Anyway just got my UniFi setup today with the HUAWEI modem instead of the ZTE
Going to setup my WRT54GL to be the main router instead of the Dlink DIR-615. Wish me luck...
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept
Aug 12 2010, 02:46 PM
2,404 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hmm... go figure |
Sup gais, 1st post in many years L O L...
Anyway just got my UniFi setup today with the HUAWEI modem instead of the ZTE Going to setup my WRT54GL to be the main router instead of the Dlink DIR-615. Wish me luck... |
Aug 13 2010, 05:01 PM
After my 1st post in which I was trying to get my DD-WRT54GL WAN-Router to work with the HUAWEI modem, wasted 8hours on it to get it working. Not too sure what seems to be the problem it with it, can't even get connect to the WAN connection with and without the VLAN tagging on 500. Maybe my WAN PPPOE is broken :S the router is pretty old...
So I've decided to get a new router and see if I can get some result out of it. Anyone has any recommendation on which router to get? or should I get any of these models below:- RT-NL12 from Asus ** TL-WR1043ND from TP-Link ** or WRT160NL from Linksys DIR-825 from DLink Looking thru what rizvanrp has been posting, I will try my best for sure shared my adventures after getting my dd-wrt setup with everyone here. Of course with everyone patience as well. Legends :- ** sub standard |
Aug 13 2010, 06:00 PM
I don't have much space for any more power socket with extension for my electronic devices, that is one of the point in getting a new router to support the FTTH unit.
Also I have a habit of not sharing one power point with more then 4 electrical devices on it This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 13 2010, 06:01 PM |
Aug 14 2010, 02:01 PM
After another session on head banging on how to setup the WRT54GL to work with the UniFi, I've come to a conclusion that a pre native support for VLAN with the manufacture firmware is needed before hand (Meaning VLAN support out of the box, this is also my assumption only. I don't have any networking background to start with lol...).
This will give a better margin of error for the DD-WRT firmware to work well with the device with VLAN configurations. Or if you're good with OpenWRT commands then you can try to get the WRT54GL to be able to work with it VLAN support. As this post now, I have taken the liberty to flash my DIR-615 to DD-WRT. Will post again if I manage to get the IPTV working lol... |
Aug 14 2010, 06:54 PM
I've pretty much given up on the dd-wrt on my wrt54gl to work with the vlan 500 tag. It seems that the tagging is borking up on the firmware or what ever the reason is.
Anyway currently on the bridging method which was recommended by rizvanrp (thanks again) to me via MSN earlier today while helping me out to troubleshoot the issue with my wrt54gl. So next project would be getting a vlan switch I guess l o l... This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 14 2010, 06:56 PM |
Aug 15 2010, 01:51 PM
@klseet
Don't think you're able to set the IPTV to work with the routers you're using. Seeing that you don't have VLANs tab under the Setup tab. Or maybe you have to use OpenWRT. What I did this morning, I've setup a WAN profile for PPPOE and route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection. In which I manage to did it and use another router to host the internet via Static IP under the WAN Connection Type. This also can be done by isolation on Layer 3 to the LAN ports available on the modem via LAN1-4 if unchecked it will act as per-normal packet connection to the TM exchange but of course VLAN tagging is required i.e. 500/600. So right now my setup would be BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN1* => HUB/SWITCH@LAN8 HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN2** => WRT54GL@WAN BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN3* BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN4* Legends :- *No routing to PPPOE WAN connection *With routing to PPPOE WAN connection. This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 15 2010, 02:18 PM |
Aug 15 2010, 03:19 PM
Yeah need to do some setup to the HUAWEI fiber optic modem. Just a simple WAN connection settings.
As on the DIR-615, the port connected was indeed into the WAN port, I didn't even bother to configure the PPPOE on it. The purpose of the DIR-615 on my setup is just to host the IPTV data distribution. What I did on the DIR-615 was to just restore to factory default, disable the WiFi on it and just use the existing LAN port forwarding already on it in which the LAN 4 on the device is configured for IPTV data connection. So far there are no lag / data distortion with my current setup. I think what I'm going to do next is just remove the HUB/SWITCH from my setup. Since my WRT54GL somehow can't support the VLAN tagging of 500. |
Aug 15 2010, 03:55 PM
Is a good router actually, and it serves it purpose well to help tag the VLAN for IPTV. But if used together with the Internet connection that is where I see the problem arise on the IPTV connectivity part.
If you guys need any help on the HUAWEI setup just drop me a PM. But I'm sure you guys should be able to do it yourself as well. Don't forget to use the backup option available on the modem, just in case you accidentally screw up the VOIP setup in there |
Aug 15 2010, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(princeXdevil @ Aug 15 2010, 04:49 PM) You mean bandwidth cap? I don't think so.If you're referring to the monthly download cap, that is temporary disable until further notice. @#Fly I think they are doing some line testing, signal noise ratio. |
Aug 16 2010, 01:55 AM
No problem klseet.
I will try to come out with a guide on how to setup the device and maybe pass it to rizvanrp for hosting. My main concern is I don't know if this is the kind of setup you guys would want with the fiber optic BTU (Huawei) to run at. For me is pretty much simple, I just want something to dial or get connected to the internet and do the VLAN tags instead of the DIR-615 without the extra hardware which I've already have. Now to find my MS Office cd... l o l... Added on August 16, 2010, 1:58 am QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 16 2010, 01:37 AM) unifi if monthly cap is implement Lol most likely download per month on international sites. That is why rizvanrp was trying to resurrect the DC++ so we can share / host files which we're already downloaded within UniFi users.the monthly cap include upload also ? or just download ? eg unifi 5Mbps total upload and download =60GB permonth ? This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 16 2010, 02:00 AM |
Aug 16 2010, 02:11 PM
I believe all the issue on the DIR-615 we're caused by the customization of the hardware and firmware itself to work with UniFi out of the box. Or maybe it just the firmware? or just hardware? lol since I heard that in the retail market out there the H/W revision is totally different from what we're UniFi user's has been getting all along.
Aug 16 2010, 05:05 PM
Guide as requested,
Any other questions kindly drop me a PM. Also I will not be held responsible for any hardware problems in which would occur if somehow you screw up on the steps. So please at least have some knowledge on how to configure your personal router before hand. Or just read the manual of the devices before proceed with this guide. Good luck have fun This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 16 2010, 05:13 PM Attached File(s)
Huawei_BTU_PPPoE_profile_Configuration_Guide_v1.0.0.pdf ( 868k )
Number of downloads: 599 |
Aug 16 2010, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(mamakap @ Aug 16 2010, 06:19 PM) Nope, I tried it today. Cannot make it to work.@ Jarod If you are worried about the DIR-615 router breaking down on use not even a week or so, then you can actually be prepared or get ready the other routers to replace it. If not just use the DIR-615 as the VLAN tagging gateway and use your other routers to bridge onto it. Other than that you shouldn't worry so much on the DIR-615 from TM. Also, remember this. Don't fix what is not broken. Unless you know what you are doing then by all means go ahead with those FW upgrades from those open sources. If not just stick with the one you're using right now and pray hard that it won't break down on you for the DIR-615. Or maybe you can get those same DIR-615 available on the market and try to use the TM special FW on it lulz... |
Aug 16 2010, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 16 2010, 08:17 PM) Lol is available to download from riz's website, if you do decide to try it out. I suggest you use the factory fw upgrade method which the steps are also available at riz's website.I think this DIR-615 H/W G1 WiFi tak boleh pakai lol... This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 16 2010, 08:32 PM |
Aug 17 2010, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(samsoong @ Aug 16 2010, 10:50 PM) I'm from there at Puteri 10, so called 1st user from that area lulz.@ mystiquemaya Like I said, check your password again and make sure you follow the steps or just check back on the settings via the screen shots on the documents. Also if possible do remove any existing currently connected PPPoE connection which is currently using your UniFi account. I don't think you can get connected with more then one connection at a time. So sorry to miss out on that detail, in which I assume those router you are currently using has already been removed or somehow disconnected from the BTU already or via bridge to DIR-615 router. |
Aug 17 2010, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(vapeace @ Aug 17 2010, 09:33 AM) That GPON above does not support normal phone output, unless you have a RJ45 IP Phone around to use together with it. Also if you do manage to get a RJ45 IP Phone, good luck on getting your phone to work. As most of those settings are done pre installation before the modem is ship/deployed to us.As for everyone who use my guide again. Please oh please double check your USERNAME and PASSWORD, there is no rush in this. I believe that is the most / most likely the common problem that you will encounter. Also please make sure you set a DNS server as well, it takes two to tango. This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 17 2010, 11:11 AM |
Aug 17 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(samsoong @ Aug 17 2010, 01:38 AM) Have you call TM up on this? that should be the 1st thing you should be doing if you have issues with your connection. Performance varies between areas as well.They should be able to send someone over to check on your connection btw... |
Aug 17 2010, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 17 2010, 11:37 AM) I have just registered with TM UNIFI yesterday, upgrade from Streamyx Combo. You main concern would be how far the telephone pole connection to your home. My setup is basically from the telephone pole to my house on the 1st floor. I'm not sure how long the cable was and also there wasn't much hacking needed. Just need to drill an exit hole to accommodate the fiber optic port installation onto your room. If you room is near the telephone pole behind your house then it would be added advantage for you.I was informed, my current telephone number (8062xxxx) will be changed to a new assigned number (8051xxxx), do you have the similar scenario? My current house is double storey terrace with overhead telephone pole at backlane; I have few questions as follow: - a) How does TM going to lay fibre to my house, ground floor living room from the backlane, will there be a major hacking work? b) Anyone installed at 1st floor where hacking work is minimum for d/storey house? Thanks in advance for replying. Auronthas I would say just use the telephone number they give to you, no rental fees needed for monthly payment. Your only concern would be local calls to other hand phone operators which is 10cents/min. Unless somehow you want to spend the extra money to pay the rental fee for your old phone line without having a Streamyx account tied to it, it would be a waste of money. This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 17 2010, 12:01 PM |
Aug 17 2010, 01:40 PM
OK let me get this straight, right now are you using your UniFi to access your internet? or you have another internet server there to help you make these posts?
All you need to do now is, to remove every single connection from the network ports on the BTU and try to access the BTU with the ip address 192.168.100.1 of course set a static IP on your network adapter with the same subnet 192.168.100.XXX subnet mask 255.255.255.0 default gateway 192.168.100.1. Once complete if you are afraid those Static IP settings are not applied properly on the computer that you choose to connect into the BTU with, do reboot it. Once you done that, just start to access the Huawei BTU from all the LAN ports starting from 1-4 or 4-1 or which every port you want. IF that too fail then I'm sorry to say that you have been hand itch and some how miss lead yourself into changing some other settings on the BTU device. I might not mention it on the guide, but if you might notice that the BTU takes awhile to save those settings you applied on them so please by all means be patients. If you have the tendency to hit the website pages more then once, then you better stop that habits lol. Anyway, any changes you did in the layer 3 does not affect your access to the BTU. Unless somehow you manage to change all your settings and route all the LAN ports so some other WAN profile and not the one stated on the guide, then all the best... |
Aug 17 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(leyley @ Aug 17 2010, 01:58 PM) Subscribed to VIP5 with highest speed downloading from international server is around 550-600kbps. Is that fast or what Isn't that the rated speed you should be getting for 5Mb down/up ? Even my torrent reach 550kb/s with IPTV up, can still open a YT link without any lag as well. |
| Change to: | 0.0765sec
8 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:34 AM |