1554 Pages « < 384 385 386 387 388 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Drian
post Aug 8 2017, 11:56 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Aug 8 2017, 11:24 AM)
Hmm I would not be too sure. do you know that 1MDB related bond is AA2. Would you bet this is a solid investment?
Even gov bonds can default like Iceland or Greece.
Of course it can, from greece it was downgraded from A- to BBB in 2009. It didn't default then.

The first default was in 2015 if I'm not mistaken. The rating became Bs and Cs throughout the years leading to the default.
And if you notice, taxes were raised , austerity measures were taken , bailout packages were implemented. It shows that for you to default in bond, you're practically near to bankrupt.

So how many A to AAA companies/countries do you expect to be near to bankrupt in % when a recession occurs?

The reason 1MDB related bond is AA2 is because it's "backed" by the govt.
The govt will issue new Bonds, raise taxes, gst bla bla bla before letting 1MDB fail and default. So far they have delayed the payments, but haven't really defaulted yet.

If US govt default on their bonds, you can really say goodbye to the world economy.

This post has been edited by Drian: Aug 8 2017, 12:24 PM
MUM
post Aug 8 2017, 12:04 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(young_97 @ Aug 8 2017, 11:27 AM)
errr guys, so if we placed money in CMF wont be affected much right? same as FD ?
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2017, 11:27 AM)
Affected by what?
QUOTE(young_97 @ Aug 8 2017, 11:31 AM)
market crash
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2017, 11:32 AM)
Yes. Think of CMF like FD. The only thing which will protect your money
read page 1 & 2
PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS SHEET
RHB CASH MANAGEMENT FUND 2
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...nceMYOSKCMF.pdf

CMF is NOT similar to FD.
among other things...
CMF it is not capital protected like FD
CMF is not PIDM covered like FD

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 8 2017, 12:19 PM
young_97
post Aug 8 2017, 12:36 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2017, 12:04 PM)
read page 1 & 2
PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS SHEET
RHB CASH MANAGEMENT FUND 2
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...nceMYOSKCMF.pdf

CMF is NOT similar to FD.
among other things...
CMF it is not capital protected like FD
CMF is not PIDM covered like FD
Calm down mate. I'm still learning

Should be similar to GIA-i right?
GIA-i also not capital protected

This post has been edited by young_97: Aug 8 2017, 12:37 PM
MUM
post Aug 8 2017, 12:39 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(young_97 @ Aug 8 2017, 12:36 PM)

no idea.
check with sifus there?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4105742/+1260#entry85914627
vincabby
post Aug 8 2017, 12:40 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(young_97 @ Aug 8 2017, 12:36 PM)

yes
nexona88
post Aug 8 2017, 12:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

Can't help to post something..

Its fun watching all those discussion for the past few days.. Didn't know we have many professional here investing FSM funds rclxms.gif

Okay. My point is..
Its all up to individual on how they managed their investment..
I mean investment strategy.. No use attack those don't follows the general public style..

In the end, its his / her money.. U don't pay or benefit from it..
If they successful, we happy for them. Loss, we just say don't give up hope & just give suggestion to minimized losses.. Simple only...

Have good day..
Happy investing tongue.gif
spiderman17
post Aug 8 2017, 02:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2017, 10:03 AM)
You have your way, I have mine. Some things to ponder about.
- what will you do if it fall just 5%? Like so many here 1% fall already hoohaa.

You think a crash is pretty? Take 1998/2008.
[/B]- You don't think everyone is affected? 1998 companies was closing down left right center. How many people lost their job? How many people committed suicide?[B]
- US market crash, know what happen? US start printing money like crazy. People use that opportunity to flip houses until your normal everyday house which was affordable suddenly became unaffordable. RM200k house nowadays sitting easily at RM500-800k. No effect eh? Price of things shot up.
None. It's ok. As  I mentioned, everyone got their own plan. They don't like mine so what?

voyage23, btw I am still vested in case you didn't know. But I am not adding any more.
Go ahead. We see who will laugh to the bank when a crash comes. US (automobiles sales aren't great, US stocks are pricey, interest rate is low, uses of leverage is almost similar to before 2008), China is looking unstable. Let's see how the US or China going to rescue their economy this time around.

I will be prepared. I just need to wait. FOMO, that's real. But I rather have $$$ than FOMO. Know what you want. Do you want a measly 10% return one time or do you want a forever 10%+ dividend p.a/3 digit returns? I know what I want.
Chill la. Just because I am contrarian. People buy, I wait. People said don't hold cash, I hold cash. If you don't learn from the best, there's no point learning at all. The best here are some people who went through crashes and know what they are doing. Keep your troops and fight another day. Take your time.
Definitely not everyone. 1997/98 was Asian crisis...but it was great for USA(their crash came in 2000).
Even in some part of this country, and certain industries (and positions, as usual)...that was the golden period where they made more $ than ever and their jobs are more secure than ever.
Salary adjustments+increments were so high to compensate for weak RM. These people were out shopping, buying things that were in great discount.

There's always some lucky community pockets in every crisis.

By the way, mind sharing your age band for me to try understand where you're coming from?

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 8 2017, 10:25 AM)
Personally I  feel changing % allocation in asset class is better than keeping it in cash.

In booming period 90% equities 10% bond/FI.
at 10 year period 70% equities 30% bond/FI.
-5% of equity portion for every year a crash has not happen after 10 years.
I likey thumbsup.gif
frankzane
post Aug 8 2017, 02:17 PM

664 posts

Message to FSM staff (if any),

Can you please organise short seminar at the PJ branch also? Thanks.
biastee
post Aug 8 2017, 02:23 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 8 2017, 10:52 AM)
In the first place are bonds able to survive a crash ?
QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 8 2017, 11:13 AM)
Depends on the ratings on the bond.
I'm pretty sure all A- to AAA rating bonds will be weather it.
shankar_dass93
post Aug 8 2017, 03:30 PM

2,955 posts

Anyone here that went into FSM's Managed Portfolio ?

Pretty keen to try it out
puchongite
post Aug 8 2017, 03:46 PM

33,615 posts

[ deleted, found the answer ]

This post has been edited by puchongite: Aug 8 2017, 03:47 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2017, 03:52 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Aug 8 2017, 03:30 PM)

Few people here went and test water. Search back this thread. dasecret is one of them.
puchongite
post Aug 8 2017, 04:19 PM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Aug 8 2017, 03:30 PM)

A question for FSM managed portfolio.

Say if one bought the most aggressive portfolio. Does it mean rain or shine, booming or crashing, FSM will stay with the aggressive equity funds ?
T231H
post Aug 8 2017, 04:59 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 8 2017, 04:19 PM)

Say if one bought the most aggressive portfolio. Does it mean rain or shine, booming or crashing,  FSM will stay with the aggressive equity funds ?
hmm.gif looks like it....
bcos
The Investor selected the portfolio style and

They invest for the long term.
They are committed to a long-term investment approach that will help to ride out volatile markets while seizing opportunities when they arise

They're valuation driven investors
Their valuation driven approach uncovers where value exists and opportunities await

They believe in fundamentals
Research is behind each and every decision they make, not euphoria nor panic

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/manage...tment-principle

but i guess they will have a range maybe +/- 10% leeway between FI:EQ ratio for abit of flexibility.
funnyface
post Aug 8 2017, 11:13 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 8 2017, 04:19 PM)

Say if one bought the most aggressive portfolio. Does it mean rain or shine, booming or crashing,  FSM will stay with the aggressive equity funds ?
You can always sell your managed portfolio when sh*t happens... biggrin.gif
besiegetank
post Aug 9 2017, 12:19 AM

918 posts

I think I should start to benchmark my return with FSM managed aggresive portfolio...
T231H
post Aug 9 2017, 10:32 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Contestant @ Aug 9 2017, 10:23 AM)
Does FSM Malaysia charge a platform fee of 0.1% per quarter? If so, please point me to the relevant page that indicates this. Thanks.
hmm.gif what 0.1% per quarter?
for what asset class?
even BOND's platform fees is not that expensive per quarter.....
funnyface
post Aug 9 2017, 10:46 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(Contestant @ Aug 9 2017, 10:39 AM)
I read a post by bro Ramjade but I could not find it now. Maybe he was referring to FSM SG?
Usually are 0.05% per quarter for Bond. You can get the value from the Fund pages in FSM. Below is the example for Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund

Platform Fee (%)* 0.05% per quarter

*On the side note, Market seems going down, time to Topup brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Ramjade
post Aug 9 2017, 11:24 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Contestant @ Aug 9 2017, 10:39 AM)
I read a post by bro Ramjade but I could not find it now. Maybe he was referring to FSM SG?

Ramjade
Yes that's for FSM SG. 0.1% platform fees per quarter regardless it's equities or bond fund.

But we never know what who knows 5 years down the road, FSM SG tell FSM MY to start charging platform fees instead devil.gif devil.gif
puchongite
post Aug 9 2017, 11:43 AM

33,615 posts

QUOTE(Contestant @ Aug 9 2017, 11:32 AM)
Wonder why the inconsistency across border? They might start charging in Malaysia soon? Hopefully not.
A speculation of something 5 year down the road. What a waste of time talking about it, some more he is not a FSM staff.

1554 Pages « < 384 385 386 387 388 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:53 PM