7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

rizvanrp
post Jul 26 2010, 07:18 AM

195 posts

Whoa V6 already biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Jul 28 2010, 03:56 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(nitewish @ Jul 28 2010, 03:51 PM)
I got a text message from a landline phone saying,

Dear valued customer, in order to provide effective and secure services to our all valued UniFi customer, TM wishes to encourage you to enable "RG Remote Management" function to carry out an online troubleshooting easily by executing a simple step and guideline via RG D-LINK router page.

At your preferred browser address bar, kindly access the router page by key in the URL http://192.168.0.1/ and press enter.

To logon, please use "admin" as your username and press login by leaving the password blank. On top of the pages please select 'MAINTENANCE' tab and do "check" the small button undeer "Enable Remote Management" to enable it. Once done, press "Save Settings" and continue to enjoy your UniFi services.

For tourbleshooting and monitoring purposes, please to switch ON your RG D-LINK connection for the next 3 days upon you have recieved this message.

Should you have any queries and assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our Technical Helpdesk at 1-300-88-1221 or drop us a line at unifi@tm.com.my.
Troll or real deal?
Lawl, troll.

Enable remote management once and it doesn't matter what password you set.. you're screwed. The firmware itself is exploitable.
rizvanrp
post Jul 28 2010, 04:51 PM

195 posts

I just got it too.

I think its to all Unifi users. You should not turn it on unless you call them for support and they want to access your router -- which in any case you have the ability to say you're not using their sh*t router anyway. The problem here is regardless of what username/password combination that you set for the admin/operator account.. the router is still exploitable via the remote management address (due to a firmware exploit) and the attacker does not have to use a correct username/password to do it.
rizvanrp
post Jul 28 2010, 05:01 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 28 2010, 04:58 PM)
sorry am not a unifi user but i read few post saying to untick the remote management. what will happen if i didnt UNTICK it?
If you didn't untick it.. TM can remotely troubleshoot your router when you call in.. and anybody on the Internet will be able to 'troubleshoot' your router for you too smile.gif

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Jul 28 2010, 05:02 PM
rizvanrp
post Jul 28 2010, 05:38 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(teksoon @ Jul 28 2010, 05:37 PM)
hey what if i forgot my password for the router page. Is resetting the router(hold reset button) helps to change the password back to default?
Yes.. holding the reset button while the router is on till the power light turns orange wipes your current config .. but you'll need your PPPoE user/pass to reconfigure the router for Internet access again.
rizvanrp
post Jul 29 2010, 07:49 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Jul 28 2010, 11:46 PM)
hey guys... i was online... then suddenly pc lost connection.... went downstairs to check. my D-link DIR-615 router was blank... as in no light at all. does it mean it is dead ??

so now i cannot use unifi and iptv.. atleast still could use voip to call them... then found out my streamyx and copper line still active, here i am using streamyx back.

called tm unifi technical. so waiting for their support. anyone faced this before too?
Yeap, had the same problem before. DIR-615 was fried in my case

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 28 2010, 10:12 PM)
Hi all,

Wonder if i follow this custom router setup
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61

1. can i change the cable connect between router to homeplug as per graph below ?

2. Can the TVBox work by connect on my own router ??

1. Should be able to but the homeplug may bottleneck your Internet speed (if you're running on VIP10/20) depending on the homeplug connection quality

2. Not unless your router can assign physical ports to VLANs
rizvanrp
post Jul 29 2010, 09:30 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 29 2010, 09:30 PM)
thanks bro  smile.gif

Anyone can advice whether the port 4 for IPTV can use for internet as well ?? Plan to get HL110EP or HL110EW come with 2 ports.  brows.gif
thanks  nod.gif
no
rizvanrp
post Jul 30 2010, 07:50 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 30 2010, 03:42 AM)
Hey mamakap, may I know how much you paid for that linksys switch (I assume its L2 Manageable) ? I tried to untagged fe4 and connect IPTV directly to huawei modem without success. whenever I reboot that modem, VLAN and port automatically switch back to tagged 400/500/600. Can't change the configuration at all.
Some BTUs like the fiberhome pull their firmware + settings from a remote server every time the unit is booted so you can't save any settings on it sad.gif Also, I think the Linksys switch he's using is 76radius's old Cisco IDS switch which I configured as a VLAN bridge a month+ ago (?). It's around RM450-600+ retail so I think you might be better off just buying an actual managed switch with VLAN support.

QUOTE(calvin92 @ Jul 30 2010, 03:59 AM)
Mine got fried after about 24 hours after unifi came to install it. The lights in the front no long light up only the blue one at the side
Mine fried about 2 weeks after the install. Low quality equipment sad.gif
rizvanrp
post Jul 30 2010, 02:00 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 30 2010, 11:23 AM)
In that case I have no choice, I'll go down to Singapore and get L2 Netgear smartswitch. I think that's the cheapest I can get. other than that, TP-Link L2 switch looks like another cheaper alternative...
Mikrotik RB250GS

http://www.roc-noc.com/product.php?productid=381

40USD biggrin.gif

Check out the screenies of the switch web interface.. http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS

Looks like it can handle Unifi

rizvanrp
post Jul 30 2010, 03:13 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(akerue @ Jul 30 2010, 03:07 PM)
Sifu, mind to educate what is this switch for  icon_question.gif ? Thank you
It's to perform the VLAN tagging/untagging so you can replace the DIR-615 and still have IPTV + Internet access. No need to rely on TM hardware biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Jul 30 2010, 03:38 PM

195 posts

IMO experience, the Buffalo series routers have some issues when running with PPPoE over VLANs while running on dd-wrt. You may experience connection drops or websites not loading.. there's a script to fix that though.

It should work fine for internet connectivity but as for IPTV.. it requires the Port based VLAN page to be fully accessible. I think Linksys dd-wrt flashed routers may fully support this but I was never able to get it to work properly on a DIR-615 dd-wrt flashed router since this function did not work properly. Try it out when you get Unifi, it may work biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 12:04 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jul 31 2010, 07:40 PM)
Hi izvanrp,
Hope you can help us to explain how to configure the following section:
Basic Setup
Advanced Routing
Networking
[attachmentid=1702746]

Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
Pulled these old screenshots from May 2010 smile.gif

vlan2 in these screenies refer to the physical WAN port on the router but its different for each chipset. Yours may be eth0/eth1/vlan1 so you'll have to test it and figure it out. After you've done this properly, your router should be able to establish the PPPoE connection with a direct link to the GPON/VDSL unit.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Aug 1 2010, 12:05 AM
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 12:50 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(klgoh99 @ Aug 1 2010, 12:29 AM)
@rizvanrp,

Since you can use the DD-WRT route the VLAN properly with out the IPTV which is Tag as VLAN 600, can we do the following:

1. Setup the DD-WRT router to dial the PPPoE and route VLAN 500 to it's Lan Port after connect the WAN port direct to the GPON unit.

2. Disable the VLAN 500 and PPPoE dialer in the TM's DIR615 G1 router but leave the VLAN 600 setting. Plug direct to the GPON unit to bridge the VLAN 600 IPTV traffic to the STB.

Is this possible??
Might be possible.. I've tested this before but I don't really remember. If I'm not mistaken the GPON unit 'locks' each ethernet port the moment you plug a cable into it. So even if you're only using VLAN500 on the GPON units LAN port 1, you can't plug a second device into LAN port 2 of the unit that only uses VLAN600.

What I'm sure you can do however is plug a normal, cheap non-VLAN aware switch into the GPON units LAN port and wire your DIR-615 and DDWRT router into the other ports on that switch. A lot of devices tho :3 Might as well use a single VLAN aware switch?
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 12:59 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 1 2010, 12:54 AM)
Hi rizvanrp,
Thanks for the information sharing, will use it to configure & report here soon!

I was told by AlphaWolf on another topic to suggest Broadcom base router:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry35317179
could this be the reason why IPTV doesn't work on RaLink or Antheros?
Probably, I've only tested it only an RaLink based chipset (the TM DIR-615) so I've never said that IPTV would not work with dd-wrt in general. The only problem I had was that the RaLink router did not support port based VLANs.. if a broadcom router with dd-wrt will give you access to that it should work fine.
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 02:52 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Aug 1 2010, 02:23 PM)
hi, anyone can please help me to answer this question?? smile.gif

can i use my own wireless N router?
ya
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 03:19 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(calvin92 @ Aug 1 2010, 03:15 PM)
Got my 2nd TM Dlink 615 Router fried after only 5 days of the installation. router so easily crash and spoil. now router is totally dead even if press resent button to plug in lan cable.
nod.gif
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 03:55 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(calvin92 @ Aug 1 2010, 03:54 PM)
Is it possible to configure my own router without the Dlink router provided as mine is fried and don want to wait for TM to come. too many days of down time sad.gif
Any1 knows the settings?
If it has dd-wrt then yes biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Aug 1 2010, 08:22 PM

195 posts

It's more about how poor their build quality is. We all have the same model yet it performs differently for everyone >_> ?
rizvanrp
post Aug 2 2010, 12:06 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(-br0k3n- @ Aug 1 2010, 11:51 PM)
hello, i have a question here
my house currently got 5 people using unifi but the tmnet router only allowed 3 people to use the LAN cable while other 2 have to use the wirelss....

is there anyhow so everybody can use LAN cable? like maybe use another router??
Plug a 5 port switch into one of the LAN ports? smile.gif
rizvanrp
post Aug 2 2010, 12:12 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(-br0k3n- @ Aug 2 2010, 12:08 AM)
sure it'll work?
must be router or another modem also can?
Ideally you'll want to use a standard 5 port+ switch that you can buy from any PC shop (<RM50). But if you have an extra router lying around with an inbuilt 4-5 port switch on it, you will have to perform some additional configuration first.

1) Log into that routers webUI and make sure its IP address is not 192.168.0.1 (make sure its not the same IP as your current DIR-615 router or it will conflict)
2) Disable the DHCP server on that router
3) If that router has wifi, make sure you've secured its wifi access
4) Connect one of the LAN ports of that router into a LAN port on your DIR-615 using a standard cat5+ cable (can be crossover but standard cable should also work)

And yes, I'm sure it'll work smile.gif

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Aug 2 2010, 12:15 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0746sec    0.28    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:04 PM