Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

che
post Sep 6 2009, 04:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Sep 6 2009, 01:18 PM)
hey guys, does the foot grow when we train?

I went shoe shopping yesterday after about a year since i bought my last pair of shoes.

I used to be a size 10, and now even th 11.5 feels tight.

Anyone experienced this? lol..
maybe cuz after a year of heavy lifting made your foot flatter
did you lose any height? haha

is it the shoes? shoe size does differ depending on the maker..

p/s not dissin u or anything.. just kidding smile.gif
tineagle
post Sep 6 2009, 07:52 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(livinginsin @ Sep 6 2009, 02:54 PM)
haha issit??..lol..how to train the foot wor..no i dont experience this..maybe the brand of the shoe different so the size maybe a little off from standard le???
QUOTE(che @ Sep 6 2009, 04:45 PM)
maybe cuz after a year of heavy lifting made your foot flatter
did you lose any height? haha

is it the shoes? shoe size does differ depending on the maker..

p/s not dissin u or anything.. just kidding  smile.gif
haha.. maybe its the different manufacturer sizing.

I didn't loose any height, actually i gained 1cm or so.

Maybe foot grew from all the squatting, leg presses and calves raises..
(squat went from 150lbs >> 350lbs max in a year)

*still wonders*
lot101
post Sep 6 2009, 08:47 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Sep 6 2009, 01:18 PM)
hey guys, does the foot grow when we train?

I went shoe shopping yesterday after about a year since i bought my last pair of shoes.

I used to be a size 10, and now even th 11.5 feels tight.

Anyone experienced this? lol..
how old are you anyway ? still developing ? laugh.gif

seriously : your shoe size changes throughout the day dude.
Florian
post Sep 6 2009, 09:17 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

Sigh, went to a semi-ghetto gym in Penang with a masters BBer in charge there. He said my arms are good, then he said I don't need to ask you to remove your shirt, I know you chest are tiny. He's 60+ and he has bigger chest and a deeper cleavage than mine. Going there to let him train me tomorrow afternoon biggrin.gif.

This post has been edited by Florian: Sep 6 2009, 09:17 PM
tineagle
post Sep 6 2009, 09:52 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Sep 6 2009, 08:47 PM)
how old are you anyway ? still developing ?  laugh.gif

seriously : your shoe size changes throughout the day dude.
21 this year. The male growing curve peaks late, at around 21-23 years old if i'm not mistaken.

But yeah, i'm thinking its just the shoe design. haha
-Dan
post Sep 6 2009, 09:54 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 6 2009, 09:17 PM)
Sigh, went to a semi-ghetto gym in Penang with a masters BBer in charge there. He said my arms are good, then he said I don't need to ask you to remove your shirt, I know you chest are tiny. He's 60+ and he has bigger chest and a deeper cleavage than mine. Going there to let him train me tomorrow afternoon biggrin.gif.
Jesus, if your chest is tiny, I'm never ever showing my face there. XD
diablokun
post Sep 6 2009, 11:01 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 6 2009, 09:17 PM)

how much ghetto-gym cost you per entry ??
gtoforce
post Sep 6 2009, 11:12 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 6 2009, 11:04 AM)
Lol, play with pizzaboy.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif Play chest? Play legs? Play biceps? Play abs? hahahahahha!
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Sep 6 2009, 03:54 PM)
lol, you cant actualy get what shane means, he trying to piss pizzaboy off... lol
haha
damn
okay pizza time to ban shane
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Desvaro
post Sep 6 2009, 11:50 PM

639 posts

To the person who asked if your muscle needs to be sore to feel whether or not there is growth, here is my opinion.

I mostly train for strength, for the past year I've been on Rippetoes, 5x5, WS4SB and now 5/3/1.

One thing I notice consistently on 5/3/1 (which is supposed to be a more 'powerlifting program), and to a smaller extent with the other programs, is that despite the lack of direct arm work (I seriously cannot remember when was the last time I curled), my arms consistently grew in size.

This was especially apparent during 5/3/1 when I did pullups two times a week and chinups two times a week. 3-5 sets each time.

With that said however, I feel that my arms are disproportionately smaller than the rest of my body. This could be because I have not done any direct arm work in a long time.

So initially when you first start out, you may not need to 'feel' the muscle soreness so much to grow. But once you get a little more advanced, you would need to do more work to stimulate the muscle to grow. That is my opinion.

That being said, I totally hate post leg day soreness because it means walking around like a dumba$$ with my legs open due to my sore adductors, a half penguin half clown hybrid would probably look more graceful.
wallpaper89
post Sep 6 2009, 11:59 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(celion @ Sep 5 2009, 11:08 PM)
hey i juz read a news that claims those muscleman have shorter life than skinny guy...i actually laughed at the news.
from some chinese newspaper right. something about too much tight muscles and eating too much protein or something. my parents read it and started to tell me not to eat 4 eggs a day, not to eat so much protein, not to build muscle, etc... the bloody article susahkan me only. to begin with i dont even consider myself a serious bodybuilder, more like a casual lifter eating slightly above average protein intake than the typical Malaysian.

none of ur parents kacau u after reading the article?
Florian
post Sep 7 2009, 12:10 AM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Sep 6 2009, 11:01 PM)
how much ghetto-gym cost you per entry ??
It's a member club thing, but I need to pay RM1 per entry, but it's OK because I'm only in Penang for 2 weeks, otherwise I'll need to pay RM100 for a month for the other newer gym with all USM students hogging the place. At least I have an experienced BBer there to train me.

He told me to enter for some BB competition, but I said I'm too scared to enter, then he said 1st time join sure scared until your balls shrink, after that you'll know what to do liao...but with my small chest like what he said...I don't think I'm qualified on the stage at all. LOL.

This post has been edited by Florian: Sep 7 2009, 12:20 AM
JonYeap
post Sep 7 2009, 12:37 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

go florian! muahaha...
i now going train harder as well...
hahaha...
livinginsin
post Sep 7 2009, 10:53 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Sep 6 2009, 11:50 PM)
To the person who asked if your muscle needs to be sore to feel whether or not there is growth, here is my opinion.

I mostly train for strength, for the past year I've been on Rippetoes, 5x5, WS4SB and now 5/3/1.

One thing I notice consistently on 5/3/1 (which is supposed to be a more 'powerlifting program), and to a smaller extent with the other programs, is that despite the lack of direct arm work (I seriously cannot remember when was the last time I curled), my arms consistently grew in size.

This was especially apparent during 5/3/1 when I did pullups two times a week and chinups two times a week. 3-5 sets each time.

With that said however, I feel that my arms are disproportionately smaller than the rest of my body. This could be because I have not done any direct arm work in a long time.

So initially when you first start out, you may not need to 'feel' the muscle soreness so much to grow. But once you get a little more advanced, you would need to do more work to stimulate the muscle to grow. That is my opinion.

That being said, I totally hate post leg day soreness because it means walking around like a dumba$$ with my legs open due to my sore adductors, a half penguin half clown hybrid would probably look more graceful.
ha..im the 1 that ask about this..thx and i agree with what u say..hmm..strength training..i think i need to do a little on this too.. coz all the while ive been focusing on getting 8 to 10 reps...hopefully strength training will stimulate more growth due to changes in training..ha..thx a lot.

hmm..btw..any1 notice how all the pros like branch warren or ronnie do flat dumbell press..their style is different than other ppl..i watch in youtube..should i follow how they do?? and during bench press if i am goin to stimulate more muscle tension do i need to lower the bar until it touches my chest?

Added on September 7, 2009, 10:56 am
QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 7 2009, 12:10 AM)
It's a member club thing, but I need to pay RM1 per entry, but it's OK because I'm only in Penang for 2 weeks, otherwise I'll need to pay RM100 for a month for the other newer gym with all USM students hogging the place. At least I have an experienced BBer there to train me.

He told me to enter for some BB competition, but I said I'm too scared to enter, then he said 1st time join sure scared until your balls shrink, after that you'll know what to do liao...but with my small chest like what he said...I don't think I'm qualified on the stage at all. LOL.
hey..do u know where in penang got gym other than the celebrity in gurney?? i need to find out so i can workout when i go to penang...

This post has been edited by livinginsin: Sep 7 2009, 10:56 AM
shanecross
post Sep 7 2009, 12:10 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 7 2009, 12:12 AM)
haha
damn
okay pizza time to ban shane
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
You can ban the hell out of me, its not going to affect me at all. To me H&F is pure entertainment, heaps of other alternatives out there. wink.gif

This post has been edited by shanecross: Sep 7 2009, 12:11 PM
RoxyMunky
post Sep 7 2009, 01:18 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

hello guys, any advise on ripping those fats off my abs??

i know diet - controlling on high fat + oily food is one key factor.. how bout no the practical part --> workout.

what is the most effective workout for abs, besides the conventional abs crunch and sit up??

million thanks in advanced~ notworthy.gif
bagata
post Sep 7 2009, 01:38 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Sep 7 2009, 01:18 PM)
hello guys, any advise on ripping those fats off my abs??

i know diet - controlling on high fat + oily food is one key factor.. how bout no the practical part --> workout.

what is the most effective workout for abs, besides the conventional abs crunch and sit up??

million thanks in advanced~ notworthy.gif
urm... cardio if u wanna burn the fats... go google up HIIT for more detailed info...

for abs, try lookout for abs wheel in youtube smile.gif

This post has been edited by bagata: Sep 7 2009, 01:39 PM
Desvaro
post Sep 7 2009, 02:09 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(livinginsin @ Sep 7 2009, 10:53 AM)
ha..im the 1 that ask about this..thx and i agree with what u say..hmm..strength training..i think i need to do a little on this too.. coz all the while ive been focusing on getting 8 to 10 reps...hopefully strength training will stimulate more growth due to changes in training..ha..thx a lot.

hmm..btw..any1 notice how all the pros like branch warren or ronnie do flat dumbell press..their style is different than other ppl..i watch in youtube..should i follow how they do?? and during bench press if i am goin to stimulate more muscle tension do i need to lower the bar until it touches my chest?

hey..do u know where in penang got gym other than the celebrity in gurney?? i need to find out so i can workout when i go to penang...
Many pro bodybuilders started out as powerlifters, one good example will be Ronnie Coleman. But since you're not a professional bodybuilder, so that's beside the point haha.

Strength training will be especially useful to people like you who constantly go to 8 to 10 reps. It's hard to progress in terms of weight when you're on that rep scheme. Strength training will definitely help you gain muscle down the road. How? Think of this example:

Let's say your 1 rep max for bench press is 50kg, and you constantly bench 30kg x 10 during your workouts. Jumping from 30kg x 10 to 35kg x 10 is not easy at all. Say you change your focus to strength training, and eventually after a few months you increase your bench press to 70kg. What happens when you go back to a 'bodybuilding' program now? You can possibly use 50kg x 10. Now which is going to make your muscle grow more? 30kg x 10 or 50kg x 10? Get what I mean?

You should always lower the bar until it touches your chest when you bench press, otherwise it doesn't count wink.gif

I believe there is a Fitness First at Island Plaza, not sure if it still exists. Someone should open one at Queensbay Mall.
Florian
post Sep 7 2009, 02:18 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

QUOTE(livinginsin @ Sep 7 2009, 10:53 AM)

Cheap ones you can go to Priority Fitness at USM branch or Sungai Ara branch, ask for student price.

I'm going to Chinese Swimming Club gym coz I'm a member there.

I'm not sure but I heard there's a super ghetto gym at the sukan belia complex near the army base and it's free I heard.

There's also another gym at the building with the KFC at Batu Lanchang near the market, RM 50 per month.

If you want the expensive high class ones you can go to Clark Hatch at Pulau Tikus but the payment is like RM1000+++ per year or something.
livinginsin
post Sep 7 2009, 03:10 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 7 2009, 02:18 PM)
Cheap ones you can go to Priority Fitness at USM branch or Sungai Ara branch, ask for student price.

I'm going to Chinese Swimming Club gym coz I'm a member there.

I'm not sure but I heard there's a super ghetto gym at the sukan belia complex near the army base and it's free I heard.

There's also another gym at the building with the KFC at Batu Lanchang near the market, RM 50 per month.

If you want the expensive high class ones you can go to Clark Hatch at Pulau Tikus but the payment is like RM1000+++ per year or something.
OMG i used to live in batu lanchang but i have no idea there is a gym..mm do u have any idea what is that gym name in batu lanchang?? many ppl?? coz i dun like too crowded..lol..50 per month is cheap too.. im gonna check it out sonner or later..
wa..clark hatch ar..hmm..expensive le..haha..

This post has been edited by livinginsin: Sep 7 2009, 03:11 PM
RoxyMunky
post Sep 7 2009, 03:47 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Sep 7 2009, 01:38 PM)
urm... cardio if u wanna burn the fats... go google up HIIT for more detailed info...

for abs, try lookout for abs wheel in youtube  smile.gif
High intensivity interval training.. hmm.gif

can try this out today at gym... hmm.gif

thanks for the info bro~~ notworthy.gif

150 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:05 PM