3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 09:02 AM

433 posts

It's not a good deal after all....only looks good on paper

Btw, does anyone know a direct download link to the keynote?? Online stream qtv very the slow la....

Cheers

nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 09:59 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:55 AM)
i dun need 3G nor GPS, so i will stick with my trustworthy non-3G iPhone biggrin.gif
That's what I'm gonna do also. No point buying the new one. Plastic back is so eeeewwwww.......

Cheers

nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 10:56 AM

433 posts

And by the time everyone got iPhone already, nobody else to buy iPhone, Apple will pupus also tongue.gif

Cheers

nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 02:36 PM

433 posts

I think we must be realistic here. Apple products had never been cheap and they will never be. Although it's mentioned that it's $199, but you have to take into account that it's only valid for a 2 years contract with the telco and if you somehow "forgot" to register within 30 days, you'll be penalised. And since Steve mentioned that the price stays put in all countries with iPhone in July, the same rule will apply too.

To me, although Apple hopes as much as pushing the sales to its consumers, it won't do so by selling its products at such cheap prices as it still want to remain exclusive in the market (remember there's still the iPod Touch market to care for). Apple was never that stupid and will never be. Let's hope that there's a loophole of which non-specific-telco registered users can use it too.

Cheers

nkymark
post Jun 10 2008, 03:20 PM

433 posts

He said the edge is thinner...not the whole profile. Tricky word there....

Cheers

nkymark
post Jun 12 2008, 11:31 AM

433 posts

That's why they were kena conned la. They only looked at the "outer layer" only, never bothering to check out the full detail. Somemore they think they are so smart when they said that. I guess they never know Apple's history of business tactics. During that launching moment, yes you will get the "Zha Dou" feeling...but when you sit down calmly and do the analysis, you'll find that "Tiada katak besar yang lompat kat sepanjang jalan" tongue.gif It happened to all Apple products before this.

But to me, I'll let them say whatever they want to say. Lazy to argue with them. In the end, many of them will not even touch an iPhone, not even the Gen 1 version. rclxms.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by nkymark: Jun 12 2008, 12:01 PM
nkymark
post Jun 12 2008, 02:09 PM

433 posts

Remember the price when the sellers were selling the Gen 1 here when it first launched? It's the same thing now.

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 12 2008, 02:52 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 12 2008, 02:49 PM)
That is true but the price was about RM2k2-RM2k5 because the sellers were selling it at a very high margin. The cost of the iPhone then was about RM1k3 so they were making lots of money. As more sellers came in, supply went up, the price war started so the price went down eventually to about RM1k7 but that is because they were still making profits of about RM3-400
In this case however, the cost alone is about RM2k5 so I'm afraid it's not going to be the same case this time. Unless of course, they get people to sign up for contracts and cancel one month later en masse to get the phones at the subsidized price OR they have some connections with the telco people. I highly doubt it's the latter: which company's employee would release the phones at the subsidized price without a contract? The company would be taking a loss! Unless of course they do it illegally. And there are only so many people you can get to sign up and cancel...
Then again, is RM2k5-RM2k8 for such a high end phone really that bad? It's about the same price as the high-end PDA/smart phones, albeit without warranty.
Yup...this time is off the roof.

But for many people, 2.5-2.8k can buy laptop already. But then again, it depends on each individual also.....just that this time it's not that easy to execute.

And over here we are guessing it to be 2.5-2.8k, assuming that the sellers are willing to untung less than 1k compared to Gen 1 - cost(1300) selling for 2.3k avg.

Cheers

This post has been edited by nkymark: Jun 12 2008, 02:54 PM
nkymark
post Jun 12 2008, 04:01 PM

433 posts

I know it's good to be optimistic, but stepping over the fine line turns into giving false hope to oneself already. haha

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 12 2008, 06:01 PM

433 posts

I actually wrote something about it earlier too.....

QUOTE(nkymark @ Jun 10 2008, 02:36 PM)
I think we must be realistic here. Apple products had never been cheap and they will never be. Although it's mentioned that it's $199, but you have to take into account that it's only valid for a 2 years contract with the telco and if you somehow "forgot" to register within 30 days, you'll be penalised. And since Steve mentioned that the price stays put in all countries with iPhone in July, the same rule will apply too.

To me, although Apple hopes as much as pushing the sales to its consumers, it won't do so by selling its products at such cheap prices as it still want to remain exclusive in the market (remember there's still the iPod Touch market to care for). Apple was never that stupid and will never be. Let's hope that there's a loophole of which non-specific-telco registered users can use it too.
Cheers
I strongly think that the main concern now is whether the phone can be used without signing contract with the telco without being penalised. Although UK somehow is willing to do it by hiking up the end price of the phone, it is still expensive as the cost is RM2540 for the 8GB model as one forumer has earlier pointed out. By the time it reaches here, the sellers here will hike up the price somemore.

But as I mention, price we worry later. For now, we need to wait till 11th July and see if the phone can be telco-bound-free. If that cannot materialise, then honestly speaking it'll be quite hard to use it here....unless our telcos are willing to subsidize the phone.

That's just my 2 cents. Thank you.

Cheers

This post has been edited by nkymark: Jun 12 2008, 06:09 PM
nkymark
post Jun 13 2008, 11:04 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(ronasdfghjklzxc @ Jun 13 2008, 11:01 AM)
sukhoi37, i guess it's time for us to give up explaining anymore. It's a tiring process.
haha...me tired too tongue.gif

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 17 2008, 08:44 PM

433 posts

But then again, Nokia E65 also has metal back and some Samsung and LG phones also have metal back.

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 18 2008, 07:54 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 17 2008, 08:50 PM)
were you referring to my post, mark?
the metal used for the iphone isnt standard metal per se. i dont know, it just feel different. the metal back casing for ipod touch is crap. thats for sure.
Nope....I was referring to the one by MoonFlown....about the plastic one having better reception

@Frozz......yup, the antenna cover is the black plastic part.

And the metal is aluminium, not the chiplak-easy-to-scratch-metal-thingy of the Touch. If Apple really wanna increase the reception quality, then move the antenna up to the top la instead putting it at the bottom...covered by your hand while making calls tongue.gif

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 18 2008, 12:18 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 18 2008, 12:02 PM)
i think they are in a bit of dilemma because if they move it up, your index finger will be touching that part.
just observe the next how you hold a nokia phone and you will realise that your fingers are strategically placed, smacked on the antenna. so much so, that nokia userguides have to actually refrain you from putting them there as they will cause a worse reception and of course a higher radiation level being emitted

Added on June 18, 2008, 12:05 pmyou have to bear in mind, in the case for iphone, we actually need our index finger to support the slightly, unconventional larger phone size from toppling the other way round.
Correct, but from an engineer's point of view, that is not ideal. At least IMHO fingers still not as bad as palm and I don have a Nokia phone, and I don think I'll ever buy one tongue.gif

"It's all up in the clouds" tongue.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by nkymark: Jun 18 2008, 12:21 PM
nkymark
post Jun 18 2008, 02:01 PM

433 posts

I'm not saying that the Gen 1's reception is bad. The reception is good IMO. My comments were made with respect to the discussion that the 3G version of the phone with its plastic back has better reception compared to the Gen 1 punya. icon_rolleyes.gif

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 18 2008, 02:25 PM

433 posts

I think reception is fine for both, it's just that some users are still experiencing the "call failed" thing on Maxis.

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 18 2008, 07:56 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 18 2008, 03:43 PM)
Mmmm wrong and right again. A Faraday cage effect happens if the antenna is enclosed in the aluminum cover of the phone where as the reception antenna of the iphone is on the bottom part where the black plastic casing is. Thats why only that part is plastic. Being near to an aluminum wont generate the Faraday effect. I'm sure the engineers at apple also figure out about the faraday cage effect.  smile.gif

The new 3G phone supposedly have a better reception not because it have a full plastic back cover but MAYBE an improve internal antenna compared with the previous iphone. They wont be using the same antenna in a new phone right? BTW .. 1 or 2 test by Gizmodo/Engadget is not a measuring stick to a prove a theory. To prove this, the phone must be use widely and confirm by users. Maybe that time when they test, the signal was strong there.  whistling.gif

As a conclusion ... if the reception quality is better (not yet proven), then it might  be because they use an improved antenna compared with the old one and not because of the plastic back cover. We won't know until we can see the internal part of the new phone (looking forward to dismantle one ... if have the chance).  icon_rolleyes.gif
I couldnt agree more. Different network tech - from GSM to 3G, it might need a different antenna to cope with that.

Cheers
nkymark
post Jun 30 2008, 11:51 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 30 2008, 10:25 AM)
yeah
they come with exclusive APPLE PEN u can draw anything on the air
geeeeez  shakehead.gif

wat kinda question is this
as said is touch screen n did u saw any 1 using any pen to draw with it?
unless u saw those import from china

n is call stylus instead of pen

u need to study hard la
stop being dumb n start ur study starting from uncle google

lazy MTF
Ohhh...and the 'pen' comes with a cool green laser pointer too smile.gif very convenient when you're giving a presentation tongue.gif

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Cheers

nkymark
post Jul 2 2008, 05:31 PM

433 posts

Latest News

http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2008/07/02...g-still-locked/

Cheers