Working in Singapore V14

almeizer
post May 26 2013, 02:31 PM

941 posts

I have question regarding PR Application.

ICA website stated that Eligibility to apply for one of the option :

c) P, Q or S work pass holders

But it did not mentioned the validity of the Work Pass require.

Anyone know if there is any requirement of validity for the Work Pass? Because I booked an appointment in Aug and my pass expired the same month >"<

almeizer
post Jun 22 2013, 12:50 PM

941 posts

Anyone can share method by transferring a large amount of money (about RM250k) from Malaysia to Singapore? If anyone wonder why transfer so much, it's for down payment to buy property in SG.

I know one of the method is TT and the rate will follow bank's rate (so might lose few thousand SGD). Any other better way?
almeizer
post Jun 22 2013, 10:13 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 22 2013, 05:07 PM)
Change 1k sgd notes at home around 100 pieces maybe, fly to Changi in business class cabin better than TT if you have the time. They used to have 10k sgd notes, but very rare. Sometime still see it around. If you can find that then just bring the money in your wallet.
Could it be risky? In case government ask where is the money come from then how to answer? There is no proof.

QUOTE(goldconnection @ Jun 22 2013, 06:38 PM)
r u buying private condo?
Nope, HDB.
almeizer
post Jun 23 2013, 10:08 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 22 2013, 10:18 PM)
i was asking around too... if u r in sg, u can bring cash to money changer and they can remit it to you acct with their ex-rate which is typically better than banks... dont know whether is it possible for msia in your case
Oh then need to find a reliable Money Changer in Msia. But considering the risk of losing the entire 250k if the Money Changer is doing hanky panky stuff. I might go for Bank's TT even the exchange rate lower which will cost about SGD 2k+.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 22 2013, 11:22 PM)
Your money is clean right? Why no proof? Only the risk of getting stolen in the flight to SG. Hug it with your life and don't fall asleep.

Remember to declare in the customs. I can't remember what is the minimum amount to declare now, around 30k sgd few years back. Fill in some forms and reason to bring in the money. No problem one if you declare and the money is legit. No tax, charges whatsoever.

The 10k notes still available but you have to ask the money changer to keep for you. Dad say very rare in our place, KL should have more. Lost one piece cry until next month.
Yes it's legit. Initially I thought you mean bring in the money without declaring it. You are right, I remembered is 30k, every time pass by the custom got the board written need to declare if bring more than SGD 30k. But security is one

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jun 23 2013, 12:51 AM)
not too sure... but bank charge flat rate for tt i think.. so huge amt may be cheaper even though the exchange rate slightly less favorable... i guess u need to do a real time check on this one...
TT rate is flat. I had checked Maybank's TT is RM27 but the spread for exchange rate is 7 cent. I do checked Maybank's Forex through their website.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 23 2013, 08:55 AM)
You don't lose a "few thousand SGD" lah. Even if the spread between bank's TT rate and money changers rate is 3 points (buy ringgit at 2.53 vs 2.50 per SGD), you lose S$1K. Usually the difference is 0.02 or less than that.

For me, that's a small price to pay for convenience AND security of a bank vs an unmonitored money changer. And not to mention the fact that you don't have to walk around with so much cash on your pocket. People have gotten robbed by friends and extended family whom they thought they could trust, for much less. And if the guy standing behind you in the queue at the bank is a spotter, you're going to have an eventful trip from the bank to the money changer.
Yea, security is part of our concern. I had checked the spread for Maybank, is about 7 cent (2.55 vs 2.48). So about SGD2K+ lesser compare to Money Changer.

This post has been edited by almeizer: Jun 23 2013, 10:11 AM
almeizer
post Jul 13 2013, 11:41 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jul 13 2013, 10:15 AM)
those tax charges apply on PR or EP holders?
EP pun kena pay tax ka?
Everyone earn in SG will get tax, if you stay in SG more than 183 days and earning less than 20k in the year then won't get tax (resident tax). If stay lesser than 183 days (non resident tax), I think will get taxed at 15%.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/page04.asp...ent_individuals

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2013, 10:21 AM)
My DBS account can withdraw immediately but by month end must top up back to minimum amount otherwise ganna $2 charge.
huh what are you talking about. you work of course you need to pay tax mah. unless your salary is so low that the government decides you don't need to pay like 90% of all malaysians.
By month end top up no use, it count the average for the month must be $1k, else will get charge $2.
almeizer
post Jul 20 2013, 02:51 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jul 20 2013, 04:02 AM)
Any funds/trust/investment with good interest rates to recommend? I have some funds in Singapore set up a long time ago but its maturing soon...
You may try SG REIT. The price for some REIT(s) drop quite a lot past month. I think it's time go in.

http://reitdata.com/

http://www.sgx.com/UnderMaintenance.html?W...eits/investors/

almeizer
post Aug 13 2013, 05:17 PM

941 posts

Exchange rate 2.52 today at Sim Lim Square ground floor. The one exit at overhead bridge (opposite Bencoolen or Burlington).
almeizer
post Aug 29 2013, 09:28 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Aug 29 2013, 09:00 PM)
Just a curious question smile.gif

Anyone here know if the money (SG salary which have been taxed by SG IRAS) which we bring back (either by TT or hand carry, etc) need to be declared to LHDN  ? (since the rate is so good now)

Found a clause in

http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?kump=5...nit=5000&sequ=3
but we are not a resident (bermastautin) in Malaysia.

Later when you buy house or car, you get a letter titled 'Urusan Paduka Baginda' asking you where you get your $$$ and is taxable.
But you are Malaysian which automatically makes you are resident of Malaysia (rakyat). It does not mean that you must reside in Malaysia. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by almeizer: Aug 29 2013, 09:28 PM
almeizer
post Aug 31 2013, 03:21 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 31 2013, 10:53 AM)
I got both medical card for SG and MY. My MY agent told me I can claim full amount in SG using the MY one? She scam me?
QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Aug 31 2013, 11:00 AM)
if i'm not wrong, you have to fork it out first then claim it back later - which could potentially take months
It's that need to pay first then claim later. But the amount claimable is base on the rate in Malaysia.

Another clause is the claim only applicable if the insured person leave Malaysia not more than 90 days.
almeizer
post Sep 1 2013, 10:37 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 31 2013, 10:06 AM)
Was wondering if anyone knew what the chances are for a Msian working in Sg as a teacher? smile.gif
If you are trained teacher, you can apply as foreign trained teacher (for non Singaporean and non PR).

This post has been edited by almeizer: Sep 2 2013, 08:34 PM
almeizer
post Sep 15 2013, 06:30 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 15 2013, 12:48 PM)
hmm so my current pay is 3.7k if they do offer 3.2k.. what do you guys think?
Definitely you can save more with SGD 3.2k compare to RM 3.7k. The question is does it worth for you to leave your families and friends by start working in a new environment?
almeizer
post Sep 26 2013, 11:26 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 08:58 AM)
I just get an offer but they only offer me 1700.. =(
What position? You going to accept the offer?
almeizer
post Sep 26 2013, 01:31 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 12:03 PM)
Business dev executive.. I'm not sure yet.. ><
I think equivalent to "Sales". Normally sales is low in basic but high in commission.

You have commission if able to get business for company?
almeizer
post Sep 26 2013, 09:58 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 04:03 PM)
yea...still thinking actually.. having a hard time to decide..because recently is quite hard to get a job..  sad.gif  sad.gif
I bet your post should be able to fetch like 2.2k. But due to your work permit levy that they going to pay monthly, therefore it was deducted from your salary, end up become 1.7k.
almeizer
post Sep 27 2013, 10:06 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 27 2013, 08:46 AM)
NETS McDonalds Flashpay card - 5% cashback McD, 7E, Chang Kee, Starbucks , Coffee Bean, Fairprice.

The catch? 5% rebate until Dec 2013. Capped at $10/mth  so ~ $500 spending/mth

http://www.nets.com.sg/offers-a-promotions...ds-flashpaycard
500 * 5% = 25

It should be 200 spending/mth brows.gif

0.0536sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:38 AM