5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

TSUnUsUaL
post Apr 22 2008, 10:12 AM, updated 18y ago

ah jek
2,064 posts

iPhone 3G is finally official, starts at $199, available July 11th

It's been a long, leak-filled wait, but Apple finally took the wraps off its 3G iPhone. Thinner edges, full plastic back, flush headphone jack, and the iPhone 2.0 firmware -- Apple's taking a lot of the criticisms to heart from the first time around. Obviously 3G is at the forefront, but they're also making sure it's available all over internationally, works with enterprises, runs 3rd party apps... and does it all for cheaper. Apple claims its 3G speeds trounce the competition, with pageloads 36% faster than the N95 and Treo 750 -- and of course it completely trounces the old EDGE data. Battery life isn't getting put out to pasture though, with 300 hours of standby, 8-10 hours of 2G talk, 5 hours of 3G talk, 7 hours of video and 24 hours of audio. GPS is also a go. Apple is using A-GPS, which supplements regular satellite GPS data with info from cellular towers. WiFi data is also worked into the mix, which should give users a pretty solid lock on where the heck they are on this planet. Unfortunately, there's no front-facing cam, which syncs with what we were hearing, but is still a little disappointing. Apple hopes to launch in 70 countries this year. 8GB is available for $199, 16GB for $299 -- and the 16GB comes in white. Both pricepoints require a contract. Apple will be hitting the 22 biggest markets, including the US, on July 11th. Pre-orders are available now at the Apple Store.

Other tidbits:

* It's a teensy bit thicker.
    * A SIM ejector comes in the box, at last.
    * There's no dock included, just a USB power adapter.

Source

iPhone 3G will be available in countries below on

July 11

Coming Soon

Source

This post has been edited by UnUsUaL: Jun 10 2008, 03:44 AM
Corvinux
post Apr 22 2008, 10:13 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(UnUsUaL @ Apr 22 2008, 10:12 AM)
News and rumors regarding 3G iPhone goes here, any other 3G iphone thread found will be deleted without prior notice.
thanks for starting one rclxms.gif notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif wub.gif
Choongster
post Apr 22 2008, 10:33 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

ah finally ..
one pinned topic .. hopefully more useful resources will follow .
palmforest
post Apr 23 2008, 12:08 PM

64 posts

great! that's another way to promote 3G iphone rumours...lol

Added on April 23, 2008, 12:09 pmsecara tidak langsung

This post has been edited by palmforest: Apr 23 2008, 12:09 PM
guessoline
post Apr 24 2008, 07:28 PM

30 posts

Will current iPhone price drop or remain after 3G iPhone comes out?
(Topic got closed) =x
blackchides
post Apr 24 2008, 10:06 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(guessoline @ Apr 24 2008, 07:28 PM)
(Topic got closed) =x
Our guess is as good as yours. We haven't a clue about pricing but expect the current iPhone price to drop slightly due to all the price war going on between traders right now and the 3G iPhone to cost more..
baretta
post Apr 26 2008, 08:46 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(guessoline @ Apr 24 2008, 07:28 PM)
(Topic got closed) =x
Yepp.... and possible 3G will be same price with the current. Of course this is rumors,
darkimp
post Apr 26 2008, 01:11 PM

363 posts

Rumors

I still hope the battery is self changeable. smile.gif
ken_wickedboy
post Apr 26 2008, 03:44 PM

439 posts

According to Engadget!

* The first thing people will notice: the 2nd gen iPhone will be about the same size and shape as the first gen.
* It will, of course, have 3G. And proper GPS!
* The most noticeable physical difference is back of the phone is no longer metal -- the whole thing is glossy black, from top to bottom. The volume buttons are now chrome.
* Because it's got a little less metal to deal with, it doesn't have quite as many angular edges. The battery is (still) not removable.
* The phone itself will be slightly thicker than the first gen device.
* The headphone jack will no longer be recessed, and will finally be flush with the body.
* The device itself uses roughly the same size and resolution screen as the first generation product.
* No solid word on battery life or storage capacity.
mrhenree
post Apr 26 2008, 04:05 PM

LYN 6 Stars Member
1,122 posts

with 3G? because of market demand?
skylancer
post Apr 26 2008, 05:00 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(ken_wickedboy @ Apr 26 2008, 03:44 PM)
According to Engadget!

* The first thing people will notice: the 2nd gen iPhone will be about the same size and shape as the first gen.
    * The most noticeable physical difference is back of the phone is no longer metal -- the whole thing is glossy black, from top to bottom. The volume buttons are now chrome.
    * Because it's got a little less metal to deal with, it doesn't have quite as many angular edges. The battery is (still) not removable.
    * The headphone jack will no longer be recessed, and will finally be flush with the body.
    * The device itself uses roughly the same size and resolution screen as the first generation product.
Hoho...that means the new ihpone is only additional with 3G and GPS...and the body colour

Added on April 26, 2008, 10:36 pmThe 3G iPhone will be announced June 9, the likely date of Apple CEO Steve Jobs' keynote at the company's Worldwide Developers Conference, analysts said in research notes on Thursday.

The 3G iPhone will be the "first of an impressive wave of new products" from Apple, wrote Citi analysts Richard Gardner and Yeechang Lee. They also expect an updated Mac laptop and iPod lines. The Apple conference is scheduled for June 9-13 in San Francisco.

In addition to a 3G iPhone release in early June, the 2.5G model could have a "minor casing change" and a price drop to between US$299 and $349, compared to the current $399, wrote Shaw Wu, an analyst with American Technology Research, in a research report.

Those predictions are consistent with a February prediction Gardner made that 3G iPhones will be announced by midyear. The 3G iPhone release will help Apple meet its target of shipping 10 million iPhones in 2008, Gardner wrote at the time. Apple is confident it will sell 10 million iPhones this year, officials said during a conference call on Wednesday to discuss the company's second-quarter earnings.

3G IPHONE

COPY FROM: SpIcYjOe

BTW...what means of the minor casing change???
that means change the case for 2.5G iphone thn upgrade the software or firmware?

This post has been edited by skylancer: Apr 26 2008, 10:36 PM
potion
post Apr 27 2008, 06:45 AM

319 posts

heard that the price for next generation iphone will be slightly decrease. was it true?
nikyas
post Apr 27 2008, 01:47 PM

545 posts

3g is nice...edge is too slow that it is becoming very annoying
Clarencerx
post Apr 27 2008, 08:40 PM

Apple. The only perfection.
971 posts

QUOTE(potion @ Apr 27 2008, 06:45 AM)
heard that the price for next generation iphone will be slightly decrease. was it true?
yes its true.
its the same with nokia,SE,moto and other brands...
when a better model comes out,the price for the old model will decrease for sure.
maiself
post Apr 27 2008, 09:35 PM

Pro Surfer
1,346 posts

current iphone will decrease A LOT if new 1 come with 3g & gps as rumors
skylancer
post Apr 28 2008, 06:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(maiself @ Apr 27 2008, 09:35 PM)
Hmm...i dont think so its will decrease a lot...
but i dont know is it the 1st gen iphone will be continue produce if the new iphone come out?
kevinwcw
post Apr 28 2008, 08:18 PM

943 posts

hmm...if the new iphone got gps chipset inside the phone..i wonder will appl produce external unit to support gps system for the first gen iphone...
SUSMike3300
post Apr 28 2008, 09:25 PM

6,866 posts

Hopefully the accessories for the new iPhone can still be use with the old iPhone, get what I mean?
maiself
post Apr 28 2008, 10:57 PM

Pro Surfer
1,346 posts

as for some people - 3g & gps is bonus but for the other some - 3g & gps is a must hehe..

but personally, i dun think 3g/gps will be out together so soon.. hehe
ken_wickedboy
post Apr 29 2008, 12:19 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(nikyas @ Apr 27 2008, 01:47 PM)
3g is nice...edge is too slow that it is becoming very annoying
locally..everything is pretty slow.
kevin62
post Apr 29 2008, 08:12 PM

21 posts

1 of my friend just came back from US. He went to 3 shops also no stock. All of them do not keep stock.
SUSMike3300
post Apr 29 2008, 08:17 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(kevin62 @ Apr 29 2008, 08:12 PM)
1 of my friend just came back from US. He went to 3 shops also no stock. All of them do not keep stock.
It's a sign, it's a sign. New iPhone's coming. rclxm9.gif
Ah Fei
post Apr 29 2008, 08:37 PM

63 posts

it will be announce during WWDC 2008 on June i guess
stephentang
post Apr 30 2008, 01:01 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(ken_wickedboy @ Apr 26 2008, 03:44 PM)
According to Engadget!

black 3G iPhone from Engadget is FAKE... it is just a 3rd party casing...

Recent news on iphone 3G... price for iphone with 18mths subscription with AT&T will enjoy a subsidized price for iphone about USD 200 cut... but for those exporters can only get from apple store at the same price... i.e. 8GB USD 399 & 16GB 499...

Verdict... dun have to wait long if you want to get iPhone... price will not be different... unless you want to pay more for 3G which pretty sure Apple & AT&T will not repeat the same mistake (allowing you to activate online) as the first launch... unless it was part of the strategy to sell more...
david1985
post Apr 30 2008, 01:33 PM

if 3g ipone hv 5megapixes camera then it is perfect!!! rclxms.gif
frozzbyte
post Apr 30 2008, 01:52 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Can't wait for the new version of iPhone. Not that i want one but to see what people will complaint next. Don't have this don't have that etc etc etc. I really hope the one thats been waiting for a 3G iphone (but don't use the service) to pipe down and move on.
* Taken from other thread on my response to 3G iphone.

People will always complaint ... after 3G launch then complaint battery cannot tahan la this la that la. So sick of this already.
gidlcin
post Apr 30 2008, 02:20 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Apr 30 2008, 01:52 PM)
* Taken from other thread on my response to 3G iphone.

People will always complaint ... after 3G launch then complaint battery cannot tahan la this la that la. So sick of this already.
wat to do... humans will never satisfy of wat they have.
SUSMike3300
post May 2 2008, 05:14 PM

6,866 posts

A glimpse on the new iPhone's look:

Kerry1136
post May 2 2008, 11:03 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Upload pics not found. Kindly reupload again and show us biggrin.gif
SUSMike3300
post May 3 2008, 01:21 AM

6,866 posts

It's there, refresh your connection. smile.gif
rattan
post May 3 2008, 04:56 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

hopefully the second gen of iphone will allow their users to add ringtones without needing then to download at the cost of US2 per ringtone sad.gif
frozzbyte
post May 3 2008, 05:02 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ May 3 2008, 04:56 PM)
hopefully the second gen of iphone will allow their users to add ringtones without needing then to download at the cost of US2 per ringtone sad.gif
Dude .. where have u been? People are adding custom ringtones to iPhone for free. U can use itunes, iRinger and other similar program to do that. That statement of yours is like an invitation for flaming session. whistling.gif
kevinwcw
post May 3 2008, 06:43 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(david1985 @ Apr 30 2008, 01:33 PM)
if 3g ipone hv 5megapixes camera then it is perfect!!! rclxms.gif
if iphone coming with 5 megapixel camera also useless...becoz not user friendly to capture pic...but more focusing on other funtion.. blush.gif
d3vilzzzz
post May 5 2008, 08:02 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm..till today is it still a rumour?
SUSMike3300
post May 5 2008, 03:45 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 5 2008, 08:02 AM)
hmm..till today is it still a rumour?
The rumors will continue until June 8th.
zc_squash
post May 6 2008, 12:04 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 5 2008, 03:45 PM)
The rumors will continue until June 8th.
June 8 is the supposed launch date of the new iPhone?
lailaikatong
post May 6 2008, 02:57 PM

601 posts

http://www.vodafone.com/start/media_relati..._to_offer0.html

Vodafone to Offer Apple’s iPhone in Ten Markets
06 May 2008

Vodafone today announced it has signed an agreement with Apple to sell the iPhone in ten of its markets around the globe. Later this year, Vodafone customers in Australia, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Greece, Italy, India, Portugal, New Zealand, South Africa and Turkey will be able to purchase the iPhone for use on the Vodafone network.

For further information:

Vodafone Group

Media Relations
Tel: +44 (0) 1635 664444

SUSMike3300
post May 6 2008, 04:02 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ May 6 2008, 12:04 AM)
June 8 is the supposed launch date of the new iPhone?
WWDC '08 will be on June 9th, so the rumors till 8th. Most probably announcement time! smile.gif

Added on May 6, 2008, 4:15 pmSurprise!

Source

This post has been edited by Mike3300: May 6 2008, 04:15 PM
hackdplanet
post May 6 2008, 05:35 PM

91 posts

From ZIBRI blog

About the 3G iPhone:
The 3G iPhone will share almost the same firmware
of the actual iPhone, so, again, no big news.
blackchides
post May 6 2008, 05:38 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 6 2008, 04:02 PM)
WWDC '08 will be on June 9th, so the rumors till 8th. Most probably announcement time!  smile.gif

Added on May 6, 2008, 4:15 pmSurprise!

Source
Looks great! The plastic makes it look cheap but still.. not bad...
mikelee
post May 8 2008, 08:34 AM

1,419 posts

Another leaked image from appleinsider:

Source
feizaiII
post May 8 2008, 09:19 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

hmm .. i thinking how many of us will sell our current iPhone and buy a new iPhone ? hmm.gif hmm.gif
d3vilzzzz
post May 9 2008, 07:51 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hehe..y must sell? y dun just collect? keke
LaskarCinta
post May 11 2008, 01:15 AM

?
1,651 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2008/05/10/apple-s...es-3g-imminent/

looks like they also don't have stock anymore at the online store. hehehe...

Added on May 11, 2008, 1:16 am
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 9 2008, 07:51 AM)
y dun just collect? keke
so looks like my current iPhone will be the first member of my iPhone museum, hehehe...

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 11 2008, 01:16 AM
c_calvin
post May 11 2008, 02:03 PM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

Screenshot from FW2.0 Beta 5 rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by c_calvin: May 11 2008, 02:04 PM
SUSMike3300
post May 11 2008, 04:11 PM

6,866 posts

That's a strong evidence on the upcoming iPhone with 3G capabilities, the funny thing is Apple is really pushing the truth that 3G eats battery life so you got the option to turn it off if you're not using it... bravo option.

Currently, Apple Online Store US & UK are running out as a matter of fact no more iPhone's in the store. It stated Currently Unavailable which is another brilliant idea by Apple to give customers the guessing game and about the upcoming new generation iPhone. One might not know and maybe Foxconn is in the process of manufacturing the new iPhones in factory and by the time WWDC '08 hits on June 9th, Steve Jobs would proudly say "iPhone is available starting TODAY!" Maybe worldwide but forget about that for a second, it's about the hype for me, not the availability in some countries.

Added on May 11, 2008, 4:33 pmuser posted image

Also, iPhone 3G pricing is rumored to be at $599 for 8GB and $699 for 16GB. One of the AT&T employees already suggested that the release date would be on June 15th. AFAIK, Apple are really discreet about the upcoming stuff so if one crack the glass a little, might get fired.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: May 11 2008, 04:33 PM
strynch
post May 11 2008, 05:47 PM

254 posts

Why they didn't opt for HSDPA instead?
frozzbyte
post May 11 2008, 05:54 PM

3,657 posts

Hahahaha ... here we go again as expected.

Back then
iPhone uses EDGE ... why they didn't use 3G?

Upcoming
iPhone will have 3G ... why they don't use HSDPA?

This cycle will never end.

@strynch
No hard feeling 'kay bro. Not flamming u ... just can't resist. smile.gif
kelvin_tan
post May 11 2008, 05:59 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

one can never keep up with technology.. i guess they didn't use hsdpa coz its for their 3rd batch ?
Dante18
post May 11 2008, 06:12 PM

372 posts

i am not selling....3G is not a big thing for me anyway.
deadman8836
post May 11 2008, 06:22 PM

464 posts

haha same here.... i won't be selling my iPhone..... it's just a such a waste after putting so much time and effort into it..... if the new iPhone has nothing but just a change in looks and 3g capability, there's no point at all.... WIFI is more than enough for me to do a quick websurf.....
blackchides
post May 11 2008, 08:08 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Nah, knowing Apple, I won't buy the 3G iPhone so soon. Remember the price drop only a month after they launched it? Ouch for those people who got it immediately.

Besides, Wi-Fi is good enough for me. I don't have the urgent need to stay online whenever, wherever..
ff8ong
post May 11 2008, 11:22 PM

2,550 posts

I dont think Apple will only upgrade to 3G function,it will be huge diffrent.MAYBE!
But i won't sell my iphone so soon..just wait and see..
zc_squash
post May 12 2008, 12:43 AM

1,149 posts

The only reason i may opt for the 3G iPhone is if it has better speakers. Seriously.
Dante18
post May 12 2008, 01:54 AM

372 posts

really wonder why original iphone didn't have 3G build in.....3G is like so common feature in today phones.
vult2res
post May 12 2008, 01:58 AM

264 posts

i guess they are trying to benchmark 1st gen iphone before adding the 3G function
SUSMike3300
post May 12 2008, 02:09 AM

6,866 posts

Marketing strategy, Apple could just throw in the Phone.app, SMS,app, Mail.app, Safari.app, and iPod.app and price it at just $399. People would still buy it. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: May 12 2008, 02:09 AM
frozzbyte
post May 12 2008, 04:04 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ May 12 2008, 01:54 AM)
really wonder why original iphone didn't have 3G build in.....3G is like so common feature in today phones.
3G is not common is the US. 3G is more widely used in europe and asia region especially japan and korea. Why the original iphone doesn't have 3G built in? Coz apple iphone partner (AT&T) don't have 3G network, they only have EDGE and it was develope to cater iphone. Now that iphone is such a popular device, apple try to sell it beyond the US market i.e. Europe and Asian (Japan). But users demand 3G phones and because of this demands, apple develope 3G phones to capture the market shares of phones in those region. At first they were reluctant to make 3G phones coz of the battery issue but later they found out the demands are high for 3G phones.
LaskarCinta
post May 12 2008, 05:37 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 12 2008, 04:04 AM)
Why the original iphone doesn't have 3G built in? Coz apple iphone partner (AT&T) don't have 3G network, they only have EDGE
mmm...as far as i know, AT&T already deployed 3G networks at that time. only it isn't that wide as its GSM coverage. even the simcard that somes with the iPhone clearly displays "3G".
btw from what i've read, they add coverage area for EDGE aggresively just before the launch of the iPhone, as meeting the demand of iPhone as an EDGE machine.
crrect me if i'm wrong.
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 12 2008, 04:04 AM)
3G is not common is the US. 3G is more widely used in europe and asia region especially japan and korea.
most likely this is the reason of why the iPhone can be sold really well in US, but in the same time the sales in european countries isn't as hot as in US.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 12 2008, 04:29 PM
ferricide
post May 12 2008, 08:24 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

3G iPhone in May, Another Device at WWDC?

In April, SwitchToaMac.com published a rumor that Apple would be launching the 3G iPhone earlier than expected... in May. At the time, we dismissed it, as the rumor didn't seem to correspond with the circulating expectations that the new iPhone would be launched in June at WWDC. Apple's dwindling stock of iPhones in both the U.S. and U.K. however, has made us look at this rumor once again.

As mentioned, SwitchToaMac's source claimed that the 3G-capable iPhone would be announced in May, with the belief that it would be available for purchase the day after the announcement.

The reason for a pre-WWDC announcement? Reportedly, Apple would instead announce a brand new portable device at WWDC. No other details of what this device might be, but there have been rumors that Apple was developing a mini-tablet multitouch device for launch in 2008. This PDA-like device would reportedly have a higher screen resolution (720x480) and be about 1.5x the size of the existing iPhone.

Repubblica.it first reported (in April) that they expected the Italian 3G iPhone launch "in the next few weeks", suggesting a May launch. While Telecom Italia and Vodofone did announce their intentions to supply the iPhone in Italy, no formal announcement had been made from Apple. Meanwhile, Apple's supply of iPhones has dwindled to nothing and our retail sources have indicated that they too will not be receiving many (if any) more iPhone shipments, leading many to speculate that the 3G-capable iPhone launch will be sooner than expected.

We don't necessarily believe this rumor is true, but present it as an interesting possibility. Obviously, we'll see between now and WWDC if it has any merit.

Good for us all if its true! thumbup.gif

Soya sauce here.
strynch
post May 13 2008, 12:55 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 11 2008, 05:54 PM)
Hahahaha ... here we go again as expected.

Back then
iPhone uses EDGE ... why they didn't use 3G?

Upcoming
iPhone will have 3G ... why they don't use HSDPA?

This cycle will never end.

@strynch
No hard feeling 'kay bro. Not flamming u ... just can't resist. smile.gif
Haha be cool. It's just a question. Well I don't mind that kind of feedback though. laugh.gif

I own an 8GB version and I hardly using EDGE also. Only Wi-Fi.

I myself can't resist to know on how the new is one going to look like rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by strynch: May 13 2008, 12:56 AM
Savlon
post May 13 2008, 08:46 AM

79 posts

Not sure if posted already or not

Apple lines up iPhone Asia deals

Exclusive in-country deals have been part of Apple's iPhone strategy.

Apple has signed deals with four mobile phone networks in the Asia-Pacific region, and the firms will offer the iPhone in their respective markets.

SingTel will sell the gadget in Singapore, while Bharti Airtel will introduce it in India.

Globe Telecom has the rights to the iPhone in the Philippines, and Optus will offer it in Australia.

The iPhone was launched in the US and Europe last year. Apple chose a single network provider in each country.

The latest announcement is confirmation that Apple is looking to expand iPhone sales, though no further details have been revealed.

Earlier this year Apple and China Mobile called off talks to launch the handset to Chinese consumers amid speculation that the two firms failed to agree on a revenue sharing deal.

Analysts said that this meant iPhone were unlikely to be released in China anytime soon.

d3vilzzzz
post May 13 2008, 09:31 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm..3G vs wifi...

for me WIFI!! 3g is nt even fully available here in M'sia...

but the main reason; PERCUMA!!
estara
post May 14 2008, 05:52 PM

599 posts

First of all, I'm such a techie noob so be kind to me plzzz... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(maiself @ Apr 27 2008, 09:35 PM)
Isn't the latest one in the market now with gps already? Someone I know bought his iphone from HK and he showed me the gps capability.

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 13 2008, 09:31 AM)
hmm..3G vs wifi...

for me WIFI!! 3g is nt even fully available here in M'sia...

but the main reason; PERCUMA!!
Err...if there's 3G there won't be WIFI??? unsure.gif
Moonflown
post May 14 2008, 05:58 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Currently there's no GPS in current iPhone. What you see might be using wifi to pinpoint cell towers and located your current position but not very accurate

estara
post May 14 2008, 06:53 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 14 2008, 05:58 PM)
Currently there's no GPS in current iPhone. What you see might be using wifi to pinpoint cell towers and located your current position but not very accurate
Oh I see...aiks!! doh.gif
ferricide
post May 14 2008, 10:59 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Swiss iPhone, 3G iPhone on June 9th?

As rumored, Swisscom announced today that they would be delivering the iPhone to Switzerland later this year:

The iPhone will be available later this year. We will inform you personally as soon as we have more news.
As typical for these announcements, no details are provided.

Meanwhile, GeekSugar cites their "reliable inside source" and says that the 3G iPhone will indeed be launched on June 9th at Apple's Worldwide Developer Conference keynote. This is in line with most evidence, though the recent disappearance of iPhone stock drove speculation that the 3G iPhone announcement could come even sooner.

Le sauce here.
z3171600
post May 15 2008, 10:20 AM

534 posts

The next update to 3G iphone is imminent however the specification is a scarce for now. Too many rumors rumouring about it. LOL. Anyways, less than a month till WWDC.
MoNnY
post May 15 2008, 11:26 AM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

Good news and bad news on the imminent 3G iPhone front. O2 apparently got another batch of 16 giggers in stock, since it's currently accepting orders, while the 8GB remains out of stock, and both phones remain unavailable on the US and UK Apple Stores. More encouraging, however, is the new listing of an "iPhone Black" model on AT&T's account management site. There's nothing else on the site to hint at specs or release or whether this is indeed the upcoming 3G iPhone, but it does fall in line with the word we have on a glossy black back for the much anticipated phone. Whether all this means we have weeks or months to wait is anyone's guess, but there are plenty of encouraging signs out there for the true believers to cling onto.

source: Engadget Mobile

Could this be the 3G model ? or is this just a refresh model to boost sales ?

Oh, bottom of the linked page goes like this for some of you that are too busy looking at the pictures.

Update: Telecom Italia Mobile's Executive VP Luigi Licciardi claims they'll be selling the iPhone 3G next month. How's that for clarity? [Thanks, Giovanni]

This post has been edited by MoNnY: May 15 2008, 11:30 AM
TSUnUsUaL
post May 15 2008, 11:52 AM

ah jek
2,064 posts

Topic Merged.
MoNnY
post May 15 2008, 12:01 PM

4,423 posts

ah, thx.. i wasn't sure where that should go...
wondering whether steve jobs will do his usual .... one more thing..... slide at the end of his presentation and introduce the 3g iphone...
Biscuit
post May 15 2008, 03:58 PM

177 posts

Vodafone building TV service for 3G iPhone?

According to French language Swiss news site LeMatin, not only will the 3G iPhone hit the mountainous country in June, but it will be sporting some interesting new capabilities.

The article (English translation) states that the iPhone will have GPS and a more powerful processor. It also states that the 3G iPhone will have the capability to videoconference (insinuating there will be a front-facing camera) and that Vodafone will offer a Live TV service especially for the device. Perhaps, AT&T's MediaFLO service will hit the iPhone in the US. It has been getting amazing reviews.

IF this is all true, it is all very big news for Apple and its customers. The GPS isn't a surprise as there have been many clues found. However the faster processor, videoconferencing and live TV capabilities were all just wild speculation...until now (no longer as wild?).
Update May 14th: Swisscom confirmed this morning that it will indeed be carrying the iPhone. No news on these features however.

Sources obtained from : http://blogs.computerworld.com/vodafone_bu...e_for_3g_iphone
etfrompluto
post May 15 2008, 08:19 PM

37 posts

from my friend who working at AT&T, he said no any announcement yet.

but i think if apple going to release new iphone, they wont just upgrade the 3G function, maybe some other else.

I heard they'll change the colour to silver white and the material .

hope it will be much better than our expected. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by etfrompluto: May 15 2008, 08:26 PM
ferricide
post May 16 2008, 05:36 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

QUOTE(etfrompluto @ May 15 2008, 08:19 PM)
from my friend who working at AT&T, he said no any announcement yet.

but i think if apple going to release new iphone, they wont just upgrade the 3G function, maybe some other else.

I heard they'll change the colour to silver white and the material .

hope it will be much better than our expected.  thumbup.gif
Thing is, what's the price going to be like with the added goodies on the phone? Maybe another extra USD100 is reasonable.
vex
post May 16 2008, 09:06 AM

1,984 posts

waiting everyday ... no new model come out, old model out of stock !!!
when I can get my iphone ~~!!! E#$@#@%@#%
ff8ong
post May 16 2008, 11:42 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 16 2008, 09:06 AM)
waiting everyday ... no new model come out, old model out of stock !!!
when I can get my iphone ~~!!! E#$@#@%@#%
Old model still gt stock right,some of the seller in GS stil have few set,just depends u want which capacity smile.gif
shaznizzle
post May 16 2008, 12:32 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

I think the Black iPhone is the current iPhone only a new fresh look... and than there will be a 3G iPhone aka iPhone2.

Why?? So now Apple has 2 models... low end and high end.

Why?? So consumers can choose base on their budget..

Why?? Apple wants to dominate the mid end market of cell phones by introducing a High end model.
zuddean
post May 16 2008, 01:02 PM

177 posts

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_237563.html

i dunno whether this news has been post or not... but it look like confirm that spore will get iphone by the end of this year... rclxms.gif
so when's our turn??
Moonflown
post May 18 2008, 10:43 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I hope the black iPhone is not made of plastic. If not it will make the phone looks cheap and low quality.

This post has been edited by Moonflown: May 18 2008, 10:43 AM
SUSMike3300
post May 18 2008, 10:45 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 18 2008, 10:43 AM)
I hope the black iPhone is not made of plastic. If not it will make the phone looks cheap and low quality.
It's definitely plastic as it's glossy, aluminium can't be glossy. Else, they use the same plastic materials as on black MacBook.
ff8ong
post May 18 2008, 10:46 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 18 2008, 10:45 AM)
It's definitely plastic as it's glossy, aluminium can't be glossy. Else, they use the same plastic materials as on black MacBook.
More function but low quality.. blush.gif
LaskarCinta
post May 18 2008, 04:11 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 18 2008, 10:46 AM)
...low quality.. blush.gif
yup, i really love if they still use metal. it looks more elegant though.
ff8ong
post May 18 2008, 04:50 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ May 18 2008, 04:11 PM)
yup, i really love if they still use metal. it looks more elegant though.
I reli like current back surface,bt i wondering the word below the apple
logo will lost after few month using?
SUSMike3300
post May 18 2008, 04:55 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 18 2008, 04:50 PM)
I reli like current back surface,bt i wondering the word below the apple
logo will lost after few month using?
If you look carefully, the iPhone word is carved/etched with laser. smile.gif
Lurker
post May 19 2008, 12:03 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 18 2008, 10:45 AM)
coke can is not glossy meh? it's from alu
alexng2208
post May 19 2008, 01:09 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

its the paint on the coke can that make it glossy, look at the top of the can, not glossy ma
LaskarCinta
post May 19 2008, 01:15 PM

?
1,651 posts

haha...iPhone ------- coke can.
mmm btw i love the back part of iPhone more than of the iPod Touch. if the glossy back part get scratched it is easily visible.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 19 2008, 01:16 PM
Moonflown
post May 20 2008, 12:49 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Imagine iphone with coke can paint. Yea current one only the chrome is easy to be scratched but back part and the screen are quite scratch prove.
nikyas
post May 20 2008, 03:04 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ May 19 2008, 01:15 PM)
haha...iPhone ------- coke can.
mmm btw i love the back part of iPhone more than of the iPod Touch. if the glossy back part get scratched it is easily visible.
remind me of those days when people said that kancil was made out of 'tin milo'
tayhaithian
post May 20 2008, 05:54 PM

460 posts

woohuu great news . 3G Iphone launching soon . Can't wait to see whats new inside .
ferricide
post May 20 2008, 06:19 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

How many in here getting the new iPhone 3G the day its out? I will be getting 2 from US via some frens
ff8ong
post May 20 2008, 06:22 PM

2,550 posts

What can we do is WAIT !!! biggrin.gif

Steve Jobs preparing his speech alr..Soon soon~~~ rclxms.gif

The first thing i hope is the design not going to be plastic,better quality build.

This post has been edited by ff8ong: May 20 2008, 06:24 PM
siawgu
post May 20 2008, 06:56 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 20 2008, 06:22 PM)
What can we do is WAIT !!! biggrin.gif

Steve Jobs preparing his speech alr..Soon soon~~~  rclxms.gif

The first thing i hope is the design not going to be plastic,better quality build.
I think there will be plastics, if all are aluminum or any metal, The reception will be lower...
badtz_mark
post May 20 2008, 09:09 PM

800 posts

From Gizmodo:We all suspected it, but now it is confirmed: sources close to the 3G iPhone launch have told Gizmodo that Apple will announce their new model at the WWDC Keynote on June 9th. The second-generation iPhone will be available worldwide right after the launch, and not at year's end, as previously thought. The new model will also herald new sales policies in some countries.

In Spain, for example, the 3G iPhone will be available for sale at the June 18th grand opening of Telefonica's megastore—an Apple Store-like shop located in the company's historical building in Madrid's Gran Vía— with nationwide availability right the next day or after a few hours. The other European countries with iPhone availability will have similar launch schedules.

According to the same reliable sources, the 3G iPhone will no longer be available at a fixed price point—at least in some countries, and its launch will also bring new sales policies, although these have not been completely specified yet.

The move is a logical step, since the iPhone has clearly solidified its position as the cellphone to beat during last twelve months, and companies in the cutthroat European cellphone market need to use it as an incentive to capture clients aggressively.

This most probably means the new 3G iPhone will be integrated in the usual marketing systems of carriers, with point-based trade-ups, discounts for carrier switchers, and other service-based subvention packages.
ferricide
post May 20 2008, 09:26 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Yeah, cant wait for the launch now... been holding off for so long...
Dante18
post May 20 2008, 09:51 PM

372 posts

3G Iphone next month....so anyone selling their old iphone?
ff8ong
post May 20 2008, 09:55 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ May 20 2008, 09:51 PM)
3G Iphone next month....so anyone selling their old iphone?
I think every 2.5G owner will say wait for the 3G iphone release then only can make conclusion. biggrin.gif
ferricide
post May 20 2008, 09:57 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Those who don't need 3G will probably hold on to their 1stGen iPhones.
ff8ong
post May 20 2008, 10:01 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ May 20 2008, 09:57 PM)
Those who don't need 3G will probably hold on to their 1stGen iPhones.
Except the 3g iphone become like this
tongue.gif

ferricide
post May 20 2008, 10:04 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Well, early reports/rumors mentioned the 3G is thicker and less metal... so see whats the final outcome. But there are always the Apple fanboys who will buy to collect the phones.
ff8ong
post May 20 2008, 10:09 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ May 20 2008, 10:04 PM)
Well, early reports/rumors mentioned the 3G is thicker and less metal... so see whats the final outcome. But there are always the Apple fanboys who will buy to collect the phones.
Some will even buy extra and give to other ppl for FREE..hope it happen in THis country. rclxms.gif
ferricide
post May 20 2008, 10:13 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Doubt that will happen, but you might have some rich relatives/good frens.
tayhaithian
post May 21 2008, 08:19 AM

460 posts

think i will go SG to get in on hands . Anybody have the idea of 3G Iphone prices ?

heard somebody said it was at $399 (Euro)

[attachmentid=475821][attachmentid=475823]

This post has been edited by tayhaithian: May 21 2008, 08:30 AM
d3vilzzzz
post May 21 2008, 12:37 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

nt only fanboys collect them..

self proclaim gadget freaks as well
gengstapo
post May 21 2008, 12:37 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ May 21 2008, 08:19 AM)
think i will go SG to get in on hands . Anybody have the idea of 3G Iphone prices ?

heard somebody said it was at $399 (Euro)

[attachmentid=475821][attachmentid=475823]
go go goo.. more user, the more experience to be shared smile.gif
siawgu
post May 21 2008, 01:04 PM

996 posts

is this the design of 3G phone, cos the case oredi online sale at HERE

ferricide
post May 21 2008, 01:07 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Yeah, just thicker due to extra goodies (3G, GPS, etc). Bur definitely hope for a better camera (3.2MP maybe? tongue.gif)
Moonflown
post May 21 2008, 01:27 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I would prefer a 2MP with autofocus rather than just 3.2MP.
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 01:32 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 21 2008, 01:27 PM)
I would prefer a 2MP with autofocus rather than just 3.2MP.
Yes we will want all the best features, throw in flash, AF and bigger MP this will rock!
dopp
post May 21 2008, 02:03 PM

1,733 posts

the new iphone chip support 5.0 camera
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 02:09 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ May 21 2008, 02:03 PM)
the new iphone chip support 5.0 camera
Well, all the merrier, dun mind paying USD599 if that's included tongue.gif
CoDe_WrItEr
post May 21 2008, 03:40 PM

102 posts

should i get the iphone now or wait for the 3G iphone to launch?
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 03:42 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

3 more weeks to new iPhone launching... just wait la tongue.gif
MoNnY
post May 21 2008, 03:45 PM

4,423 posts

so rounded at the back
how to put down on table ?
means it must go face down now...
tayhaithian
post May 21 2008, 04:14 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ May 21 2008, 03:42 PM)
3 more weeks to new iPhone launching... just wait la tongue.gif

3weeks how sure r u ?
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 04:35 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ May 21 2008, 04:14 PM)
3weeks how sure r u ?
iPhone 3G Launch Date Confirmed

We all suspected it, but now it is confirmed: someone very, very close to the 3G iPhone launch has told me that Apple will announce their new model at the WWDC Keynote on June 9th. The second-generation iPhone will be available worldwide right after the launch, and not at year's end, as previously thought. The new model will also herald new sales policies in some countries.

In Spain, for example, the 3G iPhone will be available for sale at the June 18th grand opening of Telefonica's megastore—an Apple Store-like shop located in the company's historical building in Madrid's Gran Vía— with nationwide availability the next day or after a few hours. The other European countries with iPhone availability will have similar launch schedules.

According to another source involved in the launch, the 3G iPhone will no longer be available at a fixed price point—at least in some countries, and its launch will also bring new sales policies, although these have not been completely specified yet.

The move is a logical step, since the iPhone has clearly solidified its position as the cellphone to beat during the last 12 months, and companies in the cutthroat European cellphone market need to use it as an incentive to capture clients aggressively.

This most probably means the new 3G iPhone will be integrated in the usual marketing systems of carriers, with point-based trade-ups, discounts for carrier switchers and other service-based subvention packages.

Source.

This post has been edited by ferricide: May 21 2008, 04:37 PM
Moonflown
post May 21 2008, 06:15 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

It's useless to wait for the launch because you can't really get the phone right after it released in US normally.
SUSMike3300
post May 21 2008, 06:26 PM

6,866 posts

Rumored that it will be available worldwide short after announcement. smile.gif
ff8ong
post May 21 2008, 06:52 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ May 21 2008, 01:04 PM)

Mean the back is going be unstable type,no flat anymore.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 21 2008, 06:26 PM)
Rumored that it will be available worldwide short after announcement.  smile.gif
I think asia still need to wait another 3 or 4 month,but we can CRACK!! nod.gif
vex
post May 21 2008, 07:42 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ May 21 2008, 01:04 PM)

how come i feel old iphone is more lengzai 1 ... rclxub.gif
Moonflown
post May 21 2008, 11:06 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

GPS and 3G consumes spaces. Lets hope thicker phone means MUCH MORE functions.
MoNnY
post May 21 2008, 11:08 PM

4,423 posts

dun have to wait 3-4 months to unlock la..
basic unlocked di..
just see how the new itunes security goes only
zidane88
post May 22 2008, 07:17 AM

516 posts

dont think we need to unlock though as its selling worldwide..
d3vilzzzz
post May 22 2008, 08:49 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

selling worldwide? hu say?

GOOD news though..muahaha
zidane88
post May 22 2008, 09:55 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 22 2008, 08:49 AM)
selling worldwide? hu say?

GOOD news though..muahaha
well, just rumours.. biggrin.gif
D-Zire
post May 22 2008, 12:28 PM

560 posts

well....is it confirmed that the new iphone has GPS function? if it does...i might wanna get the 3g instead of the 1st gen one...=)
opiluke_are
post May 22 2008, 05:44 PM

26 posts

iphone with 3g is good, yes, but only for those who always use 3g call (normally for ladies to check where her spouse/boyfriend is smile.gif ) but for those who using it for internet browsing i dun think they will get full advantages of 3g, because on the recent news, KL will implement a free wifi for 2 years, provided by wimax, so at least we iphone user can enjoy free internet browsing for 2 years. After that definitely we have to pay for that, and also new iphone will come out and its worth to change it already. So, for those who who looking for changing to iphone with 3g, maybe you can consider this, but for those who din buy yet, just w8 a few more weeks and go by it smile.gif.

Cheers!!!
LaskarCinta
post May 22 2008, 06:55 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 21 2008, 11:06 PM)
GPS and 3G consumes spaces. Lets hope thicker phone means MUCH MORE functions.
maybe because of the 3G, iPhone needs higher capacity battery so it becomes thicker.
terencetoo
post May 23 2008, 11:10 AM

3,246 posts

i think majority consumers will not be using 3G so often where u need to Pay $$ for that smile.gif

Wheras i prefer more functions/ Applications and improvement on the camera with dual mode (2 camera with AF + Flash)

bigger capacity and longer battery life span
Moonflown
post May 23 2008, 11:20 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I hope the it comes with LED screen.
ff8ong
post May 23 2008, 03:16 PM

2,550 posts

I hope the new 3g iphone software ot firmware can be use in 2.5G iphone..
then i will very happy alr.. biggrin.gif
SUSMike3300
post May 23 2008, 04:39 PM

6,866 posts

Of course, infact the iPhone 3G is the one that will continue the iPhone OS from 2.5G iPhone OS. It's basically the same OS but with some tweaks different. 3G settings and stuff.
ff8ong
post May 23 2008, 05:31 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 23 2008, 04:39 PM)
Of course, infact the iPhone 3G is the one that will continue the iPhone OS from 2.5G iPhone OS. It's basically the same OS but with some tweaks different. 3G settings and stuff.
GOOD NEWS FOR ME!! rclxms.gif
stephentang
post May 23 2008, 07:32 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 21 2008, 07:42 PM)
how come i feel old iphone is more lengzai 1 ...  rclxub.gif
Yaya... The new one look like a hump back whale.... biggrin.gif
Moonflown
post May 24 2008, 01:45 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

How you know when you havent see the new iphone? Apple design always put a WOW on public.
ff8ong
post May 24 2008, 02:44 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ May 24 2008, 01:45 PM)
How you know when you havent see the new iphone? Apple design always put a WOW on public.
It just rumors la,that no way ppl can know how it look like.
LaskarCinta
post May 24 2008, 04:05 PM

?
1,651 posts

nyum nyum...more rumour:
Could 'electric computers' be the new iPhone?
haha...electric computers?

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 24 2008, 04:05 PM
frozzbyte
post May 24 2008, 04:31 PM

3,657 posts

Well well well ... I might be upgrading to the 3G iPhone later. Heard from a meeting between my company and digi (company line provider) that they gonna roll-out their 3G solution in 3rd Q next year (or was it this year). So they gonna upgrade our line from unlimited EDGE to unlimited 3G plan. Hehehehehehehe ... life's good ... when its free. But in the mean time ... I still 'sayang' my current iPhone. Maybe the time digi roll-out their 3G, iPhone already reach 3rd gen. happy.gif
ff8ong
post May 24 2008, 04:53 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ May 24 2008, 04:05 PM)
nyum nyum...more rumour:
Could 'electric computers' be the new iPhone?
haha...electric computers?
If 3G iphone inside,then i will plan to steal it.. biggrin.gif

May ask Tom Cruise to help for this mission impossible. nod.gif
shaznizzle
post May 24 2008, 07:51 PM

570 posts

WORLD WIDE RELEASE!!!!!! WooooHooo!!!
LaskarCinta
post May 24 2008, 08:10 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 24 2008, 04:53 PM)
If 3G iphone inside,then i will plan to steal it.. biggrin.gif

May ask Tom Cruise to help for this mission impossible. nod.gif
and then Tom Cruise will blow all the containers. kaboom, no iPhone 3G this year hehehe...

mmm...worldwide release? haha...someone gonna check the containers at our port and search for "electric computers" from Apple, hehehe...

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 24 2008, 11:12 PM
alexng2208
post May 24 2008, 11:08 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

is iphone currently sold in the UK?
LaskarCinta
post May 24 2008, 11:13 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 24 2008, 11:08 PM)
is iphone currently sold in the UK?
yup but of course the current version.
mmm...also heard that they also facing stock shortage on the current iPhone.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 24 2008, 11:17 PM
jasonlau
post May 25 2008, 09:14 AM

23 posts

apple no longer selling current iphone online.
"Buy Now" button has been removed smile.gif
Looks like it's really coming soon.. smile.gif
jakesean
post May 25 2008, 11:22 AM

1,361 posts

IF the 3g iphone gets released in australia, anyone wanna get it?

i'll be coming back to msia on the 13th of june, n IF the rumour true and within budget, i might get it on the 9th or 10th..
uchan
post May 25 2008, 11:29 AM

427 posts

3G iphone in australia? which telecom will get the authorization from apple of australia?
jakesean
post May 25 2008, 11:40 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(uchan @ May 25 2008, 11:29 AM)
3G iphone in australia? which telecom will get the authorization from apple of australia?
rumours say if released in australia, they might also sell the unlocked ones, directly from apple shop.. both optus and vodafon has confirmed that they will bring in the iphone.. not sure about three and telstra.. not sure when, hopefully on the 9th..

This post has been edited by jakesean: May 25 2008, 11:41 AM
LaskarCinta
post May 25 2008, 11:54 AM

?
1,651 posts

mmm...maybe the announcement will be on june 9th, but it's still not in market at that time.
frozzbyte
post May 25 2008, 12:21 PM

3,657 posts

@jakesean
U'r gonna be the lucky ones. HSPA speed in australia (telstra) gonna go up to 42 Mbps. Couple with the 3G iPhone ... u got blazing speed.
jakesean
post May 25 2008, 12:35 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ May 25 2008, 11:54 AM)
mmm...maybe the announcement will be on june 9th, but it's still not in market at that time.
i hope they'll release it within 24hr after they've annnounced it.. haha.. *prays hard*

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 25 2008, 12:21 PM)
@jakesean
U'r gonna be the lucky ones. HSPA speed in australia (telstra) gonna go up to 42 Mbps. Couple with the 3G iPhone ... u got blazing speed.
not really.. that also depends on the telco that im suscribed to.. n it wont be until the end of this year.. but, im really sure that data charges wont be cheap..
terencetoo
post May 25 2008, 12:36 PM

3,246 posts

42Mbps...wow tats was great..even at singapore cant achieve the speed...

only Telstra? what about 3/Optus?
jakesean
post May 25 2008, 12:52 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ May 25 2008, 12:36 PM)
42Mbps...wow tats was great..even at singapore cant achieve the speed...

only Telstra? what about 3/Optus?
not really useful if everyone is limited to some form of download quota..
Neo18
post May 26 2008, 11:04 AM

1,850 posts

i plan to be one of the first to buy this phone.
If any of u want to bulk share, let me know.

raven268
post May 26 2008, 03:43 PM

38 posts

New iPhone 3G pics, it looks slimmer.

http://iphonefreakz.com/2008/05/26/new-iphone-3g-pictures/
Dante18
post May 26 2008, 05:45 PM

372 posts

not sure are those pictures real or not....but it does look really slim.
=Hanxz=
post May 26 2008, 05:59 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ May 25 2008, 12:52 PM)
not really useful if everyone is limited to some form of download quota..
the limit is limited to 160GB there right?
it would be more than enough to download laugh.gif
jakesean
post May 26 2008, 06:16 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ May 26 2008, 05:59 PM)
the limit is limited to 160GB there right?
it would be more than enough to download laugh.gif
not really.. 1gb+- .. even home users have an average of 4gb download quota (per month) in australia.. 3 is offering AUD15, broadband, having 1gb download quota per month...

one of the well-known ISP in australia, iiNet, is offering ADSL2+, 60GB download quota for AUD79.90, per month.. and that's for home users... that's one of the cheapest available..

This post has been edited by jakesean: May 26 2008, 06:19 PM
Moonflown
post May 27 2008, 12:45 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ May 26 2008, 11:04 AM)
i plan to be one of the first to buy this phone.
If any of u want to bulk share, let me know.
Count me in
ff8ong
post May 27 2008, 12:58 AM

2,550 posts

First,let guess the capacity of coming 3G iphone...erm for me 8gb,16gb,32gb

then after a few month 32++ biggrin.gif
=Hanxz=
post May 27 2008, 09:54 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

guys 3G its coming...
but..

solar powered portable devices?
Sauce
gengstapo
post May 27 2008, 10:10 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

just 3g function? any others upgrade beside the current model?

i think i'll just stick with current phone, no $$$ to be spend -.- zzZZzz
gidlcin
post May 27 2008, 02:45 PM

457 posts

i dont know is anyone posted this or not..
but just trying to share

ff8ong
post May 27 2008, 02:54 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(gidlcin @ May 27 2008, 02:45 PM)
but just trying to share

Yup,some forumer alr post that..

But i think it going to be a big huge different...let wait.., smile.gif
LaskarCinta
post May 27 2008, 04:53 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(gidlcin @ May 27 2008, 02:45 PM)
but just trying to share

myb it's fake. it doesn't have AppStore icon. and the iTunes Store icon has changed already.
looks like a fan made art.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 27 2008, 04:57 PM
MoNnY
post May 27 2008, 05:34 PM

4,423 posts

nope.. can confirm its not this design..
most likely its the other one with the curved back and in glossy black..
i think the added size could be due to the bigger battery needed to at least match the current battery life of 1st gen
Dante18
post May 27 2008, 10:20 PM

372 posts

ya, just 3G no need to upgrade. Unless got some major improvement.
skylancer
post May 28 2008, 04:09 AM

196 posts

not to big difference with the current for the pic...
but the pic looks like officially one... smile.gif

This post has been edited by skylancer: May 28 2008, 04:10 AM
LaskarCinta
post May 28 2008, 03:12 PM

?
1,651 posts

more pictures:
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
looks like the dummy version of the iPhone. maybe a reference dummy for case manufacturers, hehehe...

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 28 2008, 03:13 PM
ff8ong
post May 28 2008, 03:29 PM

2,550 posts

FAT BOY
LaskarCinta
post May 28 2008, 07:58 PM

?
1,651 posts

haha...iPhone 3G case mold leaked?
http://www.idealschina.com/Insider/
hehehe...

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 28 2008, 08:02 PM
d3vilzzzz
post May 29 2008, 09:13 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

whoa..serious liao..so 3G confirm edi lor..
D-Zire
post May 29 2008, 09:58 AM

560 posts

3g is definitely in the new iphone...now i'm wondering if gps is included and if garmin works in it anot? somehow i doubt that turn by turn navigation doesnt work but only geo tagging works...hmmm
yogabest
post May 29 2008, 11:21 PM

http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/1665...e-june-9th.html

3G iphone on JUNE????

We've had rumors, rumors, and more rumors, but now "someone very, very close to the 3G iPhone launch" has confirmed the 3G iPhone will be released June 9th at the WWDC Keynote.

International users will have the phone within a few weeks of the US launch - not the previously rumored end of '08. Also notable, the iPhone will (at least in some countries) NOT be selling at a fixed price anymore, which means end users can get discounts based on signing contracts, adding data plans, etc. This is a good thing for those of you signing up with the Apple-sponsored carrier, but not so good news for us rebels (gotta have my T-Mo ). No word on how the Apple stores will be handling the fixed price vs subsidization pricing, but perhaps they'll have a set price, and AT&T will offer some sort of rebate with proof of activation. That is IF Apple carries the non-standard pricing to the States.

Those of wanting to jailbreak/unlock the 3G iPhone need not worry - it looks like the launch of it will coincide with the 2.0 firmware, which hints it will be running said firmware. And 2.0 is already jailbroken/unlocked. A 3G modem may necessitate a fix on the unlock to work, but shouldn't be a major hurdle. Mod on, good people.

via Gizmodo

This post has been edited by yogabest: May 29 2008, 11:21 PM
Choongster
post May 29 2008, 11:52 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(yogabest @ May 29 2008, 11:21 PM)
http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/1665...e-june-9th.html

3G iphone on JUNE????

We've had rumors, rumors, and more rumors, but now "someone very, very close to the 3G iPhone launch" has confirmed the 3G iPhone will be released June 9th at the WWDC Keynote.

International users will have the phone within a few weeks of the US launch - not the previously rumored end of '08. Also notable, the iPhone will (at least in some countries) NOT be selling at a fixed price anymore, which means end users can get discounts based on signing contracts, adding data plans, etc. This is a good thing for those of you signing up with the Apple-sponsored carrier, but not so good news for us rebels (gotta have my T-Mo  ). No word on how the Apple stores will be handling the fixed price vs subsidization pricing, but perhaps they'll have a set price, and AT&T will offer some sort of rebate with proof of activation. That is IF Apple carries the non-standard pricing to the States.

Those of wanting to jailbreak/unlock the 3G iPhone need not worry - it looks like the launch of it will coincide with the 2.0 firmware, which hints it will be running said firmware. And 2.0 is already jailbroken/unlocked.  A 3G modem may necessitate a fix on the unlock to work, but shouldn't be a major hurdle. Mod on, good people.

via Gizmodo
been hiding in the cave too long ? lol .. no hard feeling but this is "old" news
terencetoo
post May 30 2008, 12:20 AM

3,246 posts

wow the design...sexier!!
3G wulala...i wonder how good is the 3G capabilities on iPhone....battery wise sure the engineers will enhanced the batter life span.. smile.gif

June ya im waiting for the official price ~
d3vilzzzz
post May 30 2008, 09:25 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

YIPEKAYEH!!

hu cares if i hv the non 3G 1..me going to get both!! muahaha
MoNnY
post May 30 2008, 09:29 PM

4,423 posts

wah eh, yogabest, where have u been ?
people suspecting apple's latest Electronic Computers to come from China to be the new iPhones di lo... the phones are already at cuppertino
jakesean
post May 30 2008, 09:39 PM

1,361 posts

Carriers Have the iPhone 2, But Leaked Images Are All Fake | Gizmodo Australia
LaskarCinta
post May 30 2008, 10:31 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ May 30 2008, 09:39 PM)
we already know that some pictures are fake (the most popular one is the black iPhone on the laptop), but some pictures dubbed as leaked images by case manufacturer maybe still hold as credible (yeah until the real iPhone is unveiled, hahaha...). and yeah that's the case mold, so at least maybe we can get the idea on its dimension of the phone (if it's true), that's as far as we can know with that rumor. not the actual unit.

and what's interesting though bout that article is, mmm....just read this comment to that post, u'll get the idea,

so cut the story short, yep carriers have iPhone 2 but not necessarily all the rumors surrounding this iPhone 3G are fake. unless the carriers themselves have the actual full unit.

btw maybe now is time to just wait for the actual product, it's just around the corner. nyum nyum...
(but yeah, rumors are fun!)

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: May 30 2008, 10:35 PM
MattJ
post May 31 2008, 10:00 PM

769 posts

LC

It is definitely around the corner, but remains one of the mobile world best kept secrets..... getting everybody excited. If it is good I may upgrade as I'm on ***com for mymain line and I need 3G for internet connectivity esp at home.
shaznizzle
post Jun 1 2008, 03:54 AM

570 posts

not really into 3G tho.... more like pls upgrade the camera to 3.2MP and above. Video recording. More features = 3D Games, Downloading content on safari, Bluetooth 2.0, Camera Zenon flash.

Here comes the dreams = Dual Sim, External Memory Card, Flash Support.
potion
post Jun 1 2008, 06:52 AM

319 posts

for iphone implement that such of feuture sure make that cute little phone look round and thick wink.gif
martinsee
post Jun 2 2008, 05:15 PM

89 posts

Hey guys.. Juz wanna ask yah.. Is 3G iphone can be crack using ziphone method? Thx in advance.!
Choongster
post Jun 2 2008, 05:23 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(martinsee @ Jun 2 2008, 05:15 PM)
Hey guys.. Juz wanna ask yah.. Is 3G iphone can be crack using ziphone method? Thx in advance.!
how can we answer that question when the 3G phone hasn't been release?
pip
post Jun 2 2008, 05:39 PM

128 posts

US$200 iPhones says Kevin Rose.

That's about RM 700. And iPhone fans around the world go wild.

(edit: This Tuesday / Wed Malaysia time)

This post has been edited by pip: Jun 2 2008, 05:39 PM
gengstapo
post Jun 2 2008, 06:24 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(martinsee @ Jun 2 2008, 05:15 PM)
give a time laa, only god knows the future

hope the team dev can break it once again rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif
pip
post Jun 2 2008, 06:35 PM

128 posts

I thought Zibri giving up. He might not even wanna hack the 2.0

Some say, this is because he's a thief and he stole code from iPhone dev team. I personally used iLiberty and all functions were working perfectly.
vex
post Jun 2 2008, 06:37 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(pip @ Jun 2 2008, 05:39 PM)
US$200 iPhones says Kevin Rose.

That's about RM 700. And iPhone fans around the world go wild.

(edit: This Tuesday / Wed Malaysia time)
er ....even an itouch price also higher than this leh ...
possible or not ???

This post has been edited by vex: Jun 2 2008, 08:07 PM
pip
post Jun 2 2008, 06:40 PM

128 posts

Probably 2 year Digi plan.. unlimited HSPDA 7.2mbps!
Say.. RM 99/mth excl. calls and sms?
frozzbyte
post Jun 2 2008, 09:35 PM

3,657 posts

Guys i know this kinda really OT here but can't help it.

DId u guys see the latest Android showcase from Google I/O? It got me drooling abit with its features. The functions and UI seems a lot like the iPhone.

Android going to be a really great competitor to the next generation iPhone. Just hope the android phone manufacturer can keep up with iphone design.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 2 2008, 09:38 PM
fatmama
post Jun 2 2008, 11:23 PM

while most people here was hoping for better hardware upgrade for the new iphone. i'm more intrested in the new firmware. and if it's possible for the old iphone to use the same latest firmware. smile.gif
MoNnY
post Jun 2 2008, 11:35 PM

4,423 posts

yes it is..
announced last special event di.
firmware 2.0 is for the 1st gen.
steve never said anything about it being for a new iphone
but we all know the new iphone is gonna come with firmware 2.0
nonama
post Jun 2 2008, 11:56 PM

87 posts

Just to share with u guys... SWEET!!! just wish it become reality smile.gif

iPhone 2.0

Dante18
post Jun 3 2008, 12:29 AM

372 posts

wow...if that is iphone 2.0....then it is worth to upgrade.
MoNnY
post Jun 3 2008, 05:12 AM

4,423 posts

wish and wish not for it to be that
hahaha
pros, damn cool design. very creative.
cons, the swiveling hinge. bound to be an issue.
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 3 2008, 09:10 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm..hw thick will it be?

hmm..hinges...

~Off Topic~

haha..i knw exactly what you mean...

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 2 2008, 09:35 PM)

DId u guys see the latest Android showcase from Google I/O? It got me drooling abit with its features. The functions and UI seems a lot like the iPhone.

Android going to be a really great competitor to the next generation iPhone. Just hope the android phone manufacturer can keep up with iphone design.
Cello
post Jun 3 2008, 10:24 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(nonama @ Jun 2 2008, 11:56 PM)

iPhone 2.0
No point having the keyboard. As Steve Jobs said in the previous presentation, the keyboard stays there for nothing for sometime (it is not a "smartphone" which is not smart enough).
HaVoC
post Jun 3 2008, 10:35 AM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 2 2008, 09:35 PM)

About the Android OS, I think the key to success here is heavily depending on how "open" the development of softwares. As we all already know, iPhone's SDK is released already and numerous companies are working on it, e.g. Sega's Super Monkey Ball. So the true impact actually comes when the programs are on sale (yes, for a price) and how Android is going to deal with the development of different programs are unknown. Judging from Google's nature and the situatiion as Android comes out later, there is a high probability that they'll put on no charges (rules) for any development and release of softwares. This could be another Public for free VS Coorporate for charge situation. biggrin.gif
gengstapo
post Jun 3 2008, 10:35 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

iPhone 2.0
thats kewL, but i dont like the KB.. really smile.gif
Neo18
post Jun 3 2008, 10:51 AM

1,850 posts

6th of june is the announcment right?

another 3 more days!!!!
vex
post Jun 3 2008, 01:13 PM

1,984 posts

6th or 9th wow ?
ff8ong
post Jun 3 2008, 01:29 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 3 2008, 10:51 AM)
6th of june is the announcment right?

another 3 more days!!!!
WWDC on 9 june lah,not 6

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 3 2008, 01:30 PM
hi54ever
post Jun 3 2008, 03:24 PM

744 posts

iPhone 2.0
too bad its iLounge concept contest (note at the center of the picture ), most probably not the actual iphone 2.0...but who knows, Jobs might have steal abit of the design tongue.gif
kevinwcw
post Jun 3 2008, 06:05 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 3 2008, 03:24 PM)
too bad its iLounge concept contest (note at the center of the picture ), most probably not the actual iphone 2.0...but who knows, Jobs might have steal abit of the design tongue.gif
wao...tat if like tat kind...Dream Mac liao... drool.gif
hi54ever
post Jun 3 2008, 10:42 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jun 3 2008, 06:05 PM)
wao...tat if like tat kind...Dream Mac liao... drool.gif
with tat design, it will definately dig our pocket rm 3500+ deep easily, not to mention the pocket ald longtime koyak and dehydrated.. biggrin.gif
fish@5311
post Jun 3 2008, 10:54 PM

202 posts

when will the i phone be launch in ASIA
ff8ong
post Jun 3 2008, 11:59 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(fish@5311 @ Jun 3 2008, 10:54 PM)
when will the i phone  be launch in ASIA
2008 lo biggrin.gif

no one know the actual date.
gengstapo
post Jun 4 2008, 12:34 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

only steve know what future hold laugh.gif laugh.gif

try PM him for the answer.. lolZZzzz
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 4 2008, 12:48 AM

959 posts

When the time come maybe, tongue.gif

But as i know, if 3G comes oout, they will be targeting asia as well, so it should be this year i guess, but malaysia.....i dun know when it will come,

malaysia..................was left behind to faaaarrrRRRRrrrrrr~~~~ ....already..whistling.gif
fatmama
post Jun 4 2008, 04:46 AM

sorry if this a bit off topic, but do u guys reckon i should wait till the 9th to get an iphone or just buy it before the launch of iphone 3g. i have the cash right now and it's so hard for me to resist on buying right now.

the only reason i still hvn't got one is because i'm afraid of the price falling down right after the iphone 3g is launch around the world. smile.gif
skylancer
post Jun 4 2008, 04:55 AM

196 posts

iPhone 2.0
OMG...hope it is the real design and spec.
its cool and amazing.
but i think the all pic that have in net all is fake..because apple will keep secure for the design spec or whatever till the launching like 1st gen.
ferricide
post Jun 4 2008, 05:12 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

@fatmama,

Just wait n see. Prices will always drop for the current gen of iPhone anyway. Go find something to distract you for now tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ferricide: Jun 4 2008, 05:14 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 4 2008, 11:09 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(fatmama @ Jun 4 2008, 04:46 AM)
sorry if this a bit off topic, but do u guys reckon i should wait till the 9th to get an iphone or just buy it before the launch of iphone 3g. i have the cash right now and it's so hard for me to resist on buying right now.

the only reason i still hvn't got one is because i'm afraid of the price falling down right after the iphone 3g is launch around the world. smile.gif
hahaha..bro...nvr wait..y wait..wat if the prices go up instead of dwn?

dun forget..the current models are nw mostly out of stock..unavailable
LaskarCinta
post Jun 4 2008, 05:03 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 4 2008, 12:48 AM)
...it should be this year i guess, but malaysia.....i dun know when it will come,
malaysia..................was left behind to faaaarrrRRRRrrrrrr~~~~ ....already..whistling.gif
mmm...hope it will come here early. i also wanna buy iPhone 3G this year. hohoho...my iPhone had pecah already, so looks like it's 3G time! haha...actually i'm not really into this 3G stuff, but why not rite? as long as it's an iPhone, and if it's officially here got warranty coverage too. and if the 3G version comes with GPS or any features that i can dream on, it's a bonus.
MoNnY
post Jun 4 2008, 05:49 PM

4,423 posts

i think 1st gen still can source around malaysia.. sure got extra units...
either way, if its hacked, it'll find its way here unofficially...
waiting to buy mine...
skylancer
post Jun 5 2008, 03:18 AM

196 posts

Me too...
hope the 3G i phone can be come faster hacked faster and the price drop faster rclxms.gif
MoNnY
post Jun 5 2008, 03:29 AM

4,423 posts

still worried about the screen quality tho..
i'm guessing it'll still be using the same screen as the 1st gen...
which has quality control problems..
SUSMike3300
post Jun 5 2008, 04:37 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jun 5 2008, 03:29 AM)
still worried about the screen quality tho..
i'm guessing it'll still be using the same screen as the 1st gen...
which has quality control problems..
From past user of iPod touch to now the iPhone, I noticed that iPhone's screen quality and touch feedback is better.
MoNnY
post Jun 5 2008, 07:36 AM

4,423 posts

i am talking more on the colour temperature and the white contrast of the screens... seems some are quite yellow.. infact, very yellow..
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jun 5 2008, 09:44 AM

1,396 posts

i doubt there would be some sort of twist mechanism on the phone. it'll def be shaped like iphone 1st gen.

well hope they release they iphone over here at the same prices in the us or slightly more, with some sorta 12 to 18 month plan, heck ill just sign up for it just to get iphone 2!!
frank_fusion
post Jun 5 2008, 09:55 AM

140 posts

counting days to launching..huhu
hackdplanet
post Jun 5 2008, 10:28 AM

91 posts

according to Gizmodo the iphone 3g price is about usd200 if u buy from at&t + contract and if you buy from apple store it was around USD399-499 exc tax.

The 3g iphone will be 22% thinnest from the current iphone.
vex
post Jun 5 2008, 10:58 AM

1,984 posts

aisk !!! after patrol naik, i guess i have to cancel my iphone plan !!! shit ~~~
Choongster
post Jun 5 2008, 11:02 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

hahaha .. look at it this way.. petrol naik ... the others also will naik .. others naik .. iphone cost also naik .. thus retail price also naik ... conclusion .. everything naik except for our gaji .. smile.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 5 2008, 11:05 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

dats life i guess bro..
ronasdfghjklzxc
post Jun 5 2008, 01:29 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(hackdplanet @ Jun 5 2008, 10:28 AM)
according to Gizmodo the iphone 3g price is about usd200 if u buy from at&t + contract and if you buy from apple store it was around USD399-499 exc tax.

The 3g iphone will be 22% thinnest from the current iphone.
If that is the case, they should also sell it at apple stores worldwide without the telco contract bs.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 5 2008, 01:56 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

is they set up the price dy?
do they have the comfirm price for v2 over US?
8GB n 16 GB

hmmmm
SUSMike3300
post Jun 5 2008, 01:59 PM

6,866 posts

They might phased out 8GB and just 16GB and maybe 32GB. Read this and see what we will be miss out as being a first gen user:

The device supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: a telephone application, a video conferencing application, an e-mail application, an instant messaging application, a blogging application, a photo management application, a digital camera application, a digital video camera application, a web browsing application, a digital music player application, and/or a digital video player application.

http://www.macrumors.com/2008/06/04/3g-iph...nferencing-mor/

Moonflown
post Jun 5 2008, 09:07 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 5 2008, 01:56 PM)
is they set up the price dy?
do they have the comfirm price for v2 over US?
8GB n 16 GB
hmmmm
Dont ask meaningless question. The public can't confirm anything about the price or features of v2 till it's launch.
potter1410
post Jun 5 2008, 11:26 PM

29 posts

i glad i bought mine b4 petrol naik rclxms.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
Choongster
post Jun 5 2008, 11:49 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 5 2008, 01:59 PM)
They might phased out 8GB and just 16GB and maybe 32GB. Read this and see what we will be miss out as being a first gen user:
http://www.macrumors.com/2008/06/04/3g-iph...nferencing-mor/
32GB iphone FTW ...LOL
LaskarCinta
post Jun 5 2008, 11:54 PM

?
1,651 posts

mmm...dunno if this has been posted before,
new insider source on iPhone 3G,
http://www.idealschina.com/Insider/NewsDet...spx?ArticleID=4
gengstapo
post Jun 6 2008, 08:27 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Jun 5 2008, 11:49 PM)
32GB iphone FTW ...LOL
walao wehh, what u gonna fill in that 32gb storage?
mp3 & movies? that alot man!! laugh.gif

ps: must fill with very g0od2 movies ehh?? brows.gif brows.gif
myxery
post Jun 6 2008, 09:33 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

3.2" and 2.8" iPhone screen SPOTTED. Issit reduced size of iPhone will be a 3rd Gen??

LaskarCinta
post Jun 6 2008, 10:18 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(myxery @ Jun 6 2008, 09:33 AM)
3.2" and 2.8" iPhone screen SPOTTED. Issit reduced size of iPhone will be a 3rd Gen??

or maybe a next gen HiPhone lol! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
but i'm afraid if the small screen version is true, then typing on the virtual keyboard will be not as easy as on the current gen. yeah imagine cramping all the keys on a smaller screen. mmm...unless it comes with a slide keyboard.
btw, i think it does look fake though. look at the position of the home button. looks like maybe this is for an iClone.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Jun 6 2008, 10:26 AM
pip
post Jun 6 2008, 11:10 AM

128 posts

Shops in Aussieland receiving their demo units

I wonder Digi has got their HSDPA 7.2mb/s network up and running?

And I wonder if MacAsia or Machines have their demo unit up?
kevinwcw
post Jun 6 2008, 06:21 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Jun 6 2008, 10:18 AM)
or maybe a next gen HiPhone lol!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
but i'm afraid if the small screen version is true, then typing on the virtual keyboard will be not as easy as on the current gen. yeah imagine cramping all the keys on a smaller screen. mmm...unless it comes with a slide keyboard.
btw, i think it does look fake though. look at the position of the home button. looks like maybe this is for an iClone.
wao...same design..out of expectation blink.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 6 2008, 07:22 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm..i tink most first gen users will either keep theirs or sell it..

but regardless of which..dey r sure to obtain the 2nd gen 1 as well
vex
post Jun 6 2008, 08:41 PM

1,984 posts

hope 2nd gen can be crack as well, i getting it when it come out leh ...
if cannot crack, me will cry until no tear ~
gengstapo
post Jun 6 2008, 08:49 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jun 6 2008, 08:41 PM)
hope 2nd gen can be crack as well, i getting it when it come out leh ...
if cannot crack, me will cry until no tear ~
sure can, none perfect(security) in this world tongue.gif
shaznizzle
post Jun 7 2008, 07:51 PM

570 posts

people are getting smarter.

But

i dont think a crack is needed as it is release worldwide... as there isnt any news of any official telco taking in the iPhone, it will be sold in any official apple stores here.
gengstapo
post Jun 7 2008, 07:53 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Jun 7 2008, 07:51 PM)
people are getting smarter.

But

i dont think a crack is needed as it is release worldwide... as there isnt any news of any official telco taking in the iPhone, it will be sold in any official apple stores here.
yeah, u correct. how would u know that?
u working with apple?

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Jun 7 2008, 07:54 PM
Moonflown
post Jun 7 2008, 08:35 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Well even Malaysian apple employees won't know about their marketing plans. There's a lot of people judging rumors based on rumors. So what's the use of it.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 7 2008, 08:37 PM

6,866 posts

The best thing about rumors is that for Apple, they're not true at all. Apple knows how to keep their secrets well. I don't think the second generation iPhone is gonna look like what we see in the web, it's gonna be a surprise and I'm down for it.
gengstapo
post Jun 7 2008, 08:38 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

hahaa.. that y la im asking. maybe he working in apple top secret lab brows.gif
LaskarCinta
post Jun 8 2008, 04:26 AM

?
1,651 posts

or maybe this is the iPhone 3G,
http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/07/the-3g-...ne-not-unboxed/
haha...or maybe i just need to wait for WWDC hehehe...

mmm...btw looks like the original source (web-mobile.net) is offline for now.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Jun 8 2008, 04:29 AM
pip
post Jun 8 2008, 09:55 AM

128 posts

about 40 hours to go!

End of June release for US. July- UK. Aug - Singapore / Malaysia.

Hope that's true.
myxery
post Jun 8 2008, 02:16 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

iPhone Games make debut

http://news.freeverse.com/
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2008, 02:19 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Jun 8 2008, 04:26 AM)
or maybe this is the iPhone 3G,
http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/07/the-3g-...ne-not-unboxed/
haha...or maybe i just need to wait for WWDC hehehe...

mmm...btw looks like the original source (web-mobile.net) is offline for now.
Lol! These folks should not open the box until June 9th but they opened it.

Added on June 8, 2008, 2:38 pmUpdate: It's a fake, reliable insider stated that you will not having video chat via front facing. That picture is an iPod touch mock-up.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 8 2008, 02:38 PM
shaznizzle
post Jun 8 2008, 05:09 PM

570 posts

Shh... keep it on the down low

ja50n
post Jun 8 2008, 05:14 PM

124 posts

Desperately waiting for the announcement.
Why the time pass so slow de .......
SUSMike3300
post Jun 8 2008, 05:25 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(ja50n @ Jun 8 2008, 05:14 PM)
Desperately waiting for the announcement.
Why the time pass so slow de .......
Check back Tuesday morning. I think everyones been waiting for iPhone only. I'm eager about .Mac revamp status. rclxms.gif
myxery
post Jun 8 2008, 05:58 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

been waiting for iPhone & Al Macbook (if any)
vex
post Jun 8 2008, 06:08 PM

1,984 posts

will apple sell immediately after the annoucement ?
cause my cousin is coming back soon liao~ can't drag liao ~
MoNnY
post Jun 8 2008, 06:36 PM

4,423 posts

rumours say it will be available almost immediately if not a few weeks after the announcement/release..

come tuesday morning we'll know la
Dante18
post Jun 9 2008, 02:35 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(myxery @ Jun 8 2008, 02:16 PM)
iPhone Games make debut

http://news.freeverse.com/
i am very excited to see some real games for the iphone. But i heard that iphone games will cost $25USD rclxub.gif
ahblu3
post Jun 9 2008, 09:21 AM

157 posts

even the phone can be JB, don worry abt getting games FOC...
mikelee
post Jun 9 2008, 09:36 AM

1,419 posts

Damn, worried bout the 3G phone is so good that I would want to let go my current one. sad.gif
panasonic88
post Jun 9 2008, 12:53 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 9 2008, 09:36 AM)
Damn, worried bout the 3G phone is so good that I would want to let go my current one. sad.gif
i believe this is the dilemma every iPhone owner having now (including myself) sweat.gif
gmail
post Jun 9 2008, 02:45 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

The not-3G iPhone unboxing gets faker still

*Source: http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/08/the-not...ts-faker-still/
hi54ever
post Jun 9 2008, 02:48 PM

744 posts

you mean we're not having a front facing camera? jeeez..
Choongster
post Jun 9 2008, 02:52 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,2...5005961,00.html
mikelee
post Jun 9 2008, 03:30 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Jun 9 2008, 02:52 PM)
"The new iPhone is expected to be 3G-enabled, which will be much faster on the cellular network than the previous 2G model. It could also include a GPS chip and more storage capacity with 16GB and 32GB options.

And it may also have a higher-quality camera – up to 5 megapixels – plus a second camera for live video calls."

Oh heavens! Such nice specs!
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2008, 03:32 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 9 2008, 03:30 PM)
"The new iPhone is expected to be 3G-enabled, which will be much faster on the cellular network than the previous 2G model. It could also include a GPS chip and more storage capacity with 16GB and 32GB options.

And it may also have a higher-quality camera – up to 5 megapixels – plus a second camera for live video calls."

Oh heavens! Such nice specs!
And also you'll be paying for 16GB model for the price of 8GB model. rclxms.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 9 2008, 03:52 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

ooooo..so wat r the updates guys? no pics of the real one yet? specs are sweet though..
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2008, 03:54 PM

6,866 posts

Apple is good at keeping secrets, see something wonderful about the iPhone on WWDC '08. Fake, mock up pictures, and rumors are just anticipating the event and your heartbeat. I admit that I'm nervous+excited!
frank_fusion
post Jun 9 2008, 04:56 PM

140 posts

d*mn still no news ka 4 3g iphone?hop they cn come out with pic at least..:s

LaskarCinta
post Jun 9 2008, 05:07 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(frank_fusion @ Jun 9 2008, 04:56 PM)
d*mn still no news ka 4 3g iphone?hop they cn come out with pic at least..:s
looks like there's no need for any more rumour for now. just wait for WWDC tonight for the expected 3G iPhone unveiling (yeah who knows it wont be right?)
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2008, 05:34 PM

6,866 posts

I hope that Apple will make new accessories and also will be compatible with first gen cause I don't think I'm gonna sell mine so soon. tongue.gif
vex
post Jun 9 2008, 06:24 PM

1,984 posts

tonight is the day ~~ !!! come come ~~ iphone 3G ~
kamal007
post Jun 9 2008, 06:40 PM

334 posts

tonight msian time eh? whats the official time is US for the release?
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2008, 06:52 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(kamal007 @ Jun 9 2008, 06:40 PM)
tonight msian time eh? whats the official time is US for the release?
WWDC is a conference not a product release event, so you get to hear it first/announce by Steve Jobs. Around 1AM our time.
kunamiya
post Jun 9 2008, 07:30 PM

498 posts

http://youtube.com/watch?v=zTASTyPd1gY

see this
iphone 3g
mamet
post Jun 9 2008, 08:06 PM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

what will be the price after conert in Malaysia...??
RM2000 below perhaps??
tayhaithian
post Jun 9 2008, 08:19 PM

460 posts

hopefully it's 2k and below
ff8ong
post Jun 9 2008, 08:55 PM

2,550 posts

Because of this 1am WWDC,tomorrow i ponteng my school..lol
kamal007
post Jun 9 2008, 09:02 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 9 2008, 06:52 PM)
WWDC is a conference not a product release event, so you get to hear it first/announce by Steve Jobs. Around 1AM our time.
thanks for the info smile.gif
panasonic88
post Jun 9 2008, 09:09 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 9 2008, 08:55 PM)
Because of this 1am WWDC,tomorrow i ponteng my school..lol
lol what an excuse for being lazy laugh.gif
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2008, 09:13 PM

6,866 posts

@kunamiya, when you turn to landscape mode your iPhone will rearrange the icons in landscape view... I hope this feature will be real, and also the ability to type SMS in landscape mode with bigger keyboard.
gengstapo
post Jun 9 2008, 09:57 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 9 2008, 09:09 PM)
lol what an excuse for being lazy laugh.gif
lol.. thats kewL maa, to show the true supporter i apple brows.gif brows.gif

a real fan would do anything..
LEVIATHAN
post Jun 9 2008, 10:14 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

"USA Today reports today in a lengthy piece about the new iPhone. They expect according to their sources that the iPhone 2.0 would be selling for only $199."

sauce: Neowin.net

I mean, for real? Isn't that cheap?

ferricide
post Jun 9 2008, 10:23 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

After subsidy if you sign a contract, then its a possibility.
kunamiya
post Jun 9 2008, 10:49 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 9 2008, 09:13 PM)
@kunamiya, when you turn to landscape mode your iPhone will rearrange the icons in landscape view... I hope this feature will be real, and also the ability to type SMS in landscape mode with bigger keyboard.
I saw this on youtube on random .. , when i saw it .. my face become = drool.gif
jakesean
post Jun 9 2008, 11:17 PM

1,361 posts

if the iphone 3g is being released in australia tomorrow, any1 wants to get it ? i'll be going back to melaka via singapore this saturday morning.... smile.gif ..
Dante18
post Jun 9 2008, 11:21 PM

372 posts

3G, 5MP camera, stereo speakers sound very tempting for me to upgrade. But must still wait for the os 2.0 to get hacked firts only can use.
jakesean
post Jun 9 2008, 11:22 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Jun 9 2008, 11:21 PM)
3G, 5MP camera, stereo speakers sound very tempting for me to upgrade. But must still wait for the os 2.0 to get hacked firts only can use.
might be unlocked if released in australia.. hehehe.. tempting!
deadman8836
post Jun 10 2008, 12:54 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Jun 9 2008, 11:22 PM)
might be unlocked if released in australia.. hehehe.. tempting!
That would definitely be a good news for ppl like us who is currently in Australia!!! brows.gif But i just got my iPhone like 3months ago blush.gif so i'll just wait and see if it's worth upgrading or not... oh dear, bulan ini kena makan roti dah.... tongue.gif
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 01:06 AM

3,657 posts

The keynote about to begin. Can't wait can't wait.
Dante18
post Jun 10 2008, 01:39 AM

372 posts

it already begin...now talking about Iphone 2.0
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 01:42 AM

3,657 posts

Word of advice to all the itchy fingers out there ... DO NOT UPDATE TO 2.0 when it's release. U will be left out without installer app. U only have AppStore to install/buy apps. Wait till the dev find a way to put installer and the other app dev to port the app to F/W 2.0. As u all know, the F/W 2.0 architecture is totally different from 1.1.4 and below.
darlyn
post Jun 10 2008, 01:53 AM

209 posts

if i buy the 3g iphone in US, can it be used directly in malaysia or need to crack it first ? smile.gif

MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 01:57 AM

4,423 posts

relax, no annoucement on 3g iphone yet..
still talking about all the new apps..
getting boring tho listening to them without any video...

skip the crap, jump to snow leopard and 3g iphone!!
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 01:58 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(darlyn @ Jun 10 2008, 01:53 AM)
if i buy the 3g iphone in US, can it be used directly in malaysia or need to crack it first ? smile.gif
n0ob.. tongue.gif J/K, well frankly speakin'
no one would able to answer ur question as the item not yet launch smile.gif

give some time & wait for the news
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 01:58 AM

196 posts

sure need to unlocked 1st...juz like 1st gen
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 02:01 AM

3,657 posts

Can be jailbreak and unlock but not 100% tested on a real phone as the final F/W not yet been release but one thing for sure ... u can't have installer in it yet.
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 02:23 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

^ & yeah, the FW tested on current built iphone. sure some function not supported as the 2nd gen of iphone not same as previously.
but does the new iphone have a huge diff between previous version??
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 02:29 AM

3,657 posts

The diff would be on the Hardware as the Firmware would be the same for both.
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:31 AM

4,423 posts

he's tlaking about the future challenges of iphone
already mentioned 3G for iphone...

COME ON, FASTER ANNOUNCE IT ALREADY

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:32 amSETTLE.. 3G IPHONE ANNOUNCED ALREADY.. WOOOOOT
THE LONG WAIT IS OVER....

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:34 amApple has learned so much with the first iPhone. They have taken everything they've learned and more and created the iPhone 3G. Even thinner, black plastic back, solid metal buttons, same gorgeous display, camera, flush headphone jack, and dramatically improved audio.

waiting for pictures to upload

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:35 AM
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 02:35 AM

1,419 posts

Oh yeah! Prepare to brace an impact! tongue.gif
MoNny, let me also help you with more pics: biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 02:54 AM
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 02:36 AM

3,657 posts

Woooohooooooo!!!!!!!
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:37 AM

4,423 posts

so designed of the curved back are true.. and its thinner than the original..

front still looks the same.

Stats are amazing..
3G has great battery life on iPhone. 300 hours of standby, 2G talk-time now has 10 hours (as opposed to 5), 5 hours of 3G talk-time (most phones only have 3 hour 3G talk time), 5 to 6 hours of high-speed browsing, 7 hours of video, 24 hours of audio.

COnfirmed. WE have GPS people....
Data from cell towers, WiFi networks, and now -- GPS.

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:40 AM
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 02:40 AM

3,657 posts

There goes my upcoming bonus down the drain. Haiyaaaa.
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 02:44 AM

1,419 posts

[WTS] iPhone 2.5G (Mint Condition)
LOL! laugh.gif
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 02:45 AM

3,657 posts

Singapore don't have aaaa?
MoNnY

4,423 posts

3g iPhone, China, Japan, Australia, totaling 70 countries..
its in Asia officially!

AND OMG THE PRICE...

Now on to the final challenge -- affordability. Started at $599 for an 8GB iPhone, now $399. The iPhone 3G 8GB will sell for... $199.

$299 for the 16GB -- a white version of this size will be available too.

Trying to find the list of countries...
$199, SAME TIME RELEASE, IN JULY

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:46 AM
mikelee

1,419 posts

Woah! $199 for 8GB!
Opps typo! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 02:47 AM
LittleLinnet
post Jun 10 2008, 02:46 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

lol RM...dream on
white version drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by LittleLinnet: Jun 10 2008, 02:47 AM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:47 AM

4,423 posts

$299 for 16GB with Black or White color option...
i'm lovin this

The iPhone 3G will be available July 11th in 22 countries. The maximum price around the world is $199 USD.

i think Asia slightly later...

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:51 amok man.. thats it... no more... keynote ended.. now wait for countless website to update all the 3g info...

$299 for 16GB man.... CAN'T WAIT !!!!

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:51 AM
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 02:51 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

RM800 for an iPhone 3G! Ugh, suddenly my iPhone feels very dated.. someone help me, kena poison d...
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 02:52 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jun 10 2008, 02:47 AM)
$299 for 16GB with Black or White color option...
i'm lovin this

The iPhone 3G will be available July 11th in 22 countries. The maximum price around the world is $199 USD.

i think Asia slightly later...

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:51 amok man.. thats it... no more... keynote ended.. now wait for countless website to update all the 3g info...

$299 for 16GB man.... CAN'T WAIT !!!!
No snapshots for white version right? Only saw this:

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 02:53 AM
LittleLinnet
post Jun 10 2008, 02:52 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 02:51 AM)
RM800 for an iPhone 3G! Ugh, suddenly my iPhone feels very dated.. someone help me, kena poison d...
sell me your iphone for 600 then tongue.gif tongue.gif
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:55 AM

4,423 posts

nope..
waiting for the keynote video to be posted on apple's website so can watch it over and over again.. forward straight to the announcement and drool over my keyboard....

now, wait for snow leopard preview....

ok, user posted image

our region, is not in the listed 70 countries.. damn you steve jobs..
but there will still be no unlocked version...

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:57 amWAIT...
TADAAAHHH!!!!

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:57 AM
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 02:59 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jun 10 2008, 02:55 AM)

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:57 amWAIT...
TADAAAHHH!!!!
Oh wow! It's so bright! laugh.gif

It's already available in Apple Store!

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop...one?mco=MTE2NTQ

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 03:02 AM
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 03:03 AM

3,657 posts

mmmm .... no front camera after all.

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:03 amAnd is the camera also been upgraded?

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 10 2008, 03:03 AM
D-Zire

560 posts

imo black looks nicer la...whilte one cant even see the apple logo....lol...but then again...the appearance of 3g iphone is still very much the same as 1st gen iphone....

i wonder the new iphone has gps software like garmin....hmmmm
juzernie

Apple, Singapore Online Store is finally back online showcasing 3G iPhone (http://store.apple.com/sg/browse/home/shop_iphone/family/iphone?mco=MTE2NTQ)
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:05 AM

196 posts

OMG...damn nice...where u all get the info?
and why it no front camera for 3G?
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:06 AM

1,419 posts

I don't use 3G but the GPS is tempting!
LittleLinnet
post Jun 10 2008, 03:06 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 03:03 AM)
mmmm .... no front camera after all.

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:03 amAnd is the camera also been upgraded?
too bad still 2MP
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 03:07 AM

4,423 posts

DAMN
singapore got..
http://www.apple.com/iphone/countries/

i'm going down to singapore when the time comes...
Raiko
post Jun 10 2008, 03:08 AM

582 posts

Whoa. Luckily i'm patient enough to wait till the 3G iPhone comes out.
Weeeeeeee.
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:08 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

I kept telling myself that 3G and GPS are pretty useless for me, not worth upgrading before the WWDC.

But damn Steve Jobs and his design team, I'm feeling very tempted to sell my iPhone now... Ughh!! Must.... fight.... temptation
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:10 AM

1,419 posts

I think the 3G isn't build for video conferencing but for allowing faster data download speeds only.
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:10 AM

1,853 posts

Die HTC Diamond.....blackberry thunder......whohahahahoahoahoah. Price is so cool. Whoahahahahahha

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:11 amIf available in Malaysia, definitely long Q maaa....whoahahahhaah

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 03:11 AM
Raiko
post Jun 10 2008, 03:12 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:08 AM)
I kept telling myself that 3G and GPS are pretty useless for me, not worth upgrading before the WWDC.

But damn Steve Jobs and his design team, I'm feeling very tempted to sell my iPhone now... Ughh!! Must.... fight.... temptation
o|<<<<

o = You
| = Temptation wall
<<< = The direction of the temptation force.

tongue.gif
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:12 AM

1,853 posts

GPS on google map.......whohahahahhaha......cooooollllllllllll
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:13 AM

196 posts

camera still 2MP... doh.gif
no camera infront for video confrence... doh.gif
I dont think its have the big difference compare with 1st gen...juz gps and the price...dissapointed
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 03:14 AM

4,423 posts

big difference in price man...
and tons more features... double battery life, 3g, GPS..
alot of diff lo to me
nubnub75
post Jun 10 2008, 03:15 AM

400 posts

WHY IS IT NOT IN MALAYSIA......... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:15 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(Raiko @ Jun 10 2008, 03:12 AM)
o|<<<<

o = You
| = Temptation wall
<<< = The direction of the temptation force.

tongue.gif
HAHA! You crack me up! laugh.gif

Note the contents for 3G iPhone:

* iPhone 3G
* Stereo Headset with mic
* Dock Connector to USB Cable
* USB Power Adapter
* Documentation
* Cleaning/polishing cloth
* SIM ejector tool

The iPhone 3G dock is not in the box but it is an optional accessory instead.

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 03:17 AM
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 03:16 AM

3,657 posts

@baretta
Long time no see bro.
baretta

1,853 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:13 AM)
I dont think its have the big difference compare with 1st gen...juz gps and the price...dissapointed
Video confrence still not widely use in Malaysia. Minor user only maaa.....

2 MP. Okey what for upload to flickr or blog. 4r also no problem maaa.

Whoahahhahahahahah

blackchides

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:13 AM)
Well, speaker quality is better, the standby time is longer, and the price is a very very big deal. Provided the phone is unlock-able, EVERYONE's gonna be sporting an iPhone from now on. There goes the exclusivity, whatever's left of it anyway.

baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:17 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 03:16 AM)
@baretta
Long time no see bro.
Buzyyyy sket.....

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:18 am
QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:16 AM)
Well, speaker quality is better, the standby time is longer, and the price is a very very big deal. Provided the phone is unlock-able, EVERYONE's gonna be sporting an iPhone from now on. There goes the exclusivity, whatever's left of it anyway.
Correct.....correct.....correct......F£$K off HTC, Blackberry, Nokia, Samsung....seem overprice already.....whohahahahahahha.....

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 03:18 AM
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:19 AM

2,550 posts

Where got thinner?

12.3 mm current one 11.6mm
blackchides

HiiiPower
779 posts

Also guys, iPhone being released in Singapore is going to be really convenient in the future. No more tumpang friends to buy, probably have access to repairs (with a fee of course) and also local traders will no longer be able to command a high margin over iPhone sales..
Raiko

582 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 10 2008, 03:15 AM)
HAHA! You crack me up!  laugh.gif

Hahahaha. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Raiko: Jun 10 2008, 03:20 AM
skylancer

196 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:16 AM)
means that it no need to unlocked or crack like 1st gen?
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 03:20 AM

3,657 posts

Mmmm .... not much improvement from the 1st gen. Just 3G and improve battery life. Maybe not tooo strong the poison. Not until office upgrade the line to unlimited 3G. Kehkehkehkehkehkeh
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:20 AM

1,419 posts

Ok lets have a look of the size comparison here:

Raiko
post Jun 10 2008, 03:21 AM

582 posts

The speaker is still mono ? hmm.gif
Stereo right ? No ?
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:22 AM

1,853 posts

http://applelot.org/2008/05/16/iphone-coun...count-up-to-53/

Check it out......whoahahahahahah
pinky27
post Jun 10 2008, 03:22 AM

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK and the US.

we're not in the listed country sad.gif

This post has been edited by pinky27: Jun 10 2008, 03:23 AM
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:24 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:19 AM)
means that it no need to unlocked or crack like 1st gen?
Need, of course! What I mean is provided version 2.0 can be unlocked/jailbroken without problems. Apparently, Zibri has already cracked it so we'll see. But damn, the price is so darn cheap.

I don't quite like the fact that the new pricing means every noob's gonna be sporting an iPhone without knowing what it's about (Think of the current Nokia N95 but with tons more users because of the pricing scheme).
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:24 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 03:20 AM)
Mmmm .... not much improvement from the 1st gen. Just 3G and improve battery life. Maybe not tooo strong the poison. Not until office upgrade the line to unlimited 3G. Kehkehkehkehkehkeh
Hahahahah, sure get poison punyer la.......ekekekekekekke
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:25 AM

1,419 posts

A clearer picture of all the "lucky" countries:

skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:26 AM

196 posts

means that not so fast for singapore...
but why no malaysia...fillipine also got what
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 03:27 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:26 AM)
Probably all of our mobile operators cannot strike a deal with Apple.
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:28 AM

1,853 posts

Kiasu with Malysia Tax.....whoahahhahahaha......
ff8ong

2,550 posts

ALL LATEST INFO HERE:

http://www.apple.com/iphone/
APPLE REPLACE OLD IPHONE PAGE ALREADY

LittleLinnet

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:26 AM)
welcome to boleh-land...lol yawn.gif
Raiko

582 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:24 AM)
Need, of course! What I mean is provided version 2.0 can be unlocked/jailbroken without problems. Apparently, Zibri has already cracked it so we'll see. But damn, the price is so darn cheap.

I don't quite like the fact that the new pricing means every noob's gonna be sporting an iPhone without knowing what it's about (Think of the current Nokia N95 but with tons more users because of the pricing scheme).
There's many the so called " Pro " that got the iPhone without knowing what it"s all about too. tongue.gif
frozzbyte

3,657 posts

Coz malaysia's fuel is expensive. They can't afford to pay the fuel surcharge to bring it here. Muahahahahahahaa innocent.gif
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:29 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:28 AM)
ALL LATEST INFO HERE:

http://www.apple.com/iphone/
APPLE REPLACE OLD IPHONE PAGE ALREADY
Old iphone history already........can put at Muzium Negara already....whowhhwhwhohhhhahahahahh
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:29 AM

196 posts

Agree!
thats people only know to have it because cheap...but they dont know what special inside and why we all waitting the iphone because of its speacial and AMAZING OF IPHONE!
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 03:30 AM

4,423 posts

then we use back our 1st gen to hold our pride...
hahaha...

EH, EVEN BOTSWANA GETTING IT WEH.. more 3rd world countries getting it than us..

are we that bad ? we don't even have a Apple Online Store to begin with. sigh....
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:30 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 03:28 AM)
Coz malaysia's fuel is expensive. They can't afford to pay the fuel surcharge to bring it here. Muahahahahahahaa  innocent.gif
Correct.....correct.......correct........
frozzbyte
post Jun 10 2008, 03:34 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 10 2008, 03:30 AM)
Correct.....correct.......correct........
VK Linggam style ... Muahahahahahaha.
rasmuswil
post Jun 10 2008, 03:36 AM

147 posts

iphone get so cheap coz mosly subsidy by telco operator
by y no by SG?mayb their telco dun wan?
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:36 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

There there, current iPhone, after recovering a bit from the dizzying announcement of the 3G iPhone, I've decided to not sell you off.. At least not until iPhone 3.0.. Mwahahahahaha..
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:37 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 03:34 AM)
VK Linggam style ... Muahahahahahaha.
Hopefully VK can kawtim with SJ too bring iphone here........ekekekekekek
Lurker
post Jun 10 2008, 03:37 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

hmm.. i wonder is any iphone resellers in msia still keeping stock...

cry oooooh!
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:38 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Anyone else thinks the plastic back will be horribly scratched up after 2 days of usage?

From,
A Totally NOT Bitter 1st Gen iPhone User.
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:39 AM

2,550 posts

STILl aluminium nice...from my experience with mac book compare ma book pro
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:40 AM

196 posts

its no so much difference with current one...so its no any unworth for the current user
baretta

1,853 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:38 AM)
Anyone else thinks the plastic back will be horribly scratched up after 2 days of usage?

From,
A Totally NOT Bitter 1st Gen iPhone User.
Nope. Unless you purposely to scratch it....whowhowhwohwowhoho

ff8ong

2,550 posts

* Based on 3G and EDGE testing. Actual speeds vary by site conditions. Based on iPhone 3G (8GB) and first-generation iPhone (8GB) purchases. Requires new 2-year AT&T rate plan, sold separately.

THIS IS THE LATEST PROBLEM!!
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:41 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:40 AM)
its no so much difference with current one...so its no any unworth for the current user
Unless u got 3G unlimited plan and always use GPS......whwowhowhowowowhh

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:42 am
QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:40 AM)
* Based on 3G and EDGE testing. Actual speeds vary by site conditions. Based on iPhone 3G (8GB) and first-generation iPhone (8GB) purchases. Requires new 2-year AT&T rate plan, sold separately.

THIS IS THE LATEST PROBLEM!!
Problem can be solve by zibri.......whowhwowowhowhowhowh

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 03:42 AM
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:43 AM

196 posts

what means for iphone 2.0?
means that current iphone can upgrade to 2.0?
then the iphone 3G also have the application of 2.0?
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:43 AM

2,550 posts

But

3G----NO FRONT CAMERA.

GPS----MALAYSIA MAPS NOT COMPLETE(GOOGLE MAPS)

QUALITY---no one know tongue.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:44 am
QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:43 AM)
Ya..will upgreade to firmware 2.0

old and 3G iphone also can use biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 10 2008, 03:44 AM
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 03:45 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

geezzz.. chill laa, not yet able by review, how to know all bout it?? doh.gif sweat.gif
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:45 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

iPhone 2.0 upgrade is free for current iPhone users. It's just the software version. Anyone planning to upgrade? I'm gonna miss my current apps so I think I'll stick to 1.1.4 for now..
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:46 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:45 AM)
iPhone 2.0 upgrade is free for current iPhone users. It's just the software version. Anyone planning to upgrade? I'm gonna miss my current apps so I think I'll stick to 1.1.4 for now..
See see first,tomorrow all the school friend going to kacau me...ask my why buy so early biggrin.gif
Lurker
post Jun 10 2008, 03:47 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:40 AM)
the biggest new of all

not the 3g
not the gps

but it's the blary price!!!

gengstapo

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:45 AM)
lol.. its aint software. its firmware.
dont get ppl confius smile.gif
D-Zire

560 posts

yea me too..i'm not gonna update so soon...gonna wait for reviews 1st before deciding to part with 1.1.4 =(
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:48 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:39 AM)
STILl aluminium nice...from my experience with mac book compare ma book pro
You sure? I'm pretty sure I heard plastic from the audio feed. And I know from my 1st Gen Nano that those things scratch like hell..

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:49 am
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 10 2008, 03:47 AM)
lol.. its aint software. its firmware.
dont get ppl confius smile.gif
oops, me bad..

This post has been edited by blackchides: Jun 10 2008, 03:49 AM
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 03:49 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:48 AM)
You sure? I'm pretty sure I heard plastic from the audio feed. And I know from my 1st Gen Nano that those things scratch like hell..
maybe la, if not how come its so cheap?? hmm.gif
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:50 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:43 AM)
But

3G----NO FRONT CAMERA.

GPS----MALAYSIA MAPS NOT COMPLETE(GOOGLE MAPS)

QUALITY---no one know  tongue.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:44 am

Ya..will upgreade to firmware 2.0

old and 3G iphone also can use biggrin.gif
3G for data only, useless to use VC unless all malaysian user used VC. Beside that VC not so popular.

There will be 3rd party maps...... now got 3rd party dev.....maaaa

Quality....we're talking apple dude.....not HIPHONE lor......

Yeahhhh, will upgrade if current apps still can use lor...
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:51 AM

2,550 posts

quality,mean they going to produce alot alot of stock compare to current iphone which is limited

blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 03:52 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

LOL.. read from a gizmodo commenter that the 1st gen iPhone is going for $75! Okay, it was tongue in cheek, forget that..

Anyone planning to bring in 3G stock to sell?

This post has been edited by blackchides: Jun 10 2008, 03:53 AM
mennmenn

262 posts

the new gen of iphone, camera how many megapixel??
gengstapo

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:51 AM)
quality,mean they going to produce alot alot of stock compare to current iphone which is limited
its would be rare item indeeed brows.gif thumbup.gif
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:53 AM

196 posts

the plastic will easy to rosak or not?lol
1st gen alluminium more better i think~
Raiko

582 posts

The best new part is just it's blaarrrdddy cheap.
Lurker

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(mennmenn @ Jun 10 2008, 03:52 AM)
the new gen of iphone, camera how many megapixel??
2mp remains
baretta

1,853 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:51 AM)
Wait and see...

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:54 am
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 10 2008, 03:52 AM)
its would be rare item indeeed  brows.gif  thumbup.gif
6 million is not rare anymore.....

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 03:54 AM
skylancer
post Jun 10 2008, 03:55 AM

196 posts

the camera only the 2.0MP...so i think the performance remain the same with the 1st gen
why apple dint focusing on camera?
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:56 AM

2,550 posts

salesman:hey,bang...new 3g iphone RM800 original

Abang :Betul keh,murah gila..sure ori?

salesman :Sure!!boleh try dulu.tak tipu.

Abang :HIPHONE keh?

salesman :ORIGINAL LAH,tak tengok news keh....

?????lol

gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 03:56 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:53 AM)
the plastic will easy to rosak or not?lol
1st gen alluminium more better i think~
there shall be pro & con..
thats for sure!

QUOTE(Raiko @ Jun 10 2008, 03:53 AM)
The best new part is just it's blaarrrdddy cheap.
yeap, cheap coz using non-quality component? laugh.gif
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:57 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 03:55 AM)
the camera only the 2.0MP...so i think the performance remain the same with the 1st gen
why apple dint focusing on camera?
What for??? Too increase the price????? Common dude...... 5 MP also cannot compare with capalang brand P&S camera lor.....

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:58 am
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 10 2008, 03:56 AM)
there shall be pro & con..
thats for sure!
yeap, cheap coz using non-quality component?  laugh.gif
So , N95 sooo damn expensive using good quality material???? Plastic also maaa....

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 03:58 AM
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 03:59 AM

2,550 posts

since like me and brother gengstapo is the only in lowyat hat still support current iphone...lol

other ppl already start dreaming for 3G iphone

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:59 am
QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 10 2008, 03:57 AM)
What for??? Too increase the price????? Common dude...... 5 MP also cannot compare with capalang brand P&S camera lor.....

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:58 am

So , N95 sooo damn expensive using good quality material???? Plastic also maaa....
what we mean is compare with current aluminium iphone

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 10 2008, 03:59 AM
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 03:59 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:56 AM)
salesman:hey,bang...new 3g iphone RM800 original

Abang    :Betul keh,murah gila..sure ori?

salesman :Sure!!boleh try dulu.tak tipu.

Abang      :HIPHONE keh?

salesman  :ORIGINAL LAH,tak tengok news keh....
?????lol
Tambah :

Abang : Saya nyampah tengok news, sibuk naik minyak jer...... whwohwohwohwowhowh
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 04:00 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

I think it's the right time to get an iPhone for new users but for current users, it's not really worth the upgrade unless you got some spare change lying around.

I'll wait for the next generation with hopefully a substantial storage upgrade (64GB? One can hope..), slimmer design etc etc. Time to start a "Should I wait for the 3rd Gen iPhone?" at the FAQ page.. tongue.gif

mennmenn

262 posts

is there anyway to get the iphone without signing contract in us?
coz my bro in us. he told me all need contract..
is it??
if don wan sign contract, can buy from ebay..
is it?
ff8ong

2,550 posts

scare need to sign contract when the second you buy the iphone....

then it will be huge diff story already
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 04:01 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:59 AM)
since like me and brother gengstapo is the only in lowyat hat still support current iphone...lol  

other ppl already start dreaming for 3G iphone

Added on June 10, 2008, 3:59 am
what we mean is compare with current aluminium iphone
Doesnt mean they will use cheapo plastic lor........

Added on June 10, 2008, 4:02 am
QUOTE(mennmenn @ Jun 10 2008, 04:00 AM)
is there anyway to get the iphone without signing contract in us?
coz my bro in us. he told me all need contract..
is it??
if don wan sign contract, can buy from ebay..
is it?
Wait 11 JULY.

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 04:02 AM
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 04:03 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 10 2008, 04:01 AM)
Doesnt mean they will use cheapo plastic lor........

Added on June 10, 2008, 4:02 am

Wait 11 JULY.
Apparently the plastic helps with the call reception as well. Metal interference with radio signal or something like that. So all back plastic = better call reception? That's a theory..
mennmenn

262 posts

ok...
cant wait to ask my bro to get n ship back to me..
hehe..

frozzbyte

3,657 posts

Thats 1 more month to go.
zerokid

311 posts

baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 04:04 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 04:00 AM)
I think it's the right time to get an iPhone for new users but for current users, it's not really worth the upgrade unless you got some spare change lying around.

I'll wait for the next generation with hopefully a substantial storage upgrade (64GB? One can hope..), slimmer design etc etc. Time to start a "Should I wait for the 3rd Gen iPhone?" at the FAQ page..  tongue.gif
Well it is depends your need bro...... For me, i will upgrade when there will available in our country (of course unlock version lor)

Added on June 10, 2008, 4:05 am
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 10 2008, 04:03 AM)
Thats 1 more month to go.
Hahahahah, got time for saving maaaa.....ekekekekekek

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 04:05 AM
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 04:07 AM

2,550 posts

Now kersian my iphone that sit beside me on it dock

kena buli like hell from its brother 3G

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 10 2008, 04:07 AM
mikelee
post Jun 10 2008, 04:09 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 04:07 AM)

Nevermind, imagine in your head all the better things you get while having the v1 iPhone. That's what I am doing now. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mikelee: Jun 10 2008, 04:10 AM
xzibit
post Jun 10 2008, 04:11 AM

289 posts

Luckily i didn't get the ipod touch first lol
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 04:13 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 04:07 AM)

Haha, not really, only got 3G and "assisted" GPS wat. Once you get past the "new" factor, it's not really that tempting anymore. Downloading the new ad on MxTube whistling.gif
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 04:13 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 10 2008, 04:09 AM)
Nevermind, imagine in your head all the better things you get while having the v1 iPhone. That's what I am doing now.  biggrin.gif
i'm thinking the back cover advantage... biggrin.gif

beside that also my iphone 2nd hand price...it wil drop fater than lift biggrin.gif
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:14 AM

4,423 posts

actually, the new plastic back, how will it hold up against scratches ?
the aluminium back was very good.. gave the iphone a nice solid feel too..

not too sure about the new one.. but i'll be getting it for sure... looking for peeps who are already travelling this time round to buy one back for me
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 04:17 AM

2,550 posts

but finger print is must....it so shinny
baretta
post Jun 10 2008, 04:17 AM

1,853 posts

V1 give to your wife/GF lor. Hahaahah.

Added on June 10, 2008, 4:19 am
QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 04:17 AM)
but finger print is must....it so shinny
Can put cover maa. Small matter lor. Ekekeekeke

This post has been edited by baretta: Jun 10 2008, 04:19 AM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:20 AM

4,423 posts

cover make it fat.. i like it naked... not worried about the finger prints as much as the scratching man...
ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 04:21 AM

2,550 posts

HAIZ,WHY YOU OUT?BUT WHY DONT YOU OUT HERE? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 10 2008, 04:21 AM
amirpopo
post Jun 10 2008, 04:22 AM

33 posts

news is good... rm800+untung tokey rm200+tax sana sini rm100+ jailbreak unlock for local service provider rm100 = rm1300??? mungkin...

blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 04:22 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Jun 10 2008, 04:14 AM)
actually, the new plastic back, how will it hold up against scratches ?
the aluminium back was very good.. gave the iphone a nice solid feel too..

not too sure about the new one.. but i'll be getting it for sure... looking for peeps who are already travelling this time round to buy one back for me
Plastic back may scratch but the upside is you would get better signal reception. Maybe you should wait for when it launches in Singapore? For warranty purposes, might be better to get it there..
Lurker
post Jun 10 2008, 04:25 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

shiny back!

ff8ong
post Jun 10 2008, 04:25 AM

2,550 posts

And the iphone 3g is not flat,the back cover is pump out at the middle

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Jun 10 2008, 04:26 AM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 10 2008, 05:25 AM

6,866 posts

For me I think it's not worth the upgrade for current users, notice that the included accessories for the iPhone 3G does not included dock cradle anymore. The 2 color choice case is awesome, both looks sexy!
Cyrus2k
post Jun 10 2008, 05:28 AM

474 posts

The price tag was damn tempting, especially now I'm in UK tongue.gif

But, is the new iPhone still tied with AT&T contract?
SUSMike3300
post Jun 10 2008, 05:31 AM

6,866 posts

What? No front camera for video chat?
ferricide
post Jun 10 2008, 05:36 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

Its only 3G and A-GPS added in for 2nd gen. Nothing else upgraded that you cannot find on the 1st gen iPhone.

Functionality wise, the HTCs and other high end phones will pwnz it.

Don't think it will be a major upgrade decision on this for current owners. The price being the same, Apple just wants to take over more customer who are waiting for the hype to kick in.
mennmenn
post Jun 10 2008, 05:43 AM

262 posts

the iphone 3g has front camera??

Added on June 10, 2008, 5:43 amthe iphone 3g has front camera??

This post has been edited by mennmenn: Jun 10 2008, 05:43 AM
SUSMike3300
post Jun 10 2008, 05:47 AM

6,866 posts

No, 3G in the new iPhone is meant for surf speed anywhere. No front facing video camera for video call.
Cyrus2k
post Jun 10 2008, 05:48 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(mennmenn @ Jun 10 2008, 05:43 AM)
the iphone 3g has front camera??

Added on June 10, 2008, 5:43 amthe iphone 3g has front camera??
http://www.apple.com/uk/iphone/specs.html

I don't think so.... hmm.gif Although it will be kinda wasting for one of the 3G features sweat.gif
ffrulz
post Jun 10 2008, 06:29 AM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

USD199 is about RM650. So the retail price here should be below RM1000 no?
xzibit
post Jun 10 2008, 06:35 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Jun 10 2008, 06:29 AM)
USD199 is about RM650. So the retail price here should be below RM1000 no?
I hope so drool.gif
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 07:02 AM

1,149 posts

200 bucks is tempting. And i really want the GPS. LOL hey how much you reckon an iPhone can be sold now? RM600?
irwan6179
post Jun 10 2008, 07:04 AM

1,040 posts

bad news guys, gizmodo reported that activation is done in store only. so if you want to buy iphone, you really needed to sign up for contract. there is no more buy first activate later kind of thing. it's much like cheap phone that come with every contract.sad

http://gizmodo.com/5014764/iphone-3g-prici...d-in-store-only
ferricide
post Jun 10 2008, 07:09 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jun 10 2008, 07:04 AM)
bad news guys, gizmodo reported that activation is done in store only. so if you want to buy iphone, you really needed to sign up for contract. there is no more buy first activate later kind of thing. it's much like cheap phone that come with every contract.sad

This might be true for US, but since its launching everywhere else, lets see what pops up.
SG, HK, AU anyone? tongue.gif
megatron007
post Jun 10 2008, 07:11 AM

4,000 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ... hope we can have the "Crack: version
ferricide
post Jun 10 2008, 07:13 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

Eventually it will be cracked. I can only imagine the millions of geeks waiting in line to use this the JAILBROKEN way.

Meanwhile, just find something to do in your spare time.
megatron007
post Jun 10 2008, 07:21 AM

4,000 posts

*looking at my non 3G iphone*

i think the white is nice rclxms.gif
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 08:18 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 10 2008, 03:57 AM)
thats because it has tv/ video IO.
features where no other phone has smile.gif

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 03:59 AM)
yepp, i will always support old skoll iphone coz im not using 3g

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Jun 10 2008, 08:19 AM
megatron007
post Jun 10 2008, 08:20 AM

4,000 posts

SG going to get it ....
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 08:22 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jun 10 2008, 07:04 AM)

lolZ.. for sure there will a ways to bypass em'
the oldies also need to be activated via itunes but then, there is working JB/ unlock/ activate available.. rclxms.gif
mensa
post Jun 10 2008, 08:22 AM

487 posts

malaysia is not in the list..how sad..even kenya got it..
kevinwcw
post Jun 10 2008, 08:24 AM

943 posts

@@... malaysia not been highlighted.... cool2.gif

blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 08:40 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 10 2008, 08:22 AM)
lolZ.. for sure there will a ways to bypass em'
the oldies also need to be activated via itunes but then, there is working JB/ unlock/ activate available..  rclxms.gif
Well, the biggest problem is not unlocking as I heard the dev team already cracked it but getting your hands on one. If you need to sign up on the spot, you can no longer do the "buy now, activate at home but instead of doing that, lemme just unlock this" trick...

How are we going to bypass that? Bribe? Heehee, if Apple store run by Malaysians then can la. Only way I can think of is getting it off the ebay sellers, I guess..
ferricide
post Jun 10 2008, 08:43 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

Not everybody in America loves AT&T, somebody will crack very soon. Just wait and see.
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 08:46 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 10 2008, 05:25 AM)
For me I think it's not worth the upgrade for current users, notice that the included accessories for the iPhone 3G does not included dock cradle anymore. The 2 color choice case is awesome, both looks sexy!
Very typical of Apple, bundled accessories are always trimmed off every iteration of something. I predict the 4th gen iPhone will only come with a USB cable.. hah!
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 08:47 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Jun 10 2008, 08:43 AM)
Not everybody in America loves AT&T, somebody will crack very soon. Just wait and see.
well, i like AT&T.. err i mean the words for operator logo
i use em' on my phone. ppl thought im using AT&T carrier tongue.gif
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 10 2008, 08:47 AM

959 posts

means that the only ways is to ask your friend who stay in LA ( or maybe others countries, where the iphone sell there ) and sign contract, then dun use the line..? lol, how bout that, huhuhuhu....
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 08:52 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 10 2008, 08:47 AM)
means that the only ways is to ask your friend who stay in LA ( or maybe others countries, where the iphone sell there ) and sign contract, then dun use the line..? lol, how bout that, huhuhuhu....
Haha it's a contract, use or don't use, you still have to pay every month. And unlike last time, you now have to sign up on the spot. There's no getting by it this time, AT&T has wisened up. There is a way, and that is to get the carrier free version which is available in Europe but it's gonna be expensive.

That also means that the 2.5G version can still command a high price, higher than US$199/299...
Seaedge
post Jun 10 2008, 08:54 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

besides the bluetooth is still unknown(as in a2dp and file transfer)... 3g iphone is pretty much a deal breaker... $199 for 8gb is definitely a hit in oversea... sadly sampai ke bolehland... harga pun RM1999 or higher...
megatron007
post Jun 10 2008, 08:56 AM

4,000 posts

how about giving as a "gift"

dont got wat loop hole tongue.gif
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 08:56 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 10 2008, 08:54 AM)
besides the bluetooth is still unknown(as in a2dp and file transfer)... 3g iphone is pretty much a deal breaker... $199 for 8gb is definitely a hit in oversea... sadly sampai ke bolehland... harga pun RM1999 or higher...
199 with rebate over contract lerr.. doh.gif
blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 08:58 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Haha, you know what, suddenly I'm glad I DIDN'T wait for the 3G iPhone. It's gonna cost a bomb now to get the unlocked version since there's no getting past contract activation now. Our best hope is for one of our 3 carriers to strike a deal and bring it in officially..
TakanoKyohei
post Jun 10 2008, 08:58 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 10 2008, 08:54 AM)
lol if someone who will sell it within that price, will definitely get a lot of profit from it,2x profit from the same price... blush.gif

p/s: bro gengstapo, hahaha, yeah, im the one that think it was AT&T logo, but it really nice, i will make it later, the AT&T logo on my iphone...smile.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jun 10 2008, 09:00 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

no front facing cam~!
feizaiII
post Jun 10 2008, 09:01 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Country with 3G iPhone

Where is Malaysia ...
nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 09:02 AM

433 posts

It's not a good deal after all....only looks good on paper

Btw, does anyone know a direct download link to the keynote?? Online stream qtv very the slow la....

Cheers

feizaiII
post Jun 10 2008, 09:06 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

starting $199 for 8G, $299 for 16G .. so cheap blink.gif blink.gif
tayhaithian
post Jun 10 2008, 09:08 AM

460 posts

but with contract and no deal for others = ='
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jun 10 2008, 09:10 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 10 2008, 09:01 AM)
Country with 3G iPhone

Where is Malaysia ...
Yup! Saw that too... Kenya and Madagascar get it too... and we... we dont...
feizaiII

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

I always wondering why the calling screen is different from mine ..
tayhaithian

460 posts

nvm go to our neighbour SG to buy ~
siaukia
post Jun 10 2008, 09:12 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:10 AM)
Yup! Saw that too... Kenya and Madagascar get it too... and we... we dont...
that just made me feels like living in a fourth world country
Fighteden
post Jun 10 2008, 09:13 AM

Stark Industries
977 posts

Malaysia is always last when comes to technology .. sigh ..

I guess it's time for those that are making money from imported iPhone is relief that Malaysia isn't choose for the released ..
megatron007
post Jun 10 2008, 09:14 AM

4,000 posts

need contract ler sad.gif
westthen
post Jun 10 2008, 09:19 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Jun 10 2008, 09:12 AM)
that just made me feels like living in a fourth world country
its because of the telco problem here....they still haven't manage to come out with a solution and could be the telco didn't want to pay for the phone subsidy...

blackchides
post Jun 10 2008, 09:24 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Jun 10 2008, 09:19 AM)
its because of the telco problem here....they still haven't manage to come out with a solution and could be the telco didn't want to pay for the phone subsidy...
And also, phone subsidy in Malaysia is virtually unprecedented. The only one I can think of is the RM300 rebate or something that Maxis did during the 3G promotion a few years back but that didn't last very long. So if iPhone's launching in Malaysia, it's gonna break the mould and hopefully, the carriers will start embracing this business model and we'll get to see subsidies for other phone models in the future!!

.... Or not...
ihawk98
post Jun 10 2008, 09:27 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

flip it the other way round, it could also be that Apple's pricing to the telcos may be unprofitable for the latter?
vassalle
post Jun 10 2008, 09:30 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:27 AM)
flip it the other way round, it could also be that Apple's pricing to the telcos may be unprofitable for the latter?
yeah.. and telcos in senegal and kenya and our kiasu neighbours just jumped into the bandwagon for fun? it's really hard to comprehend why Malaysia is not in the list.
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 09:43 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jun 10 2008, 09:10 AM)

I always wondering why the calling screen is different from mine ..
FW 2.0 marr, sure got lil differentiate biggrin.gif
Choongster
post Jun 10 2008, 09:49 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Jun 10 2008, 09:30 AM)
yeah.. and telcos in senegal and kenya and our kiasu neighbours just jumped into the bandwagon for fun? it's really hard to comprehend why Malaysia is not in the list.
all the money has been used up for petrol "subsidy"

jakesean
post Jun 10 2008, 09:52 AM

1,361 posts

wheeee im so lucky to be in australia.. lol! plus im under one of the telco that will be carrying the iphone.. woot woot!

This post has been edited by jakesean: Jun 10 2008, 09:52 AM
gengstapo
post Jun 10 2008, 09:52 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Jun 10 2008, 09:49 AM)
all the money has been used up for petrol "subsidy"
wher got subsidy anymore?
if there is, petrol price wont be like this.. zzZZzz
jakesean
post Jun 10 2008, 09:53 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 10 2008, 09:52 AM)
wher got subsidy anymore?
if there is, petrol price wont be like this.. zzZZzz
the price without the subsidy would be close to RM5.. so rm2.70 is still considered cheap globally.. anywaays, this is iPhone's topic.. soo, lets get back on track...
groucho
post Jun 10 2008, 09:54 AM

120 posts

looks like i'll be buying HK unit in july biggrin.gif
panasonic88
post Jun 10 2008, 09:55 AM

37,028 posts

i dun need 3G nor GPS, so i will stick with my trustworthy non-3G iPhone biggrin.gif
ronasdfghjklzxc
post Jun 10 2008, 09:55 AM

171 posts

Bleh. Guessed as much. Not so "boleh" anymore in this "boleh-land".
groucho
post Jun 10 2008, 09:56 AM

120 posts

just a thought- maybe its delayed here because 3G quality in malaysia is so bad?

xmascat
post Jun 10 2008, 09:57 AM

34 posts

sigh.. how come malaysia left out in EVERYTHING.. =_="
nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 09:59 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:55 AM)
i dun need 3G nor GPS, so i will stick with my trustworthy non-3G iPhone biggrin.gif
That's what I'm gonna do also. No point buying the new one. Plastic back is so eeeewwwww.......

Cheers

optiplex
post Jun 10 2008, 09:59 AM

103 posts

http://youtube.com/watch?v=zTASTyPd1gY
says 5.0mp camera

http://www.apple.com/uk/iphone/specs.html
says 2.0mp camera.

wth?
panasonic88
post Jun 10 2008, 10:00 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(groucho @ Jun 10 2008, 09:56 AM)
just a thought- maybe its delayed here because 3G quality in malaysia is so bad?
since when did the telcos improve on our 3G quality? rolleyes.gif

when you compare the speed between 3G & HSDPA, you will see the BIG difference.
Kelv
post Jun 10 2008, 10:02 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

I think the next question, when's the hack to unlock this new iphone?
sukhoi37
post Jun 10 2008, 10:02 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

the easiest way to get iphone for malaysian is ask your relative or friend who's working in SG sign up the contract and sell you the iphone. icon_rolleyes.gif

heard it would be around SGD6xx with 2 years contract.

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Jun 10 2008, 10:03 AM
vincent_ng86
post Jun 10 2008, 10:10 AM

1,659 posts

Check this out...

Too good to be true...

Edited:
Sorry... Outdated...

This post has been edited by vincent_ng86: Jun 10 2008, 10:11 AM
zuddean
post Jun 10 2008, 10:17 AM

177 posts

so guys, when will iphone coming to malaysia? or shud we just wait for next iphone update next year?
even not-so-well developing countries like niger or mali get it first....
wait.. where's niger? is it the same country as nigeria?
Superman7
post Jun 10 2008, 10:22 AM

11,086 posts

Just wonder how to buy iphone without contract...
potter1410
post Jun 10 2008, 10:24 AM

29 posts

just wondering the blutooth function
LaskarCinta
post Jun 10 2008, 10:25 AM

?
1,651 posts

owww...why malaysia isn't even included in the coming soon list (not the 11th July release). looks like our telcos have zero initiative to get it on their networks.
Sitting Duck
post Jun 10 2008, 10:27 AM

473 posts

Just got this SMS from the star alert.

10/6 Apple Inc unveils cheaper 3G iPhone - the 8GB version works over faster wireless networks, cost US$199 (RM655), goes on sale in US in July/STAR

well, how much would it be in Malaysia then? hmm....
panasonic88
post Jun 10 2008, 10:32 AM

37,028 posts

Apple website says :"Twice as fast, Half the price."

if i am not mistaken, when the first gen of iPhone is brought in to malaysia, they jack us the price as much as RM500++

so i'd assume it would be around RM 1.5k+/- huh unsure.gif

awwww my iphone price is depreciated kao kao liao~!!
tayhaithian
post Jun 10 2008, 10:41 AM

460 posts

how long i will be wait still instead of sitting down forum-ing and do ntg ...
ronasdfghjklzxc
post Jun 10 2008, 10:42 AM

171 posts

Screw it. I rather wait for Sony X1 then.
Choongster
post Jun 10 2008, 10:51 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

if apple release it at $199 with contract lockdown ... it will be hard to bring it to m'sia .. unless some1 here got connection with apple store in other country to get the iphone ....and even if there is such person ... smile.gif u know the price will be jacked up ... but if it's like RM2500 .. it is consider reasonable compare with other smart phone in the market ...

siawgu
post Jun 10 2008, 10:54 AM

996 posts

if iPhone 3G just USD$199 and no need contract, I think all phone will pupus..
nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 10:56 AM

433 posts

And by the time everyone got iPhone already, nobody else to buy iPhone, Apple will pupus also tongue.gif

Cheers

vincent_ng86
post Jun 10 2008, 10:57 AM

1,659 posts

So meaning everyone needs a Credit Card to get their iPhone activated?

This post has been edited by vincent_ng86: Jun 10 2008, 10:58 AM
etfrompluto
post Jun 10 2008, 11:02 AM

37 posts

New 3G iPhone dun have front camera ? cant make video call ? cry.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 10 2008, 11:03 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

ooo..lets see hu here in LYN will sell/ buy the 3G ones first..

chill la current oweners..1st gen and 2nd gen oso we can buy mer..no worries..
etfrompluto
post Jun 10 2008, 11:04 AM

37 posts

I'm trying to contact my friend who work in AT&T , see what he can help me.
jodi
post Jun 10 2008, 11:05 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(etfrompluto @ Jun 10 2008, 11:02 AM)
New 3G iPhone dun have front camera ? cant make video call ?  cry.gif
If not mistaken, 3G for web surfing faster only
siawgu
post Jun 10 2008, 11:07 AM

996 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 10 2008, 10:57 AM)
So meaning everyone needs a Credit Card to get their iPhone activated?
Nope.. now is different.. you need to go to Apple Store, then activated at there, cannot go back home activate yourself.. so it will be long queue at Apple Store.

When is Malaysia Turn? M'sia always be last when come to technology..
etfrompluto

37 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Jun 10 2008, 11:05 AM)
If not mistaken, 3G for web surfing faster only
So disappointed cry.gif
panasonic88

37,028 posts

yup, for data only, convenient if you are not under wifi hot spots.
defconkiller
post Jun 10 2008, 11:08 AM

impossibleissomething
907 posts

why la no camera infront? makes it so much more complete. dont u guys think so?
LaiN87

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

Hmm... I would definitely buy if it's 199 USD =/ Maybe I can get the line from UK or Sg and throw it to someone else if it's affordable the line..
opiluke_are

26 posts

Yeah only faster in web surfing, and it not serve my usage of 3g (video call)!!
i dont really understand about 2g/3g talk, does it mean it only use 3g? no gsm?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1536sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:42 AM