126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

Metatron90
post Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 26 2013, 03:52 PM)
$1.7k is pretty low. Gotta be prepared to live a pretty sad life quite frugally, transport, room rental and food alone will easily eat up 70+% of that, leaving you with not much in the way of luxury spending, shopping, entertainment, savings, etc. Up to you lor depends how desperate you are to get a foothold in SG, and whether you believe you are capable enough to rise through the ranks (relatively) quickly.
yea...still thinking actually.. having a hard time to decide..because recently is quite hard to get a job.. sad.gif sad.gif
Mackiddo
post Sep 26 2013, 06:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

$1.7k is pretty low. Gotta be prepared to live a pretty sad life quite frugally, transport, room rental and food alone will easily eat up 70+% of that, leaving you with not much in the way of luxury spending, shopping, entertainment, savings, etc. Up to you lor depends how desperate you are to get a foothold in SG, and whether you believe you are capable enough to rise through the ranks (relatively) quickly.
S$1.7k is kinda low but not impossible. I heard of a forumer who earns merely $1750 here, working as PETROL STATION PUMP ATTENDANT MĒNTŌR or something. Just have too be careful on what u spend on. No Starbucks, no clubbing, no going to cinema, no expensive meal :/
deodorant
post Sep 26 2013, 06:45 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 26 2013, 06:42 PM)
I heard of a forumer who earns merely $1750 here

Is that the guy who merried with 3 daughters, wife full time homemaker? Really respect him for raising a full family with own hdb and own car on just $1750 a month thumbup.gif
jitshiong
post Sep 26 2013, 06:47 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 26 2013, 06:45 PM)
Is that the guy who merried with 3 daughters, wife full time homemaker? Really respect him for raising a full family with own hdb and own car on just $1750 a month thumbup.gif
I think he misses out the last 0. probably $17500.
or probably $1750 daily. heard he only works like 3 days a week. Awesomeness.
Mackiddo
post Sep 26 2013, 08:39 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Sep 26 2013, 06:47 PM)
I think he misses out the last 0. probably $17500.
or probably $1750 daily. heard he only works like 3 days a week. Awesomeness.
says the FT who offer 'service' for food to the land lady ?
almeizer
post Sep 26 2013, 09:58 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM)
yea...still thinking actually.. having a hard time to decide..because recently is quite hard to get a job..  sad.gif  sad.gif
I bet your post should be able to fetch like 2.2k. But due to your work permit levy that they going to pay monthly, therefore it was deducted from your salary, end up become 1.7k.
Tigerr
post Sep 26 2013, 10:00 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 02:11 PM)
it's sales and dont have commission... sad case haiz.. Fresh graduate price become so low..
If u r good in sales n be the top sales, when u resign, your salary 'll be increased few hundred %....
megadisc
post Sep 26 2013, 11:40 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 12:03 PM)
Business dev executive.. I'm not sure yet.. ><
a BD at 1.7K ?
wow...taht's cheap...

maybe different field bah ...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 27 2013, 12:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM)
yea...still thinking actually.. having a hard time to decide..because recently is quite hard to get a job..  sad.gif  sad.gif
bro, since u r a freshie, dont look at the pay so much... look at the opportunities that lie ahead... $$$ might be an important factor now, but later on as your perform $$$ will come naturally
keii-kun
post Sep 27 2013, 08:46 AM

1,120 posts

NETS McDonalds Flashpay card - 5% cashback McD, 7E, Chang Kee, Starbucks , Coffee Bean, Fairprice.

The catch? 5% rebate until Dec 2013. Capped at $10/mth so ~ $500 spending/mth

http://www.nets.com.sg/offers-a-promotions...ds-flashpaycard

almeizer
post Sep 27 2013, 10:06 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 27 2013, 08:46 AM)
NETS McDonalds Flashpay card - 5% cashback McD, 7E, Chang Kee, Starbucks , Coffee Bean, Fairprice.

The catch? 5% rebate until Dec 2013. Capped at $10/mth  so ~ $500 spending/mth

http://www.nets.com.sg/offers-a-promotions...ds-flashpaycard
500 * 5% = 25

It should be 200 spending/mth brows.gif

vincentwmh
post Sep 27 2013, 10:14 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Sep 26 2013, 09:58 PM)
I bet your post should be able to fetch like 2.2k. But due to your work permit levy that they going to pay monthly, therefore it was deducted from your salary, end up become 1.7k.
YES, in simple language its akin "all-in fare" to the hirer per head-count shocking.gif
Metatron90
post Sep 27 2013, 11:27 AM

80 posts

I think I will reject the 1.7k offer.. since I found that the opportunity for me to develop the career path is not good and i dont think i can command big jump from a 1.7k. sad.gif
toughnut
post Sep 27 2013, 11:31 AM

3,239 posts

for myself, $1750 still doable.

$600 rental
$400 meal
$50 phone
$50 transport
$150 misc
$500 saving and parents

currently my monthly expenses still below $1500 lol. dine once or twice per week, mostly cook on weekend, cinema once or twice a month. that's all

This post has been edited by toughnut: Sep 27 2013, 11:34 AM
JohnJon82
post Sep 27 2013, 12:11 PM

716 posts

My expenditure last time when I stay full time in SG.

600 - Rent
400 - Meal
120 - Phone + Broadband
60 - Transport
200 - Minor misc stuff, ocassional dinner/drink/movie with colleague and friends etc

So still ok la 1700, can save something.
ky_khor
post Sep 27 2013, 01:31 PM

No.22
894 posts

I don't remember having all these during my fresh grad days... rolleyes.gif
Eliteness detected.
RabbitS
post Sep 27 2013, 05:54 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 27 2013, 11:31 AM)
for myself, $1750 still doable.

$600 rental
$400 meal
$50 phone
$50 transport
$150 misc
$500 saving and parents

currently my monthly expenses still below $1500 lol. dine once or twice per week, mostly cook on weekend, cinema once or twice a month. that's all
We know u r highflyer ler, honey moon in london.. Work offshore allowance more than 7x my salary.. Haih

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Sep 27 2013, 01:31 PM)
I don't remember having all these during my fresh grad days...  rolleyes.gif
Eliteness detected.
Every of his meal is at michelin rest, what do u expect..
hitsugaya2010
post Sep 27 2013, 07:32 PM

946 posts

For me too, if I do not spend much that month, my spendings is below 1.5k per month... well most of my spending goes to food, and rental...
megadisc
post Sep 28 2013, 09:34 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Sep 27 2013, 07:32 PM)
For me too, if I do not spend much that month, my spendings is below 1.5k per month... well most of my spending goes to food, and rental...
rental will make the bundle ...
Tigerr
post Sep 28 2013, 10:12 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 28 2013, 09:34 AM)
rental will make the bundle ...
If willing to share room. Then it is ok.

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0336sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:13 PM