3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

zc_squash
post May 6 2008, 12:04 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 5 2008, 03:45 PM)
The rumors will continue until June 8th.
June 8 is the supposed launch date of the new iPhone?
zc_squash
post May 12 2008, 12:43 AM

1,149 posts

The only reason i may opt for the 3G iPhone is if it has better speakers. Seriously.
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 07:02 AM

1,149 posts

200 bucks is tempting. And i really want the GPS. LOL hey how much you reckon an iPhone can be sold now? RM600?
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 12:16 PM

1,149 posts

If Apple US require you to activate on-the-spot, i presume the same practice will be implemented elsewhere too. Now there is really no way to get away with the 2-year contract with the telco without getting fined/penalised/charged in one way or another.

I don't know what are the implications of asking a friend to sign-up and activate the phone and subsequently not paying the monthly bill. I don't think we could subscribe to the plan ourselves too without having a permanent address in the country. If that's the case, we can't be driving down to Singapore, register with their telco and drive home with a spanking new 3G iPhone.

Having said that, i feel the current gen iPhone still has its resell value...at least for now.

zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 12:44 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Jun 10 2008, 12:41 PM)
I wonder if the iPhone 1st Gen can absorb the 2.0 firmware.....
Yes it is compatible. And i believe "compatible" is the better word.
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 12:58 PM

1,149 posts

Did anyone hear Steve said that the new iPhone "dramatically improved audio"? Now that is one improvement i am looking for besides the GPS!
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 04:46 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ Jun 10 2008, 04:40 PM)
i think is only for US...maybe difference on SG or other asia country...
but if it is whole world...i rather buy the current 1...coz the price for the current sure will drop alot
I believe it'd be a standard practice worldwide. If that's the case, the current gen iPhone will still have its value.

The weird thing is, i seen a couple of 3G iPhone pre-order threads in Garage Sales. One even claiming he could bring it in BEFORE 11th July @_@
I don't know if they are unaware of the different purchase policy Apple is adopting now or...is it just a scam?
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 05:17 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Jun 10 2008, 04:49 PM)
most likely its a scam.. plus the 3G iphone is still new, if they're doing it that way, meaning its illegal.. if its illegal, they will not be entitled to any warranty.. so, if wat they're trying to say is true, good luck to those who are gonna get it from them..

i'll stay safe and probably get it from Optus or Vodafone.. that is if i have the $$ .. smile.gif
I just asked the dude that will be bringing in the phones. Apparently he has strings to pull in AT&T. So it is up for you to judge. I'll prefer to..... wait. Not that i will be buying for sure, but i do like the GPS and "dramatically improved audio".
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 07:32 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Jun 10 2008, 07:06 PM)
hopefully the ones released in australia isnt locked to the network..
I thought Apple have struck deals with telcos from respective countries?
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 10:48 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Jun 10 2008, 10:45 PM)
Nothing is impossible. tongue.gif
I think iphone seller that have lots of stock will sell them all before July 11..
This same even in Apple retailer of USA.

"Twice as fast, Half the price, Coming July 11, Phone, iPod, and Internet in one fast 3G device. Starting at $199 (RM660)"
http://www.apple.com/iphone/
Technically it is not impossible. But you need a lot of money to buy out the contract...or something. But to get it at USD199 flat is almost impossible.
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 11:29 PM

1,149 posts

Oh ya, earlier we discussed about the possibility of 3G iPhone having stereo speakers. But, probably not.

Still mono speaker, apparently.
zc_squash
post Jun 10 2008, 11:34 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Jun 10 2008, 11:30 PM)
Yup,even package will not come with dock but steve say will improve the sound quality biggrin.gif
Yep, dock will be sold as an accessories for an additional 29 bucks. Subsidized iPhone is already cheap. You cannot get everything in life.
zc_squash
post Jun 11 2008, 12:43 PM

1,149 posts

Found a good article regarding the USD199 3G iPhone hype. This will give you a slight idea of what to price to expect to get an iPhone here in Malaysia...if there are people who will be bringing them in.

zc_squash
post Jun 11 2008, 08:42 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Jun 11 2008, 06:14 PM)
Is there possible to get iphone from Apple store in stead of mobile company
Of course you can get it from Apple stores...but you're still required to do in-store activation.

In short, nobody is allowed to leave the store WITHOUT signing on the dotted line.

And even if there are telcos in some other countries do have pay as you go plan, you won't get it at USD199, so wake up.
zc_squash
post Jun 11 2008, 11:58 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 11 2008, 09:26 PM)
zc_squash,  I remember you said to me that if the next gen iPhone has improved audio then you might consider in buying. So how now?

I have a strong feeling that the 8GB model will cost around the same as current price. (no-contract, price still may vary a little bit lower)
Yes, but it still depends if the improvement warrant a change. After all, it is still only a mono speaker. But my girlfriend does want an iPhone. So, we'll see smile.gif
I think in a long run, the 3G iPhone does actually cost more. Just because Steve says it is USD199, we don't need to drool over it to the point of losing common sense.
zc_squash
post Jun 12 2008, 02:18 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Jun 12 2008, 02:16 AM)
lol....all thought they can buy the Iphone for RM700 biggrin.gif
I think they're all only enquiring. Upon knowing that the price will be above a thousand ringgit, everyone will back off. That is IF the phones ever gonna come at all.
zc_squash
post Jun 13 2008, 12:57 PM

1,149 posts

Alamak.... i think i'll just let this people continue to be foolish and laugh at my 'misfortune' of getting the iPhone at USD399. Let's see who has the last laugh biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Jun 13 2008, 12:58 PM
zc_squash
post Jun 15 2008, 04:00 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Jun 15 2008, 03:42 PM)
they dont sell it direct in apple store??

If they do, than its ok... just buy and unlock it.

BUT price is not confirm yet.
They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do. They do.

But you are still required to do in-store activation. But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.But you are still required to do in-store activation.

geram sial.... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Jun 15 2008, 04:01 PM
zc_squash
post Jun 15 2008, 07:45 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 15 2008, 06:09 PM)
walao..  doh.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

chill man, let those loser with their world..
LOL tak boleh tahan man... can the TS put in the 1st post in BOLD and a supersized up text that the iPHONE IS NOT USD199????!?!!!!
zc_squash
post Jun 27 2008, 01:06 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Jun 27 2008, 11:19 AM)
Sometimes i wonder, how this type of gal can live with her long finger nails... How can she clean her ass after shitting? Probably will injured herself pretty badly. hmm.gif
Probably she doesn't clean it.

0.0237sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:33 PM