Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

TSdeodorant
post Dec 7 2014, 05:19 PM, updated 11y ago

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Click here for previous thread (v16)

Job Hunting

- Job hunting is more difficult now thanks to the Fair Consideration Framework but still possible.
- Popular Job Search Sites: Jobstreet, Monster, eFinancialCareers

Employment

- There are 4 types of Work Passes for foreigners in SG: WP, S-Pass, EP and PEP. Visit MOM website for more information on these passes.
- The company hiring you has to initiate all the formalities for you so no need to worry too much on what type of pass or how to apply for it.
- Note that different types of work pass have different rights, benefits & restrictions.

CPF and Income Tax

- If you work 183 days or more in a calendar year you are a tax resident and pay the same progressive tax rates as locals.
- If you work less than 183 days you are not a tax resident and pay flat 15% tax or progressive tax rates as locals (whichever is higher). However the following year if your employment spills over into exceeding 183 days you can request IRAS to re-assess you as a tax resident and refund you the difference in tax paid.
- Visit IRAS website for more information on taxes.
- CPF (equivalent of our EPF) is only mandatory for PR's and SC's (Singapore Citizens) at 16% Employee, 20% Employer, capped at first $5k per month.
- Some companies will encash the employer portion for foreigners.
- Visit CPF Website for more information on CPF.

Permanent Residence

- ICA does not have any official guidelines for PR approval (or any points system like Australia/NZ).
- Previously most agencies recommend applying for PR after 1 year if you are on P1 EP, 2 years or more if you are on P2/Q1 EP.
- Visit ICA website for more information on applying for PR.

Accomodation in Singapore

- Accomodation $600-$100 (room) $2000-$3000 (entire flat)
- Typical costs are 1st month rental + 1 month deposit (for each year of the lease) + 1/2 month agent fee (for each year of the lease).
- Foreigners can only own Private Condominiums and are subject to ~18% stamp duty. PR's can own Private Condominiums and Resale HDB's are and subject to ~8% stamp duty.
- Popular room/house search websites: PropertyGuru, FlatsDB, RoomsDB, EasyRoomMate.

Accomodation in Johor

- Foreigners on Work Pass living in Malaysia and commuting to SG can drive MY-registered cars and bikes. Cars incur $35 and bikes incur $4 VEP/daily.
- PR's and SC's living in Malaysia and commuting to SG can only drive SG-registered cars and bikes into the island.
- Visit LTA website for more information on operating a car in SG as a foreigner.

Driving in Singapore

- Foreigners on Work Pass are allowed to drive in Singapore for the first year only using Malaysian Drivers License. For second year onwards you are expected to convert to Singapore license.
- Visit eCitizen site for more information on converting your license.
- Note that foreigners on work pass are only allowed to drive Malaysia-registered cars if you stay outside Singapore. Visit LTA site for more information.

Expenses

This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. Basic monthly expenditure:
- Accomodation $600-$1000 (room) $2000-$3000 (entire flat)
- Food $500 and up
- Transport $60 and up
- Handphone, bills and utilities $100 and up
- Entertainment, shopping etc $xxxx

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 2 2015, 04:10 PM
TSdeodorant
post Dec 7 2014, 05:20 PM

5,691 posts

Meet-Up's and Gatherings

- Next Meet-up/Gathering TBA
- To be added to the Cool People whatsapp group PM MacKiddo

Sports Gatherings

- Next Badminton 8am 14th Dec Toa Payoh Sports Hall
- To be added to the Badminton whatsapp group PM me.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 8 2014, 11:14 AM
TSdeodorant
post Dec 7 2014, 05:21 PM

5,691 posts

Top 15 spammer from v16:

IwanAGP 165
Fiona Chin 140
deodorant 127
alaskanbunny 108
Mackiddo 102
sheng291 89
JohnJon82 70
razo2 64
Tigerr 58
seantang 57
General Fahmy 52
crazy25kid 47
gnc88 43
ThanatosSwiftfire 41
crapp0 39
TSdeodorant
post Dec 8 2014, 11:17 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 7 2014, 06:48 PM)
i hardly post also Nō 5. think got flawed in your formula man.

Not my formula, is LYN sendiri calculate one icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(faint_loop @ Dec 7 2014, 11:11 PM)
wah so nice! 1 week after sending in application already got an offer!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  so good lah you

1 week timeframe probably varies a lot depending on seniority, position, industry, company, etc. My current job I think application to 1st day on the job took 2+ months.

QUOTE(keelim @ Dec 8 2014, 10:54 AM)
What do you guys think? MacBook Air or Pro?

MBP IMO. It's still plenty light and portable enough to do poser activities in starbucks and yet powerful enough to get real work done if needed.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 9 2014, 11:18 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Dec 9 2014, 10:45 AM)
Would like to find out what are the working/employer culture like in singapore?

Can't generalize; different companies different industries all have different culture. Some in SG work like dogs others every day go yumcha and 4pm 5pm knock off work liao.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 9 2014, 02:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(cnvery @ Dec 9 2014, 12:33 PM)
May I know if I wish to apply for internship in Singapore, what visa I do need?

TEP/TWP.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

Anyway either one also need either company to sponsor or company to apply on your behalf. So first step get the company to offer you the internship first, worry about pass later.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 18 2014, 06:32 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Skullone @ Dec 18 2014, 10:13 AM)
Sorry that this might be a qs asked before. I am interested to work in SG and would like to inquire what is the best way to get a banking job in SG?

Are you an experienced hire or a junior one? Experienced hire go throw your resume to people on linkedin / efinancialcareers and let those headhunter try and match you to jobs. If junior ... honestly quite difficult because there is no lack of junior level hires locally.

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Dec 18 2014, 11:26 AM)
Hi guys, So I am waiting for my EP application to be approved. When should I tender from my present job? What if 1 month already and EP still not approved, I am going to menganggur like that lol.

Tender after EP approved lor. Generally it takes few days to couple of weeks. Mine last time took 2 weeks whereas my wife one took I think 2 or 3 days only.

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Dec 18 2014, 03:15 PM)
hi guys just wanna ask, i've already got an offer in a SG company, waiting for Epass to be approved. What do i have to settle before heading over? Do i have to declare anything to LHDN about my current taxes etc? Or just fill up the upcoming April EA Form will do? Advices will be really appreciated, thank you! smile.gif

If you want to do it the "clean" way then ask your current malaysia company to issue borang CP21 for you. Then u bring it to LHDN and close off your income tax file. If can't-be-bothered way then every year just declare zero income on tax filing lo. Welcome to SG and if you're interested send a PM to our daikor MacKiddo to get added to the m'sians working in sg support group whatsapp icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Dec 19 2014, 02:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Dec 18 2014, 10:09 PM)
hey bro, you're working in sg finance industry?

Yes, foreign bank. What I can say is thanks to the entire industry coming under huge regulatory and balance sheet pressures, practically every single foreign bank with significant SG presence is cutting jobs (or move them to cheaper places) - particularly on the more back office roles like IT and operations.

If you are a junior hire, to be honest without any cable you have very very small chance of getting in. If experienced still OK.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 19 2014, 01:27 PM)
I already tendered , based on my offer letter , my job in sg will start on 15jan . Currently still no sound from the new co (hr) regarding the EP status.

Seems unlikely (unless the company HR fukup when applying) that you won't get EP by 15 Jan. Cos normally it is approved (or rejected) within few days to max 1-2 weeks.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 19 2014, 03:30 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Dec 19 2014, 02:25 PM)
I have few question want to ask:
1) Normally singaporean need how much annual salary to afford a HDB (No spouse)
2) If SPR wanna buy HDB, must put both husband & wife name to HDB or possible to put each name to HDB (if one of them have high income)

1. According to PAP, $12,000 annual salary can earn HDB liao.

6 Home ownership is the cornerstone of Singapore’s public housing programme. It gives Singaporeans a valuable asset and a stake in the country and its future.

7 The Special HDB Housing Grant (SHG) will make owning an HDB flat within reach of more low-income families by reducing the housing loan that they will need to take. For instance, a family with a monthly household income of $1,000 will be able to own a new 2-room flat priced at $100,000 Average selling price of a new 2-room BTO flat. The AHG of $40,000 and the SHG of $20,000 translates to an estimated monthly mortgage instalment of $160. This is about 16% of their monthly household income and can be serviced entirely from the monthly CPF OA contribution.

2. SPR cannot buy HDB solo, must have two names.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 20 2014, 05:30 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Dec 20 2014, 11:19 AM)
If I were to join the new co, will my current employer knows when they apply for my new pass?? 

If I'm not mistaken, you can't immediately switch companies, need to finish off your employment with current company sampai last day then current company cancels your EP and hands you 30days white card then only your new company can apply new EP for you. But not certain. Summoning ICA officers puppyee elvenchou to clarify.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 22 2014, 10:06 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(silentz @ Dec 22 2014, 09:50 AM)
just wonder min 18 yrs old only can apply for the working permit.
so must be 18 y/o at next birthday or folo the year is OK addi?
thx.

When you apply for IC at 12 years old, does it follow your actual 12th birthday or "folo the year is OK addi?? (sic)
TSdeodorant
post Dec 22 2014, 10:39 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(silentz @ Dec 22 2014, 10:21 AM)
bcoz MOM site did not specific clearly, this is why im asking to confirm.
thx for your KIND advice

What part of this is unclear? doh.gif

What is the age criteria to apply for a Work Permit

The minimum age for all non-domestic foreign workers is 18 years old.

TSdeodorant
post Dec 22 2014, 02:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(babykon101 @ Dec 22 2014, 02:29 PM)
I don't like dodgy places.  smile.gif

SG is "Sterilized Asia." The only place that qualifies as 'dodgy' is probably only Geylang. Other than that, your choices are between Mature estates (with older, pricier accommodation and a lot of facilities like eateries, malls, town centers, etc), and new estates (newer, cheaper accommodation but sacrifice on convenience).
TSdeodorant
post Dec 25 2014, 04:13 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 25 2014, 03:08 PM)
those were stories from 6 years ago.. LOL.. now am in dilemma to apply for citizenship..

balance pro & con lo
what pro's do you get from applying citizenship?

TSdeodorant
post Dec 26 2014, 08:40 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 26 2014, 08:31 PM)
1. cheaper property. By renting out your Singapore HDB when you retire, You can live comfortably in Msia and even go for travel twice a year.
3. Msia houses are mainly landed property which you can enjoy your gardening during your retirement.

Change to sinkie passport oso can rent out SG HDB and buy landed in Iskandar mah icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 26 2014, 08:41 PM
TSdeodorant
post Dec 27 2014, 01:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 27 2014, 12:56 PM)
the correct way is to declare, and be prepared to be taxed.

No, PR not allowed to rent out their whole flat regardless of declare or no declare. How they get around it (and how Sinkie oso get around the 5-year MOP) is lock the utility room and structure the rental agreement as "Rent X bedrooms" instead of rent whole flat.

Interestingly though I also see rental agreement they like to put some crazy amount for "rental of furniture." Example if rental $2k, they say $500 room rental $1.5k furniture rental. Why ah, izzit cos of different tax rates? alaskanbunny sgrealestate pls clarify.
TSdeodorant
post Dec 28 2014, 07:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(naminakata87 @ Dec 28 2014, 07:04 PM)
Anybody know,if school holiday, we still need to pay vep if enter singapore after 12pm On weekdays.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...oll-charge.html
TSdeodorant
post Dec 29 2014, 10:19 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Dec 29 2014, 09:28 AM)
so if REP expire, no longer PR...how to hold the HDB?

REP expire, just stay in SG don't go anywhere then = your PR still remains lo brows.gif
TSdeodorant
post Dec 29 2014, 05:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Dec 29 2014, 03:41 PM)
What do you think guys?

I heard that shipyard give 8.1 months bonus. reign226 is this true?
TSdeodorant
post Jan 6 2015, 04:06 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 5 2015, 11:11 AM)
I too am currently looking for position in banking sector. Been doing credit admin for 2 and half years total 3 1/2 years of work experience. Hopefully can get a job.

Send your CV to Fiona Chin, she is SVP in huge international bank in SG.

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 PM