196 Pages « < 190 191 192 193 194 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 01:01 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Just had a call with a recruiter. Say my expected salary too high lol. 15pc very high meh.. Want me to move of course i want increment la.

Quite facepalm.

This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Nov 4 2015, 01:10 PM
morgana_jara
post Nov 4 2015, 01:13 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 01:01 PM)
Just had a call with a recruiter. Say my expected salary too high lol. 15pc very high meh..  Want me to move of course i want increment la.

Quite facepalm.
Opposite of Malaysian recruiter.... I quote 20% they increase until 23% (so that when nego with employer later got room to drop to 20%)
Mackiddo
post Nov 4 2015, 01:19 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Apply job must put 'expected salary'? I thought all big MNC would have a salary structure. You wanna accept lower pay also cannot.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 01:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 4 2015, 01:19 PM)
Apply job must put 'expected salary'? I thought all big MNC would have a salary structure. You wanna accept lower pay also cannot.
No la this recruiter ask me what sort of increment i willing to accept so i say at least 15pc lor. Then she say like.. Market is like 10pc now...
Mackiddo
post Nov 4 2015, 02:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 01:31 PM)
No la this recruiter ask me what sort of increment i willing to accept so i say at least 15pc lor. Then she say like.. Market is like 10pc now...
why let them decide on what you are worth?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 4 2015, 02:22 PM
knwong
post Nov 4 2015, 02:34 PM

3,558 posts

I even worse. Went ahead for interview without even putting down my expectation. Not because I'm desperate but because I'm really interested with the role and wanted to find out more
Fiona Chin
post Nov 4 2015, 02:50 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 01:01 PM)
Just had a call with a recruiter. Say my expected salary too high lol. 15pc very high meh..  Want me to move of course i want increment la.

Quite facepalm.
Eh I thought just now got figures one. Welcome to the 6 figure salary gang. Would stuck there for a long time.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 03:03 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 4 2015, 02:22 PM)
why let them decide on what you are worth?
No la i told them off la. Of cos i want a min15pc =_=

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 4 2015, 02:50 PM)
Eh I thought just now got figures one. Welcome to the 6 figure salary gang. Would stuck there for a long time.
Not yet there. Need the additional 15pc to get there.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 4 2015, 04:03 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 03:03 PM)
Not yet there. Need the additional 15pc to get there.

Wah wah now s$85k per month? Grats grats, didn't know such elite level got time to play LYN.
Dagger69
post Nov 4 2015, 04:10 PM

u no say?
1,196 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Oct 1 2015, 05:46 PM)
Alight at Jurong East MRT, walk to IBP. If rain take bus, there are few buses from Jurong East MRT that stops outside of IBP.
Alternative take IBP's shuttle bus, schedule and bus fare here: IBP Shuttle Bus Service

My company shifted out from IBP 5 years ago. smile.gif
Do you still remember where is the waiting/drop off/pick up area for the IBP's shuttle bus at Jurong East?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 04:35 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 4 2015, 04:03 PM)
Wah wah now s$85k per month? Grats grats, didn't know such elite level got time to play LYN.
Per annum la bro. Quite low relative to the 10kpm 120pa taikors here
yuen300
post Nov 4 2015, 10:41 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 3 2015, 08:30 AM)
Make sure your landlord seems like a reasonable person and not those who give all sorts of conditions like "you can only use washing machine once a month and that also only to wash 2 t shirts." Best is to find landlady who will cook for you, give food in return for 'services,' you can PM jitshiong to ask his experience in this.
Thanks for the advices. Yes, hopefully can meet some reasonable landlord.
yuen300
post Nov 4 2015, 10:43 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(chitchat @ Nov 3 2015, 10:47 AM)
Stay as near as possible ? Even though if the rent are slightly higher, as commuting to work could easily like 1 hrs+ one way and if require multiply transit the cost do add up. So is better to pay a little extra a get more sleeping time  biggrin.gif
I do agree that. Travelling in train full of people is not that good. Thanks also.
yuen300
post Nov 4 2015, 10:44 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 3 2015, 10:37 AM)
Do some research on the direct neighbourhood too

I didn't when renting my place, started hearing a lot of crazy loud screams in the day time
Turns out the "condo" directly opposite my room is a home for intellectually disabled patients  sweat.gif
Lol, can be your morning call thou.
yuen300
post Nov 4 2015, 10:46 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Nov 3 2015, 06:08 PM)
Landlord/landlady:

Preferably one that is amicable and reasonable. Then again, it is not easy to detect 'peculiarities' arising from prospective landlord or landlady on a meeting or two. You will just have to be vigilant and look out for telling signs of any unsavoury traits as early as possible.

Would you like a place that is accessible? Granted, it is quite convenient to move around Singapore wherever one lives but  public transportation provision in the prime areas (Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh to name a few) are fantastic! Of course, do not rule out places like Bedok or Clementi for example. They are great locations too. It must be borne in mind that the nearer one's accommodation is to an MRT station, the higher the rent.

Amenities:

Best if you can find one that ia surrounded by eateries, shops and etc. I dare say most HDB flat neighborhoods will have some sort of a hub that contains the essential shops. In fact, many MRT stations have a shopping mall attached to it.
Thanks for details. Will took that into considerations too.
ghodul
post Nov 5 2015, 12:48 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

As for me,

They found my profile thru Monster and give me a call. I am currently earning MYR 3700, but they just offered me SGD 2600. I am satisfied with that. I didnt really mind the gap because all my commitments were in MYR and I'm earning SGD. After all the calculation, I bet I can save alot more...

Now currently waiting for my S-Pass approval. Might stay around Bedok later on. My workplace is at Changi South Lane...
simonhtz
post Nov 5 2015, 02:05 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Nov 5 2015, 12:48 AM)
As for me,

They found my profile thru Monster and give me a call. I am currently earning MYR 3700, but they just offered me SGD 2600. I am satisfied with that. I didnt really mind the gap because all my commitments were in MYR and I'm earning SGD. After all the calculation, I bet I can save alot more...

Now currently waiting for my S-Pass approval. Might stay around Bedok later on. My workplace is at Changi South Lane...
Kudos, good luck mate! rclxms.gif
sendomike
post Nov 5 2015, 07:00 AM

855 posts

want to ask,

i have been offered an interview for a contract job by UOB - 1 year extendable contract.
how do you guys feel about contract job?

i have never accepted the contract job before so would love for some feedback.
will they usually extend the contract?

thanks smile.gif
TSdeodorant
post Nov 5 2015, 07:13 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Nov 5 2015, 07:00 AM)
i have been offered an interview for a contract job by UOB - 1 year extendable contract.
how do you guys feel about contract job?

Depends if your role is short-term only (e.g. they only hiring you for a year to fill in for a lady on maternity), or if it is memang long term just that they want flexibility of hiring contract vs hiring perm.

Banking line: Contract is the first to go whenever there is any cost cutting exercise, or if your role getting outsourced to KL or China or India.

Having said that I guess local SG banks are slightly more stable in this aspect.
megadisc
post Nov 5 2015, 07:34 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Nov 2 2015, 10:00 PM)
After waiting for 2 weeks to advertise in SG job bank, my EP application is approved today. Applied on 30/10, so I am very happy with the efficiency.
welcome to sg

196 Pages « < 190 191 192 193 194 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:53 PM