101 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

Dante18
post Jun 14 2008, 12:03 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jun 13 2008, 10:29 PM)
i heard that ppl who bought iPhone ( without 3g ) on May 27 onward are given a free change to apple iPhone3G . If in this way ...

why dont we just buy iphone now and exchange with apple shoplots after ?? correct me if im wrong .
I only know this is for USA...dont know about Singapore. Malaysia sure not, because Iphone is not even coming here. sad.gif
nokia2003
post Jun 14 2008, 12:22 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jun 14 2008, 12:01 AM)
then u mean unless our Telcos willing to change its operating system tat suits Apple or the Iphone then only we'll be able to get them here? if it is then be prepare to buy imported ones...
before you act all antsy, just remember that there are many factors that will influence one company's decision, not just geographically.

the same reason why paypal decides to open a division in singapore but not here, despite the oxymoron contradiction.

i am a malaysian and i can assure you that malaysians are simply not ready for a sign-a-contract-and-get-a-free-phone thing yet. the most that they can do is perhaps provide a very simple phone or subsidise them partially.

im no market analyst but i can be certain that no telco is willingly to take this gamble (having to pay so much to apple and also a huge cut of their profit from the subscription fees). simply because of the unscrupulous nature of malaysians (not all but only a fraction) and current legislation that does not favour the domestic telco companies to enable them to take legal actions against these people. furthermore i dont think we have a credit rating check here as well; making the seemingly disproportional situation worse.

having said that, try to ask any of your malaysian friends who studied in the uk before if they have heard of these unscrupulous acts before? my very own housemate, signed up for at least 5 contracts (with at least 5 phones of course) before leaving the country for good. of course, signing up a insurance coverage package and then claim for a brand new phone shortly thereafter is also a very typical tactic employed by these people.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 14 2008, 12:30 AM
zuddean
post Jun 14 2008, 12:36 AM

177 posts

http://www.macblogz.com/Media/WorldMap/Mac...neWorldMap.html

just found this page... looks like china, s.korea and russia also may get iphone soon or later..
kcmy
post Jun 14 2008, 01:18 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 14 2008, 12:22 AM)
before you act all antsy, just remember that there are many factors that will influence one company's decision, not just geographically.

the same reason why paypal decides to open a division in singapore but not here, despite the oxymoron contradiction.

i am a malaysian and i can assure you that malaysians are simply not ready for a sign-a-contract-and-get-a-free-phone thing yet. the most that they can do is perhaps provide a very simple phone or subsidise them partially.

im no market analyst but i can be certain that no telco is willingly to take this gamble (having to pay so much to apple and also a huge cut of their profit from the subscription fees). simply because of the unscrupulous nature of malaysians (not all but only a fraction) and current legislation that does not favour the domestic telco companies to enable them to take legal actions against these people. furthermore i dont think we have a credit rating check here as well; making the seemingly disproportional situation worse.

having said that, try to ask any of your malaysian friends who studied in the uk before if they have heard of these unscrupulous acts before? my very own housemate, signed up for at least 5 contracts (with at least 5 phones of course) before leaving the country for good. of course, signing up a insurance coverage package and then claim for a brand new phone shortly thereafter is also a very typical tactic employed by these people.
thats y i ask,issit a prerequisite to sign up with a Telco Company only we can get an Iphone around here? y don't they sell it sans contract? n i did mentioned that not many people will sign up for a particular Telco just to get the Iphone...
youngkies
post Jun 14 2008, 01:28 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jun 14 2008, 01:18 AM)
thats y i ask,issit a prerequisite to sign up with a Telco Company only we can get an Iphone around here? y don't they sell it sans contract? n i did mentioned that not many people will sign up for a particular Telco just to get the Iphone...
dont worry. malaysian will still be able to get it as grey set, because some telco have stated to sell the set without contract. then someone will bring those set into malaysia.
kcmy
post Jun 14 2008, 01:34 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 14 2008, 01:28 AM)
dont worry. malaysian will still be able to get it as grey set, because some telco have stated to sell the set without contract. then someone will bring those set into malaysia.
i just worried abt the waranty since its not officially available here. u getting 1 bro?
sukhoi37
post Jun 14 2008, 01:36 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jun 14 2008, 01:34 AM)
i just worried abt the waranty since its not officially available here. u getting 1 bro?
I dun think the warranty would be a big issue if you get it from sg.
unless the phone need to sth to unlock it and void the warranty.
kcmy
post Jun 14 2008, 01:38 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 14 2008, 01:36 AM)
I dun think the warranty would be a big issue if you get it from sg.
unless the phone need to sth to unlock it and void the warranty.
ok then,will wait for the price in SG then see how...bro sukhoi if u got jalan let me know k? thnx...
dplaya
post Jun 14 2008, 09:52 AM

469 posts

I won't get Iphone 3G until the phone has been successfully cracked.

If only DIGI have 3G license, at the very least we can see some competition by the telcos.

Without DIGI, I don't even think that our sim card can see so cheap and also calls. Thanks DIGI. tongue.gif

It's time to change. Obama quote "Yes, We Can"
aladdin
post Jun 14 2008, 10:02 AM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

Optus start accepting pre-order...need to fill in online form and deposit 100 aud by using cc...price havent announce yet
tayhaithian
post Jun 14 2008, 11:08 AM

460 posts

recieved rumours that 3G iPhone is below 1k SGD . keke
Apis_LuaLua
post Jun 14 2008, 12:12 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jun 14 2008, 11:08 AM)
recieved rumours that 3G iPhone is below 1k SGD .  keke
with carrier contract for sure... whistling.gif

Added on June 14, 2008, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(dplaya @ Jun 14 2008, 09:52 AM)
I won't get Iphone 3G until the phone has been successfully cracked.

If only DIGI have 3G license, at the very least we can see some competition by the telcos.

Without DIGI, I don't even think that our sim card can see so cheap and also calls. Thanks DIGI. tongue.gif

It's time to change. Obama quote "Yes, We Can"
DiGi will launch its 3g service in near moment i think. they oledi get the permission.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Apis_LuaLua: Jun 14 2008, 12:14 PM
teckhooi
post Jun 14 2008, 01:56 PM

3,135 posts

will iphone Release In SG?
dplaya
post Jun 14 2008, 02:09 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 14 2008, 01:56 PM)
It is confirmed will released in SG but the actual date was not mention.
ff8ong
post Jun 14 2008, 02:29 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 14 2008, 01:56 PM)
should be end of this year since steve say in this year..
stephentang
post Jun 14 2008, 02:43 PM

211 posts

Then i will get one from SG... can start developing some cool apps on it using the SDK... SDK looks so far damn powerful...
iphonegizmo
post Jun 14 2008, 03:15 PM

321 posts

i going to sydney this month.. by july 11th i can get few 3g iphones,..

the 3g iphones are locked to telco which not need to be unlocked..so

singapore singtel also one of the telco but sg will get theirs in sept 08...

irwan6179
post Jun 14 2008, 03:52 PM

1,040 posts

"the 3g iphones are locked to telco which not need to be unlocked..so"

i'm not sure i get this

This post has been edited by irwan6179: Jun 14 2008, 03:52 PM
teckhooi
post Jun 14 2008, 03:59 PM

3,135 posts

yeah..i will get one fr SG
Voxe
post Jun 14 2008, 04:15 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

You guys are very delusional! I am thinking that Singtel won't be selling unsubsidized iPhone and I doubt there will be much life in unlocking iPhone 3G since it will be hard to get one.

101 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:13 AM