08 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Mar 9 2017, 01:32 PM)
Same!
Amreits (1.76%)
Ponzi 2 (12.12%)
CIMB Titans (14.71%)
EISC (8.62%)
KGF (11.88%)

your AmAsia REITs return is same as mine and I have been holding it since last year. thinking if I should just let it go
Red_rustyjelly
post Mar 9 2017, 02:09 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Mar 9 2017, 02:06 PM)
u bought at a lower price, you sell, you have lesser units. when it goes up, your profit from the remaining units in it will of course be lesser than compared to if you did not touch it at all.

you will then live in either of this two universes. 1. sold. "why i sell?? should keep so i get more profit!"
                                                                      2. didn't sell " lucky i didn't sell. now i see more profit. up up up!"

of course, if after selling, it goes down, then you know the drill. make your own scenarios wat it's like.
Isn't this like stock market?

1554 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:29 PM