121 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

-pWs-
post Aug 26 2010, 05:13 PM

8,545 posts

Update :

1. azri
2. PGGTrader
3. ldragon
4. Alex
5. Joe C (chungss)
6. Yushin
7. shahada -1
8. shahada -1
9. shahada -1
10. Paultantk
11. StanleYz
12. avex|mode
13. cafee
14. Jamil
15. Leong
16. Evirober
17. -pWs-
18. -pWs-
19. mox123

-pWs-
auronthas
post Aug 26 2010, 05:14 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 26 2010, 04:49 PM)
When I was on Streamyx, I had a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 wifi router hooked up to a first generation ZTE ADSL modem which was never turned off and I had no problems with them. So, I've been following this thread closely in wait for a good alternative to completely replace the "sensitive" DIR 615. The sifus here have found a way to totally replace the DIR 615. So, I too will likely invest in a RB250GS. Pair it with a good wireless access point and everything will be good to go thumbup.gif
Thanks, hmm, how reliable is RB250GS, has anyone use more than months ? If it's really good, I am interested to get one too. Have you registered in the list?
richard912
post Aug 26 2010, 05:19 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 04:16 PM)
I identified that product a while back but they're rather hard to find and have to be configured using a Windows based application I believe. RB250GS uses a web interface so any OS can configure it through the network without issues.
Riz

Will someone be helping out to configure those RB250CS being bulked? Some of us here are n00bs who know little about properly setting it up
billytong
post Aug 26 2010, 05:27 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 26 2010, 05:14 PM)
Thanks, hmm, how reliable is RB250GS, has anyone use more than months ? If it's really good, I am interested to get one too. Have you registered in the list?

no one will know, every single one of us are genie pig, we are the white mice of the future Unifi user. Thats the penalty of being early subscriber. sweat.gif

I wont be surprised that TM will come out any sort of "combo" package in another 2 years.
rizvanrp
post Aug 26 2010, 05:30 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 26 2010, 05:19 PM)
Riz

Will someone be helping out to configure those RB250CS being bulked? Some of us here are n00bs who know little about properly setting it up
I've already written the configuration guide, all people have to do is follow it smile.gif

http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=55&Itemid=67
SUSGreenSamurai
post Aug 26 2010, 05:31 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

I am interested in getting the RB250GS but I have no extra routers available so I will have to get both that and a new router and that will cost me too much money that I can't afford
jchue73
post Aug 26 2010, 05:33 PM

2,496 posts

1. azri
2. PGGTrader
3. ldragon
4. Alex
5. Joe C (chungss)
6. Yushin
7. shahada -1
8. shahada -1
9. shahada -1
10. Paultantk
11. StanleYz
12. avex|mode
13. cafee
14. Jamil
15. Leong
16. Evirober
17. -pWs-
18. -pWs-
19. mox123
20. jchue73

Added on August 26, 2010, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 10:28 AM)
Setup IP forwarding + NAT using iptables to share the connection. I also have a sample /etc/ppp/peers provider configuration file for Unifi if you want it. The file will set eth0.500 as the PPPoE interface to dial through.
Hi rizvanrp, are you familiar with Cisco programming? Do you know if a Cisco 1841 would be up for this kind of task?

This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 26 2010, 05:35 PM
auronthas
post Aug 26 2010, 05:38 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 05:30 PM)
I've already written the configuration guide, all people have to do is follow it smile.gif

Thanks for the wonderful guideline, will read it in more depth. tongue.gif

Does it means I can throw away DIR-615 with this RB250GS? Hmm, there is no wireless LAN available in RB250GS? I think I still connect a bridge over a internet wireless router (ADSL Modem Router not work) also. Correct me if I am wrong.
klseet
post Aug 26 2010, 05:45 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 26 2010, 03:59 PM)
Update:
Just called http://www.landasan.com.my/. The sales man will explain and push his boss to get it fast after i story him about unifi stuff. and around 20 users interested.
he will get back to me next week about the price & approx need 1 month to bring it in. tentative price around RM150-200.
It's the same thing he told me previously....
Anywhere, IF Landasan willing to bring-in and prince around RM150 then you guys can seriously consider it. nod.gif

Meanwhile, ada sesiapa boleh "tolong" tu custom kah??

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 05:30 PM)

This is great man!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 26 2010, 05:46 PM
rizvanrp
post Aug 26 2010, 05:55 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 26 2010, 05:33 PM)
Hi rizvanrp, are you familiar with Cisco programming? Do you know if a Cisco 1841 would be up for this kind of task?
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/12_3t/...e/gtvlansc.html

Depends on your router model I guess, I'm not too familiar with PPPoE or VLAN management on IOS to confirm this.

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 26 2010, 05:38 PM)
Thanks for the wonderful guideline, will read it in more depth.  tongue.gif

Does it means I can throw away DIR-615 with this RB250GS? Hmm, there is no wireless LAN available in RB250GS? I think I still connect a bridge over a internet wireless router (ADSL Modem Router not work) also. Correct me if I am wrong.
The RB250GS is not a router. It's just a smart switch to assign a tagged VLAN to a port so you can connect your tagged VLAN unaware devices to it. You still need a PPPoE capable router to manage the Internet connection, though it doesn't have to be VLAN tag capable or running dd-wrt.

Once you get the switch, you can flash your DIR-615 to dd-wrt and use it as a router or buy a new one without losing IPTV access. You can even plug your computer into it directly and dial in through the Windows PPPoE dialer if you want.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Aug 26 2010, 05:56 PM
auronthas
post Aug 26 2010, 06:39 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 05:55 PM)

The RB250GS is not a router. It's just a smart switch to assign a tagged VLAN to a port so you can connect your tagged VLAN unaware devices to it. You still need a PPPoE capable router to manage the Internet connection, though it doesn't have to be VLAN tag capable or running dd-wrt.

Once you get the switch, you can flash your DIR-615 to dd-wrt and use it as a router or buy a new one without losing IPTV access. You can even plug your computer into it directly and dial in through the Windows PPPoE dialer if you want.
May I have a simple diagram how the connection between equipments, a bit of confused rclxub.gif

Thanks in advance.
billytong
post Aug 26 2010, 07:09 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 26 2010, 05:45 PM)
It's the same thing he told me previously....
Anywhere, IF Landasan willing to bring-in and prince around RM150 then you guys can seriously consider it. nod.gif

Meanwhile, ada sesiapa boleh "tolong" tu custom kah??
This is great man!!  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

Hey hows is the RB250GS perform do u on 24/7 on stress mode? tongue.gif
klseet
post Aug 26 2010, 07:58 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 26 2010, 07:09 PM)
Hey hows is the RB250GS perform do u on 24/7 on stress mode? tongue.gif
Never off it for 4 days liao, uTorrent, online gaming, IPTV and recently joined DC++, so far so good didn't notice any lagging or slow....
Only thing is my PC a bit slow after 2 days of "stress" tongue.gif
SUSGreenSamurai
post Aug 26 2010, 08:08 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

Depending on the price I may want to be in the bulk list as well
AMDAthlon
post Aug 26 2010, 08:16 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Is there anyway to enable subtittle for Asian Movies in VOD? doh.gif
auronthas
post Aug 26 2010, 08:23 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 26 2010, 06:39 PM)
May I have a simple diagram how the connection between equipments, a bit of confused  rclxub.gif

Thanks in advance.
Is the setup with RB250GS based on Riz's guide can be simplified as follow: -

BTU <LAN1 of RB250GS> RB250GS (replacing DIR-615) <LAN2 of RB250GS> STB <LAN3 of RB250GS> Wired/wireless router(with RJ45 port instead of RJ11 port type)<LAN4 of RB250GS>Spare

This post has been edited by auronthas: Aug 26 2010, 08:23 PM
klseet
post Aug 26 2010, 08:30 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 26 2010, 08:23 PM)
Is the setup with RB250GS based on Riz's guide can be simplified as follow: -

BTU <LAN1 of  RB250GS> RB250GS (replacing DIR-615) <LAN2 of RB250GS> STB <LAN3 of RB250GS> Wired/wireless router(with RJ45 port instead of RJ11 port type)<LAN4 of RB250GS>Spare
Follow Riz's instruction, your connection should be:

BTU[LAN1] ----> [LAN1]RB250GS[LAN2] ----> IPTV STB
.................................RB250GS[LAN3] ----> [WAN]<your router PPPoE UniFi user ID & password>
OR
.................................RB250GS[LAN3] ----> [WAN]DIR-615 <follow Riz's instruction to flash with dd-wrt>

All the above "----" are using RJ45 Cat5/5e cable, not those RJ11 telephone cable.

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 26 2010, 08:35 PM
keevster
post Aug 26 2010, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 04:16 PM)
I identified that product a while back but they're rather hard to find and have to be configured using a Windows based application I believe. RB250GS uses a web interface so any OS can configure it through the network without issues.
Thanks rizvanrp,

Looks like my Unifi nightmare has started... As I write this I have restarted the Dlink 6x already each time after about 5 minutes it drops internet connection (the green globe turns to orange)... so much so I'm going to coin this the "Orange Globe of Death" -OGOD!

I have set 5 port forward rules and I think it does not like it.. I have one rule for skype which it particularly does not like and when I make a video call the OGOD appears!!

OK count me in for a RB250GS!

pr0di9y
post Aug 26 2010, 09:17 PM

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
2,404 posts

Just some thoughts, for those people who has issue with their DIR-615 G1 routers. Have you guys every try maybe re-flash the firmware again and see if the problem can be solved?

Or is that really a hardware issue on the device? Cause if this is the case then we seriously can mount up some consumer complains directly to D-Link as well about this.
auronthas
post Aug 26 2010, 09:25 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 26 2010, 08:30 PM)
Follow Riz's instruction, your connection should be:

BTU[LAN1] ----> [LAN1]RB250GS[LAN2] ----> IPTV STB
.................................RB250GS[LAN3] ----> [WAN]<your router PPPoE UniFi user ID & password>
OR
.................................RB250GS[LAN3] ----> [WAN]DIR-615 <follow Riz's instruction to flash with dd-wrt>

All the above "----" are using RJ45 Cat5/5e cable, not those RJ11 telephone cable.
Thanks for correction. So basically, you no longer need DIR-615 if you have a internet router? Based on the 2nd option using DIR-615, how reliable is this setup compared with 1st option?

If I want to follow 1st option setup as above, I need purchase further equipment as follow: -

a) RB250GS;
b) Internet router (wireless);
c) Two homeplugs

Wow, that will cost me a bomb !

Btw, are you taking bulk order for RB250GS ? I would like to register for RB250GS.

121 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0616sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:33 AM