Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

jchue73
post Aug 26 2010, 05:33 PM

2,496 posts

1. azri
2. PGGTrader
3. ldragon
4. Alex
5. Joe C (chungss)
6. Yushin
7. shahada -1
8. shahada -1
9. shahada -1
10. Paultantk
11. StanleYz
12. avex|mode
13. cafee
14. Jamil
15. Leong
16. Evirober
17. -pWs-
18. -pWs-
19. mox123
20. jchue73

Added on August 26, 2010, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 26 2010, 10:28 AM)
Setup IP forwarding + NAT using iptables to share the connection. I also have a sample /etc/ppp/peers provider configuration file for Unifi if you want it. The file will set eth0.500 as the PPPoE interface to dial through.
Hi rizvanrp, are you familiar with Cisco programming? Do you know if a Cisco 1841 would be up for this kind of task?

This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 26 2010, 05:35 PM
jchue73
post Sep 7 2010, 02:18 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 6 2010, 10:36 PM)
I've just changed my Fiberhome admin login/pass and disabled its telnet daemon.. still figuring out how to write the changes to the startup config. I'd release a guide but many people will not be able to do it as it requires a Console cable. Do tell me if its possible to permanently secure the Huawei/Alcatel BTUs through the web UI though smile.gif
I have a few console cables left behind from the Cisco routers. Can you post a guide for those who have this console cable on how to secure the Fiberhome? Much appreciated.

Added on September 7, 2010, 2:19 pm
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 7 2010, 02:50 AM)
Pretty much, yeah. I would not rely on Unifi VOIP for critical services such as alarm system communications.. one issue being no power = no line and the other is this security hole which has been left open since day one.
In the first place, I thought alarm systems are not supported with the phone line provided by Unifi... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Sep 7 2010, 02:19 PM
jchue73
post Sep 7 2010, 03:15 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 3 2010, 03:50 PM)
hm... any Cisco or some other brand work about the same ar ? i dont mind to buy & try if that's high % work =P
I asked if a Cisco 1841 would work but nobody other than rizvanrp replied. I have one doing nothing here. sad.gif

Added on September 7, 2010, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 3 2010, 03:39 PM)
I am trying to use HP procurve 1700 managed switch instead of Microtik. Damn HP told me the lead time for the switch is 2 to 4 weeks... really sian...

Now i am using the DIR-615 as VLAN bridge. I know the dlink already hang as I can't even open the dlink's management web page but the VLAN bridging seems to be working even tho the web page has hang. So I just keep using it and hope it does not get worse.
May I ask how much is the Procurve? Searched high and low for one the last time.

Added on September 7, 2010, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(shahada @ Sep 3 2010, 04:13 PM)
btw, does anybody know where I can get a cheap HDMI switch? What are the prices like in Pasar Road? My TV has only one HDMI which is being used for my mythtv pc right now. I saw a HDMI switch in all-it for RM400, not worth paying that to watch hypptv.
Don't know if it's cheap but got mine for about SGD 90 the other time.

Added on September 7, 2010, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 3 2010, 05:30 PM)
Same here. 10 points for every race LIVE, I will gladly pay becos I've got nothing better to do with the 100 points anyway blush.gif
Wah, so you guys also into F1? drool.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Sep 7 2010, 03:17 PM
jchue73
post Sep 8 2010, 12:29 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 7 2010, 11:02 PM)
For whatever reason, my unifi service was totally down around 9pm. No VOIP, no internet, no IPTV. Just checked again now and everything seems to be back in order. Btw, I'm in TTDI.
I was downloading around that time and it seemd ok. Did not check IPTV though. Hit around 2MB/s. Just that Hotfile links and website were up and down. Not very stable. No idea why.

I notice the rar files I downloaded earlier yesterday morning were ok. No corrupt files. Was quite busy the last week and haven't been downloading anything. I extracted the older files from previous week and a few files were corrupted indeed.

I've yet to check the bunch of files downloaded earlier this morning. I've also need to do a speedtest and check for packet lost.
jchue73
post Sep 9 2010, 12:45 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 9 2010, 10:52 AM)
So in summary, if you cash & carry from Soliton SG, the price is SGD59, you may claim back the 7% VAT while leaving SG.
My suggestion only bring the item without the box, so you can say it's your own used computer items should the border custom ask.
You can only claim GST if you fly in and out. Not when if you drive through JB.

Anyway, just a suggestion. Can you check with Soliton that since these items are for export to Malaysia and not meant for Singapore use, could they cut out the 7% GST?

Added on September 9, 2010, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(tommyfai @ Sep 9 2010, 12:27 PM)
direct shouldn't be so slow. which direct website ?
It can be "slow" if you're a free user. I find MegaUpload (or is it MegaShare) is the fastest in terms of speed for free user. I hit about close to 1MB/s as a free user.

Anyway, I checked all my rar files downloaded yesterday morning (about 50GB or so) and they were all ok. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Sep 9 2010, 12:45 PM
jchue73
post Sep 9 2010, 12:57 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Sep 9 2010, 12:51 PM)
Max for VIP20 should be 2.5MB/s
You can hit 2.5MB/s but the average would turn out to be around 2.2MB/s or so.
jchue73
post Sep 9 2010, 03:20 PM

2,496 posts

Another suggestion... Whatever the number of switches that you put in the package, make sure you have them declare the total value less than RM 500 (i.e. SGD 215.76 based on today's exchange rates).
jchue73
post Sep 9 2010, 03:36 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ Sep 9 2010, 03:32 PM)
isn't that like super low?
That's correct. Thing is putting above RM 500 will definitely make your package kena tahan and expect to make your way to Pos Malaysia in LCCT to collect. Once there, you'll need to open the package and let them have a look.
jchue73
post Sep 9 2010, 05:09 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 9 2010, 03:49 PM)
Drive to Pos Malaysia LCCT? What does that means?
If have to open and they see it's network equipment, any idea what's the tax % ?

Hmmmm, now we have to think whether it's that reasonable put RM500 on the box of 20 units ....  hmm.gif
If you head to the LCCT airport, just before reaching you will see a huge Pos Malaysia building on the right side. That's where all your items (if suspected) will be held and a letter will be issued to you to collect it there or appoint an agent to clear the item for you.

I had some photography equipment coming in the other time and even though I argued that camera stuff are tax free in Malaysia, they say that anything above RM 500 can be subjected to tax. rolleyes.gif The other time when I ordered a Recaro baby seat, there was no invoice and I escaped the 30% tax.

Network equipment should fall under computer stuff. For a detailed description of what the Kastam taxes and how they categorise and code them, you can refer to the website below;

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

0.0556sec    0.16    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:39 AM