Working in Singapore V14

toughnut
post Jul 10 2013, 05:12 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 10 2013, 02:12 PM)
From the horse's mouth...
Does that meant if foreigners, they cant even qualify for EP? Min requirement is $3k.

Anyway, finally ICA approved my PR after 2 months waiting. Another low pay, no skill worker added to PR pools laugh.gif
toughnut
post Jul 12 2013, 12:38 PM

3,239 posts

If the estimation is correct, there will be lots of millionaire just by trading forex...
toughnut
post Jul 12 2013, 04:23 PM

3,239 posts

guys, remember to pay tax.

damn heartache sad.gif
toughnut
post Jul 27 2013, 09:39 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 27 2013, 10:24 AM)
Well, tayhaithian got 7k offer as fresh grad, so to some people it is apparently very easy. I believe toughnut seantang and Fiona Chin are other high earners pulling in above 10k (or close to that) so you could ask them for their experiences too.
i'm cheap labour la. eat chap fan 10-12 times a week, ride bus/mrt daily cry.gif
toughnut
post Aug 4 2013, 02:24 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 4 2013, 02:01 PM)
yup. mostly. it's like striking a lottery to get a understanding owner. most tend to have extreme cost cutting thoughts smile.gif
I think agent play a big role too. Currently I rented 2 rooms in a unit. Only landlord, old uncle, staying inside but not staying in recently cuz hospitalized due to health complication. Allowed visitors and overnight plus cooking.
toughnut
post Aug 30 2013, 10:18 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 29 2013, 09:48 PM)
Won't be taxed.

btw Congrats Toughnut!
tongue.gif Thanks bro. Sadly HDB latest decision still heartbreaking...

Bunny, promoted to kitchen now. No need to serve customer and clean tables
toughnut
post Sep 4 2013, 06:43 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(samteng @ Sep 4 2013, 04:55 PM)
The rent in Serangoon North or Ang Mo Kio area would cost you $500 to $600 a month in a 3-room flat. Salary wise it's slightly less than Malaysia for a dollar to a dollar. An average pay for an IT fresh graduate here is RM3000 but in SG, it's $2500. As a foreigner, you will have to take a slightly lower pay package compared to a local which is why they hire you in the first place. So you could be starting off with $2300.
For the first job, if desperate to get a job in SG, you do that. But once you're in, clear that mentality off your mind or else you will always get lower pay than your colleagues.
toughnut
post Sep 5 2013, 11:47 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 4 2013, 10:56 PM)
not everyone makes sgd 12k/month on first salary like u la... zzzz
I don't know from where you guys came out with that ridiculous figure. 12k is my half year salary.
toughnut
post Sep 27 2013, 11:31 AM

3,239 posts

for myself, $1750 still doable.

$600 rental
$400 meal
$50 phone
$50 transport
$150 misc
$500 saving and parents

currently my monthly expenses still below $1500 lol. dine once or twice per week, mostly cook on weekend, cinema once or twice a month. that's all

This post has been edited by toughnut: Sep 27 2013, 11:34 AM

0.0567sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:42 PM