6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

klseet
post Jul 29 2010, 09:59 AM

130 posts

Hi there,

I'll be getting my UniFi installation soon and would like to seek some advice here:

1. What's the maximum distance allow between the "Fiber Optic Termination Point" and "Fiberhome Unit" ?

2. What's the maximum distance allow between the "Fiberhome Unit" and "D-Link DIR-615" ?

3. If without any Cat cabling or HomePlug to the "IPTV Set", is it possible to configure the DIR-615 LAN port4 [for IPTV] to allow wireless bridging from the "IPTV Set" ?
[Say, attach an AP router to DIR-615 LAN4, then attach IPTV set to another wireless bridging router?]

4. Has anyone managed to replace the DIR-615 completely and self-configured other routers with the IPTV still working ?
[If I'm not mistaken, the ASUS RT-N10 stock firmware has some kind of setting for IPTV on specific LAN port, hope to get some setup advice here.]

5. [if yes to Q4] Has anyone managed to use dd-wrt on which router model and what kind of setting is required?

Sorry if I've asked repeated questions again, appreciate some experience sharing from you guys here, thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Jul 29 2010, 10:11 AM
klseet
post Jul 29 2010, 07:57 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Jul 29 2010, 10:30 AM)
Hi klseet,

I will answer ur question number 3:

Yes. It is possible to attach the DIR-615 to AP router, and IPTV to Repeater Router. I have done this setting by using 2 DD-WRT installed router (WRT54G).

My Setup:

DIR-615 ->WRT54G (AP) -> WRT54G (Repeater Bridge) ->IPTV
Hi sil3ntHunt3r,

Thanks for the confirmation, at least can move the IPTV around within the house!
Btw, can this port4 be used for internet browsing or just the IPTV only?
klseet
post Jul 30 2010, 03:34 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 18 2010, 01:39 AM)
Okay guys, I've spent the last 2 hours doing this ._.

And I have *very* good news smile.gif

---

---

Not only can you run Unifi through your DD-WRT router, you can run DD-WRT on the TMnet DIR-615 G1 router. After looking at some FCC documentation, I realized the chipset (CPU, RAM, FLASH) were exactly identical to the D-Link DIR-615 D1. I took the plunge and reflashed the TM router and YEAHHH biggrin.gif I spent over an hour getting the DDWRT PPPoE daemon to connect over VLAN ID 500. I know how to do this however I'm still testing the stability and VLAN support.. so no guide yet (I don't want you to screw up your router). If this is going to be used by other Unifi users, IPTV has to work flawlessly with the dd-wrt firmware.

Will continue my testing later tongue.gif

UPDATE @ 2.00AM : This is f**king sweet shocking.gif

UPDATE @ 2.06AM : MRTG graphs, full Linux console, SSHd and telnet support, bandwidth graphs, full control over connection limits, system load and status information.. AHHHH Unifi 20mbps + DD-WRT on TM DIR-615 G1 == *orgasmic*
QUOTE(ywkwy @ May 8 2010, 11:54 PM)
it is impossible for dd-wrt to make it work at the same time for both the internet and iptv?
Hi rizvanrp,

Thank you for the dd-wrt sharing!

Instead of re-flash the TM's DIR615, can we use other dd-wrt routers?
Currently I have Buffalo WHR-300N and WHR-HP-G300N flashed with dd-wrt working perfectly on Streamyx, I really hope to use it for UniFi.

I read here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Setti...ireless_traffic
Is it confirmed that the IPTV still won't work with this setting?

klseet
post Jul 30 2010, 03:55 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 30 2010, 03:38 PM)
IMO experience, the Buffalo series routers have some issues when running with PPPoE over VLANs while running on dd-wrt. You may experience connection drops or websites not loading.. there's a script to fix that though.

It should work fine for internet connectivity but as for IPTV.. it requires the Port based VLAN page to be fully accessible. I think Linksys dd-wrt flashed routers may fully support this but I was never able to get it to work properly on a DIR-615 dd-wrt flashed router since this function did not work properly. Try it out when you get Unifi, it may work biggrin.gif
Yes, I was having frequent PPPoE disconnection & self-reboot problem on the WHR-HP-G300N [Atheros chipset I believe] flashed with Buffalo's version of dd-wrt [around May'10]. However, after flashing with BrainSlayer's Jun'10 release, no such problem and I can BT straight out for days ....

Whereas for the WHR-G300N [RaLink chipset I believe], I never encounter such problem before.

Can we just buy another DIR-165 to flash with dd-wrt?

I'm just a basic user of dd-wrt, no experience with those advance setting like VLANs.
Appreciate if you could share more VLAN & Networking setup under the dd-wrt, thanks in advance! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 30 2010, 03:13 PM)
It's to perform the VLAN tagging/untagging so you can replace the DIR-615 and still have IPTV + Internet access. No need to rely on TM hardware biggrin.gif
So is it confirmed that this product can replace DIR-165 and IPTV still work?
Is it difficult to setup and any idea where can we get this product?
klseet
post Jul 31 2010, 10:53 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jul 31 2010, 10:03 AM)
...Anyway, how about using your own wireless router if TMNet's suck? I recommend WR1043ND by TP-Link. ..3rd party flashable, either to OpenWRT or DD-WRT (I prefer OpenWRT though)
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr1043nd
Heck, the one given by TMNet is DIR-615? That's not too bad! rizvanrp, can you tell me what hardware revision it is?
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/d-link/dir-615
RaLink not supported for OpenWRT, and I like openWRT better than DD-WRT. More customization possible, although there's simply no help file and you will have to somewhat live with ssh, winscp, putty, etc to a certain extent. The web interface exists of course.
Yes, it is possible to use your own router as posted & confirmed by rizvanrp:
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61
Also he did show the dd-wrt on DIR-615 on previous V4 posting, if I'm not mistaken, somehow the IPTV still won't work on dd-wrt yet.

I never use OpenWRT before,heard it require more technical knowledge .... I'm not techie so only can use basic function of dd-wrt.

May I know how's the OpenWRT running on your current TL-WR1043ND?
How user-friendly & setup easiness compare to dd-wrt?
Appreciate some sharing here, I don't mind to flash with OpenWRT as well as I really don't want to use the TM's DIR-615.

I have a TL-WR941ND v3.2 but still no luck to flash with dd-wrt since the v3.2 hardware board has some kind of problem in saving the setting and I don't know how to provide those "serial logs" for them to trouble-shoot .... sigh .....

QUOTE(KAHAK @ Jul 31 2010, 10:42 AM)
..so when Unifi Come to Perak?!?
Actually you may check availability here:
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...d=63&Itemid=213
Can also visit TM or call them to find out or pre-register with them.

This post has been edited by klseet: Jul 31 2010, 11:00 AM
klseet
post Jul 31 2010, 05:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jul 31 2010, 04:48 PM)
@klseet:-
The reason why I'm asking regarding DIR-615's hardware revision is because not all hardware revision is supported by OpenWRT. Just because it works with dd-wrt, doesn't mean it works with openwrt. Check the links I gave you, it tells you which revisions are supported by OpenWRT.

OpenWRT might support IPTV, who knows. Just ask the openwrt.org forums, or take a look at all the available software that you can add to openwrt.

What I can say about OpenWRT is, it is very, very modular. I can install, uninstall softwares to add functionality that other users add (like multi-wan) with just typing a single line into the console and reboot, etc. In case you run out of space, or ram, you can also just setup swap space and also make the router install it to your external.
In fact, OpenWRT is so much better at setting up swap space and setting up a network storage . Hell, you can even set up a BITTORRENT CLIENT, right into the router itself. Then connect a network fileshare, or connect it to your external hard disk. There's just so many things possible with OpenWRT, I can't possibly list them all. My next plan is probably a http server on the router. I need to set up some leet routing so that I can access my internal torrent page by port 80. I can't really do much about the bittorrent client, I don't have an external right now. The best way to torrent with OpenWRT is with a NAS attached to it.

A few things I have on my OpenWRT and WR1043ND (no router can compete this baby in terms of best bang for buck. It's so great that I just have to spread the word. What a waste for this router to not be known):-

USB thumbdrive
Wireless Client (router acts as a client for wireless bridging. Good for stealing someone's line and share it for everyone to hoarde, especially with the hardware's powerful antennae. Oops. Currently not enabled. I used it for testing)
File sharing
Realtime bandwidth (pretty much the same as DD-WRT)
Bandwidth statistics (non-real-time data, and to view much more, you probably need more linux skills. Takes up a lot of space too, so the USB thumbdrive is handy)
Even a printer is possible... although I can't really do this, the printer is 3-in-1.
Yes, I believe you'll need to learn a little bit with its command lines, however. There's the wiki for help, and also the users. Don't worry, it has a user interface.
Wah, thanks for the quick info, seem like OpenWrt really flexible and can do lots of things smile.gif
Ok, I'll take a look at the OpenWrt and also will check out the WR1043ND on the up-coming PC fair.

I'm worry is I'm not techie enough to understand those technical terms and command lines, guess will have to spend some times on it.... sweat.gif
Not to off-topic too much here, at times may drop you PM to ask junior basic questions, hope you don't mind! notworthy.gif
klseet
post Jul 31 2010, 07:40 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jul 31 2010, 07:06 PM)
@rizvanrp
Bro, mind to share how you create VLAN?
I search through DD-WRT, I only manage to create 0-15 vlan.

Any idea?

-pWs-
Hi izvanrp,
Hope you can help us to explain how to configure the following section:
Basic Setup
Advanced Routing
Networking

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif
klseet
post Jul 31 2010, 10:39 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jul 31 2010, 08:24 PM)
I don't mind at all. It's good to have more OpenWRT users  laugh.gif .

EDIT: By the way, why are you guys trying to set up VLAN? For isolation purposes? Or to set a few devices to have the same ip without conflict?
EDIT2: Looks like you guys are trying to get IPTV to work.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Setti...ireless_traffic

If the guide does not work, ssh into the router using putty (username is root, pass.. is your pass), key in "ifconfig" (without '') and post the output here.
Ok, will go through & test first, will report & seek your expert advice later if still can't get it work smile.gif
Actually my UniFi will be installed next few days, I was trying to seek some help & info here hoping to setup my Buffalo router with dd-wrt to replace TM's DIR-615.
So far still no clue yet, especially on those advance network setting VLAN stuff & how to get the IPTV works ... sad.gif

klseet
post Jul 31 2010, 10:51 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jul 31 2010, 10:41 PM)
Sigh, my 20MB unifi installation is not successful. Signal too weak sad.gif
Looks like I have to use my streamyx longer.
Sorry may I know what do you mean by "Signal too weak"? blink.gif
How does it happen? You mean TM can't do anything??
klseet
post Aug 1 2010, 12:54 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 1 2010, 12:04 AM)
Pulled these old screenshots from May 2010 smile.gif...

vlan2 in these screenies refer to the physical WAN port on the router but its different for each chipset. Yours may be eth0/eth1/vlan1 so you'll have to test it and figure it out. After you've done this properly, your router should be able to establish the PPPoE connection with a direct link to the GPON/VDSL unit.
Hi rizvanrp,
Thanks for the information sharing, will use it to configure & report here soon!

I was told by AlphaWolf on another topic to suggest Broadcom base router:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry35317179
could this be the reason why IPTV doesn't work on RaLink or Antheros?

klseet
post Aug 1 2010, 10:31 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 1 2010, 02:18 AM)
Ok. This is how it goes. I was offered by TM to be their beta user until the end of June. They promise me to call me the the end of June to ask me whether or not to continue their service. then few days before 30th of June, i receive a mail regarding the special price for VIP20 if I continue to use Unifi after the trial period and also come with a form for me to fill if I want to continue however, there is no single information about rejecting their offer. When I turn on my computer on 1st of July, I was surprise that my Unifi still able to connect so i assume they need sometime to settle other beta users that's why my line still can be used. However, on 1Xth of July, I stop using Unifi and switch back to my Streamyx (I didn't know whether or not my Unifi is cut) and the sametime, I'm still waiting for them to call me as they promise they will do. Today morning, I received a bill from TM and I was shocked when I look at the amount I need to pay. I need to pay RM199 instead of RM88. I admit my mistake for not calling them to cut my line after the trial but hey, they promise me to call me and I already stop using it. So guy, is it my mistake for not calling them or theirs for not calling me?? Now my parents are mad at me sad.gif Hopefully i can settle this problem on next Tuesday.
Do you have any black & white on the beta user contract?
Assuming you didn't sign & agree that email offer end of June, I believe you can still discuss & resolve with them.
I suggest you to write down all the details from the very begining include date, who do you talk to, what was discussed/agreed, any relevant documents, etc.
In case TM refuse, you have to request to see their manager. In the event you exhausted all the avenue, you have to inform them then you have no other choice but to refer to MCMC.

Then compile all your documents, prepare to write down in points form stated very clearly the facts & straight to the point what you have gone through, most importantly state that you NEVER sign & agree to any extension nor charges thereafter, finally state what's your requirement:
1. go to : http://www.skmm.gov.my/index.php?c=public&...view&art_id=142
2. fill-up Form1-Notification of Dispute
3. FAX to MCMC [try not to email]
4. Next day, call MCMC, ask for Complaint department, re-confirm they have received your fax, ask for the MCMC officer in charge, explain your case to him/her again.

Again, assuming you didn't sign & agree anything on the charges, whether TM call or you call is not really important.
I personally don't think you need to go through MCMC in this case, just explain calmly to TM, hope you call resolve quickly, good luck!
klseet
post Aug 5 2010, 08:32 PM

130 posts

Finally, my VIP5 installed already !! rclxms.gif

A team of 7 [TM+contractor] started at 10:30am, by 3:30pm already can surf, from registration to installation all done within a week, to be honest, I'm quite surprise, good job TM-UniFi team !! rclxms.gif

I change the DIR-615 password and re-configure bridge mode according to guidelines at: http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61
I'm using my current Buffalo WHR-G300N [dd-wrt] so no need to change any settings on LAN.

So far everything seem to be ok for the past 24 hours, internet download/upload, IPTV & phone all running ok no disconnection issue.
The uTorrent speed is definitely improved:

I'm also surprised with the IPTV, it has few HD channels, those SD channels picture quality seem to be better than Byond!
I don't know how to change the aspect ratio, it seem to set at 4:3 and cannnot be changed, does anyone knows how to change it?

Other than that no complaint yet, only thing now still no idea how to replace that DIR-615 completely, really hope it don't burn .... sweat.gif
klseet
post Aug 13 2010, 07:03 PM

130 posts

Been using for 1 week now, online gaming, BT, internet & IPTV all so far so good, the DIR-615 working as VLAN also seem to be ok.
Except for the STB LED display which didn't display correctly, called them on Friday night and was immediately replaced with a new unit the next day morning 10am, customer care even called twice to confirm it's ok, honestly I'm quite impressed with UniFi service, hope TM continue to uphold such a rapid support rclxms.gif

Also been trying to replace the DIR-615 with other router, unfortunately still not working, here's my testing scenario:

Equipment: ASUS RT-N12 [Broadcom base]

Test 1 - Stock standard firmware 1.0.0.6 [come with it]
PPPoE cannot connect at all, it said something like no response.

Test 2 - download from ASUS and update firmware to 1.0.0.7 [beta]
Still the same problem, PPPoE cannot connect....

Test 3 - flashed with dd-wrt BrainSlayer R14815 16Jul10 firmware, setup as follows:
Still, PPPoE cannot connect at all .... cry.gif
klseet
post Aug 14 2010, 12:42 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 13 2010, 07:16 PM)
i think you need to throw a hub in between and test.. and capture the packet flow and see is it really tagging at vlan500
cause i heard ddwrt vlan tagging got some "kecacatan"
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Aug 13 2010, 10:45 PM)
@ klseet
Try reboot the router. It will turn back to VLAN1. Not VLAN1.500
I got two DD-WRT router which is Linksys WRT160N and Asus RT-N12.
Same issue which is for Linksys, I set to VLAN2.500. Reboot and turn back VLAN2.

As suggested by bro rizvanrp, maybe u can try on manually set the command at the Startup command in DD-WRT. Not yet try for this.
But FYI. If u replace w your router, you will sacrifice your IPTV.
Ok, will get a hub and test it again.

Yes, I noticed the dd-wrt always revert back to VLAN1 once the router reboot, really don't know why....
May be we should re-assign WAN to another VLAN?

Actually the ASUS RT-N10 or N12 stock standard firmware does has an option to assign which LAN port for IPTV, I was hoping it can work so can just replace DIR-615 ....

I must admit I'm just a junior dd-wrt user, I really don't know how to "capture the packet flow" and "manually set the command" blush.gif sweat.gif
Hope to get more help here for further testing notworthy.gif
klseet
post Aug 14 2010, 10:55 PM

130 posts

Barely after 10 days usage, this morning around 11am, my DIR-615 WAN port died few mins after power re-boot ....sad.gif
The DIR-615 was configured as bridge mode with WiFi turn-off, somemore got AVR power supply....
Called CS, a bit unhappy, complained why their equipments so lousy, my IPTV [LED display problem] was replaced after 3 days only .....

Luckily, a team of 3 TM technical staff arrived few hours later and replaced with a new one, was told that TM is really having problem with the DIR-615.....

Anywhere, I managed to configure Buffalo WHR-G300N for internet during the few hours "black-out", see below .... sweat.gif

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 13 2010, 07:16 PM)
i think you need to throw a hub in between and test.. and capture the packet flow and see is it really tagging at vlan500
I put a cheap TP-Link switch in between the Huawei equipment, then connect my dd-wrt router's WAN port to the switch, here's the result for some routers:
Huawei --> TP-Link switch <-- dd-wrt router --> LAN/WiFi

[Broadcom]
ASUS RT-N12
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54

Both the above 2 routers WAN port assignment is gone once re-boot, PPPoE unable to connect at all ..... cry.gif

However, the following 2 routers are able to connect successfully, but no IPTV shakehead.gif

[RaLink]
Buffalo WHR-G300N

[Atheros]
Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N

I must have setup wrongly somewhere on the Broadcom, but I really don't know how to move forward from here .... rclxub.gif
Also don't know how to make IPTV to work on RaLink & Atheros .... unsure.gif
Hope some sifu out there can help icon_question.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 14 2010, 10:57 PM
klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 10:14 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(76radius @ Aug 15 2010, 07:42 AM)
Can you surf any websites by using this Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N ?, based on my experience it can only connect to google. Other websites seem barred. This Buffalo router got some issues -drop connection & you need to set some script on it, Should ask Rizvan, he did once for me.
Sorry may I know what do you mean by "only connect to google"? You mean can only go to www.google.com ?
I have no problem surfing internet on WHR-HP-G300N here.

Previously when Buffalo launched it's own version of dd-wrt for this device [I think around May'10], I encountered frequent PPPoE disconnection & self-re-boot problem.
Later I re-flashed with BrainSlayer's Jul'10 version seem to be more stable and no such problem.
I just re-flashed with Aug'10 and tested on UniFi for an hour seem to be ok.

I really don't know how to "set some script", do we really need to do so on this unit?
klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 12:45 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(mystiquemaya @ Aug 15 2010, 12:14 PM)
Hi, where do I get the Brainslayer Aug 10 version ya? Am gonna go and buy WHR-HP-G300N today, hopefully. Can't afford the Cisco switch Rizvanrp recommended, and don't know where to find the Mikrotik in KL. Thanks for any tips and advice!
You may find his Aug'10-R14896 listing here:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...8-07-10-r14896/
for WHR-HP-G300N
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...o_whr_hp_g300n/

Alternatively, you may also find from the dd-wrt database:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
just type something like "buffalo whr" should see the listing.

I think Malaysia & Singpoare Mikrotik distributors may find at:
http://www.mikrotik.com/howtobuy.html

If confirm this one can work stock standard to replace the DIR-615 completely, I'll consider to get one also, hope Rizvanrp can re-confirm again nod.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 15 2010, 12:18 PM)
There was a bug with some of the previous Brainslayer firmware versions causing TCP connection drops for some reason. You had to run 'iptables -F FORWARD' in order to fix it sad.gif I suppose its been fixed by them already
no wonder I was having frequent PPPoE disconnection and sudden re-boot problems on earlier built, thanks for the detail infor!

On another topic on the ASUS RT-N12 [Broadcom], I was reading : http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports
follow the instruction just managed to telnet and get the following:

Assuming the N12 port assignment is:
0 = port 4
1 = port 3
2 = port 2
3 = port 1
4 = WAN
5 = CPU internal

May I know:
1. Since the WAN port assignment is always disappeared after rebooting and PPPoE cannot connect, what command do we have to set to "hardcode" WAN port to vlan1.500?
2. Do we need to run the following in order to set LAN4 for IPTV?
nvram set vlan0ports="1 2 3 5*"
nvram set vlan1ports="0 4 5"
nvram commit
reboot

Sorry, I'm junior and still trying my best to learn & setup, really appreciate your help ! notworthy.gif

klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 01:32 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 15 2010, 01:14 PM)
This WAN port assignment disappearing only applies to VLAN interfaces on Broadcom chipsets. I did some testing with prodigy last night and apparently, even if you hard code it to vlan1.500 it will refuse to send out any tagged PPPoE traffic. It might have something to do with the nvram variables or maybe broadcom chipsets just dont allow VLAN interfaces as WAN ports, lol
Alamak, sound negative news on Broadcom chipset doh.gif
It's strange, some LYN dd-wrt forumer did recommend Broadcom base, but no response on how to do it:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry35317179

What about Ralink or Atheros?
I have both WHR-G300N and WHR-HP-G300N, now able to connect internet through:
WHR-G300N Ralink on VLAN2.500
WHR-HP-G300N Atheros on eth0.500

May I know how to setup or "hardcode" command to make vlan2.600 [Ralink] & eth0.600 [Anthros] and map to LAN4?

I'm willing to do any testing even risk of bricking it, I really just want to replace that DIR-615, with such low quality & unreliable product, I can't imagine what will happen after 1 year .... sad.gif

Appreciate your further advise/guidance here! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Aug 15 2010, 01:32 PM
klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 02:56 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 15 2010, 01:47 PM)
It's a crap router. Just replace it. My replacement only cost 270 and that is shiping included. The router spec way better then dir-615 and home consumer router except pfsense of course.
May I know what replacement you bought? Is it easy to setup?
Please share more details, thx!

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 01:51 PM)
@klseet

Don't think you're able to set the IPTV to work with the routers you're using. Seeing that you don't have  VLANs tab under the Setup tab. Or maybe you have to use OpenWRT.

What I did this morning, I've setup a WAN profile for PPPOE and route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection. In which I manage to did it and use another router to host the internet via Static IP under the WAN Connection Type. This also can be done by isolation on Layer 3 to the LAN ports available on the modem via LAN1-4 if unchecked it will act as per-normal packet connection to the TM exchange but of course VLAN tagging is required i.e. 500/600.

So right now my setup would be

BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN1*  => HUB/SWITCH@LAN8
HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN2** => WRT54GL@WAN
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN3*
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN4*

Legends :-
*No routing to PPPOE WAN connection
*With routing to PPPOE WAN connection.
Ok, I try to understand but I have few questions:

1. You mean we have to do something on that Huawei device?

2. May I know how to "route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection"?

3. For the "HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB" connection:
- is it connect to the DIR-615 WAN port?
- can the DIR-615 still runs in Bridge Mode [as per Rizvanrp's custom router setup] or must be the original setting as per TM?

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif

klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 05:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 03:55 PM)
If you guys need any help on the HUAWEI setup just drop me a PM. ...
UGPM !! nod.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 15 2010, 04:15 PM)
Ralink and Atheros can support PPPoE over VLAN interface fine but Broadcom doesn't. Port mapping (or port based VLANs) depends on whether your router can support it in the first place. It's two different issues and it's very hard to find a single router model that can do both of these things at once with dd-wrt. If you really need IPTV, just go with a VLAN switch.
Guess I really have to put the ASUS RT-N12 into store room liao .... unsure.gif

So is this "Mikrotik RouterBoard RB250G/RB250GS" you mentioned can tag it nicely? Is it difficult to setup? Any recommendation where to get one?
If confirm it works, then I'll get one to solve all the headace....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.47    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:47 AM