Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
Mar 10 2015, 06:48 PM
186 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Hi all, just want to ask, how long did it take for your work pass to be approved? Assuming the company did it online?
Thanks for your time |
Mar 11 2015, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(V-Zero @ Mar 10 2015, 08:19 PM) Thanks for the info!QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 11 2015, 11:40 AM) Lol just when I want to go SG you're planning to go back to KL? It's actually pretty hard for tax to move, just that due to some special circumstances (the company expanding to kl and me having exp in Malaysian gst) that I had a chance. |
Jun 3 2015, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jun 3 2015, 08:23 PM) Is it true that I need to go in few working days earlier before my starting working date so I need to submit my scanned passport, IPA and immigration card so the employment pass agent can help me to submit to get the Employment Pass and notification letter to be issued electronically? I went in on a Saturday. Monday was my first day of work, the employer arranged for an appointment with MOM. Then went to MOM on Thursday to settle the employment pass, received the EP on Thursday the week after. You can definitely start work with IPA, but while waiting for the EP to be issued after the appointment, you can't exit Singapore because they will take your white card during the appointment.Or can I just go in with immigration card, work on first day and do the above on first day of my employment as well? BTW after registering with MOM for EP, can start using the fast lane at immigration already |
Jun 19 2015, 01:07 PM
Jul 8 2015, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 7 2015, 09:51 PM) Constantly apply to the accounting firms until one of them answers back. Do so preferably during their hiring period (please see their websites for the peak hiring periods/intakes) |
Sep 2 2015, 09:22 AM
Hi all, I have an extra bus ticket for sale for First Coach (Star Vista - Subang) for this Friday 4sept, 2.45pm.
Please PM me if you're interested to buy it. Thanks! |
Sep 2 2015, 02:51 PM
Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(taufoo @ Oct 14 2015, 12:04 PM) I dont mind HDB. But if HDB I prefer 1 bedroom HDB housing. Most studios that I've seen while searching for room is those pseudo-studios, ie like KilJim said, rooms with attached bathroom and mini kitchen corner. Another type you might find is a room converted into studio in landed houses. Normally a family stays in the house but convert one room on the ground floor with its own entrance to rent out. This is rare though. Anyways thanks for the clarification. I kinda know what to look for now. Third option is rent those two-bedroom HDB (normally marketed as one bedroom, owner locks another bedroom up but it's not used). This is illegal sublet by the owner though under HDB rules. Alternatively, I've also seen a full studio before (shown by agent). This one is rare because it was in townhouse. If you want to save money, try living with housemates. I had the same problem as you previously (bad housemate in Australia, was wary of living with housemates again) but my current housemates are nice, decent people and we're really good friends now. Just be more cautious and get to know the other housemates living there before you rent. Edit: don't think real one bedroom HDB is available on open market... Normally those are rented out by HDB to the elderly folks. This post has been edited by morgana_jara: Oct 14 2015, 01:39 PM |
Oct 30 2015, 10:11 AM
For those having questions on CP21, here is my experience:
If your company knows that you are leaving Malaysia, they will withhold your last month pay and issue CP21 for you to submit to IRB with your last income tax return for the current year. Make sure that all your past income tax return has been submitted too. IRB may then ask for audit. (The IRB tax officer said she wanted to audit me, but in the end I didn't get any audit letter lol). After they are satisfied, they will issue you with a tax clearance letter, of which you will give a copy to your ex-company's HR so that they can release your last pay. With this tax clearance, you don't need to worry about filling Malaysia income tax until one day when you return to work in Malaysia. If you did not do the whole process above, then you will need to file Malaysian income tax every year (put as nil). Fyi, the legal way is actually the first one above. |
Oct 30 2015, 10:50 AM
Oct 30 2015, 02:40 PM
Nov 4 2015, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 01:01 PM) Just had a call with a recruiter. Say my expected salary too high lol. 15pc very high meh.. Want me to move of course i want increment la. Opposite of Malaysian recruiter.... I quote 20% they increase until 23% (so that when nego with employer later got room to drop to 20%)Quite facepalm. |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:46 PM |