Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept
billytong
Aug 11 2010, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 11 2010, 07:07 PM) Truth be told, the DIR-615 G1 is a decent router using a standard router chipset + hardware. The only thing causing many of these bugs is the firmware that TM has placed in it. I've been torrenting for 3 days straight after flashing my DIR-615 G1 to dd-wrt and its been really stable. Since it has a 384Mhz proc + 32MB RAM (which is way better than some of your linksys 54g models), it can easily handle 10,000+ connections with a custom conntrack table size.  So I guess in other words u are saying indirectly the person who wrote TM firmware are idiots?  hehe
billytong
Aug 13 2010, 04:40 PM
I just signed up Unifi today. May be in 2 weeks someone gonna drill my house......
Well I cannot really stand the ping time the streamyx offer. It is really pathetic. Hopefully Unifi is a lot better.
This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 13 2010, 04:41 PM
billytong
Aug 13 2010, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(calvin92 @ Aug 13 2010, 07:02 PM) Unifi is alot better in ping times as i testes but the router they give is the bad thing. Ping in flying spaghetti monster dota can be like 0, 15, 15ms and speedtest ping is 7-30 ms which is miles better then streamyx which gives me 90 ping Describe "Bad thing" you experience in the router. I hope u dont mean the "bad" router adding significant ping time, as i do not see this often happen. The ping time I mentioning here is oversea. This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 13 2010, 08:21 PM
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 07:34 AM
Ok puts the router problem aside. Still waiting from the Technician to come tho. But I still cannot figure out how they gonna lay the fiber cable to my second floor. (concrete ceiling somemore)I am on 3 storey house. So it can be really hard  There is no back street behind my house it is a neighbor area, still wondering where they gonna lay cables coming from.  There is no poles around my area too. all telephone lines are underground. *cough I got a feeling that I need a couple of homeplug really soon. Just curious where u guys put ur BTU, routers? Right infront of Living room? And then there are 6 phone sockets in my houses. I guess it is pretty much become useless after I install Unifi and cancel regular phone line? This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 14 2010, 07:52 AM
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2010, 09:44 AM) you should see somnething like this  My btu is in my room 2nd floor. Drill dinding house to make a hole, for fiber cable from outdoor fiber unit. (FTP or FPB something like that). The outdoor unit will be installed by TM contractor, external party. They will lay cable from fiber distribution point up to your outdoor fiber unit. TM staff will test the reading at the fiber outdoor unit first. If reading is ok, then the TM contractor will leave, the rest of the equipment and internal wiring will be done by the TM staff. is that ugly thing sit infront of your house. Unique for each house? I just did a search, there is no green dustbin in my street. How they lay cables to your second floor? Cables climb the wall and Drill a hole on the wall behind your house? *usually most house have a small back Jalan(*street) behind them but in my case I dont have any street. Behind me is my neighbor lol
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 03:41 PM
This is soo "lucky", when you finally know that ur non-modem Router finally become useful. I found my non modem Router, but does not have wireless, then I found another wireless non-modem router, but I couldnt find the Adapter
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 05:24 PM
Well still couldnt find my adapter for my wireless router. But I do have another router without wireless. Possible to do something like this? BTU | | DIR-615(as wireless AP) <-...wireless connections....-> multiple notebooks. |.......L--> STB | | L---RJ45/home plug-> Custom Router <--> PC. This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 14 2010, 05:30 PM
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 05:36 PM
So whats ur best suggestion? my Unifi havent come yet... but I know that.
I might have my BTU @ Location A
then All my Desktops @ Location B
then all my notebooks @ everywhere else.
EDIT: My Desktops are dealing with online Forex where ping time is extremely sensitive.
This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 14 2010, 05:39 PM
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 14 2010, 05:44 PM) Buy a custom router with wifi and keep your desktops on cables  Damn... where the heck is my Adapter when I really need it..... oh well, anyway thanks for tips, looks like I gonna use the Homeplug to connect my router to my BTU+DIR-615
billytong
Aug 14 2010, 10:12 PM
yeah more guide would be better. Just found my Adapter for my wifi router. (finally.... Jeez) btw, Can we use custom router directly to BTU as a backup router in the event of the DIR-615 burn? (just internet only, no IPTV) Anybody tried that b4?
billytong
Aug 15 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(ghost705 @ Aug 15 2010, 10:57 AM) waiting my 2nd unifi to install on next friday and it's Biz 5  i wonder it's there any different configuration with current VIP package.Hope to knew it soon  Did u install @ Commercial area or Residential? Because I did asked them to offer me BIZ5 to my house despite saying I have company name to register, but they rejected it saying requirement is commercial address.
billytong
Aug 15 2010, 11:33 AM
Damn that woman from TMpoint Kepong say no. But then I applied the VIP5 package, kinda too late now...
billytong
Aug 15 2010, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(ghost705 @ Aug 15 2010, 11:41 AM) lol = = really no comment for that , one story for one TM staff haha and still wondering what kind of router they give for Biz package PG gateway = = Well yeah... not that I would bother with the "unlimited" tag from BIZ 5 package, but more like I am thinking BIZ5 package would come with better IP range, bandwidth allocation in the event of SWS4 goes down, which is rather common. Which TMpoint is that, that allows you to applied BIZ5?
billytong
Aug 15 2010, 01:04 PM
You know I am rather worry with the DIR-615 issue after seeing so many guys here having problems. Tmnut can offer lifetime warranty for lease equipment like BTU, but DIR-615 is 1 year only under a 2 year Unifi contract.  In other words every single one of us will get rip off by Tmnet after 1 year if our router fail. The retail DIR-615 is about RM130-RM140. I highly doubt Tmnut gonna sell us @ that price.
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 02:26 PM
Would be nice to have a guide for custom router to access Internet only, in the event of DIR-615 Fails.
I really cannot bare with being disconnected from net.
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 16 2010, 02:30 PM) http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=53&Itemid=65There is a guide for that (dd-wrt), just apply it to a Buffalo DD-WRT flashed router or something  Eh brother, must be strictly dd-wrt router?  Flashing router void warranty. not something i want do to for now.
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 04:45 PM
Well btw guys, I just asked my friend who is using the retail DIR-615 he bought from shop. It seems to be rather decent router. Pretty much a complete opposite of Tmnut unifi DIR-615 that everyone else is experiencing now. it is either Tmnet get the reject stocks of DIR-615 from D-link or their firmware screw up the router.
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 05:33 PM
Agree with what Calvin said.
If it wasnt my area didnt support Streamyx 4mbps, I would not even consider Unifi for the hussle of drilling especially my house is a 3 storey ones. But then given the ping advantages the Unifi has, I would still be "ok" with the cap they implement in later stage as long as they keep the ping rate quality @ 1st class category.
atm it would seems to me the streamyx is a more matured service until they sorted out the problems in Unifi user is having now.
This post has been edited by billytong: Aug 16 2010, 05:35 PM
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 16 2010, 05:48 PM) If you get the WHR-HP-G300N [Atheros], there is way to flash-back even to the original firmware. Buffalo also has it's own version of dd-wrt for this model [I believe it's from BrainSlayer also], but I would still recommend the BS's latest built. If I'm not mistaken, DIR-615 from TM is G1 model running on it's own firmware for TM's UniFi. Those retail outside I think it's D1, D2 model. Not sure whether the same or not, but I think might be different, otherwise TM no "special deal" with D-Link to provide UniFi customer "exclusively" liao ....  Well at least mine isnt dd-wrt for now. Just hope the 615 I am getting is the one behave as it should be
billytong
Aug 16 2010, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 16 2010, 09:31 PM) Any alternative hardware to replace DIR-615 since it's so fragile and not durable. Thats what many of us been finding out, it seems the only drawbacks is the STB isnt gonna work with regular custom router you bought from IT shop.