Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
yuen300
Aug 12 2015, 10:01 AM

Between, just asking how many you guys get hired through the job using the JobsDB Sg? Have sent many applications through there but never heard any replies from the HR. Can ask sifu here any secrets you all have in the job application in Sg?
yuen300
Aug 12 2015, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 12 2015, 12:28 PM) Continue spamming and bs maybe, some folks have been trying for months before they could secure any job in sg, especially when you don't have any local experience yet. So persistence is the key here Thanks. What is considered Local Experience? Should I put my secondary education in Singapore in resume? Fresh Graduate here.
yuen300
Oct 24 2015, 04:28 PM

Can I ask how many interviews that we will go through to get a job offer from Sg? I just get second interview with the team leader, does it means I have a higher chance to be employed?
yuen300
Oct 28 2015, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(bigtree @ Oct 25 2015, 01:05 AM) There won't be a fix number of interview sessions to secure a job in SG. I'd been through 2-3 interview sessions per application, but recently just gotten an offer with just 1 interview P/s: I've been following this thread for quite sometimes without posting anything. This would be my first post here  Lol, so you are currently working in Singapore now? Been through the second interview, and the hiring manager asked me to wait for her reply and arrange my time to come down to meet the HOD. Does this sounds like high probability to go through the third round interview?
yuen300
Nov 3 2015, 12:34 AM

Anyone have any hints in what to look out for to rent room in Singapore?
yuen300
Nov 4 2015, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 3 2015, 08:30 AM) Make sure your landlord seems like a reasonable person and not those who give all sorts of conditions like "you can only use washing machine once a month and that also only to wash 2 t shirts." Best is to find landlady who will cook for you, give food in return for 'services,' you can PM jitshiong to ask his experience in this. Thanks for the advices. Yes, hopefully can meet some reasonable landlord.
yuen300
Nov 4 2015, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(chitchat @ Nov 3 2015, 10:47 AM) Stay as near as possible ? Even though if the rent are slightly higher, as commuting to work could easily like 1 hrs+ one way and if require multiply transit the cost do add up. So is better to pay a little extra a get more sleeping time  I do agree that. Travelling in train full of people is not that good. Thanks also.
yuen300
Nov 4 2015, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 3 2015, 10:37 AM) Do some research on the direct neighbourhood too I didn't when renting my place, started hearing a lot of crazy loud screams in the day time Turns out the "condo" directly opposite my room is a home for intellectually disabled patients  Lol, can be your morning call thou.
yuen300
Nov 4 2015, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(studyboy @ Nov 3 2015, 06:08 PM) Landlord/landlady: Preferably one that is amicable and reasonable. Then again, it is not easy to detect 'peculiarities' arising from prospective landlord or landlady on a meeting or two. You will just have to be vigilant and look out for telling signs of any unsavoury traits as early as possible. Location: Would you like a place that is accessible? Granted, it is quite convenient to move around Singapore wherever one lives but public transportation provision in the prime areas (Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh to name a few) are fantastic! Of course, do not rule out places like Bedok or Clementi for example. They are great locations too. It must be borne in mind that the nearer one's accommodation is to an MRT station, the higher the rent. Amenities: Best if you can find one that ia surrounded by eateries, shops and etc. I dare say most HDB flat neighborhoods will have some sort of a hub that contains the essential shops. In fact, many MRT stations have a shopping mall attached to it. Thanks for details. Will took that into considerations too.
yuen300
Nov 6 2015, 11:10 AM

Just ask from you guys experience in Singapore Hiring Process.
I have been through three phone interview phone call.
One with the hiring manager, another with the Department Head and followed with the HR.
Now, they invited me for a Face to Face interview in Sg and HR will discuss with me later. Can I know does this sounds like good sign for being hired?