Working in Singapore V14

megadisc
post May 27 2013, 11:55 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ May 27 2013, 11:01 PM)
why worry??....my wife works in malaysia n not stay in singapore, applied PR last year also get approved within 3 months.....so, take your chance...
congrats

and

welcome

abord
megadisc
post May 28 2013, 08:32 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ May 28 2013, 08:07 AM)
Malaysian Chinese typically got shorter wait times and higher chances of approval for PR approval I think.
those were the good ol days

not sure bout now though ...
megadisc
post May 28 2013, 01:05 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ May 28 2013, 09:50 AM)
Normally have to work how long to be safe in applying the PR? Abit scared cause I saw my colleague from Pakistan got his EP rejected... He worked in my company for 2 years ady, with a engineering degree + MBA...
so srory to hear that
megadisc
post May 28 2013, 03:39 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 28 2013, 01:36 PM)
Chill guys yo. chillax  laugh.gif  biggrin.gif
Hehe.

Anyway, I'll probably try my luck sometime next year then. Not gonna risk it. smile.gif
On forex, MYR is strengthening against SGD. Personally I suspect MYR will continue to strengthen against the back of post-election spending for the short term, so I'm  thinking of holding back on sending cash back to KL.. But anyone here thinks I should still send cash back anyway?

Next question is.. anyone knows a good cheap massage (the clean and proper kind)? My muscles are sore all over from camping in front of my laptop all day sad.gif
come jb lah ...
megadisc
post May 28 2013, 09:35 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ May 28 2013, 08:27 PM)
potential terrorist I do not know la.. haha.. but his income definitely not low.. hahaha.. oil and gas engineer.. hehe..
that's already quite high post leh
megadisc
post May 28 2013, 10:04 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 28 2013, 10:02 PM)
EP holder roughly more than 3k, should be around there. Which company ah?
wow ...that's a lot leh ...

2molo got interview at eunos

wish me luvs
megadisc
post May 29 2013, 12:04 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 28 2013, 11:40 PM)
geotech consultant... can't reveal anything more than that coz its a very small field... 
Thank you so much for the info  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

So a year and a half ago I will fall under the median category hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif 

Damn... should have nego properly before accepting the offer  sad.gif 

Not sure whether I should just stick to my current job in MY or go for SG and try to negotiate after the probation period....
at lteast u have an idea liao

megadisc
post May 30 2013, 12:39 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 29 2013, 08:11 PM)
I think it would be wise to actually get an interview and offer first before you even talk about salary.
Chances are, even interviews are hard to come by judging from the bleak economic outlook in SG and the world.
Financial Institutions are scalling back lending and executing massive employee lay-offs which have a significant impact on the investment sector as credit are tightened.
As a result, many investment companies are freezing headcount and some are even scalling back their operations, waiting for the economic storm to pass.
agree wif u so much
megadisc
post May 30 2013, 10:13 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 30 2013, 08:36 AM)
that's y all these things, said verbally must request to put them in black n white somewhere.
then u will have some proof to demand when the time comes.
else, that's the response you are gonna get

i face the same situation before, so i got them to confirm the increment stuff via email although it's not written in the offer letter
it is also stated that it's not a company policy, but they will review
fair enough, my company kept to their side of the bargain and gave me the requested increment

if you feel that the company has short changed you, it's best to leave early
if they can go back on their word on things like this, what makes you think they won't do anything worse?
yeah ...lure u in their trap ..

damn sad
megadisc
post May 30 2013, 10:02 PM

4,349 posts

ouch ...didnt know that roaming call so expensive ...
charge 30cents from digi per minit
another
charge 80cents from singtel per minit

learn another lesson ...izzit the same for u guys ???
megadisc
post May 31 2013, 12:17 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ May 30 2013, 10:32 PM)
The Riverwalk
20 Upper Circular Road, #04-01/02, Singapore 058416

http://www.mom.gov.sg/contact-us/Pages/default.aspx#eps
i see, thanks  rclxms.gif
company phone  rclxms.gif
good for u ...mine is personal wan ...

QUOTE(seantang @ May 30 2013, 10:47 PM)
You didn't know?  shocking.gif

Anything roaming is expensive. And if you're a heavy data user... don't dataroam without subscribing to the S$15/day unlimited dataroam plan. Easily thousands of bucks if you watch videos or download anything.

That's why I carry 3 phones when I'm back in MY. 1 company phone and 1 personal on Singtel multisim; and 1 personal Celcom.
i disabled data so its ok ..
megadisc
post Jun 1 2013, 12:11 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 31 2013, 11:16 PM)
I'm looking for an affordable room to rent in Singapore.. any recommendation?
The rent over there seriously is no joke... everything is so damn expensive  shocking.gif
not eveything lah ...but the food tatstes great
megadisc
post Jun 3 2013, 12:18 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 2 2013, 02:17 PM)
i brought it on board b4, didn't stop me
it's a risk if you wanna try it
racket is good
good for healt
megadisc
post Jun 3 2013, 08:52 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jun 3 2013, 08:38 AM)
Yaloh. I also want to find cheaper room. Common room in jurong west only $500 for single like me but too far from my office. sad.gif
so sad to hear that
megadisc
post Jun 3 2013, 09:08 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 3 2013, 02:55 PM)
You just need is a laptop, broadband, forward the office phone to your handphone and some discipline to actually sit down to do 6-8 hours of work in your pajamas.

And it helps that my boss is in the US, and I run my own show in Asia.
awesoem ...care to share the lobang ???
megadisc
post Jun 3 2013, 10:21 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 3 2013, 10:20 PM)
Simple... get a job where there's nobody in Singapore more senior than you in your function/dept/biz unit. Then you have your tall mountains, distant emperors.
haah ....

me still looking ....aisay ...
megadisc
post Jun 3 2013, 11:09 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jun 3 2013, 11:07 PM)
Will not knowing Mandarin be a hindrance to your career in SG?
My Chinese ain't really good... but on the bright side, at least I can force myself to pick it up bit by bit over there....
depends on which field u interetest

supply chain and purchasing is needed ...
megadisc
post Jun 4 2013, 08:26 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 4 2013, 07:30 PM)
It's a marketable tool but why are you concern if it gives you an edge to your competitors? As long as it is value added to your application, you should just market it. For a language that is spoken and understood by 1.5bn people, the context should be how your proficiency in the language helps you and your job grow.
main thing is how u use it and not how much u know
hehehe ... shocking.gif
megadisc
post Jun 5 2013, 11:58 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 5 2013, 03:36 PM)
Because the people who queue are more picky about their food than you are, or at that moment in time they have a hankering for that particular food/cuisine/restaurant.
i tot got queue means good ...
megadisc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:21 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jun 6 2013, 08:05 AM)

aprpreciate this .

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top