1553 Pages « < 547 548 549 550 551 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

adele123
post Jan 2 2018, 07:52 PM

4,723 posts

Why the sudden sway towards eastspring dinasti? Why not other china/asia funds?

This fund was barely mentioned last time...

Edit: seems like eastspring dinasti performs better than cimb greater china.

I don't have china funds, don't plan to add. But good luck

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 2 2018, 08:06 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 2 2018, 07:57 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 2 2018, 07:52 PM)
Why the sudden sway towards eastspring dinasti? Why not other china/asia funds?

This fund was barely mentioned last time...
no idea. I stopped jumping on one fund to another. getting a little silly like sheep
besiegetank
post Jan 2 2018, 10:19 PM

918 posts

Well as a smart consumer we should only go for high performing funds. So whichever fund that can perform the strongest among its peers deserve my money. We should not hold on to any fund for too long if it is under performing.
kenny79
post Jan 2 2018, 10:41 PM

3,200 posts

Rm raise 1% for those fund based on usd now is headc
Cactus89
post Jan 2 2018, 10:59 PM

75 posts

Asian equities recorded new high on today trading. Most likely there will be marginal gain for today, after taking account of bullish ringgit run.
MUM
post Jan 3 2018, 05:27 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(Cactus89 @ Jan 2 2018, 10:59 PM)
Asian equities recorded new high on today trading. Most likely there will be marginal gain for today, after taking account of bullish ringgit run.
hmm.gif
does this ringgit rise across the whole Asian currencies that are in the asset of the fund(s) ?
does the quantum of ringgit rise is at the same % of the rise in the stock prices of the stocks that the fund(s) held?
does the fund(s) have any currencies hedging?

Diversify and be less concerned about the daily movement of the fiancial happenings, be it currencies, indexes, kim or trump.

MUM
post Jan 3 2018, 06:00 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Jan 2 2018, 10:41 PM)
Rm raise 1% for those fund based on usd now is headc
hmm.gif unknown to how severe your term of headache in quantifiable units of measurement....
from the attached, with unknown rate of movement of USD/RM, it seems not much different in NAV changes.......

MUM
post Jan 3 2018, 06:03 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jan 2 2018, 10:19 PM)
Well as a smart consumer we should only go for high performing funds. So whichever fund that can perform the strongest among its peers deserve my money. We should not hold on to any fund for too long if it is under performing.
hmm.gif how long would you set for yourself?
Cactus89
post Jan 3 2018, 07:35 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 3 2018, 05:27 AM)
hmm.gif
does this ringgit rise across the whole Asian currencies that are in the asset of the fund(s) ?
does the quantum of ringgit rise is at the same % of the rise in the stock prices of the stocks that the fund(s) held?
does the fund(s) have any currencies hedging?

Diversify and be less concerned about the daily movement of the fiancial happenings, be it currencies, indexes, kim or trump.
Depending on what fund you are holding. Eg ponzi 2 or greater china. their base currency are in USD. hence the strengthening of myr and weakness of usd will cause the decline in the fund of the performance.
I do agree with you, diversification is an important.

besiegetank
post Jan 3 2018, 07:44 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 3 2018, 06:03 AM)
hmm.gif how long would you set for yourself?
Depends really on the nature and fundamental of each fund but I would say normally 6 months to 1 year would be the best to gauge.
MUM
post Jan 3 2018, 08:51 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(Cactus89 @ Jan 3 2018, 07:35 AM)
Depending on what fund you are holding. Eg ponzi 2 or greater china. their base currency are in USD. hence the strengthening of myr and weakness of usd  will cause the decline in the fund of the performance.
I do agree with you, diversification is an important.
but both of the funds mentioned were up while the MYR is up too for the fiscal year 2017

Cactus89
post Jan 3 2018, 11:26 AM

75 posts

Zoom into q4 2017, ringgit was hiking like crazy.. it sort of compounded the effect of dropping of the all the fund. Eg, Schroeder ISF greater china on 29/12 0.33 however GC cimb -0.22. Other there are certain period where the target fund drop but feeder fund rise. As for yesterday, Msci apac increased 1 % , due the hike in myr which cancel off the gain. Hence we wont be seeing any spike in the fund performance.This is the FX risk, being mentioned in the prospectus
In a longer period term, there will be lesser fluctuations cause by FX exchange
MUM
post Jan 3 2018, 11:51 AM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(Cactus89 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:26 AM)
Zoom into q4 2017, ringgit was  hiking like crazy.. it sort of compounded the effect of dropping of the all the fund. Eg, Schroeder ISF greater china on 29/12  0.33 however GC cimb -0.22. Other there are certain period where the target fund drop but feeder fund rise. As for yesterday, Msci apac increased 1  % , due the hike in myr which cancel off the gain. Hence we wont be seeing any spike in the fund performance.This is the FX risk, being mentioned in the prospectus
wow,...good observation. thumbup.gif
ssajnani
post Jan 3 2018, 12:16 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 2 2018, 11:57 AM)
I now have a historical data from period 1st Jan 2017 to 1st Jan 2018 ( exactly one year data ).

My port did a 7.XX% ROI, close to 8% p.a. In my twelve months of tracking, only one month registered a loss, that is in Nov 2017.

Std-Dev is also around 7.XX% making my risk to reward ratio around 0.9

Skewness is mildly positive around 0.19 meaning the port has a slight tendency to gravitate towards positive return.

Relative Kurtosis is negative meaning the data points tend to gravitate towards the mean and not diversely spread out.

=====================

Action plan for Jan 2018:

Top up:

1) RM 500.00 into Manureits: This is my defender. A cross between a pure bond and balanced fund. She will provide me stable return and also good diversification.

2) RM 1,000.00 into KGF. I am bullish / above neutral on Malaysia exposure because: PRU-14 effect, expected good corporate earning in Q4Yr2017, KLCI is now the cheapest PER amongs ASEAN peer, oversold, Foreign fund inflow expected.

3) RM 500.00 into Eastspring Dinasti. Hang Seng index PER is still in the single digit region. Cheap... bargain sale!

4) I'll give a neutral call on the US now. I'll stop buying TA Tech because US has very high PER , but I won't sell yet because their economic numbers remain robust. Unemployment rate is low meaning the people there have jobs and when they have jobs, they have money to spend. Which will raise domestic consumption. Tax reform, meaning less tax = higher earning for the US Company. US PMI index is above 50, meaning the production is expanding which means manufacturer are producing more goods.

Kitty & Ancient-XinG, the above are what my Lic FP shared with me during my tok-kok / yamcha / blow water session during New year eve.

Xuzen

P/S Let us Huat together - gether in 2018!  rclxm9.gif
Bro Xuzen,

So you will have IDS and KGF?

Regards,

SUSyklooi
post Jan 3 2018, 02:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Caravanserai @ Jan 3 2018, 01:08 PM)
Hey, wanna ask sifu here.
If you're buying equity type fund, what is the exit strategy if there's a bear market?
I don't have exit strategy......my exit strategy is when the fund(s) no more perform, no more in my intended portfolio outlook & composition, when I do my portfolio review...be it in bear or bull market.

Is this the time for a "portfolio rebalancing"?
I think, bear market is not a time to do rebalancing.....one may just redeploy his/her FI to Eq...but at times due to emotional fear,...I believe they still keep some in FI...

What would you do actually?
Sit it out....for if one had a diversified portfolio, thus nothing much need to do

Switching to bond/money market fund?
Redeem all your affected equity funds?
No,....too painful and too late for that...and will definitely missing the larger gains during rebounce....

read this article...FSM shows you if missed just some good days

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...the-market--431

Do nothing and hope for a rebounce?
Yes.....as history showed us that mkts always rebounce with a vengeance and all time highs are always created....

Anyone experienced 1997/1998 or 2007-2009?
for me, it is the Y2K dotcom burst.

What have you done last time?
sat it out,.....for i had the 1 important UT investing foundation that i practised......i ONLY used money for UT investment with the money that i would never need to touch for a few years..
This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 3 2018, 02:39 PM

xuzen
post Jan 3 2018, 02:41 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Jan 3 2018, 12:16 PM)
Bro Xuzen,

So you will have IDS and KGF?

Regards,
Back to the sweet embrace of Auntie Lee Sook Yee wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif since two months ago....

Tried to be a little adventurous , cari some extra makan with IDS. Didn't turn out to be a long term affair, mainly a short fling event only.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 3 2018, 02:47 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Cactus89 @ Jan 3 2018, 11:26 AM)
Zoom into q4 2017, ringgit was  hiking like crazy.. it sort of compounded the effect of dropping of the all the fund. Eg, Schroeder ISF greater china on 29/12  0.33 however GC cimb -0.22. Other there are certain period where the target fund drop but feeder fund rise. As for yesterday, Msci apac increased 1  % , due the hike in myr which cancel off the gain. Hence we wont be seeing any spike in the fund performance.This is the FX risk, being mentioned in the prospectus
All this FX is highly unpredictable and is not correlated with fundamentals. It is purely driven by human emotion and emotion, is so fleeting and unpredictable.

Trying to predict FX is like trying to forecast the weather. More disappointment than success in my book.

Try to think objectively, most of us working class Malaysians would have a large chunk of our wealth sitting in MYR denominated KWSP. So what is a little exposure to Non-MYR assets? Isn't this what diversification is all about?

Many have forgotten diversification is not about winning big, it is about losing little. Don't forget that... the main reason for diversification.

Xuzen
Ramjade
post Jan 3 2018, 03:09 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Caravanserai @ Jan 3 2018, 01:08 PM)
Hey, wanna ask sifu here.
If you're buying equity type fund, what is the exit strategy if there's a bear market?

Is this the time for a "portfolio rebalancing"?

What would you do actually?
Switching to bond/money market fund?
Redeem all your affected equity funds?
Do nothing and hope for a rebounce?

Anyone experienced 1997/1998 or 2007-2009?
What have you done last time?
If you wait until bear market is too late already. Why? The market goes up like staircase but goes down like an elevator without brakes biggrin.gif

You exit when there is mass buying. Not when there is mass selling. By exiting when there is mass selling, congratulations, you just lock in losses.

What would I have done? Dump in as much cash as possible into good funds and good companies which are able to go me min 10% dividend. That's why I waiting for that moment drool.gif

Finding yourself without cash at such times is a very bad experience as companies are selling at good discounts and you don't have cash to take opportunity of it.

That's why 1-5% drop is nothing to shout about. yawn.gif

lee82gx
post Jan 3 2018, 04:13 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Guys, some question on managed portfolio.

For example Aggressive portfolio ; the charges are one time 1.25% and annually 0.50% in 4 quarters.

If the funds internally like Titans fund have their own management fee, will it be charged to us also?

What do you guys think about the managed portfolio?

My take is that it may not be such a bad idea, assuming it meets its benchmark right? In lumpsum investments I also dare not say my 10k shot will hit 8-10% per annum, over a long period...
jfleong
post Jan 3 2018, 04:44 PM

338 posts

Anyone here buys insurance from FSM ? What is their commission rate compared to buying via agent ?
Or should I wait until I can buy directly from the company ?

1553 Pages « < 547 548 549 550 551 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:34 PM